View Full Version : Maryborough Castlemaine District FL
CatAttack_07
7 Apr 2008, 10:18
Can someone please tell me how all the ex-Clunes blokes fared for Rovers last night? Quite a big contingent I believe...
Featherston went quite well, kicked 2 goals I think and had a hand in a couple of others. Mark 'Freak' Allen was a little quiet but looked class in the praccy matches and will get better each week.
Grimmett
7 Apr 2008, 10:40
Thanks CatAttack and KingRich
KingRich
7 Apr 2008, 11:20
Featherston went quite well, kicked 2 goals I think and had a hand in a couple of others. Mark 'Freak' Allen was a little quiet but looked class in the praccy matches and will get better each week.
Fev went well. Allen was very poor I thought. Looks past it. The Hind boys were in and out of the game most of the night.
Gimp Runner
7 Apr 2008, 12:26
Word is that Gibson never got near it on the weekend KingRich! And when he did he was useless, Talbot would have to be disappointed in his first up game for the club....
Off Season
7 Apr 2008, 12:37
Fev went well. Allen was very poor I thought. Looks past it. The Hind boys were in and out of the game most of the night.
What position are they playing Fev?
Is Freak playing 1s or 2s? I would have thought his 1s days would be over unless he has put in one hell of a pre-season.
Is Jayden Hind playing 1s or juniors?
I'm of the opinion that Johnny Hind is not worth the money being quoted in previous posts. Not saying he hasn't been a good player, but he's past it and should be enjoying a beer on the sideline rather than chasing cheap kicks
Off Season
7 Apr 2008, 12:41
Trentham seniors had a 25 point win over Newstead, Kallen Young was outstanding as was there new recruit Mark Darby who was very strong up forward. The reserves defeated Newstead by about 100 points and will again be very strong for the year. The under 17s went down by 5 goals and showed big improvements from last year with Healy being there best player for the day.
By all reports Young has had his biggest pre-season since playing Rebels, so expect him to have a better season than last year, when he won the B&F by about 100 votes.
If he can continue to build depth over the next year or two, then Trentham could be back playing finals in 2009 and 2010.
How did the other recruits go? Jake Young and Paul Raworth were handy players at the Rebels a few years ago I believe.
KingRich
7 Apr 2008, 14:15
Word is that Gibson never got near it on the weekend KingRich! And when he did he was useless, Talbot would have to be disappointed in his first up game for the club....
Gibbo was quiet but he wasn't on his own there. He would be the first to admit he had a poor game but it's only round 1. He is coming off a reco so will improve with every hitout.
KingRich
7 Apr 2008, 14:16
What position are they playing Fev?
Is Freak playing 1s or 2s? I would have thought his 1s days would be over unless he has put in one hell of a pre-season.
Is Jayden Hind playing 1s or juniors?
I'm of the opinion that Johnny Hind is not worth the money being quoted in previous posts. Not saying he hasn't been a good player, but he's past it and should be enjoying a beer on the sideline rather than chasing cheap kicks
Fev played half forward and on the ball and played not too bad.
Allen played 1s. Didn't get a heap of gametime.
Jayden played both 1s and 17s and acquitted himself well in both.
Johnny Hind has got himself fit and was always dangerous on Friday without being dominant. To get his two boys along with him is a great bonus for Rovers.
Off Season
7 Apr 2008, 14:41
Fev played half forward and on the ball and played not too bad.
Allen played 1s. Did get a heap of gametime.
Jayden played both 1s and 2s and acquitted himself well in both.
Johnny Hind has got himself fit and was always dangerous on Friday without being dominant. To get his two boys along with him is a great bonus for Rovers.
I'll be interested to hear how they progress throughout the season
KingRich
7 Apr 2008, 17:37
:thumbsd:Yes young Lach Liddicoat still eligable to play this year of 17's.. :)
Good nickname 'The Horse' ..
League Best and Fairest last year.. With the likes of Mottram, Stiles, Turner, Lierich all in form at the moment the Dunolly Juniors are devolping well :D
Young tough nut Collins to back the side up alot with younger guys around field.
Rovers to have a great side this year but will anyone be able to stop the big horse.. I know they are all hoping he plays Rebals :p
Cunningham better watch out in the 1's, he might cop a large clean bump for the Horse during the season and find himself in hospital. We all know he's a true soft sheep dog
I guess we will see who the bigger sheep dog is in about Round 9????? :)
Young Liddicoat has actually broken his wrist in the Under 17's match against Maldon on the weekend. Still managed to play a half of seniors and boot a goal :thumbsu: Nice footballer to watch..
I went and watched Talbot get done by the new and improved Rovers side. Good running by the Sherman of course.. Cunningham a few miss kicks possibly due to shitting himself. Rovers looking good for the season and Talbot maybe lacking a little. Ian Martin a classy footballer though.
Back to Lach - out for 6 weeks. Bit of a loss but he actually thinks he'll be right for next week. If only the plaster wasn't there.
Prediction - Cunningham wont know what hit him come Round 9 :)
imachamp
7 Apr 2008, 23:10
By all reports Young has had his biggest pre-season since playing Rebels, so expect him to have a better season than last year, when he won the B&F by about 100 votes.
If he can continue to build depth over the next year or two, then Trentham could be back playing finals in 2009 and 2010.
How did the other recruits go? Jake Young and Paul Raworth were handy players at the Rebels a few years ago I believe.
Jake young played a CHF all game and really dominated. He is very strong over head and is a very nice kick of the ball.
Tasty_Cheese
8 Apr 2008, 21:17
are u and lachy liddicoat an item or was it just a one night stand
I think ag_hero likes to pick up the fatties in general. Am i correct wheels?
On another note Dunollys home game this week against creek may be played at the creek, due to delidio park being compared to a slab of concrete. Will be a difficult game to tip.
EarToTheGround
9 Apr 2008, 16:23
Young Liddicoat has actually broken his wrist in the Under 17's match against Maldon on the weekend. Still managed to play a half of seniors and boot a goal :thumbsu: Nice footballer to watch..
I went and watched Talbot get done by the new and improved Rovers side. Good running by the Sherman of course.. Cunningham a few miss kicks possibly due to shitting himself. Rovers looking good for the season and Talbot maybe lacking a little. Ian Martin a classy footballer though.
Back to Lach - out for 6 weeks. Bit of a loss but he actually thinks he'll be right for next week. If only the plaster wasn't there.
Prediction - Cunningham wont know what hit him come Round 9 :)
Start an U/17s thread mate. You're ____ing the thread up.
EarToTheGround
9 Apr 2008, 16:24
I think ag_hero likes to pick up the fatties in general. Am i correct wheels?
On another note Dunollys home game this week against creek may be played at the creek, due to delidio park being compared to a slab of concrete. Will be a difficult game to tip.
It should be a pretty even year at the top and the bottom half of the league in 2008.
Id just like to say that talbots performance on friday night was terrible. I havent played much footy but talbots performance was the most undicsiplaned act i have ever seen. I grew up at that club and now i really couldnt give a shit about them. Talbot should be ashamed of themselves and what an embarrasment it would be for them. GO ROVERS 08
KingRich
10 Apr 2008, 10:21
Id just like to say that talbots performance on friday night was terrible. I havent played much footy but talbots performance was the most undicsiplaned act i have ever seen. I grew up at that club and now i really couldnt give a shit about them. Talbot should be ashamed of themselves and what an embarrasment it would be for them. GO ROVERS 08
Aren't we being a bit dramatic?? A few undisciplined incidents but come on. No one got king hit or anything like that. Another stab from a bloke who wont name himself. Yes it wasn't the prettiest display but I can tell you now none of the players involved were "embarrassed".
But good luck with your Dad and brother at your new club young fella! :)
We shall see if you're still singing their praises at the end of the year!
I might be being a bit dramatic but to me it was the worst thing i have ever seen! And alot of older boys from our club agreed to that.
howd uno it was me chook lol?
KingRich
10 Apr 2008, 10:32
I might be being a bit dramatic but to me it was the worst thing i have ever seen! And alot of older boys from our club agreed to that.
HaHaHa.... Yeah it was a real blood bath your right!
Turn it up.... Clark copped a couple... as expected..... There were a couple of other head high shots and that was about it. You would see worse in a netball game.
If Rovers want to whinge about that treatment then I wonder how they will go against Harcourt in a final when it will be twice as bad???
Did it worry you when your Dad's team was playing at Talbot??? They were a lot harder at the man back then than we are now. But I guess the shoe is on the other foot now. I think you will change ur tune after you play a few more senior games this year.
True mate but im more disappointed in there efforts on playing the game. The pill obviously wasnt important to them. That showed on the scoreboard:D
KingRich
10 Apr 2008, 11:00
True mate but im more disappointed in there efforts on playing the game. The pill obviously wasnt important to them. That showed on the scoreboard:D
Just wanted to confirm that you didn't have a short memory.
Dont back away from your original comments though.
"Id just like to say that talbots performance on friday night was terrible. I havent played much footy but talbots performance was the most undicsiplaned act i have ever seen. I grew up at that club and now i really couldnt give a shit about them. Talbot should be ashamed of themselves and what an embarrasment it would be for them. GO ROVERS 08"
There will be a chance for redemption.
Yeah ____ed up there haha!
Yepp and ill see ya next time we play ya's should be a good match!:thumbsu:
KingRich
10 Apr 2008, 11:58
Enough of that. Lets get onto this weeks matches. There will be a couple of interest I believe.Closest games will be Dunolly v Creek and Talbot v Maldon. The Talbot/Maldon game has been switched to Maldon to give Talbot's oval a little more time to get up to speed. It's not too far off though.
Tips:
Dunolly v Campbells Creek
Talbot v Maldon
Royal Park v Rovers
Trentham v Avoca
Harcourt v Newstead
Bye - Carisbrook
Enough of that. Lets get onto this weeks matches. There will be a couple of interest I believe.Closest games will be Dunolly v Creek and Talbot v Maldon. The Talbot/Maldon game has been switched to Maldon to give Talbot's oval a little more time to get up to speed. It's not too far off though.
Tips:
Talbot v Maldon
Royal Park v Rovers
Trentham v Avoca
Harcourt v Newstead
Bye - Carisbrook
I'd have to agree with your tips there Rich. I'm interested to see how maldon fair against quality opposition, they look to have recruited well.
Rojer_Ramjet
10 Apr 2008, 15:54
I'd have to agree with your tips there Rich. I'm interested to see how maldon fair against quality opposition, they look to have recruited well.
Maldon are a bit of an unknown... Creek for me v Dunolly there not too shabby.
EarToTheGround
10 Apr 2008, 16:02
Tips:
Dunolly v Campbells Creek: At Creek and the amount they are paying a game should get them some decent players.
Talbot v Maldon: Maldon should get this one.
Royal Park v Rovers: Rovers are in form, Bushy are not.
Trentham v Avoca: Trentham will be improved buy last years Grand Finalist might be also.
Harcourt v Newstead: Newstead will struggle.
Bye - Carisbrook
EarToTheGround
10 Apr 2008, 16:03
Maldon are a bit of an unknown... Creek for me v Dunolly there not too shabby.
Gee Brook must be a top notch team then. Belting Creek by 120 points if they're not too shabby...
KingRich
10 Apr 2008, 16:46
Tips:
Dunolly v Campbells Creek: At Creek and the amount they are paying a game should get them some decent players.
Talbot v Maldon: Maldon should get this one.
Royal Park v Rovers: Rovers are in form, Bushy are not.
Trentham v Avoca: Trentham will be improved buy last years Grand Finalist might be also.
Harcourt v Newstead: Newstead will struggle.
Bye - Carisbrook
I didn't realise this one was at Creek. I'll change my tip to Creek. I too think they are ok.... thought home ground advantage would give it to Dunolly.
Rojer_Ramjet
10 Apr 2008, 18:23
Gee Brook must be a top notch team then. Belting Creek by 120 points if they're not too shabby...
Rephrase then. Not as shabby as many have thought.
darryl 23
11 Apr 2008, 12:19
Tips:
Talbot v Maldon
Royal Park v Rovers
Trentham v Avoca
Harcourt v Newstead
Bye - Carisbrook
Can't see how Talbot can kick a winning score after they kicked 3 for the night last week, and they are playing on Maldons slope. Maldon are pretty strong judging by the team that I have seen. Maldon by 10(goals).
thekid178
11 Apr 2008, 12:57
Can't see how Talbot can kick a winning score after they kicked 3 for the night last week, and they are playing on Maldons slope. Maldon are pretty strong judging by the team that I have seen. Maldon by 10(goals).
Didn't Talbot recruit a big forward to help arrest their goal kicking issues? Returning from injury but can play the game...
KingRich
11 Apr 2008, 14:00
3.13. Innacurate kicking certainly influenced our goals scored and Rovers only kicked 9 so I think this was indicative of the fact it was a tight scrappy affair.
We have multiple forward options and when we click we will be capable of a big score. I think the small ground of Rovers will suit our forwards.
I really cant see Talbot getting over Maldon at this stage.. Very strong team and played quite well against Dunolly last week after reading the scoreboard. Although i believe Dunolly were only 8 or 9 goals down at 3qtr time. Maldon have some big guns into their side from last year which would add alot. Couple of big forwards and a few gun midfielders. On friday Talbot didn't play too bad, just didn't cap off many scoring possibilities. Maldon too strong is my prediction.
The only other tough match for the round is Campbells Creek Vs Dunolly. Creek have done well to get a side up and running and Dunolly are still building. Both teams would have to be running red hot as it would be a game to win for both teams.
It will be interesting to hear the results of Harcourt this week. Although Newstead aren't to be very strong this season, Harcourt have had many clearances out and not too many in.
On another subject does anyone have any tips for Goal Kicking and B&F for the year? Shall be an interesting season with a few new guns into the league.
3.13. Innacurate kicking certainly influenced our goals scored and Rovers only kicked 9 so I think this was indicative of the fact it was a tight scrappy affair.
We have multiple forward options and when we click we will be capable of a big score. I think the small ground of Rovers will suit our forwards.
Finals count KingRich. Princess Park will probably be the venue for finals this year again and if you do believe Talbot will make them you'll have to learn how to play on the bigger grounds. Lets hope for that click :D
Rojer_Ramjet
11 Apr 2008, 16:40
It will be interesting to hear the results of Harcourt this week. Although Newstead aren't to be very strong this season, Harcourt have had many clearances out and not too many in.
Will be interesting to see whether trethowan and carmicheal get cleared as I believe those ins will cover there outs...
KingRich
11 Apr 2008, 17:24
Will be interesting to see whether trethowan and carmicheal get cleared as I believe those ins will cover there outs...
I dont think Harcourt are in as bad a shape as we think. They dont have any crucial outs and a couple of their inclusions are ok.
KingRich
11 Apr 2008, 17:26
Finals count KingRich. Princess Park will probably be the venue for finals this year again and if you do believe Talbot will make them you'll have to learn how to play on the bigger grounds. Lets hope for that click :D
We have a reasonable record on Princes Park. Rovers would have beaten us on any ground last friday. Talbot's home ground is of similar dimensions to Princes Park.
League Goalkicking will be interesting. No one from Talbot will get up there as our forward line will generally be rotated.
Stone will be up there. Coghlan, Stone & Brad Ross. Kris Lea should also get better supply this year.
League B&F - Lach Brown, Ian Martin, Justin Harris
Grass cat
11 Apr 2008, 17:34
Wanted Key Position Players
For Country Football Club located an hour’s drive East of Melbourne.
Excellent Faculties along with top remuneration will be offered for the right player/ person.
If interested please contact the following number 0418 172328
Harries08
11 Apr 2008, 18:12
We have a reasonable record on Princes Park. Rovers would have beaten us on any ground last friday. Talbot's home ground is of similar dimensions to Princes Park.
League Goalkicking will be interesting. No one from Talbot will get up there as our forward line will generally be rotated.
Stone will be up there. Coghlan, Stone & Brad Ross. Kris Lea should also get better supply this year.
I would include Damien Hughes as a potential B&F. On baller with long curly blonde hair will be a vote getter in this leauge.
candy man
11 Apr 2008, 19:14
every year harcourt seem to be written off or under-estimated at this time of the season..whether it is we play our cards close to our chest or dont big note on this forum, that perhaps we are under-rated i dont know..
dont forget fellas the lions are looking at 3 in a row!!
So how did all teams fair up after Round 2?
Talbot getting over Maldon was unexpected to me.. Maybe that click has happened early season hey KingRich? :thumbsu: Any news?
Other games were fairly predictable with Rovers, Avoca and Harcourt getting up.
The Campbells Creek Vs Dunolly was the only other unpredictable game really.. Dunolly got up by a few I heard? Anyone that can give me some news from the game?
I wouldn't write Tony Bellenger out of the B&F count....
Hows Ding Dong Bell going out at Dunolly.....lets see if he goes walk about at the end of the year like he did last year
Pyrenees Puma
14 Apr 2008, 11:03
Hows Ding Dong Bell going out at Dunolly.....lets see if he goes walk about at the end of the year like he did last year
Truck old fella, you seem to be a little behind the times its now 2008.We have a new government in power, and carlton had there first win, so things they really are a changing.And also i think you will find he was sacked at Dunolly, must have been a popular desicion thou, as 21 players walked from the club that year in support of him. Since then he has won a league best and fairest and played in a grand final!
Steve_Addlem
14 Apr 2008, 11:05
I wouldn't write Tony Bellenger out of the B&F count....
Noone has written him off was just a couple of suggestions...
KingRich
14 Apr 2008, 11:08
Talbot had an 80 point turnaround on this prediction! :)
Was a tough game and always tough to beat Maldon at home so we were happy.
Truck old fella, you seem to be a little behind the times its now 2008.We have a new government in power, and carlton had there first win, so things they really are a changing.And also i think you will find he was sacked at Dunolly, must have been a popular desicion thou, as 21 players walked from the club that year in support of him. Since then he has won a league best and fairest and played in a grand final!
Yeah right back at ya.... was talking about Chris Bell. New player comes from Wyche, missed the last bit of last year at Wyche cause he wasnt training got dropped and we never seen him again
KingRich
14 Apr 2008, 12:22
every year harcourt seem to be written off or under-estimated at this time of the season..whether it is we play our cards close to our chest or dont big note on this forum, that perhaps we are under-rated i dont know..
dont forget fellas the lions are looking at 3 in a row!!
I dont think anyone has written them off, as you say we dont hear from many Lions people on this forum so it's a bit out of sight out of mind. Care to let us know how they went on the weekend?? Any new recruits perform well??
Great win by Dunolly over at Creek by about 8 goals I believe. Apparently Creek lost their cool a bit and this may have cost them. Bit of confidence into the young Dunolly side will surely help them.
Maldon is a reasonalby impressive side. Plenty of good ball winners but they may just lack a little pace.
I believe you are refering to when Bellenger was appointed coach of Dunolly but certain handy players weren't happy about it and threatend to leave the club if this continued. Bellenger wasn't appointed coach, left and for some reason those other 'handy' players left the club aswel. Thats was the start of Dunolly's fall after all the clearances out.
Yeah right back at ya.... was talking about Chris Bell. New player comes from Wyche, missed the last bit of last year at Wyche cause he wasnt training got dropped and we never seen him again
Bell has been traveling quite well I've been informed from the young Bilton at Dunolly. Attends 95% of training on thursday nights and performed well on the field.
CatAttack_07
14 Apr 2008, 17:16
So how did all teams fair up after Round 2?
Talbot getting over Maldon was unexpected to me.. Maybe that click has happened early season hey KingRich? :thumbsu: Any news?
Other games were fairly predictable with Rovers, Avoca and Harcourt getting up.
The Campbells Creek Vs Dunolly was the only other unpredictable game really.. Dunolly got up by a few I heard? Anyone that can give me some news from the game?
Great effort by Talbot to beat Maldon @ Maldon. Do you think people may have been over-rating Maldon pre-season? Word was that they had recruited exceptionally well and where looking to finish top 2-3? It is early days but this loss will hurt them as they would have fancied their chances against a side that will be most likely competing for 4-5 position.
Great win for Dunnolly...I'll be honest I didn't like there chances after speaking with some brook players the week before who said Creek where quite competitive.
Avoca look to have done it easy but Trentham must have improved on last years efforts. Strong rumours heading around that J.Field may be returning to the Bulldogs which will be a massive inclusion.
Smith, Stone and co. look to have started 08' very well and there is no doubt they will be a strong unit again.
Took Rovers a while to get going but they where very convincing winners over a very ordinary Royal Park outfit. Honestly cannot see them getting off the bottom of the ladder this season. Rovers had a couple of very impressive kids on show who combined very well with the experienced players.
Rojer_Ramjet
14 Apr 2008, 17:26
Avoca look to have done it easy but Trentham must have improved on last years efforts. Strong rumours heading around that J.Field may be returning to the Bulldogs which will be a massive inclusion.
Redan are heading towards there 3rd consecutive premiership where Field is a large contributor. I'm tipping J. Field will return one day but surely you don't mean this year?
Thoroughbred
14 Apr 2008, 17:41
Don't be too sure about Avoca doing it easy. Trentham were still in it at 3qtr time. A massive last quarter saw the dogs look the comfortable winners but that wasn't necessarily the story.
Pyrenees Puma
14 Apr 2008, 21:40
Don't be too sure about Avoca doing it easy. Trentham were still in it at 3qtr time. A massive last quarter saw the dogs look the comfortable winners but that wasn't necessarily the story.
Full credit must go to trentham they fielded a very good team.Had a few great young footballers. The days of going to trenham to fill in a saturday are gone this year. IMO trentham will frighten the hell out of, if not beat some of the teams that thought they will walk over them.Very hard at it all day.Very possibly may play finals.Once again credit must go to there administration,and recruiting commitee, they fielded a very competitive side.GREAT WORK!!
candy man
14 Apr 2008, 23:33
I dont think anyone has written them off, as you say we dont hear from many Lions people on this forum so it's a bit out of sight out of mind. Care to let us know how they went on the weekend?? Any new recruits perform well??
Great win by Dunolly over at Creek by about 8 goals I believe. Apparently Creek lost their cool a bit and this may have cost them. Bit of confidence into the young Dunolly side will surely help them.
Maldon is a reasonalby impressive side. Plenty of good ball winners but they may just lack a little pace.
was the usual suspects on saturday, with smiths, stoney, macca, hutchy all doing their bit to ensure a very comfortable win..newstead never in the hunt just junk time action making the game look semi-competitive.
im tipping stoney to have the goal-kicking lead come 5pm saturday :eek:
browny and co have created a bit of interest over our side of the league, be interesting to see how things go
KingRich
15 Apr 2008, 13:40
Great effort by Talbot to beat Maldon @ Maldon. Do you think people may have been over-rating Maldon pre-season? Word was that they had recruited exceptionally well and where looking to finish top 2-3? It is early days but this loss will hurt them as they would have fancied their chances against a side that will be most likely competing for 4-5 position.
Great win for Dunnolly...I'll be honest I didn't like there chances after speaking with some brook players the week before who said Creek where quite competitive.
Smith, Stone and co. look to have started 08' very well and there is no doubt they will be a strong unit again.
Took Rovers a while to get going but they where very convincing winners over a very ordinary Royal Park outfit. Honestly cannot see them getting off the bottom of the ladder this season. Rovers had a couple of very impressive kids on show who combined very well with the experienced players.
I reckon you can throw a blanket over the top 6 at this point. There is no doubt Talbot is capable of beating Rovers and no doubt Maldon is capable of beating Talbot on their respective days. It all points to a very competitive competition thus far and sides will need to be on their game most weekends to get a win up on the board.
I was impressed with Maldon. They have great marking power around the ground and plenty of ball winners. They will win a lot more than they lose.
Great win by Dunolly. They had a few of their better players out too.
It's gonna be a tough year to win a premiership and I think Rovers & Maldon may have picked the wrong year to have a real crack.
I was impressed with Maldon. They have great marking power around the ground and plenty of ball winners. They will win a lot more than they lose.
I was also impressed with Maldon on Saturday. A noticeable absentee from the Maldon team was big Kris Lea who would have added a lot more marking and goal kicking power on top of what they already have.
A lot of big bodied players!
Lee Stewart was also a very handy player for the Bombers.
It was a great game to watch and could have gone either way.
Maldon will definitely be in the mix come finals time. IMO.
darryl 23
15 Apr 2008, 16:49
Was a tough game and always tough to beat Maldon at home so we were happy.[/quote]
A great turnaround 3 goals 0ne week and a good win the next. Ian Martin looks to have played forward, is this usual?
I notice that Bobby Beare has been in the best for Trentham 2's in the past 2 games, can he go back to back and what sort of record would that be for a near 50 year old???
KingRich
15 Apr 2008, 17:42
Was a tough game and always tough to beat Maldon at home so we were happy.
A great turnaround 3 goals 0ne week and a good win the next. Ian Martin looks to have played forward, is this usual?
I notice that Bobby Beare has been in the best for Trentham 2's in the past 2 games, can he go back to back and what sort of record would that be for a near 50 year old???[/quote]
Martin has played the majority of his time on the ball so far. He is just a goal kicking midfielder. He will push forward more often than not though.
KingRich
17 Apr 2008, 10:07
Tips for this week:
Rovers v Carisbrook - 5 goals. Will prove that they are the best team in the comp this week I believe.
Avoca v Dunolly - 100 points. Hopefully Dunolly can be competitive enoiugh to keep it under 100
Newstead v Talbot - Danger game for Talbot but should be able to get the points. Talbot by 40 points
Harcourt v Royal Park - 150 points. This could get ugly.
Maldon v Campbells Creek - Maldon by 80-odd points. Maldon will be smarting after their loss last week and will hit back hard.
Bye - Trentham
CatAttack_07
17 Apr 2008, 14:14
Tips for this week:
Rovers v Carisbrook - 5 goals. Will prove that they are the best team in the comp this week I believe.
Avoca v Dunolly - 100 points. Hopefully Dunolly can be competitive enoiugh to keep it under 100
Newstead v Talbot - Danger game for Talbot but should be able to get the points. Talbot by 40 points
Harcourt v Royal Park - 150 points. This could get ugly.
Maldon v Campbells Creek - Maldon by 80-odd points. Maldon will be smarting after their loss last week and will hit back hard.
Bye - Trentham
I think you are pretty much on the money here KingRich. Perhaps Talbot to win a little more comfortably (80 + points).
I really believe that Rovers will be too strong for the Brook though.
Rovers speed and the way they use the footy I think may bring Brook undone. Rovers preparation has been alot better considering Brook have had only a hit out against Wedderburn and Round 1 against Campbells Creek.
Strong rumours that Harris may have injured his hamstring this week but is expected to play.
Rovers just by a straight kick.
Looks like a fantastic game which should bring a huge crowd!
M.O.T.H.
17 Apr 2008, 22:16
Keep a keen interest on this league. Had family in the Maine and some cousins played at Creek.
Just a couple of questions if someone can answer.
What's the hold up with Sammy Noble's clearance from Surrey Park to Creek?
Is Sean Myring just cleared to Creek the ex gun bat at Lower Eltham CC U16's in the DVCA?
The NFL web site has a Marc Robbins clearance pending (for over a month) from Carisbrook to Montmorency. Anyone know what's going on here and how's the kid go?
Cheers:thumbsu:
candy man
18 Apr 2008, 15:34
I think you are pretty much on the money here KingRich. Perhaps Talbot to win a little more comfortably (80 + points).
Rovers speed and the way they use the footy I think may bring Brook undone. Rovers preparation has been alot better considering Brook have had only a hit out against Wedderburn and Round 1 against Campbells Creek.
Strong rumours that Harris may have injured his hamstring this week but is expected to play.
Rovers
Avoca
Talbot
Harcourt- chappy on fire
Maldon
cat,
please correct me if im wrong you appear to be either a mb rovers player or supporter?
if so how will you guys match up against brook, they were quick (no talls) also last year, your right teams seem quite evenly matched. is harris injured? if so may prove the difference
this is the only real game of interest in terms of the top teams, the other matches are all straight forward.
darkhorse4000
18 Apr 2008, 15:56
candyman.... is big browne kerr going around again this year? what about joffa mclean? is he playing or bound for marong?
chris judd69
18 Apr 2008, 18:39
candyman.... is big browne kerr going around again this year? what about joffa mclean? is he playing or bound for marong?
no he is stil playin 4 harcourt, though he had been training with marong
KingRich
18 Apr 2008, 19:02
no he is stil playin 4 harcourt, though he had been training with marong
Must have been real keen to stay after putting in 3 clearances to Marong and all got knocked back!
KingRich
18 Apr 2008, 19:24
Keep a keen interest on this league. Had family in the Maine and some cousins played at Creek.
Just a couple of questions if someone can answer.
What's the hold up with Sammy Noble's clearance from Surrey Park to Creek?
Is Sean Myring just cleared to Creek the ex gun bat at Lower Eltham CC U16's in the DVCA?
The NFL web site has a Marc Robbins clearance pending (for over a month) from Carisbrook to Montmorency. Anyone know what's going on here and how's the kid go?
Cheers:thumbsu:
Robins clearance does not show up on the MCDFL transfers list??
Robins is a good player with plenty of pace.
M.O.T.H.
18 Apr 2008, 23:06
Robins clearance does not show up on the MCDFL transfers list??
Robins is a good player with plenty of pace.
Thanks KR. Don't know what's going on there but on the NFL Clearance list it says Castlemaine Football League which is only juniors. I assume that Marc is well past this level?
Obviously some sort of stuff up somewhere. You'd think that there'd be communications between the leagues to sort it out ie clearance lodged and recorded but nothing received. Don't know much about how it works but some sort of common sense has (or should ) prevail.
Uncle Johnny
19 Apr 2008, 19:47
just wanna quickly say hello to all those people who said harcourt were gonna beat bushy by 20+ goals today. got done by 6 goals after being a point up at 3/4 time but had Addlem send our CHF off at 3/4 for abusing someone in the crowd. was a fantastic game to watch. other results for the day??
KingRich
20 Apr 2008, 18:44
just wanna quickly say hello to all those people who said harcourt were gonna beat bushy by 20+ goals today. got done by 6 goals after being a point up at 3/4 time but had Addlem send our CHF off at 3/4 for abusing someone in the crowd. was a fantastic game to watch. other results for the day??
That is a terrific performance by Bushy!
Talbot beat Newstead. Newstead are very inexperienced, but have plenty of good young talent running around. They were in front at times in the second quarter and were only 2-3 goals down at half time.
All credit to the Newstead committee who have transformed their oval into a fantastic surface this season!
KingRich
20 Apr 2008, 18:58
Rovers have some thinking to do I think Cat-Attack!
EarToTheGround
21 Apr 2008, 11:40
A very interesting round coming up.
Brook v Maldon could go either way.
Dunolly v Rovers is the only face value 1 sided game. Is it Friday night like the talk was early on?
Talbot v Avoca. Avoca played Bushy, Trentham, Dunolly. This will give them their first genuine challenge for 2008.
Bushy v Newstead. Good chance for either team to get their first win.
Trentham v Harcourt. Trentham may knock Harcourt off.
Billy_The_Kid
21 Apr 2008, 12:55
When do clearances close?
KingRich
21 Apr 2008, 14:35
A very interesting round coming up.
Brook v Maldon could go either way.
Dunolly v Rovers is the only face value 1 sided game. Is it Friday night like the talk was early on?
Talbot v Avoca. Avoca played Bushy, Trentham, Dunolly. This will give them their first genuine challenge for 2008.
Bushy v Newstead. Good chance for either team to get their first win.
Trentham v Harcourt. Trentham may knock Harcourt off.
Dunolly v Rovers is Friday night at Princes Park.
Made4September
21 Apr 2008, 16:58
When do clearances close?
End of June isn't it?
Uncle Johnny
21 Apr 2008, 21:17
Brook v Maldon - can only assume brook will carry on the form from weekend
Dunolly v Rovers - expect rovers to bounce back well
Talbot v Avoca - despite the teams they've played, still think avoca are the team to beat
Bushy v Newstead - think if bushy play same as they did against harcourt they should record their first win for the year
Trentham v Harcourt - as with rovers, expect the apple eaters to come back strong, finished the game off well on satdy too
I heard that Nick Robo left to go overseas last weekend, apparently he is gone for the remainder of the season. Havn't seen brook play yet this season, but would assume that it would have an impact on their game.
Rojer_Ramjet
22 Apr 2008, 09:50
I heard that Nick Robo left to go overseas last weekend, apparently he is gone for the remainder of the season. Havn't seen brook play yet this season, but would assume that it would have an impact on their game.
6 weeks pal...
Sherman41
22 Apr 2008, 12:25
6 weeks pal...
good to see nathan wright stepped up in his absense on the weekend rojer, do u think he can carry his form through for rounds to come???..brook look very dangerous this season IMO with there skillful running brigade, and too record a victory like that without harris and robbo will surely send out warning bells to oppisition teams...i think a loss like that was what rovers needed to get there feet back on the ground!!!!
Steve_Addlem
22 Apr 2008, 13:42
What sort of cattle did Harcourt have on the ground uncle johnny? Who was missing from the premiership side?
6 weeks pal...
Thanks for clearing that up rojer...:thumbsu:
Uncle Johnny
22 Apr 2008, 17:56
What sort of cattle did Harcourt have on the ground uncle johnny? Who was missing from the premiership side?
to be honest steve i dont know. i know that most of their core is still there but i dont know much about harcourt to be honest. they finished off well in the last quarter though. i think maybe bushy just came out and all had good days, certainly see this weekend against newstead
humbird
22 Apr 2008, 18:18
The Anzac day clash between Dunolly and Rover's should be a good one for the league. I'm tipping there will be a few fellas from other clubs coming down for a sneak peak. Rover's will be looking to bounce back strongly you would think but Dunolly efforts this year seem to be underestimated...
Jock Clark 2
23 Apr 2008, 14:44
RICH, Shermo and MCDFL forumers --- how are things shaping administratively under the Ballarat hub ?
Maxwell Martin and Co. have been put out to pasture. I don't think Maxwell even bothers with the 5.50 pm Saturday ring to radio with the MCDFL footy and netball scores any more.:eek:
KingRich
24 Apr 2008, 12:09
RICH, Shermo and MCDFL forumers --- how are things shaping administratively under the Ballarat hub ?
Maxwell Martin and Co. have been put out to pasture. I don't think Maxwell even bothers with the 5.50 pm Saturday ring to radio with the MCDFL footy and netball scores any more.:eek:
Why would he bother??? Plenty of others to do that for him nowadays.
New admin is going well thus far.
KingRich
24 Apr 2008, 12:10
The Anzac day clash between Dunolly and Rover's should be a good one for the league. I'm tipping there will be a few fellas from other clubs coming down for a sneak peak. Rover's will be looking to bounce back strongly you would think but Dunolly efforts this year seem to be underestimated...
Dunolly have improved but I'd be surprised if they got within 100 points of Carisbrook. Will be a great fundraiser for Dunolly but would have been nice to have a higher standard game on show for Anzac day IMO.
KingRich
24 Apr 2008, 12:13
Brook v Maldon - Brook by 7 goals
Dunolly v Rovers - Rovers by 100 points. If Eagles can play well expect the result to be around 60 points though.
Talbot v Avoca - Will be the closely fought encounter. Could go either way IMO. Note that game is now being played at Avoca which may give Avoca the edge. Talbot by 3 goals
Bushy v Newstead - I reckon last week either Harcourt were down or Bushy played out of their skins or both. Newstead aren't that bad and will run out easy winners. Newstead by 6 goals.
Trentham v Harcourt - I reckon the Saints could push Harcourt a bit this week. Harcourt by 6 goals.
EarToTheGround
24 Apr 2008, 12:38
Dunolly have improved but I'd be surprised if they got within 100 points of Dunolly. Will be a great fundraiser for Dunolly but would have been nice to have a higher standard game on show for Anzac day IMO.
Is it an intraclub game Friday night? :D
Did Dunolly come up with the idea? If so we can't whinge about going to see a low quality game.
KingRich
24 Apr 2008, 14:42
Is it an intraclub game Friday night? :D
Did Dunolly come up with the idea? If so we can't whinge about going to see a low quality game.
Yeah Dunolly came up with the idea and got it off the ground. Not sure why we cant whinge about the quality of the game though. Good on Dunolly but would be good to see a better game on Anzac day.
EarToTheGround
24 Apr 2008, 14:48
Yeah Dunolly came up with the idea and got it off the ground. Not sure why we cant whinge about the quality of the game though. Good on Dunolly but would be good to see a better game on Anzac day.
Yeah I agree that it is hardly a marquee game and despite previous posts Dunolly probably have a long way to go before they are competitive. Avoca v Talbot or Brook v Maldon would be better for viewing but it doesn't sound like any of them took the initiative so the alternative would be all of us sitting around on a Friday night doing nothing. This beats the alternative.
Pyrenees Puma
24 Apr 2008, 15:21
Brook v Maldon - Brook by 7 goals
Dunolly v Rovers - Rovers by 100 points. If Eagles can play well expect the result to be around 60 points though.
Talbot v Avoca - Will be the closely fought encounter. Could go either way IMO. Note that game is now being played at Avoca which may give Avoca the edge. Talbot by 3 goals
Bushy v Newstead - I reckon last week either Harcourt were down or Bushy played out of their skins or both. Newstead aren't that bad and will run out easy winners. Newstead by 6 goals.
Trentham v Harcourt - I reckon the Saints could push Harcourt a bit this week. Harcourt by 6 goals.
Dunolly v Rovers - Rovers by 30 points, but don't be surprised if it a lot closer.
Avoca v Talbot - Should be a good game, Avoca by 36 points.Both teams will improve as the season goes on.
Brook v Maldon - If you believe all the hype about Maldon, should be a great game - Brook by 45 points but Maldon will greatly improve as the year goes on.
Bushy v Newstead - Bushy by 25 points.
Trentham v Harcourt - This is were most won't agree, Trentham by 18 points.Harcourt are just idling at the moment , will come good when they need to.Proven great side! I dont think it's just yet thou.
I think you may find that the drought affected Dunolly ground had something to do with it being played at Princes Park also.
Another game change in the MCDFNL is Avoca will now be playing Brook at Brook next Sunday. (Round 5)
And the return game at Avoca (Round 16) will also be a Sunday game.
Rojer_Ramjet
24 Apr 2008, 16:30
I think you may find that the drought affected Dunolly ground had something to do with it being played at Princes Park also.
Another game change in the MCDFNL is Avoca will now be playing Brook at Brook next Sunday. (Round 5)
Any reason why they are sunday games bucko?
KingRich
24 Apr 2008, 16:50
I guess to increase the gates. Players hate Sunday footy tho dont they Rojer?!?!?!?!
Not sure Roger, but King is probably right, It would definitely be a money spinner. From a spectator’s point of view it is a good idea, but I can see the point of view that players aren’t too keen on it. Especially if they don’t have the next day off too recover.
It is also a good opportunity to showcase the League’s current top of the table teams. Whether or not they are still top of the table after this week is another thing.
Dunollys ground was tested during the week i believe and passed. Amazing what a bit of water does.
The sunday game i guess will increase $ for the home club and make it more of a specticule, but unlucky if your a player. :o
humbird
25 Apr 2008, 23:49
For ppl who have said that Friday's night game between Dunolly and Rovers wasn't going to be of good quality would need to rethink. IMO the game was of good quality considering the conditions. Yes Rovers did win by about 12 goals but Dunolly could have easily kicked 5-6 goals in the last quarter but innaccurate kicking cost them. Dunolly definately seemed to run the game out a bit stronger. Signs are definately positive. Hopefully a few of the guys who got to the game would agree...
KingRich
26 Apr 2008, 12:12
For ppl who have said that Friday's night game between Dunolly and Rovers wasn't going to be of good quality would need to rethink. IMO the game was of good quality considering the conditions. Yes Rovers did win by about 12 goals but Dunolly could have easily kicked 5-6 goals in the last quarter but innaccurate kicking cost them. Dunolly definately seemed to run the game out a bit stronger. Signs are definately positive. Hopefully a few of the guys who got to the game would agree...
Were there many there?? I heard Dunolly went ok but I'm sorry to disagree..... 12 goals is not a good competitive game! Good on Dunolly for organising it and they are definately on the improve. I just think it would have been good for the league to have some forethought and schedule perhaps Brook v Maldon or Talbot v Avoca for Anzac Day.
Good luck to everyone at the footy today!