View Full Version : Maryborough Castlemaine District FL
EarToTheGround
15 May 2008, 13:07
Now we're nearly a 3rd of the way through the year, does anyone want to have a go at a Round 20 ladder.
Here's mine...
Brook - Best list and still beating teams when they have 4-5 name injuries.
Harcourt - They still have the better players in the league in Smith, Hutch and some very handy recruits. Started slow but they are unbeaten at this point.
Avoca - I tipped them to finish top but I think they will get caught out against teams like Brook and Harcourt.
Maldon - Getting better by the week and a 10 goal touch up over Rovers shows that.
Talbot - Should sneak in. There are injury concerns at the moment, but most teams have 4-5 guys out per week.
Rovers - They've been talked up too much but will miss the finals. You can't pay finals without a key forward.
Trentham - Big improvers and I'd expect them to get better as the year goes on. So I would not count them out at this stage.
Newstead - Coming into form and with Oxley rucking, they will always have first use of the footy.
Dunolly - Will beat the teams below them and I wouldn't expect much more.
Royal Park - They should beat Creek but that's about it for Bushy. May push Dunolly though.
Campbells Creek - I think interest levels will drop as the year goes on and trouble with the coach early is not good.
KingRich
15 May 2008, 13:34
Now we're nearly a 3rd of the way through the year, does anyone want to have a go at a Round 20 ladder.
Here's mine...
Brook - Best list and still beating teams when they have 4-5 name injuries.
Harcourt - They still have the better players in the league in Smith, Hutch and some very handy recruits. Started slow but they are unbeaten at this point.
Avoca - I tipped them to finish top but I think they will get caught out against teams like Brook and Harcourt.
Maldon - Getting better by the week and a 10 goal touch up over Rovers shows that.
Talbot - Should sneak in. There are injury concerns at the moment, but most teams have 4-5 guys out per week.
Rovers - They've been talked up too much but will miss the finals. You can't pay finals without a key forward.
Trentham - Big improvers and I'd expect them to get better as the year goes on. So I would not count them out at this stage.
Newstead - Coming into form and with Oxley rucking, they will always have first use of the footy.
Dunolly - Will beat the teams below them and I wouldn't expect much more.
Royal Park - They should beat Creek but that's about it for Bushy. May push Dunolly though.
Campbells Creek - I think interest levels will drop as the year goes on and trouble with the coach early is not good.
Not a bad ladder. I think we will finish above Maldon as well though. Other than that it looks spot on unless there are any major surprises. I still think that Avoca might finish above Harcourt tho. I have fallen for the trap over the years but I really think Harcourt have slipped a little this year. Will still be top 3, but they will need to rely on their experience to make another grand final.
Agreed with all clubs have injuries but we have suffered injuries to a lot of our top-tier players which has been disappointing. We were not far off beating Avoca and Harcourt and would be confident of rolling them the second time around. Talbot has not counted its season out just yet.
Dunolly have been refreshingly competitive this season which is good to see and a credit to coach and players out there. It has been great to see minimal blow-outs this season which is great for the image of the league. Most clubs, except Creek, Bushy & Dunolly, have the ability to upset the top teams.
Steve_Addlem
15 May 2008, 15:00
Can you explain ur logic behind predicting a Sydney style game between Talbot & Bushy?
Bushy will have someone loose in the backline within 5 mins of the game starting iMO
EarToTheGround
15 May 2008, 15:03
Not a bad ladder. I think we will finish above Maldon as well though. Other than that it looks spot on unless there are any major surprises. I still think that Avoca might finish above Harcourt tho. I have fallen for the trap over the years but I really think Harcourt have slipped a little this year. Will still be top 3, but they will need to rely on their experience to make another grand final.
Agreed with all clubs have injuries but we have suffered injuries to a lot of our top-tier players which has been disappointing. We were not far off beating Avoca and Harcourt and would be confident of rolling them the second time around. Talbot has not counted its season out just yet.
Dunolly have been refreshingly competitive this season which is good to see and a credit to coach and players out there. It has been great to see minimal blow-outs this season which is great for the image of the league. Most clubs, except Creek, Bushy & Dunolly, have the ability to upset the top teams.
This weekend will be telling with Brook and Harcourt. Brook did Avoca with ease and had top tier players standing on the sidelines so that is where I decided that Avoca were 3rd.
There is no doubt Talbot have had their share of injuries to their better players and especially early in the games which contributes to running out of legs. You did beat Maldon easily so fourth is up for grabs.
As long as the 200 point barrier doesn't get broken, it is a win for the league.
KingRich
15 May 2008, 17:18
Bushy will have someone loose in the backline within 5 mins of the game starting iMO
I dont think it will matter Steve!
darkhorse4000
16 May 2008, 00:05
Not far off beating Avoca? u were down by 51 points in the final qtr, only 2 dodgy goals made it half respectable, you stuck with them for 3 qtrs but injuries didn't help in the end, but injuries have hurt most sides to date, would be great to see sides play each other with full lists to choose from
darkhorse4000
16 May 2008, 00:09
This weekend will be telling with Brook and Harcourt. Brook did Avoca with ease and had top tier players standing on the sidelines so that is where I decided that Avoca were 3rd.
There is no doubt Talbot have had their share of injuries to their better players and especially early in the games which contributes to running out of legs. You did beat Maldon easily so fourth is up for grabs.
As long as the 200 point barrier doesn't get broken, it is a win for the league.
Watching the Brook V Avoca game, i wouldnt say it was done with ease, Avoca had N Coghlan,A Grant,C Ross, C Moser on side lines and new recruit L Morrissey playing 1st game in a year, both sides at full strength would be even money contest
EarToTheGround
16 May 2008, 11:01
Watching the Brook V Avoca game, i wouldnt say it was done with ease, Avoca had N Coghlan,A Grant,C Ross, C Moser on side lines and new recruit L Morrissey playing 1st game in a year, both sides at full strength would be even money contest
Play that card if you want but Brook's outs were equal to Avoca's. Brad Ross, Lloyd, Nick Robbo and a few others. Not taking anything away from Avoca because they are a good team but they looked incapable of kicking a winning score on that occassion. They also let guys like Chipper run free who IMO is deserving of a tough tag.
Sherman41
16 May 2008, 12:27
Not far off beating Avoca? u were down by 51 points in the final qtr, only 2 dodgy goals made it half respectable, you stuck with them for 3 qtrs but injuries didn't help in the end, but injuries have hurt most sides to date, would be great to see sides play each other with full lists to choose from
It is alot easier to go into games with injuries, than to receive injuries during a game, atleast you can replace them..against avoca and harcourt talbot were forced to play with a 1-2 man bench for most the game...
KingRich
16 May 2008, 12:49
As an Avoca supporter you wouldn't have felt the game was comfortably in the bank until about the last 10 minutes. We were very competitive just couldn't finish off. We played one short due to a send off in the middle period of the game and also lost Smith & Bond very,very early. You were the better side on the day but I think Talbot is more than capable of beating you.
KingRich
16 May 2008, 12:50
It is alot easier to go into games with injuries, than to receive injuries during a game, atleast you can replace them..against avoca and harcourt talbot were forced to play with a 1-2 man bench for most the game...
Speaking of interchange numbers.... Does anyone else think that 4 on the bench in the seniors is one too many?
Johnny Drama
16 May 2008, 13:31
Speaking of interchange numbers.... Does anyone else think that 4 on the bench in the seniors is one too many?
I think it shows a lack of vision from the league. 4 or 5 teams are struggling with numbers in the 2's and the seniors have 4 on the bench. 21 is plenty. It's probably okay in finals but in home and away, it really disadvantages the teams with lacking reserves.
KingRich
16 May 2008, 14:06
I think it shows a lack of vision from the league. 4 or 5 teams are struggling with numbers in the 2's and the seniors have 4 on the bench. 21 is plenty. It's probably okay in finals but in home and away, it really disadvantages the teams with lacking reserves.
Agreed. From a coaching point of view also it is nigh on impossible to rotate a four man bench effectively!
Johnny Drama
16 May 2008, 14:56
Agreed. From a coaching point of view also it is nigh on impossible to rotate a four man bench effectively!
In the AFL with endless depth and a good rotation system - it is possible. But in country footy it is hopeless. A problem is that the 4th man on the bench sees little game time and would be better off having 4 quarters in the 2's.
Pyrenees Puma
16 May 2008, 18:27
As an Avoca supporter you wouldn't have felt the game was comfortably in the bank until about the last 10 minutes. We were very competitive just couldn't finish off. We played one short due to a send off in the middle period of the game and also lost Smith & Bond very,very early. You were the better side on the day but I think Talbot is more than capable of beating you.
King the hit on Brad wardlaw not 5 meters from our bench was a cheap shot.I think from what i hear DISCIPLINE is prehaps a problem talbot needs to fix if they are to play finals.That very same player who was sent off seems to do that very regularly.All im trying to say is prehaps get a new tactic when your team is losing.Every team sees it coming, and prehaps even banks on it.But like me, your intitled to your opinion.Just dont use one man down,as an excuse.
Harries08
16 May 2008, 18:57
Well King you are a very passionate Talbot supporter, good to see that passion, as a person who doesn't watch that much MCFL footy I was wondering who your injuries were the only two you have mentioned are smith and bond. Will they play again this year? both shoulders? I hope you realise that most teams in country footy have injuries. The Darkhorse makes some good pionts about Avoca and their injuries, not shure if Moser will be back this year. Brook has some injuries, trenthem has some injuries, it's all about what you do with the cattle you have on the park. Just on you last quote that you think talbot are capable of beating Avoca good on you for thinking that mate but I think you may be greatly disapionted especially if your injurie curse continues.
Localfootyfan
17 May 2008, 00:46
King the hit on Brad wardlaw not 5 meters from our bench was a cheap shot.I think from what i hear DISCIPLINE is prehaps a problem talbot needs to fix if they are to play finals.That very same player who was sent off seems to do that very regularly.All im trying to say is prehaps get a new tactic when your team is losing.Every team sees it coming, and prehaps even banks on it.But like me, your intitled to your opinion.Just dont use one man down,as an excuse.
Adrian, did someone have to fill you in on the incident? As the word around Bendigo town was that you may have been a little "out of it" after the first quarter??
Pyrenees Puma
17 May 2008, 09:30
Adrian, did someone have to fill you in on the incident? As the word around Bendigo town was that you may have been a little "out of it" after the first quarter??
LFF if by Adrian you meen pilgs , you couldnt be further from the mark.But thanks for raising another incident involving that very same player involved in the send off.Once again a cheap shot as pilgs was leading. I'm amazed he is allowed to get away with such things week in week out.I was all ways told when your to old or to slow give the game away.If that was the highlight of your day, mine was getting the four points.If you are from Talbot ask Benny to give roger a go at boxing.I bet he's no good.
Sherman41
17 May 2008, 11:22
LFF if by Adrian you meen pilgs , you couldnt be further from the mark.But thanks for raising another incident involving that very same player involved in the send off.Once again a cheap shot as pilgs was leading. I'm amazed he is allowed to get away with such things week in week out.I was all ways told when your to old or to slow give the game away.If that was the highlight of your day, mine was getting the four points.If you are from Talbot ask Benny to give roger a go at boxing.I bet he's no good.
i think u will find it wasnt even roger that got pilgs anyway...as far as roger being too old and slow i would have to disagree the bloke is a club champion and fantastic leader, he is a valuable asset to the club....as for us being dirty yes we like to play it hard but thats it... its not as if avoca didnt dish it out that day either!!!!...
The Mighty Maroons
17 May 2008, 22:25
Tips for this week. Looks to be a very interesting round coming up!
Carisbrook v Harcourt - Carisbrook should get the points in a great encounter. Brook by 5 goals
Dunolly v Trentham - Danger game for Trentham who must win to stay in touch with the final 5. Trentham too have too much class and win by 8 goals
Talbot v Royal Park - Talbot still quite undermanned but anything less than a 100 point flogging would be disappointing!
Campbells Creek v Newstead - I think Newstead are travelling ok considering their losses and should be too good for Creek. If Creek stay disciplined and turn up to play the margin could be close though. I dont think this will be the case however! Newstead by 60 points.
Maldon v Avoca - Bit of an upset I'm tipping here. Maldon will have their tails up after last week and are always tough to beat at home.
Trentham not quite up to the challange!! Well done to the improved Dunolly side who is starting to gel and get the job done, Trentham not the side they they have been cracked up to be by people or what is the story, maybe just a gutsy effort by the eagles??
Sherman41
18 May 2008, 15:38
Trentham not quite up to the challange!! Well done to the improved Dunolly side who is starting to gel and get the job done, Trentham not the side they they have been cracked up to be by people or what is the story, maybe just a gutsy effort by the eagles??
a couple of very interesting results on the weekend...well done to the dunolly boys a great effort by them to get up and over trentham...maldon beating avoca could cause some headaches for talbot and rovers now for the final spots of the 5!!!...what happened to avoca???...injuries??..played bad??...or were maldon just too good??
Harries08
18 May 2008, 19:42
a couple of very interesting results on the weekend...well done to the dunolly boys a great effort by them to get up and over trentham...maldon beating avoca could cause some headaches for talbot and rovers now for the final spots of the 5!!!...what happened to avoca???...injuries??..played bad??...or were maldon just too good??
Unlike others who get on this forum and use excuses for a loss, Maldon were to good on the day.
Sherman41
18 May 2008, 20:59
Unlike others who get on this forum and use excuses for a loss, Maldon were to good on the day.
Ok fair enough then, who played well for them??... im gathering that comment about excused was directed at king rich and myself.
KingRich
19 May 2008, 10:55
Well King you are a very passionate Talbot supporter, good to see that passion, as a person who doesn't watch that much MCFL footy I was wondering who your injuries were the only two you have mentioned are smith and bond. Will they play again this year? both shoulders? I hope you realise that most teams in country footy have injuries. The Darkhorse makes some good pionts about Avoca and their injuries, not shure if Moser will be back this year. Brook has some injuries, trenthem has some injuries, it's all about what you do with the cattle you have on the park. Just on you last quote that you think talbot are capable of beating Avoca good on you for thinking that mate but I think you may be greatly disapionted especially if your injurie curse continues.
At the beginning of this discussion I did acknowledge that Avoca were the better side on the day. Talbot has been beaten 3 times this year fair and square I'm just saying that we have had some extreme bad luck with injuries to our top 10 players this year and in both the Avoca and Harcourt games we have been down to 1 onthe bench very early in the game which does hurt you. Of course injuries happen to every club every year, we have all been around long enough to know that. Talbot is having one of it's worst years that I can remember injury-wise and that is why I have chosen to highlight it. Call it whinging if you will.... It's my right as an aussie! :)
I like to be open and transparent on here but prob not my place to reel off all the injuries. We had approx 10 senior players out of the game last weekend that included: Bright, M.Smith, N.Bond, G.Kennedy, Weir, Cunningham, Gibson off the top of my head. We should get a fair few back for Dunolly in two weeks and hopefully we can keep them on the park!
And as someone who doesn't watch much MCDFL footy your tip that we wont beat Avoca doesn't hold much weight with me.
KingRich
19 May 2008, 11:02
Dunolly are to be praised for appointing McNamee at this stage. He was untried and a bit of a risk but seems to be getting the eagles on the right track. I haven't seen Dunolly yet this year but Trentham have pushed some of the top sides and were expected to handle Dunolly.
KingRich
19 May 2008, 11:05
Not sure why you are talking in the 3rd person PP but anyway.....
It wasn't Roger that got Pilgrim... perhaps he was too dazed to know. Those type of blocking incidents happen every week in footy.... obviously Pilgs just got a good one.
Roger actually won a senior B&F two years ago so he is not past it by any stretch of the imagination. Goes in hard, but is generally fair. He did deserve his send off and would be the first to admit a bit of guilt for that hit... particularly as he is a joint captain.
As for questioning Roger's ability to throw fists..... Benny would prob be the first to say Rog would be one he'd rather not have a go at.
KingRich
19 May 2008, 15:15
Trentham are probably out of the race for finals with their recent loss to Dunolly.
Top 5 is still a race in 6 which is great for the league. Maldon have really stepped up to the plate over the last few weeks and look to be a serious finals contender. Brook the team to beat still at this stage.
I do think Maldon will be the side this year. Good to get up over Avoca. Nice to see Dunolly getting up over Trentham who have been pushing many top sides this season. Anyone see the game? What happened?
Mcnamee proving himself with 2 wins for the season so far..
Its good to see sides improving and see a hot race for the top 5 this year :thumbsu:
EarToTheGround
19 May 2008, 15:35
Trentham are probably out of the race for finals with their recent loss to Dunolly.
Top 5 is still a race in 6 which is great for the league. Maldon have really stepped up to the plate over the last few weeks and look to be a serious finals contender. Brook the team to beat still at this stage.
The best sign is the league has strengthened and the weaker teams are hanging in their better than previous years where we have seen a weaker top 5.
Maldon will be trouble for opposition with their talls and quality on ballers. Brook still has the look of a premiership team. It would be nice to see someone other than Brook or Harcourt take it out.
Steve_Addlem
19 May 2008, 15:58
I do think Maldon will be the side this year.
?????????????
Nice to see Dunolly getting up over Trentham who have been pushing many top sides this season. Anyone see the game? What happened?
Mcnamee proving himself with 2 wins for the season so far..
The Dunolly boys were pumped with the win very promising signs.
Its good to see sides improving and see a hot race for the top 5 this year :thumbsu:
Very interesting year so far. The fight for 4th and 5th spot has really heated up with Maldon, Rovers, Talbot all being one win and one loss when they have played each other.
The thermometer
19 May 2008, 16:29
Does anyone give the young Newstead side a chance of beating Maldon in this weeks match?? They have won 3 of the past 4 games (granted they were against the bottom 3 sides) as well as going with Carisbrook for 3 quarters before loosing new players Brown and Barkla to injuries.
Sherman41
19 May 2008, 17:00
Does anyone give the young Newstead side a chance of beating Maldon in this weeks match?? They have won 3 of the past 4 games (granted they were against the bottom 3 sides) as well as going with Carisbrook for 3 quarters before loosing new players Brown and Barkla to injuries.
on maldon's current form i would say NO WAY!!!, maldon will be too tall and classy for newstead..and as you said newstead have only beaten the 3 bottom sides lately..yes they pushed brook for 3 quarters but i think the redbacks just had a bad day ( though they still won by 50 points i believe)..
Steve_Addlem
19 May 2008, 17:08
I don't give them much of a show pal.
Maldon are a very good side that know how to play their home ground effectively. They got the jump on us early and we played catch-up footy for the rest of the day. They clearly wanted the footy more in the first qtr and it showed on scoreboard. Full credit to Maldon, they have obviously worked hard in the off-season to secure the services of some pretty handy players.
KingRich
19 May 2008, 18:04
Maldon are a very good side that know how to play their home ground effectively. They got the jump on us early and we played catch-up footy for the rest of the day. They clearly wanted the footy more in the first qtr and it showed on scoreboard. Full credit to Maldon, they have obviously worked hard in the off-season to secure the services of some pretty handy players.
They do go in hard. I just reckon they will get found out on the bigger grounds where their lack of leg speed will be exposed.
Newstead wont get within 10 goals of Maldon.
Frustrated
19 May 2008, 18:16
Before you all get carried away it is worth noting that Maldons Home Ground advantage is massive which shows what a great result Talbots win over them was earlier in the season. No doubt Maldon are a good side but they have alot of pressure on them to perform given dollar outlay and that doesnt always bode well when pressure is on.
I think that is spot on the money :thumbsu: and Maldon do know how to play their own ground very well which is huge advantage. It will be interesting to see how many times they get caught out on larger grounds throughout the season...
KingRich
20 May 2008, 10:22
I think I recall that Maldon were without Kris Lea that day who is a big part of their side. Talbot undid all their good work that day by dropping games to Harcourt & Avoca. Talbot's game vs Carisbrook is now a critical game for Talbot.
Steve_Addlem
20 May 2008, 12:53
Where did Talbot beat them home or away?
KingRich
20 May 2008, 13:41
Where did Talbot beat them home or away?
Talbot beat them at Maldon.
KingRich
21 May 2008, 10:45
Some good games coming up this week!
Tips:
Trentham v Carisbrook - Trentham will either be very competitive or will get blown away. I am tipping the latter. Brook by 70 points.
Royal Park v Dunolly - Dunolly to win two in a row for the first time in about 6 years. Dunolly by 5 goals
Harcourt v Campbells Creek - by 100 points
Newstead v Maldon - Newstead always seem to have the wood on Maldon but Maldon should win this one by 6 goals.
Avoca v Maryborough Rovers - Avoca by 8 goals
Uncle Johnny
21 May 2008, 18:18
Trentham v Carisbrook - being at trentham will reduce it a bit, i'll say 8-10 goals
Royal Park v Dunolly - bushy for win number one this year. trentham were apparently very short last week on their new recruits, so expect a fairly close contest at hedges for the first time this year
Harcourt v Campbells Creek - i'll say close to 150 points if harcourt are the real deal
Newstead v Maldon - the maldon boys should get the points in this one by about 10 goals.
Avoca v Maryborough Rovers - as we've seen, rovers are nowhere near as good as what they think, and this will be another lesson for them. 40 points
Also, would like to congratulate Peter Egan on playing his 350th senior game for Royal Park this week. Great to see him still running around this year! Also great that he can celebrate it at hedges now its been given the ok by the council
Frustrated
21 May 2008, 19:02
Royal Park v Dunolly. If they are ever going to win this is it as a tribute to a great clubman in Peter Egan who not only keeps playing but coaches and involved on committee.
Harcourt v Creek. 120+ points if Harcourt are fair dinkum. Creek have a few young goers on field but are a rabble off field and need a change in coaching direction badly
Maldon v Newstead. Maldon should win and are under pressure to do so 30 points. Newstead will test them though
Avoca v Rovers. Avoca at home by 40 points+
Carisbrook v Trentham. Carisbrook by plenty but weather may affect result at Trentham
Johnny Drama
22 May 2008, 10:35
Royal Park v Dunolly - bushy for win number one this year. trentham were apparently very short last week on their new recruits, so expect a fairly close contest at hedges for the first time this year
They had a near full team Johnny. Don't go hoping that's the reason Dunolly had better result against them than you guys did. Both Youngs, Lockett, Quiddington and all the usual bests and goal kickers were on board. Dunolly could play the "We had a few out" card but at this time of year, but then again everybody does.
This weekends clash would be even money.
Uncle Johnny
22 May 2008, 22:34
They had a near full team Johnny. Don't go hoping that's the reason Dunolly had better result against them than you guys did. Both Youngs, Lockett, Quiddington and all the usual bests and goal kickers were on board. Dunolly could play the "We had a few out" card but at this time of year, but then again everybody does.
This weekends clash would be even money.
i agree whole heartedly there JD, will be even money. thats just what i heard, so it was 2nd hand news regarding who played and who didnt. looking at the draw, quite possibly could be the closest game of the round?
Just the weekly tips.
Trentham v Carisbrook - Brook by 60-80 points, R. Ramjet to still be feeling the effects of saturday night
Royal Park v Dunolly - Dunolly to win 2 in a row
Harcourt v Campbells Creek - 100 points+
Newstead v Maldon - Closer than what people think. Oxley a big asset on maldons ground. Maldon too strong and experienced though.
Avoca v Maryborough Rovers - Avoca by 30 points
Steve_Addlem
23 May 2008, 17:56
Uncle Johnny not sure if u would know how many twos games did Peter Egan play?
Uncle Johnny
23 May 2008, 19:18
Uncle Johnny not sure if u would know how many twos games did Peter Egan play?
not sure to be honest there steve. i can only imagine it wouldn't have been many. i know he played a year or 2 at maryborough in his younger years too. but this is 350 games for bushy which is an amazing effort, and as was stated before, is still coaching and apart of the committee. he is the heart and soul of the club.
Uncle Johnny
23 May 2008, 21:54
Just the weekly tips.
Trentham v Carisbrook - Brook by 60-80 points, R. Ramjet to still be feeling the effects of saturday night
i think roger was quite lucky to be standing by the end of last satdy nite. i saw the seedy shots the barman was feeding him at jakes 21st!!!
KingRich
24 May 2008, 13:05
Good Luck to Egan today!
Dunolly got over Bushy by 2 points. Would of thought Egan's 350th and Bushy's first home game for the year would of had them really pumped up.. 2 wins in a row for Dunolly! :thumbsu:
What happened on the field?
imachamp
25 May 2008, 17:48
Trentham under 17s proved that they are a real improved team only losing to the top team (carisbrook) on saturday by just 1 point. The only downside for Trentham is that under 17s player Rory Healy went down with a broken ankle in the first 10 minutes of the senior game.
Uncle Johnny
25 May 2008, 17:59
Dunolly got over Bushy by 2 points. Would of thought Egan's 350th and Bushy's first home game for the year would of had them really pumped up.. 2 wins in a row for Dunolly! :thumbsu:
just being undisciplined in the 3rd quarter really. we gave away a fair few frees and 50's whilst dunolly kicked 7 goals to 3. the last quarter bushy hit the front but couldn't hold on
KingRich
26 May 2008, 17:23
Good effort by the eagles to win two on the trot!!! Other results went as expected. Creek look to be dropping off more and more each game!
Hopefully they can stay competitive through out the year and ensure they are still around for next year!
Frustrated
26 May 2008, 17:37
Saw Maldon 1st hand this week, Not bad but i dont think they are fast enough to push Brook or Harcourt. What has happened to Rovers, They were ment to be the glamour side this year. As for Creek it will be a credit to the players if they last year as of field they have no direction and more and more problems are arising around club
EarToTheGround
26 May 2008, 18:12
Saw Maldon 1st hand this week, Not bad but i dont think they are fast enough to push Brook or Harcourt. What has happened to Rovers, They were ment to be the glamour side this year. As for Creek it will be a credit to the players if they last year as of field they have no direction and more and more problems are arising around club
Rovers would be a huge concern at the moment. Reports of big money being spent and look to be heading for a worse result than last year.
Fill us in on Creek. It would be a shame to lose them. What problems other than the coach are they having?
Jumbo 2
26 May 2008, 21:16
Whats the problem at the creek with the coach. i thought he was supposed to be OK.
humbird
27 May 2008, 00:39
Was a scrappy game overall, with both sides wasting opportunities. Dunolly dominated the 3rd but bushy hit back in the first half of the last quarter. However Dunolly put fresh legs and pace in the middle with the likes of Burns, Leirich, Chadwick and Edwards which allowed them to finish the game strongly and hold on.
outside the packs
27 May 2008, 12:25
was not the best spectacle. Dunolly produced a scintilating 12 minutes of football when the game was up for grabs. were not real good with their tackling. Their hero from the week before in Craig Burn couldn't get near the goals n spent most of the 2nd half in the ruck.
outside the packs
27 May 2008, 12:28
Creek coach had huge wraps. After playing them the other week he was really disappointing in the way he led that team and the club. have heard round the traps that a few players are getting a bit adgitated with him?
outside the packs
27 May 2008, 12:48
who would be the top 3 players out of each side in this comp????
from the Dunolly boyz m8. Craig Burn is flying this year whether it be in the middle or up forward. Matt Brady is in career best form down back and a couple of juniors coming thru are also going very well in Kyle Lierich and Tom Styles.
Frustrated
27 May 2008, 13:10
The coach of Creek appears to have lost respect of players and doesnt set any sort of example for the club. Their appears to be a number of discipline problems off field with constant abuse of officials and players alike. They need a clean out now or they may unravel rapidly.
Sherman41
27 May 2008, 15:13
The coach of Creek appears to have lost respect of players and doesnt set any sort of example for the club. Their appears to be a number of discipline problems off field with constant abuse of officials and players alike. They need a clean out now or they may unravel rapidly.
i know when we played them earlier in the year that this was the case with there supporters...they are very vocal and most of the abisive language was not called for...i guess we will find out how they are travelling in a couple of weeks...
Frustrated
27 May 2008, 16:11
I think you will find that every club that has played them has struck the same issues and comes away p----d off.
Dunolly looking for a big game this week against a strengthening talbot team. They have been know to have issues at delidio park and are out of their element, not putting purpose on their kicks, going hard at the pill ect. Really need to keep the yap up to come away with a victory.
from the Dunolly boyz m8. Craig Burn is flying this year whether it be in the middle or up forward. Matt Brady is in career best form down back and a couple of juniors coming thru are also going very well in Kyle Lierich and Tom Styles.
Burns? The famous 7 goal kicker in Dunolly's win over the much improved Trentham? I've heard many stories of him as a kid playing for Dunolly. Anyone hit me up any other stories?
Brady has been performing well. Lierich and Styles younger guys coming through the ranks (Burns has probably been a great 'role model' for them). Dunno if Lierich really gets a kick though.
Dunolly looking for a big game this week against a strengthening talbot team. They have been know to have issues at delidio park and are out of their element, not putting purpose on their kicks, going hard at the pill ect. Really need to keep the yap up to come away with a victory.
They'll probably be fined.
darkhorse4000
27 May 2008, 22:01
Burns? The famous 7 goal kicker in Dunolly's win over the much improved Trentham? I've heard many stories of him as a kid playing for Dunolly. Anyone hit me up any other stories?
Brady has been performing well. Lierich and Styles younger guys coming through the ranks (Burns has probably been a great 'role model' for them). Dunno if Lierich really gets a kick though.
Sounds like a gun this burns......heard a story getting around about stretchers then jumping off it to get a kick:D
Sherman41
27 May 2008, 22:18
probably could have picked a more discrete alias burnsy...good to see ya mates are getting on here to pump ya tyres up too...:D...what u mean about us not going hard at the pill etc bucket???...u just worry bout getting a kick this week mate..talbot will have a few returning from injury and id expect the boys to come out firing...should be a good contest though as dunolly never stop trying...
EarToTheGround
27 May 2008, 22:20
Sounds like a gun this burns......heard a story getting around about stretchers then jumping off it to get a kick:D
Enough about Dunolly. All MCDFL teams will be making a trip to Natte Yallock next season as they have been given approval to join the MCDFL. The only catch is that if Creek packs up and folds, Natte can't come in because the MCDFL don't want a bye.
It will make a very tough competition because they have been a good team in the LPFL.
Discuss...
darkhorse4000
27 May 2008, 22:25
probably could have picked a more discrete alias burnsy...good to see ya mates are getting on here to pump ya tyres up too...:D...what u mean about us not going hard at the pill etc bucket???...u just worry bout getting a kick this week mate..talbot will have a few returning from injury and id expect the boys to come out firing...should be a good contest though as dunolly never stop trying...
He is the dunolly hero remember, wouldnt say talbot arent hard at the pill either:confused: how is the shoulder travelling sherman??
Crow Eater
27 May 2008, 23:27
walsh been given the flick!!! Better for the club and everybody involved. I believe they can beat Trentham on the weekend :thumbsu:
The Iron Glove
28 May 2008, 10:08
walsh been given the flick!!! Better for the club and everybody involved. I believe they can beat Trentham on the weekend :thumbsu:
Brian Walsh never was and never will be a coaches a***hole. The only success he has had is when a mate has been the president of a club and they have thrown in the coin around in exuberent amounts to get success. Always thought he was above the players and the committee and he was the sole reason for any success established at a club.
Rojer_Ramjet
28 May 2008, 10:12
I not sure if they can. Interesting that walshy is gone. Did he play for the Bombers?
KingRich
28 May 2008, 10:18
Last few games at Dunolly Talbot have been very poor. I think they will be fired up for this weeks game though. We should be able to put a more competitive unit on the park than in previous weeks.
KingRich
28 May 2008, 10:22
Enough about Dunolly. All MCDFL teams will be making a trip to Natte Yallock next season as they have been given approval to join the MCDFL. The only catch is that if Creek packs up and folds, Natte can't come in because the MCDFL don't want a bye.
It will make a very tough competition because they have been a good team in the LPFL.
Discuss...
Interesting. When did this happen E2tG?? I think it is a good thing. They are aligned with Maryborough and should be in our league. Tough question but where would this years side fit into our comp?? Top 3??
If Natte come in and Creek stay afloat... do we have too many sides?? All of a sudden we have 12 sides with a top 5 which means a lot of sides missing out on finals.
goalposts
28 May 2008, 12:06
I heard on the gravepine through the words of wisdom of King Rich or was it Sherman that Natte are forming a formiddable allegience with Talbot as of the 2009 football season...Is there any truth to the rumour...Also when does the big gun from Talbot return to football??????
Discuss...
Not sure where you got your info from ETG…… I have just spoken to Rod Ward and he assures me that there has been no expression of interest from natte to join the MCDFNL.
Sherman41
28 May 2008, 13:22
I heard on the gravepine through the words of wisdom of King Rich or was it Sherman that Natte are forming a formiddable allegience with Talbot as of the 2009 football season...Is there any truth to the rumour...Also when does the big gun from Talbot return to football??????
have heard nothing of this....not sure where you got this mail from...and i pesume u mean Gibbo???...he will prob not return this year
EarToTheGround
28 May 2008, 13:29
Not sure where you got your info from ETG…… I have just spoken to Rod Ward and he assures me that there has been no expression of interest from natte to join the MCDFNL.
Bucko. The better question is when have I been wrong? Scout through my posts and you'll find that what I post happens. This might be a first but I got this from some very good sources at Natte.
EarToTheGround
28 May 2008, 13:33
Merging? Elaborate.
I hate posts that leave you hanging.
EarToTheGround
28 May 2008, 13:36
Interesting. When did this happen E2tG?? I think it is a good thing. They are aligned with Maryborough and should be in our league. Tough question but where would this years side fit into our comp?? Top 3??
If Natte come in and Creek stay afloat... do we have too many sides?? All of a sudden we have 12 sides with a top 5 which means a lot of sides missing out on finals.
I've heard it from Natte locals and I agree that it would be a good thing. This years team would probably be in top 3 contention. They have only won 2 games though so you'd never know.
The horrible top 6 system might need to be employed.
EarToTheGround
28 May 2008, 13:40
I know the talk of Natte coming in comes up every year and never eventuates so next year may be no different. This came from a local and the fact that Campbells Creek was brought into it shows that there is some thought process going on.
Wait and see but it would be great to have another powerful club enter the MCDFL.
Johnny Drama
28 May 2008, 14:22
Discuss...
Won't happen.
goalposts
28 May 2008, 15:17
have heard nothing of this....not sure where you got this mail from...and i pesume u mean Gibbo???...he will prob not return this year
No mate, it isn't Gibbo apparently this bloke is the new Buddy Franklin of the MCDFL...if he can get off the injury list!!!!!:)
KingRich
28 May 2008, 15:20
Dont write Gibbo off just yet Sherman!
KingRich
28 May 2008, 15:22
I've heard it from Natte locals and I agree that it would be a good thing. This years team would probably be in top 3 contention. They have only won 2 games though so you'd never know.
The horrible top 6 system might need to be employed.
We are keeping top 5 surely! I hate the top 6. I am not against the idea of Trentham moving on from the league to be honest. Natte to Trentham would be a fair trek wouldn't it?
Footy Maniac
28 May 2008, 15:25
Brian Walsh never was and never will be a coaches a***hole. The only success he has had is when a mate has been the president of a club and they have thrown in the coin around in exuberent amounts to get success. Always thought he was above the players and the committee and he was the sole reason for any success established at a club.
Gee Iron Glove you're really not a fan of Walsh's, but hey who is!
He's obviously coached you in the past?
KingRich
28 May 2008, 15:36
Gee Iron Glove you're really not a fan of Walsh's, but hey who is!
He's obviously coached you in the past?
He seemed ok when we played them in a praccy match earlier in the year. Just very intense! I guess being an older guy as he is it can be a little difficult to continue relate to the younger guys and there has obviously been a personality conflict somewhere along the way!
Frustrated
28 May 2008, 15:36
Creek getting rid of Walshy is a step in the right direction but they also need to clean up off field to succeed. Cant see them getting close to Trentham who should win by 80points plus. Who is replacing Walshy as coach
goalposts
28 May 2008, 15:39
He seemed ok when we played them in a praccy match earlier in the year. Just very intense! I guess being an older guy as he is it can be a little difficult to continue relate to the younger guys and there has obviously been a personality conflict somewhere along the way!
Is this the same Brian Walsh that coached White Hills two years ago ?????
Footy Maniac
28 May 2008, 17:11
Is this the same Brian Walsh that coached White Hills two years ago ?????
Yep that's him. He was also involved in Golden Square for a long time.
He gets around a bit and seems to leave with a bad rep each time.
Bucko. The better question is when have I been wrong? Scout through my posts and you'll find that what I post happens. This might be a first but I got this from some very good sources at Natte.
Yes ETG, you are generally on the money! :) But in your original post, you stated that “Natte has been given approval to join the MCDFL”.
My question to you is, Who gave this approval?
It is a difficult process to go from one league to another. They will have to have approval from both the MCDFNL and the LPFNL as well as the VCFL.
The league secretary of both Leagues is not aware of any expression of interest.
I do agree that it makes sense that Natte joins the MCDFNL, especially from a geographical point of view and they would be extremely competitive. I also believe that it will happen one day.
Perhaps the Natte hierarchy may be discussing the possibility, but they have not yet been given any approval.
Also ETG, who says that the MCDFNL doesn’t want a bye?:)
bomber22
28 May 2008, 21:16
Here's my weekly tips....;)
Carisbrook-Royal Park. Carisbrook at home should be able to create a huge total. Carisbrook by 150+ points
Dunolly-Talbot. Dunolly at home and coming off 2 wins in-a-row should put up a very good fight but, talbot will be to strong and will come home with the goods by 50 points
Campbells Creek-Trentham. 80 points trentham will be to good
Maldon-Harcourt. Maldon's home ground advantage will give them the edge, but Harcourt will give them a good run. this game could be a 1 point ball game:eek:. but my tip is Maldon by 2 goals:thumbsu:
Maryborough Rovers-Newstead. Newstead has been playing some good footy against the top sides over the last few weeks and this will give them the edge this week. Newstead the surprise winners of this round by 4 goals :D
Frustrated
28 May 2008, 21:41
tips for the week
Trentham v Creek. Trentham by plenty but a better approach from creek should be forthcoming
Talbot v Dunolly. Talbot easily
Brook v Royal Park. another onesided result for premiership favourites
Newstead v Rovers. Newsteads form appears good enough to defeat a struggling Rovers. Will be close.
Harcourt v Maldon. Will be a great game but Harcourts depth should show through. Will only be a couple of goals in it.
EarToTheGround
28 May 2008, 22:55
Yes ETG, you are generally on the money! :) But in your original post, you stated that “Natte has been given approval to join the MCDFL”.
My question to you is, Who gave this approval?
It is a difficult process to go from one league to another. They will have to have approval from both the MCDFNL and the LPFNL as well as the VCFL.
The league secretary of both Leagues is not aware of any expression of interest.
I do agree that it makes sense that Natte joins the MCDFNL, especially from a geographical point of view and they would be extremely competitive. I also believe that it will happen one day.
Perhaps the Natte hierarchy may be discussing the possibility, but they have not yet been given any approval.
Also ETG, who says that the MCDFNL doesn’t want a bye?:)
Let's just wait this one out and see. I'd put money on it.
Everyone hates the bye and I'm just going off what I heard from someone at Natte who is in the know like where all my info comes from. Just wait and see I guess.
Sherman41
28 May 2008, 23:15
Everyone hates the bye and I'm just going off what I heard from someone at Natte who is in the know like where all my info comes from. Just wait and see I guess.
I was at the natte v ararat game on the weekend and i did here a supporter say to someone else that it would be more logical for them to be in the MCDFNL, but they did mention that the women have a fair say in it and that has caused some issues. so will be interesting to see what happens as you do not want to have a club divided over where they stand. Perosnally i do not see an issue with having a bye as i believe it gives the players a chance to freshen up for a long season.
As for the tips, i would have to disagree with some of them,
i believe Harcourt will win by 2-3 goals &
rovers will win by 4+ goals.
Not sure about everyone hating the bye?
IMO, Most people are grateful for a week off during the season.
Especially if your club has a number of injuries.
Helps to recharge the batteries!:)
Uncle Johnny
29 May 2008, 00:14
Trentham v Creek. the saints should win this one by 15 goals
Talbot v Dunolly. congrats to the eagles winning 2 on the trot, but cant see em getting over talbot
Brook v Royal Park. brook by a fair bit, even though bushy have pushed them the last few times, dont expect it to happen this time
Newstead v Rovers i too will tip the steaders to get up here, with their good recent form and rovers being rather woeful to be honest
Harcourt v Maldon. have only seen harcourt first hand and think they should win, but maldon are hitting their straps, so maldon by 3 goals
gutted rabbit
29 May 2008, 07:58
Heard from a mate that Campbells Creek have sacked Brian Walsh.