View Full Version : Maryborough Castlemaine District FL

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 [47] 48 49 50 51

The question
17 Jul 2008, 11:24
The issue of Maldon playing on a small ground seems a bit of a non issue because in their long run of wins they have also won at the following grounds Rovers, Newstead, Trentham, Talbot and Dunolly. The Dunolly guys said that Maldon were much better on the Dunolly ground. Maldon are a serious contender and they have players who seem better suited to a bigger ground.

Johnny Drama
17 Jul 2008, 12:30
Will many blokes stay around at Trentham next year??? They appear disillusioned and I reckon they play for cash. The way they were handing out the envelopes willy nilly in front of the Talbot boys in the social rooms after the game earlier in the year was a bit ordinary. Blokes who hadn't sighted the ball for the day were happily collecting their envelope!

You'd never know exactly what was in the envelope though. Some teams pay everyone $20-30 a week to cover some of the expense.

Keeping Kallan Young would be a big priority and I would imagine many clubs would be after him this year. I'd have him in the best handful of players we have been up against this year.

KingRich
17 Jul 2008, 17:17
You'd never know exactly what was in the envelope though. Some teams pay everyone $20-30 a week to cover some of the expense.

Keeping Kallan Young would be a big priority and I would imagine many clubs would be after him this year. I'd have him in the best handful of players we have been up against this year.

I spoke to a bloke who was playing his first game and had not trained before and he was getting $100 so god knows what the others were getting. I think there are more professional ways to pay ur players than blatantly handing them out in front of opposition players and supporters.

Yeah Young goes alright.... puts a lot of effort into his coaching too I have heard.

Frustrated
17 Jul 2008, 19:20
Trentham obviously went down the path of paying players to come to the club hoping it would help rebuild, but given the attitude of some senior players over the past few weeks and also appears that some have left jury would be out on the success of this approach. Also a worry would be the number of veterans still playing in the twos as anumber of them are talking of finishing this year with no replacements on the horizon. Like alot of clubs Trentham have a real battle on their hands in the future.
PS. They are not the first club in the league to throw money around and it is a bit rich for everyone to be critical without knowing full inside story

zakster
17 Jul 2008, 21:19
agree with mod rich winnrs for me r brook/avoca/talbot/harcrt/maldon
harcourt played the big princss park ground pretty well last grannie day and stoney got a few snag rolls avoca lookd all at sea
is that young buck coghlan still going ok for avoca big blondie pilgrim had a shocker on grannie day

go kookas
17 Jul 2008, 23:14
The issue of Maldon playing on a small ground seems a bit of a non issue because in their long run of wins they have also won at the following grounds Rovers, Newstead, Trentham, Talbot and Dunolly. The Dunolly guys said that Maldon were much better on the Dunolly ground. Maldon are a serious contender and they have players who seem better suited to a bigger ground.

Maldon do play better footy on bigger grounds and the leg speed isnt an issue as they are first for the ball

Sherman41
17 Jul 2008, 23:32
Trentham obviously went down the path of paying players to come to the club hoping it would help rebuild, but given the attitude of some senior players over the past few weeks and also appears that some have left jury would be out on the success of this approach. Also a worry would be the number of veterans still playing in the twos as anumber of them are talking of finishing this year with no replacements on the horizon. Like alot of clubs Trentham have a real battle on their hands in the future.
PS. They are not the first club in the league to throw money around and it is a bit rich for everyone to be critical without knowing full inside story

Obviously they needed to hand out the coin to stay afloat but it has to be handled the right way. The biggest issue that i can see is that they seem to be recruiting most of there players from the ballarat area and surrounding districts. They offer these players heaps of money to travel but it seems to be the travelling the gets the better of them, can they recruit closer to home??..

A footy club has two sides to it, the onfield performances and the social side of a club. Having a great social club enables a club to bond, so when you have so many players that are travelling each week it makes it difficult to bond and create the social atmosphere around the club as most players are looking to get home.

It just seems to me that players are going to Trentham for easy money and not for the survival of the club. Not knowing the insides out of the club it is tough to obviously know what really goes on, but from an outsiders view point that is how it appears. The locALS are getting older as someone else has posted so they need to make sure the club can continue and they have the right ppl around to make sure that happens.

:thumbsu: to kallen young who has put his hand up to coach them this year and his efforts in recruited players, it seems a shame though that certain players are not supporting him by rocking up to play.

Frustrated
17 Jul 2008, 23:32
Pretty much one way traffic in all games this week although Newstead could be expected to push Talbot if players missing from last 2 weeks return. On maldon they are a good hard side whose lack of leg speed may be exposed on big grounds against quality teams. At this stage i would still pencil in Brook as favourites although gap is narrowing with other sides

thirsty
18 Jul 2008, 11:38
It's interesting that everyone keeps referring to Princes Park as a bigger ground. I play for Maryborough and we always refer to it as a smaller ground. Yes its bigger than Maldon and about the same size as Rovers but i would have thought the rest of the grounds in this comp are bigger than Princes Park. Key forwards are invaluable at Princes Park and it is much easier to shut down teams who run the ball well and like open spaces. That's why Maryborough generally are more competitive with the top teams at home than we are away.

Sherman41
18 Jul 2008, 16:11
It's interesting that everyone keeps referring to Princes Park as a bigger ground. I play for Maryborough and we always refer to it as a smaller ground. Yes its bigger than Maldon and about the same size as Rovers but i would have thought the rest of the grounds in this comp are bigger than Princes Park. Key forwards are invaluable at Princes Park and it is much easier to shut down teams who run the ball well and like open spaces. That's why Maryborough generally are more competitive with the top teams at home than we are away.

Compared to some of the grounds in the league Princess Park may seem like a bigger ground but i would agree with thirsty and have to say overall in the scheme of things it is not one of the bigger grounds going around. It may be long but it is narrow and has short wings which as thirsty has mentioned enabled teams to clog it up.

Maldon have big forwards which enables them to take big grabs and with the BFL experience they have in there team i cannot see Princess Park posing any problems for them.

The thermometer
18 Jul 2008, 16:33
What players have been missing from Newsteads line up over the last couple of weeks? Would be great to see them push Talbot this weekend and has been good to see some good results over the last month or so beating some lesser sides and competing well against some quality ones also...

CranktheAnchors
18 Jul 2008, 16:33
Does anyone else think there will be a massive turnover at Rovers next year? If carisbrook win it seems there season is over. I think there may be a heap leave as the well would be drying up.imo

KingRich
18 Jul 2008, 16:56
Does anyone else think there will be a massive turnover at Rovers next year? If carisbrook win it seems there season is over. I think there may be a heap leave as the well would be drying up.imo

From what most people say they have spent quite a bit this season and I dont think that is sustainable. Time will tell but I would also predict a large turnover of players. In their favour they still have a lot of homegrown players who have come back this season and should stick around. Will O'Shea go around again??

KingRich
18 Jul 2008, 16:59

Not knocking the club for paying money. I am however knocking them for playing a bloke $100 who they had never seen before and had not trained. This bloke told me that he got rung up and was getting $100 and had not sighted a ball all season. Need to be smarter with your money than that IMO.

Johnny Drama
18 Jul 2008, 17:10
Not knocking the club for paying money. I am however knocking them for playing a bloke $100 who they had never seen before and had not trained. This bloke told me that he got rung up and was getting $100 and had not sighted a ball all season. Need to be smarter with your money than that IMO.

The talk was that Creek were offering $100 minimum to any senior players this year. Brian Walsh wasn't cheap from all reports either. They might be more of a concern than Trentham in retaining players for 2009.

The truth is at the bottom of the ladder teams have to pay a lot more than market value to attract players. A successful club like Harcourt or Carisbrook might only have to pay $150 for a regular BFL senior player. Trentham, Creek, Dunolly and Bushy would probably have to offer $250.

The first thing any potential recruit asks is "How did you go last year?". Trentham and Dunolly had one win and Creek didn't even compete. What is going to hold a recruits interest after telling them your team had 1 win or didn't even compete? It's generally money that keeps interest levels up. Promises of a better year sound like a broken record from perennial cellar dwellers.

It's a tough cycle for bottom of the ladder teams to break out of and they really have to put the foot down and try not to pay too much above market value for players otherwise you will be charged an arm and a leg when a genuine star comes along.

Johnny Drama
18 Jul 2008, 17:15

I don't think there will be a big turnover. They seem quite committed to the cause and if they can hold the juniors, the club is looking good for the long haul. Not making finals would be a very bitter pill as they were quite confident after the night series.

I would expect O'Shea to go around again with the current support staff and they just need to find a key forward. Their game plan is good and really just needs someone who could kick 70+ goals for them.

Johnny Drama
18 Jul 2008, 17:17
Compared to some of the grounds in the league Princess Park may seem like a bigger ground but i would agree with thirsty and have to say overall in the scheme of things it is not one of the bigger grounds going around. It may be long but it is narrow and has short wings which as thirsty has mentioned enabled teams to clog it up.

Maldon have big forwards which enables them to take big grabs and with the BFL experience they have in there team i cannot see Princess Park posing any problems for them.

Princes Park hardly changes any teams game plan IMO. If the finals were played at North Ballarat or Bushy then I would say it changes things dramatically. Maldon will be a big threat in September.

Frustrated
18 Jul 2008, 20:53
What players have been missing from Newsteads line up over the last couple of weeks? Would be great to see them push Talbot this weekend and has been good to see some good results over the last month or so beating some lesser sides and competing well against some quality ones also...
Last weeks team against royal park was missing Oxley, Bardan, Barker, Brown, Barkla, Lovett, Hancock who have all featured well for the seniors this year. Word is at least 3 will be back this week

trentham
18 Jul 2008, 21:21
yeah i agree mcnaughton is a handy player, hard to stop when hes playing well. Do you think he will stay round at trentham next yr?

not sure yet. hopefully

zakster
19 Jul 2008, 22:20
few big margins in the final results 2day boys :confused:

Johnny Drama
20 Jul 2008, 10:23
few big margins in the final results 2day boys :confused:

You'll see a bit more of it too. The teams Newstead, Trentham, Dunolly, Creek and Bushy are all obviously not making finals and it's been a long season. Motivation levels drop in those camps where the top 5 would be really getting into it. Competition for spots, 15 weeks of playing together and etc would have them playing a good brand of footy.

Newstead got fairly close to Talbot yesterday which is a terrific result. I'm sure they would have preffered the win but they seem to have been playing some decent footy lately.

Frustrated
20 Jul 2008, 10:43
I think Newstead are a fair way ahead of the other bottom sides mentioned and with Oxley and goal sneak Bardan still missing yesterday they battled hard and probably only some inexperience of the youngsters and skill errors in the backline cost them an upset victory against Talbot. They have shown great improvement during the year and it bodes well for the future if they keep the kids together

The thermometer
20 Jul 2008, 13:15
Frustrated, I see Newstead got very close to Talbot yesterday which was a great effort by all reports, but they would ultimately be dissapointed not to come away with the points!!! Did any of the players you mentioned the other day return? Did they have much impact on the result?

KingRich
20 Jul 2008, 15:30
I think Newstead are a fair way ahead of the other bottom sides mentioned and with Oxley and goal sneak Bardan still missing yesterday they battled hard and probably only some inexperience of the youngsters and skill errors in the backline cost them an upset victory against Talbot. They have shown great improvement during the year and it bodes well for the future if they keep the kids together

Newstead's top 6 players are very good, they have some good kids in there such as Reece, Chapman etc. Unfortunately they suffer from a lack of depth more so than the top teams and their last 6-8 players is prob what cost them the game yesterday. They were unable to rotate off the bench much at all. Talbot were off and Newstead were on and very nearly caused an upset. We were thankful to take the points and can now regroup for the Harcourt game which is massive for our club!

Tom Reece has some serious talent. Would be nice to see him kick on to bigger and better things as he is a great kid! Newstead need 1-2 other targets up forward to be dangerous.

KingRich
20 Jul 2008, 15:32
You'll see a bit more of it too. The teams Newstead, Trentham, Dunolly, Creek and Bushy are all obviously not making finals and it's been a long season. Motivation levels drop in those camps where the top 5 would be really getting into it. Competition for spots, 15 weeks of playing together and etc would have them playing a good brand of footy.

Newstead got fairly close to Talbot yesterday which is a terrific result. I'm sure they would have preffered the win but they seem to have been playing some decent footy lately.

Agreed Johnny. Always the way late in the year. I think this is what makes Newsteads form all the more impressive. They are a proud club who values staying competitive and you have to respect that!

Frustrated
20 Jul 2008, 21:08
Newstead's top 6 players are very good, they have some good kids in there such as Reece, Chapman etc. Unfortunately they suffer from a lack of depth more so than the top teams and their last 6-8 players is prob what cost them the game yesterday. They were unable to rotate off the bench much at all. Talbot were off and Newstead were on and very nearly caused an upset. We were thankful to take the points and can now regroup for the Harcourt game which is massive for our club!

Tom Reece has some serious talent. Would be nice to see him kick on to bigger and better things as he is a great kid! Newstead need 1-2 other targets up forward to be dangerous.
Pretty dair assessment of where Newstead are at with the size of Oxley and Kerville certainly leaving a hole yesterday. As for Tom Reece his talent is undoubted and he is also a gun cricketer who will be playing in district ranks this year and may well see him lost to footy in the future.
Newstead are aiming to finish the year on a high and are capable of causing an upset against the final contenders

KingRich
21 Jul 2008, 10:28
Pretty dair assessment of where Newstead are at with the size of Oxley and Kerville certainly leaving a hole yesterday. As for Tom Reece his talent is undoubted and he is also a gun cricketer who will be playing in district ranks this year and may well see him lost to footy in the future.
Newstead are aiming to finish the year on a high and are capable of causing an upset against the final contenders

I've heard he is a better cricketer than footballer! I have seen him play football a number of times and thought his game yesterday in wet conditions was very impressive!

KingRich
21 Jul 2008, 10:29
Tips for Berry Powell Medal?

Talbot - Tim Bright & Ian Martin will be our standouts.

The question
21 Jul 2008, 11:11
Next weeks Sunday game between Carisbrook and Avoca will be very interesting. Avoca fielded almost their best side on last saturday except for Paul Hamilton. Coghlan and Bellenger very impressive in the middle, Lakey is a quality player and Pilgrim got 10 but he sruggled when Dunolly put Stiles on him in the third quarter. However the standout player was Clint Ross who really dominated and Pig was pretty good. Carisbrook clearly had a good battle with young fast Rovers. Avoca at home would start favourites,

The question
21 Jul 2008, 12:43
[quote=KingRich;11772230]Newstead's top 6 players are very good, they have some good kids in there such as Reece, Chapman etc. Unfortunately they suffer from a lack of depth more so than the top teams and their last 6-8 players is prob what cost them the game yesterday. They were unable to rotate off the bench much at all. Talbot were off and Newstead were on and very nearly caused an upset. We were thankful to take the points and can now regroup for the Harcourt game which is massive for our club!

The Harcourt v Talbot will certainly give a pretty clear guide to the finals aspirations of both the clubs. Talbot seem to be great one week and not so good the next while Harcourt have been good but not brilliant like the last two years. Talbot would be keen for an emphatic win at Harcourt.

KingRich
21 Jul 2008, 14:14
[quote=KingRich;11772230]Newstead's top 6 players are very good, they have some good kids in there such as Reece, Chapman etc. Unfortunately they suffer from a lack of depth more so than the top teams and their last 6-8 players is prob what cost them the game yesterday. They were unable to rotate off the bench much at all. Talbot were off and Newstead were on and very nearly caused an upset. We were thankful to take the points and can now regroup for the Harcourt game which is massive for our club!

The Harcourt v Talbot will certainly give a pretty clear guide to the finals aspirations of both the clubs. Talbot seem to be great one week and not so good the next while Harcourt have been good but not brilliant like the last two years. Talbot would be keen for an emphatic win at Harcourt.

Talbot traditionally struggle to get themselves up for the weaker teams but generally always lift for the big ones. They will be focused and firing for this weeks game. When was the last time Harcourt lost at home?

Rojer_Ramjet
21 Jul 2008, 15:25
[quote=The question;11784349]

Talbot traditionally struggle to get themselves up for the weaker teams but generally always lift for the big ones. They will be focused and firing for this weeks game. When was the last time Harcourt lost at home?

05 late in the season brook rolled them. Got no idea bout 06,07 or even this year.

KingRich
21 Jul 2008, 16:37
[quote=KingRich;11785527]

05 late in the season brook rolled them. Got no idea bout 06,07 or even this year.

I reckon that was the last time actually!

KingRich
23 Jul 2008, 11:03
Only four games this week with three teams having the bye. My tips

Avoca v Carisbrook - Has probably been pushed off premiership favouritism by Maldon lately but still a very strong side. Avoca are troubled by a couple of injuries. Game could go either way but I'm tipping Brook by 4 goals.

Harcourt v Talbot - Talbot are in reasonable form and have always played well over at Harcourt. Were unlucky to lose to them earlier in the year and need to win to keep their slim final 3 hopes alive. Talbot by 2 goals.

Trentham v Royal Park - Trentham will get themselves up for this game. Trentham by 80 points.

Rovers v Campbells Creek - Battle of the magpies will see Rovers score a massive win at home. Roversby 150 points.

outside the packs
23 Jul 2008, 13:31
pretty fair assesment kingrich but gotta disagree with ya on a couple of the matches.
Avoca v Carisbrook. Very interesting game. dont think brook r travelling as well of late. Avoca were pretty impressive last week against Dunolly taking every chance they could. Avoca by a couple of goals for me.
Talbot V Harcourt. Talbot playing some good footy atm but i dont think that they have the quality experienced defenders to hold Harcourt to a low score. Harcourt by 7 goals.
Trentham V Royal Park. will be a one sided affair. both teams playing for pride and i think that trentham has too much talent for bushy. Trentham by 15 goals.
Rovers v Campbells Creek. Rovers playing some gr8 footy and has some exciting young talent in their team and will be too quick n slick 4 creek. Rovers by at least 20 goals.

fifth quarter
23 Jul 2008, 19:46
I will go 4 avoca/harcourt/trentham and rovers
any mcdfl boys in the vic div 2 team playing in the aussie champs over at shepp staring 2moro think a few seasons bak prickles martin mite have captained vic division 2

handy
23 Jul 2008, 20:55
what ever happened to that old guy that looked like eminem who played in harcourts 2006 premiership team. he played in long sleaves and had white hair?:confused:

Rojer_Ramjet
24 Jul 2008, 09:50
what ever happened to that old guy that looked like eminem who played in harcourts 2006 premiership team. he played in long sleaves and had white hair?:confused:

Crossed 8 Mile...

KingRich
24 Jul 2008, 10:03

He wasn't that old...... and now I cant think of his name off the top of my head. Didn't mind throwing a few cheeky ones at the bottom of a pack. Sherman might know. Kicked a few goals in a couple of seasons.

go kookas
24 Jul 2008, 10:26
Tips for Berry Powell Medal?

Talbot - Tim Bright & Ian Martin will be our standouts.

Maldon- David Carrol regulary in the best

bluey49
24 Jul 2008, 11:09

He is re-stringing tennis racquets out of a back room in a bar in the Phillipines.

Sherman41
24 Jul 2008, 13:51
He wasn't that old...... and now I cant think of his name off the top of my head. Didn't mind throwing a few cheeky ones at the bottom of a pack. Sherman might know. Kicked a few goals in a couple of seasons.

His name was matthew balshaw, dont think he was that old. Was a fairly handy player in his day.

Kingrich got beaten up by him one day out at talbot...:D

KingRich
24 Jul 2008, 14:47
His name was matthew balshaw, dont think he was that old. Was a fairly handy player in his day.

Kingrich got beaten up by him one day out at talbot...:D

He may have landed a couple......... :)

bluey49
24 Jul 2008, 16:56
Which top 5 side has the greatest depth of class players? IMHO Maldon's bottom 5-6 players don't appear as talented as say Carisbrook's last picked 6. I know Maldon are a great side and they touched up Brook recently, this is just an observation of mine. I could very well be wrong. What do others think ? How important is it to have a strong last half dozen players come September.

KingRich
25 Jul 2008, 10:24
Which top 5 side has the greatest depth of class players? IMHO Maldon's bottom 5-6 players don't appear as talented as say Carisbrook's last picked 6. I know Maldon are a great side and they touched up Brook recently, this is just an observation of mine. I could very well be wrong. What do others think ? How important is it to have a strong last half dozen players come September.

I think you are right. Maldon are playing 1-2 kids and a couple of players who maybe aren't quite up to it. Carisbrook have great depth in their reserves and can probably easily cover injuries.

I believe it is your last 6-8 players that win you the premiership. They dont have to be stars they just need to be able to do their job and not be weak links. This is probably Carisbrook and even Talbot's strength this year in that they both have a very strong reserves side with a number of options that can come in.

Uncle Johnny
26 Jul 2008, 18:01
All i really have to say i guess is this

BUSHY BUSHY BUSHY, OI OI OI!!

Frustrated
27 Jul 2008, 10:18
Congrats mist go to royal Park on gaining that elusive wine but it underlines what has been stated previusly that the wheels have well and truly fallen off at Trentham and it doesnt bode well for their future. Players are certainly missing but rumour has it they have left club and not that they are injured.

KingRich
27 Jul 2008, 17:03
Word on the street last night was that Trentham are stacking their twos in a last ditch bid to get them into the finals. Any truth? To lose to Bushy seniors would indicate this.

I see Stewart Trickey is playing twos for them. Is that the same bloke that played at brook back around 1995ish?? He is a good footballer and would be a senior player I would think.

Uncle Johnny
27 Jul 2008, 18:36
Word on the street last night was that Trentham are stacking their twos in a last ditch bid to get them into the finals. Any truth? To lose to Bushy seniors would indicate this.

I see Stewart Trickey is playing twos for them. Is that the same bloke that played at brook back around 1995ish?? He is a good footballer and would be a senior player I would think.

there 2's seemed to be the same side that we played at the start of the year, they beat us well but still didnt think they were great. Stewie played 2's yesterday, had a pretty good game. i'd think he'd play ones but he played 2's out there the last time he was playing for em. talking to him yesterday, he'd just moved back to the area and was happy to be playing 2's.

as for seniors, it was a scrappy first half and then we managed to over run them in the 2nd half. should've been a bigger margin with the inaccurate kicking of Fordy, Muzz Ellis and Dasher Smith, the 3 combining for 5 goals 19 out of our 11.25!! but yeah, was great to get it on the board.

close game for your boys rich, only just going down. was it tight all game?

KingRich
28 Jul 2008, 11:12
there 2's seemed to be the same side that we played at the start of the year, they beat us well but still didnt think they were great. Stewie played 2's yesterday, had a pretty good game. i'd think he'd play ones but he played 2's out there the last time he was playing for em. talking to him yesterday, he'd just moved back to the area and was happy to be playing 2's.

as for seniors, it was a scrappy first half and then we managed to over run them in the 2nd half. should've been a bigger margin with the inaccurate kicking of Fordy, Muzz Ellis and Dasher Smith, the 3 combining for 5 goals 19 out of our 11.25!! but yeah, was great to get it on the board.

close game for your boys rich, only just going down. was it tight all game?

We were a fair way down at halftime and came home strong. Just fell short at the end.

bucko
28 Jul 2008, 12:38
We were a fair way down at halftime and came home strong. Just fell short at the end.

What was the outcome on Kennedy's knee King?

go kookas
28 Jul 2008, 21:33
I think you are right. Maldon are playing 1-2 kids and a couple of players who maybe aren't quite up to it. Carisbrook have great depth in their reserves and can probably easily cover injuries.

I believe it is your last 6-8 players that win you the premiership. They dont have to be stars they just need to be able to do their job and not be weak links. This is probably Carisbrook and even Talbot's strength this year in that they both have a very strong reserves side with a number of options that can come in.

i reckon the question is Who has the best back line to stop Maldons power forward line? Couple of players to come in for maldon yet, every player appears to be contributing, wouldnt say anybody is a weak link

KingRich
29 Jul 2008, 11:05
What was the outcome on Kennedy's knee King?

Cant get in to see the specialist till next week so not sure. Its quite swollen apparently so no matter what the verdict is you would think he will struggle to get back before finals. Disappointing as he was easily BOG before he went down with literally less than 5 minutes to go.

The question
30 Jul 2008, 09:28
The Sunday match at Avoca was a great advertisement for the league, great crowd, good atmosphere but it certainly was chilly. Pilgrim was dominant in the ruck for Avoca and this must be an area of concern for Carisbrook. Carisbrook's forward line functioned well but they do rely on acts of brilliance rather than a good structure. Harris, Wright and Ross kicked some clever goals but I reckon Lakey was the best forward on the ground. If Avoca finishes fourth and play Talbot fifth it will be a high quality match unlike many in the past. Vernon Svilcic was a gun in the middle with his clearances.

The thermometer
30 Jul 2008, 13:39
Hey guys do they do a team of the year in the MCDFL?? I don't think they used to when I played there a few years ago...

Anyone want to have a crack at doing one, or put up who they think would be a show from thier team and in what position???

I would put up Mark Oxley from Newstead for the ruck; I have seen him a couple times this year, he has regularly been in the best and even though he is slowing down a little would still have to be close to one of the best big men running around.

Sherman41
30 Jul 2008, 13:56
Hey guys do they do a team of the year in the MCDFL?? I don't think they used to when I played there a few years ago...

Anyone want to have a crack at doing one, or put up who they think would be a show from thier team and in what position???

I would put up Mark Oxley from Newstead for the ruck; I have seen him a couple times this year, he has regularly been in the best and even though he is slowing down a little would still have to be close to one of the best big men running around.

No they dont do one. Oxley is a big kid and a fair ruckman, but there is no way that he would get the #1 job ahead of Tim Bright, and they would surely have to go for a more mobile option as the backup ruckman eg, Dion hedger from Rovers...

The question
30 Jul 2008, 14:46

I would have to agree he dominates centre bounce and boundary throw ins like no other ruckman in the league and as his long career in the BFL suggests, he knows where to position himself on the field. Sherman your Talbot bias is showing a bit Tim Bright is good but if you want to win a centre break you would go for Oxley.

Best CHF Lakey, Best Full back Ronke, Best utility Nick Coghlan

KingRich
30 Jul 2008, 15:46
I would have to agree he dominates centre bounce and boundary throw ins like no other ruckman in the league and as his long career in the BFL suggests, he knows where to position himself on the field. Sherman your Talbot bias is showing a bit Tim Bright is good but if you want to win a centre break you would go for Oxley.

Only ruckman that has got close to beating Bright this year in Hedger. Oxley has hardly played a game so Bright for first ruck easily IMO.

Sherman41
30 Jul 2008, 16:39

U may think i am being a biased onballer who has such a great ruckman to work with but i beg to differ that is all it is, as rich said OXley has played limited footy this year and i would have to think that other clubs would appreciate how valuable Tim is to our team and how valuable he would be to there's.

We manufacture alot of centre clearances out at Talbot and i would have to say that is mainly due to Tim's ruck work.

Dion Hedger is definately the next best option...

Johnny Drama
30 Jul 2008, 17:46
U may think i am being a biased onballer who has such a great ruckman to work with but i beg to differ that is all it is, as rich said OXley has played limited footy this year and i would have to think that other clubs would appreciate how valuable Tim is to our team and how valuable he would be to there's.

We manufacture alot of centre clearances out at Talbot and i would have to say that is mainly due to Tim's ruck work.

Dion Hedger is definately the next best option...

I'll take the Ox thanks. Proven at a Major League too. He was the dominant ruckman in the Bendigo League for a couple of years.

Sherman41
30 Jul 2008, 18:14
I'll take the Ox thanks. Proven at a Major League too. He was the dominant ruckman in the Bendigo League for a couple of years.

were going on this year's form fella's not on someones track record!

Uncle Johnny
30 Jul 2008, 18:41

Would be good for the league to do it, but how they do it would be difficult i guess. If i was to throw any in from bushy, whether they'd be up for a best team of the year, I'd say David Forde at half forward and Jimmy Shelton in a back pocket. Darren Smith and Murry Ellis had good years, but not good enuf for a league team i dont think.

Johnny Drama
30 Jul 2008, 19:07
were going on this year's form fella's not on someones track record!

I know a few of the better teams have struggled against Newstead purely because of Oxley in the games that he has played and he's not supported by the talented on ballers that some of the other teams possess. And I can only comment on what I've seen and Oxley was by far the hardest player ruckman to beat.

Best ruckman in the league by a mile.

bluey49
30 Jul 2008, 20:39
It's hard to pick a best combined side because I have only seen sides twice at the most this year but I would nominate no. 47 from Maldon, I think his name is D Carroll as a midfielder. He has a good old fashioned low centre of gravity and is very hard at the ball. He always seems to be thereabouts each week in the best so he must be in great form. On the topic of Ruckmen I would lean toward D Hedger. He has had a very good year individually from all accounts and is a far greater kick and overhead mark than Bright from Talbot. Hedger is a much more dangerous player when thrown up forward also. Big Ox would be my resting ruckman.

kangaroos69
30 Jul 2008, 23:45
Hey guys i have decided to put together an under 17 team of the year based on the 2008 performances. Please feel free to correct me if i have missed out on players or put players out of position:

BACKS-B.Davies(Brook)W.Short(Rovers)W.Mitchell(Harcourt)
H/BACKS-B.Hooland(Talb)R.Oshea(Rovers)H.Forgo(Trentham)
CENTRES-J.Bowen(Brook)B.Fletcher(Avoca)A.Jardine(Rovers)
H/FORWARDS-R.Healy(Trentham)T.Reece(Stead)T.Stiles(Dunolly)
FORWARDS-B.Hudson(Rovers)J.Hunt(Avoca)N.Coghlan(Avoca)
FOLLOWERS-T.Ruggles(Stead)J.Hind(Rovers)J.Hooper(Rovers)
INTERCHANGE-M.Culvenor(Stead)T.Walker(Trentham)
K.Russell(Brook)H.Kelly(Maldon)

CAPTAIN-B.Fletcher(Avoca)
VICE-T.Reece(Newstead)

what does everyone think of this side?? please let me know if u would like to make changes to the side.....

Johnny Drama
31 Jul 2008, 10:09
Hey guys i have decided to put together an under 17 team of the year based on the 2008 performances. Please feel free to correct me if i have missed out on players or put players out of position:

VICE-T.Reece(Newstead)

what does everyone think of this side?? please let me know if u would like to make changes to the side.....

I know it is hard to put guys in from the poorer teams but Kyle Lierich and Perry Turner have had outstanding seasons carrying Dunolly in the 17's with Tom Styles.

go kookas
31 Jul 2008, 10:14

VICE-T.Reece(Newstead)

pretty sure hayden kelly wouldnt be on the bench, nearly polls 3 votes every time he plays and holds his own in the ones aswell

The question
31 Jul 2008, 10:26
[quote=bluey49;11891247]It's hard to pick a best combined side because I have only seen sides twice at the most this year but if we are to have an inter league team next year I thought this could be a FUN idea.
If I have left gun players out it is probably because they weren't fantastic on the one occasion that I might have seen them or they might have been injured.

Backs Ronke (Dun) Fraser (Rov) Shelton (RP)
HB Batson (Rov) Cummins (Mal) Brady (Dun)
C M.Smith (Tal) Martin (Tal) Coghlan (Av)
HF Lakey (Av) Lea (Mal) S. Smith (Har)
F Harris (Car) Stone (Har) M. Bond (Tal)
R Oxley (New) L. Brown (Mal) K. Young (Tr)

Inter Carroll (Mal) A. Pilgrim (Av), Clark (Rov) Kick (Car)

If Oxley couldn't play Bright would replace him but I didn't put Bright in because it allowed me to select Pilgrim who was awesome in the Ruck at Avoca on Sunday and he is a great forward. I tried to get a player in from each side but I struggled with Campbell's Creek Sam Noble is the obvious player but I wouldn't select him.

As with all representative teams I have fiddled with player positions for team balance.

KingRich
31 Jul 2008, 14:12
I'm not gonna get drawn into the argument on who is the best player but on this years form Tim Bright would be the team of the year ruckman. He has been BOG for Talbot in nearly 2/3 of our games. He rucks with no backup and pushes back and takes many marks in defence. Best ruckman I have seen at Talbot almost ever I would say.

KingRich
31 Jul 2008, 14:30

VICE-T.Reece(Newstead)

Brandon McRedmond from Talbot would be a definate. Nathan Duffin would be close also.

bomber22
31 Jul 2008, 16:55
who is looking Favourite for best and fairest for each club in the seniors, reserves and under 17???

bomber22
31 Jul 2008, 16:58

VICE-T.Reece(Newstead)

A peck and L broad from bushys would be right up there.

KingRich
31 Jul 2008, 17:24
who is looking Favourite for best and fairest for each club in the seniors, reserves and under 17???

Our Best and Fairest will be between Bright, Martin and Matt Smith I would think with Tim Bright the favourite.

Shamui
31 Jul 2008, 17:26
A peck and L broad from bushys would be right up there.

Tristan McGrath from Avoca would be a likely inclusion as well....

Shamui
31 Jul 2008, 17:32

At Avoca I think the following players will all poll well:

Seniors: Pilgrim, A. Grant, Lakey, Bellenger, Coghill

Reserves: G. Wardlaw, P.Wardlaw, C.Salmon, M.Pask

U/17's: Fletcher, Coghlan, McGrath, Etherton

Uncle Johnny
31 Jul 2008, 23:36
[quote=bluey49;11891247]It's hard to pick a best combined side because I have only seen sides twice at the most this year but if we are to have an inter league team next year I thought this could be a FUN idea.
If I have left gun players out it is probably because they weren't fantastic on the one occasion that I might have seen them or they might have been injured.

Backs Ronke (Dun) Fraser (Rov) Shelton (RP)
HB Batson (Rov) Cummins (Mal) Brady (Dun)
C M.Smith (Tal) Martin (Tal) Coghlan (Av)
HF Lakey (Av) Lea (Mal) S. Smith (Har)
F Harris (Car) Stone (Har) M. Bond (Tal)
R Oxley (New) L. Brown (Mal) K. Young (Tr)

Inter Carroll (Mal) A. Pilgrim (Av), Clark (Rov) Kick (Car)

If Oxley couldn't play Bright would replace him but I didn't put Bright in because it allowed me to select Pilgrim who was awesome in the Ruck at Avoca on Sunday and he is a great forward. I tried to get a player in from each side but I struggled with Campbell's Creek Sam Noble is the obvious player but I wouldn't select him.

As with all representative teams I have fiddled with player positions for team balance.

pretty close there i reckon mate. i dont enter into the ruckman argument cos i havent seen oxley play and i can't remember bright either, maybe cos i wasn't paying attention. do ya think brook could've had Lukey Treacy in there as well? only 2 player from carisbrook maybe doesn't seem rite for the top team? thats my opinion i guess!

darkhorse4000
1 Aug 2008, 00:07
I'm not gonna get drawn into the argument on who is the best player but on this years form Tim Bright would be the team of the year ruckman. He has been BOG for Talbot in nearly 2/3 of our games. He rucks with no backup and pushes back and takes many marks in defence. Best ruckman I have seen at Talbot almost ever I would say.
Pushing the case for Bright pretty hard for a "team of the year" spot.
Hedger would be the number 1 for his ability to push forward and kick goals.......Simon McClure from maldon number 2, underrated performer, has given their onballers first use a lot of times this season

Frustrated
1 Aug 2008, 07:59
Oxley is far and away the best Ruckman in the league with the other missing player in your so called best of teams Sean Webster from Newstead who has dominated in all his games against so called highly fancied oponents. Hard to pick these type of sides without bias so everyones opinion is different.
This weeks results.
Harcourt v Dunolly. 12+ goals unless Harcourt resting players
Talbot v Trentham. Massacre, year cant finish quick enough for Trentham
Avoca v Creek. another one side result
Maldon v Rovers. Would expect Maldon to win comfortably at home 6+ goals
Carisbrook v Newstead. Should be a reasonable game but Brooks Class should show through 4 goals

Johnny Drama
1 Aug 2008, 12:27
Here's one for you lads.

How high on the ladder would an MCDFL interleague side finish in respect to the Central Highlands FL? Having a fair argument about this currently

Premiers. Don't worry about that.

Johnny Drama
1 Aug 2008, 12:43
Here's one for you lads.

How high on the ladder would an MCDFL interleague side finish in respect to the Central Highlands FL? Having a fair argument about this currently

Here's my interleague team. Bare in mind that I would have only seen most of these guys 2-3 times max this year.

FB - T. Heenan (CB), B. Fraser (Rov), T. Ronke (Dun),
HB - M. Batson (Rov), P. Cummins (Mal), A. Grant (Av)
C - N. Coghlan (Av), L. Brown (Mal), K. Young (Tren)
HF - J. Young (Tren), C. Lakey (Av), J. McMurtrie (Har)
FF - S. Smith (Har), C. Stone (Har), J. Harris (CB)
R - M. Oxley (New), I. Martin (Tal), D. Carroll (Mal)
I - M. Giri (Har), M. Bond (Tal), A. Pilgrim (Av), N. Wright (CB)

Notable players left out.
T Bellenger (Av), S. Noble (CC), Kris Lea (Mal), T. Bell (Mal), S Burchell (Mal) D. Clark (Rov), D & B Hedger (Rov), C. Burn (Dun), T. Reece (New), D. Forde (RP), M. Smith (Tal), B. Kick (CB) and I'm sure there are a heap of other guys too.

Feel free to pick it apart.

Rojer - if anyone thinks that wouldn't be a decent major league team, they are deluded. No player on my 22 would have a problem walking into any CHFL side. It is a good league, much stronger than ours, but that 22 would be a team many major league teams would be confident with running out of a Saturday.

KingRich
1 Aug 2008, 14:24
Premiers. Don't worry about that.

Premiers. Depth in our league is not great but our top players are as good as any.

zakster
3 Aug 2008, 13:51
no surprises in the round just playd guys richs boys belted trentham but he did say on friday that trentham was lookng more at the 2s than the ones maldon did enuf 2 put rovers away and the brookrs were far 2 good for newstead so much for the supposd newstead challenge

Frustrated
3 Aug 2008, 14:57
Newsteads challenge to C/Brook was ok except for a poor 2nd quarter, some absolutely shit umpiring, along with some cheap shots given by one K Rowe at what looked like coaches directions. Dont rate C/Brook with Maldon, Harcourt of Avoca although they have a couple of good young tall forwards who present well. A number of their players appear to be money men mainly and may come unstuck in finals due to lack of passion. Fair dinkum though our biggest issue as a league is that our umpires that have been involved for a number of years are showing no improvement or guts to make a decision.

The question
3 Aug 2008, 14:59
After this weekend round of matches the final five has been decided and while Rovers promised much earlier in the year, they have come up short. It says much for the league that a team that has recruited hard and played good footy, couldn't make the five whereas in past years they well have been a top 3 side.

Frustrated
3 Aug 2008, 15:12
The challenge of recruiting for all clubs is to get value for money spent and although rovers have recruited hard some of their money players appear to contribute little on field. It is always a balancing act for all clubs and just because you spend money it is not always more beneficial than growing a team with your locals.

The question
3 Aug 2008, 15:13
The ladder at the end of round 17 sees Carisbrook on 62 points
Maldon 60
Harcourt 56 155%
Avoca 52 203
Talbot 46

The next three rounds throw up some really pivotal matches which will determine the five . Talbot will finish fifth

The next three rounds will be pivotal

Carisbrook --- plays ----- Harcourt (A) ......... Trentham (H) ..... Royal Park (A)
Maldon ------ plays ----- Avoca (A)............ Newstead (H)...... Harcourt (A)
Harcourt ----- plays ----- Carisbrook (H) ...... Cam Creek (A) ...... Maldon (H)
Avoca ------ plays ----- Maldon (H) ......... Rovers (A) .......... Bye

The three teams below Carisbrook have a tough run home so places 2 - 4 could change dramatically.

The question
3 Aug 2008, 15:26
Harcourt displayed all of their running game on Saturday with Stone, Hutchinson, Giri, McMurtrie and Hutchinson playing well. You would have thought that Delidio Park was their home ground as they repeatedly kicked goals on the run from the 50 and the boundary line. Dunolly had a very disappointing first half and after a reshuffle at half time they really took the game to Harcourt. Centre and boundary clearances where dominated by Dunolly and the inside 50's were clearly in the Eagles favour. However, you can't give class players even limited opportunities because they kick goals whenever they got a chance. Better players for Dunolly were Stiles, new recruit Wilson, Bilton and Josh Sullivan who put the brakes on a rampaging Stone after half time. Harcourt might have taken the foot off the accelerator but they were clearly challenged by Dunolly in the second half.

handy
3 Aug 2008, 20:08
in reply to the team of the year arguement, brendan hedger would have to be a certainity, best mark in the league and will dominate for years to come if he stays in the league

handy
3 Aug 2008, 20:10
dave carrol roving ahead of dave clark? you have got to be joking

Johnny Drama
3 Aug 2008, 20:59

Try putting a team up...

Uncle Johnny
4 Aug 2008, 01:08

quite obviously loves his rovers boys, too bad about september though....

Is that you
4 Aug 2008, 14:31
Newsteads challenge to C/Brook was ok except for a poor 2nd quarter, some absolutely shit umpiring, along with some cheap shots given by one K Rowe at what looked like coaches directions. Dont rate C/Brook with Maldon, Harcourt of Avoca although they have a couple of good young tall forwards who present well. A number of their players appear to be money men mainly and may come unstuck in finals due to lack of passion. Fair dinkum though our biggest issue as a league is that our umpires that have been involved for a number of years are showing no improvement or guts to make a decision.

Sounds like a bitter frustration showing out Frustrated. So you don't rate Carisbrook? I did see the Sunday game a few weeks ago when Avoca played Carisbrook and was impressed by both teams. Carisbrook seemed fairly good that day against some good oppositon. Time will tell though if they will stack up against the rest. With your money complaint, do you think that Carisbrook do have alot of players getting paid big bucks? I didn't think that many clubs in the MCDFNL pay out alot, especially compared to Ballarat regional clubs.

KingRich
4 Aug 2008, 14:45
Sounds like a bitter frustration showing out Frustrated. So you don't rate Carisbrook? I did see the Sunday game a few weeks ago when Avoca played Carisbrook and was impressed by both teams. Carisbrook seemed fairly good that day against some good oppositon. Time will tell though if they will stack up against the rest. With your money complaint, do you think that Carisbrook do have alot of players getting paid big bucks? I didn't think that many clubs in the MCDFNL pay out alot, especially compared to Ballarat regional clubs.

MCDFNL budgets are steadily increasing each year. Brook would be close, if not top of the tree in terms of their budget.

Is that you
4 Aug 2008, 14:48
MCDFNL budgets are steadily increasing each year. Brook would be close, if not top of the tree in terms of their budget.

What would a rough figure for the season be compared to other teams in the comp?

digger3
4 Aug 2008, 17:23

VICE-T.Reece(Newstead)

Hey..
i think there should be some changes i have watch alot of U17 games n a few kids in here only do there job against easy teams but not against the harder

Frustrated
4 Aug 2008, 20:47
Brook are certainlt shelling out big coin and along with Harcourt would be the biggest spenders in the league. Credit must be given to committees for finding a way to fund these teams but in the long run the question is always asked what benefit does it gain in the end. A premiership with all money men will never mean the same as it does to a team that have grown together at one club.

kangaroos69
4 Aug 2008, 23:14
Hey..
i think there should be some changes i have watch alot of U17 games n a few kids in here only do there job against easy teams but not against the harder

what changes do you think should be made mate?

go kookas
5 Aug 2008, 10:13
in reply to the team of the year arguement, brendan hedger would have to be a certainity, best mark in the league and will dominate for years to come if he stays in the league

Brendan hedger is a dud, Kris lea is a real forward and would shit all over hedger in a marking contest. The difference is that lea can mark in a 1 on 3 hedger cant, guess u wont be seeing us in the finals

meltdown
5 Aug 2008, 12:51
Brook are certainlt shelling out big coin and along with Harcourt would be the biggest spenders in the league. Credit must be given to committees for finding a way to fund these teams but in the long run the question is always asked what benefit does it gain in the end. A premiership with all money men will never mean the same as it does to a team that have grown together at one club.
Is Maldon in that boat?

The thermometer
5 Aug 2008, 17:13
Is Maldon in that boat?

The majority of the people in Maldons team that are the good players and that would be getting the coin are the home grown guys... Burchells, Trevor Bell, Lachy Brown, Carrols all played junior footy at the club so it would be great to see them take it out!!

Harcourt would just about have to be top of the pile with the money men, seem to get random older blokes that are near finished that want to try pinch one before heading out to pasture, and not too many of them would be cheap dates!!!!