View Full Version : Maryborough Castlemaine District FL
anyone who witnessed hedger's first half against maldon would realise how much of a star he is
brendon hedger is better then dion and if he could bulk up a bit and have a good pre season. i think he would un-stoppable in this league.. Kris lea is also very good, rovers had know one to put on him in the second half
what changes do you think should be made mate?
M. Clarke from carisbrook
K. lierich from Dunolly
T. McGrath from avoca
B. Neil from rovers
P. Turner from dunolly
J. Grey from carisbrook.
but you did do well with the team not much would change only a couple i think
cheers
K. lierich from Dunolly
T. McGrath from avoca
B. Neil from rovers
P. Turner from dunolly
J. Grey from carisbrook.
cheers
lierich would be a certainty
Uncle Johnny
5 Aug 2008, 21:20
lierich would be a certainty
as someone stated before, no room for Andrew Peck or Lachy Broad in the 17's side? Peck would almost be a walk up starter
go kookas
5 Aug 2008, 21:55
brendon hedger is better then dion and if he could bulk up a bit and have a good pre season. i think he would un-stoppable in this league.. Kris lea is also very good, rovers had know one to put on him in the second half
Hedger is very arrogant and loves to lip off when hes up and about but as you would see when he is doing nothing, u dont hear a word from him and doesnt seem to take those grabs that he is talked up to "like the best mark in the league"
CranktheAnchors
5 Aug 2008, 22:27
Hedger is very arrogant and loves to lip off when hes up and about but as you would see when he is doing nothing, u dont hear a word from him and doesnt seem to take those grabs that he is talked up to "like the best mark in the league"
Haha I think you will find most blokes arn't going to lip off when they are not getting a kick. Hedger is definately not arrogant mate. There would be a dozen rovers boys more arrogant than Young hedge. Good Bloke. Good Player.
kangaroos69
5 Aug 2008, 22:58
K. lierich from Dunolly
T. McGrath from avoca
B. Neil from rovers
P. Turner from dunolly
J. Grey from carisbrook.
cheers
who would your outs be from the side??
B.hooland, k.russel, w. short, W.Mitchell, T.Walker.
but yer it would hard to pick a team alot of good players in the U17's . it would a hard team to beat for other districts
cheers
Sherman41
6 Aug 2008, 13:31
Brendan hedger is a dud, Kris lea is a real forward and would shit all over hedger in a marking contest. The difference is that lea can mark in a 1 on 3 hedger cant, guess u wont be seeing us in the finals
I think you have been a bit harsh on Hedger here mate, the kid is only 19 and holding down a key position role, not an easy task for a young kid. Personally i think he has heaps of talent and has that X factor about him.
If he fills out a little i think he will dominant in season to come, he is very agile for tall forward. Only concern is that he can be injury prone.
but yer it would hard to pick a team alot of good players in the U17's . it would a hard team to beat for other districts
cheers
theres another handy player young b. mcredmond(talbot) his a very handy player ll over the ground
Imagunna
6 Aug 2008, 14:54
Bit of a newbie at this but have watched the posts for a while and am pretty impressed with generally unbias comments. One thing though on the u17s team I think if you asked any of the sides who would be the first player they would pick from the opposition most would say Hayden Kelly from maldon so couldnt see him sitting on the bench. Mind you though there are some excellent u17s going around
KingRich
6 Aug 2008, 15:34
Bit of a newbie at this but have watched the posts for a while and am pretty impressed with generally unbias comments. One thing though on the u17s team I think if you asked any of the sides who would be the first player they would pick from the opposition most would say Hayden Kelly from maldon so couldnt see him sitting on the bench. Mind you though there are some excellent u17s going around
Agree Hayden Kelly has a huge amount of talent. I have been impressed by the way young Bryce Fletcher has kicked on this year. Maturing a lot both on and off the field by the looks and is a future leader if he stays at Avoca.
Back onto senior footy, a couple of big games this week involving the top 5 teams that will go a long way to shaping finals.
Harcourt v Carisbrook - tipping an upset here. Harcourt are tough to beat at home and are starting to gather momentum. Daniel Smith returned against Talbot and wont take long to find full fitness. Blake across half-forward is in good form and one of their most important players. Harcourt's experience to get them over the line by 4 goals.
Trentham v Dunolly - Only because they are at home. Both teams are playing for the end of the season. Trentham by 4 goals
Royal Park v Talbot - Talbot have a couple of minor injury worries which has given some younger players an opportunity to impress. Unless Bushy's good players all play outstanding games they can expect a long day. Talbot by 100 points.
Newstead v Campbells Creek - Newstead by 100 points.
Avoca v Maldon - Avoca are looking a bit shaky of late and Maldon have taken all before them. They are close to full strength by all reports and if they are the real deal they need to win this one. Maldon by 6 goals.
Bye - Rovers
Sherman41
6 Aug 2008, 19:03
theres another handy player young b. mcredmond(talbot) his a very handy player ll over the ground
agreed, he would be a walk up started to that team..
Johnny Drama
6 Aug 2008, 19:25
Trentham v Dunolly - Only because they are at home. Both teams are playing for the end of the season. Trentham by 4 goals
Dunolly is actually playing for the next 3 weeks against Trentham, Bushy and Talbot. 2 teams we would like to beat again this season and we are yet to challenge a top 5 team.
We've got our goals and we want to finish the year with a feeling that 2008 was a starting point for a new era for the club.
Agree Hayden Kelly has a huge amount of talent. I have been impressed by the way young Bryce Fletcher has kicked on this year. Maturing a lot both on and off the field by the looks and is a future leader if he stays at Avoca.
Back onto senior footy, a couple of big games this week involving the top 5 teams that will go a long way to shaping finals.
Harcourt v Carisbrook - tipping an upset here. Harcourt are tough to beat at home and are starting to gather momentum. Daniel Smith returned against Talbot and wont take long to find full fitness. Blake across half-forward is in good form and one of their most important players. Harcourt's experience to get them over the line by 4 goals.
Royal Park v Talbot - Talbot have a couple of minor injury worries which has given some younger players an opportunity to impress. Unless Bushy's good players all play outstanding games they can expect a long day. Talbot by 100 points.
Newstead v Campbells Creek - Newstead by 100 points.
Avoca v Maldon - Avoca are looking a bit shaky of late and Maldon have taken all before them. They are close to full strength by all reports and if they are the real deal they need to win this one. Maldon by 6 goals.
Bye - Rovers
harcourt should run out winners by six goals must remember they havent been beaten at home in some 23 games and there starting to build
kangaroos69
6 Aug 2008, 23:39
cheers
ok thanks for that mate i will make a final team in the coming days. does anyone think rory healy from trentham deserves a spot? he has missed 5 games through his broken ankle but his form in the 17s and seniors was outstanding before hes ankle? so do you think in or out?
Hey guys i have decided to put together an under 17 team of the year based on the 2008 performances. Please feel free to correct me if i have missed out on players or put players out of position:
BACKS-B.Davies(Brook)W.Short(Rovers)W.Mitchell(Harcourt)
H/BACKS-B.Hooland(Talb)R.Oshea(Rovers)H.Forgo(Trentham)
CENTRES-J.Bowen(Brook)B.Fletcher(Avoca)A.Jardine(Rovers)
H/FORWARDS-R.Healy(Trentham)T.Reece(Stead)T.Stiles(Dunolly)
FORWARDS-B.Hudson(Rovers)J.Hunt(Avoca)N.Coghlan(Avoca)
FOLLOWERS-T.Ruggles(Stead)J.Hind(Rovers)J.Hooper(Rovers)
INTERCHANGE-M.Culvenor(Stead)T.Walker(Trentham)
K.Russell(Brook)H.Kelly(Maldon)
CAPTAIN-B.Fletcher(Avoca)
VICE-T.Reece(Newstead)
what does everyone think of this side?? please let me know if u would like to make changes to the side.....
Back- H.Forgo(Tren) J.Grant (Avoca) B.Davies (Cbrook)
Half Back- K.Lierich(Dun) M.Clarke(Cbrook) V.Williams(Mal)
Centre- B.McRedmond(Tal) J.Hind(Rovers) J.Hooper(Rovers)
Half Forward- M.Culvenor(New) T.Reece(New) N.Coghlan(Avoca)
Forward- J.Hunt(Avoca) T.Stiles(Dun) R.Healy(Tren)
Rucks- T.Ruggles(New) H.Kelly(Mal) B.Fletcher(Avoca)
Int- J.Bowen(Cbrook), J.Gray(Cbrook), A.Jardine(Rovers),
P.McCallum(Har)
Waterboys- L.Cunningham(Cbrook), T.McGrath(Avoca)
Runner- B.Neill(Rovers)
Captain- T.Reece (New)
Vice H.Kelly(Mal)
The question
7 Aug 2008, 14:25
The last team to beat Harcourt at Harcourt was Carisbrook and Carisbrook will do it again with a win on Saturday by 4 goals. Better list - Harris, Wright & Ross all are capable of kicking good bags of goals.
Apparently Harcourt struggled against Dunolly in the second half and a few independent judges - thought Harcourt had slipped alot from last year. A great hitout for both sides to see where they are placed.
The match at Avoca really is important for Avoca. Are they contenders or just making up the five? Maldon look to be the team to beat.
This years final series is shaping up to be a very even handed contest between 5 very good football sides. It is very hard to tip the premiers IMO. I'll go out on a limb and tip Harcourt only because of finals experience and I think they haven't been in their best form yet but may just step it up a notch once that spring smell gets into their nostrils.
Of the others- Carisbrook - a very classy side and have shown a great effort to hold top spot all year. Being no. 1 come September is a massive advantage come finals and Brook have earned that right. However questions have arisen regarding their ability to withstand physical toughness. I write this because I have heard it mentioned several times this season from a varied range of sources. Up to Brook to prove them wrong.
Maldon- firming as favourites it seems in league circles. Like Brook, their top 10 players are exceptional and they have a power forward in Lea. A very strong engine room also. IMO it remains to be seen whether their bottom 4 players can match those of the other finalists.
Avoca- At their best look to be able to beat anyone. Lakey, Coghlan and Pilgrim hold the key to their chances I reckon and Lakey especially could shape the series if he is on song. One of the cleanest marks and kicks for goal I've seen in a few years. Their inconsistency must worry their supporters and therefore I don't think they will make the Granny. Look out though if they find their best form.
Talbot- the X factor of the finals. Have challenged all the top sides and drew famously with Brook this year as did their 2nd's on the same day. Plenty of experience and leadership in Martin and an exciting young forward in Bond. They put great faith in Bright to give them first use of the pill and young Sherman is a clever ball user. A very good side but don't quite have the finishing touches on their side this year to go all the way.
ok thanks for that mate i will make a final team in the coming days. does anyone think rory healy from trentham deserves a spot? he has missed 5 games through his broken ankle but his form in the 17s and seniors was outstanding before hes ankle? so do you think in or out?
any young player deserves a mention who plays well in both 17s and seniors and is a team player not an i player its a hard choice to make .i have been watchin trentham for the last seven years and those boys are building give them another year they play well at home
fifth quarter
7 Aug 2008, 19:20
sherm: glen jakovich held down chb for the weagles in the toughest aussie rules comp. in the land --- now admittedly he could have been a prodigy but the bloke you're talking about is 19 and i know its country footy where the level of rivals pitted agst. u each week is a lot different
howevr consider the glen jakovich analogy he may well have played in a afl premiership in 1992 when still well under 20 years of age
as someone stated before, no room for Andrew Peck or Lachy Broad in the 17's side? Peck would almost be a walk up starter
uncle johnny you are an absolute goose, lachy broad should do everyone a favour and quit football now, he is a pain to watch. The kid cant get a kick and tries to blue everyone, thinks he's a massive hero. There would be 100 better players in the kids than broad
bomber22
7 Aug 2008, 21:38
uncle johnny you are an absolute goose, lachy broad should do everyone a favour and quit football now, he is a pain to watch. The kid cant get a kick and tries to blue everyone, thinks he's a massive hero. There would be 100 better players in the kids than broad
abit over dramatic there mate... he's a big boy who has alright skills and always goes in to get the hardball gets. a perfect example is when he broke 2 tackles against carisbrook and kicked a goal from 50. From what i've seen of him he is stands out for bushy along side Pecky and he will prove to be a good player for bushy in the future.
bomber22
7 Aug 2008, 21:39
abit over dramatic there mate... he's a big boy who has alright skills and always goes in to get the hardball gets. a perfect example is when he broke 2 tackles against carisbrook and kicked a goal from 50. From what i've seen of him he is stands out for bushy along side Pecky and he will prove to be a good player for bushy in the future.
yeah ok point taken, but in the football ive seen him play all he manages to do is put dents in the ground
mcdonnald
7 Aug 2008, 22:39
just wondering if anyone knows how young Matt Culvenor from newstead has been going...
heard he has been playing 1's most of the year?!?!?
does he go alright or what?
yeah he is a gun young player!! seems to go better in 1's than 17's.. just turned 16 to! he's quick with great skills!!
Uncle Johnny
7 Aug 2008, 22:46
yeah point taken. it is pretty easy to stand out for us in the juniors. i've played with lachy and pecky in the 2's and they will be good players, and i've watched em play 1's too and they do enuf there as well. and the only time i've seen lachy go the knuckle was with good reason, never initiates anything, just goes really hard at teh footy
go kookas
7 Aug 2008, 22:48
This years final series is shaping up to be a very even handed contest between 5 very good football sides. It is very hard to tip the premiers IMO. I'll go out on a limb and tip Harcourt only because of finals experience and I think they haven't been in their best form yet but may just step it up a notch once that spring smell gets into their nostrils.
Of the others- Carisbrook - a very classy side and have shown a great effort to hold top spot all year. Being no. 1 come September is a massive advantage come finals and Brook have earned that right. However questions have arisen regarding their ability to withstand physical toughness. I write this because I have heard it mentioned several times this season from a varied range of sources. Up to Brook to prove them wrong.
Maldon- firming as favourites it seems in league circles. Like Brook, their top 10 players are exceptional and they have a power forward in Lea. A very strong engine room also. IMO it remains to be seen whether their bottom 4 players can match those of the other finalists.
Avoca- At their best look to be able to beat anyone. Lakey, Coghlan and Pilgrim hold the key to their chances I reckon and Lakey especially could shape the series if he is on song. One of the cleanest marks and kicks for goal I've seen in a few years. Their inconsistency must worry their supporters and therefore I don't think they will make the Granny. Look out though if they find their best form.
Talbot- the X factor of the finals. Have challenged all the top sides and drew famously with Brook this year as did their 2nd's on the same day. Plenty of experience and leadership in Martin and an exciting young forward in Bond. They put great faith in Bright to give them first use of the pill and young Sherman is a clever ball user. A very good side but don't quite have the finishing touches on their side this year to go all the way.
the damage will be done with the top half players and generally the bottom 4 are on the bench? IMO when maldon are full strength they have no weak players and everyone does their part
mcdonnald
7 Aug 2008, 23:01
Back- H.Forgo(Tren) J.Grant (Avoca) B.Davies (Cbrook)
Half Back- K.Lierich(Dun) M.Clarke(Cbrook) V.Williams(Mal)
Centre- B.McRedmond(Tal) J.Hind(Rovers) J.Hooper(Rovers)
Half Forward- M.Culvenor(New) T.Reece(New) N.Coghlan(Avoca)
Forward- J.Hunt(Avoca) T.Stiles(Dun) R.Healy(Tren)
Rucks- T.Ruggles(New) H.Kelly(Mal) B.Fletcher(Avoca)
Int- J.Bowen(Cbrook), J.Gray(Cbrook), A.Jardine(Rovers),
P.McCallum(Har)
Waterboys- L.Cunningham(Cbrook), T.McGrath(Avoca)
Runner- B.Neill(Rovers)
Captain- T.Reece (New)
Vice H.Kelly(Mal)
this guy knows a bit more than the other teams made up.. i'd probly also have nathan mitchell form harcourt aswell, he is a star footy player and will come very close to taking out the league b and f.. he stands out alot!! could even play on ball if not wing! he won under 15's b and f in cdjfl.. also jardine would pole a spot on the ground before about 10 of those blokes.. theres a couple of those blokes who have a reputation but aren't that good
CranktheAnchors
7 Aug 2008, 23:09
the damage will be done with the top half players and generally the bottom 4 are on the bench? IMO when maldon are full strength they have no weak players and everyone does their part
That really shows your incompetence. Every avid football follower knows that games are won and lost from a teams bottom 6 players. The teams ability for all players to do there bit is crucial for success. The top tier players from each side are usually very similiar in output. What sets teams apart is there depth. Crank out.
Sherman41
7 Aug 2008, 23:16
sherm: glen jakovich held down chb for the weagles in the toughest aussie rules comp. in the land --- now admittedly he could have been a prodigy but the bloke you're talking about is 19 and i know its country footy where the level of rivals pitted agst. u each week is a lot different
howevr consider the glen jakovich analogy he may well have played in a afl premiership in 1992 when still well under 20 years of age
Hedger is a good player and will be a great player in years to come for rovers...i think most teams would love to have someone of his height and agilty in the team.
Anyone that thinks the kid cant play the game is deluded or jelous of his ability IMO. Comparing Jakovich to Hedger is a pointless argument mate, u dont need to play AFL to be a good footballer around here.
Uncle Johnny
8 Aug 2008, 00:11
Hedger is a good player and will be a great player in years to come for rovers...i think most teams would love to have someone of his height and agilty in the team.
Anyone that thinks the kid cant play the game is deluded or jelous of his ability IMO. Comparing Jakovich to Hedger is a pointless argument mate, u dont need to play AFL to be a good footballer around here.
spot on sherm:thumbsu:
this guy knows a bit more than the other teams made up.. i'd probly also have nathan mitchell form harcourt aswell, he is a star footy player and will come very close to taking out the league b and f.. he stands out alot!! could even play on ball if not wing! he won under 15's b and f in cdjfl.. also jardine would pole a spot on the ground before about 10 of those blokes.. theres a couple of those blokes who have a reputation but aren't that good
this could go on forever picking an u17s side we should all be greatful that we have such great young talent coming up in the ranks we have some good to watch in the future:)
meltdown
8 Aug 2008, 11:16
Just looking at the team line ups for Trentham and didn't see Ash Macnaughton in the team. Can anyone from that way shed some light?
darryl 23
8 Aug 2008, 11:50
Just looking at the team line ups for Trentham and didn't see Ash Macnaughton in the team. Can anyone from that way shed some light?
Appears that the wheels may be a bit wobbly out at cold country.
The question
8 Aug 2008, 14:12
Uncle Johnny, I see on page 26 of today's Mboro Addy that there is a heading the Natte Tigers?.
Is one of the journalists having a go at Royal Park or is there any substance to the rumour?
What benefit would there be for Royal Park? Natte denied very strongly that they were leaving the LPFL .
EarToTheGround
8 Aug 2008, 15:07
All MCDFL teams will be making a trip to Natte Yallock next season as they have been given approval to join the MCDFL. The only catch is that if Creek packs up and folds, Natte can't come in because the MCDFL don't want a bye.
It will make a very tough competition because they have been a good team in the LPFL.
Discuss...
I doubt it is true as Rod Ward shot the above comment down in the LPFL Record. It was so newsworthy it warranted a full page denial of Natte coming into the MCDFL. That denial came from both League and Club.
The journo would want to have his sources right.
I doubt it is true as Rod Ward shot the above comment down in the LPFL Record. It was so newsworthy it warranted a full page denial of Natte coming into the MCDFL. That denial came from both League and Club.
The journo would want to have his sources right.
that jurno always seems to have park in the picture even when two top teams play off ,his at a park game
Uncle Johnny
8 Aug 2008, 19:26
Uncle Johnny, I see on page 26 of today's Mboro Addy that there is a heading the Natte Tigers?.
Is one of the journalists having a go at Royal Park or is there any substance to the rumour?
What benefit would there be for Royal Park? Natte denied very strongly that they were leaving the LPFL .
Totally full of shit is all I really have to say. Golly Grant received a phone call today asking how he could put that in without even contacting the president. Wouldn't mind knowing who this "Reliable Source" is, as has been told to me it came from. I expect stuff like that on BigFooty, not in the Addy. If this rumour is going around, I'm surprised it never made it onto here first. Yes we've had a poor year on the field, no denying that, but off the field has been the best it has in many years. Be it Rovers, Natte or anyone, there will be no mergers coming Royal Park's way, plain and simple.
Alot of talk about the under 17 football in here lately.
Let me know what teams will make finals..
What teams will be in the grand final and the top 5 or 6 most important player in that team and why they will win..
cheers
bluey49
10 Aug 2008, 16:39
Dunolly held on to win by 9 points in a determined and disciplined display of wet weather football against Trentham yesterday in near sub Arctic conditions at Trentham. The home side took the early advantage in the first quarter putting on the first couple of goals. Burn was prominent early for the Eagles, marking everything in the wet but was a little wayward in his accuracy , finishing with 1.3 for the term. Dunolly began to take the ascendency in the 2nd quarter through playing in front , kicking long and direct and getting to the ball first, drawing the free kicks and using the ball well. Several 50 metre penalties against Trentham for arguing umpiring decisions didn't help their cause. The second half was a close encounter with Bell leading the way off half back for Dunolly his long kicking invaluable in the wet. Schodde was another Eagle to revel in the greasy conditions and set up further attacks. Leirich got front and square to plenty of contests and roved many balls like it was a dry day. The final quarter was very low scoring with players from both sides exhausted. Dunolly hung on to record their 5th win of the season and they know they are going to have to display a similar or higher level of commitment if they want their 6th win against Bushy next week. Dunolly best Bell Birch Bilton Burn Edwards.
Totally full of shit is all I really have to say. Golly Grant received a phone call today asking how he could put that in without even contacting the president. Wouldn't mind knowing who this "Reliable Source" is, as has been told to me it came from. I expect stuff like that on BigFooty, not in the Addy. If this rumour is going around, I'm surprised it never made it onto here first. Yes we've had a poor year on the field, no denying that, but off the field has been the best it has in many years. Be it Rovers, Natte or anyone, there will be no mergers coming Royal Park's way, plain and simple.
lets hope bushy and natte merge, it will be the only way that bushy will be able to survive in some way. Theyve got no money, no supporters and no hope
go kookas
10 Aug 2008, 20:28
a great round of footy with really close results and almost a couple of upsets loomed. A cracker finals series coming up
kangaroos69
10 Aug 2008, 20:35
i was out watching the trentham verse dunnolly clash at a nice and cold trentham on satday morning watching the under 17s. i thought the game would have been much closer but trentham absolutely killed then. Rory Healy was unstoppable with 9 goals while thomas styles was with out a doubt the best for dunnolly. What can people tell me about Rory Healy from trentham?? where did he come from?
Uncle Johnny
10 Aug 2008, 20:51
lets hope bushy and natte merge, it will be the only way that bushy will be able to survive in some way. Theyve got no money, no supporters and no hope
and quite obviously you've got no idea
CranktheAnchors
11 Aug 2008, 13:43
Hows the Top 5 going to end up?
The question
11 Aug 2008, 14:24
Hows the Top 5 going to end up?
The next two rounds will be pivotal
Carisbrook --- plays .... Trentham (H) ..... Royal Park (A)
Maldon ------ plays ...... Newstead (H)...... Harcourt (A)
Harcourt ----- plays ... Cam Creek (A) ...... Maldon (H)
Avoca ------ plays- ..... Rovers (A) .......... Bye
Final 5
Carisbrook
Maldon
Avoca
Harcourt
Talbot
I think that Maldon will probably beat Harcourt at Harcourt in the last round as they wouldn't want a loss against Harcourt and then face up to them again the following week
The question
11 Aug 2008, 14:32
The Trentham players really enjoyed playing at home, apparently the first time in 8 weeks. Horizontal sleet and rain makes for great playing conditions but both teams really guts it out in the second half.
trentham
11 Aug 2008, 17:31
Dunolly held on to win by 9 points in a determined and disciplined display of wet weather football against Trentham yesterday in near sub Arctic conditions at Trentham. The home side took the early advantage in the first quarter putting on the first couple of goals. Burn was prominent early for the Eagles, marking everything in the wet but was a little wayward in his accuracy , finishing with 1.3 for the term. Dunolly began to take the ascendency in the 2nd quarter through playing in front , kicking long and direct and getting to the ball first, drawing the free kicks and using the ball well. Several 50 metre penalties against Trentham for arguing umpiring decisions didn't help their cause. The second half was a close encounter with Bell leading the way off half back for Dunolly his long kicking invaluable in the wet. Schodde was another Eagle to revel in the greasy conditions and set up further attacks. Leirich got front and square to plenty of contests and roved many balls like it was a dry day. The final quarter was very low scoring with players from both sides exhausted. Dunolly hung on to record their 5th win of the season and they know they are going to have to display a similar or higher level of commitment if they want their 6th win against Bushy next week. Dunolly best Bell Birch Bilton Burn Edwards.
Trentham were unlucky, the umpiring was shocking.:mad:
kangaroos69
11 Aug 2008, 23:52
Hey guys im just going to give names on who i think are goin to be the highest pole getters from each club in the under 17s.
Avoca- Bryce Fletcher
Harcourt- Alex Code
Trentham- Rory Healy
Newstead- Tom Reece
Carisbrook- Kristian Russell
Marybourough- Jayden Hooper
Royal Park- Lachlan Broad
Campbells Creek- Joel Hardman
Maldon- Hayden Kelly
Dunnolly- Thomas Styles
Talbot- Daren Burns
Is there any one else that thinks otherwise???
bomber22
12 Aug 2008, 16:49
Hey guys im just going to give names on who i think are goin to be the highest pole getters from each club in the under 17s.
Avoca- Bryce Fletcher
Harcourt- Alex Code
Trentham- Rory Healy
Newstead- Tom Reece
Carisbrook- Kristian Russell
Marybourough- Jayden Hooper
Maldon- Hayden Kelly
Dunnolly- Thomas Styles
Talbot- Daren Burns
Is there any one else that thinks otherwise???
i Think these people will be the ones to poll the highest in each club in the 17's
Avoca- Tristan McGrath
Harcourt- Alex Code
Trentham- Rory Healy
Newstead- Tom Reece
Carisbrook- Brent Davies
Marybourough- Jayden Hind
Maldon- Hayden Kelly
Dunnolly- Kyle Lierich
Talbot- Brandon McRedmond
And LBF will be Kyle Lierich
and quite obviously you've got no idea
just stating the facts
Uncle Johnny
12 Aug 2008, 21:54
just stating the facts
dunno where ya getting ya facts from mate, cos apart from supporters which are disappointingly low, every other "FACT" is nowhere near true.
KingRich
13 Aug 2008, 10:13
dunno where ya getting ya facts from mate, cos apart from supporters which are disappointingly low, every other "FACT" is nowhere near true.
Can you give us a bit of an insight into the direction of the club for next year Johnny??
How do you propose to get support up? Will the club be recruiting hard for next season? If support is so low, where is the money coming from?
Uncle Johnny
13 Aug 2008, 18:45
Can you give us a bit of an insight into the direction of the club for next year Johnny??
How do you propose to get support up? Will the club be recruiting hard for next season? If support is so low, where is the money coming from?
Obviously I can't go too deep Rich, you know how it is. As you would've seen on the weekend we do lack supporters that just come to watch, but what we've been really happy with is the players that have joined the club are happy to stick around and support our functions, which was our ultimate goal this year, getting the off field back and running like it used to. As for next year, we will be recruiting obviously, not overly aggressive, probably aim for what dunolly have done this year. We have a couple of people in mind for coaching, its just whether they want to or not. We have some players that are interested in coming too, but like I said, not giving away anything at all. What I will say is that this year, although terrible on the field, we've achieved what we want to. Just rebuilding like many clubs have to. History shows that we have made the finals 3 of the last 5 years, only missing out narrowly last year and making a preliminary in 2005. Just cos we've had a lean year this year, everyone wants to make assumptions. But we're used to it, don't like it, but it comes with the results I guess. Hope this is helpful for you.
Frustrated
13 Aug 2008, 20:21
Yes it would appear that Bushy are struggling but i would also be looking at Trentham who appear to be faltering and Creek who still have alot of work to do. All these committee's have the job in front of them and hopefully will get the support to continue successfully.
On a brighter note this years finals appear the closest for some time with Maldon, Brook and Harcourt all close and just in front of Talbot and Avoca.
At this stage i would tip Harcourt and Maldon to play off with a toss of the coin between them.
KingRich
14 Aug 2008, 10:25
Obviously I can't go too deep Rich, you know how it is. As you would've seen on the weekend we do lack supporters that just come to watch, but what we've been really happy with is the players that have joined the club are happy to stick around and support our functions, which was our ultimate goal this year, getting the off field back and running like it used to. As for next year, we will be recruiting obviously, not overly aggressive, probably aim for what dunolly have done this year. We have a couple of people in mind for coaching, its just whether they want to or not. We have some players that are interested in coming too, but like I said, not giving away anything at all. What I will say is that this year, although terrible on the field, we've achieved what we want to. Just rebuilding like many clubs have to. History shows that we have made the finals 3 of the last 5 years, only missing out narrowly last year and making a preliminary in 2005. Just cos we've had a lean year this year, everyone wants to make assumptions. But we're used to it, don't like it, but it comes with the results I guess. Hope this is helpful for you.
Current Maryborough player still on the cards as coach next year?
KingRich
14 Aug 2008, 11:48
All reasonably one-sided games this week with the only real interest being at Dunolly and Jubilee Oval.
Tips for this week.
Carisbrook v Trentham - 120 points
Dunolly v Royal Park - 24 points
Campbells Creek v Harcourt - 160 points
Maldon v Newstead - 50 points
Rovers v Avoca - 42 points
Bye - Talbot
Bomberman49
14 Aug 2008, 12:59
Does any of the top 5 have any major injury concerns coming into finals. I have heard Avoca will be without Travis Ross and Brad Wardlaw. How are the other teams fairing?
Uncle Johnny
14 Aug 2008, 18:18
Current Maryborough player still on the cards as coach next year?
As Pauline Hanson said "No Comment"!! Nah Rich, when we find out, I promise you'll be the first to know! How was the nice scuffle you had with our president on the weekend? Get a few good ones in? I must admit I had a good laugh seeing both of ya's running off!!
zakster
14 Aug 2008, 20:37
same tips as u rich
brook over trenthm .... 100 plus
Dunolly over bushy ... 17 pts
Creek 2 go down to harcourt ...120 plus
maldon over newstead ... 48
rovers 2 go down to avoca .... 3 gls
lkg 4ward to mcfl 2008 finals
FROGDOG17
15 Aug 2008, 16:09
Who's looking like giving the leauge B&F a shake? Anyone willing to throw a few names around?
KingRich
15 Aug 2008, 16:49
As Pauline Hanson said "No Comment"!! Nah Rich, when we find out, I promise you'll be the first to know! How was the nice scuffle you had with our president on the weekend? Get a few good ones in? I must admit I had a good laugh seeing both of ya's running off!!
I'm lover not a fighter Johhny! Didn't appreciate the elbow that came my way just prior!
saintsfan12
15 Aug 2008, 20:12
[quote=kangaroos69;12036806]Hey guys im just going to give names on who i think are goin to be the highest pole getters from each club in the under 17s.
Avoca- Tristan McGrath
Harcourt- Alex Code
Trentham- Rory Healy
Newstead- Tom Reece
Carisbrook- Jonathon Gray
Marybourough- Andrew Jardine
Royal Park- Andrew Peck
Maldon- Hayden Kelly
Dunnolly- Thomas Styles
Talbot- Daren Burns
that is the way they should be
kangaroos69
16 Aug 2008, 20:16
hey guys can anyone tell me who all the blue ribbon medal winners were from the trentham v carisbrook games?
digger3
17 Aug 2008, 18:09
can some1 from each club name the blue ribbon winners for this round
Uncle Johnny
17 Aug 2008, 21:58
can some1 from each club name the blue ribbon winners for this round
Jason Brown, Jason Jones and Lachie Broad were our winners in the 1's,2's and 3rd's respectively. 1's were disappointing in the end, to have a lead at half time and not score in the 3rd quarter was terrible. Then we were just overrun in the last quarter. Was good for the magoo's to get another win on the board for the year, been a while since they've had more wins than the seniors. The god's must've been smiling on us in the 2's as Uncle Johnny actually led the full back to the ball all day and wound up having a pretty good game, fancy that! There's always time for a first i guess!!
go kookas
17 Aug 2008, 23:31
maldon winners were d.carrol in 1's, b cox in 2's ,and h.kelly in 3'rds
bluey49
18 Aug 2008, 10:18
An undisciplined first half in which Dunolly gave away several 50 metre penalties which resulted in goals allowed Royal Park to stay in touch with the Eagles in a tight first two quarters at Deledio park on Saturday. Darren Smith ran hard all day for Park as did Brown who took out the blue ribbon medal for Royal Park. The second half saw a Dunolly's full squad give a much more focused and committed effort at the ball and the Eagles began to draw away with the Eagles backline led by Brady, Sullivan and Ronke setting up the half forwards in attack. McNamee presented well across the middle of the ground and it was Hicks who finished off alot of the hard work with 4 goals for the day. Hicks also showed what a good pick up he has been for Dunolly with a good display of contested marking and his kicking for goals on the run. At the final siren Dunolly had run out winners by 5 goals over a hard working Royal Park outfit. Best Dunolly Hicks Brady Sullivan. Royal Park Smith Brown and J Shelton. Blue ribbon winners Dunolly Matt Brady Luke Schodde(res) Perry Turner(u/17)
harleyforgo
18 Aug 2008, 14:21
hey guys can anyone tell me who all the blue ribbon medal winners were from the trentham v carisbrook games?
from trentham locket (1st's) wayne christy (2nds) and harley forgo (3rds0
digger3
19 Aug 2008, 17:02
Any know who got the medals from rovers and avoca, harcourt and creek.
can some1 just find out all the winners from all the games :D
cheers:thumbsu:
Pyrenees Puma
19 Aug 2008, 21:15
Any know who got the medals from rovers and avoca, harcourt and creek.
can some1 just find out all the winners from all the games :D
cheers:thumbsu:
Avoca"s medal winners u/17: Bryce fletcher. Res: Gary Wardlaw?? Sen: Chris Lakey.
Harries08
19 Aug 2008, 22:04
Avoca"s medal winners u/17: Bryce fletcher. Res: Gary Wardlaw?? Sen: Chris Lakey.
How did lakey get it he kicked 4 goals 9 kicks like Nick Gill from Adelaide
go kookas
19 Aug 2008, 22:32
i heard off the grapevine there might be a few classy players from avoca leaving next year?
Pyrenees Puma
20 Aug 2008, 00:11
i heard off the grapevine there might be a few classy players from avoca leaving next year?
I heard on the grapevine the exact opposite to that, That there is several VERY classy players lining up in the red white and blue next year! I suppose we will have to wait and see which grape vine will bear fruit.We still have a finals series to play yet,and as every one will tell you, any one of the five could win it. But you could be right,i'm not sure if Jeffery (black duck) Beer is lining up for the doggies in season 2009.:D
Bomberman49
20 Aug 2008, 09:55
I heard on the grapevine the exact opposite to that, That there is several VERY classy players lining up in the red white and blue next year! I suppose we will have to wait and see which grape vine will bear fruit.We still have a finals series to play yet,and as every one will tell you, any one of the five could win it. But you could be right,i'm not sure if Jeffery (black duck) Beer is lining up for the doggies in season 2009.:D
Does this mean a certain favourite son will finally be leaving redan to return to his home town?
go kookas
20 Aug 2008, 09:58
the papers have already been signed from what im told, u still might get some good players
Johnny Drama
20 Aug 2008, 10:23
the papers have already been signed from what im told, u still might get some good players
Got any names? Or even a hint?
Crow Eater
20 Aug 2008, 10:29
dunno about the 17's but in the 2's it was M. Hull from Harcourt and J Pezzelato from Campbells Creek and in the 1's it was J McMertrie from Harcourt and D Wilson from Campbells Creek
Pyrenees Puma
20 Aug 2008, 10:31
Does this mean a certain favourite son will finally be leaving redan to return to his home town?
If so, its news to the playing group, there has been a few names from the north central league linked to the bulldogs thou. But i reckon we could fit jules in as a ruck rover in 09, but we wont be holding our breath.He will come when he's ready.
KingRich
20 Aug 2008, 10:38
If so, its news to the playing group, there has been a few names from the north central league linked to the bulldogs thou. But i reckon we could fit jules in as a ruck rover in 09, but we wont be holding our breath.He will come when he's ready.
You would think after Redan's poor season this year that it might be on his mind now more than ever to come back. I have also heard a rumours of discontent in the ones and twos from out Avoca way. Whether that leads to players leaving or not I'm not sure.
Spoke to a few ex-Newstead players on the weekend and some of them are considering heading back to Newstead next season to help get them back up the ladder.
KingRich
20 Aug 2008, 10:48
Which club in North Central are these guys from PP?
go kookas
20 Aug 2008, 12:00
Got any names? Or even a hint?
They are at avoca for a 1 year stint then taking off
KingRich
20 Aug 2008, 15:37
They are at avoca for a 1 year stint then taking off
So we are talking about Lakey, Grant etc then???? They will be hard to replace for the doggies one would think. Is Bellenger sticking around?? Struggling with injury a bit at the moment I hear!
The thermometer
20 Aug 2008, 15:41
You would think after Redan's poor season this year that it might be on his mind now more than ever to come back. I have also heard a rumours of discontent in the ones and twos from out Avoca way. Whether that leads to players leaving or not I'm not sure.
Spoke to a few ex-Newstead players on the weekend and some of them are considering heading back to Newstead next season to help get them back up the ladder.
Where are the ex Newstead guys playing?? I have also heard a whisper that there could be quite a few ex Newstead players returning next season from Castlemaine and other surrounding teams...
Should be a decent match this week Newstead v Rovers; 2 points in it last time, the Newstead boys are playing some consistent footy (Oxley, Barkla, Websters, Barker etc), and generally no love lost between the two...
Thoughts??
KingRich
20 Aug 2008, 16:29
Where are the ex Newstead guys playing?? I have also heard a whisper that there could be quite a few ex Newstead players returning next season from Castlemaine and other surrounding teams...
Should be a decent match this week Newstead v Rovers; 2 points in it last time, the Newstead boys are playing some consistent footy (Oxley, Barkla, Websters, Barker etc), and generally no love lost between the two...
Thoughts??
Yeah Castlemaine boys.... they are only thinking about it at this stage. Nothing confirmed.
darkhorse4000
20 Aug 2008, 17:56
At least he was on the park kicking goals Harries :D
go kookas
20 Aug 2008, 19:58
So we are talking about Lakey, Grant etc then???? They will be hard to replace for the doggies one would think. Is Bellenger sticking around?? Struggling with injury a bit at the moment I hear!
u may well be correct king rich, hughes is returning to his original club and taking a couple is the mail
fifth quarter
20 Aug 2008, 20:15
be a big surprise wouldnt it to see maine players leaving the camp reserve with 150th celebrations coming up in 2009
coach elliot prez cawthorn and committee would be working xtra hard to make sure 2009 was a big year :thumbsu:
Harries08
20 Aug 2008, 22:47
At least he was on the park kicking goals Harries :D
Did i see you in a certain car drinking a few to many cans horse
If this weeks selected side eventuate's this saturday for Dunolly, a big mention must go to daniel mcnamee for getting 20 consecutive games out of Craig burn for season 2008. Most said it couldnt be done, but not daniel. There are clearly no certaintys in footy
super_champ
21 Aug 2008, 12:31
How does young Bilton go from Dunolly? Heard he may be a tad soft?
Bomberman49
21 Aug 2008, 13:37
Have heard Jules was at a recent Avoca Club Function wording up his return next year
I wouldn't say he was wording up his return to the club, bomber. He was back in town to celebrate the 10 year premiership reunion. We'd be more than happy to have Jules back at the kennel and I'm sure that will happen when he is good and ready. In the meantime the club is concentrating on this year's finals series and hoping Maldon do the right thing by us this week...
CranktheAnchors
21 Aug 2008, 16:25
If Harcourt win they will play Maldon the very next week:eek:
KingRich
21 Aug 2008, 16:43
If Harcourt win they will play Maldon the very next week:eek:
Will be a good game over at Harcourt. Not sure who Talbot would prefer to play.... not real fussed I guess.
Johnny Drama
21 Aug 2008, 16:46
How does young Bilton go from Dunolly? Heard he may be a tad soft?
It's been a breakout year for Bilton. Exciting future and just signed a rare ten year deal at Dunolly during the week.
Johnny Drama
21 Aug 2008, 17:06
be a big surprise wouldnt it to see maine players leaving the camp reserve with 150th celebrations coming up in 2009
coach elliot prez cawthorn and committee would be working xtra hard to make sure 2009 was a big year :thumbsu:
Very true comment. I have heard that a number of players from within this league may be heading back for the 150th year. I'd doubt many will be leaving next year.
The thermometer
21 Aug 2008, 19:23
Very true comment. I have heard that a number of players from within this league may be heading back for the 150th year. I'd doubt many will be leaving next year.
Not too sure it would make all that much difference unless they had a link to the club (ie: played there as a kid, was their original club)... Because players not from Castlemaine either don't stay long or tend to come and go... I'm sure the lure of playing with boys you grew up with would take precedence over another club's 150th celebrations!!
But I could be wrong.