View Full Version : Maryborough Castlemaine District FL

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50

KingRich
1 May 2006, 13:57
Any comments and discussion are more than Welcome!

After 2 rounds the senior competition is shaping as one of the most competitive for years.

The only sour note is the struggling plight of the Trentham football club although I know there are some in the league that feel that the league is moving in a different direction and it may be time for the Trentham football club to move on.

Finals spots will be keenly contested this year with Harcourt, Newstead, Carisbrook, Talbot, Rovers, Royal Park and Avoca all looming as finals contenders.

Carisbrook have lost several key players and appeared to struggle in round 1 for an avenue to Goal against the improving youngsters from Talbot who will improve as the year goes on. Heavy recruiting by Maldon and Newstead looks to have paid off early with both sides performing well. Harcourt have added to an already strong list with old and new faces and look to be an early flag favourite.

Can anyone tell me how Maldon performed on the weekend as I'm keen to know if they are the real deal or not. Any other comments are more than welcome

KingRich
1 May 2006, 14:18
I would like to know if anyone knows why Trentham players have left the club on mass!! What has happened behind the scenes there??

Also where has Maldons big spending come from?? Have they been saving for a few years now??

Can Carisbrook win it this year?? I think not... They will finish in the top 4 but dont think they will challenge to be honest.

Reserves competition looks as predictable as ever. Look out for a slow starting Talbot outfit who from what I've heard has many players to return

KingRich
5 May 2006, 11:51
Another big round of MCDFL action this weekend.

My tips for this week:

Rovers v Royal Park - 45 points
Trentham v C/Creek - 30 points
Avoca v Talbot - 12 points
Harcourt v Dunolly - 120 points
Carisbrook v Maldon - 18 points
Newstead - Bye

Couple of interesting matches and potential finals matchups for later in the year.
Brook v Maldon will be of some interest as will Avoca v Talbot.

madpie
5 May 2006, 12:12
Could someone tell me where glenn carson,shaun smith,and mathew balshaw are playing??

KingRich
5 May 2006, 13:17
Could someone tell me where glenn carson,shaun smith,and mathew balshaw are playing??

Smith and Balshaw are at Harcourt.... Both played last week.

Carson was at Castlemaine last year and I believe he is still there

ablett19
5 May 2006, 13:47
Some good posts here?
Anyone know how my good mate from Talbot Troy Cunningham is going?
Also Matthew Smith heard goes well...

Sherman41
5 May 2006, 13:48

Carson was at Castlemaine last year and I believe he is still there

have any of u guys played on matthew smith cos ive heard he is extremely quick and very rarely plays a bad game

KingRich
5 May 2006, 14:21
have any of u guys played on matthew smith cos ive heard he is extremely quick and very rarely plays a bad game

Smith goes ok but needs to hit some more targets!

Cunningham didn't have a pre-season and is slowly gaining fitness.... Underrated Defender

ablett19
5 May 2006, 14:29
Smith's recent form has seen his inclusion into the University of Ballarat side to play in July in the Southern University Games. They will be looking for him to use his flair and destroy opposition sides with his pace..

On another note. I was lucky enought to get to the Talbot v Carisbrook game. Was very impressed with the CHF for Carisbrook, No 5. Can anyone tell me a bit more about this guy??

KingRich
5 May 2006, 14:48
Smith's recent form has seen his inclusion into the University of Ballarat side to play in July in the Southern University Games. They will be looking for him to use his flair and destroy opposition sides with his pace..

On another note. I was lucky enought to get to the Talbot v Carisbrook game. Was very impressed with the CHF for Carisbrook, No 5. Can anyone tell me a bit more about this guy??

Ablett, I believe 5 is Lachy Hurse. Carisbrook born and bred boy who played in defence for most of last year but has had to move forward because of recent player departures for Brook. Thought he played a good first half but was well held in the second

ringo1
5 May 2006, 14:51
Could any of you guys fill me in about Trentham. What type of club it is and where they play their games. I reckon I saw them play at an oval inside Hanging Rock racecourse when I was a kid.:thumbsu:

KingRich
5 May 2006, 14:56
Could any of you guys fill me in about Trentham. What type of club it is and where they play their games. I reckon I saw them play at an oval inside Hanging Rock racecourse when I was a kid.:thumbsu:

Ringo they are battling big time mate. Not fielding a 2s team at the moment and have been in the papers hunting for players. Something has gone on over the Summer and many players have left. Not sure why.

They play their games in Trentham.

In the early 90s they had a really good side but since then have struggled near the bottom. Luke Beattie coached them a couple of years ago and they went ok but he has since left and his other brothers are leaving this year so that leaves them in trouble.

madpie
5 May 2006, 16:55

Carson was at Castlemaine last year and I believe he is still therethanks king smith would dominate that league wouldnt he??

The Flying Dutchman
5 May 2006, 19:44
Ringo they are battling big time mate. Not fielding a 2s team at the moment and have been in the papers hunting for players. Something has gone on over the Summer and many players have left. Not sure why.

In the early 90s they had a really good side but since then have struggled near the bottom. Luke Beattie coached them a couple of years ago and they went ok but he has since left and his other brothers are leaving this year so that leaves them in trouble.

Pretty sure Simon Beattie Coached Trentham and Luke played full forward kicking a ton.

Jock Clark 2
7 May 2006, 15:09
HEY, guys --- this league set two records for the VCFL so far this year. The records involved ..... 1/. Biggest Winning Margin & 2/. Highest Score.

Harcourt 58.36 (384) sneaked home over Dunolly: 1.1 (7).
That's 94 scoring shots and a winning margin of 377 points.
Smithy got 20 goals (on www.countryfootyscores.com (http://www.countryfootyscores.com)) and I believe one other forward snagged 17 or 18.

junior04
7 May 2006, 15:55
HEY, guys --- this league set two records for the VCFL so far this year. The records involved ..... 1/. Biggest Winning Margin & 2/. Highest Score.

Harcourt 58.36 (384) sneaked home over Dunolly: 1.1 (7).
That's 94 scoring shots and a winning margin of 377 points.
Smithy got 20 goals (on www.countryfootyscores.com (http://www.countryfootyscores.com)) and I believe one other forward snagged 17 or 18.

Is Craig Brown-Kerr still coaching Harcourt?

KingRich
8 May 2006, 10:11
Is Craig Brown-Kerr still coaching Harcourt?

Still playing but not coaching. Daniel Smith is coaching on his own this year. Browny coached with him last year.

KingRich
8 May 2006, 10:14
I would love to know how the hell Dunolly could only score 1.1?? That is unbelievable from a senior side who actually has a number of handy footballers in their side!

ablett19
8 May 2006, 10:58
That is a fair flooging in anyones books...
Heard Cunningham played well for the Hawks amassing 20 possys in the back line. Maybe he is under rated, lets see if he backs it up this week.
Smith another 30 possys. Does he run a bit wide??

KingRich
8 May 2006, 11:23
Heard Cunningham played well for the Hawks amassing 20 possys in the back line. Maybe he is under rated, lets see if he backs it up this week.

Unfortunately young Cunningham undid a lot of his good ball winning work with a few clangers and free kicks against.

M.Smith played his best game for a while and did a couple of hard things. N.Smith started well but didn't have a matchup and spent the majority of the second half on the pine

Navies4
8 May 2006, 11:57
Ablett and the King, i am on to you.

KingRich
8 May 2006, 14:36
Anyone see the Carisbrook v Maldon game??

Are Maldon no good or did Carisbrook play well??

Jock Clark 2
8 May 2006, 18:32
RICH .... the other double figure goalscorer for Harcourt was Chris Stone with 13. After that there were blokes who snagged four sausage rolls, three and so on.
Brett Coombes will be a name to remember for sports trivia nights in years to come. He kicked Dunolly's only goal -- and in the last quarter, at that.

BTW, Harcourt holds not only the biggest margin for the VCFL so far this season ---377 pts. over Dunolly --- but also the 3rd biggest one.
That came in Rd. 1 of the MCDFL with a 254-point belting of Campbell's Creek.
The Apple Eaters are having a big season.

KingRich
9 May 2006, 09:21
RICH .... the other double figure goalscorer for Harcourt was Chris Stone with 13. After that there were blokes who snagged four sausage rolls, three and so on.
Brett Coombes will be a name to remember for sports trivia nights in years to come. He kicked Dunolly's only goal -- and in the last quarter, at that.

BTW, Harcourt holds not only the biggest margin for the VCFL so far this season ---377 pts. over Dunolly --- but also the 3rd biggest one.
That came in Rd. 1 of the MCDFL with a 254-point belting of Campbell's Creek.
The Apple Eaters are having a big season.

Yeah Jock look I saw them play first hand last week and they do look very good. They have recruited well and look very organised out on the field. Brett Coombes is Dunolly's coach and is a very good player in his own right although I dont envy the position he is in.

I dont think those 2 thrashings a an accurate assessment of where Harcourt are at. Creek, Dunolly and Trentham are going to be a long way behind the rest of the pack and will cop some floggings like that along the way.

ringo1
9 May 2006, 11:09

Thanks for that KIngRich.:thumbsu:

old saint
9 May 2006, 12:16
Anyone see the Carisbrook v Maldon game??

Are Maldon no good or did Carisbrook play well??

can anyone tell what shane cox from maldon is like, saw he kicked 10 last week.

KingRich
9 May 2006, 12:53
can anyone tell what shane cox from maldon is like, saw he kicked 10 last week.

Haven't seen him play as yet. He came from Heathcote I think. He kicked 10 in the first round against Dunolly and then 3 last week. Dunolly are not much of a side so not sure how good those 10 goals were as yet, byt you still have to kick them.

Sherman41
10 May 2006, 11:09
Smith goes ok but needs to hit some more targets!

Cunningham didn't have a pre-season and is slowly gaining fitness.... Underrated Defender

well ive heard different king rich, i was told he has pretty good foot skills, althogh a harcourt player did mention they were a bit off that day, as for cunningham ive heard he is a player that battles with many soft tissue injuries much like st kilda, but no doubt a handy running back when fit the rumour is.

KingRich
10 May 2006, 11:12
May 13 Round Four
C/Creek v Rovers
Trentham v Talbot
Maldon v Harcourt
Royal Park v Newstead
Avoca bye : Dunolly bye:
Carisbrook bye

Even at home, Creek will not trouble Rovers who have recruited well and will be smarting after a first up loss to Newstead. Creek appear to have lost many players this season and only just got over the line against a terminally struggling Trentham last week. Creek will have no answers to the array of potential goal kickers that Rovers have with Todd Featherston, Jamie Elliott, Brett Pollard and Glenn Traivalle all expected to kick a few. Rovers by 120 points

Talbot makes the long trip to Trentham and the injury curse has once again struck the Hawks who will be missing several big name players. Unfortunately Trentham is not in a position to take advantage of this and the young hawks will notch up a massive win. The Hawks will welcome back a number of players who missed last week including Ben Heathcock and Shane Slattery, but unfortunately will also lose a couple due to injury.
Talbot by 150 points

Maldon hosts Harcourt in the match of the round and is a definate danger game for Harcourt. Harcourt have easily disposed of their first 3 opponents and look very well drilled under coach Daniel Smith. Sean Smith and Chris Stone have kicked plenty of goals and will need to fire for Harcourt to win. Maldon had its first test last week against the Brook and weren't able to come away with the points but should test Harcourt. Harcourt by 30 points

Royal Park host a much improved Newstead in the final game of the round. Newstead look too strong on paper and New Recruits Stephen Oliver and Jarrod Trethowan have performed strongly in the opening three rounds. Royal Park have surprised a few people with their competitiveness this year and will push Newstead but the Roo boys will be too strong! Expect Daniel Christmas, Oliver and Paul Bunstma to be too good up forward the Tigers. Newstead by 60 points

Sherman41
10 May 2006, 11:16

well ablett19 cunningham did play a good game but crutial free kicks he gave away in the first quarter proved very costly. according to the stats man smith actually had up near 40 possi's and 2 goals, does he run too wide i think not i ve heard he just runs too hard and utilises space well, has anyone heard of how drew bartram is going at boort, rumuors are he could be a tuffie next year?

madpie
10 May 2006, 11:38
The stephen oliver at newstead is that the one that played at castlemaine and had a run at carlton years ago???

Scroater
10 May 2006, 12:07
The stephen oliver at newstead is that the one that played at castlemaine and had a run at carlton years ago???
He took over this year.
Played the second half against Trentham and kicked 10 goals last week (may have been week before).

KingRich
10 May 2006, 13:46

Yes it is. Will see him first hand in a couple of weeks, but I've never seen him play before, heard he can play a bit... Can anyone give me a run down on Steven Oliver?

Jock Clark 2
10 May 2006, 14:07
:) STARTED playing for C'maine as a teenager and actually represented Bendigo vs. Western Border when aged only 17.
Is the only player, apart from Ron Best, to have kicked more than 1000 goals in Bendigo Football League history. In 1992 when Maine won the flag he kicked 146 goals in h and a rounds, then added another 11 in the finals series.
Topped 100 goals 3 or 4 times in the BFl and even as recently as last year won the Ron Best medal (BFL top goalkicker) with 77 goals, plus another few in C'maine's exit in straight sets from the finals.
Coached the Magpies for a couple of seasons. Had a short stint with Carlton in the AFL but didn't like travelling to Princes Park for training. Recall him kicking 3 for the Blues vs. West Coast at either Subi or the WACA during his AFL career, though.
Not over keen on training !!

localfootyguru
10 May 2006, 22:59
Steven Oliver not keen on training - thats an understatement to say the least!!! Bloody good player though with an amazing amount of untapped and probably unused ability.

Looks like there are a few issues in the competition this season with Dunolly, Trentham and Campbells Creek all struggling due to player losses. Perhaps the struggling nature of Trentham will finally open the door for Natte Bealiba to finally make the transition from the stronger Lexton Plains League.

Will be relatively even at the top but certainly a huge gulf between the top and bottom teams.

How are those mighty Avoca Bulldogs looking this season despite an exodus of their 2005 imports to Maryborough Rovers? Can anyone tell me why these guys left Avoca after a pretty successful 2005 season?

KingRich
11 May 2006, 09:29
Steven Oliver not keen on training - thats an understatement to say the least!!! Bloody good player though with an amazing amount of untapped and probably unused ability.

Looks like there are a few issues in the competition this season with Dunolly, Trentham and Campbells Creek all struggling due to player losses. Perhaps the struggling nature of Trentham will finally open the door for Natte Bealiba to finally make the transition from the stronger Lexton Plains League.

Will be relatively even at the top but certainly a huge gulf between the top and bottom teams.

How are those mighty Avoca Bulldogs looking this season despite an exodus of their 2005 imports to Maryborough Rovers? Can anyone tell me why these guys left Avoca after a pretty successful 2005 season?

Not sure what keeps blocking Natte from joining the MCDFL as all MCDFL clubs have given it the stamp of approval. Assume its something to do with the fact that the Lexton Plains cannot lose another side.... Not sure.

Bulldogs beat an undermanned Talbot last week but I really cant see them threatening this year. They will be fighting for 5th spot with a few other clubs. They lost Brett Pollard, Glenn Traivalle and Brent Trotter to Rovers this year. I know that Pollard coached Rovers a few years ago so he has a connection. Apparently Avoca had some infighting at the end of last year and a few disagreements between players which also saw Glen Wills retire. Other than that not to sure

The_Swifferian
11 May 2006, 09:35
Article from today's bendigo addy.

Trentham's reprieve
Thursday, 11 May 2006

TRENTHAM will be permitted to see out the entire season in the Maryborough-Castlemaine District Football League this year, despite being unable to field a reserves side.

The Saints' playing stocks have been depleted this season and the club has only been able to field senior and under-17 teams in the first three rounds of the season.
It had been thought last month that the MCDFL would not allow the Saints to continue playing this year if they could not find the numbers for a reserves side.
'‘The Victorian Country Football League is encouraging us not to do anything (forcing them to withdraw from the competition) with clubs who can only field a senior side," MCDFL secretary Max Martin said yesterday. ‘‘We are prepared to go along and support the VCFL's motion on that.

‘‘They are encouraging us not to disadvantage any club that, because of the situation it is in, can not play reserves." South west area manager Brett Anderson said the VCFL was ‘‘more than happy" for the MCDFL to continue to allow Trentham to compete without a reserves side.
‘‘We would hate to see a club with a lot of history go by the wayside, just because it was unable to field a team in one particular division," Anderson said.
‘‘For example, two years ago with Caramut in the Mininera league, they were unable to field a reserves side, but they were helped out by other clubs that provided them with some players each week.
‘‘Now we have Caramut in a situation where they are fielding all their juniors, netball, and senior football teams.
‘‘So with a little bit of help, rather than knocking them on the head, they (Trentham) can get through this tough period." Despite many pleas from new senior coach Peter Olivieri, the Saints still only have about 25 players for their senior and reserves sides.
‘‘It's very tough," Olivieri said.
‘‘The first couple of weeks we got flogged, last week we didn't, but the side we played (Campbells Creek) was the bottom side.
‘‘We needed another four or five senior guys and we probably would have won by 10 goals last week.
‘‘But we will continue to press on; we are not going throw it in." Anyone wanting to play with Trentham can contact Olivieri on 5368 6501 or Dave Smith on 0419 575 191. Round four MCDFL games to be played this Saturday: Campbells Creek v Rovers, Trentham v Talbot, Maldon v Harcourt, Royal Park v Newstead.

KingRich
11 May 2006, 10:24
I agree you cant let the club die and boot them out. But more has to be done. Players are not gonna stick around if they cant get a game in the 2s and then if your seniors get injured you have no replacements?? Not sure how that is gonna work out.

They MUST field a reserves side or they will die. They need to pull blokes off the streets and field some form of side. Even asking the opposition to provide some players each week may work, just to keep their existing players there.

Dunno who this Oliveiri is that took on the Coaching job there but good on him for having a go!

On The Money
11 May 2006, 10:42
I agree you cant let the club die and boot them out. But more has to be done. Players are not gonna stick around if they cant get a game in the 2s and then if your seniors get injured you have no replacements?? Not sure how that is gonna work out.

They MUST field a reserves side or they will die. They need to pull blokes off the streets and field some form of side. Even asking the opposition to provide some players each week may work, just to keep their existing players there.

Dunno who this Oliveiri is that took on the Coaching job there but good on him for having a go!

I think you'll find there won't be many if any players missing out on a game. They just need to get themselves through the season then they can recharge. Rushworth done the same in 1997 just had a senior side and the next year they got back up on their feet although they did change leagues which brought about much of the enthusiasm.

KingRich
11 May 2006, 10:47
I think you'll find there won't be many if any players missing out on a game. They just need to get themselves through the season then they can recharge. Rushworth done the same in 1997 just had a senior side and the next year they got back up on their feet although they did change leagues which brought about much of the enthusiasm.

But if no one is missing a game then how will they field a side come injuries/suspensions/unavailabilities?? I really hope that is the case and they can stay afloat for next year but Its gonna be hard. We go over there and play them on Saturday so be interesting to see what the mood of the club is etc and how they are going!

KingRich
12 May 2006, 13:17
Wonder what the weather will be like in "Sunny" Trentham this weekend!

rightfoot_sloth
12 May 2006, 15:06
Is it going to be a Rovers vs Newstead GF this year or are the Rovers still not good enough ?

KingRich
12 May 2006, 15:22
Is it going to be a Rovers vs Newstead GF this year or are the Rovers still not good enough ?

Rovers definately have the cattle just a matter of performing. Harcourt will push very hard but I would say it will be out of those 3.

madpie
13 May 2006, 10:12
Can anyone tell me how matthew balshaw is going at harcourt??
Also glenn carson is he playing anywhere???

VCFL MAN
14 May 2006, 17:41
:) STARTED playing for C'maine as a teenager and actually represented Bendigo vs. Western Border when aged only 17.
Is the only player, apart from Ron Best, to have kicked more than 1000 goals in Bendigo Football League history. In 1992 when Maine won the flag he kicked 146 goals in h and a rounds, then added another 11 in the finals series.
Topped 100 goals 3 or 4 times in the BFl and even as recently as last year won the Ron Best medal (BFL top goalkicker) with 77 goals, plus another few in C'maine's exit in straight sets from the finals.
Coached the Magpies for a couple of seasons. Had a short stint with Carlton in the AFL but didn't like travelling to Princes Park for training. Recall him kicking 3 for the Blues vs. West Coast at either Subi or the WACA during his AFL career, though.
Not over keen on training !!

Things to add about Olly!

2000- Called up to Interleague side and kicked 9 against Sunraysia.

*His first three shots on goal in league footy hit the post.
*Was originally drafted to Carlton as 16 year old.
*Went Back to Carlton in 1992 and returned home in 1994 with 13 games and 8 goals under his belt.

KingRich
15 May 2006, 09:56
Can anyone tell me how matthew balshaw is going at harcourt??
Also glenn carson is he playing anywhere???

Believe Balshaw is going alright, has been in the best a few times. Carson was at Castlemaine playing 2s last year. Not sure what he is doing this year

KingRich
15 May 2006, 09:58
Trentham are in all sorts of trouble. Doubt they will field a side as of next week. Lost by 40 goals on the weekend and hadn't scored until halftime. Only had 16 players. Apparently 10 of their better senior players just didn't turn up after being selected. They're only getting an average of 6 players to training. After game there was no one left in club rooms!

They have Dunolly next week and that is probably they're only realistic chance of winning although no sure if they will get that far!

Sherman41
15 May 2006, 11:46
Trentham are in all sorts of trouble. Doubt they will field a side as of next week. Lost by 40 goals on the weekend and hadn't scored until halftime. Only had 16 players. Apparently 10 of their better senior players just didn't turn up after being selected. They're only getting an average of 6 players to training. After game there was no one left in club rooms!

They have Dunolly next week and that is probably they're only realistic chance of winning although no sure if they will get that far!

heard clarke and smith dominated on the weekend king rich had 100 disposals between them?

KingRich
15 May 2006, 11:51
heard clarke and smith dominated on the weekend king rich had 100 disposals between them?

Sherman, this only highlights how poor Trentham were mate!

SiMoSaYs
15 May 2006, 13:47

If Trentham are as bad as has been stated this is of know relevance whatsoever!?!

Also if you are refering to the yonger smith (Matthew??) having no competition would suit he playing style ie wide and loose

when we played against him last year this was the case anyway, may have changed though

Simo

KingRich
15 May 2006, 13:52
If Trentham are as bad as has been stated this is of know relevance whatsoever!?!

Also if you are refering to the yonger smith (Matthew??) having no competition would suit he playing style ie wide and loose

when we played against him last year this was the case anyway, may have changed though

Simo

Who are you playing with this year Simo?

tomsut_69
15 May 2006, 14:00
Can anyone tell me how Steven Lawrence is travelling this year after sneazing and putting his back out? Also what are the chances of Dayvindenko being knocked out again? Lastly, when will they realise they have a power forward in Troy Cunningham and stop playing him in a back pocket, surely his knee is right to kick a bag....

Sherman41
15 May 2006, 14:02
Sherman, this only highlights how poor Trentham were mate!

king rich, r u infering that clarke and smith only perform against weaker teams?

KingRich
15 May 2006, 14:02
Can anyone tell me how Steven Lawrence is travelling this year after sneazing and putting his back out? Also what are the chances of Dayvindenko being knocked out again? Lastly, when will they realise they have a power forward in Troy Cunningham and stop playing him in a back pocket, surely his knee is right to kick a bag....

Your an idiot Tom!:)

SiMoSaYs
15 May 2006, 14:03
Who are you playing with this year Simo?

Was at maldon last year but only played a couple of games as i moved to the town and thought it was a good way to make some mates.

Injured my sholder and decided i could not risk getting injured again as i'm a landscaper

Simo

Sherman41
15 May 2006, 14:05

interesting comment tomsut 69 believe cunningham pushed forward on weekend but failed to trouble the scorers, definately a running back that links up well.

KingRich
15 May 2006, 14:07
king rich, r u infering that clarke and smith only perform against weaker teams?

No I'm saying that it is impossible to gather that many possesions against good teams.

I agree with Simo is that against that team those stats are irrelevant!

But in saying that, Congratulations to both players for gathering those types of stats! Good effort!

Sherman41
15 May 2006, 14:09
Was at maldon last year but only played a couple of games as i moved to the town and thought it was a good way to make some mates.

Injured my sholder and decided i could not risk getting injured again as i'm a landscaper

Simo

very intersting perceptions u have on matthew smith simo?, do u not rate him against quality teams?

KingRich
15 May 2006, 14:11

Stevie Lawrence kicked 5 on the weekend after getting over his old age back problem. Seemed to be moving alrite on the dance floor saturday night!
"Dayvindenko" is out with a hammy but is due to come back this week or the next and will surely manage to knock himself out at least once this year, even wearing a helmet the size of the chiefs!
Lastly, I believe he is capable of kicking goals!:thumbsu:

SiMoSaYs
15 May 2006, 14:24
very intersting perceptions u have on matthew smith simo?, do u not rate him against quality teams?

Quality player if left to run unchecked but we found that a close tag will take him out of the game considerably.

Of course we must rate him to warrant a player running with but as has been seen a tag will take him out of the game.

Simo

SiMoSaYs
15 May 2006, 14:35
So guy's

Who are the team's to beat this year? Carisbrook still almost unbeatable?

Simo

KingRich
15 May 2006, 14:58
So guy's

Who are the team's to beat this year? Carisbrook still almost unbeatable?

Simo

Carisbrook have lost a lot this year and will struggle to challenge for the flag I believe. Talbot beat them 1st round and they did not look overly impressive in that game

Standout top 3 sides appear to be Harcourt, Newstead and Rovers at this early stage.

Can you tell us how Maldon is looking?? Has their heavy recruiting paid off or are they still a little way off the mark?

Navies4
15 May 2006, 15:02
How did Cunningham go on the weekend for talbot? Kick any goals?

SiMoSaYs
15 May 2006, 15:09
Carisbrook have lost a lot this year and will struggle to challenge for the flag I believe. Talbot beat them 1st round and they did not look overly impressive in that game

Standout top 3 sides appear to be Harcourt, Newstead and Rovers at this early stage.

Can you tell us how Maldon is looking?? Has their heavy recruiting paid off or are they still a little way off the mark?

I am not heavily involved much anymore King, they recruited allot and i think they thought they would go better than they have.

I also get the feeling they have upset some people as there are allot of longterm players that have left, this however is only speculation

Simo

SiMoSaYs
15 May 2006, 15:10

I seem to remember two brothers for talbot? has one retired?

Simo

KingRich
15 May 2006, 15:12

See previous post Juddy.... He played fullback for 3 quarters

KingRich
15 May 2006, 15:13
I seem to remember two brothers for talbot? has one retired?

Simo

Both still playing. Older Brett is out at the moment with another knee injury. Should be back soon depending on how bad it is

Jock Clark 2
16 May 2006, 12:20
RICH --- still pretty big thumpings in the MCDFL this round with Harcourt's 83-point trouncing of Maldon and Rovers' 172-point hammering of Creek pretty sizeable.
Then there was Talbot's 250-point win over poor old Trentham.
At least there wasn't a 300 point margin this time around.

SiMoSaYs
16 May 2006, 13:33
RICH --- still pretty big thumpings in the MCDFL this round with Harcourt's 83-point trouncing of Maldon and Rovers' 172-point hammering of Creek pretty sizeable.
Then there was Talbot's 250-point win over poor old Trentham.
At least there wasn't a 300 point margin this time around.

Show's trentham are pretty bad at the moment as Talbot was done by over 10 goals by Harcourt then by 5 by avoca who shouldn't even play finals this year

Simo

left foot long
16 May 2006, 18:13
ok new to this thread, whats gone wrong at trentham? what happened to the days when ennis, keogh, denko, mc donald and evans were guns???
will they fold

localfootyguru
16 May 2006, 21:53
Certainly the large amount of floggings in this competition is not good for the league this year. I remember when Avoca crossed into the league one of the advantages was the bonus of being in a very even competition. How things change so quickly. Surely the future of teams such as Trentham and Dunolly may be questioned if these sort of defeats continue. The unfortunate demise of these teams may open up entries for teams including Natte Bealiba.

SiMoSaYs
17 May 2006, 08:45
Certainly the large amount of floggings in this competition is not good for the league this year. I remember when Avoca crossed into the league one of the advantages was the bonus of being in a very even competition. How things change so quickly. Surely the future of teams such as Trentham and Dunolly may be questioned if these sort of defeats continue. The unfortunate demise of these teams may open up entries for teams including Natte Bealiba.

Natte had the all clear to join this league this year by all the other club's!
However the commitee at Natte chose not to, i feel this may effect there chances next time they approch the league

Simmo

KingRich
17 May 2006, 09:33
ok new to this thread, whats gone wrong at trentham? what happened to the days when ennis, keogh, denko, mc donald and evans were guns???
will they fold

As a Talbot follower who saw Trentham first hand last weekend I would say they will fold.... Definately struggle to play the year out!

It wasn't that long ago that they were a powerhouse. They won back to back reserves flags not long ago. Not sure what happened there

KingRich
17 May 2006, 09:40

I think the evenness of this comp is a little bit misleading at this stage. There are certainly 3 standout teams at the top at the moment and they are Harcourt, Newstead and Rovers. There are 3 whipping boys at the bottom in Trentham, Creek and Dunolly and are incredibly poor at this stage. Trentham is the only team that looks like folding in the near future. The other 2 clubs have full complement of football and netball sides in all grades and are competitive in other grades other than the seniors. The rest of the comp is very even with all clubs capable of beating the top sides on their day. Thought Maldon may have got closer to Harcourt but they obviously haven't improved as much as some thought.

So in responce to that I would say that it is only those bottom 3 sides that are exceptionally poor that gives off the impression that the league is not even as I think the senior comp is probably the most even it has been in years with upto 8 teams vying for finals.

As has been stated Natte has been welcomed with open arms but chose not to come. I believe Navarre has also approached the league to join but obviously the powers that be are not prepared to reshuffle/realign the lexton plains into another league just yet.

SiMoSaYs
17 May 2006, 14:41
I think the evenness of this comp is a little bit misleading at this stage. There are certainly 3 standout teams at the top at the moment and they are Harcourt, Newstead and Rovers. There are 3 whipping boys at the bottom in Trentham, Creek and Dunolly and are incredibly poor at this stage. Trentham is the only team that looks like folding in the near future. The other 2 clubs have full complement of football and netball sides in all grades and are competitive in other grades other than the seniors. The rest of the comp is very even with all clubs capable of beating the top sides on their day. Thought Maldon may have got closer to Harcourt but they obviously haven't improved as much as some thought.

So in responce to that I would say that it is only those bottom 3 sides that are exceptionally poor that gives off the impression that the league is not even as I think the senior comp is probably the most even it has been in years with upto 8 teams vying for finals.

As has been stated Natte has been welcomed with open arms but chose not to come. I believe Navarre has also approached the league to join but obviously the powers that be are not prepared to reshuffle/realign the lexton plains into another league just yet.

I think you can add talbot to that list of poor sides, they have copped a few big hidings this year and can expect a few more to come. The glory day's were but they appear to be on the wain now by the looks of things

Simmo

KingRich
17 May 2006, 14:58
I think you can add talbot to that list of poor sides, they have copped a few big hidings this year and can expect a few more to come. The glory day's were but they appear to be on the wain now by the looks of things

Simmo

Talbot are far from one of the worst sides. They expect to make the finals this year. They have arguably the best crop of youngsters in the comp which will be inconsistent at times.

They knocked off Carisbrook in the first round who were close to full strength. They were outclassed by Harcourt pure and simple. They were severely depleted for the Avoca game and that is one that got away unfortunately. They have copped ONE hiding of 10 goals by the premiership favourite at this stage of the year.

Its fair to say Simo that you haven't seen much of the footy this year so perhaps your judging a little too much on face value at this stage. Give it a few more rounds and we'll get a more accurate picture of where everyone is at!

SiMoSaYs
18 May 2006, 07:52
Talbot are far from one of the worst sides. They expect to make the finals this year. They have arguably the best crop of youngsters in the comp which will be inconsistent at times.

They knocked off Carisbrook in the first round who were close to full strength. They were outclassed by Harcourt pure and simple. They were severely depleted for the Avoca game and that is one that got away unfortunately. They have copped ONE hiding of 10 goals by the premiership favourite at this stage of the year.

Its fair to say Simo that you haven't seen much of the footy this year so perhaps your judging a little too much on face value at this stage. Give it a few more rounds and we'll get a more accurate picture of where everyone is at!

I still think they are way below there glory years rich with allot of softball getters that will suffer against the harder teams

Simo

madpie
18 May 2006, 08:58
In peoples opinions who would be the best 5 players in this league??

KingRich
18 May 2006, 09:18
I still think they are way below there glory years rich with allot of softball getters that will suffer against the harder teams

Simo

Well you better get along to the Talbot v Maldon game this year then Simo. If anything we suffer from a lack of height and poor foot-skills at times. Hardness at the ball is certainly not an issue!

KingRich
18 May 2006, 09:24
In peoples opinions who would be the best 5 players in this league??

Very tough question that is very hard to answer as there is so many newcomers to the league this year. By team I would say:

Talbot: David Clark
Avoca: Nick Robinson/Justin Tapner
Rovers: Brad Fraser/Jamie Elliott
Harcourt: Daniel Smith
Royal Park: ??
Newstead: ??
Dunolly: Brett Coombes
Carisbrook:
Maldon: ??
Creek: ??
Trentham: ??

Tough question.... Haven't seen enough of the teams this season to answer really

madpie
18 May 2006, 09:37
Very tough question that is very hard to answer as there is so many newcomers to the league this year. By team I would say:

Talbot: David Clark
Avoca: Nick Robinson/Justin Tapner
Rovers: Brad Fraser/Jamie Elliott
Harcourt: Daniel Smith
Royal Park: ??
Newstead: ??
Dunolly: Brett Coombes
Carisbrook:
Maldon: ??
Creek: ??
Trentham: ??

Tough question.... Haven't seen enough of the teams this season to answer reallyIs Daniel Smith Shuans brother??

SiMoSaYs
18 May 2006, 10:18
Well you better get along to the Talbot v Maldon game this year then Simo. If anything we suffer from a lack of height and poor foot-skills at times. Hardness at the ball is certainly not an issue!

As I mentioned previosly in this thread there are allot of guy's that are soft, Mattew smith springs to mind who are good fringe players but wont have an impact against harder sides

Simo

SiMoSaYs
18 May 2006, 10:18
Is Daniel Smith Shuans brother??

Sure is Madpie

Simo

KingRich
18 May 2006, 10:25
As I mentioned previosly in this thread there are allot of guy's that are soft, Mattew smith springs to mind who are good fringe players but wont have an impact against harder sides

Simo

Even the good sides have soft players and all good sides also NEED soft players who can run the lines and deliver the footy.

Smith is a proven performer against all sides even if he is percieved as soft he still finds a lot of the ball and is damaging with his disposal.

You only previously mentioned him as being a soft player no one else.

SiMoSaYs
18 May 2006, 10:55
Even the good sides have soft players and all good sides also NEED soft players who can run the lines and deliver the footy.

Smith is a proven performer against all sides even if he is percieved as soft he still finds a lot of the ball and is damaging with his disposal.

You only previously mentioned him as being a soft player no one else.

I herd from a harcourt player i work with that his disposals were less than convincing against them????

Simo

KingRich
18 May 2006, 10:58
I herd from a harcourt player i work with that his disposals were less than convincing against them????

Simo

He didn't have a good game against them but then again neither did the team. He is certainly in our top 3 most valuable and consistent performers tho

SiMoSaYs
18 May 2006, 11:10
He didn't have a good game against them but then again neither did the team. He is certainly in our top 3 most valuable and consistent performers tho

i reiterate that he may be a top player but can go missing when it gets tough as with allot of players out there at the moment

Simo

KingRich
18 May 2006, 11:19
i reiterate that he may be a top player but can go missing when it gets tough as with allot of players out there at the moment

Simo

He is generally in our best even when we dont get the points so I believe that is an un-educated opinion on your behalf. Secondly, it is Rd 4. We are 2-2. Certainly not done and dusted at this stage. When we can get our best side on the park we will push all the top sides.

Again we have a very young side so there is always going to be inconsistency. And as you appear to not have seen Talbot play this year as I have I dont think your in a good position to judge is that a fair comment?

Come out and have a look and judge for yourself Simo!

SiMoSaYs
18 May 2006, 11:26
And as you appear to not have seen Talbot play this year as I have I dont think your in a good position to judge is that a fair comment?

I have actually seen Talbot play this year and i personally played on smith last year and i think he had maybe 4 Posessions:eek:

I still think there is a lack of hardness, of all the players mentioned in this thread so far the only one for talbot i can see that is a hardball getter is David clarke (If he is the one i am thinking of). the rest are SOFT

Simo

KingRich
18 May 2006, 11:37
I have actually seen Talbot play this year and i personally played on smith last year and i think he had maybe 4 Posessions:eek:

I still think there is a lack of hardness, of all the players mentioned in this thread so far the only one for talbot i can see that is a hardball getter is David clarke (If he is the one i am thinking of). the rest are SOFT

Simo

Well that must of been a huge effort as he played only a quarter against Maldon and went off at quarter time with a quad. Talbot only played Maldon once last year and the 'softys' disposed of Maldon quite easily.

SiMoSaYs
18 May 2006, 11:44
Well that must of been a huge effort as he played only a quarter against Maldon and went off at quarter time with a quad. Talbot only played Maldon once last year and the 'softys' disposed of Maldon quite easily.

We were severly undermanned and as you would know did not play finals.

Now, how about you scoll back up and read what i said?!?!

Talbot will struggle against the better teams as they are SOFT! So the fact that talbot beat maldon last year has no relevence as we were admitadly poor last year.

Talbot has always relied on being a tough phisical side (As shown and the Premiership they won against Maldon) Now however......... Soft as butter

Simo

KingRich
19 May 2006, 10:48
Well enough of talking poo to imbisiles!

Few interesting games this week which will have a huge bearing on the top 5 and give all a good insight into where a few teams are at.

Harcourt v Carisbrook - Look the goods this year and at home appear to be far too strong.

Avoca v Maldon - Interesting game that you feel Maldon must win if they are to have a hope of playing in September. Will be tight.

Rovers v Talbot - An undermanned Talbot will struggle to gain the points against a misfiring Rovers. Expect game to be reasonable tight with rovers getting the points by 4 goals.

Trentham v Dunolly - Trenthams best side will beat Dunolly.... Just not sure if they can get their best side on the park.

Newstead v C/Creek - Creek are struggling and the Steaders will comprehensively take them apart on home turf.

Royal Park bye

SiMoSaYs
19 May 2006, 13:33

Rovers v Talbot - An undermanned Talbot will struggle to gain the points against a misfiring Rovers. Expect game to be reasonable tight with rovers getting the points by 4 goals.

we are very optimistic arn't we?

Simo

SiMoSaYs
19 May 2006, 13:36

Now Rich,

you do know that fighting on the net is like competing in the special olympic's, even if you win your still a retard!!

Regards
Simo:D

Sherman41
19 May 2006, 16:34

Simmo

thats a very bold judgement u have of talbot simo!, they are a proven quality team that demands respect whenever u run out against them

Sherman41
19 May 2006, 16:53
Now Rich,

you do know that fighting on the net is like competing in the special olympic's, even if you win your still a retard!!

Regards
Simo:D

simo king rich was right u really r an imbosile!!!!!!!, u must be proud of shutting down a kid playing injured if he only had 4 touches while u were on him,u must of got dragged after 5 min, smith does the hard stuff when needed but as he is a running player it would be silly to be on the bottom of the packs all the time wouldnt it.

SiMoSaYs
19 May 2006, 17:01
thats a very bold judgement u have of talbot simo!, they are a proven quality team that demands respect whenever u run out against them

As i have stated in previous post's they have some soft players sherman, they have the likes of matthew smith who we touched on earlier, fair player but no good when it comes to the pack's and hard stuff.

I feel other club's may exploit these weak link's??

Simo

SiMoSaYs
19 May 2006, 17:06
simo king rich was right u really r an imbosile!!!!!!!, u must be proud of shutting down a kid playing injured if he only had 4 touches while u were on him,u must of got dragged after 5 min, smith does the hard stuff when needed but as he is a running player it would be silly to be on the bottom of the packs all the time wouldnt it.

The correct spelling is "imbecile" my good friend, that statement was just my opinion on him, perhaps if he was injured he should not of made himself available????

Or maybe he got caught up in a little physical action and could not handle it?

But hey, if he is injured maybe we should just let him sit in pocket by himself so we don't hurt the poor little fella hey?

Simo

KingRich
22 May 2006, 10:50
Quite a few interesting results this weekend!

Rovers thumped a disappointing Talbot 18.13 to 5.12. I didn't catch the game but apparently Talbot played very loose and their extremely young line up couldn't compete with the experience of Rovers

Surprise of the round probably went to Dunolly who delivered perhaps a knockout blow to the Trentham Football Club with a resounding 34.19 to 5.9 demolition

Avoca was involved in perhaps the upset of the round downing the much fancied Maldon by 10 points. Veteran Glen Wills returned for his first game of the year for Avoca and kicked 7.

Carisbrook suffered their biggest defeat for many years with Harcourt recording a big 178 to 85 win! Many questions are now being asked after this game! Harcourt have probably stitched up premiership favouritism and Carisbrook are now seriously struggling which is good to see!

In the final game Newstead comprehensively smashed the creekers to the tune of 185 points

madpie
22 May 2006, 11:24
Quite a few interesting results this weekend!

Rovers thumped a disappointing Talbot 18.13 to 5.12. I didn't catch the game but apparently Talbot played very loose and their extremely young line up couldn't compete with the experience of Rovers

Surprise of the round probably went to Dunolly who delivered perhaps a knockout blow to the Trentham Football Club with a resounding 34.19 to 5.9 demolition

Avoca was involved in perhaps the upset of the round downing the much fancied Maldon by 10 points. Veteran Glen Wills returned for his first game of the year for Avoca and kicked 7.

Carisbrook suffered their biggest defeat for many years with Harcourt recording a big 178 to 85 win! Many questions are now being asked after this game! Harcourt have probably stitched up premiership favouritism and Carisbrook are now seriously struggling which is good to see!

In the final game Newstead comprehensively smashed the creekers to the tune of 185 pointsThats unbelievable that dunolly can beat trentham by 30 goals and get beaten by harcourt by 57 goals trentham must be one of the worst sides running around country football.