View Full Version : VFL games on ABC2 digital?
I noticed that ABC2 is showing VFL games on Wednesday and Saturday night. Anyone know anything about this?
Presume it will be a repeat of whatever they show in Victoria.
footyman
2 May 2006, 19:54
I noticed that ABC2 is showing VFL games on Wednesday and Saturday night. Anyone know anything about this?
Presume it will be a repeat of whatever they show in Victoria.
Correct. It is the ABC Victoria TV game.
However, if ABC showed a different game into Tasmania, then that match occupies one of the two ABC2 timeslots.
Thanks.
Hopefully I can finally see the Bees play (living in Sydney)
onslaught
3 May 2006, 17:38
Ignore this reply! :) Footyman summed it up fine.
Cyberdoggie
3 May 2006, 17:49
Thanks.
Hopefully I can finally see the Bees play (living in Sydney)
last week was casey vs box hill, so i'm guessing you will get that one and/or the tassie game.
no werribee this week for you i'm afraid :(
Ignore this reply! :) Footyman summed it up fine.
Ons - Since you are on dont forget to send me the Coburg footage.
onslaught
3 May 2006, 19:12
Ons - Since you are on dont forget to send me the Coburg footage.
Haven't forgotten.. but haven't been home this week where I have the footage (renovations).
last week was casey vs box hill, so i'm guessing you will get that one and/or the tassie game.
no werribee this week for you i'm afraid :(
Hm, bummer. No Bees
How good are these two sides? I am genuinely interested in checking out some VFL games, as I have no idea what the standard is like, styles of play etc My old AFL guru suggested I check VFL out as a more pure (in a sense) form of the game.
Hm, bummer. No Bees
How good are these two sides? I am genuinely interested in checking out some VFL games, as I have no idea what the standard is like, styles of play etc My old AFL guru suggested I check VFL out as a more pure (in a sense) form of the game.
i was watching that game a bit on saturday and it was a pretty good game, close all the way until one team pulled away in the last
the bees will be playing in a couple of weeks against boxhill which will be broadcast, hopefully we will smashed them, last time we staged a massive comeback in the last quarter with the PODS the matchwinner!
i reckon VFL is of a pretty good standard
Cyberdoggie
4 May 2006, 12:38
i think the standard is pretty good, obviously it's the next rung down on the ladder but the quality is still there.
Big difference is on tele you can't feel the atmosphere as much with the small crowd numbers.
I enjoy watching grass roots footy because you can stand and yell abuse to your hearts content without worrying about hurting anyones sensitivities with colourfull language. The kids are busy running around playing and not annoying the #$%^ out of you and trying to poke your eyes out with the ends of their flags.
You also get to meet many of the footy eccentrics, the die hard supporters that make this game great. You get real conditions, real weather, you can go onto the ground and have a kick, you can listen to the coaches in the huddles and even walk into the rooms post game to join in the victory celebrations. You get to see the passion of footy first hand and un-edited, that's why i enjoy it.
Check out this for fixture and tv games.
I notice werribee has a bye this week then they play box hill in the tv game.
http://vflfooty.dyndns.org/modules.php?name=Content&pa=showpage&pid=64