View Full Version : Best and Worst grounds in the VAFA

young veteran
3rd May 2006, 13:55
I've seen a bit of debate about the quality of some of the grounds in a number of threads so i thought i'd start up this thread.

For mine:

Worst: Brindisi, just way too small for senior football and a rubbish surface. Good bar though.
Melb High, we always seem to play there late in the season when its a bog, especially on that wing where the water runs down the hill (ridiculous design, not sure what the groundskeeper expects to happen).

Best: Junction, the best surface going around.
Trinity, great surface, good size.
Elsternwick, good size and usually if you're playing there you're in the finals!

Thoughts?

couchgrinder
3rd May 2006, 14:03
you can throw righetti oval in the worst category , thank god skobs are playing at elsternwick

although not a fun place to visit the snakepit. the new facilities are excellent

bullant10
3rd May 2006, 14:04
best:Old Carey good size, great facilities

Homer101
3rd May 2006, 14:29
Gillon Oval at NOBS is the best. Big ground, great playing surface and some of the biggest away rooms in the VAFA

The Slitherin' Snake
3rd May 2006, 14:43
I always like playing at Mazenod, Never seems to be muddy and we generally get a win out there.

The Big Pineapple
3rd May 2006, 14:48
Gillon Oval at NOBS is the best. Big ground, great playing surface and some of the biggest away rooms in the VAFA

Have to agree with you Homer. The Gillon is a great size and great surface.

The away rooms are huge which is always good for a pre-game kick despite the "No ball games" sign.

Keilor Hill is also way up there now making huge improvements in the past few years.

Shame the same can't be said about Keilor Hill's away rooms... they make a shoe box look big.

beefeater1000
3rd May 2006, 15:04
Only played u'19s in sec 3 in 04-but old careys ground was the best surface hands down

worst , was when we played ajax at glen iras ground, had dirt to cover the synthetic cricket pithces and bumpy as

hansie
3rd May 2006, 15:14
best:Old Carey good size, great facilities

Yeah, our grounds are pretty good - though I've only played Gramlick at present. Dunshea (main oval) is huge!

As I've only been in the VAFA 2 weeks can't really say too much. Yarra Valley is pretty ordinary h/ever

young veteran
3rd May 2006, 15:15
Keilor Hill oval is alright, but the away rooms were shocking on my last trip there. Tiny, and no hot water.

Haven't had a chance to play on Carey's oval. Only played there once in u/19s and we got shunted to the second oval because the 1s were using it. It does look very good though.

Gillon is solid, good size and good size rooms, but i don't think the surface is comparable to Trinity, Junction etc.

bendigo
3rd May 2006, 15:15
What's the obsession with Old Trinity's ground? It's upside down saucer configuration makes for some terribly muddy wings, and it's right out in the open for the elements to hammer. Not to mention that it's in Bulleen of all suburbs.

Uni Oval for mine, great surface to go with the historic charm of the Melbourne University Colleges overlooking the ground. It's also located in inner-city Parkville, what more could you ask for?

young veteran
3rd May 2006, 15:19
Yeah, good call on Uni Oval, i forgot about that one.

As for trinity, i guess i've only played there early in the season so i haven't seen it with much rain on it. When dry it looks amazing, the red and blue 45m lines don't hurt either.

froggie6
3rd May 2006, 15:37
Yeah, good call on Uni Oval, i forgot about that one.

As for trinity, i guess i've only played there early in the season so i haven't seen it with much rain on it. When dry it looks amazing, the red and blue 45m lines don't hurt either.

Uni...are you serious...patchy rubbish.

Uni Blue- sh*t ground, sh*t rooms, sh*t players, sh*t blokes, sh*t club!

bendigo
3rd May 2006, 15:42
Thanks froggie. Great post....

On the Run
3rd May 2006, 15:50
The Snakepit has one of the best surfaces in the ammo's along with the best changerooms.

The worst is Rigetti by far. St.Kevins haven't moved to much either.

The Big Pineapple
Uni...are you serious...patchy rubbish.

Uni Blue- sh*t ground, sh*t rooms, sh*t players, sh*t blokes, sh*t club!

That's a bit rich coming from you Froggie.

You and your mates from the pit are the biggest pot holes in the VAFA.

uglydermie
tell us what you really think Frog!

Here are my favorite:
Arden Street (OT played there in mid 90's) A cracker of a ground
junction oval - ripper to play on
Nobs ground (shame about the purple jumpers than hang around there...

(ALL EX VFA GROUNDS- WITH GREAT SURFACES AND GREAT VIBES)

WORST:
SALESIANS BOSCO ST RECTANGLE
ST BEDES
BANYULE
MUTTON RESERVE FAWKNER (DOWN RIGHT SCARY PLACE AT THE BEST OF TIMES)

Note: EP is too bloody windy

On the Run
3rd May 2006, 16:31
That's a bit rich coming from you Froggie.

You and your mates from the pit are the biggest pot holes in the VAFA.

Worry about your own mob fruit.

Try and win something out at East Keilor Grammar.

F/D
3rd May 2006, 16:34
Brunny St.

greentree
3rd May 2006, 16:36
Mentone/ StBedes Played there in late 80s one of my boots is still buried in the mud. After we came off the ground to the nice cold showers and washed all the mud off it looked like our legs had been attacked by a bunch of starving lions.
Nice blend of gravel, glass, shells, dirt oh and a size 9.5 footy boot.

bendigo
3rd May 2006, 16:50
Froggie! Didn't realise you were a Bernies boy! Bit jealous of the wonderful club down at Uni? When was the last time you beat Uni Blues? Of course Uni Blues is a s..t club, that's why two Bernards players went down there this year.

Keeping on the topic, another nomination for worst ground is Whitefriars. Despite having to have at least half a tank of fuel in the car to get out there, it feels like you're sitting at the base of the enchanted forest. All you're waiting for is the yowies to come running down from the hills.

Son of a Gun
3rd May 2006, 17:05
Best ground is the junction, a pleasure to play football on followed by Mazenod's home ground. Gillon is a great ground with very good rooms but far too windy for mind. Played at the Gillon on a windy day and the ball went out of bounds on the grandstand side 25 times in a quarter.

Worst grounds, a lot to mention including MHSOB, EP, Righetti, Brindisi St, Glenhuntly Oval (overhanging tree) etc. By far the worst though is Victoria Road reserve where Old Carey C18 play (and Hawthorn Ammos did as well I think?). Uneven surface with mounds all over it and the type of ground you'd expect at a primary school - tap down out of the ruck and the ball is sailing over goal post height from the centre square.

On the Run
3rd May 2006, 17:06
Froggie! Didn't realise you were a Bernies boy! Bit jealous of the wonderful club down at Uni? When was the last time you beat Uni Blues? Of course Uni Blues is a s..t club, that's why two Bernards players went down there this year.

Keeping on the topic, another nomination for worst ground is Whitefriars. Despite having to have at least half a tank of fuel in the car to get out there, it feels like you're sitting at the base of the enchanted forest. All you're waiting for is the yowies to come running down from the hills.

Wonderful club? They were a basketcase until John Kanis arrived. It also looked like a great function at the Leveson on Sat nite. Really wish i was apart of it.
The last time STB beat Uni will be round 5 this year.
And finally, those two players wouldn't get a look in our seniors so u can have them.

I do agree though, Whitefriars is a shocking ground.

Red Roy
3rd May 2006, 17:19
Elsternwick Park is a disgrace. Why are the practice wickets on the half fwd flank? As for the centre.............

Every club pays upwards of $25 large in fees to the ammos - you'd reckon they would spend a dollar on the facilities there, and I don't mean the leather chairs in the committee room.

The Garvey at bundoora battles as well

Slay Master G
3rd May 2006, 17:20
Worry about your own mob fruit.

Try and win something out at East Keilor Grammar.

East Keilor Grammar...?

I thought STB was a school for western suburbs catholics who couldn't afford to go to or didn't possess the academic ability to go to PEGS, had bad hairdos and/or didn't want to travel to Toorak and StKevins.

3rd rate school, 3rd rate blokes.

On the Run
3rd May 2006, 18:33
East Keilor Grammar...?

I thought STB was a school for western suburbs catholics who couldn't afford to go to or didn't possess the academic ability to go to PEGS, had bad hairdos and/or didn't want to travel to Toorak and StKevins.

Wow, this coming from a man who thinks he's a B grade celebrity, who uses this forum to push up his own football talents and then comments on things to do with East Keilor Grammar when he did the Judas thing and went to Collegians.

BTW East Keilor Grammar = PEGS (just for future reference)

oc37
3rd May 2006, 20:30
worst
Glen eira
Aquinas
Yarra Valley
Victoria St

Best
Old carey(Dunshea)
Gordorn Barnard (old Camberwell)
Punt rd

Drizzle
3rd May 2006, 21:13

Of course you blokes would embrace Boomer he played a big part in your flag having found that tree to hide under and go missing in the middle of EP. Radar struggled to hold down a place in the ones at the best of times.

melbdocker
3rd May 2006, 21:46
what do u blokes think of eltham college ground knew club and all great ground bit big the ground around the back in the school is pretty good perfect size both good to play cricket on

big sav
4th May 2006, 00:05
what do u blokes think of eltham college ground knew club and all great ground bit big the ground around the back in the school is pretty good perfect size both good to play cricket on

I think you were trying to say that Eltham College's ground is good??? If so, I agree.
As far as bad grounds go you've got to include Old Brighton in the list. Too much sand, wind and fake tan for my liking. Good tarts though....

no31
4th May 2006, 08:10
Grounds played at:
Best,
Bulleen Cobras
Richmond Centrals (See why St Kevins wanted it)
Eltham (except for the pictch in the middle and the kangaroo :D:D:D:De everywhere)

Worst
Elsternwick (next to the main oval, should be condemned)

The Big Pineapple
4th May 2006, 09:08
Wow, this coming from a man who thinks he's a B grade celebrity, who uses this forum to push up his own football talents and then comments on things to do with East Keilor Grammar when he did the Judas thing and went to Collegians.

What is it with blokes from St Bernards and massive chips on their shoulders?

Remove the shrink wrap boys!

Supergrass
4th May 2006, 10:38
TBP

I know a few of the boys down at the Snakepit and they are all top blokes.

No sign of chips on their shoulder whatsover.

The Big Pineapple
4th May 2006, 10:45
TBP

I know a few of the boys down at the Snakepit and they are all top blokes.

No sign of chips on their shoulder whatsover.

Well froggie and On the Run must be the only bad eggs down there then.

The Slitherin' Snake
4th May 2006, 10:47
Well froggie and On the Run must be the only bad eggs down there then.
Hollywood??

bullant10
4th May 2006, 11:13
Aquinas ground is a patchy cow paddock - horrible for footy!

Slay Master G
4th May 2006, 12:51

Funnily enough I went to school there, might know a thing or 2 about it.

Find me a post where I've pushed my own ability up and re-post it for everybody's reference.

Stick to your small little world OTR

justin timberlake
4th May 2006, 14:05

Thats being very generous when you a calibre of pople represented by such characters as the ryan brothers.

Very, very ordinary people

How are you snake?

On the Run
4th May 2006, 14:29
Funnily enough I went to school there, might know a thing or 2 about it.

Find me a post where I've pushed my own ability up and re-post it for everybody's reference.

Stick to your small little world OTR

You don't play football there though.

Sorry, i should refer to the ability of the oc, thought u were the same person. Where did that thread about where you should play football this year go?

With Thanks

On the Run
4th May 2006, 14:37
Thats being very generous when you a calibre of pople represented by such characters as the ryan brothers.

Very, very ordinary people

How are you snake?

Before you start potting people, please use proper grammar.

If you're going to start putting people's names down and start bagging them, why don't you put your name on and see how we go.

We could start a new thread about ordinary blokes at OEG.

Regards

The Big Pineapple
4th May 2006, 14:52
You don't play football there though.

Sorry, i should refer to the ability of the oc, thought u were the same person. Where did that thread about where you should play football this year go?

With Thanks

He didn't even start that thread drop kick.

Get your facts straight or :D:D:D:D off.

The Big Pineapple
4th May 2006, 14:54
Before you start potting people, please use proper grammar.

If you're going to start putting people's names down and start bagging them, why don't you put your name on and see how we go.

Regards

Is this the 2nd time you have asked someone to reveal their identity???

I don't see you rushing to come clean about yourself.

You just don't understand what this forum is about.

It was started long before you logged on, so stay in the same spirit or find another forum.

On the Run
4th May 2006, 15:04
He didn't even start that thread drop kick.

Get your facts straight or :D:D:D:D off.

Please tell me when i said that he did start it.

The Big Pineapple
4th May 2006, 15:10
Please tell me when i said that he did start it.

"Originally Posted by On the Run
Wow, this coming from a man who thinks he's a B grade celebrity, who uses this forum to push up his own football talents and then comments on things to do with East Keilor Grammar when he did the Judas thing and went to Collegians."

When SMG asked when he had pushed up his football ability on BF you came back with the thread about where he should play this year clearly implying that he started it or had something to do with it.

On the Run
4th May 2006, 15:27
Is this the 2nd time you have asked someone to reveal their identity???

I don't see you rushing to come clean about yourself.

You just don't understand what this forum is about.

It was started long before you logged on, so stay in the same spirit or find another forum.

Wrong again Fruit.

I don't name people like your friend justin.

When did u become king of big footy. You mainly post about your weekends and such, so why don't you go and find another forum.

Many Thanks

On the Run
4th May 2006, 15:28
"Originally Posted by On the Run
Wow, this coming from a man who thinks he's a B grade celebrity, who uses this forum to push up his own football talents and then comments on things to do with East Keilor Grammar when he did the Judas thing and went to Collegians."

When SMG asked when he had pushed up his football ability on BF you came back with the thread about where he should play this year clearly implying that he started it or had something to do with it.

What, he didn't reply anything on the thread, rubbish.

Richard Clay Torpedoes
4th May 2006, 15:42
Mentone/ StBedes Played there in late 80s one of my boots is still buried in the mud. After we came off the ground to the nice cold showers and washed all the mud off it looked like our legs had been attacked by a bunch of starving lions.
Nice blend of gravel, glass, shells, dirt oh and a size 9.5 footy boot.

going back a way there greentree...must have been in Southern League days...ground has been redrained and resurfaced since then and considering the massive amount of footy played on each week, the surface has held up well...remember it is a council ground not a college oval...most weeks there are a games on a Wednesday, Saturday/Sunday and training every night by Monday...sure we'd love to be able to make the ground wider...length wise it is a metre or two under the suburban average (council based survey)....but it is not practical to make it wider....not many visitors rooms are painted/carpeted and a hot shower is not an issue.
As far as grounds go, gee there have been some beauties....Mazenods old ground out near VFL Park was ordinary...had two concrete pitches on it if I remember correctly...Righetti has always been a shocker when wet...Fawkner was right old scare...played them in their 2nd last VAFA appearance...bar had been open all night kid you not but boy could a bloke called Rob Lawson in the ruck play a bit...Preston MBOB was in the same boat...and you reckon Mentone is small...one year Glen Eira played a primary school sized ground...Ivanhoe much the same...Monash is a great size ansd surface but no fun if the wind is blowing there sometimes.

The Big Pineapple
4th May 2006, 15:48
Wrong again Fruit.

I don't name people like your friend justin.

When did u become king of big footy. You mainly post about your weekends and such, so why don't you go and find another forum.

Many Thanks

Exactly... you miss the whole point of this forum.

It was started in a light hearted manner, so again keep this theme going clown.

Homer101
4th May 2006, 16:35
What's the obsession with Old Trinity's ground? It's upside down saucer configuration makes for some terribly muddy wings, and it's right out in the open for the elements to hammer. Not to mention that it's in Bulleen of all suburbs.

Uni Oval for mine, great surface to go with the historic charm of the Melbourne University Colleges overlooking the ground. It's also located in inner-city Parkville, what more could you ask for?

If uni main is so great than why did you leave them this year Bendigo? I've always found it too hard anyway

justin timberlake
4th May 2006, 16:47
Exactly... you miss the whole point of this forum.

It was started in a light hearted manner, so again keep this theme going clown.

Sorry OTR, grammar wasn't too good upon reflection, not much time between these rehersals for the N*sync re-union and going to the gym to check what i post.

It still doesn't change the fact that the Ryan's are average blokes..... very average

...and yes, OTR, you are a clown

joshooaa
4th May 2006, 16:49
Eltham Colleges ground is visually one of the best ive seen. Never played on it ( apart from junior cricket) but with the new Club rooms, it has to be one of the best in the VAFA.
Old Geelongs ground is a lovely spot with a bit of character and Ivanhoe assumptions ground in the christmas lights street is quaint.

mitch_fc
4th May 2006, 17:01
the only VAFA ground ive watched a match on was Eltham Collage, and i can't imagine many grounds being better than it in any league. Its a beautiful surface.

Handsome.B.Wonderful
4th May 2006, 17:10

Good idea i'll put one up!

PS: There's a little too much squabbling going on around here, a lot of you are acting like the kids in Mighty Ducks when Adam Banks joins the team, all you guys (TBP, OTR, JT, SMG & Froggie6) need to do is get to know each other a little better and you will become great friends. Also you could possibly win the junior state ice hockey championship under a great coach by the name of Gordon Bombay

By the way Mighty Ducks - Rent it from your local video library
--He's never coached. They've never won. Together they'll learn everything about winning!

justin timberlake
4th May 2006, 17:15
Good idea i'll put one up!

PS: There's a little too much squabbling going on around here, a lot of you are acting like the kids in Mighty Ducks when Adam Banks joins the team, all you guys (TBP, OTR, JT, SMG & Froggie6) need to do is get to know each other a little better and you will become great friends. Also you could possibly win the junior state ice hockey championship under a great coach by the name of Gordon Bombay

By the way Mighty Ducks - Rent it from your local video library
--He's never coached. They've never won. Together they'll learn everything about winning!

HBW, motel missed you on friday night, management were complaining jagger and hot dog sales have fallen by up to 50% since the VAFA season has started.

OEG Ordinary Blokes:

Dave 'Chop' Bryant

Or we could rename this thread the best and worst blokes in the VAFA

Worst Blokes:

OTR and the Ryan's

Best Blokes:

Anybody else really

greentree
4th May 2006, 17:23
going back a way there greentree...must have been in Southern League days...ground has been redrained and resurfaced since then and considering the massive amount of footy played on each week, the surface has held up well...remember it is a council ground not a college oval...most weeks there are a games on a Wednesday, Saturday/Sunday and training every night by Monday...sure we'd love to be able to make the ground wider...length wise it is a metre or two under the suburban average (council based survey)....but it is not practical to make it wider....not many visitors rooms are painted/carpeted and a hot shower is not an issue.
As far as grounds go, gee there have been some beauties....Mazenods old ground out near VFL Park was ordinary...had two concrete pitches on it if I remember correctly...Righetti has always been a shocker when wet...Fawkner was right old scare...played them in their 2nd last VAFA appearance...bar had been open all night kid you not but boy could a bloke called Rob Lawson in the ruck play a bit...Preston MBOB was in the same boat...and you reckon Mentone is small...one year Glen Eira played a primary school sized ground...Ivanhoe much the same...Monash is a great size ansd surface but no fun if the wind is blowing there sometimes.
Spot on :D:D:D:D, thinking back 87, 88 were the years I played on it, Went and watch every mentone- parkdale game I could in years after, cant wait for the next, the first in many years.

Ninja
4th May 2006, 18:30
Worst: Aquinas by the length of the straight, boghole when wet, lumpy dangerous small junior ground when dry, no pockets, don't kick to the right of the goals when heading towards the road, ball rolls downhill and out of bounds every time. How the ammos let them play senior football there is beyond belief.

Best: hard to go past Gillon, great surface, huge change rooms

eddiesmith
5th May 2006, 13:02
Having been to the majority of grounds in the VAFA I would have to say taking into acccount the ground and the facilities

Best:
Victoria Park- Hands down the best ground I have been to, massive rooms, superb surface, couldnt ask for more
Whitefriars- Superb ground, kept in great knick, most people just hate it because its so far away, not for me :p
Central Reserve- Great ground, I reckon the Vics should move their Junktion games out there, great facilities as well, no wonder its a regular finals venue

Worst:
Yarra Valley- Feel sorry for em, I used to play juniors on the ground and it has always been a shocker despite the council allegedley spending lots of money on it
Aquinas- School ovals, especially public schools, are always going to be terrible

Cramer St is probably a great ground too but I cant judge it fairly because of the conditions I have been there in :p

The Big Pineapple
5th May 2006, 13:18
Having been to the majority of grounds in the VAFA I would have to say taking into acccount the ground and the facilities

Best:
Victoria Park- Hands down the best ground I have been to, massive rooms, superb surface, couldnt ask for more
Whitefriars- Superb ground, kept in great knick, most people just hate it because its so far away, not for me :p
Central Reserve- Great ground, I reckon the Vics should move their Junktion games out there, great facilities as well, no wonder its a regular finals venue

Worst:
Yarra Valley- Feel sorry for em, I used to play juniors on the ground and it has always been a shocker despite the council allegedley spending lots of money on it
Aquinas- School ovals, especially public schools, are always going to be terrible

Cramer St is probably a great ground too but I cant judge it fairly because of the conditions I have been there in :p

Whitefriars is a sand pit... shocking ground.

eddiesmith
5th May 2006, 15:36
Whitefriars is a sand pit... shocking ground.
Obviously been a few years since you went there as it has only been a sandpit once in the last 8 years

The Big Pineapple
5th May 2006, 15:52
Obviously been a few years since you went there as it has only been a sandpit once in the last 8 years

I was there in the 2nd half of last year Eddie.

We asked them to move the game to St Kilda beach instead.

The surface there is better!

eddiesmith
5th May 2006, 15:53
I was there in the 2nd half of last year Eddie.

We asked them to move the game to St Kilda beach instead.

The surface there is better!
Ha ha ha

You sound like a bit of whinger, get thumped did you?

I've been there reguarly for 8 years and only once had a problem with the oval that was a few years back before the turf pitches went in

The Big Pineapple
5th May 2006, 15:59
Ha ha ha

You sound like a bit of whinger, get thumped did you?

I've been there reguarly for 8 years and only once had a problem with the oval that was a few years back before the turf pitches went in

You could only comment on the 8 metres of turf between the big sticks. I actually played the game and I tell you it was unsafe. As for the belting, the 10 goal to none 3rd qtr sort of made sure we went home with the spoils that day.

I'm only thinking of player safety.

eddiesmith
5th May 2006, 16:08
You could only comment on the 8 metres of turf between the big sticks. I actually played the game and I tell you it was unsafe. As for the belting, the 10 goal to none 3rd qtr sort of made sure we went home with the spoils that day.

I played on the ground for 6 years and have spent plenty of time on it the last 2 and I never once found it unsafe

johnfromtheVAFA
5th May 2006, 16:22
have to agree with you eddie. played there last year and i reckon whitefriaers is a sensational ground, it was in great nick and loved playing on it. Banyule Viewbank not sure of the name of the ground but think its a shocker.

Son of a Gun
5th May 2006, 17:47

TBP, you must have been too excited by the thought of beating the Friars for the first time ever to notice the immaculate condition the oval is in these days. Was traditionally a bog and had one season where the surface was sandy (start of watering restrictions) but has been in great nick for the past 3 years.

The game you refer to must have been OEG's first win over the friars - though I'm sure the quarter you refer to doesn't quite make up for the hidings you copped in 2003. Can you recall whether it was 10 or 11 goals in the 3rd quarter of that 2nd semi (on top of the 12 and 7 goal hidings during the season)?? OEG - Greatest bunch of chokers, pretenders and ordinary blokes going around in B Grade.

I see in the record your 19s haven't improved their on field performance - put simply a disgrace and embarrassment.

eddiesmith
5th May 2006, 18:09
TBP, you must have been too excited by the thought of beating the Friars for the first time ever to notice the immaculate condition the oval is in these days. Was traditionally a bog and had one season where the surface was sandy (start of watering restrictions) but has been in great nick for the past 3 years.

The game you refer to must have been OEG's first win over the friars - though I'm sure the quarter you refer to doesn't quite make up for the hidings you copped in 2003. Can you recall whether it was 10 or 11 goals in the 3rd quarter of that 2nd semi (on top of the 12 and 7 goal hidings during the season)?? OEG - Greatest bunch of chokers, pretenders and ordinary blokes going around in B Grade.

I see in the record your 19s haven't improved their on field performance - put simply a disgrace and embarrassment.
I am sure its not un common for many players to hate Friar Park after many thumpings handed out over the years there

Nothing beats Carrigs 9 goals on the eve of the 2002 C grade finals

Coin_Toss
5th May 2006, 18:14
Stop bagging Brindisi! :mad:

I play for the club.

Is that so
5th May 2006, 18:21

I play for the club.

And you admit it, shh if you remove your comment no one need ever know, club no comment ground - Joke!:p

eddiesmith
5th May 2006, 18:24

I play for the club.
I dont see whats so wrong with the ground? :confused:

Atleast it doesnt have a tree hanging over the ground :p

The Big Pineapple
5th May 2006, 18:25

SOG,

That's all very well but the reality is that all teams have copped their fair share of thumpings over time, just as they have given out thumpings over time. So yes, we did choke, yes we might be pretenders but we are doing a much better job at pretending than the other 50 clubs below us in the ammos. We are currently in the top 20 and have been so close to the top 10. We are still a young club and still learning what it takes to be in B grade let alone A. So yeah, we were excited about our great away win last and yeah our 19's are going though a tough time at the minute. But that's football buddy so we cop it on the chin!

So you keep up that negative attitude buddy and have a great weekend.

Cheers

TBP

linger_isgod
6th May 2006, 17:42
T.H. King Oval, Glen Iris.

eddiesmith
6th May 2006, 17:56
Must say Friar Park was in top knick today :thumbsu:

As for worst, forgot about Old Camberwells ground, although usually quite good it was almost not used last week due to safety concerns by the visiting side

Sir Jack
6th May 2006, 18:04
T.H. King Oval, Glen Iris.

By an absolute mile. Worst ground I have ever seen. If Xav's U/19's or Clubbies play one more game there it is an absolute disgrace. That ground isn't worthy of Swamp Diving let alone football.

St.Kev's Cowboy
7th May 2006, 15:49
Played on Camberwells back up ground once, needed scuba diving gear it was that much under water. Banyules wasn't too flash when we played there once upon a time and Whitefriars was ok, apart from needing oxygen tanks to get up there perched on top of a mountain.

Simpson. Homer
7th May 2006, 21:11
Elsternwick is a dead set shocker if the two ice skating rings (cricket pitches) dont cause trouble then the wind blows you over...

Dont mind Old Ess ground not a bad surface

Supa Frank
8th May 2006, 10:41
Elsternwick is a dead set shocker if the two ice skating rings (cricket pitches) dont cause trouble then the wind blows you over...

Dont mind Old Ess ground not a bad surface

Junction is the best by a mile, followed by Uni and then NOBS.

Son of a Gun
8th May 2006, 14:25
SOG,

That's all very well but the reality is that all teams have copped their fair share of thumpings over time, just as they have given out thumpings over time. So yes, we did choke, yes we might be pretenders but we are doing a much better job at pretending than the other 50 clubs below us in the ammos. We are currently in the top 20 and have been so close to the top 10. We are still a young club and still learning what it takes to be in B grade let alone A. So yeah, we were excited about our great away win last and yeah our 19's are going though a tough time at the minute. But that's football buddy so we cop it on the chin!

So you keep up that negative attitude buddy and have a great weekend.

Cheers

TBP

Always positive TBP, just perplexed re your comment on Whitefriars oval considering you've played there recently. Expect the shocking ground comments from clubs who only played there pre-02 when it is fair to say the ground was average. Didn't have a great weekend but, then again, there is always this week.:rolleyes:

The Big Pineapple
8th May 2006, 14:31
Always positive TBP, just perplexed re your comment on Whitefriars oval considering you've played there recently. Expect the shocking ground comments from clubs who only played there pre-02 when it is fair to say the ground was average. Didn't have a great weekend but, then again, there is always this week.:rolleyes:

Maybe I was a bit critical of Friar Park, but was a bit confused why it was getting rave reviews given it's sandy surface. Overall the ground wasn't too bad and it was my first trip up the Eastern Freeway out the Friar Park so can't compare to the pre-2002 days.

Slay Master G
8th May 2006, 15:00
Maybe I was a bit critical of Friar Park, but was a bit confused why it was getting rave reviews given it's sandy surface. Overall the ground wasn't too bad and it was my first trip up the Eastern Freeway out the Friar Park so can't compare to the pre-2002 days.

Played there on '03 coming back from O-P injury, the sand pit wasn't good for the tender loins i must say

freddiefenster
8th May 2006, 18:11
Friar Park ain't that bad.
The Keilor Hill away change rooms are nothing short of a disgrace and the VAFA must force the grammar to act. Sub-standard facilities from a sub-standard club.

The Big Pineapple
9th May 2006, 08:22
Friar Park ain't that bad.
The Keilor Hill away change rooms are nothing short of a disgrace and the VAFA must force the grammar to act. Sub-standard facilities from a sub-standard club.

Won't disagree with you there Freddie!!!

Informer
16th May 2006, 11:55
I agree with you Pineapple that Whitefriars ground is a disgrace or it was a few years back.

St Bedes Mentone is another that a disgrace mainly due to its size. I nearly kicked a goal from the backpocket last time I was there.

St Johns Dandenong is another that is a bog. Along with some terrible blokes down there it makes for a very tough afternoon. If you come away with just a broken nose you count yourself very lucky!

Best ground would have to be Sandy. Always in top nick just as long as it doesnt blow a gale!

VAFA19s
16th May 2006, 12:19
One of the Best: Vic Park surely had to be up there before the council went all sissy on everyone; huge ground, pretty good rooms with great showers, canteen (essential, but not always present), and grass like each individual shoot has been taken care of by a seperate care-taker.

One of... actually, just THE worst: For those of you who play club 18 or 19's, T.H.King is by far the worst oval in the history of man-kind's preparation of large expanses of grass for recreational purpose... disgrace doesn't do it justice; the lack of grass and abundance o' mud makes the centre of toorak park and St John's Dandenong look like bowling greens, even if they had been located in a monsoon stricken cambodia for half a year and had hurds of buffalo migrate through them.