View Full Version : C - D REP SIDE. Who from your club should be in the squad?

uglydermie
4th May 2006, 09:45
Let me know who you think should be given the chance to play for the big V from your team. BT blokes who should be given a chance are:
Chivas, Wise, Stalla and Frost. Intersted to know your thoughts?

oc37
4th May 2006, 12:06
Old CArey
Parton
S Collins
T Collins
Basell
Trumble
Mullins
Day
(not that i think these shoudl all make it.. just that a couple of these should make the squad)

The Big Pineapple
4th May 2006, 12:27
Old CArey
Parton
S Collins
T Collins
Basell
Trumble
Mullins
Day
(not that i think these shoudl all make it.. just that a couple of these should make the squad)

What about Scott MacFlaherty??? How's he going down at the OC???

hansie
4th May 2006, 13:28
What about Scott MacFlaherty??? How's he going down at the OC???

Never heard of him, can't help you out there.

As for who should be in - think that oc37 is on the money with his selections. Definitely Dolly, Collins Bros and LB should all get a long look, Jogga White if he's interested, Trumble and maybe Dale 'Puffy' James

Scribe
4th May 2006, 13:39

As for who should be in - think that oc37 is on the money with his selections. Definitely Dolly, Collins Bros and LB should all get a long look, Jogga White if he's interested, Trumble and maybe Dale 'Puffy' James

With respect, it's a side which must have 4 players from A/B grade, leaving 18 spots for the remainder. Old Carey are a D1 side, so there's no less than 10 teams in C section who will provide the bulk of the players before Carey do. I think Al Parton and Steven Collins would be the only likely ones, though someone else may make the training squad.

oc37
4th May 2006, 14:26
never claimed they should al make the side.. in fact stated that....they are however worthwhile looking at for the squad

note trumble kent evans parton halliday bull were in squad last year.,. 6 players that is.
And Big pineapple... all i can say is the name fits..

The Big Pineapple
4th May 2006, 14:59
And Big pineapple... all i can say is the name fits..
How so???

Moss Rocket
4th May 2006, 15:28
IMO Dolly, S.Collins and Kent are the 3 best players at Old Carey. Collo for what he has achieved at Old Scotch and Dolly and Kent could both easily be playing A-Grade football. If you were doing a combined C-D team, there would be a heap of players from C-Grade who would make it very difficult for a team like Old carey (D Section) to have more than 3 in the squad.

hansie
4th May 2006, 15:51
Sounds fair Moss - being new to the Ammo's not too sure how it all goes. Monash's captain (Smyth) is a gun and should be in the squad IMHO

uglydermie
4th May 2006, 16:26
Another Carey fella who could hold down a spot IMO is Bull (45). He is a bit raw but on his day he goes ok. No doubts about Parton and Kent - both played in the past. Re the arguement that the team will be filled with C graders before D graders; I reckon that is a load of rubbish. IMO there is no better individual players in C grade compared to D grade, just perhaps a bit more depth at the top end. No doubt that a combined A grade side would kick the living daylights out of a combined B grade team but put C grade against D grade and the result would be very interesting. Also agree about Monash Skipper is Spider (although he has Captained the C-D team the last 2 times) so I figure if he wants to play he will.

Moss Rocket
4th May 2006, 16:43
Well played Uglydermie, Bull can certainly play. Big unit. I think he is playing only every second game for the first half of the year (then he will play all games) as he has army training for the first 3 months or so and is away every second weekend?
Probably right on the C vs D thing. I must admit i only know a handful of players in C. Just assumed they might be better. Good to here you think D is right up there. I have only ever followed Old Carey, so it has been the scummy Richmonds, Brunswicks, Kews etc that i have watched over the last decade and a bit! Great to not have to play Kew ever again!

Alphonse
4th May 2006, 21:03
From NOBSPC, Glen Maxton should be in, was best winger in B section have not seen any games this year but must be included. Chris Hosking would have to be considered now that they have returned him to full back where he made his name playing on (and beating) the likes of Jono Dixon, James Heritage, Porteous, Flaherty and other big B section names.

Slay Master G
5th May 2006, 09:37
From NOBSPC, Glen Maxton should be in, was best winger in B section have not seen any games this year but must be included. Chris Hosking would have to be considered now that they have returned him to full back where he made his name playing on (and beating) the likes of Jono Dixon, James Heritage, Porteous, Flaherty and other big B section names.

Agree, Maxy and Hosking are quality players and blokes. Both deserve the Big V. Hosking would also like a navy fleece to go with his purple one.

Midas
5th May 2006, 10:00
Gee while we're at it why not put the younger Bull in as well. What about the Angus who kicked 8 in the twos and Wood who's on the comeback trail. Please. The only players who would have any chance of making that rep side from Carey would be Parton (definite), Collins (maybe) and Kent. That lump of a ruckman Bassell - best ruckman in six grades - laughable. Come on, the Collins with the monkey's bum - we're talking a rep side of the best players from six grades. Perhaps we should have named this thread who from Old Carey should play in the rep side that will be the first one to be flogged by the Southern Footy League.

Hello by the way - First time poster, long time reader

I Love Sandra Sully
5th May 2006, 11:41
If Dave Collins (captain of Rupertswood) doesn't get a birth in the rep side the whole things a farce....he would be in the top 5 best half backman in the whole of the Ammos (all grades!!)...has proven himself at in the higher grades A & B.... natural leader with unbeleivable courage and great mitts.
Also Daniel 'Buzz' Burrowes would tear that rep side a new a55hole.... smartest footballer getting round.... also played A grade... ok he has red hair... but selectors need to look past that.

Moss Rocket
5th May 2006, 13:29
Gee while we're at it why not put the younger Bull in as well. What about the Angus who kicked 8 in the twos and Wood who's on the comeback trail. Please. The only players who would have any chance of making that rep side from Carey would be Parton (definite), Collins (maybe) and Kent. That lump of a ruckman Bassell - best ruckman in six grades - laughable. Come on, the Collins with the monkey's bum - we're talking a rep side of the best players from six grades. Perhaps we should have named this thread who from Old Carey should play in the rep side that will be the first one to be flogged by the Southern Footy League.

Hello by the way - First time poster, long time reader

Settle down Midas,

As you can see from my attached thread below. You have basically agreed with it!! There are obviosly a few boys who follow Old Carey who are into Bigfooty, so they are obviously going to pump up the guys they know. BTW, this is a C and D only rep side. Far from over the top to suggest 3 guys from OC in a squad! God bless you!

IMO Dolly, S.Collins and Kent are the 3 best players at Old Carey. Collo for what he has achieved at Old Scotch and Dolly and Kent could both easily be playing A-Grade football. If you were doing a combined C-D team, there would be a heap of players from C-Grade who would make it very difficult for a team like Old carey (D Section) to have more than 3 in the squad.

Scott MacFlaherty
5th May 2006, 14:06

Obviously not my real name. But great to be mentioned in these lists as a possible rep player.

Midas
5th May 2006, 14:17
Just amuses me that so many players with limited ability can be thrown up as players suitable for the rep side - particularly when people who discuss the standard of footy at this level suggest it is quite reasonable given the quality of the best two or three players in each side but it tends to even out after that.
Compare Bull with Loats, your ruckman with Radywonik or Ronchi or even Ballard from Leos, James with Cianci, monkey bum Collins with Collins from Rupo on half back or Lewski & Miller with Collins the onballer, that lump of a CHB with Davis or Dullard. Seriously, needs a little more thought.
And was obviously agreeing with you Moss Rocket, more arguing against the volume of players mentioned including Bull for goodness sake.
Ok to have a forum, and surely I can disagree when 10 players from OC are mentioned in the one thread when my humble opinion tells me only one maybe two would be certs to play. And perhaps I'm mistaken but I always thought the rep side was all the way down to D4, this may have changed however.
Peace Out

knackers_2
5th May 2006, 15:43
And perhaps I'm mistaken but I always thought the rep side was all the way down to D4, this may have changed however.
Peace Out

I think it is a bit that way, Midas. They've often picked a few roughies from the lower end to balance it out in previous years.

Puff Dale James from the OC got a mention earlier on - subtle (but quality) humour that he got a look in.

Midas
12th May 2006, 13:10
See the A - D4 squad has been announced and much to my surprise and the chagrin of many OC supporters, only three OC players, one of which was not even mentioned (Howgate) despite naming the entire list it would seem, have been named in the squad.

And lo and behold Parton and Collins have made it. I must just be an attentive and unparochial observer with the likes of Davis, Miller, Collins etc making the squad in preference to the "Cavalcade of Superstars" originating from Carey No 2 Oval!!!!

Spoke to some SFL officials who are now rapt given that they felt they had no chance against a side full of rampaging footballers the ilk of James, Trumbull, Bull, Collins 2 etc. Best Xmas present they've ever had and they now believe they may have some chance of winning the game for the first time.

Gags aside, and they are just that (a little gloating allowed I hope OC fans), the squad looks good and let's hope they get up eh!

oc37
12th May 2006, 13:18
mate, most of the thread has been suggestions...not asking certainties. i think if you asked the supporter of any club goign half decently they could name a half dozen players they thought could make the side.. good to see you beign so constructive..
Note Radywonik made the side despite having his colors lowered comprehesively two weeks ago by who you referred to as a big lump... hope you saw it/

Midas
12th May 2006, 13:29
Believe I was being constructive when not only did I dispute your selections but also provided alternatives. I'm always a great believer that you don't complain or argue unless you have a solution or sound reasoning behind a decision.
No need to be so touchy buddy, and as far as the ruckman is concerned, didn't see it but from all accounts Radywonik had a limited pre-season and should be approaching his best soon, Ronchi has been in a similar boat and from what I saw of the bloke you are referring to earlier in the season, a solid player but don't think he looks a game breaker. Can jump but doesn't appear to have the greatest footy brain in the world and IMHO would not get anywhere near the best ruckmen going around in the bottom 6 grades of football.

oc37
12th May 2006, 13:32
Fair enough.... Not being .. that touchy.. maybe a bit defensive...but that is a natural for a supporter of any club..
Interested to knwo who you follow in D1.. or who you are connected to if any.

oc37
12th May 2006, 13:35
curious no-one from Therry was nominated( presume this as they would appear to good to have not been picked) Would have thought Bannister*2, Harmes, Forster-Knight, mayeb one or two others would have been there with or without nominations form their own club

Midas
12th May 2006, 13:39
No one in particular, just like to get around quietly and observe a few of the sides. Have a soft spot for OM's if anyone, but not particularly parochial and don't really know too many people down there, just a couple of older past players. Just enjoy D1 footy and gets me out of the house on a weekend!!!! And you keep defending the Cavalcade of Superstars.
Don't forget they started in a blaze of glory last year too!!!! ;)

Moss Rocket
12th May 2006, 17:39
You can gloat all you like Midas when you have a win. I think you need to go back and read the thread a little more closely. You are the only one i can see pumping up this 10 pack of Carey stars. I can see one guy who has mentioned a few Carey players, as he probably doesn't know many from other teams. Other than that i read a consensus that Parton, Collins and Kent are 3 who could definately make the squad. 2 did, Kent is not fit enought to even run out a full game for Old Carey yet, and another young kid made the squad.
I can't see any Old Carey pump ups. Perhaps a few of these comments have been deleted from the thread?? Not sure??