View Full Version : Area 7, do you like there music?
hawkfan5
26 Dec 2001, 13:24
Just got the Area 7 'Individuality' single and had a bit of a listen to it, I quite liked all of the 4 songs on the single.... but most of it sounded much the same really, a bit repetitive.
What do you think of their music? And do you have a suggestion of a song I can download which may be a favourite of yours?
Cheers
Macca19
26 Dec 2001, 13:33
Originally posted by hawkfan5
Just got the Area 7 'Individuality' single and had a bit of a listen to it, I quite liked all of the 4 songs on the single.... but most of it sounded much the same really, a bit repetitive.
What do you think of their music? And do you have a suggestion of a song I can download which may be a favourite of yours?
Cheers
All the songs ive heard from them sound remarkably similar to each other. No real diversity at all. But im not a huge fan of ska music.
Ruddeger
26 Dec 2001, 13:48
Originally posted by Macca19
All the songs ive heard from them sound remarkably similar to each other. No real diversity at all.
It's not an uncommon thing to say that after listening for the first time. I am a huge ska fan, and yeah it takes a few listens before you can identify each song for what it is, and how it is different it is to the others. As they say, ut won't heppen overnight, but ut wull heppen.
Not particularly. It all sounds the same to me, too.
Shinboners
26 Dec 2001, 15:46
Forget Area 7 and go and buy "The Specials" by The Specials.
brampta
26 Dec 2001, 16:48
Yeah sure, I like Area 7 (and I'm not ashamed to admit it!)
They were very underrated and unknown for a long time, they sorta started getting big at the same time as the Living End - doing gigs together and stuff.
So yeah I've been a fan for about 3 years now I guess, I only have the Bitter and Twisted EP. Fave songs off there include: Bitter Words, Start Making Sense, Let Me Down and Second Class Citizen.
If you like Area 7 you'll probably like Reel Big Fish! They did a good cover of Aha's Take on Me and I forget the name of the other song of theirs that I really liked...ahhh oh well.
GOALden Hawk
26 Dec 2001, 17:37
Well as a massive ska fan and a big Area 7 fan I have to say I'm a big wrap for them. I agree a lot of the current album sounds similar, but they are definitely a band that are much better live than on CD - I would say they are one of Australia's best live acts.
They've been together for a long time and have put in the hard yards, so they deserve all the recognition they get. A mate from school actually filled in for them on recent tours and will be playing with them at Falls - so I've met them a few times and they are all very good blokes.
But there are plenty of other great ska bands in Australia who don't get the recognition they deserve, in particular Commissioner Gordan, Addiction 64, OiSka, Wiseacre, The Porkers and the Mad Dash. If you like ska and live in Melbourne I suggest you go to the Arthouse on Jan 3, as it's OiSka's last ever gig, and they are a very cool ska band.
Good call on the Specials shinners, very good band.
Shinboners
26 Dec 2001, 20:42
Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
Well as a massive ska fan and a big Area 7 fan I have to say I'm a big wrap for them. I agree a lot of the current album sounds similar, but they are definitely a band that are much better live than on CD - I would say they are one of Australia's best live acts.
Good call on the Specials shinners, very good band.
Cheers G.H.....that Specials album is truly....er......special ;)
Anyway, G.H.'s comment on live performances for ska bands is important. Pretty much everyone that I know that is a huge ska fan got into the music through live performances, not just by listening to CDs. IT's not like many other forms of music where you can easily get into it just by buying a few records. For some reason, ska bands have trouble getting the energy and feel of a gig onto a recorded medium.
The Hitman
26 Dec 2001, 20:49
Like 'em, don't love 'em though. Nobody Likes A Bogan is a classic! :D
Originally posted by Ruddeger
As they say, ut won't heppen overnight, but ut wull heppen.
Especially if you're Duck Smuth! :D ;) :eek:
The Hitman
Dr AlfAndrews
27 Dec 2001, 01:32
I bought an Area 7 mini-album a couple of years back called "No Logic". The title track is a classic, but I found the rest of it a bit ordinary. Not bad ... but not particularly outstanding. I've never seen them live.
I saw the Porkers live once, supporting Rancid. They were sensational. Very fat sound from a very fat band. And I've got their album, "Hot Dog Daiquiri". It's brilliant. In fact I played "Chemical Imbalance" on my show tonight. Love it.
Santos L Helper
27 Dec 2001, 17:17
My old band once headlined a show with Area 7 (jeez I'm self important) and I really looked forward to seing them live, but was then really disappointed. I just found them to be really bland with no special qualities...........no wonder JJJ loves them;)
I agree with Dr Alf on The Porkers. They are a much better example of this genre.
I also agree with Shinners and GH on 'The Specials' and I would also include the first 'Madness' album as a good listen too.
GOALden Hawk
27 Dec 2001, 20:53
Yeah, I've got Madness' greatest hits...a bit hit and miss, but some good tunes.
But the production values on that No Logic EP were pretty ordinary...it certainly didn't do the songs justice, and as Shinners said, most ska recordings don't seem to be able to recreate the energy of the live shows for some reason. But I think every ska band I got into I saw live first before getting the album except for the Specials and RBF.
And good call on the Porkers - it sucks how they never seemed to get the recognition they deserved. I saw them play a gig at the Corner last year and it was one of the best I have seen.
The_Flying_Egg
28 Dec 2001, 10:39
I reckon they're pretty ordinary
vanders
29 Dec 2001, 13:20
Im not a big fan of Ska Music, but i must say i do like Area 7, especially Second Class Citizen.
Mobbenfuhrer
31 Dec 2001, 09:18
My wife did sound and continuity on their 'Bitter Words' videoclip, and also appeared in the clip, so I'm self importanter :D
port_gal
4 Jan 2002, 11:29
as an old school area 7 fan i'd say listen to their older stuff. they have totally sold out and their new album is a re hash of bitter and twisted. definately go to their live gigs though.
Originally posted by port_gal
as an old school area 7 fan i'd say listen to their older stuff. they have totally sold out and their new album is a re hash of bitter and twisted. definately go to their live gigs though.
hey, a new Port supporter (so it seems)....Welcome to BigFooty!!
Area 7???? :confused: LOL yeah like I'd know. :D
Mobbenfuhrer
4 Jan 2002, 18:57
Originally posted by lioness22
Area 7???? :confused: LOL yeah like I'd know. :D
c'mon its easy.
just remember its 'the one with the video clip that mobbenfuhrer's missus worked on'!
Santos L Helper
4 Jan 2002, 20:03
Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
c'mon its easy.
just remember its 'the one with the video clip that mobbenfuhrer's missus worked on'!
Or Santos's band headlined over.;)
Mobbenfuhrer
4 Jan 2002, 20:13
Originally posted by Santos L Helper
Or Santos's band headlined over.;)
Your reason fly over-head, drop bomb. I like my reason. :D
Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
c'mon its easy.
Will I be tested on this???? :confused: ;)
Mobbenfuhrer
4 Jan 2002, 21:27
Hehe ... perhaps.
Fat Pizza
6 Jan 2002, 10:41
I'm a fairly big ska fan.
Area 7 are fun, but they're not the best example of the genre. I like Individuality - the song & the message. Their Bogan song is good too.
The Specials were the best ska band & some of the early Madness songs are great (eg: Night Boat to Cairo & One Step Beyond).
The Louisville Sluggers do an interesting cover of the Specials' song Gangster. It is worth a listen.
I also like the Porkers (esp. Designated Drinker, Catboard & Can't Get Laid in the USA).
I saw the Porkers last year at the Corner, with Bad Manners & the Seen. All 3 bands played together for the encore. Apparently they had to reinforce the stage first. They are big bands & some of the band members are huge (esp in Bad Manners).