View Full Version : Hitter's Hot Hundred

The Hitman
28 Dec 2001, 14:38
Well, it has taken a long time, with endless changes, and finally I made a list of my favorite 100 songs of all time. Remember, it's not the best 100 songs, but my personal favorites.

A wide range of genres, from pop rock to metal, with some satire in between. There is also a large time frame, from the early 60's till 2001, and every decade in between being represented.

Enjoy, and critisize or comment to your hearts content...

100. Frontier Psychiatrist - The Avalanches (Since I Left You)

99. Sway - Coal Chamber (Coal Chamber)

98. Into My Arms - Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds (The Boatman's Call)

97. Penguins and Polarbears - Millencolin (Pennybridge Pioneers)

96. Trouble - Coldplay (Parachutes)

95. Pepper - Butthole Surfers (Electriclarryland)

94. You’re Gorgeous - Babybird (Ugly Beautiful)

93. Scooby Snacks - Fun Lovin' Criminals (Come Find Yourself)

92. Cigarettes Will Kill You - Ben Lee (Breathing Tornadoes)

91. Paranoid - Black Sabbath (Paranoid)

90. A Day In The Life - The Beatles (Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band)

89. Asshole - Denis Leary (No Cure For Cancer)

88. Morning Glory - Oasis (What's The Story Morning Glory?)

87. Surfacing - Slipknot (Slipknot)

86. Betterman - John Butler Trio (Three)

85. Where The Streets Have No Name - U2 (The Joshua Tree)

84. Heavy Heart - You Am I (#4 Record)

83. Jesus Christ Pose - Soundgarden (Badmotorfinger)

82. 1979 - Smashing Pumpkins (Mellon Collie and the Infinate Sadness)

81. Jumpdaf*ckup - Soulfly (Primitive)

80. Jeremy - Pearl Jam (Ten)

79. Whatever Makes You Happy - Powderfinger (Odyssey #5)

78. Around The World - Red Hot Chili Peppers (Californication)

77. This Is A Call - Foo Fighters (Foo Fighters)

76. Interstate Love Song - Stone Temple Pilots (Purple)

75. Something - The Beatles (Abbey Road)

74. Miss Free Love '69 - Hoodoo Gurus (Kinky)

73. Bohemian Like You - Dandy Warhols (13 Tales From Urban Bohemia)

72. Harpoon - Jebediah (Slightly Odway)

71. Give It Away - Red Hot Chili Peppers (Blood Sex Sugar Magik)

70. Song 2 - Blur (Blur)

69. Immortality - Pearl Jam (Vitalogy)

68. Bulls On Parade - Rage Against The Machine (Evil Empire)

67. Glycerine - Bush (Sixteen Stone)

66. One - Metallica (And Justice For All)

65. Blind - Korn (Korn)

64. 3 Libras - A Perfect Circle (Mer De Noms)

63. This Mess We’re In - PJ Harvey and Thom Yorke (Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea)

62. Insomnia - Faithless (Reverance)

61. Mr Jones - Counting Crows (August & Everything After)

60. Ratamahatta - Sepultura (Roots)

59. Place Your Hands - Reef (Glow)

58. Kashmir - Led Zeppelin (Physical Graffiti)

57. Get Off - Dandy Warhols (13 Tales From Urban Bohemia)

56. Betterman - Pearl Jam (Vitalogy)

55. Girls Like That - Custard (Loverama)

54. Black Friday - Grinspoon (Pushing Buttons)

53. Vasoline - Stone Temple Pilots (Purple)

52. No Aphrodesiac - The Whitlams (Eternal Nightcap)

51. Ana’s Song - Silverchair (Neon Ballroom)

50. Nothingman - Pearl Jam (Vitalogy)

49. Porcelain - Moby (Play)

48. Fight For Your Right - Beastie Boys (License To Ill)

47. Basket Case - Green Day (Dookie)

46. Holy Grail - Hunters and Collectors (Living In Large Rooms & Lounges)

45. Lucky Star - Alex Lloyd (Black The Sun)

44. Everybody Here Wants You - Jeff Buckley (Sketches For My Sweetheart The Drunk)

43. Karma Police - Radiohead (OK Computer)

42. My Friends - Red Hot Chili Peppers (One Hot Minute)

41. Losing My Religion - R.E.M. (Out Of Time)

40. Never Tear Us Apart – INXS (Kick)

39. Do The Evolution - Pearl Jam (Yield)

38. Bohemian Rhapsody – Queen (A Night At The Opera)

37. Jerk Off - Tool (Opiate)

36. Everybody Hurts - R.E.M. (Automatic For The People)

35. Tomorrow - Silverchair (Frogstomp)

34. Pick You Up - Powderfinger (Double Allergic)

33. Bittersweet Symphony - The Verve (Urban Hymns)

32. Back In Black - AC/DC (Back In Black)

31. Brick - Ben Folds Five (Whatever & Ever Amen)

30. Self Esteem - The Offspring (Smash)

29. My Iron Lung - Radiohead (The Bends)

28. With Or Without You - U2 (The Joshua Tree)

27. Imagine - John Lennon (Imagine)

26. Elderly Woman Behind A Counter In A Small Town - Pearl Jam (Vs.)

25. Leaps and Bounds - Paul Kelly (Gossip)

24. Heart-Shaped Box - Nirvana (In Utero)

23. Yesterday - The Beatles (Help!)

22. Khe Sanh - Cold Chisel (Cold Chisel)

21. Black Hole Sun - Soundgarden (Superunknown)

20. Wonderwall - Oasis (What's The Story Morning Glory?)

19. Sunday Bloody Sunday - U2 (War)

18. Monkeywrench - Foo Fighters (The Colour & The Shape)

17. Lightning Crashes - Live (Throwing Copper)

16. Stairway To Heaven - Led Zeppelin (Led Zeppelin IV)

15. Smells Like Teen Spirit - Nirvana (Nevermind)

14. Bullet With Butterfly Wings - Smashing Pumpkins (Mellon Collie & The Infinate Sadness)

13. Loser - Beck (Mellow Gold)

12. Killing In The Name - Rage Against The Machine (Rage Against The Machine)

11. Throw Your Arms Around Me - Hunters and Collectors (Under One Roof)

10. Don’t Dream It’s Over - Crowded House (Crowded House)

9. One - U2 (Achtung, Baby)

8. Jailbreak - AC/DC (Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap)

7. Under The Bridge - Red Hot Chili Peppers (Blood Sex Sugar Magik)

6. Let It Be - The Beatles (Let It Be)

5. Lithium - Nirvana (Nevermind)

4. Last Goodbye - Jeff Buckley (Grace)

3. Wish You Were Here - Pink Floyd (Wish You Were Here)

2. Black - Pearl Jam (Ten)

1. Creep - Radiohead (Pablo Honey)

The Hitman

Macca19
28 Dec 2001, 15:19
Not a bad list at all!!!!!

Shinboners
28 Dec 2001, 15:42
Hey, well done on the list Hitters, even if only one of those songs you picked ("Don't Dream It's Over" - Crowded House) would make it into my top 100. ;) :)

mandy
28 Dec 2001, 16:42
Excellent list Hitters!

I'd maybe have in mine numbers 4, 10, 11, 15, 20, 21, 22, 28, 36, 40, 41, 44, 46, 49, 59, 63 and 79.

You have very good taste. :)

Nic
28 Dec 2001, 16:51
I like. I'd probably have about half of them in my list, if I could ever be stuffed doing one.:cool:

You've got Bohemian Like You in my head now.:)

Mags
28 Dec 2001, 18:28
:confused: :confused:

I got no idea what those songs are :eek: :confused:

Techno?

Mags

jod23
29 Dec 2001, 05:30
Originally posted by The Hitman

98. Into My Arms - Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds (The Boatman's Call)

96. Trouble - Coldplay (Parachutes)

95. Pepper - Butthole Surfers (Electriclarryland)

93. Scooby Snacks - Fun Lovin' Criminals (Come Find Yourself)

92. Cigarettes Will Kill You - Ben Lee (Breathing Torpedoes)

90. A Day In The Life - The Beatles (Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band)

88. Morning Glory - Oasis (What's The Story Morning Glory?)

85. Where The Streets Have No Name - U2 (The Joshua Tree)

82. 1979 - Smashing Pumpkins (Mellon Collie and the Infinate Sadness)

79. Whatever Makes You Happy - Powderfinger (Odyssey #5)

78. Around The World - Red Hot Chili Peppers (Californication)

76. Interstate Love Song - Stone Temple Pilots (Purple)

75. Something - The Beatles (Abbey Road)

73. Bohemian Like You - Dandy Warhols (13 Tales From Urban Bohemia)

72. Harpoon - Jebediah (Slightly Odway)

71. Give It Away - Red Hot Chili Peppers (Blood Sex Sugar Magik)

70. Song 2 - Blur (Blur)

67. Glycerine - Bush (Sixteen Stone)

66. One - Metallica (And Justice For All)

61. Mr Jones - Counting Crows (August & Everything After)

59. Place Your Hands - Reef (Glow)

58. Kashmir - Led Zeppelin (Physical Graffiti)

56. Betterman - Pearl Jam (Vitalogy)

53. Vasoline - Stone Temple Pilots (Purple)

52. No Aphrodesiac - The Whitlams (Eternal Nightcap)

51. Ana’s Song - Silverchair (Neon Ballroom)

49. Porcelain - Moby (Play)

47. Basket Case - Green Day (Dookie)

42. My Friends - Red Hot Chili Peppers (One Hot Minute)

41. Losing My Religion - R.E.M. (Out Of Time)

38. Bohemian Rhapsody – Queen (A Night At The Opera)

36. Everybody Hurts - R.E.M. (Automatic For The People)

35. Tomorrow - Silverchair (Frogstomp)

34. Pick You Up - Powderfinger (Double Allergic)

33. Bittersweet Symphony - The Verve (Urban Hymns)

32. Back In Black - AC/DC (Back In Black)

31. Brick - Ben Folds Five (Whatever & Ever Amen)

30. Self Esteem - The Offspring (Smash)

28. With Or Without You - U2 (The Joshua Tree)

27. Imagine - John Lennon (Imagine)

24. Heart-Shaped Box - Nirvana (In Utero)

23. Yesterday - The Beatles (Help!)

22. Khe Sanh - Cold Chisel (Cold Chisel)

21. Black Hole Sun - Soundgarden (Superunknown)

20. Wonderwall - Oasis (What's The Story Morning Glory?)

19. Sunday Bloody Sunday - U2 (War)

17. Lightning Crashes - Live (Throwing Copper)

16. Stairway To Heaven - Led Zeppelin (Led Zeppelin IV)

15. Smells Like Teen Spirit - Nirvana (Nevermind)

14. Bullet With Butterfly Wings - Smashing Pumpkins (Mellon Collie & The Infinate Sadness)

12. Killing In The Name - Rage Against The Machine (Rage Against The Machine)

11. Throw Your Arms Around Me - Hunters and Collectors (Under One Roof)

10. Don’t Dream It’s Over - Crowded House (Crowded House)

9. One - U2 (Achtung, Baby)

7. Under The Bridge - Red Hot Chili Peppers (Blood Sex Sugar Magik)

6. Let It Be - The Beatles (Let It Be)

5. Lithium - Nirvana (Nevermind)

3. Wish You Were Here - Pink Floyd (Wish You Were Here)

2. Black - Pearl Jam (Ten)

1. Creep - Radiohead (Pablo Honey)

The Hitman

I went through and deleted the ones i either hadnt heard or didnt like. Not a bad list at all and you get extra points for some Beatles classics and Jeb's Harpoon! Nice call on Ben Lee too, his album rules but i think you will find it is called Breathing Tornados not Torpedoes...

The Hitman
29 Dec 2001, 05:47
Originally posted by jod23
Nice call on Ben Lee too, his album rules but i think you will find it is called Breathing Tornados not Torpedoes...

Oopsie! :( :eek: I dunno why I typed Torpedoes, maybe I was reading something on Ian Thorpe or something... ;)

The Hitman

joshhem
29 Dec 2001, 08:20
never in a hundred years could i be bothered to do that, so congratulations on the effort mate. How many hours did it take?

The Hitman
29 Dec 2001, 08:26
Originally posted by joshhem
How many hours did it take?

Too many. :mad: ;)

The Hitman

GoEagles
29 Dec 2001, 22:19
Good selection of music there Hitman! Not bad at allhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon14.gif

WCE2000
30 Dec 2001, 22:00
10 - John Melloncamp - Summer of 69
One of my favourites, although its not really remembered as a classic. I love the tune, and the words are very reminiscent of childhood memories.

9 - Don McLean - American Pie
Best song lyrically ever written. Don McLean is a genius with this song, although im not a big fan of the tune, no song gets close to the lyrics. The song sums up the 70's with a series of metaphors which most people fail to see.

8 - AC/DC - Highway to Hell
Pump it up. What an epic, never to be forgotten. Blow your brains out with the soothing sounds of ACDC.

7 - Semisonic - Closing Time
Soothing, calm song which helps you just 'chill' out. Not bad to drink a beer to either.

6 - Metallica - King Nothing
Another heavy song that the neighbours hate but i love. Very good lyrics, and a brilliant tune to match.

5 - Beatles - Twist and Shout
Im not a beatles fan at all, but this song is one of my favourites. Brilliant to dance to, and lots of fun.

4 - AC/DC - Shook Me All Night Long
Couldnt be anywhere but in the top five. Absolutely pump up the volume and scream your lungs out to it.

3 - Queen - Bohemian Rhapsody
Another fave of everyones. A great mixture, with about fifteen different styles throughout the song. Is a brilliant song.

2 - Led Zeppelin - Stairway to Heaven
Always a classic. Brilliantly written song, and senstationally played. The end is one of the best, and always good to blow the neighbours away.

1 - Guns n Roses - November Rain
Brilliant song, brilliant lyrically and the melody is unchangelled. the 7 minute buildup is sensational and the finale to it is brilliant, will never be surpased in my books.

Danny Chook Fan Club
30 Dec 2001, 22:06
Psst - Summer Of '69 was Bryan Adams.

Good stuff Hitters, although I'm noting a distinct lack of ABBA in that top 100 - Rip will not be impressed.

WCE2000
30 Dec 2001, 22:08
Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Psst - Summer Of '69 was Bryan Adams.

:o :o :o

oops mind block

Mr Ripper
31 Dec 2001, 18:12
Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Good stuff Hitters, although I'm noting a distinct lack of ABBA in that top 100 - Rip will not be impressed. Got that right! :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: ;)

And Hitman...you told me I'd like 10 to 15 of your selections...a foolhardy overestimation, that! :o Didn't have to change hands when tallying up any personal faves of mine your list! :p

Richmondfan#1
1 Jan 2002, 14:02
Not bad Hitman. I agree with your selection on Nirvana songs but I would've put more in ;). Interesting that you put Lithium at number 5, i think it's a very underrated song so I agree with that choice .... "I'm so horny, that's ok my will is good"

brampta
2 Jan 2002, 11:21
That was a really good list Hitman - you can come and hang out at my parties anytime - I know the music will be in safe hands!!

It's actually really interesting when listening to people's opinions on the hottest 100 songs of all times. The Fuddy Duddy radio station in Perth did theirs over the last week and I must admit, I really loved listening to it, even though I wasn't alive when most of those songs were popular.

Imagine always snares number one, followed by Unchained Melody, Bohemian Rhapsody and um well I forget now.

I am going to lose all credibility for saying this but Phil Collins - In the Air tonight is a personal fave of mine :D

daicos4ever
2 Jan 2002, 11:26
Awesome list Hitters.... if i find time i will do one of my own

The Hitman
2 Jan 2002, 12:09
Originally posted by brampta
That was a really good list Hitman - you can come and hang out at my parties anytime - I know the music will be in safe hands!!

Lookin' to come to Perth this year... ;) Any excuse for a party, ey? :D

The Hitman

brampta
2 Jan 2002, 13:36
Originally posted by The Hitman

Lookin' to come to Perth this year... ;) Any excuse for a party, ey? :D

The Hitman

:D I'd have one in your honour except I'm moving to melbourne in two weeks - so maybe you'll all have to hold one in my honour instead hehe :D

The Hitman
2 Jan 2002, 13:48
Originally posted by brampta

:D I'd have one in your honour except I'm moving to melbourne in two weeks - so maybe you'll all have to hold one in my honour instead hehe :D

As long as it is at your place... :p :D I'll be the DJ! ;)

The Hitman

FIGJAM
2 Jan 2002, 14:39
That would be an awesome list if you replace Radiohead's Creep, with Radiohead's Street Spirit!

Oh well, if you love Creep, you love Creep.

Don't know if you've seen the video Meeting People Is Easy, but it shows the band on the OK tour and you will quickly realise the distain the band has for the song!

They have played it live once in the last 5 years.

The Hitman
2 Jan 2002, 17:58
Originally posted by FIGJAM
That would be an awesome list if you replace Radiohead's Creep, with Radiohead's Street Spirit!

Oh well, if you love Creep, you love Creep.

Don't know if you've seen the video Meeting People Is Easy, but it shows the band on the OK tour and you will quickly realise the distain the band has for the song!

They have played it live once in the last 5 years.

Creep means a lot to me, I think there are better Radiohead songs, but it is my favorite.

I know Thom Yorke's hatred towards the Pablo Honey opener. It's like Kurt's hatred of playing Smells Like Teen Spirit live, they both think that they got famous because of one song, and that their careers hinged on those songs.

The Hitman

Bigger
8 Jan 2002, 18:13
Bands grow to hate the tunes that "break" them because they have to play and/or listen to the things millions of times - not for any other reason. Tunes get boring, especially ones with the requisite number of "hooks" and sufficient bland memorability to get accepted by the great thick unwashed.

You don't see too many giggling whores.

BTW your list contains plenty of good sheeit but is overwhelmingly so as to be freakishly.. well, how can I say this... white. Time to get on the good foot...