View Full Version : Danny Meyer.
Bentleigh
9 May 2006, 15:24
Would be nice to see the lad named in Coburgs best a couple times in a row.
How is young Danny travling?
I'm very worried about Meyer. My gut feeling for some reason is he wants to return to SA and is making him self less valuable trade wise.
tomthetiger
9 May 2006, 17:20
whats his potential? Id like to know if hes just taking time to develop, or is plain not suited for the big time.. ?
Bentleigh
9 May 2006, 17:30
I'm very worried about Meyer. My gut feeling for some reason is he wants to return to SA and is making him self less valuable trade wise.
You really reckon the kid would do that :confused:
roostertalk
9 May 2006, 17:36
of course he wouldn't thats rubbish. Unless we assume adelaide and port are chomping at the bit to get hold of a kid whos been in the sytsem for a couple of years now and not been able to show anything. hope he comes on though, apparently quality ball user, we have a shortage of those.
Bentleigh
9 May 2006, 17:38
For what its worth, always struck me as a Gilbie/R Murphy type in the fact I don't think well see his best untill his 4th year or so.
roostertalk
9 May 2006, 17:40
not a bad call, hope ur on the money mate.
CoggaRules
9 May 2006, 18:05
danny boy is progressing nicely, we dont need to hurry this kid.
Its like you have had a good year of harvesting grapes, you have drank and savored the good stuff(lids, Bling, Polo, Patto), and you keep the reserve in the cellar so it only gets better and better, before popping the cork. ;)
Bojangles17
9 May 2006, 19:29
Its like you have had a good year of harvesting grapes, you have drank and savored the good stuff(lids, Bling, Polo, Patto), and you keep the reserve in the cellar so it only gets better and better, before popping the cork. ;)
first bit of sense youve made this season cogga, theres a couple in the cellar alongside Meyer that we neednt even think about till 2007..white, casserley, Limbach, McGuane et al.... No hurry at all
Bojangles17
9 May 2006, 19:29
first bit of sense youve made this season cogga, theres a couple in the cellar alongside Meyer that we neednt even think about till 2007..white, casserley, Limbach, McGuane et al.... No hurry at all..:thumbsu:
Risky yes. But I'll wait until he signs a new contract until my hunch is proven right. He played well enough on Waganeen in his first game to show the people of Adelaide he could play. I think we drafted a SA Loyalist.:(
Good on you Cogga!! I've been critical of your recent negativity. Good to see the old more objective Cogga back. :thumbsu:
Ghost of 1965
9 May 2006, 22:26
Risky yes. But I'll wait until he signs a new contract until my hunch is proven right. He played well enough on Waganeen in his first game to show the people of Adelaide he could play. I think we drafted a SA Loyalist.:(
Always a risk, for us and the interstate teams.
The trick is to introduce them to some lovely young victorian lasses and give them a reason to stay.
:cool:
tomthetiger
9 May 2006, 22:40
Why not? Get TW on to it.
Madtiger2006
9 May 2006, 22:48
he played a few games last year in the seniors, but we can't have too many youngsters in the team all at once. I'm sure he's not far away from a recall
Wally Matera
9 May 2006, 23:13
See Danny Meyer as a little bit like Steven Salopek when he went across to Port and really struggled for the first couple of years. Went across with big wraps and they were all getting frustrated that he was taking so long.
Lets be honest, Danny Meyer has played 6-7 games out of possible 28 since he's been at the club. As a light weight, l think thats a bloody greaat effort!
He'll be fine, and there is no way we should doubt his talent. Courage, class and speed... we're starting to draft the right youngsters!
Darth_Tiger
9 May 2006, 23:46
i dont think so nut, he barracked for essendon when he was a kid. i taught a kid last year who knew him.
I'm always afraid of the home sickness curse. If he signs up again I think we can keep him. Sooner the better.
GhostofJimJess
10 May 2006, 08:39
This situation is not without precedent. I personally know a senior AFL player who deliberately underperformed when coached by Ken Judge so as to be traded back to his home state.
CoggaRules
10 May 2006, 09:59
Good on you Cogga!! I've been critical of your recent negativity. Good to see the old more objective Cogga back. :thumbsu:
LMAO? really? lets see how it pans out. Maybe one day you will wake up and understand how close to reality, what you think negativity is.
Objectively as you suggest, cutting to the chase IMO, when the tiges become a contender,Petts, Hyde, Tiv, Chaff and Staff will not be part of the starting 22 if they are even around. Staff will retire, the rest will make way for skillfull, multi dimensional options. Gas might be around, purely as a stopper of big bodied FFs, unless a Sarge takes over.
Now take it as negativity, i see it more as reality, which might be unreal to most. Been watching footy for to long man, kind of understand what you get when you have players that are servicable at best, mediocrity, and what is needed in their place to rise above that.
The trade off is that, I hope they make me eat my words, but i would like to have a bet they dont. ;)
This situation is not without precedent. I personally know a senior AFL player who deliberately underperformed when coached by Ken Judge so as to be traded back to his home state.
The difference is that Meyer is not an established player. Neither Adelaide club is likely to make much of a play for him. If he is cut he would probably be rookie listed. Gambling with a career makes no sense for a guy who is a fringe player in the reserves.
Why would a kid deliberately put everything he's ever wanted and worked for by deliberately underperforming and risking never getting traded or picked by another club again. The ludicrousness of that comment would make me laugh if it weren't so stupid. Simply, there is no spot for Meyer at present. He'll get his chance and from what I've seen, he has poise and will take a while. Don't give up on a No 12 pick just because others seem to have overtaken him. Let's judge the class of 2004 in two years time.
crows98
10 May 2006, 12:12
If either of the two South Australian clubs would chase him it would be Port Adelaide Power. It’s not that we don’t rate the kid but currently we have a plethora of young emerging midfield players (Knights, Van Berlo, Douglas, Hinge, Pfieffer, Porplyzia, and Vince) so it would be a waste for him to try and get traded back to the Crows.
Why would a kid deliberately put everything he's ever wanted and worked for by deliberately underperforming and risking never getting traded or picked by another club again. He is from Adelaide:o :(
I have no doubt he'll make it.
Nut, I don't care if he was born on planet Venus. You don't tank your AFL career before it even takes off.
CoggaRules
10 May 2006, 12:48
Why would a kid deliberately put everything he's ever wanted and worked for by deliberately underperforming and risking never getting traded or picked by another club again. The ludicrousness of that comment would make me laugh if it weren't so stupid. Simply, there is no spot for Meyer at present. He'll get his chance and from what I've seen, he has poise and will take a while. Don't give up on a No 12 pick just because others seem to have overtaken him. Let's judge the class of 2004 in two years time.
belive me tugga, you always add the cream last, dont you? ;)
Magnificently said Coggs. he may just end up being the birthday candles on top of the icing. ;)
Nut, I don't care if he was born on planet Venus. You don't tank your AFL career before it even takes off.
Maybe. But think about it, if he wants to go home he has two options,
1. With an agreement already in place, underperform and get picked up in the National draft when he falls to the club he has the agreement with.
2. Play well and ask to be traded where we would play hard ball and maybe even force him into the PSD where he could go anywhere.
First one sounds feasable to me.
Nut, I take your point and to be fair, when we drafted Hughes, casserly and JON last year to go with Meyer in 2004, I thought "Oh God, what are the chances of keeping ALL these kids?". The fact is that the club must provide the type of environment to make it impossible for these kids to leave. Looks at the Bobby Bears players of the three flags in row. They knew that by leaving, they were throwing away certain premiership medals, so they stayed. That's the type of environment we've got to produce.
This situation is not without precedent. I personally know a senior AFL player who deliberately underperformed when coached by Ken Judge so as to be traded back to his home state.Jarman :eek: ?
Scandalous stuff ghost
CoggaRules
10 May 2006, 13:23
Magnificently said Coggs. he may just end up being the birthday candles on top of the icing. ;)
dont get to Coburg games nowadays, but have a couple of tigerheads that do, that kind of know where its at. Think about the doggies, think about who they have now, that we would have loved to have. Then think about what TW was suggesting about the kid when he arrived at the club. ;)
Nut, I take your point and to be fair, when we drafted Hughes, casserly and JON last year to go with Meyer in 2004, I thought "Oh God, what are the chances of keeping ALL these kids?". The fact is that the club must provide the type of environment to make it impossible for these kids to leave. Looks at the Bobby Bears players of the three flags in row. They knew that by leaving, they were throwing away certain premiership medals, so they stayed. That's the type of environment we've got to produce.
Agree.
But I'm worried about Meyer
Then think about what TW was suggesting about the kid when he arrived at the club. ;)Yeah ... but you reckon plough talks schit :p
CoggaRules
10 May 2006, 13:53
Yeah ... but you reckon plough talks schit :p
yeah true, but he hasnt talked alot about the kids of 2004 lately, has he? In fact apart from the obvious Lids, it would be safe to say, he hasnt said a word. So you can gather from that what I regard as schit, eg. "Tiger supporters should not expect much from Brownie", if you know what i mean. ;)
yeah true, but he hasnt talked alot about the kids of 2004 lately, Interesting you raise the class of 04`
Delidio , Tambling and Polo all playing senior footy . Patto has had a couple BOG`s in the magoos ... we know Meyer has the tools , Weaver has always said that if you can scrounge two players a year out of a draft you are doing well ... so far that is looking good
Big Punt
10 May 2006, 14:07
Interesting you raise the class of 04`
Delidio , Tambling and Polo all playing senior footy . Patto has had a couple BOG`s in the magoos ... we know Meyer has the tools , Weaver has always said that if you can scrounge two players a year out of a draft you are doing well ... so far that is looking good
When you've had 5 picks in the first 20, you'd be hoping for a much better strike rate than 2.
CoggaRules
10 May 2006, 14:24
Interesting you raise the class of 04`
gonna look better, dont forget, Meyer -12 Polo -20 and no Greg Beckisms any more.
Meyer -Medium forward / midfielder with terrific athletic ability, very competitive, strong overhead, smart around goals and has a sharp footy brain. His vertical jump of 87cm was ranked in the top few at National Bank's AFL Draft Camp.
Polo -Medium insider midfielder who is a hard runner and very competitive. Strong overhead.
and to compare Lids -Medium inside midfielder who can go forward or back. Super competitive, strong overhead and smart around goal.
gotta feeling a bit more education is being done to an already sharp footy brain. ;)
"Sharp footy brain" is code for "can't win his own footy but cheats better than most to have others get it to him".
CoggaRules
10 May 2006, 16:23
"Sharp footy brain" is code for "can't win his own footy but cheats better than most to have others get it to him".
yeah definetely,at last we have someone smart enough to know that you dont need 5 guys in and under, since you wont have anyone to benefit if eveyone gets his own footy, you understand how a sharp brain works. When that player can kick it the way Danny does, well you can take it from there. Always had time for cheats man, you tend to get away with more when you cheat, likd the buckleys and nowadays like the "gilbees" of this world. ;)
What about A.Krakouer?
roostertalk
10 May 2006, 19:41
wake up and smell the hommus.
tomthetiger
10 May 2006, 21:44
There are things Id rather wake up smelling, like roses.
roostertalk
10 May 2006, 21:49
thanks for pointing that out....wasnt aware there was such a saying:rolleyes:
give me some credit fella!
GhostofJimJess
10 May 2006, 22:24
Jarman :eek: ?
Scandalous stuff ghost
Nah, not Jarman, Id. Not from my knowledge anyway.
There was at least three players under Judge's tutorage at the time - I can't confirm without question the exact stance of the other two players, except by the anecdotal evidence of my mate - who absolutely despised Ken Judge and the way he ran the football club. This manifested itself in deliberate fumbling and laziness at training and purposely breaching the club's discipline policy so as to enhance their chances of being traded.
It worked for two of them.
Now, I'm certainly not implying in any way that Danny Meyer is undergoing this - I wouldn't know even if he was, as I don't know the guy at all. I was just adding my little bit that it was not unprecedented in modern footy, despite many footy followers wrongly believing that nobody would jeopardise their financial future. Being on an AFL list is not all that it's cracked up to be for some young blokes.
But we know the kid has talent and would surely demand atleast the pick 12 we got him for. Lets be patient with Danny. He just needs time to build up his strength and fitness, when he does his confidence will no doubt improve as well. Look how much Raines improved in his 3rd year, when he got his body upto AFL level.
pantsdown
11 May 2006, 00:22
dont worry about young danny, keep a lookout for him soon.:thumbsu:
What about A.Krakouer?LMAO
He - is to underperforming as Van Gogh , was to impressionism
Big Punt
11 May 2006, 06:57
But we know the kid has talent and would surely demand atleast the pick 12 we got him for.
If we were to trade Danny Meyer, we'd be lucky to get any draft pick for him, let alone pick 12.
Would you expect Richmond to give pick 12 for some other club's reject pick 12?
If we were to trade Danny Meyer, we'd be lucky to get any draft pick for him, let alone pick 12.
Would you expect Richmond to give pick 12 for some other club's reject pick 12?
Have to agree with that. Drafting kids is pretty much like buying a new car. The moment you take them off the lot their 'value' halves.
LMAO
What, he's going to be 10 years late to underperforming. Fantastic!!
What, he's going to be 10 years late to underperforming. Fantastic!!Maybe if we lopped his ears off ?:thumbsu:
CoggaRules
11 May 2006, 13:57
Have to agree with that. Drafting kids is pretty much like buying a new car. The moment you take them off the lot their 'value' halves.
naaa, you must be talking about, "Spud's Car Yard", that yard not only does what you suggest, it also buys in cars from the wreckers, e.g Huddo etc, along with buying executive driven,demo models from upmarket car yards fire sales, without roadworthys, e.g Weller and co. ;)
...and becomes easier for a Adelaide side to 1. get him cheap or 2. snap him upwith pick 50-60 in the draft.
LMAO
More of a post impressionist man was Vinny.
Monet, Renoir, Sisley and Pisaro (catch his gig at the NGV if you have a chance at the moment) are ya more dyed in the wool Impressionists. I might even concede Gaugin and Cezanne although they were not part of the original barbizon school which extended the realism style to what is now commonly regarded as impressionism.
Now Degas he was dead set agaisnt impressionism and even Renoir turned his back on it in his later years.
American impressionism is also another interesting category but perhaps not for discussion in this thread. :D
He played at my local club and some of my mates still stay in contact with him.
He comes back to Adelaide regularly for weekends or whatever if he is not playing.
By all reports is not enjoying his time in Melbourne.
roostertalk
11 May 2006, 15:42
naaa, you must be talking about, "Spud's Car Yard", that yard not only does what you suggest, it also buys in cars from the wreckers, e.g Huddo etc, along with buying executive driven,demo models from upmarket car yards fire sales, without roadworthys, e.g Weller and co. ;)
quality metaphor cogga. We also picked one up cheap at the police auctions in aaron james. That had issues as soon as it started leaking.
true, wasnt fergus watts taken about the same position in the draft in 2003? what did adel get for him? i cant remember them getting much from memory.
And this is why I'm worried.
roostertalk
11 May 2006, 16:39
He played at my local club and some of my mates still stay in contact with him.
He comes back to Adelaide regularly for weekends or whatever if he is not playing.
By all reports is not enjoying his time in Melbourne.
salopek use to tell us all the same thing. A bit of game time and ar5e kissing can turn it around pretty quickly.
roostertalk
11 May 2006, 16:40
salopek is the one that got away....... will be a gun.
They got St Kildas first round pick!
by the sounds of this upcoming draft, a similar trade would probably be a pretty good result for us then
The Crows got pick 17 from St Kilda. We picked up Darren Pfeiffer with that pick, and it also allowed us to get Richard Douglas at pick 16.
Fergus is a silly lad, if playing AFL was what he wanted and he was still at the Crows today, he would be a walk up start especially due to the injury of Perrie. Yet he went to a side with the best forward line in the land and recently broke his leg and is out for the season.
Hindsight. We know the saying.
tomthetiger
11 May 2006, 22:18
Pity the AFL won't consider test driving...
Bentleigh
16 May 2006, 15:35
The Crows got pick 17 from St Kilda. We picked up Darren Pfeiffer with that pick, and it also allowed us to get Richard Douglas at pick 16.
Fergus is a silly lad, if playing AFL was what he wanted and he was still at the Crows today, he would be a walk up start especially due to the injury of Perrie. Yet he went to a side with the best forward line in the land and recently broke his leg and is out for the season.
Then again, your bitter & bias.
If does move into the ruck & Gehrig gives it away Watts could find himself FF in a side with a midfeild or Dal Santo/Ball/Hayes and Hamill & Riewoldt feeding him.
Bit early to be talking about hindsite.
Then again, your bitter & bias.
If does move into the ruck & Gehrig gives it away Watts could find himself FF in a side with a midfeild or Dal Santo/Ball/Hayes and Hamill & Riewoldt feeding him.
Bit early to be talking about hindsite.
If you are going to call me bitter and bias at least get your spelling right.
Im not bitter at all, Watts is waaaay too slow and we'll be able to get a better KPP in this draft.
God it's good supporting such a successful, winning football club :D
Total_Failure
18 May 2006, 23:01
If you are going to call me bitter and bias at least get your spelling right.
Im not bitter at all, Watts is waaaay too slow and we'll be able to get a better KPP in this draft.
God it's good supporting such a successful, winning football club :D
Just because we dont have watts anymore doesnt mean hes lost his talent. I think he'll be a good player for them on the half forward line. Not as a FF.
As i'm new i cant start a thread yet, but good luck for the weekend guys. I suspect we'll win, but TW might try and pull something out of the bad to keep it close.
Always a risk, for us and the interstate teams.
The trick is to introduce them to some lovely young victorian lasses and give them a reason to stay.
:cool:
Uncle Rex knows a few
richcogs
18 May 2006, 23:50
We should of gone for Bate!!! We really do need to snag a good tall key position player now. We really only have one real certainty- Hughes. I´m sick of hearing Richmond supporter defending our tall options! Shultz- bit of a dud, Thursfields will be good but not as a KPP! I think Patto will oneday be a quality ruckman. But with Limbach and McGuane who knows really, no cerntainties there, spectulations, could be alright, but come on most likely not going to be starsBate would have been perfect:( Hoping for Mitch Thorpe this year:)
Tigerrific
19 May 2006, 01:14
We should of gone for Bate!!! We really do need to snag a good tall key position player now. We really only have one real certainty- Hughes. I´m sick of hearing Richmond supporter defending our tall options! Shultz- bit of a dud, Thursfields will be good but not as a KPP! I think Patto will oneday be a quality ruckman. But with Limbach and McGuane who knows really, no cerntainties there, spectulations, could be alright, but come on most likely not going to be starsBate would have been perfect:( Hoping for Mitch Thorpe this year:)
Hindsight is a wonderful thing, richcogs... but I do agree we need a couple more developing KPP's. I think Schulz might be okay though.
We should of gone for Bate!!! We really do need to snag a good tall key position player now.
Bate is not and will not be a key position player. That is the reason why he was allowed to slip. He is a Cameron Ling type. Has played most of his football as a flanker or centreman. He won his way into the Melbourne team with some 30 possesion performances for Sandringham.
tomthetiger
19 May 2006, 14:59
Bate is not and will not be a key position player. That is the reason why he was allowed to slip. He is a Cameron Ling type. Has played most of his football as a flanker or centreman. He won his way into the Melbourne team with some 30 possesion performances for Sandringham.
Yes. I can see the comparrisons.
i was very impressed with Bate's game v geel a few weeks ago. The way he moved actually reminded me of Dal Santo. He looked cleaner and more skillfull than Ling. Maybe somewhere in between Dal and Ling. If that makes sense.
Rancid_Beasties
19 May 2006, 15:53
I think you guys should have got the cleaver with pick 17. Hes an SA boy, and hes a mile ahead of Watts. Plus, as if you need any more midfielders. You guys need a key position forward, I don't know why you went for two short midfielders, as good a future prospect Douglas and Pfeiffer look.
McLeod23
19 May 2006, 21:58
I think you guys should have got the cleaver with pick 17. Hes an SA boy, and hes a mile ahead of Watts. Plus, as if you need any more midfielders. You guys need a key position forward, I don't know why you went for two short midfielders, as good a future prospect Douglas and Pfeiffer look.
Its a fair point, and considering our lack of depth in KPP, its one that a few Crow supporters are pondering at the moment.
We must have perceived Pfeiffer to have a lot more upside, and its far too early to tell.
tomthetiger
20 May 2006, 19:03
Danny Boy doesnt wanna play for Richmond eh? Wouldnt know it from the endevour he showed today, looks like hes gonna be a great player :)
Did you see him back into a pack twice like his life depended on it? I'm not worried in the slightest about this kid after today's effort. In fact, all five draft picks looklike being contributors for years.
pantsdown
21 May 2006, 01:03
Danny Meyer is in the tiger blueprint dont worry about that, this kid will fill many a role in the coming seasons.;)
Madtiger2006
21 May 2006, 01:05
his only weakness at the moment is that he doesn't look very strong in the air. He struggled in a few marking attempts up forward
his only weakness at the moment is that he doesn't look very strong in the air. He struggled in a few marking attempts up forwardDon`t judge blokes on one game MT ... he will be alright
tomthetiger
21 May 2006, 02:21
MT, I dont think he struggled at all in that department. The chances he did have weren't easy, but still managed to get his hands on it. If you ask me, he seems like the kind that will have good hands. Then again you could be right.
Bentleigh
28 May 2006, 17:11
20 touches, heaps of marks and a few tackles.
Stats aside he really looks a player.
:)
Bentleigh
9 Jul 2006, 11:32
Thought he was stiff to get dropped :mad:
Fingers crossed for BOG in the Burgers today :thumbsu:
metallichris
9 Jul 2006, 12:24
The Herald Sun said he had the flu.
Limbach_19
9 Jul 2006, 12:52
Yeh he was sick.
Bentleigh
9 Jul 2006, 15:14
Flue/sick or 'Richo is right to play, quick get Meyer out of the side' ?
tigerfan22
9 Jul 2006, 18:51
Danny had a heavy cold which got worse coming home to Adelaide didnt pass fitness test Sat.morning.Very disappointed not to play in front of all his family and friends and to kick Ports arse.
Stafford678
9 Jul 2006, 23:23
Flue/sick or 'Richo is right to play, quick get Meyer out of the side' ?
If he wasnt sick he would have played and if richo was allways going to play im sure JON wouldnt have
Bojangles17
9 Jul 2006, 23:25
Id say he will return for Jon...
tomthetiger
9 Jul 2006, 23:40
Plough loves him, and I cant see him dropping Patto anytime soon.
Bentleigh
10 Jul 2006, 00:49
Danny had a heavy cold which got worse coming home to Adelaide didnt pass fitness test Sat.morning.Very disappointed not to play in front of all his family and friends and to kick Ports arse.
Shouldn't have been on the plane with everyone else then..
surely danny will come back in for the clash against the dees, whos gonna part for him? JON or white? also wat should we keep doing with pattison? not being a huge contributor latley but this is quality experience hes getting
Keep White in the side IMO.
More mature body at this stage. Offers more than JON.
tigertRANCE
10 Jul 2006, 02:11
Was definately sick. You obviously didn't watch the game yet again Bents or you would have heard Plough telling McDermott & Campbell that Meyer had a bad cold that he didn't get over. He made it clear he was definately going to play. He will be back this week you would think and JON will most likely go back to the Burgers.
GO TIGES!!!
tigerfan22
10 Jul 2006, 18:29
danny was sitting by himself on the plane and had his own room at the hotel.24hours later he would have played.You dont want to go out and play terrible and let everyone down.
Bentleigh
26 Mar 2007, 12:55
Play the lad in the backline.
He'll see alot of the ball. Allow him to use his skills and pace.
---
How did you assess last Friday’s performance?
It was pleasing . . . it doesn’t matter whether you’re having a game of table tennis, you still like to win. We haven’t been results-driven in terms of our pre-season preparation, but it’s still nice to get a win. I thought the major positive to come out of the game was a few of our young players really stepping up to the levels that you expect and having an impact. Five of the six players who we picked up in the 2004 National Draft, when we had five picks in the top 20, all played well. That was a particularly pleasing aspect . . . Brett Deledio had 30 possessions, Richard Tambling played in the middle and had a really solid game, Adam Pattison produced his best performance since arriving at the Club . . . really strong work playing as a ruckman, Luke McGuane was excellent down back, and Dean Polo did a pretty good tagging role after quarter-time on Ben Johnson, who had started the game really well. And then, we had Danny Meyer, our other selection in that 2004 Draft, who was the best player for Coburg in its practice match last weekend. He was a bit unlucky not to be selected for the Mildura match because he played quite well at senior level against Melbourne the week before, coming off the interchange bench and having a real impact. However, he did his senior chances no harm at all with his display for Coburg last weekend.
yeh lets drop the kid for kicking 2 goals against melbourne and showing a bit of quality but keep playing krakouer who is showing everyone the rewards of a great pre season :rolleyes:
benny_furs
26 Mar 2007, 17:01
yeh lets drop the kid for kicking 2 goals against melbourne and showing a bit of quality but keep playing krakouer who is showing everyone the rewards of a great pre season :rolleyes:
They were some quality goals. I hope he gets a lot of game time this year but if he is going to push Krakouer out of the side then I want him to earn his spot by consistently playing better. Krakouer may or may not 'take the next step' but his current level is still better and more helpful for the team than Danny's. Unless youre suggesting we play more kids and win less games ??
Bentleigh
26 Mar 2007, 17:20
They were some quality goals. I hope he gets a lot of game time this year but if he is going to push Krakouer out of the side then I want him to earn his spot by consistently playing better. Krakouer may or may not 'take the next step' but his current level is still better and more helpful for the team than Danny's. Unless youre suggesting we play more kids and win less games ??
I don't think Meyer taking over Kraks spot is going to help him.
Forward pocket in an average team is a very hard postion. He won't get much ball.
I'd like to see him play on a back pocket/bench; allow him to use his speed/class where he will no doubt see alot of the ball.
i just want to see the kid get some gametime, its not cheap games because he is young its about seeing a bit of potential and trying to get the best out of him
krakouer will get a free run to 100 games because he is millers boy toy but if danny plays well at coburg terry has to take notice
Darth_Tiger
26 Mar 2007, 23:11
i just want to see the kid get some gametime, its not cheap games because he is young its about seeing a bit of potential and trying to get the best out of him
i agree, he is the kind of player who will spend long periods of the game without doing much, but then in the space of 10-15 mins will turn a game on its ear. hard to do that if you are on and of the bench all day.
Magic17
26 Mar 2007, 23:58
Be nice to see him get a kick wherever he plays.:rolleyes: