View Full Version : Karaoke

Danny Chook Fan Club
30 Dec 2001, 13:26
Admit it - you love it.

Got together with some friends last night, and had some Karoake DVDs and a microphone hooked up. Sat around singing to ourselves until far too late.

Tremendously sad, but enjoyable nonetheless. I must give myself a pat on the back for an outstanding rendition of Back For Good by Take That, and a beautiful interpretation of Take On Me by A-Ha.

The point of this thread? Karaoke - do you do it, do you enjoy it, and where are some good places in Melbourne to partake?

Grendel
30 Dec 2001, 14:27
Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club

Tremendously sad

That about sums it up. All the rest you wrote.... sorry not for me.

Shinboners
30 Dec 2001, 17:47
Did some karoke the last time I was in China. Lot's of fun, especially with the....ahem....hostesses.....who sing with you and compliment you on your singing skills no matter how out of tune you are. :D

Karoke is pretty much a way of life in Asia....you can hire private rooms, get lot's of drinks and munchies, and have a cheap night singing to your heart's delight.

The Hitman
30 Dec 2001, 18:06
Mark!!! :mad: You promised me a karaoke night after our performance of 'Holy Grail' in the car last Sunday night! :mad: ;)

Anyway, something I've never done, but on my 18th, when I hit Crown, get drunk, then I'll hit the karaoke...

Can't wait... :D :D :D

The Hitman

Danny Chook Fan Club
30 Dec 2001, 22:05
Your performance of Holy Grail was diabolical, surpassed only by your efforts on Miss Freelove '69, which was musical homicide. Didn't you notice me turning the volume up? That was so that I couldn't hear you! :D ;)

The Hitman
31 Dec 2001, 01:22
Your performance of Holy Grail was diabolical, surpassed only by your efforts on Miss Freelove '69, which was musical homicide. Didn't you notice me turning the volume up? That was so that I couldn't hear you! :D ;)

Hey, it couldn't be worse then hearing you sing Girls Just Wanna Have Fun off that classical 80's box set! :eek: :D

Exposed! :p :D

Ah Cyndi, you should be shot... ;)

The Hitman

The Starchild
31 Dec 2001, 06:06
I friggin love kareoke.

Up until last year when i went to japan, I'd done it about 12 times but only ever done one song, "Stand by your Man".

In Japan i went nuts. Rawhide, Hungry like the Wolf(DuranDuran), Rock and Roll all Night, Beth(both KISS) even sung Save Your Love with an ex-stealth bomber pilot American woman who was pissed as a cricket and fell over on the stage.

3 weeks ago I sang Beth again and Sly saw me.

coxon
31 Dec 2001, 06:40
ah yes... love karaoke... tis a great laugh ~
esp when u hire a room and lounge in it for a few hours belting out tunes.... i dont think i'd get up in public and sing.. haha..

love the dodgy sounding versions of the songs... as well the extremely cheesy looking videos used... haha..

Grendel
31 Dec 2001, 07:42
Originally posted by Shinboners
Did some karoke the last time I was in China. Lot's of fun, especially with the....ahem....hostesses.....who sing with you and compliment you on your singing skills no matter how out of tune you are. :D

Now THATS my idea of what karoke should be all about. Lovely lassies surrounding you and plying you with overpriced drinks. Except for the singing bit id quite enjoy that. ;)

Grendel
31 Dec 2001, 07:44
Originally posted by The Hitman

Hey, it couldn't be worse then hearing you sing Girls Just Wanna Have Fun off that classical 80's box set! :eek: :D

The Hitman

Come on one of you own up. Which one sang It's raining men!?! :eek:

Danny Chook Fan Club
31 Dec 2001, 08:30
Nah, the only bloke who's sung It's Raining Men is Geri Halliwell.

Shinboners
31 Dec 2001, 08:54
Originally posted by Grendel

Now THATS my idea of what karoke should be all about. Lovely lassies surrounding you and plying you with overpriced drinks.

Oh yes, the overpriced drinks.

My hosts decided to treat me to a bottle of one of China's better red wines. They brought out the bottle, opened it, and poured a little bit into a glass (which was not a proper wine glass :eek: ) for me to taste. At this point, let's just say I prefer our Australian reds. Anyway, I nodded my approval and they proceeded to pour the contents of the bottle into this big jug that was half full of ice, and then pour lemonade on it, mixing it thoroughly. :eek: Well, I guess that's one way of making Chinese wine taste better :D

As for the lassies....buy me a beer the next time I see you at the footy and I'll fill you in. ;)

Mr Eagle
31 Dec 2001, 18:35
Ah, you ain't never heard the Cranberries' 'Zombie' until you've heard Mr Eagle singing it karaoke, air guitar and all :)

(and you don't want to see his attempts at copying the dancing of the Backstreet Boys either...)

vanders
1 Jan 2002, 17:54
I have only done Karaoke once, and I must say, I Loved it!!

You've never heard a better version of 'On A Night Like This' or 'Barbie Girl' :D

Wally
1 Jan 2002, 18:30
Does standing on a table at a party and drunkenly belting out 'Escape (The Pina Colada Song)' qualify as Karaoke?

where's wally?

The_Flying_Egg
1 Jan 2002, 22:09
Karaokes pretty fun. Im shocking at it, so I've only done it twice and both times I wasn't alone. The first time I did it we sang US Forces, the second time Holy Grail

brampta
2 Jan 2002, 11:12
Christmas day last year my family and I were staying at a hotel which had set up karaoke in the bar downstairs. I had always wanted to give karaoke a go as I'd always fancied myself as a bit of a rockstar.

Big Mistake.

I got laughed off the stage I was that bad, my performance was pipped only by a really drunk guy who sang American Pie...the whole thing... :D

Magpie-Fletch
3 Jan 2002, 11:16
Originally posted by The Starchild
I friggin love kareoke.

Up until last year when i went to japan, I'd done it about 12 times but only ever done one song, "Stand by your Man".

Hahahaha Just had a flashback of Kernahan singing that exact song. Classic stuff!

Bloodstained Angel
3 Jan 2002, 11:48
If you are out at Karaoke with a frioend, say, and you positively, absolutely don't want to sing, but find yourself dragged kicking and screaming in front of the microphone then always do "Love Me Tender" by Elvis.

Its easy, slow, and you can almost talk (mumble ?) your way through it.

No singing ability whatsoever required to make a reasonable fist of this one.

Its saved my bacon on a number of occasions :D Da wife absolutely adores Karaoke, being the dreadful ham that she is, but I hate it.

cheers

Ruddeger
3 Jan 2002, 13:51
Karaoke is fun, but when you have a akraoke night at school camp, don't sing Adam Sandler's 'At A Medium Pace' when the teachers are around.

I think I got cut off at '....make me push my dic and balls, back between my legs...'

M29
3 Jan 2002, 15:31
Originally posted by Wally
Does standing on a table at a party and drunkenly belting out 'Escape (The Pina Colada Song)' qualify as Karaoke?

where's wally?

Yes. I do it when I'm not drinking.

lioness
3 Jan 2002, 19:25
Drunk OR sober, the lioness is the queen of bad karaoke!!!!!! :D LOL I'm actually tons funnier when I'm drunk coz I really don't care. :D I'm one of those people who will get up there and do number after number and totally suck but people love it coz I am just so damn enthusiastic. :D Besides, karaoke is MEANT to be bad. :D lol

Sly77
7 Jan 2002, 12:43
God I hate listening to bad singers, butcher even badder songs drunkenly, off key and just plain disastardly.....(god are they words?)

I was forced to join in 2 friends at a 21st in singing Lets Hear it For the Boys - and they both stopped singing and let me do the work - whilst everyone at the party just stopped everything and watched me....

Needless to say - I got the only applause for the night ;)

Moral of the story - yes it is possible to find an accountant that CAN sing ;)

However, I cant say you'll coerce me to do it again in a hurry

Danny Chook Fan Club
7 Jan 2002, 14:53
Your new nickname is "Denise". Congratulations :D

Sly77
7 Jan 2002, 16:22
Your new nickname is "Denise". Congratulations :D

Gees DCFC - there's a name from the past - I've obviously been living in Qld too long ;)

brampta
7 Jan 2002, 16:49
Mum and Dad went to a party next door a couple of years back. Karaoke is supposed to bad and fun, and a bit of a laugh right?

Not with this crowd. They were dead set serious and there was a karaoke mafia who wouldn't let anyone else come near the machine the whole night haha!

Doggiesrule1020
8 Jan 2002, 17:12
I have done karaoke only once when i was at a friends place cos she has one but never on on my own i dont have the guts and plus i dont have the voice for it.

aussierulesrules
22 Jan 2012, 17:19
I admit it. I love it. But only when it's loud (good sound system) and there's a crowd there, generally the bigger the better and especially if they're up and dancing in front of me. I especially love it if it's on a proper band stage and don't really like the small room ones, where you're on a stage the size of a phone box and everyone is just sitting at tables. The closer they resemble a proper band gig the better, as far as I'm concerned.

Singing is in the blood and I was keen to try karaoke the first time I saw it in a hotel in NSW, with a mate, when I was traveling around Aust in 1999, but didn't have the guts on that occasion. It got my attention, though and when I came across a gig on Chapel St, a year or two later, I eventually built up the courage and got up for a sing (first song was Stand, by REM, from memory) and was quickly hooked.

That place was a lot of fun (it was in the back room of a noodle shop on Chapel St, opposite the Prahran Market carpark), as the same ones used to go most weeks, so we got to know each other well. Sometimes the room (which was decked out with couches) would be practically empty, but with all the foot traffic on Chapel St (it was on on Friday and Saturday nights, till about 3am) it could fill up very quickly and there would be times when it was full to the brim, with some even sitting on the stage area, as there was no other room. The best times were when the young hotties would come in, wearing very little and we would all try to get them up and dancing in front of us in their skimpy outfits. It would be embarrassing to admit now what we would sing on those occasions, but it certainly did do the trick! The best example was when I had one of them dirty dancing about an inch in front of me as I sang my song. Hot.

From there I found out where a lot of other good karaoke gigs were and would go out to about 3-5 a week, in venues all over Melbourne, for the next couple of years, especially when I was housesitting at the Docklands. As I said, singing is in the blood and I love my music, so I was a happy little Vegimite for a few years and made some good friends (even made some money, as I ended up hosting some gigs in the city and suburbs).

Some of them were really good gigs, with top quality sound systems and really professional backing tracks and some were on proper band stages, with big crowds. I even went to one (at the Greyhound Hotel in St Kilda), where they had a band backing you as you sang, playing along with the song, which was a cool experience.

Probably the best one of those was at the Hawthorn Hotel, on Friday nights. It was in the front dining room, which had/has a band stage in the front corner and they would clear out all the tables for the gig and you would get up on stage and look out into this sea of people on the dance floor in front of you. It was generally packed and pumping. That was a great experience, with the only negatives being that the sound system was pretty much just in front of you and aimed out to the crowd, so you weren't really "immersed" in the music, which could make it hard to stay in tune and time. The other negative was that any time girls wanted to get up on stage and dance with you, while you sang, they would quickly kick them off. Boooooo.

Another really good one was at the Irish pub, PJ O'Briens, in Southbank, in the city. That was a lot of fun and very upbeat and rocking. The stage area was just on the floor, in the back corner, but it would get packed and those dancing would be just a foot or two in front of you, as you sang, so that was a lot of fun.

I also found some really good gigs called "Extreme Karaoke", which was run by Danny, who is very much into "alternative" music and his song list was full of that sort of music, plus lots of rock. No "golden oldies" allowed! So they attracted a young crowd and it could really go off, with songs by the likes of Weezer, Green Day, Beck, Blur, Pulp, Nine Inch Nails, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Radiohead, Kaiser Chiefs, The White Stripes, The Killers, Foo Fighters, Franz Ferdinand, Veruca Salt, No Doubt, Garbage, Pixies, Bjork, Violent Femmes, Talking Heads, Tool, Smashing Pumpkins, Pearl Jam, Blink 182, Gunners, Nirvana, AC/DC, The Doors, The Smiths, The Cure, Muse, Metallica, The Darkness, etc, getting a working over, 5 nights a week, at various pubs and clubs in and around town.
Rocking times.

If you haven't done it before, but love your music, like to sing and have the feeling you may like it, I highly recommend you give it a go, because it can be a real rush. In my experience there are not many better experiences in life than being up on stage and singing a song you really love, in front of a crowd. If you want to really feel alive, give that a go. I've played plenty of competitive sport (footy, cricket, basketball, tennis, golf), but I don't remember ever getting the same rush from playing any of them (maybe playing in a grand final would come close), as I would from getting up in front of a packed room to sing. If that doesn't get your heart pumping, not many things will. If you're brave enough to do it without needing to be liquered up beforehand, you'll enjoy it even more.

Rock on! :thumbsu:

PS- Is there anyone singing around Melbourne these days? I haven't been on stage much in the past 2-3 years (got sick of the travel and having to regularly wait up to 2 hours between songs, plus most of my favourite gigs shut down), but if there are any good ones that have started up recently I'd love to hear about them.

PPS- Most out there think they "can't sing" and I was the same when I was younger, but as Michael Stipe from REM says, "if you can talk, you can sing". It doesn't mean you'll do it well, but you CAN do it. You may even find you do it well, once you get the "I can't" out of your head, and especially when you find songs that you really relate to and that you really love at that time. You'll probably find that you can sing them pretty well (especially if you don't hold back) and that you'll get better and better the more you do it. But even if you don't, karaoke is all about having fun, anyway, so who cares!?

Noddy Holder
22 Jan 2012, 17:54
Karoke is pretty much a way of life in Asia....you can hire private rooms, get lot's of drinks and munchies, and have a cheap night singing to your heart's delight.

Yep. I lived in Taiwan for two years. Used to karaoke pretty much on a weekly basis. Love it.

edgie
22 Jan 2012, 18:26
I'm the regional karaoke champion in the karaoke world championships. I've probably sang over 100 times in the last 2 years.

EDIT: Maybe performed is a better word than "sang"

Xtreme
23 Jan 2012, 09:06
I do it for a laugh at parties and occasionally out in public venues. I don't take myself too seriously (i'm not very good, but i'll still play to the audience :p).