View Full Version : Its Official. Jason Akermanis has been dropped
sherrin_footy
11 May 2006, 17:30
Heard it on the local brisbane radio station, b105.3fm when driving home today. They said it was for poor form and the club has not been happy with his onfield behaviour. And it is not sure how long he will be out of the senior side for.
*Danni*
11 May 2006, 17:43
Considering match committee is on a Thursday afternoon to early evening I don't see how they know that for sure on a Thursday morning?:confused:
Lady Lawrence
11 May 2006, 17:44
http://www.thecouriermail.news.com.au/story/0,20797,19101050-5003410,00.html
the papers are quick!!
TAYLOR 3610
11 May 2006, 17:46
I don't think the club has good players to spare at the moment to indulge in this kind of retribution.
Lady Lawrence
11 May 2006, 17:48
Considering match committee is on a Thursday afternoon to early evening I don't see how they know that for sure on a Thursday morning?:confused:
Darl the quote is from Vossy:(
Says a lot that the quote is Vossy. Especially what he actually said.
I hope this is all worked out relaly quickly - it's the last thing the team needs.
*Danni*
11 May 2006, 17:52
Darl the quote is from Vossy:(
Yeah I know - but it is an article from 4pm this arvo that the Courier Mail site has linked to from news.com/foxsports. So still not knowing how B105 could have reported it this morning unless it was just a 'expect him to be dropped' type story?
Lady Lawrence
11 May 2006, 17:56
Yeah I know - but it is an article from 4pm this arvo that the Courier Mail site has linked to from news.com/foxsports. So still not knowing how B105 could have reported it this morning unless it was just a 'expect him to be dropped' type story?
They didn't did they? The original post says they heard it this arvo driving home.
Have you taken your pills today!!!:D
sherrin_footy
11 May 2006, 17:57
I never said i heard it in the morning. it was about 4 oclock in the afternoon driving home.
I dont think he derserves it. Expecially playing hawthorn, we could dearly use his pace.
beatnik
Says a lot that the quote is Vossy. Especially what he actually said.
I hope this is all worked out relaly quickly - it's the last thing the team needs.
maybe it will serve an ultimately good purpose - it will certainly tell these youngsters that noone is above the team rules...not even the great Aka himself!
*Danni*
Have you taken your pills today!!!:D
No! But I've had 3 cups of coffee...............and you know how much of that stuff I normally consume - NONE - so that very well could be the problem! :D
Lady Lawrence
11 May 2006, 18:02
in that case you must be bouncing off the walls and a bit wild, so why don't you go around and have a word with Aka yourself now!
I actually feel really sorry for the bloke right now. Agreed a lot of it has been brought upon himself as he is right in the spotlight and when that happens you only gotta pick your nose and we all know about it. I just think the media have been really irresponsible. The pressure that has been mounted on him is just ridiculous.
Tend to agree LL. I think the media have taken advantage of him somewhat. I think he lives in his own world a bit and doesn't understand the implications of his actions.
scott522
11 May 2006, 18:27
Was just on 10 news, Vossy reading a prepared statement & said that the decision was made between the senior leadership group & the football dept. They said more to follow in sports...Not entirely happy - take action when & where needed but is this the right type of action ?
roostersgal4eva
11 May 2006, 18:33
there is times that a player needs to be dropped for a host of reasons - regardless of stauts/ability
i think this sends a strong message for aker and the team in general - which i dont actually think is a bad idea. Its tough seeing these type of desicions but im glad they have the guts to do it!
lets hope it does him some good
raikkonen
11 May 2006, 18:36
what a joke. brisbane cannot afford to drop a guy like akermanis in the position they are presently in. he is capable of anything.
Homer Jnr
11 May 2006, 18:53
Where are the Ressies this week?
Will it be the most populated AFLQ match in the past decade?
Grimreepah
11 May 2006, 19:45
What a tough decision to have to make. I am a huge Aka fan, but I support the decision. The club must come first.
I feel a little bit sorry for Aka, because I don't think his off-field behaviour has been as bad as people are making out. I have been happy for him to voice his opinions, but it is now at the stage where anything he says can only harm the club. It is time to put your head down Aka. The test of character comes now.
NICK THE PIE MAN
11 May 2006, 19:48
Where are the Ressies this week?
Will it be the most populated AFLQ match in the past decade?
At Carrara. It is the curtain-raiser against the Sharks for the the Lions-Hawks match.
Was at the press conference and Vossy basically said Aker was dropped for disobeying a direct team instruction from him after the Sydney loss - don't talk to the media during the week. BTW, this was a team instruction, not a specific Aker instruction.
*Danni*
11 May 2006, 19:48
I'm listening to SEN now - and they just said that someone (staff member didn't catch the name) was just on air saying he is suspended indefinately. But also it seems he is named as an emergency this week.
What a tough decision to have to make. I am a huge Aka fan, but I support the decision. The club must come first.
I feel a little bit sorry for Aka, because I don't think his off-field behaviour has been as bad as people are making out. I have been happy for him to voice his opinions, but it is now at the stage where anything he says can only harm the club. It is time to put your head down Aka. The test of character comes now.
Fair enough.
However, the decision to drop him can easily create the perception that he has been made a scapegoat for the team's on-field woes this season.
Aker is a high profile and popular figure amongst the supporters....I wonder if there will be a backlash?
Also it has been mentioned that there was a "team" instruction not to talk to the media this week.
Yet Leppa was quoted in the CM yesterday (at length) and Brad Scott appeared on Foxfooty's White Line Fever talking about "unleashing the fury" (on the leak) and Vossy himself has fronted the "media" to announce Aker's axing.
Matthews himself was the one who made an issue of the supposed "leak" with the media, when as far as I know, it was a non-issue before that.
I find it all very puzzling and I'm not at all comfortable with way this whole sorry saga has unfolded.
Aker has been painted as the villain of the piece but there have been far too many machinations, complications and conflicting bits of information for me to completely swallow the "official" line on this.
konstas_87
11 May 2006, 20:23
If he was just any player id say he probably deserved it. But as one of the Lions' greats i reckon he should have been given some more time to get himself out of this slump: off field stuff doesnt help i spose.
He'll be back..
Homer Jnr
11 May 2006, 20:27
I don't sit anywhere on the Leigh Matthews debate that flitters around this forum, but I am uncomfortable that he and Aker have a falling out, but he gets Vossy to publicly announce it, and some of the other players doing all the talking.
Just a hint of Matthews sitting in a dark room rocking on his chair with his fingers in his ears doing the childish "Lalalalalala if I can't hear it, it isn't happening."
TAYLOR 3610
11 May 2006, 20:35
This whole business rather than teaching Aker a lesson could make him feel even more isolated from the club than he is already. I don't think it's the best way to get him or the team playing with spirit that they should be. This may be creating a poisoned atmosphere and that will do no one any good.
Grimreepah
11 May 2006, 20:39
Also it has been mentioned that there was a "team" instruction not to talk to the media this week.
Yet Leppa was quoted in the CM yesterday (at length) and Brad Scott appeared on Foxfooty's White Line Fever talking about "unleashing the fury" (on the leak) and Vossy himself has fronted the "media" to announce Aker's axing.
I think it was a smart move for Vossy to make the announcement, because otherwise it would have fuelled the speculation about the feud between Aka/Matthews.
As a spectator (10 000kms away from Brisbane) it is hard to know what is really going on. I am always inclined to think these things are about 10% as serious as what the media makes out because that's what they do, and then the public (eg. BigFooty) runs with it.
This statement shows to me that Akermanis indeed has crossed the line. It was very significant that Voss said it was the leadership group that made this decision. As much as I like Aka, Michael Voss is the consumate professional of whom I have the utmost respect. If Michael Voss supports this decision, then I can't help thinking it's for the best.
Vossy said that all players agreed not to do any media except for those who have pre-existing obligations - columns etc. So that covers the pther player's appearances.
Must also say that if you can supporters should try to see Vossy's statement. It makes it very clear that it was a team decision.
Vossy said that all players agreed not to do any media except for those who have pre-existing obligations - columns etc. So that covers the pther player's appearances.
Must also say that if you can supporters should try to see Vossy's statement. It makes it very clear that it was a team decision.
OK....let's accept it was a team decision.
That's where the clarity ends for me.
ON Foxfooty, they showed Voss "statement" being read out.....wherein inter alia, Vossy makes reference to "form" and "discipline"(or lack thereof) being the reasons for Aker being dropped.
Later, someone asks "what percentage form and what percentage other issues?"' .....or words to that effect
And Vossy's answer is:
"Well'', to be perfectly honest it was 90% form and 10% other issues"
Vossy then spends the rest of the time talking about "the other issues".......and says nearly nothing at all about "Aker's form.
Now if the axing is 90% about form, wouldn't you expect some elaboration on that aspect???????
But no.
So 90% of the reasons for the decision get no discussion or analysis but the 10% gets all the airplay.
Sorry.....it doen't sit right with me, irrespective of the fact it was Vossy delivering the news....and i have the utmost respect for him.
But I also havethe utmost respect for my own powers of reasoning and at the moment I feel like I'm being dudded by obfuscation and half-truths.
*Danni*
11 May 2006, 21:48
I think it was a smart move for Vossy to make the announcement, because otherwise it would have fuelled the speculation about the feud between Aka/Matthews.
Pikey is on SEN right now. He said he finds it very strainge that Voss made the statement and he (Pike that is - with his experience/knowledge etc) would have thought Leigh would have/should have made it.
They (SEN) also just said that word has just filtered through to Melbourne that Aker left the training track (closed session) early today with alleged hamstring soreness.
Now see here is one of the issues - it was a CLOSED session, how did they know that this did or didn't happen???
Pikey is on SEN right now. He said he finds it very strainge that Voss made the statement and he (Pike that is - with his experience/knowledge etc) would have thought Leigh would have/should have made it.
They (SEN) also just said that word has just filtered through to Melbourne that Aker left the training track (closed session) early today with alleged hamstring soreness.
Now see here is one of the issues - it was a CLOSED session, how did they know that this did or didn't happen???
Obviously it was leaked;)
*Danni*
11 May 2006, 21:55
It can't be completely closed though can it? Isn't the cricketers club bar open in the afternoons? So people could go in there and watch from the viewing walls/windows that overlook the ground? Or is it closed maybe?
Grimreepah
But I also havethe utmost respect for my own powers of reasoning and at the moment I feel like I'm being dudded by obfuscation and half-truths.
What do you think they're trying to cover up?
The Flying Belgian
OK....let's accept it was a team decision.
That's where the clarity ends for me.
ON Foxfooty, they showed Voss "statement" being read out.....wherein inter alia, Vossy makes reference to "form" and "discipline"(or lack thereof) being the reasons for Aker being dropped.
Later, someone asks "what percentage form and what percentage other issues?"' .....or words to that effect
And Vossy's answer is:
"Well'', to be perfectly honest it was 90% form and 10% other issues"
Vossy then spends the rest of the time talking about "the other issues".......and says nearly nothing at all about "Aker's form.
Now if the axing is 90% about form, wouldn't you expect some elaboration on that aspect???????
But no.
So 90% of the reasons for the decision get no discussion or analysis but the 10% gets all the airplay.
Sorry.....it doen't sit right with me, irrespective of the fact it was Vossy delivering the news....and i have the utmost respect for him.
I'd say the 10% was the straw that broke the camels back. And in reality the percentages are the wrong way around, but the it probably sounds better this way. So maybe it was a half-truth.
But Hooper was dropped a few weeks back for disciplinary reasons and Corrie earlier in the pre-season.
While a lot of the Aka talk has been OTT, but the bloke doens't seem to be able to not speak to the media. Fair enough he felt hard done by, but as I've said time and time before it's about the team and not the individual.
Whatever happens, this might be one of the most covered Suncoast game for while!
*Danni*
11 May 2006, 21:56
Whatever happens, this might be one of the most covered Suncoast game for while!
Reports/rumours coming through that Aker left the track early with possible hamstring soreness - so maybe he won't be playing in the ressies? :confused:
This whole business rather than teaching Aker a lesson could make him feel even more isolated from the club than he is already. I don't think it's the best way to get him or the team playing with spirit that they should be. This may be creating a poisoned atmosphere and that will do no one any good.
Spot on!!
If I was a kid at the club I'll been screaming to my manager,
"get me the trade out of here" :eek:
Voss has turned into a YES Man..............:mad:
Also if the Lions get flogged this week, it could all backfire! This really is
a sad turn of events. :(
What do you think they're trying to cover up?
Honestly, I have no idea.
Maybe they're not trying to cover anything up......but whatever, it's been a public relations disaster.
I just can't accept that Aker's form has been that bad that it warranted being given as the main reason he was dropped.
....and it seems incongruous that Voss, whose own form has been the subject of scrutiny, has to front up and tell the world that a team-mate, a much decorated one and current Club Best and Fairest, has been dropped mainly on form.
To me, it would have been clearer and simpler if Matthews had fronted up and said Aker was dropped for disciplinary reasons.......full stop.....end of discussion.
At least eveyone would know where they stand.
Grimreepah
11 May 2006, 22:12
You can't pick players because they might feel isolated if you don't. If this doesn't motivate Akermanis to work hard and fight his way back into the team, then it would appear he no longer has the right attitude. He, along with everyone else, must earn his spot, and respect it.
Akermanis has undermined the integrity of the leadership group. Vossy a co would have agonised over this decision. It would have hurt like hell, you could see it on his face. But it would be sending the wrong message if they allowed things to continue.
Grimreepah
11 May 2006, 22:18
I just can't accept that Aker's form has been that bad that it warranted being given as the main reason he was dropped.
I agree with TFB and yourself. Form probably wasn't the main reason.
....and it seems incongruous that Voss, whose own form has been the subject of scrutiny, has to front up and tell the world that a team-mate, a much decorated one and current Club Best and Fairest, has been dropped mainly on form.
That's a good point. I hadn't thought of that.
To me, it would have been clearer and simpler if Matthews had fronted up and said Aker was dropped for disciplinary reasons.......full stop.....end of discussion.
I'm just worried about the media frenzy this would have caused. It may be too late already, but if Leigh had done this the media would pitch these two against one another for the rest of their careers.
BrisGirl
11 May 2006, 23:29
Voss has turned into a YES Man..............:mad: (
I have a problem with statement - Voss is a 'yes' man to whom?
You never hear from Voss and when you do, it is because it is important to him. Other than the little stories for his TV spot on the sports news spot, we very rarely see him.
His statement tonight was very clear message from the player leadership group, not the Coach.
I have no doubt we will hear from Aka, and we will get his take on this, but I very much doubt this is about form.
If he was dropped because of form, it would have been a simple case of not naming him in the side. Something must have happened for the Captain to come out and make a statement.
I have complete faith in Voss with all things to do with this Club and this team. He has never swayed from his clear line of loyalty and respect for his team mates and his Coach.
Something is not right, but maybe what wasn't right has been dealt with. I guess we will see soon enough.
Dixie Flatline
12 May 2006, 00:04
Gee, this game is almost turning into a game of who wants to lose it less, rather than who wants to win it more. With the Hawks shorn of some key players, we're very happy that Barney and/or the senior group have decided to drop Akermanis for Saturday night. Personally, I'm not happy, as I have Akermanis in my fantasy footy side and I need his points! :D
I sympathise with the situation, though - we copped it when Clarkson dropped Hodge for disciplinary reasons last season, but he pulled his socks up straightaway and he'd be the first man pencilled in on the teamsheet each week. Here's hoping that Akermanis can find his way back to full fitness and best form, because he's a great player when he's on song.
Bobby Beecroft
12 May 2006, 00:24
Akermanis has undermined the integrity of the leadership group. Vossy a co would have agonised over this decision. It would have hurt like hell, you could see it on his face. But it would be sending the wrong message if they allowed things to continue.
Agreed.
There's another thing that I can't believe no one has mentioned.
He had a brain explosion on the field last week, which really cost us dearly at a time when we were working ourselves into the game.
Why should someone pigheadedness/selfishness be allowed to hurt the side.
His own on field ego got the better of himself & some of his decisions onfield placed himself before the team.
What sort of example does this set to all of our youngsters?
I hope he comes back better than ever, but the line has been drawn (& it had to be), its up to him to start to follow TEAM rules.
It had to happen as last weeks on onfield effort, broke the camels back.
wickedwitch
12 May 2006, 07:34
maybe it will serve an ultimately good purpose - it will certainly tell these youngsters that noone is above the team rules...not even the great Aka himself!
I was thinking the same thing myself, Beatnik. There have been a few comments on this forum about some of the youngsters getting a bit ahead of themselves. A good early lesson for them about DISCIPLINE - the cornerstone of the Lions success over many years.
But Hooper was dropped a few weeks back for disciplinary reasons and Corrie earlier in the pre-season.
I think this is an important point....that this is not the first time this year that a player has been dropped for something other than purely on-field form. Obviously, this is the big one and I guess that is why the players (or club - I'm not 100% sure that this is just a player decision) decided to be upfront about it
It is quite obvious the entirety of the club has decided that there needs to be a focus on discipline and team rules given that we can no longer rely on on-field dominance. I heard Champs make a good point last night. Aker used to be able to say what he wanted because he was brilliant enough to invariably back it up and the other players would let Aker' antics wash over them and invariably keep on playing good footy. Neither happens now.
For me, the punishment does not fit the crime and, in any event, the punishment is not just for J. Akermanis but for the 22 guys who have to do without him and the general public that loves to watch him play. But I am not privy to the internal workings of the club.
One good point will hopefully come from it though....if he plays on the weekend there is a good chance he will rip Southport apart....won't I love to see that! :D
Grimreepah
12 May 2006, 09:46
Obviously, this is the big one and I guess that is why the players (or club - I'm not 100% sure that this is just a player decision) decided to be upfront about it
I saw Voss' speech on the footy show, and I noticed he said that this was a decision that had been made by the leadership group and the match committee.
I wonder if this means that Akermanis is no longer in the leadership group.
Lady Lawrence
12 May 2006, 10:05
anyone confirm anything on the following disturbing aspect.
Triple MMM tried to reach Aker this morning and said for obviosu reasons he cannot come to the phone so they spoke with Megan instead. She said that Jason had no idea he was gonna be dropped and that they saw it on the news.
Tell me this is not the case!!! As captain, if Michael is having to read the statement would he not have ensured his teammate knew of the decision before going to the media, if it was a leadership group decision wouldn't the leadership group have told him face to face.
And surely Megan should not have been able to talk to the media as I believe her speaking was more harmful to Jase than no-one saying anything.
I'm finding it all very confusing, only about a month ago Vossy defended Aker at the end of his Age column. Now he is the figurehead for dropping him.! That must have been tough ,and he looked ill at ease, they have been teammates for a long time. Aker has not been our worst player ,so that interview with Channel ten must have been the final straw. It is not a good place to be for our young players, I would say they would want to get out of the place. There will be a back lash from supporters as Aker is very popular. It is all very nasty and I don't actually think they have solved anything.I cant see them winning another game this year if this bad feeling is not brought out in the open and cleared up once and for all..
having said that I will be hoping like anything they can conjure up a win tomorrow night. It would help everyones morale a lot.
*Danni*
12 May 2006, 10:54
I wonder if this means that Akermanis is no longer in the leadership group.
I didn't think he was to start with?
The Flying Belgian
12 May 2006, 11:24
I didn't think he was to start with?
As of this year he has been.
*Danni*
12 May 2006, 11:28
Well maybe it has something to do with this or maybe it doesn't - but the media are all down at the Gabba at the moment. I just drove past and the footpath out the front was covered in media cars.
Rawhead
12 May 2006, 13:13
I find it odd that that Leppitsch, a player whose tumultous relationship with Aker is well known, comes out this week with a piece supporting Aker, and co-incidently is dropped the same week.
I also find the media reporting incredibly provocative and biased. I saw Vossy make his statement 5 times last night and this morning, and not once did I hear this part: Voss went on to emphasise Akermanis' value to the team and said the decision to drop him did not reflect in any way upon the midfielder's continuing career prospects with the Lions. anywhere on their little grab.
They want to paint a picture alright.
I find it odd that that Leppitsch, a player whose tumultous relationship with Aker is well known, comes out this week with a piece supporting Aker, and co-incidently is dropped the same week.
I also find the media reporting incredibly provocative and biased. I saw Vossy make his statement 5 times last night and this morning, and not once did I hear this part: anywhere on their little grab.
They want to paint a picture alright.
Rawhead, when I saw Vossy on the news last night, I suspected the media would not include that statement in its reporting...having said that, the quote does sound a little like "The coach has the full support of the board...." and we all know what that means!
Rawhead
12 May 2006, 14:17
Yeah I know, I know.
BrisGirl
12 May 2006, 14:33
anyone confirm anything on the following disturbing aspect.
Triple MMM tried to reach Aker this morning and said for obviosu reasons he cannot come to the phone so they spoke with Megan instead.
She said that Jason had no idea he was gonna be dropped and that they saw it on the news..
Please tell me his wife didn't speak on his behalf......pleeaasse
Lady Lawrence
12 May 2006, 14:47
as sure as eggs is eggs she did - when they asked her so you didn't see this coming she took a deep breath and said noooooooooooo all breathy like. In fact she did sound half asleep.
LL, just to clarify, did Megan say she didn't see it coming or did she say that Jason didn't see it coming? Or both?
I could understand a player's partner not having the insight into the inner sanctum to see such a decision coming but we have been talking all week about the possibility of Aker being dropped so I can't believe that he didn't have some inkling of what might happen.
The Flying Belgian
12 May 2006, 15:08
This article on Foxsports.com.au (http://foxsports.news.com.au/story/0,8659,19110772-23211,00.html) seems to address some things.
Lady Lawrence
12 May 2006, 15:52
LL, just to clarify, did Megan say she didn't see it coming or did she say that Jason didn't see it coming? Or both?
I could understand a player's partner not having the insight into the inner sanctum to see such a decision coming but we have been talking all week about the possibility of Aker being dropped so I can't believe that he didn't have some inkling of what might happen.
The inference was both. She was speaking on Jason's behalf so if she didn;t see it it should have been made clearer. But I remember at the time thuinking gosh she just said that and if that s true then that is dreadful for Jason and I was also pretty p'd off if that is now how our club operates!
Did anyone see Lynchy talking on White Line Fever about it last night? He was really good and balanced. Even making jokes about Jason announcing his (Lynchy's) retiremenet a week before he did!
Yeah, I saw that.
Big Al was a lot more balanced than some of the other media personalities that have been making big calls about Aker's future.
Interesting that when pressed about whether he thought the Lions would trade Aker at the end of the season, his answer was an unqualified "No".
Lady Lawrence
12 May 2006, 17:16
Interesting that when pressed about whether he thought the Lions would trade Aker at the end of the season, his answer was an unqualified "No".
Actually they said to Lynchy "in one word will we see Aker in Lions Jumper in 2007", Lynchy said "I hope so, oh that's not one word, YES!"
Yep, that's right.....same meaning though I suppose.
The older I get, the harder it seems to remember the spoken word exactly.
Let's hope dementia isn't setting in:o
Now what did I do with my car keys????...............
Aker's been dropped? So what? No doubt the media and Aker will milk it for what it's worth. Aker to get attention, the papers to sell copies and TV to get people to watch their programs.
The truth is Aker should have been dropped following round three. Had it been anyone else come round four they would have found themselves in the Sunny Lions. The fact that Aker finds himself in the Magoos come round seven and not round four is testament to his name. Not his performances.
I have no sympathy for Aker. In fact I strongly believe that Luke Power should have preceded Akar to the Sunshine Coast as well.
However,I have sympathy for young Attard. He has been dropped for the third time after just one game and on each occasion a relatively good performance from Attard.
Anyhow we have a game to play against Hawthorn and 22 players selected have a duty and an obligation to give it their best. I have no doubt Leigh has selected what he believes are the best 22 to secure the best result possible. For me ultimately that's all that counts. I want my team to win and to be successful. I don't give a toss if it's Aker or Attard or Stromboli or Magambo or Smith or Brown. All I want is the four points tomorrow and the week after and the week after that and so on.
Just win for F*** sake.
Grimreepah
12 May 2006, 19:09
The truth is Aker should have been dropped following round three.
I think you're being a bit harsh. There were plenty of players not playing their best, so Akermanis' form was not standing out or anything.
The fact is players do get credit points. Triple premiership player, brownlow medallist, reigning best and fairest is a crap load of credit points and I would think that you give someone who is that good more of a chance to get back to their best because you know their best is extremely good.
If Ponting played 3 bad Tests, you wouldn't sack him either.
The fact is players do get credit points.
Yep as I intimated, it's those credit points that got him to rd 7.
Grimreepah
12 May 2006, 19:45
Yep as I intimated, it's those credit points that got him to rd 7.
The difference is you're saying it's a bad thing.
Yes I called for his demotion after round 3. As it has transpired dropping him three rounds later has caused considerable angst for the club. Had Leigh dropped him without mercy after round three it would not have been the issue it is now. All I am saying is, the club is bigger than Akermanis.
I will repeat. All I want is for my club to win week in week out. I don't give a damn if Dolly Parton, John Holmes or whoever plays. As long as I get to feel good afterwards.
Grimreepah
12 May 2006, 20:05
Yes I called for his demotion after round 3. As it has transpired dropping him three rounds later has caused considerable angst for the club. Had Leigh dropped him without mercy after round three it would not have been the issue it is now. All I am saying is, the club is bigger than Akermanis.
I will repeat. All I want is for my club to win week in week out. I don't give a damn if Dolly Parton, John Holmes or whoever plays. As long as I get to feel good afterwards.
But 3 games isn't much leeway to give someone, especially considering that no one (except Charman) is setting the world on fire. If JBrown played another 2 bad games, would you drop him?
Different circumstances.
It was as much for the statement that Leigh would have made to assert his authority.
Timing is everything. It's all in the timing. Sorry to be clichéd, but in this instance it is IMO a true reflection of the situation.
Grimreepah
13 May 2006, 17:15
Now Akermanis' manager, Ricky Olarenshaw, has taken a swipe (http://foxsports.news.com.au/story/0,8659,19122887-23211,00.html) at the club. I didn't think he had a manager.
If Olarenshaw made these comments without Akermanis' approval then I think he should be sacked, because he is not working in Aka's best interest. If Akermanis okayed these comments then I am very disappointed in Aka. He is just creating greater tension between himself and the club, and is showing further disrespect to the match committee and the leadership group.
I thought he crossed the line in his Channel 10 interview, but he doesn't seem to have recognised that, and I'm wondering where it will stop. He is putting himself above the team which is completely the wrong attitude in a team sport. I just hope Aka can turn it around because he is losing my respect and support very quickly.
Warwick
13 May 2006, 17:18
Spot on grim. He is starting to sound like a spoilt brat of a toddler. Pull your head in Aka for the sake of the team. We all know you are a gun and want to see you performing your magic out there again :thumbsu:
The Flying Belgian
13 May 2006, 17:24
Don't think Olarenshaw said anything out of the ordinary, apart from not saying anything and letting the matter lie.
If anything, there needs to be a distinction drawn between what the media has implied and what the club has actually said.
Nowhere can I recall the club stating, suggesting or even implying that Aka was the leak. That's been a marvellous case of the media putting 2 and 2 together and getting 22.
And "unleashing a broadside"??? Puleeze!
Grimreepah
13 May 2006, 17:28
Nowhere can I recall the club stating, suggesting or even implying that Aka was the leak. That's been a marvellous case of the media putting 2 and 2 together and getting 22.
Olarenshaw says that Akermanis is accusing the Lions of blaming Akermanis for the leak.
The Flying Belgian
13 May 2006, 17:32
True, after re-reading it. I missed that the first time around.
Grimreepah
13 May 2006, 17:33
And "unleashing a broadside"??? Puleeze!
Olarenshaw is saying that the club is wrong to criticise Akermanis for the things he said. He said the club has accused Akermanis of something he hasn't done.
He is also saying that they should pick him in the seniors or he will move elsewhere.
It is not a broadside, but it adds fuel to the fire, which is what the club is trying to avoid.
Whoa!
Let's rewind to last week.
Leigh was the one who made the "player room leaking like seive" comment at a press conference, thereby putting an issue into the spotlight that Joe Public previously had no inkling of.
The comment was made not in response to a question or query about a possible leak.
He actively canvassed the issue without prompt.
Correct me if I'm wrong but wasn't it at the same Press conference that he also gave the "YOU PEOPLE WOULD KNOW MORE ABOUT WHAT'S GOING ON WITH HIM THAN ME" response to a question about Aker's fitness??
OK, now there is no direct link between the two comments but is it so unreasonbale to draw the inference that Leigh was suggesting the Aker was in fact the "leak".????
I don't think you have to be a story seeking media type person to have got this inference.
And surely Mattews is media-savvy enough to have realised that this connection would have been made.
Certainly in the days leading up to the Swans game, the public perception was that not only was Aker being accused of being the leak, but he was the leak, despite the fact that (as far as I know) confirmation of this supposed fact was no-where to be found, in the media or anywhere else.
Aker is a lot of things but he's certainly no dill.
There can be no doubt that he was feeling the heat over this leak issue.
Why else would he have "gone public" during the week with those comments to the media about feeling hurt about the implication that he was leaking information to the press?
The perception was there and he knew it....we all knew it.
Not only did he express dismay at the suggestion/implication, he categorically denied that it was him.
It's all very well for the Captain to issue "directions" not to talk to the media but if your character, your honesty, your loyalty and your integrity are being impugned in a very public way, what would you do? Say nothing? Just cop it sweet?
I was sincerely hoping that after that article where Aker denied leaking information, he would have got some "official" support from either the Club, the Coach, the President or from fellow players.
He got none.....in fact he got publicly humiliated.
The way I see it, the "leak" issue was the catalyst for all that has transpired.
Either Aker is/was the leak and he is a liar or he has been unjustly and unfairly dealt with.
My gut feeling is that Aker does not tell lies but if I'm wrong, then he fully deserves everything he's got.
Grimreepah
13 May 2006, 20:12
Either Aker is/was the leak and he is a liar or he has been unjustly and unfairly dealt with.
I don't agree that these are the only two options, because the leak is not the only issue.
I personally give Akermanis the benefit of the doubt about not being the leak, but I am disappointed with him for other stuff.
MSB ROYS
13 May 2006, 20:39
Heard he kicked 5 goals and 20 odd posessions. On ya Aka!
I don't agree that these are the only two options, because the leak is not the only issue.
I personally give Akermanis the benefit of the doubt about not being the leak, but I am disappointed with him for other stuff.
I'm not sure what you mean by "the other stuff"
But is this other stuff really relevant?
When Vossy announced that Aker had been dropped, there were two justifications given:
1) form.....90%
Does anyone really believe this?
It's actually been contradicted by Leigh.....who prefers 50/50.
2)
"the other issues"....or "stuff"
Now I'm going only from memory here (and it's found to be wanting on other occasions) but......the only specific thing I can recall (and I emphasise "specific" is that Aker disobeyed the directive not to talk to the media.
Yes, he did disobey.
What I'm driving at is, was it unreasonable for Aker to have said what he said???
Before anyone jumps down my neck and accuses me of being blindly faithfull to the "Aker" camp, let me say I'm not....I've got an open mind.
What concerns me is the process that the Club used to justify or rationalise Aker's dumping.
The "90/10 form/other issues" criteria is palpably silly and has subsequently modified by the coach himself.
the "other issues" criteriai as stated is one-dimensional and arguably is open to scrutiny on the grounds of natural justice.
If you are going to suspend a valued employee, you not only have to have good grounds to do so but be seen to have good grounds
The Flying Belgian
13 May 2006, 22:21
Correct me if I'm wrong but wasn't it at the same Press conference that he also gave the "YOU PEOPLE WOULD KNOW MORE ABOUT WHAT'S GOING ON WITH HIM THAN ME" response to a question about Aker's fitness??
OK, now there is no direct link between the two comments but is it so unreasonbale to draw the inference that Leigh was suggesting the Aker was in fact the "leak".????
I don't think you have to be a story seeking media type person to have got this inference.
And surely Mattews is media-savvy enough to have realised that this connection would have been made.
You're acting as though he knows what he's going to say going into every press conference. I'm sure if he had his time again he wouldn't have made the comment. Even the most media-savvy can be drawn ino saying things that sound suss, especially if the pressures on a bit.
He was asked about aka's hammy and then said you guys would no more about it than me the way our locker room leaks (paraphrasing).
As I said, putting 2 and 2 together and getting 22. But I can see how the conclusion could be drawn and I must admit that's what I though at first.
Grimreepah
13 May 2006, 23:44
I'm not sure what you mean by "the other stuff"
If Aka had said that he wasn't the leak, I wouldn't have had a problem. But all this 'Leigh and I don't talk' stuff just seemed to me he was like a little kid testing the boundaries to see what he could get away with. It's not what the team needs. If Voss says to close ranks, then I think he deserves the respect of the players to do so.
I see that Aka played well in the Magoos and Leigh was having a bit of a chuckle. The Lions played well without him, but with a few injuries Aka is a chance for a recall. What do ya reckon?
You're acting as though he knows what he's going to say going into every press conference. I'm sure if he had his time again he wouldn't have made the comment. Even the most media-savvy can be drawn ino saying things that sound suss, especially if the pressures on a bit.
He was asked about aka's hammy and then said you guys would no more about it than me the way our locker room leaks (paraphrasing).
As I said, putting 2 and 2 together and getting 22. But I can see how the conclusion could be drawn and I must admit that's what I though at first.
I'm not acting in any fashion at all.
And how can you be so sure if he "had his time again" (as you put it) he wouldn't have made the comment?
If Aker had his time over, he wouldn't have had that on-field brain snap against the Swans last week.....and he admitted it......publicly.
Fact is, he made the comment and Leigh is no media novice. How can you or anyone else make a jugement call about how much pressure he was under?
Sometimes 2 and 2 equals 4 and not 22.
You said you could see "how the conclusion was drawn"
What changed your mind?
If Aka had said that he wasn't the leak, I wouldn't have had a problem. But all this 'Leigh and I don't talk' stuff just seemed to me he was like a little kid testing the boundaries to see what he could get away with.?
The comment about he and Leigh having not "talked" for 3 years was made in the context of an answer to a question about whether the coach had spoken to him on a personal basis.
It was an honest answer.
On White Line Fever that same night, Rodney Eade said that there was nothing unusual about not having deep and meaningful conversations with Leigh. Eade of course, was one of Leigh's team-mates in the Hawthorn "glory" years
Eade said (and once agian, forgive me if the exact words aren't correct):
"I played with Leigh for years and he was never a great conversationalist....you just didn't have any great rapport with Leigh outside football......he's not the type to ask you whether the baby is feeding well.......so in that context I don't see that Aker's statement about not speaking with him is all that bad"
So if it's an honest answer, then it's an honest answer
It's not what the team needs
You would prefer Aker to have lied?
If Voss says to close ranks, then I think he deserves the respect of the players to do so.
In normal circumstances....absolutley
But were these normal circumstances?
I see that Aka played well in the Magoos and Leigh was having a bit of a chuckle. The Lions played well without him, but with a few injuries Aka is a chance for a recall. What do ya reckon?
Depends on what he was chuckling about;)
Grimreepah
15 May 2006, 02:37
Akermanis is still shooting his mouth off.
http://www.elders.com.au/noosa/files/frustration.jpg
For the love of god, WHY?
You're not doing anyone any favours, in particular yourself. Please, FFS, just keep a low profile for a little while.