View Full Version : Toughest Training Sessions

Santoz
11 May 2006, 18:24
Here's a thread I think might go well. This topic came up the other night at training so I guess I'll kickstart it ...

I was playing two's at the time and our one's lost a few games on the trot and the coach was questioning a few players commitment so at the start of the night basically that the night was going to be hard and if you didn't like it then you could head elsewhere. We did the usual warm up followed by a few short drills, then a series of about 10 short 50m sprints. We then had to do 200m sprints down the wing in pairs followed by a jog back to the middle of the ground, 10 push ups, 10 sit ups and jog back to the start and repeated the dose 8 times. After some hard contested work I nearly fell over when he he coach told us we had 20 laps to finish the night. Noone was to leave the track if they hadn't done their 20 laps.

That's probably my hardest night on the track, surely there's some harder one's than that out there ...

madpie
11 May 2006, 18:44
Did preseason at sandringham a few years ago when tom alvin was coach.I arrived back to melbourne from a stint in the sanfl thinking i had maintained a good fitness level over summer.First night of training after running ten laps we did a running drill which consisted of 50 50s,25 100s,10 200s,5 400s i have never spewed so much in all my life

melbdocker
11 May 2006, 19:35
one tue night after losing all 3 grades to Lalor footy club i was at my club diamond creek its one of the biggest ovals in local footy we had to do 5 laps of hard running, indian file and sprints around the ground which is about 500+ metres i think we touched the footies for about 15 min that night worst part was we were sitting about 5th and they didnt lose a game all season in there 1's and 2's and won the 3rd prems that yr

FOOZ
12 May 2006, 16:01
had a mate of mine who played for the Eagles in the CMFL many years ago for the whole training they consistantly ran 400s with bullet proof jackets on. There coach was a cop.

WRFLfan
12 May 2006, 16:11
Did preseason at sandringham a few years ago when tom alvin was coach.I arrived back to melbourne from a stint in the sanfl thinking i had maintained a good fitness level over summer.First night of training after running ten laps we did a running drill which consisted of 50 50s,25 100s,10 200s,5 400s i have never spewed so much in all my life
Madpie you win hands down, thats 7.5 kms of sprints massive efforts.

wobbler
12 May 2006, 16:17
My toughest was down at the pub we had to down 50 pots and 6 steak sangas

Ibis100
12 May 2006, 16:37
SERT selection. Never done anything like it and never will again.

3 days/72 hours, no sleep, constant running and push ups whilst carrying 20kg of food and water over Hills and Mountains, being told you are the lowest of all beings on earth. (Which we probably were)

Follow that up 4 weeks later with a further 14 weeks of 8 hr days doing the same bloody thing.

Fittest I have ever been.

If you know the SAS selection, it is based very very closely on that.

HEEEEELLLLLLLLL.

wobbler
12 May 2006, 16:38
Your full of it ibis wake up to yourself mate and smell the cheese

Ibis100
12 May 2006, 16:43
Your full of it ibis wake up to yourself mate and smell the cheese

My friend, you have no idea who I am or what I have done. Those who do know me know I speak the truth.

Do you have any idea what SERT is?

Wayne Weideman
12 May 2006, 16:43

3 days/72 hours, no sleep, constant running and push ups whilst carrying 20kg of food and water over Hills and Mountains, being told you are the lowest of all beings on earth. (Which we probably were)

Follow that up 4 weeks later with a further 14 weeks of 8 hr days doing the same bloody thing.

HEEEEELLLLLLLLL.

tosser:thumbsd:

FOOZ
12 May 2006, 16:48

HEEEEELLLLLLLLL.

ALL FOR FOOTBALL TRAINING.. UNBELIEVABLE... NO I MEAN REALLY UNBELIEVABLE!!!!:cool:

Snoozer
12 May 2006, 16:48
Aparently Numurkah footy club lost a game once and were made to push a bus around town in their underpants.

Ibis100
12 May 2006, 16:53
ALL FOR FOOTBALL TRAINING.. UNBELIEVABLE... NO I MEAN REALLY UNBELIEVABLE!!!!:cool:

It said toughest training session, not toughest trainging session at football.

judburyjets
12 May 2006, 17:22
Madpie you win hands down, thats 7.5 kms of sprints massive efforts.

9km actually champ, good effort though

judburyjets
12 May 2006, 17:24
When i was playing for a club in the old Scholars down here, we shared a ground with the Tas U18 (mariners) and they had to do 100 100's one night, took them about 3 hours... Bit harsh to put the kids through it, it is only footy after all.

charlie_mcw
12 May 2006, 18:07
Lake Boga 1993. Mid season, after a particularly bad loss to Tyntynder, Coach Rod Wardle ordered a 5am meeting at Lake Boga the next morning. The team was forced to swim in the lake, out to a buoy and back, in near frozen water. One of the more bizarre incidents to happen that year, but must have done the trick, as the team went on to beat Swan Hill the following week.

madpie
15 May 2006, 22:27
mate of mine coaches kerang(shawn filo) they got beaten last year and shawn thought that his players didnt work hard enough so after they arrived back at kerangs ground that saturday night he made them train for a couple of hours.

VCFL MAN
15 May 2006, 22:53

HEEEEELLLLLLLLL.

BULLBULLBULLBULLBULLBULLBULLBULLBULLBULLBULLBULLBULLBULLBULL BULLBULL

numba4
15 May 2006, 23:11
My toughest was down at the pub we had to down 50 pots and 6 steak sangas

Hell and thats jsut training haha

The Nest
16 May 2006, 12:05

HEEEEELLLLLLLLL.

I know Ibis personally and he is not talking Bull:D:D:D:D gents.

bench warmer
16 May 2006, 12:13
I know Ibis personally and he is not talking Bull:D:D:D:D gents.

Maybe not, but he is still full of himself:thumbsd:

chalkie
16 May 2006, 22:56
mate of mine coaches kerang(shawn filo) they got beaten last year and shawn thought that his players didnt work hard enough so after they arrived back at kerangs ground that saturday night he made them train for a couple of hours.

Something slightly different to a physically challenging session, however very similar to what Shaun did. After a 80 point win against the bottom side our coach was p i s s e d off with our performance so he made us run back to our home ground ( 500 m away) and run 10 laps and yell out each others names, as the coach didn't think we talked or worked hard enough. Very embarrassing considering we then showered and went back to the oppositions social rooms to have a few drinks.

EDFL MAN
16 May 2006, 23:04

HEEEEELLLLLLLLL.

Ibis100, three letters for you son.......... T J F ! :eek: :D :thumbsu:

Ibis100
17 May 2006, 17:32
Ibis100, three letters for you son.......... T J F ! :eek: :D :thumbsu:

Yes it is, and that is why I am no longer in TJ.:thumbsu: :D

davefromjerra
18 May 2006, 15:48
We used to have an army guy called Dicko in our side. He was a pretty fit sort of a guy, so one night our coach decided to let him take training.

After running us ragged for an hour he decided we needed to toughen up. So we stood in two lines 10 metres apart, one line numbered 1 to 12 and the other 12 to 1. Dicko put a ball in the middle. When your number was called you had to get the ball. Tough enough when you were in the middle of the line (where I was fortunately) and five metres from the ball, but the poor guys at the end were smashing into each other from 20 metres.

After 4 guys got injured, the coach called a halt and that was the end of Dicko's coaching career.

WRFLfan
18 May 2006, 16:13
Yes it is, and that is why I am no longer in TJ.:thumbsu: :D
Is that police talk

EDFL MAN
18 May 2006, 17:28
Is that police talk

No.....lol :D

Macca29
18 May 2006, 17:32
No.....lol :D

R what is T J F champ?

Macca29
18 May 2006, 17:43
Something slightly different to a physically challenging session, however very similar to what Shaun did. After a 80 point win against the bottom side our coach was p i s s e d off with our performance so he made us run back to our home ground ( 500 m away) and run 10 laps and yell out each others names, as the coach didn't think we talked or worked hard enough. Very embarrassing considering we then showered and went back to the oppositions social rooms to have a few drinks.

Chalkie have you played in the Central Murray League before.

TuskenRaider
19 May 2006, 10:19
After a 80 point win against the bottom side our coach was p i s s e d off with our performance so he made us run back to our home ground ( 500 m away) and run 10 laps and yell out each others names, as the coach didn't think we talked or worked hard enough. .
Not under the "toughest training sessions" headline but a strange one, we had to do a similar thing years ago (at training though, not after a game).

The coach obviously thought our talk wasn't good enough. At training on the Tuesday night he just ordered the whole group to jog together continuously up and down the ground from goal line to goal line and he would tell us when to stop.

The group didn't know what was going on and after running about 15minutes (pretty much in silence), an assistant coach came out and said something along the lines of "you better start talking or you'll be running up and down this ground for an hour or more". The talk started up, we ran a couple more and then he called us in.

As I said, not tough, but at the time it was certainly weird, and the coach's point was well made.

head67
19 May 2006, 10:43
My friend, you have no idea who I am or what I have done. Those who do know me know I speak the truth.

Do you have any idea what SERT is? What i run into the TAB with every sat?

Squeaky
19 May 2006, 12:35
What i run into the TAB with every sat?
Ha ha!!!

Wayne Weideman
19 May 2006, 15:20
Not under the "toughest training sessions" headline but a strange one, we had to do a similar thing years ago (at training though, not after a game).

The coach obviously thought our talk wasn't good enough. At training on the Tuesday night he just ordered the whole group to jog together continuously up and down the ground from goal line to goal line and he would tell us when to stop.

The group didn't know what was going on and after running about 15minutes (pretty much in silence), an assistant coach came out and said something along the lines of "you better start talking or you'll be running up and down this ground for an hour or more". The talk started up, we ran a couple more and then he called us in.

As I said, not tough, but at the time it was certainly weird, and the coach's point was well made.

who was that playing for tusken raider?

Dropkicker
19 May 2006, 15:32
This is somewhat off the topic but I thought I would throw it in anyway.

A couple of years back I was playing for a team in Melbourne. We were playing down on the bay and our coach made us get out on the beach in our playing kit for our pre-game warm up. He started carrying on a bit and drew a big line in the sand and said there is a war on today, we have to cross the line, etc, etc. He then proceeded to walk out into the water up to his chest and started shouting "who is willing to cross the line with me today....we need commitment......etc). We stood there looking at each other blankly until finally someone followed him out there. So there we all were out in the water in the middle of July in our full playing gear. We played the first half soaking wet and lost by ten goals. Very bloody strange coach - some ex army dude or something. Have never seen the opposition so confused though.

clicketyclix
19 May 2006, 17:01

A couple of years back I was playing for a team in Melbourne. We were playing down on the bay and our coach made us get out on the beach in our playing kit for our pre-game warm up. He started carrying on a bit and drew a big line in the sand and said there is a war on today, we have to cross the line, etc, etc. He then proceeded to walk out into the water up to his chest and started shouting "who is willing to cross the line with me today....we need commitment......etc). We stood there looking at each other blankly until finally someone followed him out there. So there we all were out in the water in the middle of July in our full playing gear. We played the first half soaking wet and lost by ten goals. Very bloody strange coach - some ex army dude or something. Have never seen the opposition so confused though.

:D:D:D:Da

Ibis100
19 May 2006, 18:43
R what is T J F champ?

T = The
J = Jobs
F = F u c k ed

soapyJNR
22 May 2006, 00:57
This one comes under wierd and tough..
Many moons ago our coach supplemented his coaching income as a farm hand for a chicken farmer..Our team had lost a game we should have won and we were not very accountable for our opponents as punishment we were met at training on Tuesday night by the local school bus where we were piled on and driven to the previously mentioned farmers chicken sheds.
Turned out that the 1000 free-range chooks had to be loaded onto a truck.
The training session comprised of the 30 odd blokes having to cath 30 or so chickens each. The first 10 or 15 were easy but as the numbers dwindled the chooks had more romm to run and dart and the legs certainly did burn.
The up side was the club got some coin from the farmer and we won the next week, thank god as there were a couple of thousand more chooks that needed to be moved over the following couple of weeks and didn't the coach hang that over our heads if we lost.
I still laugh about it when I sit down to a feed of chicken......

Bingle_21
1 Jun 2006, 10:47

Yes dropkicker believe I played in the same game also. Down at Williamstown. Was in fact the captain not the coach, the guy was an ex army guy and very passionate. We did get beaten convincingly that day but kicked 10 goals to 0 in the last quarter. Will never forget emptying the wet sand out of my boots after the game. Had holes in both boots so they filled with sand and sea water when we went in. Also the captain made us go to our opponents when we lined up and tell them what we just did, my opponenet thought it was pretty funny.

ringo1
1 Jun 2006, 11:01
Heard that a guy who coached Coleambally had the players tow a car around town with ropes attached to their bodies. He then put them in the back of a van blind-folded and drove them out of town. He let them out and took the blind-folds off and made them run back to the ground. Only problem was that they were lost and it took them a couple of hours to get back.They were not impressed.:thumbsu:

head67
1 Jun 2006, 13:19
Bloke up in the riverina some years ago in his first coaching year decided after yet another loss that the lads were'nt fit enough and told the boys to bring runners tuesday night. Took them on a 10k road run out of town. Didn't inform anyone of there destination or orgsanise a pick up. Run turned to 20k. Coach sacked mid year.

ringo1
1 Jun 2006, 13:36
Not the same bloke head67????

fish1
1 Jun 2006, 13:58
I have two to throw in there one was an under age team that had to run 10K every tues ontop of training and if you didn't go tues u wld complete it on the wednes, this happened every week including grand final week which we one in a canter. May have been those extra runs?

The second just happened out at east burwood where we had a list of things to bring to training incl a 20L bucket, 2 bricks and photos of loved ones. We then had to run 400's carrying the bricks, then 200's carrying the bucket full of water and to finish off we had to run laps in groups of 6 carrying another one of our players around with us. The photos were there to show us wat we were playing for.

head67
1 Jun 2006, 22:41
Not the same bloke head67????could be ringo Not sure.

localfootyguru
1 Jun 2006, 23:52
could be ringo Not sure.

Hey head,

What club was that??? Perhaps you can give me a clue??

cfscores
2 Jun 2006, 15:12
Aparently Numurkah footy club lost a game once and were made to push a bus around town in their underpants.

Snoozer,

If you're who I think you are, you would have painful memories like myself of running phosphates during preseason!

Cheers,

CFScores:)

M.WEBBER
2 Jun 2006, 15:38
Snoozer,

If you're who I think you are, you would have painful memories like myself of running phosphates during preseason!

Cheers,

CFScores:)

Great thread this one men!

My toughest encounter was with TOC(Touch of Class/To touch his mum's arse) mum, with the box smell she has, l don't wish that upon anyone! :eek:
It was one long pre season.

cantbuyaflag
2 Jun 2006, 15:57
Great thread this one men!

My toughest encounter was with TOC(Touch of Class/To touch his mum's arse) mum, with the box smell she has, l don't wish that upon anyone! :eek:
It was one long pre season.

U really need some help goose....
U love c o c k... dont ya???:eek:

M.WEBBER
2 Jun 2006, 16:06
U really need some help goose....
U love c o c k... dont ya???:eek:

cantbuyafag y6ou need to really get a life feral one!
As for loving c ock just ask you mum if she does! :eek:

cantbuyaflag
2 Jun 2006, 16:10
cantbuyafag y6ou need to really get a life feral one!
As for loving c ock just ask you mum if she does! :eek:

I do look at the stuff u write u make me laugh...
Ill keep following u goose....
Tell her i said hi....
Sorry mate she doesnt go for boys....:D