View Full Version : Akermanis
Stafford678
11 May 2006, 20:13
If aker was to leave brisbane at the end of the year, what would you feel about him becoming a tiger, obviusly we wouldnt want our 1st pick given up, but id happy to see an experianced player like acker in our team as long.
I reckon we have a heap of good solid youngsters on our list allready and our experiance comes from richo, johnson, staff, bowden, gaspar , AK and tiv
Gaspar and Stafford are probably certaintys to eiether retire or be cut at the end of the year. I reckon aker has at least 3 years in him left and is a class player. If we could offload krakouer and rodan with a pick or somthing for him id be extremely pleased but one can only dream :p
The Dice Man
11 May 2006, 20:15
No way.
Wouldn't want him anywhere near our kids and he'd be asking for a packet.
No thanks.
rfctigerarmy
11 May 2006, 20:40
No thanks.
Hes 30 next year.
Darth_Tiger
11 May 2006, 20:58
i would take him, but on our terms. if he wants a new challenge to fire up for his last few years he could be extremely good value. but i wouldnt be passing over anything too valuable, and i wouldnt be paying him a kings ransom either, so that would most likely rule us out of the dealing.
North Melb is the place to head for when your past is behind you.
Richmond is the future. We want to develop our own champions, not take used goods.
Aker = Hudson
rfctigerarmy
11 May 2006, 21:19
Richmond is the future. We want to develop our own champions, not take used goods.
Aker = Hudson
Not quite like Hudson I dont think mate, but the rest I agree with.
Our youth. Our future.
sorry but this thread is garb just like aker :D
tomthetiger
11 May 2006, 22:09
Hes a good player, many people seem to forget. I dont think age is the factor, its the form of Aker that would shy many people away, but I personally believe his bad form is due to his lack of friendship with his club.
Bentleigh
11 May 2006, 22:12
N Brown will be our old, dodgy HFF next season.
Dont need Aka.
camsmith
12 May 2006, 01:33
Yep. Just like we took Graham last year... would teach the kids alot of lessons.
I'ld have him for a year or two.. not for a high price though!
Wally Matera
12 May 2006, 04:01
would teach the kids alot of lessons.!
Like, how to be f...cking clown?
No way, you are kidding yourself if you think he would be a good influence on the kids. This is a guy that put himself up for trade 3 days before a grand final, as purely a self-interest in building his pay packet for the next season.
Teach our kids how to screw the club over... look at the state the Lions list looks like at the moment. This seriosuly could be us in 10 years if our draft picks end up being guns. He's a selfish whore.
Akermanis... no f...cking way! :rolleyes:
He's an absolute star and one of my favourite non-Richmond players, but I'd have to fight my bias and say Aker wouldn't be exactly needed, particularly if he wanted a lot of money.
That being said, at his best he is ridiculously brilliant, so to see him in a Richmond jumper would be something I'd love. I guess I'm not fussed either way. What I do know is I wouldn't want to give any high draft picks away for him.
Aker would probably be more useful to a club that is very close to a premiership anyway, or are near abouts. Clubs like Geelong, St Kilda etc (although Thomas made it clear Aker doesn't meet St Kilda's requirements for players brought in, i.e at least playing 5 years or 100 games for the club).
I like Aker but in no way would I want him at the club next season. You've gotta remember that we would have to give something decent to get something (half)decent. That would mean either players or draft picks. Draft picks will be like gold in this year's draft. The top 20 is perhaps the best ever (I know that's what they say every year, but there were players last year that clubs wanted to take in the top 10 that were too young). Aker, great servant and great for game. In a day and age where robots and clones speak in front of the camera, Aker is refreshing. But having him at tigerland...please! Kids, kids, kids and more kids (and no, I'm not Michael Jackson). Bring em on.
He's an absolute star and one of my favourite non-Richmond players, but I'd have to fight my bias and say Aker wouldn't be exactly needed, particularly if he wanted a lot of money.
That being said, at his best he is ridiculously brilliant, so to see him in a Richmond jumper would be something I'd love. I guess I'm not fussed either way. What I do know is I wouldn't want to give any high draft picks away for him.
Aker would probably be more useful to a club that is very close to a premiership anyway, or are near abouts. Clubs like Geelong, St Kilda etc (although Thomas made it clear Aker doesn't meet St Kilda's requirements for players brought in, i.e at least playing 5 years or 100 games for the club).Aker does not fit into where our club is heading .
Agree that he is/was a star , and would just about say he would be my favourite player out of a Richmond guernsey also .
We do not have the player/s to trade for him nor would we/should we give up a first round draft pick which would be the barest minimum to acquire a player like him .
Brisbane erred in a major way not looking at this last year . His value was still right up there but now it is somewhat tarnished . Could have got two first rounders for mine
Captain_Brown_7
12 May 2006, 09:55
NO F**KIN WAY!
Let him go to Collingwood.
I'd love to see the way those black and white skunks would start praising Aker when for years they have hated his guts. Would be a sight in itself...:D
Harvey Leadpipe
12 May 2006, 10:03
N Brown will be our old, dodgy HFF next season.
Dont need Aka.
Agree here Bents, and will add, N Brown is also our media guy or "clown" already. Richo occasionally pops his head up, and Browny is on everything you look at. Probably not such a big deal these days, but I'd prefer most of our lot to retain a fairly low profile until they actually achieve something. I'd rather the kids learn to concentrate on footy, rather than making a goose of yourself.
tigerdan
12 May 2006, 10:40
Sure i'd want him. He's a damn good player.
But would a guy like him want to move to Melbourne? I just can't see it.
For the right price there is no way that I would say no. It's not like he is Laurence Angwin FFS.
Doesn't make much sense to bring him to Richmond. We are a side that's still a few years off being a flag contender, by which time Aker would be gone, or at best on his last legs. We need to concentrate on building our side up from the bottom, not topping up.
CoggaRules
12 May 2006, 13:08
in building his pay packet for the next season.
Teach our kids how to screw the club over... look at the state the Lions list looks like at the moment. This seriosuly could be us in 10 years if our draft picks end up being guns. He's a selfish whore.
Akermanis... no f...cking way! :rolleyes:
Aker wont come to the tiges, and its not because we dont want him, evey other side would want an Aker in the team. Swans will get him, they always get that type of player, the AFL makes certain of that.
But back to your ridiculous post, well i am looking at the state of teh lions after 10 years and right now, we would bend over, if we had the first 8 years of those 10 years, you talk of. Naaa, bend over is to light, we would bend over and part them and not even bring the KY, for that.
You tend to end up with a list like the Lions have, when you end up with a cabinet holding a bit of silverware, dont you ?;)
Thrice3
12 May 2006, 14:37
No, if we were to get him it would be a 'topping up' our list scheme again, and in 02 that failed miserably.
Kids over washed up players.
Pass.
True Thylacine
12 May 2006, 14:39
In a word "NO". Why...cos footy is not only about skill and ability it is also about attitude off the field and team culture. Sadly Aker only fits the first one.
turtle27
12 May 2006, 15:09
Not for me, the risk is to high I think, still a very skillful player, and maybe a change of club might get his head right, but I think this club has moved on from recruiting the Aaron James' of the world.
Our youth. Our future.
Says it all really
Truetiger
12 May 2006, 15:49
Aker = Hudson
Agree I would not wanna give up a young kid for him
Harvey Leadpipe
12 May 2006, 16:01
Aker wont come to the tiges, and its not because we dont want him, evey other side would want an Aker in the team. Swans will get him, they always get that type of player, the AFL makes certain of that.
But back to your ridiculous post, well i am looking at the state of teh lions after 10 years and right now, we would bend over, if we had the first 8 years of those 10 years, you talk of. Naaa, bend over is to light, we would bend over and part them and not even bring the KY, for that.
You tend to end up with a list like the Lions have, when you end up with a cabinet holding a bit of silverware, dont you ?;)
Isn't that what we've been copping for the last 25 years Cogga. Except for '95 and '01, where they at least used a ribbed deal, "for our pleasure".
CoggaRules
12 May 2006, 16:20
Isn't that what we've been copping for the last 25 years Cogga. Except for '95 and '01, where they at least used a ribbed deal, "for our pleasure".
naaa, i for one wouldnt let them, especially in the Walls and Spud years, you know there were the blinded that thought Spud was just a great guy who we couldnt get rid of, because you dont do that to great guys? well, he put one through us and we didnt even feel it going in, he had the rest of the footy world feeling sorry for him, when say if the Pies had him as a caoch, he would have had to wear 3 rain coats, do you know what i mean?
But what i am saying is, if we were assured of 10 years of what the lions just had, i am telling ya man, forget the ribbed stuff, all you would hear from the tigerheads is deeper aaaahhh and stuff the draft picks, we will deal with them when we go downt he bottom, like the strucutre of the draft system makes sure you do when you win 3 flags in a row.
Long range tip from the Cog, Lethal will get the ass before Aker, seen the way Lethal works, he jumps onto a soon to be winner, getst the job done, re. flags, then when its time for him to show that he knows JS about picking out young guns, you get the standard in club sh-ite fight and see ya later alligator. Has a rest in the media and will wait for Clarko to get the ass,when the dawks are about baked and ready for the cream. Get the drift? ;)
long_live_alstey
12 May 2006, 16:58
Trade him for Nathan Brown.
Brown will never be what he was again & Aker has another 5 good years in him.
prettyboy
12 May 2006, 17:12
Hes hair & beard will match our top if he does happen to be traded to richmond which i dont think will happen anyway
The Dice Man
12 May 2006, 18:00
naaa, i for one wouldnt let them, especially in the Walls and Spud years, you know there were the blinded that thought Spud was just a great guy who we couldnt get rid of, because you dont do that to great guys? well, he put one through us and we didnt even feel it going in, he had the rest of the footy world feeling sorry for him, when say if the Pies had him as a caoch, he would have had to wear 3 rain coats, do you know what i mean?
But what i am saying is, if we were assured of 10 years of what the lions just had, i am telling ya man, forget the ribbed stuff, all you would hear from the tigerheads is deeper aaaahhh and stuff the draft picks, we will deal with them when we go downt he bottom, like the strucutre of the draft system makes sure you do when you win 3 flags in a row.
Long range tip from the Cog, Lethal will get the ass before Aker, seen the way Lethal works, he jumps onto a soon to be winner, getst the job done, re. flags, then when its time for him to show that he knows JS about picking out young guns, you get the standard in club sh-ite fight and see ya later alligator. Has a rest in the media and will wait for Clarko to get the ass,when the dawks are about baked and ready for the cream. Get the drift? ;)
Who told you about paragraphs??? :eek::eek: :eek: ;) ;)
Big Punt
12 May 2006, 18:11
No way.
Aka is a malaka.
feelthetribalfever
12 May 2006, 18:18
NO, NO and NO again
tigerdan
12 May 2006, 18:57
A few questions.
How old was Ian Stewart when he went to Richmond?
Is drafting Aker that much different from drafting Nathan Brown?
If it all comes down to him being 30 then fine. But it seems more that people don't like his up himself attitude than his age.
I say we just offer a fairly low price and take our chances. No need in selling the house to get him - but I defy anyone to say he wouldn't get a game for us.
I say we just offer a fairly low price and take our chances. No need in selling the house to get him - but I defy anyone to say he wouldn't get a game for us.Look mate ... if we could get him for nothing worse than a second round draft pick then i would defineately look at it, but that just aint gonna happen hence my lack of interest.
If Brisbane were going to let him go for that price then you would have 15 clubs going the full cage match to get him .
No way in the world you would trade a quality youngster for him , especially with the culture we are trying to grow at the minute . First round pick ? no Frawleyin way .
Dosn`t leave to many options where Aker is concerned ... as much as i think he is a star
If Aker was going for a song and he had 15 clubs after him, you reckon he'd choose to come to us?
Darth_Tiger
12 May 2006, 19:58
not likely. i reckon there would be a few clubs willing to part with a first round pick for him so that rules him out for us i would say.
tigerdan
12 May 2006, 20:03
Hang on a sec guys - the question was would we want him, not would we want to pay over the odds for him.
It's like going to a market - you pretend you're not very interested. If Brisbane must get rid of him, we offer them 2 rupiah and walk away.
This is a no brainer. We don't *need* him, but if we get him for cheap, everyone's a winner!
If Collingwood wanna sell the farm to get him they can go right ahead. We learnt our lesson from Gaspar, and I am not advocating going back down that path.
Darth_Tiger
12 May 2006, 21:37
well if that is the question then the answer is a simple 'yes'.
Bojangles17
12 May 2006, 23:37
irrespective of the draft choice required to pick him up , he would command a hefty $$$$ seeing his contract is still live for another season. In my mind he is well and truly gone and would be simply marching time not too dissimilar to campo with essendon:thumbsd:
Thats a pretty fair call Bo
You definately have to question the guys passion and hunger to continue on at the highest level . Realistically , he has achieved everything that a player can achieve on field , and i mean everything .
His only motivation to keep playing would be $$$ and to stick it up Matthews.
Do we want this at our club ?
After much reflection .... Pass