View Full Version : Sick of Innuendo!
Lady Lawrence
12 May 2006, 12:35
http://www.thecouriermail.news.com.au/story/0,20797,19107936-5003410,00.html
http://www.thecouriermail.news.com.au/story/0,20797,19107029-10389,00.html
These give you the option to comment at the end of the story. Please take the time to do so. I am sick and tired of these hack journalists making crap up.
I am so angry at the word choices used etc etc.
"LIONS coach Leigh Matthews has sacked star Jason Akermanis, a move that will almost certainly ensure a one-way ticket out of the club for the Brownlow medallist."
If this is the writers opinion he shoudl say so. And Aker hasn't been "sacked"!! Every flippin player on the list would have been sacked at some point then and we would have no team left!
"He may choose to recall the Brownlow medallist if he feels the embarrassment of his public axing last night had hammered home the need to fall into line with club rules"
Who said? Does this guy know Leigh's thoughts!
"But while Akermanis's demotion is more about off-field issues, Leppitsch is purely a victim of poor form and the absence of a suitable match-up."
Did this guy not see the Vossy interview - 90% form - 10% other stuff.
Tell this hack Andrew Hamilton what you think of his writing!
Or if you disagree with me I would love to hear your thoughts.
Rawhead
12 May 2006, 13:21
The Medias victimisation of the Lions these last two years has been deplorable.
They're taking obvious delight in seeing a non victorian club apprently 'hit the skids' for a while. I dunno, maybe it makes them feel better about the turmoil and underperformance of certain Victorian clubs, takes the focus off them for a while.
The Medias victimisation of the Lions these last two years has been deplorable.
They're taking obvious delight in seeing a non victorian club apprently 'hit the skids' for a while. I dunno, maybe it makes them feel better about the turmoil and underperformance of certain Victorian clubs, takes the focus off them for a while....and where is "the Courier Mail" based ?
hawkeye23
12 May 2006, 13:47
...and where is "the Courier Mail" based ?
Damn. Beat me to it. I've seen SFA about it all down here. What about you, IDGAF?
Andrew hamilton has only been doing the footy with the Courier this year.
Interesting.
Rawhead
12 May 2006, 13:50
Actually the Courier mails reporting, while on a similar bent, has been much better in this regard from what I've seen than the Age or the Sun's reporting.
Can't agree with that.
Hammo has been the chief offender as far as I've seen.
Rawhead
12 May 2006, 14:09
To be honest I dont read it that much. :o
The few articles I have read had at least some attempt at fleshing out the story with something akin to facts.
The Flying Belgian
12 May 2006, 14:11
Can't agree with that.
Hammo has been the chief offender as far as I've seen.
He's proving a master at putting words in other peoples mouths. Have a look at this story of the Lions draft chances come end-of year (http://www.thecouriermail.news.com.au/story/0,20797,19095391-5003410,00.html) and the first paragraph in particular where it says:
MARK down the name Bryce Gibbs. Gibbs is just 17, stands 188cm tall and is 75kg dripping wet, but he's the player the Lions believe can spark the club back to its former glory.
How does he know the Lions believe that? There's no other quotes in the article. No mention of sources. Pure BS.
Agree with LL, it's shirthouse journalism. If this is how it's going to be, bring back Carts!!!
He's proving a master at putting words in other peoples mouths. Have a look at this story of the Lions draft chances come end-of year (http://www.thecouriermail.news.com.au/story/0,20797,19095391-5003410,00.html) and the first paragraph in particular where it says:
How does he know the Lions believe that? There's no other quotes in the article. No mention of sources. Pure BS.
Agree with LL, it's shirthouse journalism. If this is how it's going to be, bring back Carts!!!
I read that article the other day and couldn't believe it. How many stars have to align before Brisbane would get Bryce Gibbs? We don't know where Gibbs will be ranked by recruiters at year's end, where Brisbane will finish at year's end, what Brisbane's drafting requirements are, whether we will trade our first pick (please no!)...the list goes on and on.
This is silly tabloid journalism befitting a News Ltd publication..."Journalism for the Lowest Common Denominator" is clearly a compulsory subject for journo degrees these days.
Grimreepah
12 May 2006, 18:59
This doesn't annoy me so much. Leigh Matthews has stated we are after a class midfielder, and rather than Hamilton saying 'it is presumed' etc, he has joined the dots. This is something we all do. Sometimes a slight inaccuracy can save yourself a hell of a lot of explanation.
I understand what you are saying, and as a journalist you should be professional to get things right, because I don't believe the Lions would have made any comments on Gibbs yet. Maybe it does not annoy me, because it is not a comment I find objectionable (ie. it may well be true).
But there are comments that annoy me. The most recent have been the 'leak' saga. The media just presumed that Leigh blamed Aka, or that it was Aka. The reason this annoyed me is because it created disunity among the supporters, and it became a bit of a Leigh camp versus the Akermanis camp, when there was no reason to have to choose.
Brisbane are not the first club who have the journos hovering like vultures over them. In fact it is a lot worse in Melbourne. But as long as the supporters stay firm then it doesn't matter. The strength of a club is not dictated by what the journos say about them, it is dictated by the strength of the support they receive. We have to remember that the journos do this to every club and our change in fortunes mean that it is our turn. But they are fickle. They will soon turn on someone else.
This doesn't annoy me so much. Leigh Matthews has stated we are after a class midfielder, and rather than Hamilton saying 'it is presumed' etc, he has joined the dots. This is something we all do. Sometimes a slight inaccuracy can save yourself a hell of a lot of explanation.
No, the point is, he's presenting the article as if this is stuff he knows firsthand. 'Sit down Hammo, and we'll run you through our 2006 draft strategy for your readers'.
As FB pointed out, he states 'Gibbs is just 17, stands 188cm tall and is 75kg dripping wet, but he's the player the Lions believe can spark the club back to its former glory.
There's no joining the dots there. No implication or creative license. He is bare-faced, straight up stating he is privvy to the beliefs of the Lions coaching/recruiting staff -- which is clearly bollocks.
Any cub journalist willing to spend 5 minutes online researching the article could have raised 4 or 5 names of likely onballers from from the recent irish tour. Instead he had to pretend he had friends in high places -- kinda reminds me of the unpopular school kid who swears till he's blue in the face that 'Bucks' is his uncle.
Why mention Gibbs at all? The only fact we can say with reasonable certainty is we would like a few midfielders. For all we know, Judd could fall out with Cousins and demand an out at any cost. West Coast want pick 1 and 17 to let it happen.
Dale Thomas was never pegged for 2. Hurn was supposed to be top 5. The draft is a fluid system in constant motion.
Whatever happens between now and then, I doubt the recruiters have any firm idea on who they'd prefer, let alone letting Hammo in on the secret.
This time last year it was Mitch Clark, Grae Grant and Travis Varcoe who were running close for the number one position. Six months later Mitch went at 9, Varcoe at 15 and Grae Grant did not even get drafted. To suggest that should Brisbane end up with the number one pick and Gibbs is the "lock in" monty is in Leigh's words ridiculous.
Hansen, Thorpe, Sellar and Gumbleton are names that have been mentioned for that top position at this stage. All KPP's.
Grimreepah
12 May 2006, 21:21
No, the point is, he's presenting the article as if this is stuff he knows firsthand. 'Sit down Hammo, and we'll run you through our 2006 draft strategy for your readers'.
As FB pointed out, he states 'Gibbs is just 17, stands 188cm tall and is 75kg dripping wet, but he's the player the Lions believe can spark the club back to its former glory.
There's no joining the dots there. No implication or creative license. He is bare-faced, straight up stating he is privvy to the beliefs of the Lions coaching/recruiting staff -- which is clearly bollocks.
Any cub journalist willing to spend 5 minutes online researching the article could have raised 4 or 5 names of likely onballers from from the recent irish tour. Instead he had to pretend he had friends in high places -- kinda reminds me of the unpopular school kid who swears till he's blue in the face that 'Bucks' is his uncle.
I understand where you're coming from and I agree with what you're saying, but it doesn't bother me because IMO it doesn't have an impact on the club. I suppose I'm just choosing my battles.
The Flying Belgian
12 May 2006, 22:17
I understand where you're coming from and I agree with what you're saying, but it doesn't bother me because IMO it doesn't have an impact on the club. I suppose I'm just choosing my battles.
Grim, it poos me off seeing sloppy or downright untrue journalism and this was just an example of writing without quotes, sources,etc.
What makes this so dangerous is when it comes to things like the Akermanis saga and people read what printed and beleive it.
I still thought there were some ethics left in print journalism, but I guess not for a young reporter who wants to make a name for himself.
Grimreepah
12 May 2006, 22:24
Grim, it poos me off seeing sloppy or downright untrue journalism and this was just an example of writing without quotes, sources,etc.
What makes this so dangerous is when it comes to things like the Akermanis saga and people read what printed and beleive it.
I still thought there were some ethics left in print journalism, but I guess not for a young reporter who wants to make a name for himself.
Fair enough. But does this not happen all the time? Do you get pooed off on each occaison?
With this guy, yes.
Look, everyone looks for a spin but this guy lifts the seam with a screwdriver.
Look at his this. Garry Lyon writes a frank but quite reasonable article on Voss and Archer -- being on Anzac Day it's topically titled 'Age Does Weary Them'
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,18916132%255E20121,00.html
What does Hammo do?
He thinks up the dodgiest tabloid headline he can titling it 'Lyon: Voss a Liability'.
http://www.thecouriermail.news.com.au/story/0,20797,18922486-5003410,00.html
Then two pages in write another 'think piece' saying 'aw,.. maybe Vossy CAN play'.
This was what Leigh has to say about it.
There are some 1500 accredited AFL media representatives, including 600 writers. And with countless pages of newspapers and websites to fill, the only thing of which we can be certain is that blank space will never be published.
On Anzac Day I awoke to read a report in The Courier-Mail of how Melbourne TV commentator Garry Lyon had suggested Vossy was a "liability" to the Lions and should give the game away.
I couldn't help but think that was especially harsh until I read Lyon's original column which said nothing about "Vossy" being a liability or retirement. Merely, he was an ageing player showing signs of decline, wrote the ex-Melbourne captain.
A few pages back was a comment piece by Andrew Hamilton suggesting the Lions captain was still a valuable player.
Put a misinterpreted spin on another commentator's words and then produce a piece rebutting the original story. Now that's a double whammy if ever there's been one – having your cake and eating it too.
This is the same guy who is Aker's ghost writer (as reported earlier in the week). So does he have an agenda much?
More shyte-stirring from the same writer in today's CM:
http://www.couriermail.news.com.au/story/0,20797,19120131-10389,00.html
This is the part that is a worry, if it's true:
Sources at the club have told The Courier-Mail that captain Michael Voss felt uncomfortable announcing his teammate's demotion to the reserves on Thursday but did so out of loyalty to Matthews.
Sources?
Surely the "sources" (plural) can't be Aker?
And if not, either Hamilton is just making things up as he goes along or there really is a "leak" operating on an agenda of his own.
Also, I have been wondering how long it would take before this aspect would be raised:
In other developments:
• Voss's revelation that Akermanis's comments to the media were a key factor in his demotion has raised questions about a possible breach of the dumped club champion's legal rights.
Let's hope the legal side of things doesn't start to get "legs" or things could get really nasty.
*Danni*
13 May 2006, 11:02
Sources?
Surely the "sources" (plural) can't be Aker?
I know how you feel. I cringed when I read that this morning. Actually we are just back from taking the boy to the Barber shop, and one guess what the topic of conversation was amongst all the folks in there this sunny Saturday morning.
Gotta say though, the general feel from the 10 odd blokes in there this morning was in complete agreeance with that article.
Grimreepah
13 May 2006, 11:06
More :D:D:D:D-stirring from the same writer in today's CM:
http://www.couriermail.news.com.au/story/0,20797,19120131-10389,00.html
Yes. You can tell he's on Akermanis' side, and that he wants to make Matthews look like the bad guy.
It's full of innuendo, and I object to it because it brings the club down. I am with TFB, xplo and yourself on this one.
*Danni*
13 May 2006, 11:11
Yes. You can tell he's on Akermanis' side, and that he wants to make Matthews look like the bad guy.
It's full of innuendo, and I object to it because it brings the club down. I am with TFB, xplo and yourself on this one.
So you are saying that this man has an agenda?
This is making me so sad because what this guy is writing is so completely untrue. He is just an inflammatory writer who is prolonging this whole issue. His articles are what you would expect in a trashy mag. Look at what he did to Vossy from Gary Lyons article.
It's just not right and it's making people become disillusioned in our great club.
Here's that 'think piece' Hammo wrote on the same day he willfully misquoted Lyon.
http://www.thecouriermail.news.com.au/story/0,20797,18922485-5003410,00.html
Lions cannot lose Voss
Andrew Hamilton
April 25, 2006
FORGET sentiment, although in Michael Voss's case it is hard to ignore. The simple question is: Are the Lions a better side with or without their skipper?
When mounting a case for his defence against calls he should give the game away, it is tempting to mention Voss's history of injuries, the uncompromising way he has played his footy and the toll it has taken on his body, his age and his loyal service to the club over 272 games – tempting, but unnecessary.
Voss is still one of the Lions' best players. That may be an indication of how the side is travelling, but so what? Things would be worse without him. A lot worse.
What a first class nob.
Hammo, you are under notice, bud.
Every time you trot out rubbish like this, rest assured it's going to be thoughtfully and diligently exposed, scutinized and ridiculed for the garbage it is. I can, however, assure you that any analysis of your performance will at least stick firmly to direct quotes, established facts and opinions attributed only to the author.
Reputations are a long time making but not a long time breaking. Figure out how many of your readers come here.
Grimreepah
13 May 2006, 14:54
So you are saying that this man has an agenda?
Yes.
He's trying to paint his mate, Aka, in the best possible light, and he's happy to bring everyone else down to do it.
*Danni*
13 May 2006, 15:04
Yes.
He's trying to paint his mate, Aka, in the best possible light, and he's happy to bring everyone else down to do it.
I think that is a pretty big call to make.
Personally I think the reality of the situation is someone in between what is eminating from the club and what is being reported in the media. Team morale is not as bad as it is being made out to be either. But yes, there are obviously some issues there at the moment. It's not all sweetness and roses down there at present. If it was, none of this would be an issue as it wouldn't be happening.
Grimreepah
13 May 2006, 16:08
I think that is a pretty big call to make.
Personally I think the reality of the situation is someone in between what is eminating from the club and what is being reported in the media. Team morale is not as bad as it is being made out to be either. But yes, there are obviously some issues there at the moment. It's not all sweetness and roses down there at present. If it was, none of this would be an issue as it wouldn't be happening.
IMO the crux of the article is that Akermanis hasn't done anything wrong, and that he's being treated terribly because Leigh Matthews forced Michael Voss to make a speech, and that it all comes down to Matthews' dislike of Aka. The whole thing has been poorly handled (evidenced by the 'inconsistencies' between Voss' and Matthews' statements) and to sack Aka may indeed be illegal. The supporters can see this and support Aka all the way. Plenty of people are interested in Aka's signature if the dumbasses at Brisbane don't want him.
Hence, that is why I think AH has an agenda.
Warwick
13 May 2006, 17:10
I am loving this thread. ANDREW HAMILTON IS A DEAD-SET DRIP. I can't stand the guy!! He clearly doesn't know anything about AFL - the way he writes, and what he writes indicates to me he just started following the game when Brisbane were winning premierships. Have a read of some of his early articles - hasn't got a clue about the game.
It is like the Courier Mail needed a journalist to keep up with the growing interest in aussie rules in Qld, and insetad of picking someone who has followed the game all their life, they end up with this pr1ck.
How do you get in contact with him - i need to vent my spleen immediately.
The Flying Belgian
13 May 2006, 17:16
A level-headed 'letter to the editor' may do the trick
Warwick
13 May 2006, 17:21
A level-headed 'letter to the editor' may do the trick
That's going to be a challenge.
*Danni*
13 May 2006, 17:27
And to think people used to complain about D. Cartwright! I don't recall him ever getting nigh on whole thread dedicated to him :D
The Flying Belgian
13 May 2006, 17:29
And to think people used to complain about D. Cartwright! I don't recall him ever getting nigh on whole thread dedicated to him :D
Yep, me included.
Come back Carts! All is forgiven buddy! :D
Grimreepah
13 May 2006, 17:36
That's going to be a challenge.
I won't hold it against you if you are unsuccessful.
Yep, me included.
Come back Carts! All is forgiven buddy! :D
Yeaaah. Whatever happened to good'ol Carts. Luv ya bud. I am sorry. I take everything I said about you back.:eek:
bullish23
13 May 2006, 18:07
I am loving this thread. ANDREW HAMILTON IS A DEAD-SET DRIP. I can't stand the guy!! He clearly doesn't know anything about AFL - the way he writes, and what he writes indicates to me he just started following the game when Brisbane were winning premierships. Have a read of some of his early articles - hasn't got a clue about the game.
It is like the Courier Mail needed a journalist to keep up with the growing interest in aussie rules in Qld, and insetad of picking someone who has followed the game all their life, they end up with this pr1ck.
Hamilton isn't from queensland and has only been in brisbane for a couple of years. So you are incorrect in assuming he has just started following afl since the lions started winning premierships. He is a long time football follwer. He actually plays footy at one of the local clubs in Brisbane. So you shouldn't make assumptions.
Look the lions have been great for 4 years. Towards the end of last year and this year, not so great. Whenever a team slides the media always smells a bit of blood and tend to sensationalise. Let me assure you its ten times worse in melbourne. Its just that Hamilton is a new journalist and therefore it looks like he has it in for the lions. I am sure if cartwright was still around he would be writing similar articles this year as to what Hamilton is. The lions have had a great run in the media for the past few years (and deservingly so) so I wouldn't be to disilluisioned.
What I will say on the current controversy is that it is pretty obvious that AKA and Leigh aren't best of mates. Robert Walls has been saying for years that AKA was getting away with what he says because the club was winning but was certain that Leigh wouldn't be so understanding if the club wasn't winning games of footy.
Personally I do agree with Hamilton in that it was pretty poor form that Voss had to tell AKA he was dropped and not Leigh. Surely its the coaches job to drop players when it is a matter of form, which leigh stated it was 50/50?
Grimreepah
13 May 2006, 18:12
Personally I do agree with Hamilton in that it was pretty poor form that Voss had to tell AKA he was dropped and not Leigh.
Voss didn't have to, he volunteered. Can you not see the reasons why he might have done this?
bullish23
13 May 2006, 18:19
Voss didn't have to, he volunteered. Can you not see the reasons why he might have done this?
Not really. I am all for the senior group issuing fines etc if a player steps out of line. However the selection of the team is down to the coach not the players.
Grimreepah
13 May 2006, 18:21
Not really. I am all for the senior group issuing fines etc if a player steps out of line. However the selection of the team is down to the coach not the players.
Voss stated that it was a decision reached by both the match committee and the leadership group.
Lady Lawrence
15 May 2006, 10:45
judging from the format of other mail addresses at the CM this might be the go
hamiltona@qnp.newsltd.com.au
judging from the format of other mail addresses at the CM this might be the go
hamiltona@qnp.newsltd.com.au
Too easy for him to just hit delete. Could be worth just sending him the link, although I'm not sure he needs it.
Yeaaah. Whatever happened to good'ol Carts. Luv ya bud. I am sorry. I take everything I said about you back.:eek:
Maybe nobody else noticed but good old Damien Barrett wrote a By-line (hope that's the right term) to Hamilton's "Lethal's Law" story on the back page of last Saturday's CM.
Barrett was probably even more scathing of Leigh matthews in his "Comment" column than Hamilton has been.
I wondered why Barrett suddenly resurfaced because I haven't seen anything from him in the cM for a long time.
Isn't he writing on Footy for a Melbourne paper these days?
I haven't been able to find Barrett's article on the CM web-site.
Can anyone provide a link to it?
Makes interesting reading.
The Flying Belgian
16 May 2006, 09:03
It'd be this article (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,19116253%255E19746,00.html). Barrett now wries for the Herald-Sun which along with the C-M is a News Ltd. paper. If they have anything that seem like it'd be of interest to us they'll print it up here too.
Grimreepah
16 May 2006, 10:14
this article (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,19116253%255E19746,00.html)
What a lousy article:thumbsd: God, journalists can be scum.
Isn't it funny how people change their ways when things get tough?
Um,.. no, Damo, it's actually known as 'normal adult behavior'.
It contrasts markedly with the expectations I have for my four year old which you might refer to in broad terms as the "It's not fair to tell your 4 year old he can have ice-cream and change your mind" argument.
Damo, Aka might be shortish and petulant, but the evidence is compelling that he's not four.
Welcome to...
HamoWATCH!
Havin' a good hard look at Andrew Hamilton
In all honesty, a reasonably accurate article by Hamo's standards -- the self-assured assertion of Matthews selection intentions being the major exception.
Since Leigh has made it 100% clear that he's pulled down the 'cone of silence' on the Aka issue, it seems most likely that Hamo got this information by busting into Leigh's car, hiding in the back and performing a 'vulcan mind-meld' on him as he drove home. Very resourceful.
I'm giving you an 8/10, but here are a few handy tools for next time that will get you a long way in this racket. They proceed down in credibility.
"It is understood that..."
"It is generally believed that..."
"Reliable sources have it that..."
"Unconfirmed rumours have abounded that..."
"This is made up, but I reckon that..."
Use them in good health, and looking forward to the next one. ;)
Aker's sticking points
Andrew Hamilton - The Courier Mail
May 18, 2006
INJURIES will determine how long Lions coach Leigh Matthews can continue to punish star player Jason Akermanis.
Matthews wants to extend Akermanis's exile another week and recall young gun Jed Adcock for Sunday's AFL clash with Port Adelaide, but doubts over the fitness of Ash McGrath, Robert Copeland, Michael Rischitelli and Adcock may influence his decision.
Adcock has not played since the pre-season after injuring his groin in the final week before the season opener against Geelong.
http://www.thecouriermail.news.com.au/story/0,20797,19168507-5003410,00.html
jmerino
18 May 2006, 12:06
Welcome to...
HamoWATCH!
In all honesty, a reasonably accurate article by Hamo's standards -- the self-assured assertion of Matthews selection intentions being the major exception.
Since Leigh has made it 100% clear that he's pulled down the 'cone of silence' on the Aka issue, it seems most likely that Hamo got this information by busting into Leigh's car, hiding in the back and performing a 'vulcan mind-meld' on him as he drove home. Very resourceful.
I'm giving you an 8/10, but here are a few handy tools for next time that will get you a long way in this racket. They proceed down in credibility.
"It is understood that..."
"It is generally believed that..."
"Reliable sources have it that..."
"Unconfirmed rumours have abounded that..."
"This is made up, but I reckon that..."
Use them in good health, and looking forward to the next one. ;)
http://www.thecouriermail.news.com.au/story/0,20797,19168507-5003410,00.html
Maybe Leigh told him.
Yes. Maybe he did.
But considering Leigh publicly attacked Hamilton in his own C-M column to such an extent that the paper felt compelled to publish a defence of Hamilton, I think the mind-meld seems more plausible. ;)
Editor's note: The Courier-Mail stands by the original piece. Leigh Matthews, like our AFL writer Andrew Hamilton, is entitled to his interpretation.
http://www.couriermail.news.com.au/story/0,20797,18959111-5003410,00.html
The Flying Belgian
18 May 2006, 15:59
Maybe Leigh told him.
If that wad the case, surely you'd include it in the story - more credibility that way.
Xplo, you forgot my favourite: "Sources at the Lions say....". This one's really effective as it implies that an employee of the club is the source, when it's more likely it's some bozo who goes to training regularly (no offence to the bozos I know who do this! :D ). Come to think of it, it could be Hamo quoting himself!
While we are on the topic of Hamo, was it him that Lethal "made an example of" in a recent press conference?
Went something like:
Reporter: Aker's performance in the reserves was pretty good.
Lethal: Did you watch the game?
Reporter (defensively): I saw highlights.
Lethal: Well, unless you watched the game. then you really can't comment.
I know this isn't completely accurate so if anyone has what was actually said, would be great if you could post it.
scott522
19 May 2006, 23:30
Belgian, just on your earlier post, Cantwright is better left off where he is - after the debacle at season end 2005...the gossip page is definitely more his style! Maybe Hamo should be his offsider there! :D
While we are on the topic of Hamo, was it him that Lethal "made an example of" in a recent press conference?
Went something like:
Reporter: Aker's performance in the reserves was pretty good.
Lethal: Did you watch the game?
Reporter (defensively): I saw highlights.
Lethal: Well, unless you watched the game. then you really can't comment.
I know this isn't completely accurate so if anyone has what was actually said, would be great if you could post it.
Didn't see the press conference tape, but it sounds precisely the sort of question Hamo would ask, and the answer he would get at the moment.
I'm certainly tipping he isn't getting too many 'goal-side handball receives' from our Lethal.;)
Welcome again to...
HamoWATCH!
C'mon Hamo, put in, matey, or you're looking at a demotion to the Kingaroy Mail.
Akermanis's demotion to the Suncoast LIons(their capitalisation) created an unprecedented supporter backlash last week but Matthews stuck to his guns, saying the team was bigger than the individual.
Where did you measure this 'unprecedented' supporter backlash, Hamo ?
Letters, email and calls to the club? (Are you telling us there's a leak in the Lions office?)
Courier Mail letter writers?
Phone calls from friends and Hamo admirers?
Blokes waiting to pay at the fish'n'chip shop?
A strange, but spookily-realistic dream you had last night?
Since you've said 'without predecent' it sounds like you have data from other incidents to compare against. Certainly you've made no attempt to pinpoint your source, and, gee, that would seem to be pretty important to your credibility in this issue.
Looks like more 'makey-uppey' to me, Hamo.
Also spent a long time looking for where Leigh supposedly said 'the team was bigger than the individual'. Is that another one those ones he only whispered to you and no-one else? -- boy, aren't you a lucky duck!
http://www.thecouriermail.news.com.au/story/0,20797,19195301-5003410,00.html
Andrew Stafford had a well-written piece from the Age this morning too.
Aka back for Lions but still on thin ice
By Andrew Stafford, Brisbane
May 20, 2006
JASON Akermanis has been named in the Brisbane Lions' team to face Port Adelaide at AAMI Stadium tomorrow despite coach Leigh Matthews publicly playing down his 27 possessions and five goals for the Suncoast Lions last weekend.
It was believed Matthews wanted to let Akermanis sweat it out in the reserves for a second week after the three-time premiership player's lack of form and off-field discipline. But Matthews bit the bullet for the clash against a vulnerable Port, opting to pick the champion midfielder despite Akermanis living up to his "human headline" moniker.
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2006/05/19/1147545529005.html
Ahh,... quality keyboardsmanship, that, Staffo!
You might want to catch up with him for a coffee and a chat, Hamo.
Welcome to the latest installment of..
HamoWATCH!
He was Brisbane's best in losing sides against Essendon and West Coast and was a major contributor in the resurgence of the past three weeks. He's averaging 23 possessions a game for the season, including a season-high 33 against Essendon and 31 against West Coast.
Hammo, Hammo... we need a bit more rigour, buddy. Spellcheck can only carry you so far in this racket.
We all make blues, but match results are pretty easy to doublecheck before committing to half a million papers. Get your mum to go over your work with you if it helps -- it's all about a quality product, matey. ;)
http://www.thecouriermail.news.com.au/story/0,20797,19310760-5003410,00.html
HamoWATCH!
Hammo, Hammo... we need a bit more rigour, buddy. Spellcheck can only carry you so far in this racket.
We all make blues, but match results are pretty easy to doublecheck before committing to half a million papers. Get your mum to go over your work with you if it helps -- it's all about a quality product, matey. ;)
AH is just clueless!! :)
Cheers to Cascades for spotting that one first too. ;)
Yes. Maybe he did.
But considering Leigh publicly attacked Hamilton in his own C-M column to such an extent that the paper felt compelled to publish a defence of Hamilton, I think the mind-meld seems more plausible. ;)
http://www.couriermail.news.com.au/story/0,20797,18959111-5003410,00.html
Crikey, that looks a lot like LM clearly and directly stating an issue he has with the media.
...Think I remember some weevil or other saying that is the way he would do it.
Do you remember something like that Lady L??? :D ;)
HamoWATCH!
Ahhh xplo. You do not give Hammo enough credit. He was obviously referring to Round 16, 19 Jul 2003. Hmmmm, maybe not:rolleyes:
Ah, hehehehe,... yeah,.. maybe... :rolleyes:
Although, to be fair, 6 kicks and 12 handballs that night for Simon,.. not a big night by his standards. ;)
Ah, hehehehe,... yeah,.. maybe... :rolleyes:
Although, to be fair, 6 kicks and 12 handballs that night for Simon,.. not a big night by his standards. ;)
Well, that's enough highlights for our Hamo!:rolleyes: