View Full Version : The Victorian Alliance
Flag Man
12 May 2006, 13:18
I am interested in hearing peoples idea on a combined membership lobby that exists solely to protect the existing Victorian Football culture.
I strongly believe that if we, the fans, simply stand back and do nothing, then within a few decades, only 3 or 4 of the existing Victorian clubs will be still be alive.
The current divide and conquer mentality will be our downfall.
We must take back the game now before we have been weakened to the point of no return.
Our code is much more than a game and it is as culturally intrinsic as Uluru or the slouch hat.
Our culture is at stake, will you join the fight?
We must take back the game now before we have been weakened to the point of no return.
Our code is much more than a game and it is as culturally intrinsic as Uluru or the slouch hat.
Our culture is at stake, will you join the fight?
12 May 2006, 13:26
Its a fair point
However can u really see the powerbrokers letting it happen, ie eddie and others
We are the people mate.
Without us the game grinds to a halt.
We are the people mate.
True but think about where the majority of revenue comes from for the clubs
Sponsorship
Social Clubs with poker machines
Football is not Football anymore its business like everything else, as unfortunate as that sounds
CoggaRules
12 May 2006, 13:35
We are the people mate.
flag man, whereever you go nowadays man, the game will come to you. Thats why clubs are playing with the pennies, and the AFL is playing with 780mill of the folding stuff. ;)
Flag Man
12 May 2006, 13:37
True but think about where the majority of revenue comes from for the clubs
Sponsorship
Football is not Football anymore its business like everything else, as unfortunate as that sounds
All of these things need the support of people to survive.
The battle of hearts and minds must be fought and won before anything becomes inevitable.
If a large lobby group coud be put together and mobilised then the powers that be would have no choice but to take notice.
Can you imagine what message a group of 100,000 people marching upon AFL headquarters dressed in the colors of the 10 melbourne clubs would send to those that are destroying our game and our culture?
Sponsorship
That is no longer true ... pokie revenue has died in the @rse ever since nanna wasn`t allowed to have a Ciggy anymore .
TV is where all the dough is .... hence for "flagman" , i believe that they will maintain the 16 team competition quite easily , purely on the back of the money that is made from that median .
Look at sports like baseball and gridiron in the states , they get two and a dog at those games half the time , the revenue comes from the millions at home watching the game on thier Tele`s on a Monday night ... why do you think the league keep experimenting with that idea ?
One or two Vic based teams "may" get re-located purely for the logistics and for "spreading the gospel" but will say with a fair amount of certainty that there will always be a sixteen team competition
It`s pretty basic maths actually ... take 8 games a week and then reduce that to 7 games a week if we were to lose a couple of teams ... your potential revenue from Television and marketing and overall product size and value has just dropped by 12.5% ;) ( hope thats right)
They`ll bail out Carlton , and they`ll bail out the next one ... and the next ... and so on
CoggaRules
12 May 2006, 13:58
All of these things need the support of people to survive.
The battle of hearts and minds must be fought and won before anything becomes inevitable.
If a large lobby group coud be put together and mobilised then the powers that be would have no choice but to take notice.
Can you imagine what message a group of 100,000 people marching upon AFL headquarters dressed in the colors of the 10 melbourne clubs would send to those that are destroying our game and our culture?
IMO, better to go the other way man. No one goes to the footy a week or 3, send a better message to the AFL dont you think? Gotta feeling even the state govt would raise its eyebrows too at that one ;)
Flag Man
12 May 2006, 14:22
IMO, better to go the other way man. No one goes to the footy a week or 3, send a better message to the AFL dont you think? Gotta feeling even the state govt would raise its eyebrows too at that one ;)
Yes, that is one tactic that could be employed.:thumbsu:
But first we would have to organise into a cohesive unit.
The current divide and conquer mentality will be our downfall.
Why does this remind me of the scene in "American Pie" where the lads all stand up and say "may our penises no longer be flaccid. We will stand up. We will get laid!"?
True Thylacine
12 May 2006, 14:33
Yes, that is one tactic that could be employed.:thumbsu:
But first we would have to organise into a cohesive unit.
You are asking the wrong bloke in asking me, cos I actually think my State deserves a team given their consistent contribution to the game at all levels for as long as its existed almost, so yes...but after a team relocates to Tassie!
Pity I'd have come up large in a red headband and a slogan too!
Flag Man
12 May 2006, 15:12
You are asking the wrong bloke in asking me, cos I actually think my State deserves a team given their consistent contribution to the game at all levels for as long as its existed almost, so yes...but after a team relocates to Tassie!
I have always been a supporter of Tasmania being admitted into the competition.:thumbsu:
Find me a petition and I will sign it.:thumbsu:
They definitely deserve a place ahead of Sydney or Brisbane.
Look at sports like baseball and gridiron in the states , they get two and a dog at those games half the time , the revenue comes from the millions at home watching the game on thier Tele`s on a Monday night ... why do you think the league keep experimenting with that idea ?
Just my two cents worth here. The TV network that has Monday Night Football in the US has lost a lot of money each year for the last five years to the point of them bailing out. I think I heard this on SEN a couple of weeks back.
Just my two cents worth here. The TV network that has Monday Night Football in the US has lost a lot of money each year for the last five years to the point of them bailing out. I think I heard this on SEN a couple of weeks back.Thats interesting !
I always thought monday night footy over there was HUUUUUUGE , hence our experimentation with it over here .
For mine it dosn`t work with our code . With footy on Friday , Saturday and Sunday ... Come Monday i`ve had a gutfull to be honest . Plus i`ll never forget Joel Bowden breaking his collarbone against the Eagles on a Monday night after he had kicked 4 and was flying back in 97 . Funny story because i had the Monday off work to attend Dandenong magistrates court where i duly did my brief for 28 months . Went to the footy that night which was a good win all the same ... Then went to work the next day and got the sack for something i didn`t do with no right of reply ... LMAO now ....
But anyway i digress ... Monday night footy is bad Karma for me :o
Thats interesting !
I always thought monday night footy over there was HUUUUUUGE , hence our experimentation with it over here .
For mine it dosn`t work with our code . With footy on Friday , Saturday and Sunday ... Come Monday i`ve had a gutfull to be honest . Plus i`ll never forget Joel Bowden breaking his collarbone against the Eagles on a Monday night after he had kicked 4 and was flying back in 97 . Funny story because i had the Monday off work to attend Dandenong magistrates court where i duly did my brief for 28 months . Went to the footy that night which was a good win all the same ... Then went to work the next day and got the sack for something i didn`t do with no right of reply ... LMAO now ....
But anyway i digress ... Monday night footy is bad Karma for me :o
Monday night footy in the US IS huge, but it just hasn't been making any money for the TV network for a few years now. We don't need Monday night footy. Our 'big' night is Friday night. Friday night footy is huge for Channell 9 now, probably coz of 36yr old farts like me come home from work, grab a six-pack, order pizza, send the kids to bed and sit on the couch to watch the footy. Funnt you mention that game against Weagles. I was there too. I think you'll find JB booted five in the first half that night. Anyway, I'll stand by my original comment - Monday night footy is big in the states, but the TV network is losing out big time. Although in Canada, saturday night is hockey night. Now you're talkign big!
Friday night footy is huge for Channell 9 now, probably coz of 36yr old farts like me come home from work, grab a six-pack, order pizza, Just cracked my third and the Mrs. has headed out to Lipari`s to get the Mexicana :thumbsu:
Just cracked my third and the Mrs. has headed out to Lipari`s to get the Mexicana :thumbsu:
You send your missus out? When I said 'order' I meant I order mine to make it.
Darth_Tiger
12 May 2006, 19:30
would you change teams tt, if tassie got one?
Just cracked my third and the Mrs. has headed out to Lipari`s to get the Mexicana :thumbsu:
OMG, how do you get away with that? Knowing a few more facts than some of the punters here, suffice to say you either:
(a) chose wisely;
(b) have a very tolerant / understanding missus (which I guess relates to (a));
(c) have trained her well; or
(d) don't take Giesch from females.
I mean, FFS, it's Firday arvo, I'm still busting my ass at work (well not quite), and my good lady is already at a friend's knocking the top off a bottle of wine.
Bojangles17
12 May 2006, 23:26
That is no longer true ... pokie revenue has died in the @rse ever since nanna wasn`t allowed to have a Ciggy anymore .
TV is where all the dough is .... hence for "flagman" , i believe that they will maintain the 16 team competition quite easily , purely on the back of the money that is made from that median .
One or two Vic based teams "may" get re-located purely for the logistics and for "spreading the gospel" but will say with a fair amount of certainty that there will always be a sixteen team competition
It`s pretty basic maths actually ... take 8 games a week and then reduce that to 7 games a week if we were to lose a couple of teams ... your potential revenue from Television and marketing and overall product size and value has just dropped by 12.5% ;) ( hope thats right)
They`ll bail out Carlton , and they`ll bail out the next one ... and the next ... and so on
pretty well summed up my friend thats not too say though that some clubs will soon be at the mercy of the AFL's determination to develop the game into south east QLD and western sydney. Here's your dough Blues and next years fixture Carrara, Telstra Stadium, Cairns & NT
Eight games a weekend is a good schedule to carve up for the media moguls and that will maintain the backbone of the comp in its current form but dont bet on the likes of Southport, Canberra, Tassie and NT being ignored whilst their shelling out big $$$$$ for fixtured games