View Full Version : Richmonds activity in the upcomming 'Super-draft'
Crumden
30 Aug 2006, 22:30
Like it or not most of our draft picks from now on are going to be guys who record top-10 results in the sprint tests at draft camp. We are going to be the quickest team in the comp. That is the plan.
Wallace effectively said as much in the Richo article in todays Hun - http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,20299942%255E19742,00.html
Wallace said the Tigers must make it a priority to keep improving and refining the quality and depth of the onballers and midfield performers.
"I don't think the next two to four years is about Richo; it's about the supply to Richo," Wallace said.
"You can build a team around him. There's no doubt that's the case.
"What I'm hoping is that we can have the speed in our game to be able to service him the way he needs to be serviced late in his career.
But as our younger, quicker players have come through, we've been able to move the ball quicker and give him more opportunities. He's a fantastic player and to have coached a player like that when he was absolutely at his peak would have been a wonderful thing.
Calcium Man
9 Sep 2006, 14:25
Well we have pick 8. Who will be avaliable??
I'll put my hand up.
Supertiger
9 Sep 2006, 17:14
Clinton Benjamin is firm favorite I reckon for our pick at 8. I understand Freo reckon hes a gun and there not the only ones.
macca69
10 Sep 2006, 10:20
Yeh Benjamin does sound like a big chance. What about Albert Proud, he'd be one Richmond would look at wouldn't he?
tomthetiger
11 Sep 2006, 00:52
Yeh Benjamin does sound like a big chance. What about Albert Proud, he'd be one Richmond would look at wouldn't he?
Havent really considered that, but perhaps.
tiger4life
11 Sep 2006, 01:26
I'd say with our first pick (#8) richmond would look at riewoldt, proud, jetta and benjamin amongst others...primarily these players tho. We would also be looking at selwood, thorp and sellar in case they slipped down to us. (doubt we could get thorp at #8...but would love him at richmond!!)
consider this situation which would lead to us being able to select thorp with our 1st pick.
1. Carlton take Hansen - need key defender
2. Essendon take Gibbs - need good midfielder to replace j.johnson, peverill etc.
3. Kangaroos take Gumbleton - just need anything they can get, particularly key forwards/backs
4. Brisbane take Proud - if they want a midfielder then only selwood would probably rate higher than proud. however, i wouldnt be suprised if they looked at the two and due to Proud being a local boy and selwood not having played for a while becouse of his knee, select proud with their pick. (voss retiring soon and aka departing may have them needing a midfielder)
5. Hawks take Selwood - have drafted many KPP in last couple of drafts (dowler, franklin, roughead, bailey) so could want a midfielder and selwood is the obvious choice.
6. Port Adelaide take Sellar - Another local boy from SA and highly rated to go top 5, so port would be pleased to get him at 6.
7. Geelong take Leuenberger - Geelong need ruckman desperately with King battling with injuryand seems to be past his best and 0.116ttens playing forward. Highly rated and could be a good choice for geelong particularly as they are getting another Key Forward (Hawkins) further in the draft.
8. Richmond take Thorp!
obviously this is quite unlickely to happen, but i though i'd post it and see what people think. hawthorn would probably be the ones to ruin this by selecting thorp at 5 instead of selwood, but then maybe selwood would slip to us which would be good.
Calcium Man
12 Sep 2006, 16:31
These are the two i reackon are firming as being in a tigers jumper.
I've heard benjamin is very quick and a good mark, If this is true i can see him swaping with lids out of FF as strong leading forwards. Both are very quick would be difficult to match up on.
Bentleigh
13 Sep 2006, 00:51
8. Richmond take Thorp!
http://www.hoghoggidyhog.com/stoner.jpg
That looks more like Andrej Everitt....
Nice portrait Bents. You like your dredlocks?
tiger4life
13 Sep 2006, 13:04
What do people think of getting D. Armitage with our second pick?
Would he be the kind of player TW would like at Richmond and do people think he would even be available at that stage of the draft?
Richo83
14 Sep 2006, 18:13
God you're ugly.
True Thylacine
14 Sep 2006, 20:55
What do people think of getting D. Armitage with our second pick?
Would he be the kind of player TW would like at Richmond and do people think he would even be available at that stage of the draft?
I know some of his family and he has already been spoken to. To what depth I cant say for certain. Like Nick Riewoldt and Petterd in this draft he is from good Tassie based stock that went north for the sunshine. Or did we send em to freshen the breeding lines...lmao
All good QLDers are born interstate :p . Albert Proud was born in Melbourne.
Steve Irwin too :(
Richo83
15 Sep 2006, 15:03
Say yes or no to these players as our first pick (8)
Benjamin
Proud
Selwood
Jetta
Hilsop
Connors
Armitage
Houli
Hurley
Collard
Riewoldt
Ried
Mourish
McKenzie
Allen (Jarryd)
Brown
Brown
Leungberger
Of course we would take Gibbs, Hansen, Gumbleton, Thorp or Sellar but that's unlikely.
Richtigerz
15 Sep 2006, 15:58
Say yes or no to these players as our first pick (8)
Benjamin - Yes
Proud
Selwood - Yes
Jetta - Yes
Hilsop - Maybe
Connors - No
Armitage - No
Houli - I would consider it
Hurley - Maybe
Collard - Maybe
Riewoldt - Yes
Ried - Maybe
Mourish - No
McKenzie - No
Allen (Jarryd) - No
Brown - The midfielder one maybe but not with pick 8
Brown - No
Leungberger - Yes
Of course we would take Gibbs, Hansen, Gumbleton, Thorp or Sellar but that's unlikely.
Benjamin - too soft, hope not
Proud - yes
Selwood - too slow, maybe
Jetta - hugely overrated, no
Hilsop - not our type, probably not
Connors - 2nd rounder, nope
Armitage - 2nd rounder, nope
Houli - injury riddled, definately not
Hurley - won't be drafted, nope
Collard - small forward, nope.
Riewoldt - maybe
Ried - soft and light, please no
Mourish - don't know
McKenzie - not our type, no
Allen (Jarryd) - apparantly we don't rate him.
Brown - gorilla, no
Richo83
15 Sep 2006, 17:44
So Weaver, that's alot of players you don't rate, don't you rate this years draft?
So anyone else not in that list (apart from the obvious) get a yes Weaver?
I am still open to the possibility of us trading down to get picks and/or players, there just doesn't seem to be an overriding need to keep pick 8 to get a player we desperately want.
Supertiger
15 Sep 2006, 17:54
Clinton Benjamin will be a good player for Richmond at 8. Hes an outside type, who will run lines- hes the type Wallace wants. Id be keeping pick 8 irrespective of whether people are lukewarm on there appraisals of players at this pick.
philhawk
15 Sep 2006, 17:54
Benjamin - too soft, hope not
Proud - yes
Selwood - too slow, maybe
Jetta - hugely overrated, no
Hilsop - not our type, probably not
Connors - 2nd rounder, nope
Armitage - 2nd rounder, nope
Houli - injury riddled, definately not
Hurley - won't be drafted, nope
Collard - small forward, nope.
Riewoldt - maybe
Ried - soft and light, please no
Mourish - don't know
McKenzie - not our type, no
Allen (Jarryd) - apparantly we don't rate him.
Brown - gorilla, no
How would you rate Sellar/Leunberger for Richmond then, Weaver?
Leunberger I genueinly don't know. I suspect that we aren't keen on ruckmen. We want a Simmonds type who can get 20 touches, kick 2 goals and cover a lot of ground. Leunberger is talented enough to almost tempt us, but I really think we will be a club that has 15 midfielders and some bloke from the rookie list in the draft. I suspect that we are unlikely to be a club that uses a top-20 pick on a ruckman.
Sellar? Probably much more our type of player. When he doesn't get a kick in a KP he can almost play wing. Has the raw potential to become the running big-man that we would go for. That said I thought his Championship was poor - poor enough to be nervous about him. Also we added Pattison 2 years back.
I don't agree with the idea of taking a 4th-5th best big bloke in the top-10. Rarely pays off. There are normally just a couple worth taking. Can get a good second-stringer in round 2 or 3 who is almost as good.
The biggest requirement in footy now is pace, not height. I would be getting the quickest guys out of the draft first. Others later.
So Weaver, that's alot of players you don't rate, don't you rate this years draft?
I rate the top-6 or 7 as better than last year. I think the quality falls away after that and becomes pretty much the same as any other year.
A lot of the quality won't appeal to us.
I mean Jetta and Collard are forward pockets. Good players, particularly Collard but hardly exciting for a top-10 pick - hardly what we need.
Selwood will play heaps of footy but he is a similar athlete to Pettifer. He isn't really going to burn anyone off.
Nathan Brown, Mitchell Brown and Eric McKenzie are big Leigh Brown type defenders. We probably won't go that type of player, instead our idea of a CHB is JON or Lids.
Brock O'Brien is tough, clever and classy. But we probably won't recruit a specialist Brett Voss type back-pocket / tagger.
Up and down the draft it is hard to find guys rated highly who immediately jump out as 'Richmond types'.
I fully expect us to throw a spanner in the works and go for Jarryd Morton, James Hawksley, Ricky Pettard or someone who isn't even on most peoples' radars.
macca69
15 Sep 2006, 18:13
I fully expect us to throw a spanner in the works and go for Jarryd Morton, James Hawksley, Ricky Pettard or someone who isn't even on most peoples' radars.
What about Nathan Krakouer or even Caleb Mourish?
Richo83
15 Sep 2006, 20:21
What about Benjamin? Tall, fast, skilled. Why don't you rate him Weaver? What I mean is, what part of his game is "soft"?
Supertiger
15 Sep 2006, 20:47
Brock O'Brien would be an outstanding get in the 2nd round for us. He'll be a good player as will Hawksley.
What about Benjamin? Tall, fast, skilled. Why don't you rate him Weaver? What I mean is, what part of his game is "soft"?
He has been at two championships and yet to play a good game. He is tall, quick and light. His kicking is reasonable. He has never won a man on man contest, put his body on the line or looked a footballer. All his touches are as a forward of the contest wingman.
He will go early because of his athletic ability, but he is even rawer than JON. At least JON was BOG (in my opinion) in two games for WA and in one game was the only bloke to beat his opponent.
Tigerbob
16 Sep 2006, 12:00
I rate the top-6 or 7 as better than last year. I think the quality falls away after that and becomes pretty much the same as any other year.
A lot of the quality won't appeal to us.
I mean Jetta and Collard are forward pockets. Good players, particularly Collard but hardly exciting for a top-10 pick - hardly what we need.
Selwood will play heaps of footy but he is a similar athlete to Pettifer. He isn't really going to burn anyone off.
Nathan Brown, Mitchell Brown and Eric McKenzie are big Leigh Brown type defenders. We probably won't go that type of player, instead our idea of a CHB is JON or Lids.
Brock O'Brien is tough, clever and classy. But we probably won't recruit a specialist Brett Voss type back-pocket / tagger.
Up and down the draft it is hard to find guys rated highly who immediately jump out as 'Richmond types'.
Brock O'Brien has some good qualities there Weaver.
Can you please tell me more about Jarryd Morton, James Hawksley and Ricky Petterd, and why you think we'll go for them so early.
Clearly you dont rate Benjamin, and fair enough, but I have heard strong whispers from credible sources that he is well and truly on our radar. In say if you got all the talent in the world, a club must believe in its development enough to think we can bring out the best in him.
Limbach_19
16 Sep 2006, 15:52
I think Hawksley will go fairly early.
Weaver in the paper it says Daniel O'keefe hurt his knee, do you know if it was bad?
I think Hawksley will go fairly early.
Weaver in the paper it says Daniel O'keefe hurt his knee, do you know if it was bad?
6 weeks out was the talk around the place today. So he could join in preseason training and therefore won't drop too far. Good news and I think puts him back in the mix for the 10-18 pick (or us if we reach).
Leunberger I genueinly don't know. I suspect that we aren't keen on ruckmen. We want a Simmonds type who can get 20 touches, kick 2 goals and cover a lot of ground. Leunberger is talented enough to almost tempt us, but I really think we will be a club that has 15 midfielders and some bloke from the rookie list in the draft. I suspect that we are unlikely to be a club that uses a top-20 pick on a ruckman.
More I think about it the less I think we will take Leunenberger.
Next year Ben McEvoy, Matt Kreuzer, Tom Bellchambers, Lachie Henderson and Will Sullivan will all be available. All are in the good to very good class. If we want a capable ruckman we will be almost gaurenteed one in the second round next year.
Calcium Man
20 Sep 2006, 15:43
Weaver wat do you think of little Everitt?? I read that he reads the game pretty well and is atheletic, could he take over at CHB in the future as a real rebounding type player or is he a better forward??
Bentleigh
21 Sep 2006, 22:59
Phantom Draft - Trial Run #1
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=267582
---
First Round:
1st ROUND
1. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Bryce Gibbs
2. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Scott Gumbleton
3. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Lachlan Hansen
4. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Mitch Thorp
5. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- James Sellar
6. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ---------------------- Leroy Jetta
7. Geelong (Diablo14) ---------------------------- Matthew Leuenberger
8. Richmond (philhawk) -------------------------- Jack Riewoldt
9. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- Albert Proud
10. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Joel Selwood
11. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) ------------------- Eric McKenzie
12. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------ Clinton Benjamin
13. Fremantle (Wizard9) ------------------------- Tom Hislop
14. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) -------------- Clayton Collard
15. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Brock O'Brien
16. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) --------------------- Daniel Connors
#8 - Riewoldt
Highly rated players still around after #8 - Proud, Selwood, Hislop, McKenzie etc.
From the above, (still around come our pick) I would want Selwood.
trial phantom draft 2
1.Carlton- Scott Gumbleton
2.Essendon- Bryce Gibbs
3.Kangaroos- Lachlan Hansen
4.Brisbane- Matthew Leuenberger
5.Port- Mitch Thorp
6.Hawthorn- James Sellar
7.Geelong- Albert Proud
8.Richmond- Joel Selwood
9.Stk - Leroy Jetta
^
Yes please.
Speaking to a bloke the other day who sees a fair bit of SANFL I would like Seller to slip to us.
Seen abit of Fox Footy where Leuenberger has played, he's outstanding.
philhawk
21 Sep 2006, 23:50
Seriously, do you live for the draft Bentleigh? You only pop up during 'Draft Season' and I rarely see you post elsewhere at any other point of time during the season (despite your hope that your own team will tank to get better draft picks. :rolleyes:)
Calcium Man
21 Sep 2006, 23:55
Seriously, do you live for the draft Bentleigh? You only pop up during 'Draft Season' and I rarely see you post elsewhere at any other point of time during the season (despite your hope that your own team will tank to get better draft picks. :rolleyes:)
Imagine how excited he would be if they still had priority picks and Richmond had manged to nab them this year!
Bentleigh
21 Sep 2006, 23:57
Seriously, do you live for the draft Bentleigh?
Want to count how many post has been made on the draft board by you vs I over the last month knackers?
You only pop up during 'Draft Season' and I rarely see you post elsewhere at any other point of time during the season
Perhaps you should look into your obsession with the frequency of my posting.
To be frank, its a tad worrying.
(despite your hope that your own team will tank to get better draft picks. :rolleyes:)
Hawthorn have had no need to 'hope' that they will tank/have been rubbish the last 3 years eh my son?
Bentleigh
21 Sep 2006, 23:59
Imagine how excited he would be if they still had priority picks and Richmond had manged to nab them this year!
Seeing as we were lucky enough to come 9th, again, there is no need for such wacky and mystical hypotheticals.
Magpies 2007
22 Sep 2006, 00:44
Tigers should look at getting jason Cloke as a centre half back as a straight player swap with one of the tiger players that dont get on the field but may be attractive to collingwood who have crappy midfielders like holland (soft as butter) Burns (to old ) Obree (to slow) etc etc .
One of the northern Knights players that no one seems to have noticed is Chris varsamakis who has shut down many of the top 10 players in the comp on every occasion and was one of the best for vic metro
Bentleigh
22 Sep 2006, 01:40
Tigers should look at getting jason Cloke as a centre half back
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/d/de/Time_%28Simpsons%29.jpg
duckboy
22 Sep 2006, 10:09
trial phantom draft 2
1.Carlton- Scott Gumbleton
2.Essendon- Bryce Gibbs
3.Kangaroos- Lachlan Hansen
4.Brisbane- Matthew Leuenberger
5.Port- Mitch Thorp
6.Hawthorn- James Sellar
7.Geelong- Albert Proud
8.Richmond- Joel Selwood
9.Stk - Leroy Jetta
Why the hell would Brisbane consider taking another ruckman? I think this is completely unrealistic. Surely they would be looking at Thorp, Sellar or Selwood.
Brisbane has declared they want pace. They will have a tough choice because there isn't much pace in the top-10. Albert Proud, David Armitage and Ricky Pettard are the three best QLD midfielders since Aker and Voss and so they will tempted to take one of them. Putting Joel Selwood on the list alongside his brother would be tempting too.
Leunenberger is a very good player and Brisbane love ruckmen. They normally have 4 on their list at any one time.
Keating has been sacked. McDonald is 27 and struggled with injury (17 of the last 44 games). Charman is 24 and often plays forward and is also an injury concern (40 or the last 66 games). Only other option they have is Cam Wood. Merrett is not a ruckman.
macca69
22 Sep 2006, 12:34
Brisbane has declared they want pace. They will have a tough choice because there isn't much pace in the top-10. Albert Proud, David Armitage and Ricky Pettard are the three best QLD midfielders since Aker and Voss and so they will tempted to take one of them. Putting Joel Selwood on the list alongside his brother would be tempting too.
Leunenberger is a very good player and Brisbane love ruckmen. They normally have 4 on their list at any one time.
Keating has been sacked. McDonald is 27 and struggled with injury (17 of the last 44 games). Charman is 24 and often plays forward and is also an injury concern (40 or the last 66 games). Only other option they have is Cam Wood. Merrett is not a ruckman.
Yep Jetta, Leunberger or Proud will be Brisbane's first pick IMO.
Also Weaver, would yu expect someone like Nathan Krakouer to be on Richmond's radar this year?
Yep Jetta, Leunberger or Proud will be Brisbane's first pick IMO.
Can't see Jetta in the top-15 myself. All sizzle and no sausage. Proud, Selwood (unite the brothers - make a play for Adam next trade period) or Luenberger.
If they genueinely want a quick midfielder they may be a trade candidate.
Also Weaver, would yu expect someone like Nathan Krakouer to be on Richmond's radar this year?
Krakouer would be on our list. I would see him as 3rd-4th round candidate for clubs looking at raw, light, flairy wingers which is the shop where we have a preferential customer card.
Bentleigh
22 Sep 2006, 13:11
Brisbane has declared they want pace.
Source?
I doubt they will go 'pace', ie. a Proud with pick #4.
More so when the like of Thorp are still around.
Source?
Leigh Matthews (http://lions.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=292875)...
"Rather than looking at key -position players, Matthews declared the Lions priority at the National Draft in November would be for quality running-types.
"Getting a couple of young really, really high-class runners is the most urgent need for our club going ahead," explained Matthews whose usual strategy is to select the best player left in the draft when the first pick arrives.
"I think we have a few players that have got a bit of size about them so we are better equipped in the key position areas than the midfield runners - you need about 12 of them (runners) in your team."
Calcium Man
22 Sep 2006, 13:38
Leigh Matthews (http://lions.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=292875)...
"Rather than looking at key -position players, Matthews declared the Lions priority at the National Draft in November would be for quality running-types.
"Getting a couple of young really, really high-class runners is the most urgent need for our club going ahead," explained Matthews whose usual strategy is to select the best player left in the draft when the first pick arrives.
"I think we have a few players that have got a bit of size about them so we are better equipped in the key position areas than the midfield runners - you need about 12 of them (runners) in your team."
That sounds good. Maybe they'll take hyde or tivendale both very quick or petts and pick 8, but i doubt it. Do you reckon they'll get a first round pick from acker?? If they do i wouldnt be surprised if they went a thorp and hoped a proud falls to their next first round pick!
Bentleigh
22 Sep 2006, 13:43
My wet dream is for Hansen to slip to #8
:D
Again though, does that mean they will go 'fast mid' with #4?
They still need a Thorp of Hansen to replace, Leppistch/Micheal etc.
That sounds good. Maybe they'll take hyde or tivendale both very quick or petts and pick 8, but i doubt it. Do you reckon they'll get a first round pick from acker?? If they do i wouldnt be surprised if they went a thorp and hoped a proud falls to their next first round pick!
If it is true that Aker wants to go to the Dogs, then yes Brisbane could get an extra first round pick. The Dogs pick (11) isn't that early. Something like -
Out - Aker, pick 34.
In - pick 11, pick 29.
The Lions then might to look to bundle up pick 4 for a player and pick 8-14.
Out - pick 4, pick 22
In - player X (eg Brad Miller), pick 12
They would then have (eg Miller) and picks 10 and 11. Very good spot to get two of Armitage, Proud, Pettard and Selwood. Also a tempting 'solution' to losing Leppitsch and Michael.
Again though, does that mean they will go 'fast mid' with #4?
Probably. They need someone to carry the ball. Troy Selwood, Jed Adcock, Justin Sherman, Michael Rischitelli, Josh Drummond, Joel McDonald and Richard Hadley (if he can every get back) can all get the ball but are a bit one-paced. Rhan Hooper and Scott Harding look the only quick ones.
Their big-defender stocks aren't too bad. Marty Pask, Wayde Mills, Will Hamill, Jason Roe, Pat Garner and Joel Patfull are all candidates. Jarred Brennan and Mitch Clarke up the other end. They will also be reasonably confident of getting a couple of the QLD bigmen on the rookie list as insurance - quite a lot of them this year.
macca69
22 Sep 2006, 14:08
Probably. They need someone to carry the ball. Troy Selwood, Jed Adcock, Justin Sherman, Michael Rischitelli, Josh Drummond, Joel McDonald and Richard Hadley (if he can every get back) can all get the ball but are a bit one-paced. Rhan Hooper and Scott Harding look the only quick ones.
Their big-defender stocks aren't too bad. Marty Pask, Wayde Mills, Will Hamill, Jason Roe, Pat Garner and Joel Patfull are all candidates. Jarred Brennan and Mitch Clarke up the other end. They will also be reasonably confident of getting a couple of the QLD bigmen on the rookie list as insurance - quite a lot of them this year.
Pask has been delisted hasn't he?
Daniel Merrett is another one who has looked alright in a key defensive spot and could play a lot at CHB next year.
Bentleigh
22 Sep 2006, 15:42
Daniel Merrett is another one who has looked alright in a key defensive spot and could play a lot at CHB next year.
Big boy.
Remind me of Lynch (WCE) a couple years ago.
If he comes good (ie. Lynch) he will be a handy footballer.
macca69
23 Sep 2006, 10:57
Was wondering if someone on here could help me out a little. On the drafts and trading board we are running a phantom draft, to which Phillhawk was assigned Richmond and he is yet to take his pick. We were wondering if anyone on here was interested in helping us out by picking for him, cheers.
http://www.BigFooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=5872084&postcount=499
Bentleigh
24 Sep 2006, 03:10
What do we think about Albert Proud ?
tiger4life
24 Sep 2006, 17:14
To be honest i haven't seen much of him, only watching a bit of Proud at the National Championships earlier in the year.
From what i saw he is quick, not lightning quick like lids and JON, but still quite quick and very strong. He wasn't afraid to take guys on and run and carry the ball before kicking long, which is what TW likes. Has good hands, particularly amongst traffic. Also has good skills.
I think that if we are after an inside midfielder with our first pick, rather than the outside running players like c. benjamin, our first preference may be selwood, but i think he may be picked before us. In that case, proud would be a great recruit, as he is very tough and wins the hardball like selwood, but has good speed as well and runs and carries the ball, so he is a bit of a inside/outside midfielder.
Would be very happy if Proud were at tigerland next year!
Limbach_19
24 Sep 2006, 18:18
Why dont you tell us Bentleigh, you seem to think your a expert.
Richo83
24 Sep 2006, 18:20
Was wondering if someone on here could help me out a little. On the drafts and trading board we are running a phantom draft, to which Phillhawk was assigned Richmond and he is yet to take his pick. We were wondering if anyone on here was interested in helping us out by picking for him, cheers.
http://www.BigFooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=5872084&postcount=499
Dare I say it, Zarra? (For pick 58)
Riewoldt, Mourish, Sheringham and the next player is an interesting draft. Not the best but, eh.
Would be very happy if Proud were at tigerland next year!
Agreed, he also has a bit of a mean streak and his handy with the fists. Took on the entire Tassie team last year and was going OK until his teammates tried to help him.:thumbsu:
I have him pencilled in at 4. Can't see the Lions (if they keep their pick) overlooking the best QLD midfielder since Voss and Aker.
Richo83
24 Sep 2006, 19:15
Having a look at the Eagles side (and that's the side we are trying to emulate) WC had 8 190+ players, one was Embley a tall wingman and the others were KPP and ruckmen.
Cox and Seaby the ruckmen and Glass ad FB, Hunter as the CHB that goes forward, Graham as the 3rd tall, Hansen as the CHF and Lynch as FF.
In four years time, Richmond is looking at this:
FB: Thursfield: (similar to Glass
Third tall backman: Bowden (similar to Graham)
CHB: ???
FF: Schulz (like Lynch)
CHF: Hughes (like Hansen)
Simmonds and Patterson as ruck (hopefully Simmonds will play beyond his 5 year contract and play till he’s 32)
The thing missing is a CHB, hopefully filled by one of our picks or one of the other KPP (Limbach, McGuane for example)
Do people see someone as a Everitt or one of the Browns as a candidate that is currently filled by a midfielder? In an ideal world, our backline should have 3 talls to deal with their big forwards, in four years time, besides Thursfield and Patrick (who's still only 26, can play untill 2010) we would need another.
Will Limbach and McGuane play a role? Or are they dead wood?
Richo83
24 Sep 2006, 19:17
BTW, what do we do if Gibbs, Hansen, Gumbleton, Selwood, Sellar, Thorp and Proud are all taken before pick 8? Who would be the best option?
tiger4life
24 Sep 2006, 19:56
BTW, what do we do if Gibbs, Hansen, Gumbleton, Selwood, Sellar, Thorp and Proud are all taken before pick 8? Who would be the best option?
It's hard to see Leuenberger not going in top 7, however if he didn't we would look at him, as well as riewoldt, benjamin, hislop and dare i say jetta (although i doubt we would take him IMO)
Leuenberger would be the best available, whereas the best KPP would be riewoldt, the best inside midfielder would be hislop, and the best outside midfielder either jetta or benjamin. If this was the case, it probably would come down to what we needed, however if one of those top 7 that you mentioned were still available at our pick, we would more than likely take them.
In answer to your other question, i think McGuane has shown some promising signs, but he is more suited to play a forward role, which could lead to Shulz at CHB.
thursfield and schulz as the two key position backmen
mcguane and hughes as two key position forwards
then there's also limbach who hasnt really shown much, so who knows with him...(more suited to a forward role however).
Richo83
24 Sep 2006, 20:12
Agreed, he also has a bit of a mean streak and his handy with the fists. Took on the entire Tassie team last year and was going OK until his teammates tried to help him.:thumbsu:
I have him pencilled in at 4. Can't see the Lions (if they keep their pick) overlooking the best QLD midfielder since Voss and Aker.
I'm glad we've found a player that our resident draft expert approves. :thumbsu: He sounds good from what I've heard, hopefully we will take him.
If Brisbane had the chance to draft Selwood, do you think they would be more inclined to draft the local Proud? Selwood looks the goods as well, shouldn't they take him instead?
Bentleigh
24 Sep 2006, 22:06
I like they sound of that.
Abit of Biff = :)
That'd throw a spanner into the works -
1-3: Gibbs/Hansen/Gumbleton
4: Proud
5-8: Selwood/Sellar/Thorp/Leunberger
tiger4life
24 Sep 2006, 23:05
I like they sound of that.
Abit of Biff = :)
That'd throw a spanner into the works -
1-3: Gibbs/Hansen/Gumbleton
4: Proud
5-8: Selwood/Sellar/Thorp/Leunberger
The best thing is we are guaranteed to be able to select one of these 'top 8' come draft day :)
I really dont think we can lose whoever it is we get.
Richo83
24 Sep 2006, 23:07
The best thing is we are guaranteed to be able to select one of these 'top 8' come draft day :)
I really dont think we can lose whoever it is we get.
There is one that we don't want though, Leungberger. I want Leungberger to be taken before us, Richmond doesn't need another ruckman really, especially with some good ruckmen coming through next year and some good ruckmen this year.
tiger4life
24 Sep 2006, 23:44
There is one that we don't want though, Leungberger. I want Leungberger to be taken before us, Richmond doesn't need another ruckman really, especially with some good ruckmen coming through next year and some good ruckmen this year.
yeh i agree, he would be my least favourable of the 8 to be at tigerland next year. Simmonds has plenty of footy left in him and with young ruckmen like pattison (who can also play KP) and potentially graham, we are quite well-off in the ruck department.
Also, next years draft is apparently a strong one for ruckmen, so i'd rather us get a midfielder with our first pick (selwood or proud). One of the four gun KPP would be unbelievably good :thumbsu:
Bentleigh
25 Sep 2006, 00:05
yeh i agree, he would be my least favourable of the 8 to be at tigerland next year. Simmonds has plenty of footy left in him and with young ruckmen like pattison (who can also play KP) and potentially graham, we are quite well-off in the ruck department.
Also, next years draft is apparently a strong one for ruckmen, so i'd rather us get a midfielder with our first pick (selwood or proud). One of the four gun KPP would be unbelievably good :thumbsu:
Leungberger is an intersting one.
He seem to have risen alot in recent weeks - some people even have him top 3. I've seen abit of him on FoxFooty and he looked very good.
I don't think our ruck department is as strong as you lads might think:
* Stafford has hung up the boots
* As good as Simmonds is, he will be 28/29 next season
* Knobel is retarted
* I like young Patto and have faith in him but you wouldn't bet your life savings on him being A-Grade
* Graham is a rookie listed, very raw potential ruckman who was the worst kick I've ever seen @ the intra club match.
tiger4life
25 Sep 2006, 00:13
He seem to have risen alot in recent weeks - some people even have him top 3. I've seen abit of him on FoxFooty and he looked very good.
* Knobel is retarted
* I like young Patto and have faith in him but you wouldn't bet your life savings on him being A-Grade
* Graham is a rookie listed, very raw potential ruckman who was the worst kick I've ever seen @ the intra club match.
mm yes i see what you're saying bents. LMAO at knobel!
I would be very happy with us getting leuenberger at 8, as there have been MASSIVE wraps on the kid and he is definatley a great player in the making (from what i've heard, and the little bits i've seen of him).
However
I think he will go before pick 8
I would rather we go for a midfielder, or one of the 4 KPP if they slide.I suppose it all comes down to who TW and Miller think fits our gameplan the best...if they think we need another young ruckman, then leuenberger would be fantastic. However, if its an inside midfielder they're after then selwood or proud are the ones to look at.
Bentleigh
25 Sep 2006, 01:46
Leunberger is rated higher and higher.. (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=271025)
Total Power
25 Sep 2006, 02:04
Leunberger is rated higher and higher.. (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=271025)
Sellar or Luenberger benters?
Bentleigh
25 Sep 2006, 02:07
Sellar.
Sellar, Hughes & Schulz, with Patto roating though the forward line and post-Richo isn't looking too bad.
Tambling, Meyer, Pettifer etc. as the smalls.
:thumbsu:
would be very happy with us getting leuenberger at 8, as there have been MASSIVE wraps on the kid and he is definatley a great player in the making (from what i've heard, and the little bits i've seen of him).
It would be a gamble but I don't think we need to take Leunberger at 8. Next year Ben McEvoy, Matt Kreuzer and Tom Bellchambers are rated in the same class and are all ruckmen. It is probable that we will have a top-10 pick next year and will be able to take one of those.
Richo83
25 Sep 2006, 15:54
* Knobel is retarted
It's a bit much though taking him at no. 8 especialy when our next pick isn't until 26. As weaver said, ruckmen will be around next year (Bellcharmers) and you don't need to spend big to get a good ruckman (Cox was picked from the rookie draft for example)
Rucks are important but with Troy playing for another 3/4 years and the fact that he is able and willing to dominate the ruck, IMO rucks should be a lower priority, or even for next year. I realise that he is really good, but IMO it would be better to get a small or a tall.
Seems like you have as good a chance using the rookie list to get a good ruckman as you do using a first round pick. I'd rather concentrate on an inside midfielder and key position player first, then look at rucks with a later pick or rookie selection.
Yeah161
26 Sep 2006, 21:07
What should Richmond draft this year?
Key defenders/forwards is what i believe we need.
Who are the possible drafties that could play as a key defender/forward that Richmond could snear at pick 8,28,44,60?
Or do we need other position players?
:)
tiger4life
26 Sep 2006, 21:12
This has been covered extensively in another thread.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=241573
Who are the possible drafties that could play as a key defender/forward that Richmond could snear at pick 8,28,44,60?
Defenders are what we need, yeah. But why you wan't us to get rid of half of them in another thread?:rolleyes:
wart101
26 Sep 2006, 23:27
The thing i want to know is what is the big hype with draft picks, i mean does it really matter if you are pick 8, when i was watching the brownlow medal count last night they were talking about how A.goodes was at pick 43 and look at what he has done, 2 brownlows and a reputation that could put him at whateva club he wants, andrew rains was around 60 was he not? and he is turning into one of the most exciting players in the richmond line up, all i'm saying is, is it really that bad that we finished 8th or should we be more worried about who does the selecting, is the recent past riddles with mistakes in regards to the end of year AFL draft? please correct me if i am wronge but it seems to me that we may ave just been picking out of the wrong pool.
strauchy
27 Sep 2006, 00:03
The thing i want to know is what is the big hype with draft picks, i mean does it really matter if you are pick 8, when i was watching the brownlow medal count last night they were talking about how A.goodes was at pick 43 and look at what he has done, 2 brownlows and a reputation that could put him at whateva club he wants, andrew rains was around 60 was he not? and he is turning into one of the most exciting players in the richmond line up, all i'm saying is, is it really that bad that we finished 8th or should we be more worried about who does the selecting, is the recent past riddles with mistakes in regards to the end of year AFL draft? please correct me if i am wronge but it seems to me that we may ave just been picking out of the wrong pool.
soz but raines was taken under father/son so he was a 3rd round pik. considering this years draft i think its important we pik the right player at number 8. this year its important to have a high pick. lets not stuff it up!!
Nope he was pick 76 I think. Wasn't considered good enough for F/S (Tom Roach) but Miller apparently wanted to nab him a year early before his stock rose enough for us to use our 2004 F/S on him.
That said, early picks are still very important.
Think of it like a game of darts. A game of darts where after every throw you take a little step further back from the dartboard.
Even 1m out you will from time to time miss the bullseye. From 5m away it is a tough shot - you might get it (Goodes), you might not. From 15m away you could still loft a lob over the pool table and into the bullseye - but it is a low percentate option. Every throw gets harder - doesn't mean you occasionally won't make one.
A top-10 draft pick is no guarentee of a good player. A pick in the 40s is a chance of being very good. It is just that at pick 8 you have a 50-50 chance of getting a good one, and at pick 50 you have a 10% chance.
The other thing to think of is player types. Like any other market scarcity drives up 'prices'. Elite tall, running midfielders and genuine key forwards go early - they are rare. Little rovers, flankers and defenders go late - they are common.
The draft is not simply a ranking of players on talent alone. A type like Deledio will always go a type like Polo. A top-20 key position player is not necessarily rated a higher prospect than a rookie-list rover.
No draftnick would be the least suprised if Foley (rookie) outperformed Tambling(4).
But the chances of getting a type like Tambling in the rookie draft are 1 in 100. It will happen every other year (in the league) but the chances are that it will only happen once in 12 years at your club. On the other hand there are dozens of Foley's available every year.
what we really need is a tough in and under, with speed, skills and plays outside as well, if he was hard at the ball, hard at the man and had a physical toughness to him he would walk straight into our side
someone who hits hard, hits often and hurts opponents with his body and his skills?
ALBERT PROUD
just pick him terry
Hello Newman!
28 Sep 2006, 16:28
what we really need is a tough in and under, with speed, skills and plays outside as well, if he was hard at the ball, hard at the man and had a physical toughness to him he would walk straight into our side
someone who hits hard, hits often and hurts opponents with his body and his skills?
ALBERT PROUD
just pick him terry
Agreed
ALBERT PROUD
just pick him terry
AMEN!
rfctigerarmy
28 Sep 2006, 16:57
Anyone have an image of Mr.Proud or could post up his 'specs'?
http://www.ais.org.au/austrules/images/Proud.jpg
http://img211.imageshack.us/img211/9647/57365859dl0.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
http://img144.imageshack.us/img144/2275/71345471ux0.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
tiger4life
28 Sep 2006, 20:26
ALBERT PROUD
just pick him terry
Absolutely Right!
Out of Riewoldt, Proud and Selwood, what would be the best option for pick 8? I realise I'm comparing apples with oranges but hey.
(Sorry - I know I am not a Richmond supporter but I am not here to troll)
I would have thought Proud would be the best option because:
(a) Being a tough agressive but also speedy land long kicking player he would complement you midfield rather nicely. You miss out on the height that Selwood would provide, but I am thinking that you already have rather decent Selwood types in both Tuck and Coughlan. Proud has a reputation as a ballwinner anyway, it is not like you are getting an outside reciever.
(b) You will still have Richardson for a little while, one of THE Key forwards of the AFL. Whilst KP players are still important, the game appears to be going towards a situation where having a huge stack of good running midfielders is more important. If Proud was gone, then I would go for Riewoldt (assuming he is still there by that pick) because he would be a quality tall.
(Sorry - I know I am not a Richmond supporter but I am not here to troll)
I would have thought Proud would be the best option because:
(a) Being a tough agressive but also speedy land long kicking player he would complement you midfield rather nicely. You miss out on the height that Selwood would provide, but I am thinking that you already have rather decent Selwood types in both Tuck and Coughlan. Proud has a reputation as a ballwinner anyway, it is not like you are getting an outside reciever.
(b) You will still have Richardson for a little while, one of THE Key forwards of the AFL. Whilst KP players are still important, the game appears to be going towards a situation where having a huge stack of good running midfielders is more important. If Proud was gone, then I would go for Riewoldt (assuming he is still there by that pick) because he would be a quality tall.
Thanks. The only thing is that Richo isn't really in Richmond's plans as he only has 1 or 2 years left, we need someone to replace him.
jackson_rules
7 Oct 2006, 20:02
maybe we could draft nathan brown:p
rfctigerarmy
7 Oct 2006, 21:16
I've heard a few negative things about Riewoldt which has put me off of him.
Proud and Selwood do sound quite good to me.
forget riewoldt we have simliar types
id take one of thorp, sellar, luenberger and if they are gone selwood or proud
2nd and 3rd picks are crucial, i think if we get a KP from a trade then we stock up on midfielders and then get more Kp's through PSD or rookie draft
midfield is the key nowadays, they can kick goals and it stops supply to your dud defenders
i want some big bodies too
meyer, polo, casserly, bling etc are peanuts need some guys like nathan jones or jordan lewis just hard as nails types
tiger4life
7 Oct 2006, 23:26
Nathan Brown sounds like a very promising pickup if we could get him with our second pick (#26).
Was originally labelled as being a 'gorilla' by others on BF (just remember that being thrown around a while back...no-one in particular), but his stocks would surely have risen following his 20m sprint time (2.91 seconds, 3rd overall) and his repeated 30m sprint time (25.07 secondes, 6th overall)
In regards to the question posed earlier about selecting a midfielder rather than Riewoldt with our first pick, I agree and would much rather us take a Selwood or Proud (even possibly Hislop or Armitage) with our 1st pick. Unless of course one of Thorp or Sellar slide to us, which is unlikely, i think a midfeilder would be the best option. We can then get a KPP with our 2nd pick who from what i have heard and seen, are probably of the same standard as Riewoldt. Brown, Mackenzie, Everitt, Tippet, Hurley, Reid and Mourish are all names that spring to mind.
Richtigerz
8 Oct 2006, 11:34
I tend to agree, I think unless one of the stand out KPP's slips to our pick I want us to go for ither proud or selwood, Id be happy with either. As for pick 26 I say we target a KPP with that pick try for one of the brown brothers or Everitt, McKenzie, Tippet, Benjamin ect..
Personally id love sellar to fall to us. ive seen thorp play and im sure we'd take him if available but im not 100% sold..all thse 195cm guys are listed at 92kg, thorp is 85kg.
sure he can put it on but a big body from the start would be great.
i certainly hope we dont draft riewoldt, proud or selwood would be perfect i think
Nathan Brown sounds like a very promising pickup if we could get him with our second pick (#26).
Was originally labelled as being a 'gorilla' by others on BF (just remember that being thrown around a while back...no-one in particular), but his stocks would surely have risen following his 20m sprint time (2.91 seconds, 3rd overall) and his repeated 30m sprint time (25.07 secondes, 6th overall)
In regards to the question posed earlier about selecting a midfielder rather than Riewoldt with our first pick, I agree and would much rather us take a Selwood or Proud (even possibly Hislop or Armitage) with our 1st pick. Unless of course one of Thorp or Sellar slide to us, which is unlikely, i think a midfeilder would be the best option. We can then get a KPP with our 2nd pick who from what i have heard and seen, are probably of the same standard as Riewoldt. Brown, Mackenzie, Everitt, Tippet, Hurley, Reid and Mourish are all names that spring to mind.
:) NATHAN Brown turned plenty of heads at the AFL Draft Camp. Stock rose dramatically and think you will find he will go inside the top 10. That's the talk. Will be long gone by pick 26.
You think his 20m time will be enough to push him into the top 10? Can't see that happening tbh.