View Full Version : Disgraceful
Harpoon
13 May 2006, 17:35
What a bunch of frawleying girls' blouses.:eek: Were we playing football today? Was there a black and yellow guernsey on the ground? Can they see the ball? Do they know they're supposed to man up? Why, I haven't seen such a pathetic performance since...since, since round 1! WTF is going on here???! :confused: I just can't believe it. What a bunch of frawleying pussies.:mad: Soft, soft, soft, soft, soft. Weak, weak, weak, weak, weak. P***weak. Pathetic. Absolutely frawleying pathetic.: What's the frawleying point in watching richmond play a top 8 team? Tell me!.....What is the frawleying point?????? :confused: They are weak.....don't they know how to play football???? FRAWLEY!!!!:mad:
Harp.
juzza316
13 May 2006, 17:51
What a bunch of frawleying girls' blouses.:eek: Were we playing football today? Was there a black and yellow guernsey on the ground? Can they see the ball? Do they know they're supposed to man up? Why, I haven't seen such a pathetic performance since...since, since round 1! WTF is going on here???! :confused: I just can't believe it. What a bunch of frawleying pussies.:mad: Soft, soft, soft, soft, soft. Weak, weak, weak, weak, weak. P***weak. Pathetic. Absolutely frawleying pathetic.: What's the frawleying point in watching richmond play a top 8 team? Tell me!.....What is the frawleying point?????? :confused: They are weak.....don't they know how to play football???? FRAWLEY!!!!:mad:
Harp.
NEWSFLASH!!!! Terry Wallet is now your coach!
Gunnar Longshanks
13 May 2006, 17:52
How long before the Tigers fans' misery overflows onto the main board?
there should be a relugation process... if there was, we would have been in it for the last 25 yrs... how my heart aches...
JON, HUGHES, MCGUANE,POLO, TAMBLING, RAINES, JACKSON,FOLEY, DELEDIO thats 9 all 20 or younger and about 70 games between them.
Not making excuses for that poor effot but lets put it into perspective.
We missed the experience of Kellaway, HAll and Gaspar when the game was up for grabs. Earlier on it wasn't much between the 2 sides and with those senior defenders it may have kept us in the game for a lot longer.
Swans were great. Kicking was extrodinary.
Harpoon
13 May 2006, 18:00
I guess you're one of the ones who wants Gaspar back!
Harp
Punt_Road_Roar
13 May 2006, 18:00
Harp.
LMAO
its not the end of the world, we didnt have a backline and got beaten out of the guts, doesnt take a genius to work out if that was too happen we would be ripped apart by the likes of Hall, O'loughlin, O'keefe & co
Disappointed yes, I thought our midfield was better than that, but its like one of our posters said last week we have a few more butt kickings to receive this year and the dogs game wont be the only one.
The difference IMO between this game and round 1 was the fact we had so many players who have just started their careers, round 1 we were full strength and our experienced players were the crap ones.
JON, HUGHES, MCGUANE,POLO, TAMBLING, RAINES, JACKSON,FOLEY, DELEDIO thats 9 all 20 or younger and about 70 games between them.
We missed the experience of Kellaway, HAll and Gaspar when the game was up for grabs. Earlier on it wasn't much between the 2 sides and with those senior defenders it may have kept us in the game for a lot longer.
normally i would say stick your excuses but we had less than half a team out there today... no excuse however for such a huge margin..
Calcium Man
13 May 2006, 18:01
Look poor effort! but with such a young side, especially our defence, you got to expect some unbelievable wins and some absolute blow outs!
Missing Kellaway, hall, gasper, shulz, and Thursfields from our defence shows we are light on down back!
dissapointing but dont go overboard!
Harpoon
13 May 2006, 18:02
And their such weak pussies that...how many injuries did we have in the first few rounds?
YES!!!
We've got you next week :D :D :D
Harpoon
13 May 2006, 18:04
that performance was overboard with negatives. True about the back line, pity about Thirsty and Schulz, but FRAWLEY!!
Harp.
YES!!!
pencil in the win..:D
Punt_Road_Roar
13 May 2006, 18:08
YES!!!
you guys beat our full strength team with ease how about sending over your 2nd string team for a sporting chance you spoil sports !! :p
its funny how u opposition supporters come into the richmond forum just to see how bad we will bash our team... bloody :D:D:D:D stirrers..:D
tigerdan
13 May 2006, 18:09
This was always going to be a nothing season. Provided we aren't crushing the kids' self-belief we are better off playing with a lineup like today than the usual suspects like Gaspar, Chaffey and co.
I mean, what should we really expect with a team with four kids with a total of 3 games under their belt, and playing the reigning premiers.
Disappointed with the leaches from other clubs chipping in. Poor form.
tomthetiger
13 May 2006, 18:10
On the bright side.... KRAKA GOT CLEARANCES LOL
Punt_Road_Roar
13 May 2006, 18:10
its funny how u opposition supporters come into the richmond forum just to see how bad we will bash our team... bloody :D:D:D:D stirrers..:D
whats even funnier was the fact one of the posters was a blues supporter, its not like he will have a team to support next year maybe he is getting in early to jump aboard
LOL
Bojangles17
13 May 2006, 18:11
have to admit I was surprised that TW overlooked the chance for a couple of seniour players to return in favour of rookies that have been part of a succesful few weeks. Big difference playing against garbage vs the premieres...we played little respect to that fact. I fail to see any good reason that Gaspar would retun in the reserves whilst we have a first gamer having to take the field on O'laghlan
Theres always a balance when it comes to introducing youth...we have pushed the envelope and it has well and truly brought us back to earth...we'll recover, better for knowing what we're really capable of...:thumbsu:
have to admit I was surprised that TW overlooked the chance for a couple of seniour players to return in favour of rookies that have been part of a succesful few weeks. Big difference playing against garbage vs the premieres...we played little respect to that fact. I fail to see any good reason that Gaspar would retun in the reserves whilst we have a first gamer having to take the field on O'laghlan
Theres always a balance when it comes to introducing youth...we have pushed the envelope and it has well and truly brought us back to earth...we'll recover, better for knowing what we're really capable of...:thumbsu:
what u say makes me feel a little better... thanks mate...
Gaspar has a history of taking a bit of time toget back in form after Injury. A game in the reserves is a good Idea to me.
tigerboyz
13 May 2006, 18:19
It's simple we play tarzan at the G and play like jane at the dome.:o
Darth_Tiger
13 May 2006, 18:20
it was not as bad as round one. with our five best options as tall defenders (not including bowden) all out it was going to be a struggle. i dont know exactly but about half our team only playing with a handfull of games and 4 players on 1, 2 or 3 games each we were always in for a long day. one more game for each of them.
GrayNicolls
13 May 2006, 18:31
our tackling and pressure today was bloody awesome and made u guys make heaps of skill errors
whats going on with coughlan? he's not like he used to be
and what was pat bowden thinking in the back pocket????
Although Bowden has been playing well as a defender he is not a one on one defender. He mainly mops up. Playing him on Hall was our only option but it was never going to work.
Crumden
13 May 2006, 18:33
LMAO
its not the end of the world, we didnt have a backline and got beaten out of the guts, doesnt take a genius to work out if that was too happen we would be ripped apart by the likes of Hall, O'loughlin, O'keefe & co
Disappointed yes, I thought our midfield was better than that, but its like one of our posters said last week we have a few more butt kickings to receive this year and the dogs game wont be the only one.
The difference IMO between this game and round 1 was the fact we had so many players who have just started their careers, round 1 we were full strength and our experienced players were the crap ones.
My take on it too, PRR. In round 1 we capitulated against a mid-table team. Today we were given a footy lesson by a stronger, more skilful and more experienced team.
Harpoon
13 May 2006, 18:43
It's simple we play tarzan at the G and play like jane at the dome.:o
so true, and let me just say, that pic sports the nicest piece of ass i've seen in a long time!
tomthetiger - Kraks? He did nothing! Like the rest of the team
tomthetiger
13 May 2006, 18:52
Nethertheless it was his best game for the year..Not saying a whole lot but he was good with clearances and his ball usage was good. Starting to get some confidence with his hands again...Still, like to see him do it for the rest of the year.
The moment that annoyed the hell out of me the most was the last 30 odd seconds of the first quarter. It really showed just how weak our defence was that game. For O'keefe to take that pack mark in the last few seconds was really shattering because we fought back in that first quarter.
Ah well, very disappointing. Bowden playing on the team's best forward every week was eventually going to come back and bite us.
I fear what Adelaide may do to us next week at the Dome. Why are we so poor there? :(
Bentleigh
13 May 2006, 18:56
Not too flash eh?
ashylon
13 May 2006, 18:59
Harp.
Frawley is not are coach anymore....get over it and move on! Was a disappointing day....but not as bad as round one! Didn;t have a backline at all today...when we get a couple of injuries we are shocking...we cant replace them. Dont play well at TD do we??
Harpoon
13 May 2006, 19:14
The moment that annoyed the hell out of me the most was the last 30 odd seconds of the first quarter
What killed me was when that clueless goal umpire called Richo's goal touched when he was nowhere near the bloody ball and the ball was way over the line. That umpire's frawleyed in the head!
Harp
Bentleigh
13 May 2006, 19:32
Frawley is not are coach anymore....get over it and move on! Was a disappointing day....but not as bad as round one! Didn;t have a backline at all today...when we get a couple of injuries we are shocking...we cant replace them. Dont play well at TD do we??
Gaspar, Hall, AK, Schultz, Thusty.
I dare you to tell me any AFL side that would go well without its best 5 KPP defenders.
Without even talking about the like of Brown & Johnson..
I took my daughter to the game today so it was the first time I've been sober at the footy for quite some time (being maggoted would have helped...slightly). Truth is, having J. Bowden play on the opposition's best and biggest forward each week is not ideal. We need to have him playing a creative role, not a negative role. I thought the amount of times we didn't handle the ball cleanly today was easily the worst in my living memory. Sorry to say it, but Andrew Raines was the worst offender. Our deliver into the forward line was woeful. How Richo didn;t do his nut staggered me. Swans were good at centre clearances and stoppages and their delivery into their forward 50 was magnificent. I could go on, and on and on...but I won't. The text messages have already started from mates and people I know. When will the pain end! I will say one thing. At least we brought in McGuane...a kid instead of taking the quick fix option that was Gaspar. OK, so young Luke looked like a rabbit who was caught in the floodlights, but at least we played a kid.
Darth_Tiger
13 May 2006, 20:20
and he would have learned alot today. raines is under the gun because of his early form this year, every time he gets it the opposition just go for him because they know he is going to play on. very very very young side we played today. its going to take some time and like bents said, any afl team will struggle without thier best 5 key position defenders.
Darth_Tiger
13 May 2006, 20:22
for those who dont know (obviously a few) on this board we have replaced profanities with the names of past coaches. so when we are calling the players stupid frawleys, it is not because we think he is the coach still. get the drift?....
Bentleigh
13 May 2006, 20:26
Gaspar, Hall, AK, Schultz, Thusty.
I dare you to tell me any AFL side that would go well without its best 5 KPP defenders.
Without even talking about the like of Brown & Johnson..
Kelvin Moore is also not fit.
Guess its 6 then.
Bentleigh
13 May 2006, 20:28
At least we brought in McGuane...a kid instead of taking the quick fix option that was Gaspar. OK, so young Luke looked like a rabbit who was caught in the floodlights, but at least we played a kid.
McGunae is a hack.
Thrice3
13 May 2006, 20:28
What the hell are we going to do next week..
I was more worried about the Adelaide game than this, and look what happened :eek:
Could be a 200pt belting..
And to help us the game is at the dome..... just brilliant, the place where we always lose and get pumped by the Crows.. :mad:
Bentleigh
13 May 2006, 20:30
What the hell are we going to do next week..
I was more worried about the Adelaide game than this, and look what happened :eek:
Could be a 200pt belting..
And to help us the game is at the dome..... just brilliant, the place where we always lose and get pumped by the Crows.. :mad:
Doesn't matter what 22 we pick.
As long as they have a bloody dig next week.
Thrice3
13 May 2006, 20:49
Doesn't matter what 22 we pick.
As long as they have a bloody dig next week.
Well they didn't have much of a dig today, and I rate Adelaide higher than Sydney.
Although things just didnt go our way today, like umpiring decisions and late changes etc.
McGunae is a hack.
He was today.
Thursfield kept O'Loughlin to 3 goals in his debut match and he's labelled a future star
McGuane keeps O'Loughlin to 4 goals in his debut match and he's labelled a hack
F:):)KING rocket scientists we have as supporters I tell you
Thursfield kept O'Loughlin to 3 goals in his debut match and he's labelled a future star
Yes but, O'Loughlin only got away from Thursfield in the last quarter when our midfield stopped to a standstill and the avalanche occured. McGuane looked all at sea right from the opening minute. What I'm trying to say is that the sheer amount of goals has nothing to do with it. The fact is that Thursfield's debut was far more impressive and not becuase of the final result.
metallichris
13 May 2006, 21:24
He was today.
Who wasn't?
:(
Yes but, O'Loughlin only got away from Thursfield in the last quarter when our midfield stopped to a standstill and the avalanche occured. McGuane looked all at sea right from the opening minute. What I'm trying to say is that the sheer amount of goals has nothing to do with it. The fact is that Thursfield's debut was far more impressive and not becuase of the final result.
So considering Sydney's midfield was up and running all game, its reasonable to say O'Loughlin had plenty of opportunities to get his hands on the ball. Thursfield only had to hold O'Loughlin for one quarter when the Swans were coming at us and leaked three goals when we looked like they'd run over the top of us. Today Sydney had the run over us for 4 quarters and McGuane only leaked one goal a quarter.
Bojangles17
13 May 2006, 22:43
Although Bowden has been playing well as a defender he is not a one on one defender. He mainly mops up. Playing him on Hall was our only option but it was never going to work.
therein lies the need for a gaspar type to release JB to do what he does best..:o
YES!!!
Going on what Round 1 did to us I expect it to be close or closer than the Swans match :cool:
U2 Tigers
14 May 2006, 00:32
I really hate the phrase reality check,
But thats what we got today.
We are bottom 8 side, no ifs but or maybes about it.
Just when we get a little bit optimistic.
Anyway GO TIGES
Rancid_Beasties
14 May 2006, 03:51
It was always gonna happen. This loss shows us that Bowden is our team. Not Richo, not browny, bowden. Bowden rips it whenever he plays loose/in the midfield. He gives us drive, he uses the ball much cleaner than most of our players, and he has great evasive skills. When he goes to CHB man on man, he gets his arse kicked. Too short, not enough muscle, not enough speed, not a defensive brain. Plus its a waste of our best player. Heres some examples.
St Kilda: goes back onto Riewoldt after thursty does his knee, Riewoldt turns his quiet game into a matchwinning performance.
Essendon: Plays too loose on lucas in the final quarter and lets him kick 3 or 4 in 5 minutes.
Today: Gets his arse handed to him on a platter by Big bad Bazza.
Its happened previous years too, on one occasion i think a West Coast first gamer kicked a bag on him in the first quarter because he thought he could play loose and not even both about his man. Well heres the thing, I'd rather his opponent kick 10 than lose that all important drive out of defence. Bowden makes our midfield (which was last in centre clearances before even playing the swans) look good with his rebounds, and really holds everything together.
Truetiger
14 May 2006, 10:46
Well said. A very very young side as Terry said. When they started kicking plenty of goals. He was looking around to make moves with Kellaway,Gasper,Hall, big willy etc however they were all in the stands. As soon as Kellaway and Hall were out that was the match.
To them swans fans that think they were good yesterday. You were however you beat a side of Kids. Well done 2 ya!
tigerboyz
14 May 2006, 12:01
The ball was coming down more often into the swans forward line yesterday than that day last year when we beat the swans so I think mcguane did ok yesterday which is more than I can say for others who didn't man up.
tomthetiger
14 May 2006, 13:20
"I could just tell in Kirky's eyes before the game, he gave me a bit of a hug and wished me all the best and I knew straight away we were going to be on today," Williams said."
Had to happen to Richmond, eh.
"I could just tell in Kirky's eyes before the game, he gave me a bit of a hug and wished me all the best and I knew straight away we were going to be on today," Williams said."
all sounds a bit gay to me. But then again they come from mardi gras town.
tomthetiger
14 May 2006, 13:47
LOL. that it does.
I can't believe McGuane's copping a bagging here, you people are really pathetic sometimes, get some football knowledge for gods sake and get it quick. We're talking about a kid in his first game with no defensive support around him (normally we would have Gaspar, Bowden and Kellaway all leaving their man to help out), he's still not physically up to AFL standard yet (only 19) and up against a side that was totally on song today with that ball coming into the 50 every 20 seconds.
True Thylacine
15 May 2006, 11:32
I can't believe McGuane's copping a bagging here, you people are really pathetic sometimes, get some football knowledge for gods sake and get it quick. We're talking about a kid in his first game with no defensive support around him (normally we would have Gaspar, Bowden and Kellaway all leaving their man to help out), he's still not physically up to AFL standard yet (only 19) and up against a side that was totally on song today with that ball coming into the 50 every 20 seconds.
Amen Jezza. Everybody seems to be calling for change and play the kids etc etc. but is nto prepared for the consequences. We will have a few more hidings before season is out. As soon as I heard the news Sat arvo I knew we would get a touch up. If you wanna blame something blame the draw! I was really bloody happy with the endevour and attitude actually with a few exceptions. No pain no gain for christ's sake.
Yep, we had no choice but to play the kids. Might have gotten us wins against the bottom three sides, but Sydney are too good for that, and the result should not have been a surprise to anyone. Best we can hope for is the same as the way we rebounded from the Dogs loss and put in a really solid effort against the Saints, I don't think we'll get close to the Crows but hopefully we can be competitive.
Punt_Road_Roar
15 May 2006, 12:44
Yesssssss well ... kind of reminds me of the 12th man.
I prefer the more traditional method, a hug and a grope, a bit of a dry root before slapping your tongue in his ear ............
:thumbsu: :D
Wasnt our backline that killed us. It was our team effort. Its not 30 points we gotten beaten by, its 120.
From the first minute, there were 3 swans on the ball everytime we even got near it. They were everywhere. Chasing, making tackles, putting on pressure. Their run was just incredible. Sure they use the ball well but they know how to get it to begin with. They put pressure all over the ground in numbers. There was not a point in the game I didnt think they were playing with 2 extra men on the ground.
A good lesson for our young players to see what they're up against. Hall is always going to kick 5 goals whether Bowden is on him or Gaspar.
Wasnt our backline that killed us. It was our team effort. Its not 30 points we gotten beaten by, its 120.
From the first minute, there were 3 swans on the ball everytime we even got near it. They were everywhere. Chasing, making tackles, putting on pressure. Their run was just incredible. Sure they use the ball well but they know how to get it to begin with. They put pressure all over the ground in numbers. There was not a point in the game I didnt think they were playing with 2 extra men on the ground.
A good lesson for our young players to see what they're up against. Hall is always going to kick 5 goals whether Bowden is on him or Gaspar.
Whenever one of our players got to the pill, there was always a bloke in a red-and-white guernsey there. And I mean right there, almost literally hanging onto him. I've been trying to find the right words all week. 1980 just did it for me.