View Full Version : Review of Tonights Game.
FFC + BBFC = BBFFC
13 May 2006, 23:16
Thought Black, Charman, And obviously Brownny were awesome.
Youngsters such as Roe and Moody impressed.
Injuries to Macdonald and Ash dissapointing....Ash was starting to find some form.
Thought the score line flattered them a lot in the end....Williams got some cheap goals.
Thoughts?
Grimreepah
13 May 2006, 23:21
Big mention to Brennan who is just about the most exciting footballer in the league, and Troy Selwood who held Hodge very quiet which was just about the most important match up for us the whole night.
Go you good thing.:thumbsu:
*Danni*
13 May 2006, 23:21
Lukey - 27 possessions. Not a bad effort compared to recently.
Injuries to Macdonald and Ash dissapointing....Ash was starting to find some form.
Thought the score line flattered them a lot in the end....Williams got some cheap goals.
Thoughts?
Totally dominant performance to 3/4 time and then we decide to shut it down .
Why didn't we keep it "up tempo" in the last quarter?
A 50 point advantage ended up a 40 point win.
Happy with the win but why go so negative in the last quarter?
Thank goodness, feels great to have a win ,and our stars were back to help our young ones.
well done boys, hope Aker is back next week and things can settle down.
Grimreepah
13 May 2006, 23:35
Oh yeah, Jamie Charman too. He dominated playing on Everitt.
But I think everyone contributed. Even McGrath and MacDonald who have been much maligned played well. It's unfortunate they both got injured.
Oh yeah, Jamie Charman too. He dominated playing on Everitt.
But I think everyone contributed. Even McGrath and MacDonald who have been much maligned played well. It's unfortunate they both got injured.
These two have come in for their fair share of criticism (and some of it has been justified).
But they were both pretty decent tonight and well done to them.
Just seems we can't take a trick at the moment.
Players have crap games and we get shyted off with them.....then they have good games and they get hurt in the process:(
Warwick
14 May 2006, 00:30
Great to have a win but unfortunately Hawthorn could not have played worse. We were so indecisive with the footy going forward, and mucked around with it in the midfield. I don't think we would have beaten too many other sides tonight. But who gives a damn - we won!! Finally.
I want a rematch against Richmond soon.
Anyone watch that game this arvo?
Swans were awesome but the Tigers were absolute crap.
How the hell did we mange to lose to them at the Gabba a few weeks ago?
Grimreepah
14 May 2006, 01:04
Holy crap: Troy Selwood kept Luke Hodge to 12 touches and had 17 himself.
Drummond
14 May 2006, 02:15
Great for my fantasy team. :rolleyes:
Anyway Luke Power was brilliant tonight; Jonathon Brown should share his Brownlow votes with Power. :p How many pin point passes did Power deliver to Brown? Too many to count. His foot skills were immaculate tonight.
Grimreepah
14 May 2006, 02:24
How many pin point passes did Power deliver to Brown? Too many to count. His foot skills were immaculate tonight.
Good to see. I was starting to worry about him. I wondered if a 5 year contract had dulled his determination to excel.
konstas_87
14 May 2006, 02:33
Thoughts?
Yeh Blacky got it alot but disposed poorly early, was awesome in the last 2-3 qtrs.
Browny obviously had a great game, coulda kicked 10 if he didnt miss a couple easy ones.
Jamies tap work was 1st rate, having a great year Charmo!
Lukey Power, Voss, Sherman were all pretty good too.
Risky, Roe and Moody were all really great too i thought, great composure and discipline for the whole 4 qtrs was really pleasing, specially thought Roe impressed.
Selwood did a great job on Hodge, anyone remember when hodge got <10 possies last????
Brennan was a real presence up forward too i thought, good to see him play 4 quarters.
Yeh it took the icing off the cake with the two late injuries, especially Macca just when he was starting to find the footy a bit... Disappointing...
I know it was only a tackle but he already had hold of him, the game was already decided, and now Ash is gonna be missing with what looked like a broken wrist because of Hodge's stupidity.
I dont like some of the soft interpretations these days, but you shouldnt be able to do that, he lifted him off the ground which made it really dangerous... wasn't happy.
Overall, SHOULDA won by more, especially with our %age, but definately happy with 4pts from anywhere atm, well played boys.
Sorry to rain on The parade colleagues, but:
We had the kind of dominance over the Hawks that the Swans had over the Tigers. The statistics prove it. I can't think of a single individual that lowered their color to a Hawk player. Yet Sydney win by 100 plus and we win by 40. Should have buried the Hawks and built up the percentage.
We let Williams walk away with 5 soft goals for the Hawks. C'mon there are still lots of areas that need fixing. Where's the ruthlessness to grind the other team. Especially with the frustrating time we've had over the last six weeks?
If anything the Hawks should be happy with the 40 points loss.
Is the glass half full or half empty? Oh well we may not end up with the wooden thingy thing after all.:D
konstas_87
14 May 2006, 11:40
Sorry to rain on The parade colleagues, but:
We had the kind of dominance over the Hawks that the Swans had over the Tigers. The statistics prove it. I can't think of a single individual that lowered their color to a Hawk player. Yet Sydney win by 100 plus and we win by 40. Should have buried the Hawks and built up the percentage.
We let Williams walk away with 5 soft goals for the Hawks. C'mon there are still lots of areas that need fixing. Where's the ruthlessness to grind the other team. Especially with the frustrating time we've had over the last six weeks?
If anything the Hawks should be happy with the 40 points loss.
Is the glass half full or half empty? Oh well we may not end up with the wooden thingy thing after all.:D
i do agree actually... i really thought 75 pts easily shoulda been the final result: we definately needed it.
but if u told me we were gonna win by 40 pts at the start of the game i would have been happy i suppose, so i cant complain i guess.
*Danni*
14 May 2006, 12:18
He may have kept him to only 12, but Hodge copped a couple of really heavy knocks too. He wasn't just not on his game last night, he suffered setbacks during the game on top of his form. Still, I thought it was a good effort by Selwood.
As much as I thought we could have run away with the game and won by 80 odd points, I'm kind of glad we didn't (even though the % would have been nice).
It's given us back that bit of confidence I hope, but without the added risk of over-confidence from a huge win. The nap time in the last 15 mins was telling. We know we can do it, we just need to work bloody hard to do it.
hehe_cutie
14 May 2006, 14:51
Hodge actually only got 7 touches.
Grimreepah
14 May 2006, 15:08
Hodge actually only got 7 touches.
The stats sheet (http://lions.com.au/default.asp?pg=matchresults&spg=default&m_tournamentmatch_id=1607) says Hodge had 7 touches
But this (http://lions.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=265334) article says he had 12.
12th paragraph
"Troy Selwood had 17 disposals of his own while holding Luke Hodge to 12"
From watching the game I thought he got more than 7.
Grimreepah
14 May 2006, 15:11
footy wire (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pg-hawthorn-hawks--luke-hodge) says he got 7 disposals as well.
So maybe he got 12 possessions, but only 7 disposals.
1. This was a great win under the circumstances. However, as far as an indication of how we are travelling, I don't think we are any better or worse placed than we were last week or the week before. Like us, Hawthorn is one of a number of clubs who wil be in the lower reaches of the ladder. Can be good on their day but can also be awful and this match was clearly the latter.
2. It was great to see accountability in the midfield. More than anything else, this is what the players should take out of the game.
3. We played within limitations. The patient gameplan that has been developing for 3 or 4 weeks finally started to bear fruit. It is not the prettiest brand of footy but if it is effective then all the more power to them.
4. I can't believe Hawthorn let Voss be so unaccountable, particularly in the first half. What good is it having a spare man in defence if that frees up an opposition player to play across the centre and be so damaging?
5. Good to see Brennan get some confidence. It seemed to me that he had a free rein to go wherever he wanted. He played with the sort of joyous abandon of two years ago. Great to see him helping out down back a number of times too. This reminded me of the St Kilda game last year where he showed a knack of getting to where he was most dangerous to the opposition.
6. Bushy Copeland should never be given anything but a one year contract for the rest of his career. He obviously thrives when playing for his career. Talk about strength under adversity. He'd be top 5 in the B&F so far, I reckon. Great clubman.
7. On football alone, Aker should be back in the side. If there was one thing missing from the Lions' performance, it was a hard running receiver. Browny's job would have been made so much easier with someone of Aker's calibre pumping the ball inside 50.
Homer Jnr
15 May 2006, 13:11
6. Bushy Copeland should never be given anything but a one year contract for the rest of his career. He obviously thrives when playing for his career. Talk about strength under adversity. He'd be top 5 in the B&F so far, I reckon. Great clubman.
A column in the paper said he injured his ankle in the 1st quarter but played on. The injury was severe enough to warrant him leaving on crutches.
The lad has some serious balls!
Grimreepah
15 May 2006, 13:13
A column in the paper said he injured his ankle in the 1st quarter but played on. The injury was severe enough to warrant him leaving on crutches.
The lad has some serious balls!
I would have never known. I saw him hunched over at quarter time but I thought it was because he was buggered.
Homer Jnr
15 May 2006, 13:16
I would have never known. I saw him hunched over at quarter time but I thought it was because he was buggered.
Admittedly I think it was written by Andrew Hamilton, but still, he can't stuff up something like that, can he?
Tezmyster
16 May 2006, 00:49
Some of these are a little bit blurry (just using a standard digital camera), but here are some shots from Saturday night.
http://www.brislions.com/images/2006/R7/2006_R7_1.jpgThe boys hit the field
http://www.brislions.com/images/2006/R7/2006_R7_2.jpgCharman kicks for goal
http://www.brislions.com/images/2006/R7/2006_R7_3.jpgHawks play out of defence
http://www.brislions.com/images/2006/R7/2006_R7_4.jpgBlack stops a Hawks mark
http://www.brislions.com/images/2006/R7/2006_R7_5.jpgCrash tackle in the distance
http://www.brislions.com/images/2006/R7/2006_R7_6.jpgMcGrath off injured
Rawhead
16 May 2006, 01:37
Good work Tez