View Full Version : Todays Crowd.

Tredders66
14 May 2006, 14:41
I have never seen such a pathetic crowd from us. I never thought we were a bunch bandwagoners but today i was proven wrong. Pathetic Crowd to match our pathetic performance. Botom 4 is looming. Weldone guys.

catters05
14 May 2006, 14:43
I think the AFL should promote mothers day more, by not playing any games on Mothers day. I think crowds will be down all over today.

Tredders66
14 May 2006, 14:44
I think the AFL should promote mothers day more, by not playing any games on Mothers day. I think crowds will be down all over today.

Our crowds are always down though. You will see the same old :D:D:D:D next week against Brisbane. Its not at all helping our side aswell.

Total Power
14 May 2006, 14:48
Absolutely pathetic, :D:D:D:Ding bandwagoners are gone when the club is in shambles, this is the time to show your loyalty you morons

Tredders66
14 May 2006, 15:01
Absolute disgrace.. I have never seen our club play like this. For fuC* sake we just won a premiership???????

Total Power
14 May 2006, 15:07
Are we really that bad??? why are we playing like this?????? it absolutely :D:D:D:Ds me to tears to watch the mighty PAFC playing like a bunch of girls, thats the richmond way :(

RoosterLad
14 May 2006, 15:08
Yeah Port are supposed to be the most loyal in Australia yet as soon as they start losing they all disappear. Pathetic is the right word.

I know where todays crowd is though, they went to Prospect yesterday because the Magpies were going ok, there was so much teal there ! it made the win even better

i trust all of you are interstate.??? i know you are Tredders66 obviously but what about Total Power??

Total Power
14 May 2006, 15:27
i trust all of you are interstate.??? i know you are Tredders66 obviously but what about Total Power??
Overseas mate, obviously i dont get to see much footy, but i was there for the 2004 GF :)

Tredders66
14 May 2006, 16:57
What was the actuall crowd? No doubt it was up to about 500 at the end there.

catters05
14 May 2006, 17:00
What was the actuall crowd? No doubt it was up to about 500 at the end there.

20233..........poor.

But AFL should not play on Mothers Day IMO. You guys probably could have got 25K to this one on any other day.

Tredders66
14 May 2006, 17:13
20233..........poor.

But AFL should not play on Mothers Day IMO. You guys probably could have got 25K to this one on any other day.

Thats shocking. Second worst crowd for Port Adelaide Ever.

*PAF
14 May 2006, 17:14
Mother's day has always been our worst attended day.
Bulldogs and Geelong are our worst attended opponents.
Put two and two together and ... what does the AFL expect? :rolleyes:

As an aside, I hope Port does ask the AFL not to schedule us at home on Mother's day. It should be a yearly request.

Groove
14 May 2006, 17:15
Wasnt just the bandwagoners who werent there, the outer army was looking quite patchy as well.
I dont blame them tho, I went today and wished i hadnt, it was a totally insipid performance.

*PAFC*13
14 May 2006, 17:25
I would be :D:D:D:Ded if i did go, shocking game.

Sheeds
14 May 2006, 17:53
Yeah shocking crowd but those who did not go they were quite justified in the end. I certainly regret going. I get home at 6.30 in the morning, get up at 10 this morning still boozed as choppy, spend an hr sitting in the shower going I am completely rooted here. Managed to crawl to the game, and sat there and put up with that absolute trash feeling like a clown. The biggest insult to injury is I am paying for this rubbish!!!!!!!!!:mad:

Over $200 clams a bloody year!!!!!!!!!

Bresh
14 May 2006, 17:59
Yeah, I was there, and yeah, it sucked. Would love to see us have a crack, but not enough pride in our club even for that. Rabble stations.

eddie_vrv6
14 May 2006, 18:17
Watching on TV all I could see was massive blobs of blue - was really disapointing. It is a lot easier to keep 20 thousand supporters quiet when the team is losing than 30 thousand.....

I'll be going to my first game in a quite a while - what do you guys recomend, Hawthorn (Long Weekend, Sunday) or West Coast (week after, Sat Night)?

Tredders66
14 May 2006, 19:04
Watching on TV all I could see was massive blobs of blue - was really disapointing. It is a lot easier to keep 20 thousand supporters quiet when the team is losing than 30 thousand.....

I'll be going to my first game in a quite a while - what do you guys recomend, Hawthorn (Long Weekend, Sunday) or West Coast (week after, Sat Night)?

Everygame. We need all the suuport we can get!

Tredders66
14 May 2006, 19:20
Crowd isn't going to get any better next week aswell with another early Sunday afternoon game. Didn't we say to the AFL that thats our worst time slot?

finbarr
14 May 2006, 20:52
Didn't we say to the AFL that thats our worst time slot?

Why else do you think we get them?

RogerRabbit69
14 May 2006, 20:56
Not sure, but I think both clubs (Port and Adelaide) consider Saturday day matches as the worst.

Mother's Day obviousy had an impact on the crowd today - the crowds were poor at the other two matches too.

portentous
14 May 2006, 21:25
Adelaide vs Kangas had 16K at an indoor venue-and many of them wore red, blue and yellow. We're not alone. I went to a Mothers' Day game at the MCG vs Melbourne 3 years ago and we had less than 20K there that day.

Let us mums have the day to ourselves please.

eddie_vrv6
14 May 2006, 21:47
Everygame. We need all the suuport we can get!

Bit hard in my situation.....

Lack of funds, 600km drive or 3/4 hour flight, work etc. etc.

But I defiently plan on coming to one of those games and hopefully another one latter on in the year as well!

Sheeds
14 May 2006, 22:12
Let us mums have the day to ourselves please.

I'll let that one go.
I better not start my rant on Mothers Day being a nothing day that is only valid for commercial reasons.:p

Tredders66
14 May 2006, 22:15
I dont know about you guys but it seems no timeslot suits us. Thers always some kind of an excuse.

crowie
14 May 2006, 22:46
People devoting their Sunday to a day invented by a card company to make money.

Honestley, how long does it take to tell your mum that you love her, last time I checked it wasn't all day. Especially when the footy is on.

:o

Brad-clare
14 May 2006, 23:27
Are we really that bad??? why are we playing like this?????? it absolutely :D:D:D:Ds me to tears to watch the mighty PAFC playing like a bunch of girls, thats the richmond way :(

Well Richmond showed more yesterday than the power today, our side was basically kids and playing the reigning premier and at least our supporters rock up.

wharfie_1870
15 May 2006, 11:32
Well Richmond showed more yesterday than the power today, our side was basically kids and playing the reigning premier and at least our supporters rock up.Have to agree with this. Richmond were very undermanned where as Port was effectively at full strength.

If people think this week's crowd was bad wait till next week. Another lunch time Sunday start following on from one of the worst performances at AAMI Stadium in our 9 and a bit seasons in the AFL.

Minotaur
15 May 2006, 11:39
I think we have been given a bad draw in terms of drawing crowds. The only team that has played at Footy Park this year that draws a crowd is St Kilda and we got a fair crowd there. Otherwise we have had Kangers, Fremantle and now Bulldogs. The SUnday lunch games are seriously bad in terms of time.

RogerRabbit69
15 May 2006, 12:12
What's wrong with Sundays? I much prefer them to Saturday day-time matches. What do you consider the best time-slot?

Arsene Wenger
15 May 2006, 12:15
and Essendon Carlton only got 30 odd thousand

relapse
16 May 2006, 16:19
Port cant complain too much about their match days. We (Adelaide) have 5 Saturday afternoon games this season and hardly any night games which are our best attended matches. Over the last few years you guys got heaps and heaps of Saturday night games which we got shafted with afternoon matches.

The AFL knows that we turn up regardless so they dont care about when we want our games. Given the choice I would take a Friday or Saturday night match over afternoon games.

The problem is that our matches (PA and AFC) are usually fox footy matches so that also determines things as fox footy show a Saturday afternoon, night and a Sunday game. So Adelaide, Port, WCE or Freo usually get stuck with a Saturday afternoon game.

Paralowiepower
16 May 2006, 18:11
What's wrong with Sundays? I much prefer them to Saturday day-time matches. What do you consider the best time-slot?
The club did a survey two years ago, and found the worst timeslot was early Sunday matches. Kids sport, church who knows?

Porthos
16 May 2006, 18:57
The problem is that our matches (PA and AFC) are usually fox footy matches so that also determines things as fox footy show a Saturday afternoon, night and a Sunday game. So Adelaide, Port, WCE or Freo usually get stuck with a Saturday afternoon game.Its actually the reverse. We get scheduled there, and because of it, we become the Fox Footy game.

relapse
16 May 2006, 19:10
Its actually the reverse. We get scheduled there, and because of it, we become the Fox Footy game.

Yeah but I am sure that the AFL when they are making their schedules are aware of the blockbuster games and which ones are destined for fox footy. Like scheduling this week Port Adelaide V Brisbane they would assume that this would be a fox footy game so they schedule it at a time to ensure that it is a fox game

Porthos
16 May 2006, 19:17
Oh certainly they might monkey with the start times, but as far as Saturday Afternoon/Saturday Night and so on, yeah its not so much a TV thing, its about getting Victorian teams the best spots.

If they are scheduling us in bad positions, its because they want to get free-to-air ratings for Victorian teams, not to specially give Fox Footy expensive games outside of Melbourne that FTAs get to carry locally anyway.

RussellEbertHandball
16 May 2006, 19:35
Yeah but I am sure that the AFL when they are making their schedules are aware of the blockbuster games and which ones are destined for fox footy. Like scheduling this week Port Adelaide V Brisbane they would assume that this would be a fox footy game so they schedule it at a time to ensure that it is a fox game

This game is the early game so it's on channel 9 ( ie national coveage). No Fox Footy involvement. Since the current TV deal the Sunday early games basically are outside Victoria and many involve the neutral grounds in Tassie and ACT. This year the only early Sunday games in Victoria Rd 12 the split round Haw v Rich and Rd 15 Gee v PA. Clubs want national coverage and the AFL want the non-Vic clubs to have live coverage so that's why they get so many early Sunday games. One year Port might get 4 or 5 early home Sunday games and Adelaide 1 or 2. This then swaps around the next year.

Most Fox Footy exclusive Sunday games are from either Subi or from Melbourne. The benefit of Port having plenty of early home Sunday games means us interstaters get to watch it live on TV rather than trying to have a media black out to watch it at 8.30pm on Fox or 12.30am on bloody channel 9.

RogerRabbit69
16 May 2006, 19:58
The club did a survey two years ago, and found the worst timeslot was early Sunday matches. Kids sport, church who knows?
That's interesting. I would have thought Sunday was a good time. Do you know which timeslot is the most favoured one by Port?

RussellEbertHandball
16 May 2006, 20:11
That's interesting. I would have thought Sunday was a good time. Do you know which timeslot is the most favoured one by Port?

Saturday night.

If we were to get 6 or 7 Friday night games like some Melbourne teams that would no doubt become number 1 choice.

RogerRabbit69
16 May 2006, 21:30
Cheers. My personal preference is Saturday night or Sunday day. The only one I really don't like is Saturday afternoon (just because it's a bit incovenient for my personal circumstances). Don't care too much, though. Crows home matches take priority over almost anything else in our household.

portentous
17 May 2006, 09:47
Day games on the weekend rules us out completely with kids' sporting commitments and my work ones. If there were more night games then we'd go. We didn't renew our season tickets for this exact reason, nothing to do with "bandwagon" as we made the decision prior to christmas last year.

And a 12.40 Sunday timeslot on Mothers' Day is about as ordinary programming as you could get especially when our opposition have a miniscule supporter base in SA.

RogerRabbit69
17 May 2006, 09:53
the crowd was absolutely rubbish. i guess i can be classified as a bandwagoner though because i didnt attend and was just watching at home along with the crows game.

it should have been scheduled on a monday night i reckon, atleast wed get 25,000+.

please port supporters, get off the bandwagon.
Mate, I get the feeling you've been around here before ..... don't recognise the name though. You're not a Port supporter, that's for sure. Hmmmmmm :confused: ;)

wharfie_1870
17 May 2006, 12:17
the crowd was absolutely rubbish. i guess i can be classified as a bandwagoner though because i didnt attend and was just watching at home along with the crows game.

it should have been scheduled on a monday night i reckon, atleast wed get 25,000+.

please port supporters, get off the bandwagon.Ah Jack, different name, same sh:Dt.

PowerKat
17 May 2006, 12:48
This game is the early game so it's on channel 9 ( ie national coveage). No Fox Footy involvement. Since the current TV deal the Sunday early games basically are outside Victoria and many involve the neutral grounds in Tassie and ACT. This year the only early Sunday games in Victoria Rd 12 the split round Haw v Rich and Rd 15 Gee v PA. Clubs want national coverage and the AFL want the non-Vic clubs to have live coverage so that's why they get so many early Sunday games. One year Port might get 4 or 5 early home Sunday games and Adelaide 1 or 2. This then swaps around the next year.

Most Fox Footy exclusive Sunday games are from either Subi or from Melbourne. The benefit of Port having plenty of early home Sunday games means us interstaters get to watch it live on TV rather than trying to have a media black out to watch it at 8.30pm on Fox or 12.30am on bloody channel 9.

We have 6 this year which is ridiculous. :thumbsd: Not many like it - the crowds are always our worst.

We should tell the AFL we love this timeslot, then there is no doubt we will rarely get it. :rolleyes:

Powerstufff
17 May 2006, 13:16
Games during the day on Saturday and Sunday won't get maximum crowds. School footy, senior amateur league footy, and/or SANFL commitments on Saturday take out a fair swag of footy followers. Junior amateur league footy on Sundays impinge on thousands more. Then both days affect families with kids involved in other sports, as Portentous pointed out.
I've spent 11 years following my kids around approx 4,000 sessions/games of most known activies/sports so now feel only a little guilt in choosing Port over them where their lives conflict with Power games.

RussellEbertHandball
17 May 2006, 14:14
This is our Sunday game draw for this year. As you can see we have 5 Sunday home games, 4 early and 1 late, not 6 early games. We have 3 early Sunday game interstate, and 3 at normal time, which means we get national coverage in 7 games. The club wants some national coverage and the draw achieves this.

Round Date Local Time Opponent Home/Away Venue Timeslot

3 16-Apr-06 4:10 PM Fremantle Home AAMI Stadium Sunday Day

7 14-May-06 12:40 PM Western Bulldogs Home AAMI Stadium Sunday Early
8 21-May-06 12:40 PM Brisbane Lions Home AAMI Stadium Sunday Early
11 11-Jun-06 12:40 PM Hawthorn Home AAMI Stadium Sunday Early
21 27-Aug-06 12:40 PM Adelaide Home AAMI Stadium Sunday Early

2 09-Apr-06 1:10 PM Sydney Away S.C.G. Sunday Early
15 16-Jul-06 1:10 PM Geelong Away Skilled Stadium Sunday Early
16 23-Jul-06 1:10 PM St. Kilda Away Aurora Stadium Sunday Early

5 30-Apr-06 2:10 PM Collingwood Away Telstra Dome Sunday Day
10 04-Jun-06 2:10 PM Carlton Away Telstra Dome Sunday Day
18 06-Aug-06 2:10 PM Kangaroos Away Telstra Dome Sunday Day

The club has always told the AFL that it wants more Saturday night and Friday night games than Sunday. This year we were allocated 1 Friday night game, 4 Saturday night and 1 Monday night home game. We requested an ANZAC day invovement so that's why we got Monday night this year. Port will never get more than 6 Saturday night home games and we will be very lucky to get 2 Friday night home games. This might change under the new TV deal but I doubt it.

In last years annual report Boulton said the following about Sunday games.
"We believe we have some great "blockbuster" games scheduled for us at AAMI stadium next year. Equally we are aware from our supporters that Sunday games scheduled at 12.40pm are not the prefered choice and we do have five (sic) of these in the coming season. As a result we have budgeted for a reduction of our results from attendances in 2006 by nearly $250,000 due to forecast lower attendances along with the additional costs of putting on a game on a Sunday, which include penalty rate payments to stadium staff. We have again made representations to the AFL to program minimum Sunday games at this time in the future."

As I said in my previous post the best we can expect from the AFL is a sharing of early Sunday games with the Crows over ever 2 seasons.

PowerKat
17 May 2006, 14:21
This is our Sunday game draw for this year. As you can see we have 5 Sunday home games, 4 early and 1 late, not 6 early games. We have 3 early Sunday game interstate, and 3 at normal time, which means we get national coverage in 7 games. The club wants some national coverage and the draw achieves this.

oops - I was wrong - we don't have 6 early Sunday games, we have seven!

RogerRabbit69
17 May 2006, 14:41
you seem to follow me around a lot. whats your problem mate? why wont you let me post.
No problem mate. I can't stop you posting. That's why these forums are all about - interaction.

RogerRabbit69
17 May 2006, 14:46
it seems we cleared things up in another thread so im glad we can juts carry on now. i got referred to here by a friend so just getting to know people.
Sounds good jack. Followed Port for long?

RogerRabbit69
17 May 2006, 14:58
now that's just downright rude. I ask a simple question like how long you've followed Port and you tell me to get lost. Sheesh, no manners some people.

RussellEbertHandball
17 May 2006, 15:01
oops - I was wrong - we don't have 6 early Sunday games, we have seven!

But we only have 4 early games at home. Your intial post talked about home games, not home + away early starts.

Under the current TV deal, each year we play Sunday games against Brisbane or Sydney, home or away, or at Manuka or York Park these are guaranteed early games. This is driven by TV scheduling and the demand from Vic teams who play their home games at neutral venues of being guaranteed a live free to air coverage for the "fans back home".

Pinepower
17 May 2006, 15:47
The crowds were down for the three AFL games. I did not even watch it as footy was banned while we had lunch with everyone.

Maybe the AFL has to realise that sometimes footy is not a priority. One of these times would be Mothers Day and heaven help us all if we upset our Mothers.

Anyhow who would go and watch what is dished out for footy these days?

Papa G
17 May 2006, 16:43
I was expecting a crowd of around 20K. I assume a lot of people were in a similar position to myself. Quite a few factors swayed my decision not to go to this game. Mothers day cerlebrations (with a pig on the spit) was probably the number 1 reason, but other factors such as the bitter taste in my mouth from getting soaked at the showdown whilst the team put on a dismal display, the match time and simply not being very exited by the doggies were contributing factors.

It was the first home game I have missed this year (good one to miss, as I couldnt even bare to watch it on TV), but I will definately be back this week for the bears game.

PowerKat
18 May 2006, 16:06
But we only have 4 early games at home. Your intial post talked about home games, not home + away early starts.

Under the current TV deal, each year we play Sunday games against Brisbane or Sydney, home or away, or at Manuka or York Park these are guaranteed early games. This is driven by TV scheduling and the demand from Vic teams who play their home games at neutral venues of being guaranteed a live free to air coverage for the "fans back home".

sorry - should have clarified my point more in my post. I did not intend to only refer to home games - that came from quoting your post.

Having 7 early Sunday games is cr@p IMO, regardless of where they are played. If we are going to get so many away, then that's even more reason not to get them at home. They know we (the fans AND the club) don't want them, they know our crowds will be cr@p. "Only 4 games at home" is too many!

RussellEbertHandball
18 May 2006, 17:21
sorry - should have clarified my point more in my post. I did not intend to only refer to home games - that came from quoting your post.

Having 7 early Sunday games is cr@p IMO, regardless of where they are played. If we are going to get so many away, then that's even more reason not to get them at home. They know we (the fans AND the club) don't want them, they know our crowds will be cr@p. "Only 4 games at home" is too many!

I said "only 4 home (early) games" not because I agreeded with it but because you said 6, which was worded as 6 home games. What's wrong with an early game away? Don't tell me that you have that many big Saturday nights that you can't get up by 12.30 sa time to watch on TV a 12.40 bounce down. The club wants certain amount of national free to air coverage to keep our sponsors happy. Also the AFL keep a ladder of the cummulative ratings audenice which clubs use in their marketing to existing and/or potential sponsors.

Evey year around June, all clubs put in a request of half a dozen things they want from the following years draw. The first few things usually are what they want from the draw and then what they don't want. The club has made it clear to the AFL that they don't want early home Sunday games but they probably don't care about early away Sunday games. As I said above, they are guaranteed national coverage for those away games.

With channel 9 having commitments at 4.00pm in Qld and NSW to Rugby league we have always drawn Brisbane and Sydney to play the eary game either in SA or away because the AFL want those teams to have live coverage in their market. And I explained why we will have to play early games in Tassie and ACT in my previous post. This may change when Channel 7 takes over , as they have the Sunday games, but they are talking about late Sunday games so they can broadcast back to back Sunday games live and Fox Footy has requested Sunday twilight games.

As long as TV provides the majority of revenue to the AFL, TV scheduling will dominate the draw. The draw is probably the hardest thing the AFL have to do each year. I will wear 1 bad year if the next year is a good one, when it comes to early Sunday games at home. It's easy to whinge, it's harder to come up with a realistic alternative that is fair across the board.

Tredders66
18 May 2006, 18:01

please port supporters, get off the bandwagon.

OJ get over it seriously. You truly are a sadcase mate. You have been banned 50 times and still have the nerve to give us sh*t. Very sad.