View Full Version : Is the Benalla DFNL doomed ?.
Wayde Petersen
14th May 2006, 23:56
I know that the Benalla District Football League barely registers on the radar, due to it's size and stature, but considering that last Devenish had to forfiet all its matches (both Football & Netball) against Bonnie Doon on the weekend, is the equal (only to the Upper Murray FL) smallest league in the VCFL doomed ?.
http://news.mcmedia.com.au/story.asp?TakeNo=200605046704839
http://ensign.benalla.net.au/story.asp?TakeNo=200605106702082
If Devenish fold due to lack of numbers (they had 15 players to choose from last week, and they couldn't even muster up a team on Saturday), this puts the league back to 5 clubs (Bonnie Doon, Tatong, Swanpool, Longwood & Goorambat), and what will become of them ?.
Will they stay beacause they have nowhere else to go, or like in the former CGFL, will a potentail loss of a club become a catalyst for greater club losses (due to the tiny populations that support all of the BDFL clubs).
Well although it looks bad for Devenish (The Barbers have been around for over 120 years), at the moment, I hope that blokes who aren't getting a kick at Dookie, Tungamah, Benalla and the Benalla All Blacks, can help out this old club (and hopefuuly bring thier wifes/girlfreinds as well).
Considering that Powelltown (Yarra Valley Mountain District FL), and Nangiloc (Millewa), have folded this season, will Devenish join them ?., and with it the Benalla DFL ?.
hansie
15th May 2006, 08:47
Wayde,
The article links require login - can you paste one or both into a post?
FYI, my brother went out to Devenish training last week and reckons that injuries and travel to Bonnie Doon were the catalysts for the forfeit. Apparently they've picked up a couple of blokes during the week that need clearances.
I play for a Melbourne-based Amateur club, however due to our high numbers and no Clubbies, I have offered my brother my services when I have the week off (we run a rotation system), hopefully this team and league survive h/ever - hate to see sides fold!
TuskenRaider
15th May 2006, 09:32
Whilst many people will say it doesn't matter if the BDFL folds, I would disagree as it gives many people the opportunity to play a game of football who otherwise probably wouldn't play at all.
Years ago the BDFL was a fairly solid little league with Benalla Rovers, Benalla All Blacks, Glenrowan, Violet Town and Thornton-Eildon all participating. Of these, only Benalla Rovers have disappeared and in a way, the BDFL has been a victim of the above clubs (who were the stronger clubs) wanting to go to stronger leagues with better football. And you can't blame those clubs for wanting to do that if sustainable.
I'm not sure what the answer is, as the league really need at least one more team and cannot afford to lose one.
Todman
15th May 2006, 09:35
VCFL rules state that a league must have at least six clubs.
Thats what killed
Ararat DFA
Heytesbury Mt Noorat FL
Doona2
15th May 2006, 10:22
Barbers' shortage forces forfeit
By Richard Goodbody
May 15 2006
Shepparton News
Devenish's dire plight in the Benalla District Football League took a severe hit at the weekend when it was forced to forfeit its senior match against Bonnie Doon.
Late last week, The News made an impassioned plea to footballers from around the Goulburn Murray to join the Barbers, who are currently facing the biggest threat to their 120-year history.
The request, however, fell on deaf ears as the club had no other option but to hand the premiership points to the Bulldogs on Saturday due to a severe player shortage.
"It's a battle," Devenish president Peter Alexander said.
"We didn't have enough players to pick this week so we were forced to forfeit.
"Hopefully we've got enough to get one side on the ground next week, but I really don't know."
After claiming the premiership last year, their second in the past three seasons, the Barbers faced the indignity of clearing about 15 players to rival clubs during the summer, while another 10 or so retired.
"We had 51 registered players on our list last year," Stevenson said.
"Now we have 21 or 22.
"I guess we were in the unfortunate position last year where we had so many players who were a year or so away from retiring, and they all decided to go in one hit."
The Barbers are scheduled to play Goormabat at home on Saturday.
Nozzer
15th May 2006, 14:08
To answer the question of the title...
No it's not.
The call for players did not exactly fall on deaf ears. There's 7 blokes who'll be putting in for clearances, or have contacted the Devenish coaches during the week. I'm one of em.
Now if fat 39 year olds like me can have a go to help a club and community, anyone can. :)
While we may not be getting a magoos team any time soon, I can definitely assure you there's gonna be a Barber team running out to play the Bats this week.
The netballers didn't have to forfeit this past week, they only did cause we did. They're actually doing quite well.
Unfortunately, horror runs with injuries havent helped. And when three blokes who would be in the best 5-6 players in the league cant play, you're always gonna be pushing it uphill.
The team, to some extent, is a victim of its own success. Like most teams, there's the old blokes, the mid agers and the younger guys. Given Devenish's recent good run of form, the old guys decided to leave when on top, and the young guys move on to Uni, or try their luck at the O and M or GV leagues, or in this case, the Picola League, cause the traffic from Devenish to Tungamah this past year has been all one way, unfortunately. Leaves you with the mid agers, and that's kinda what happened here.
Anyway, if nothing else, I might go from being a fat 39 year old to a fitter, less fat 39 year old, which is always good. And yes, I am Hansie's brother.
Wayde Petersen
15th May 2006, 23:50
Well done Nozzer for putting your hand up, as the cliche goes, every little bit
helps, and thanks for setting me straight about the netballers, that's good to hear.
Sorry about those links Hansie, I think i'll just type them out the next time.
At Murch, we know what's it's like to have to struggle for numbers (There would only be 3-4 clubs in the Kyabram League who don't have a similar problem), and with injuries, it makes it really hard, and that's why I sympathise with what's going on at Devenish, and I was curious to find out if they were able to continue on.
And as far as young blokes leaving to go to Uni, that's a problem that clubs (and the towns that support them) throughout the state have to endure, and I know that we've lost a few players as a result of kids going to Melbourne.
But at least you should be able to get at least one football team on the field next week, and that's something, and it seems that the committee there is strong, and that's always a plus, and it's good to hear that the committee are leaving no stone unturned in thier quest to save thier club.
As TuskanRaider said earlier, leagues like the BDFL give people an oppotunity to play sport, whereas if they were at a bigger club (eg Benalla, Yarrawonga), they wouldn't get a game, and I knew that the VCFL has a 6 team league minimum in order to be affiliated & get funding, so I was wondering if the VCFL would pull the plug on the league like they did with the Central Goulburn League.
It would be a shame if that were to occur, and hopefully those eggheads at the VCFL will try to help the Benalla League and not bury it.
Nozzer
16th May 2006, 00:07
I hope they dont. Little town teams like Swanpool and Tatong and Devenish would get poleaxed by the Beechworth's, Yackandandah's, North Wang's and so on of this world if we had to join something like the Ovens and King. To say nothing of travel to places like Bright.
We'll keep on punching.
hansie
16th May 2006, 09:08
Another thing also about these smaller country sides/leagues is that the continually rising fuel costs do not help. Blokes not as keen to go home or play bush footy any more given the costs - hence, Melbourne clubs pick up all the players! (or they simply don't play)
localfootyguru
16th May 2006, 22:01
Lets hope the BDFL continues in its own right. The clubs in this league provide a community service in bringing people together socially through football and netball. Lets hope the guys at Devenish get some additional numbers and are able to field a team. Im sure the competition will be able to continue in its own right but after recent VCFL decisions in the North East zone who really knows what may happen. If the league was amalgamated you can bet that the majority of current member clubs would eventually merge or disappear.
slim18
16th May 2006, 22:34
No it's not.
The call for players did not exactly fall on deaf ears. There's 7 blokes who'll be putting in for clearances, or have contacted the Devenish coaches during the week. I'm one of em.
Now if fat 39 year olds like me can have a go to help a club and community, anyone can. :)
While we may not be getting a magoos team any time soon, I can definitely assure you there's gonna be a Barber team running out to play the Bats this week.
The netballers didn't have to forfeit this past week, they only did cause we did. They're actually doing quite well.
Unfortunately, horror runs with injuries havent helped. And when three blokes who would be in the best 5-6 players in the league cant play, you're always gonna be pushing it uphill.
The team, to some extent, is a victim of its own success. Like most teams, there's the old blokes, the mid agers and the younger guys. Given Devenish's recent good run of form, the old guys decided to leave when on top, and the young guys move on to Uni, or try their luck at the O and M or GV leagues, or in this case, the Picola League, cause the traffic from Devenish to Tungamah this past year has been all one way, unfortunately. Leaves you with the mid agers, and that's kinda what happened here.
Anyway, if nothing else, I might go from being a fat 39 year old to a fitter, less fat 39 year old, which is always good. And yes, I am Hansie's brother.
Nozz congrats for helping the Barbers out . Is it true that the Rumba guys wont travel to Longwood or b/doon.
Nozzer
16th May 2006, 22:57
First I've heard of it. Will find out more Thursday at Training.
Andyt30
17th May 2006, 18:25
i think their will be more changes by next year by the looks of it where would they go dont think KDFL would want anymore sides likewise with pdfl or Murray? maby follow benalla all black and move to Ovens & King ?
or send one to KDFL and make it a even 14 team comp and get rid of the bye
the nearest club,
cheers
Nozzer
17th May 2006, 20:00
Lets not be putting the cart before the horse, people. The Benalla League STILL has 6 clubs and WILL STILL have 6 clubs. It's not going anywhere.
As for joining the Ovens and King? Unlikely, It's a 2 hour drive to play at Bright, for example. Kyabram and District? Too far to just about everywhere. Same with Picola League, drives to play Deni Rovers and Blighty will be pains in the ar$e.
The Picola, maybe, but the only way that would happen is if they went to a 2 division system, I'd say. Adding the clubs from BDFL would make that something like a 20 team league. And there's still a lot of driving involved.
But lets wait and see what happens. I cant see the VCFL forcing a league to die if it still has 6 teams, and Devenish aint going anywhere.
head67
17th May 2006, 20:03
The BDFL has been around for a long time and has produced several league footballers. This is not reason enough alone to save it, but the logistical nightmare that Swanpool, Doon, The Barbers, Bats and alike face to find a new home would be a big hastle. Worst case scenario would then be clubs amalgamating to join the larger leagues or even worse folding. The more people like noz the better. For the good of footy, clubs and leagues like this must continue. I hope... I hope that some one at the VCFL is watching whats happening.
Nozzer
17th May 2006, 20:06
God no, Devenish couldnt combine with the Bats. That would be like combining Carlton and Collingwood. Rivals from way back.
The_Swifferian
17th May 2006, 20:39
No it's not.
Well Done Nozzie for standing up and helping out a battling club. Its bloke's like you that make the fabric of country clubs. Good luck, and let us know how you go.
Andyt30
17th May 2006, 23:19
central Goulburn had 7 and it died of a horrible death by the VCFL so don;t hold ya breath with Benalla & district maby bonnie-doon either fold or Merge forfeting all grades of football and Netball not a good sign
Nozzer
17th May 2006, 23:25
central Goulburn had 7 and it died of a horrible death by the VCFL so don;t hold ya breath with Benalla & district maby bonnie-doon either fold or Merge forfeting all grades of football and Netball not a good sign
Read above, mate. The netballers only forfeited cause the footballers did, and the footballers only did cause they weren't gonna get enough blokes cleared in time. Plus blokes like me hadn't trained. I haven't played footy for 12 years and have trained out to a block of flats. I was a likely moral to twang a hammy in the first 5 minutes and then we'd be even more screwed.
Plus the VCFL had reps at the meeting held at the club on the Thursday before the forfeit and they were quite pleased with the turnout.
slim18
18th May 2006, 15:04
Read above, mate. The netballers only forfeited cause the footballers did, and the footballers only did cause they weren't gonna get enough blokes cleared in time. Plus blokes like me hadn't trained. I haven't played footy for 12 years and have trained out to a block of flats. I was a likely moral to twang a hammy in the first 5 minutes and then we'd be even more screwed.
Plus the VCFL had reps at the meeting held at the club on the Thursday before the forfeit and they were quite pleased with the turnout.
Noz, just playing devils advocate here but didnt Devenish go through a similar
situation about 5-6 years ago. If so have they put their energies into the wrong end of the club,ie not getting kids to build on and around. They would have to go that way this time surely.
hansie
18th May 2006, 16:32
Slim,
I think the problem with your suggestion, however valid, is that there probably isn't enough local youth in Devenish and surrounds. Given that they're competing with the Wang, Benalla, Yarra/Mulwala and Shepp clubs!
Nozzer
18th May 2006, 16:51
It's a pretty small town, more a district side, really. There's maybe 25 houses in town, the footyground, a pub, a general store and a primary school. St James is just up the road and it's smaller. The High School kids go to Benalla, so it's only natural they'd be more likely to want to play with mates from school for Benalla, say.
They did have kids around, but like I've said above, cause of the recent success, a lot of them have moved on. I'll trot off to Training tonight, which is gonna hurt, I know, and we'll see what happens.
The_Swifferian
18th May 2006, 18:24
Just watched a news report on WIN Local News about the situation at Devenish.
Pretty much just a lot of the stuff that has been covered here.
Hopefully that might get a few more turning out to training.
raso43
18th May 2006, 21:26
Hopefully Benalla league will continue, having played in the comp previously for two clubs i know how much these small communities rely on there local football team and the revenue that it brings every second saturday, if this dies it will be a shame
Andyt30
18th May 2006, 22:03
benalla dfl wouldn;t wanna loose any side although look at Omeo dfl who had 5 sides for many years they manage to keep going strong they be alot worse for where the towns are located then got 2 new clubs to make it 7 . but their will be changes to most leagues eventually,
Nozzer
18th May 2006, 23:08
26 blokes to choose from this week, with at least 4 clearances to come and at least 4 blokes out hurt who are expected back in the next two weeks. Plus another new bloke fronted today and he's bringing a few with him, possibly. Not only will we survive, we'll possibly even eke together a magoos in the not too distant future.
head67
18th May 2006, 23:21
26 blokes to choose from this week, with at least 4 clearances to come and at least 4 blokes out hurt who are expected back in the next two weeks. Plus another new bloke fronted today and he's bringing a few with him, possibly. Not only will we survive, we'll possibly even eke together a magoos in the not too distant future. Great stuff Nozzer. I'd love some info on the league when you can. e.g. Who are some of the old boys of the league still going around.
Wayde Petersen
18th May 2006, 23:48
That's good to hear Nozzer.
Nozzer
19th May 2006, 00:22
Will do what I can, mate, but am new to the league myself.
How them Hoppers looking, Wayde?
head67
19th May 2006, 09:48
How them Hoppers looking, Wayde? Whats the side for this week Nozzer? And may be you could ask some one at the club if they remember Andrew Vorcoe(not sure spelling) and where is he now?
Wayde Petersen
19th May 2006, 13:29
How them Hoppers looking, Wayde?
Not that great at the moment, we've got to play Stanhope tomorrow, Murch hasn't been playing that badly over the past few weeks, but I don't think we'll win against Stanhope, despite thier injury worries, our two's are struggling for numbers due to injuries (who doesn't have that problem right now ?), and our thirds aren't going too badly, despite being a bit light on for numbers, but as far as the seniors are concerned, basically we're paying the price for some short sighted recruiting, but we're still remaining upbeat.
But, on a positive note, we've got a new scoreboard, we've managed to field 7 teams every week, and our netballers are having thier best season in years, and finally we've got some games where I think we can win (Merrigum, Nagambie, Violet Town, Girgarre & possibly Undera), so there's some hope there.
Wayne Weideman
19th May 2006, 14:03
g'day boys just wodering if that brendan redfern that used to play at euroa still plays for longwood?
Samtrish
19th May 2006, 17:06
Great stuff Nozzer. I'd love some info on the league when you can. e.g. Who are some of the old boys of the league still going around.
More the case Head67 the blokes you powered through in your charge from CHB in the powerhouse days at VT
efcskip47
20th May 2006, 21:26
g'day boys just wodering if that brendan redfern that used to play at euroa still plays for longwood?
its true redda is still kickin, and kicking well.
Wayne Weideman
21st May 2006, 06:00
its true redda is still kickin, and kicking well.
so he still goes alright?:thumbsu: was a very good player at euroa
Andyt30
21st May 2006, 12:45
Benalla dfl results
Goorambat 32.18 =210 d Denish 0.3=3
Longwood 13.9=87 d Swanpool 10.14=74
Bonnie Doon 26-21=177 d Tatong 11.7=73
efcskip47
21st May 2006, 20:38
so he still goes alright?:thumbsu: was a very good player at euroa
redda is in fact the skipper this year. how many games did he chalk up for euroa?? the man loves an ale thats for sure
head67
22nd May 2006, 00:08
Benalla dfl results
Goorambat 32.18 =210 d Denish 0.3=3
Longwood 13.9=87 d Swanpool 10.14=74
Bonnie Doon 26-21=177 d Tatong 11.7=73Any chance that some one can elaborate on this? I'm asumming Nozzer did'nt kick a bag this week.:)
Nozzer
22nd May 2006, 10:56
Nope... Couple of Bats did, though.
To be honest, I've seen teams play worse and get closer. Goorambat are the class side of that league, no doubt, and showed it. But we had half the side still introducing themselves to each other before the game.
We'll see how we go. If we can pull off some wins against sides like Tatong and maybe Swanpool, that will be a start.
slim18
22nd May 2006, 12:06
Nope... Couple of Bats did, though.
To be honest, I've seen teams play worse and get closer. Goorambat are the class side of that league, no doubt, and showed it. But we had half the side still introducing themselves to each other before the game.
We'll see how we go. If we can pull off some wins against sides like Tatong and maybe Swanpool, that will be a start.
Noz, did you finish up with a full team??. Did the rumba boys turnup?
Nozzer
22nd May 2006, 13:51
Cause I'm pressed for time...
Yes full team, 22 blokes fronted for 21 spots. Rumba boys? Nope, and Starting to suspect they wont.
hansie
24th May 2006, 10:58
An article in the Benalla Ensign today.
Lack of players behind big loss
http://ensign.benalla.net.au/pics/BEN/20060524/score.jpg
Not a pretty sight: The scoreboard following Saturday’s clash between local rivals Goorambat and Devenish.
May 24 2006
Benalla Ensign
Devenish's on-field struggles have continued, with the undermanned Barbers thrashed by Goorambat on Saturday.
Goorambat handed last year's premiers a 217-point thumping, Simon Clyne leading the way with 11 goals.
Glenn Burnell also continued his run of great form with eight, while Karl Bibby and Heath Hammond also starred.
The loss came just a few days after the Barbers were stripped of their only victory - in round two over Tatong.
The Benalla and District Football League executive made the decision to hand the points over to the winless Magpies following the detection of a team sheet error.
Numbers were again a major issue for Devenish, which continues to call for anyone interested in a game of football to simply attend training.
In the weekend's other games, Longwood overcame an inaccurate Swanpool to claim second place on the ladder.
With Trent Walton booting three goals, the Redlegs' straight kicking allowed them to edge the Swans by 13 points.
Damien King and Dean Bradshaw were among the young Swans' best.
Tatong, meanwhile, was no match for Bonnie Doon.
With the Bulldog midfield again at its impressive best, Nick Fritch kicked six goals for Bonnie Doon, which ran out a 103-point winner.
This week, Tatong will host the Bats in their Centenary Cup game, while Longwood will play Bonnie Doon. Swanpool is scheduled to play the Barbers.
As far as the comp is concerned, would it be of any benefit for them to try and lure All Blacks and Glenrowan back? Neither side is setting the O&K alight and may appreciate the move back. Maybe consider Violet Town as well?
Wayne Weideman
24th May 2006, 16:54
redda is in fact the skipper this year. how many games did he chalk up for euroa?? the man loves an ale thats for sure
of the vodka variety. he can drink though the man!
slim18
24th May 2006, 19:05
How were numbers at Dev tues nite boys.
head67
24th May 2006, 19:16
How were numbers at Dev tues nite boys.Interested to hear how training went. Big emphasis on enjoyment and getting to know each other,was there?
slim18
24th May 2006, 20:00
Interested to hear how training went. Big emphasis on enjoyment and getting to know each other,was there?
I'll take it from that no's were ok
Nozzer
24th May 2006, 20:37
Not sure, was stuck 100K away with work. Will find out Thursday.
efcskip47
25th May 2006, 23:13
obviously goorambat are the form side. how do you think the other contenders stack up. longwood, doon and swanpool.
Nozzer
26th May 2006, 11:40
Doon and the Bats, for mine. Going on current form. Longwood are ever so slightly below them. Swanpool got found out last weekend.
Motty
26th May 2006, 22:56
I was going through some stuff at home today and came across the scores from the league in The Age in August 1967. Interesting reading.
Strathbogie 8.7 55 def Devenish 5.13 43
Glenrowan 24.12 156 def Tatong 10.6 66
Goorambat 15.7 97 def Tolmie 7.11 53
All Blacks 11.10 76 def Swanpool 7.14 56
Bonnie Doon 13.18 96 def Thoona 7.5 47
A few old clubs there.
head67
26th May 2006, 23:52
I was going through some stuff at home today and came across the scores from the league in The Age in August 1967. Interesting reading.
Bonnie Doon 13.18 96 def Thoona 7.5 47A few old clubs there. Great stuff Motty. Tolmie, Thoona and the bogie men gone. The ned kelly men gone to the ovens, the towners in and then out. Thonton short stint. And the true survivors remain, keep the thread alive and keep some intrest in this league going!
efcskip47
29th May 2006, 13:19
Doon and the Bats, for mine. Going on current form. Longwood are ever so slightly below them. Swanpool got found out last weekend.
The leggers had a good win against doon on the wkend. probably should have won by more but to doons credit they fought on till the end. longwood just cant put four quarters together. they play one or two awesome quarters then go missing. still a long way away from the finals, but the bats are obvioulsy the team to beat.
hansie
29th May 2006, 15:01
Great stuff Motty. Tolmie, Thoona and the bogie men gone. The ned kelly men gone to the ovens, the towners in and then out. Thonton short stint. And the true survivors remain, keep the thread alive and keep some intrest in this league going!
Should the league and VCFL come up with a package to save the league, such as bringing All Blacks and the Ned Kelly men back from the O&K, and/or Thornton and Alex from the YVMDFL? Even the Towners from the KD? An article in the Ensign recently had Tatong's coach talking about a grading structure similar to English soccer for footy in the North-East - not a bad idea, any thoughts/comments?
Having being 'rested' from my team this week (the irony that some clubs have too many players and others don't have enough) I headed up to Swanpool to see if my bro and the Barbers needed assistance. They didn't (had 20) so I stayed and watched, and while the standard wasn't great, Devenish had a real go and actually won the 3rd qtr. Swanpool have a young quick side that will take them far this year I reckon. The Barbs had a few that looked as if they weren't up to 1's standard, however if they keep fighting on, things look good for them, good luck to'em!
big tony
29th May 2006, 21:05
nah completely disagree with everyone.
the league should colapse and make/form a team in the o&k and be call benalla rovers?
this league is not a league, wats the point of devinish busting there arses week in week out, fielding 60 year olds just to survive!!!
its just not gd for football.
Andyt30
29th May 2006, 23:12
who would devenish Merge with? can;t see their Close Neighbour Goorambat
who are Undefeated ? How about Swanpool and close Neighbout Tatong?
their will eventually have to Be Mergers or Devenish would need a good recruiting Drive or face folding , like alot of clubs in the same possition were
even North Central are coping with 7 and mallee football league also 7
Look at St.arnaud in North Central a decent size Town and only won 1 game so far and MAllee Their been some hugh scores
And Natimuk in Horsham District league who are winless who only managed just 0.3.3 their in the same possy as Devenish but so far no forfeits
in Mallee Walpeup/Underbool & Jeparit Rainbow winless after 6 rounds
head67
30th May 2006, 17:13
the league should colapse and make/form a team in the o&k and be call benalla rovers?
this league is not a league, wats the point of devinish busting there arses week in week out, fielding 60 year olds just to survive!!!
its just not gd for football.I get your point big tony. But the logistics of clubs finding a place to go is an issue. The B.D.F.L i've always thought may be treated as a place for the player who loves his footy but can't, either make the higher grades or cn't commit to the training req's.
journeyman
30th May 2006, 17:38
its just not gd for football.
Totally agree with you Big Tony. I know there will are very passionate people at the BDFL clubs but how much longer can the league keep going? Wouldn't it be better for the clubs to get together and make decisions on their terms.
Does anyone think the league will be running in 10 years? I don't, so why not try and figure out the best thing for the six clubs now.
Doona2
30th May 2006, 19:20
Totally agree with you Big Tony. I know there will are very passionate people at the BDFL clubs but how much longer can the league keep going? Wouldn't it be better for the clubs to get together and make decisions on their terms.
Does anyone think the league will be running in 10 years? I don't, so why not try and figure out the best thing for the six clubs now.
Wonder what the WorkSafe VCFL's North East Area Manager John O'Donohue's thoughts on all this are - he was great in a crisis when the CGFL faced similar dilemma's
efcskip47
30th May 2006, 20:48
what is the main reason behind the decline in numbers at devenish?
slim18
30th May 2006, 21:17
Wonder what the WorkSafe VCFL's North East Area Manager John O'Donohue's thoughts on all this are - he was great in a crisis when the CGFL faced similar dilemma's
Sounds as though you 2 dont swap xmas cards doona
Doona2
30th May 2006, 21:22
He probably wouldnt even have a clue who I am or that of the long term consequences of the VCFL's decision - guess Im still extremely bitter and twisted about all that took place last year :mad:
Let's restructure the entire North East region and cut out some of geographic flaws.
BODZY#32
30th May 2006, 21:25
John was bloody hopeless in sorting out the cgfl over the last few years.... they were meant to be investigating the best options for every club and his idea was to move yea bak into the kdfl and put the other two southern clubs in a pdfl which pushes into nsw..... bloody brilliant john.....
Doona2
30th May 2006, 21:29
John was bloody hopeless in sorting out the cgfl over the last few years.... they were meant to be investigating the best options for every club and his idea was to move yea bak into the kdfl and put the other two southern clubs in a pdfl which pushes into nsw..... bloody brilliant john.....
Thanks mate was starting to think I was the only one who thought so :thumbsu: did the big Sphink av a run in Bendigo tonight?
BODZY#32
30th May 2006, 21:44
Thanks mate was starting to think I was the only one who thought so :thumbsu: did the big Sphink av a run in Bendigo tonight?
VERY DOUBTFUL MATE.....!! although to his credit i did here him talkin bout goin out and training with marong
Motty
31st May 2006, 09:03
Personally I cannot see why the VCFL compels clubs in areas such as this to field reserve grade sides - the article in the Weekly Times today highlights Ouyen United as the "17-in-1 club" and hypes up mergers.
What say the VCFL allows the BDFNL clubs to field one senior side?
Towns with struggling teams such as Devenish would be allowed to keep their team alive, the businesses (bakeries, supermarkets, pubs, etc) would get trade from the club and thereby ensure they remain viable and people in the community would still have an outlet for community bonding in the winter adn people would be participating in a healthy pursuit (the fight against obesity being a prominent issue).
Who knows, a place with a long-folded team might be able to resurrect itself and revive the fortunes of their town!
I can't see the VCFL considering such a view though - they seem to think that if a club dies, then that is natural attrition.
hansie
31st May 2006, 14:31
Personally I cannot see why the VCFL compels clubs in areas such as this to field reserve grade sides - the article in the Weekly Times today highlights Ouyen United as the "17-in-1 club" and hypes up mergers.
Towns with struggling teams such as Devenish would be allowed to keep their team alive, the businesses (bakeries, supermarkets, pubs, etc) would get trade from the club and thereby ensure they remain viable and people in the community would still have an outlet for community bonding in the winter adn people would be participating in a healthy pursuit (the fight against obesity being a prominent issue).
Who knows, a place with a long-folded team might be able to resurrect itself and revive the fortunes of their town!
I can't see the VCFL considering such a view though - they seem to think that if a club dies, then that is natural attrition.
Sounds like a good thought - you beat me to psoting it, as I just thought the same thing!
And Doona, I'd be interested to hear what you propose for restructure, been reading a few of your posts and you sound pretty switched on, so I'd imagine you;d have a few decent, sane ideas!
Doona2
31st May 2006, 14:38
Sounds like a good thought - you beat me to psoting it, as I just thought the same thing!
And Doona, I'd be interested to hear what you propose for restructure, been reading a few of your posts and you sound pretty switched on, so I'd imagine you;d have a few decent, sane ideas!
Shall go through some old correspondance when I get home cant quite remember what arguments I raised during last year
TuskenRaider
31st May 2006, 15:44
I'm pretty sure that years ago, some clubs were allowed to field one side in the BDFL.
I also believe (and footypedia might be able to shed some light on this) that some clubs fielded sides as another team's reserves, sort of like in the AFL/VFL these days.
Eg. Avenel's 2's were Longwood/Avenel, even Yarck formed part of someone's 2's. I could be wrong but Im' sure I've read this somewhere.
Has anyone else heard of this?
nicnat
31st May 2006, 16:55
I'm pretty sure that years ago, some clubs were allowed to field one side in the BDFL.
I also believe (and footypedia might be able to shed some light on this) that some clubs fielded sides as another team's reserves, sort of like in the AFL/VFL these days.
Eg. Avenel's 2's were Longwood/Avenel, even Yarck formed part of someone's 2's. I could be wrong but Im' sure I've read this somewhere.
Has anyone else heard of this?
The BDFL was only senior grade up until 1985.......
clifton's lookalike
31st May 2006, 17:12
Barbers' shortage forces forfeit
By Richard Goodbody
May 15 2006
Shepparton News
Devenish's dire plight in the Benalla District Football League took a severe hit at the weekend when it was forced to forfeit its senior match against Bonnie Doon.
Late last week, The News made an impassioned plea to footballers from around the Goulburn Murray to join the Barbers, who are currently facing the biggest threat to their 120-year history.
The request, however, fell on deaf ears as the club had no other option but to hand the premiership points to the Bulldogs on Saturday due to a severe player shortage.
"It's a battle," Devenish president Peter Alexander said.
"We didn't have enough players to pick this week so we were forced to forfeit.
"Hopefully we've got enough to get one side on the ground next week, but I really don't know."
After claiming the premiership last year, their second in the past three seasons, the Barbers faced the indignity of clearing about 15 players to rival clubs during the summer, while another 10 or so retired.
"We had 51 registered players on our list last year," Stevenson said.
"Now we have 21 or 22.
"I guess we were in the unfortunate position last year where we had so many players who were a year or so away from retiring, and they all decided to go in one hit."
The Barbers are scheduled to play Goormabat at home on Saturday.
Just an outsider looking into an interesting topic and it would be unfortunate for any league to have to fold because of lack of teams, some of these leagues have an extremely proud history.
What I don't understand is if this team had 51 players to choose from and 10 or so retired that means the club has cleared at least 20 players to other clubs probably more if they have picked up a player or 2. Why did the committee let 20 players go in the 1 pre season?
head67
31st May 2006, 17:56
Has anyone else heard of this? Not sure, but i think you may going back to Waranga North East days when there was a lot of regional sides that are long long long gone.
slim18
31st May 2006, 18:29
Just an outsider looking into an interesting topic and it would be unfortunate for any league to have to fold because of lack of teams, some of these leagues have an extremely proud history.
What I don't understand is if this team had 51 players to choose from and 10 or so retired that means the club has cleared at least 20 players to other clubs probably more if they have picked up a player or 2. Why did the committee let 20 players go in the 1 pre season?
As it stands now, it's very difficult to stop them going especially if they are returning to their old clubs or moving up a level etc,etc,etc. Unless they are contracted players or owe the club money or a jumperyou are wasting your time if they dont want to stay. Ithink in this case after 2 out of the last 3 flags most of them had been there done that and wanted to move on. Also whats the point of trying to keep them if they dont want to be there, they are no good for the club in that state of mind.
head67
31st May 2006, 18:55
As it stands now, it's very difficult to stop them going especially if they are returning to their old clubs or moving up a level etc,etc,etc. Unless they are contracted players or owe the club money or a jumperyou are wasting your time if they dont want to stay. Ithink in this case after 2 out of the last 3 flags most of them had been there done that and wanted to move on. Also whats the point of trying to keep them if they dont want to be there, they are no good for the club in that state of mind.Seen it up here often slim. And even if there is issues with the player the more amicably they are settled the more likely they are to return one day. Burnt bridges work both ways in footy clobs.
raso43
1st June 2006, 17:50
the committee themselves would'nt happen to have anything to do with this decline in players would it?
Nozzer
1st June 2006, 21:20
What about the fact that we now at Devenish have gone from 22 blokes to 36, and have a few more turning up Saturday?
There's only two clubs struggling for numbers, us, and that's almost sorted, and Tatong, and that's almost sorted as well.
The league's not going anywhere, doomsayers. And how many 60 year olds are we playing, big tony? Care to name them? Check a few facts before talking out your arse, spanker.
Nozzer
1st June 2006, 21:27
I've said it before, mate...
But basically, like most clubs, the team had three groups. The Kids, the mid ages, mid 20's blokes, and the older guys.
A lot of the kids had been there and started when the club was winning, and when you win 2 flags in 3 yeras, they think it's time to try their luck up a grade. We've lost a lot of blokes to Tungamah, in the Picola League, which is a step up.
So the kids move on, go to Uni or work, and want to play in Melbourne, or with work mates. They move on.
The old guys think it's time to go out on top, so they pull the pin.
You're left with the mid 20's blokes, who are either rusted onto the club, or are part of a circle of mates.
That's basically what happened here.
Nozzer
1st June 2006, 21:32
I see your point mate, and even agree to some extent, but have you been to Devenish? It's seriously a pub, a General store and some houses. The pub's 100 meters from the ground, if that, and the club gets it's booze from it. I'd almost be willing to argue that the pub's not doing as well, simply cause there's ISN'T a seconds game.
grievous
2nd June 2006, 15:24
do any clubs pay players - not awards, but match fees??
Nozzer
2nd June 2006, 15:31
Bonnie Doon 13.18 96 def Thoona 7.5 47
A few old clubs there.
Indeed. Who can name the ex North Melbourne player recruited from Strathbogie? (Hint, wore No 13)
Thoona's gone, that town's now better known for it's wheelie bin races. I didn't know Tolmie ever had a team. There's not much out that way.
One of the old blokes at the club actually remembers playing those clubs...
Nozzer
2nd June 2006, 15:33
I couldn't say, but Devenish dont. There's a few handy footballers at Goorambat, including some ex Benalla blokes, but one of them's the Coach's son... I'd be guessing if I said anything.
hansie
2nd June 2006, 15:51
I couldn't say, but Devenish dont. There's a few handy footballers at Goorambat, including some ex Benalla blokes, but one of them's the Coach's son... I'd be guessing if I said anything.
Might be some $$$ at Longwood and/or the Doon - easier access to Melb-based players who might be getting a little bit of ttravelling coin. I know a Melbourne based Longwood player, and I don't think he's going up there for nothing...
moosha
2nd June 2006, 17:20
Dont have alot to do with the B&D this year but i can assure you, if not all, most of the clubs pay players. Devenish may not this year, but definatley threw a bit round the last couple of seasons.
slim18
2nd June 2006, 19:21
Dont have alot to do with the B&D this year but i can assure you, if not all, most of the clubs pay players. Devenish may not this year, but definatley threw a bit round the last couple of seasons.
Rumour has it that dev were offering huge money in an effort to get people to stay.
grievous
2nd June 2006, 20:32
not a fan of offering individuals money. awards, incentives and petrol money are understandable. maybe there should be a base payment for every winning side, rather than splash 300 on one guy.
Andyt30
2nd June 2006, 22:06
ouyen United came fron Tgp Merger, Tempy Goyura & PAtchwollock
their was Ouyen Rovers when they merged with TGP became Ouyen United , who once played up Millewa or Sunraysia league
Motty
3rd June 2006, 01:10
The Weekly Times article (by Zoe Skewes) on Wednesday said that Ouyen United is made up of seventeen clubs. They are :
Baring, Brozewing, Dering, Gorya, Kiamal, Ouyen, Ouyen Imperials, Ouyen North West, Ouyen Rovers, Patchewollock, Pirro, Speed, Tempy, Tiega,
Turriff, Waythe and Wymlet.
Ouyen United has four footy sides and six netball sides and a committee of 20 people.
Since 2000 (after OU was last "combined up") Ouyen has lost a bank, a petrol station, a primary school, a supermarket and a trotting track - hard times indeed up in the nor' west!
localfootyguru
3rd June 2006, 21:43
Footy has certainly changed around Ouyen and the Northern Mallee in recent times. The once viable and reasonably strong Northern Mallee FL is long gone and clubs now have to travel huge distances to play a game of footy.
Ouyen for a while also hosted a club that played in the Sunraysia FL and a club that played in the Northern Mallee FL - they were the good days before bureaucrats and others decided to remove many services from the town and close down our great trotting track.
Ouyen United is a great football club and provides a great community service to the town. In recent times has also been reasonably successful too. Lets hope it can continue for another 100 years.
grievous
5th June 2006, 20:06
time to talk about wkend results fellas. was at the doon swanpool game, and looks like another team can be counted out for flag hopes. doon no doubt wanted to show some pride after last weeks performance against the leggers. the bats played tough footy, but were outscored in the last quarter which will give longwood coach andrew burke something to ponder. how is devenish numbers going?? hear they picked up 2 brothers by the name of dowell?
efcskip47
9th June 2006, 19:04
who are the candidates for interleague representation this year?
head67
9th June 2006, 23:32
If some one can give me a bit of back ground on all teams it would greatly appreciated. eg. coaches and captains from sides.
Motty
11th June 2006, 23:04
In a recent post, there was a suggestion of a league with some teams' Reserves playing other towns.
Footypedia notes that the Euroa DFL and the Seymour DFA merged to form the Hume Highway FL. In 1950, the HHFL consisted of reserves sides from Broadford, Euroa and Seymour, plus teams from Goulburn United, Longwood, Saint Marys, Strathbogie and Tallarook.
In the Grand Final, Strathbogie defeated Broadford 2nds by ten points, 11.7 to 8.13.
1951 saw Bonnie Doon and Yarck join, whilst the three seconds' sides departed, leaving a seven team competition. Strathbogie 13.6.84 defeated Longwood 6.15.51 in the Grand Final.
1952 welcomed Avenel Rovers, as Strathbogie notched up a hat-trick of HHFL flags.
There were only five sides in 1953 (Avenel Rovers, Longwood, Strathbogie, Tallarook and Yarck, as Longwood 12.4.76 defeated Strathbogie 8.9.57 in the "Big One".
The league folded after the 1954 season, when Longwood, Ruffy, Strathbogie and Yarck were the only four sides - Yarck never played senior footy again after season's end.
Lidge
11th June 2006, 23:22
Indeed. Who can name the ex North Melbourne player recruited from Strathbogie? (Hint, wore No 13)
Thoona's gone, that town's now better known for it's wheelie bin races. I didn't know Tolmie ever had a team. There's not much out that way.
One of the old blokes at the club actually remembers playing those clubs...
Good old John Law!:thumbsu:
A shame to see these old clubs and leagues struggle.
I played my 1st senior game of footy for Devenish 25 years ago (as a 13 yr old) against Strathbogie.
I've played in a stack of different country leagues, and without a footy team, the spirit of these towns dies with it.
sackedinaminutecoach
12th June 2006, 21:07
Theres a player at longwood {steven sanford} and i have heard from a few very reliable sources he is on 600 quid a game. The blokes a wa*nker and not worth half that as a player. There full forward bowman must be on a pretty penny to you'd think, the way he prances around half forward as if he is Chris Tarrant.
scott coight
12th June 2006, 21:51
Theres a player at longwood {steven sanford} and i have heard from a few very reliable sources he is on 600 quid a game. The blokes a wa*nker and not worth half that as a player. There full forward bowman must be on a pretty penny to you'd think, the way he prances around half forward as if he is Chris Tarrant.
just a little incorrect there sacked. while steve could probably ask for some good coin, he has offered his services for free this year. word has it he knocked back offers from several clubs in the region just to play with his mates. a true clubman on and off the field.
Also young bowman is back on track to resume his dominance in the forward 50. anyone that had watched him play would assume it was TAZ himself.
Interesting to note that Euroa has struggled since the departure of bowman. Dont know how they let him slip through the radar. A great playmaker and ball magnet.
hansie
14th June 2006, 15:51
I played my 1st senior game of footy for Devenish 25 years ago (as a 13 yr old) against Strathbogie.
I've played in a stack of different country leagues, and without a footy team, the spirit of these towns dies with it.
That's certainly true Lidge, hope that both the Barbers and Tatong kick on, and that this comp survives (or at least the clubs do in some form)
head67
14th June 2006, 18:26
I've played in a stack of different country leagues, and without a footy team, the spirit of these towns dies with it.Giday Lidge. Played my 1st senior game for the Towners 23 years ago. How many games did you end up playing?
hansie
19th June 2006, 14:44
See Tatong upset Swannie on the weekend, breathing a bit of life into this fine little comp after all!
And the Barbers ensuring that it wasn't all 1-way traffic for the Leggers, good weekend for the strugglers of the comp!
slim18
19th June 2006, 21:42
See Tatong upset Swannie on the weekend, breathing a bit of life into this fine little comp after all!
And the Barbers ensuring that it wasn't all 1-way traffic for the Leggers, good weekend for the strugglers of the comp!
Have Tatong picked up any more players in the last couple of weeks
Lidge
21st June 2006, 19:57
Giday Lidge. Played my 1st senior game for the Towners 23 years ago. How many games did you end up playing?
Just the 2 games. Was on school holidays (went to Assumption, so they assumed I could play a bit and wasn't going to be any worse than anyone in the magoos). Purely a fill in.
Ended up doing the rounds after leaving school. From memory, clubs in order were:
Devenish (BDFL), Yarrawonga (OMFL), Prahran (VFA), Yarrawonga (OMFL), Tungamah (TFL), Deer Park (Footscray DFL), North Coburg (EDFL), Ascot Vale (Footscray DFL), Warburton-Millgrove (Yarra Valley Mountain DFL).
Plus a couple of cameos with clubs such as Edenhope under a bogus name.
From the CV - a 'journey man' at best. Ruckman/CHF for hire;) But haven't had a run for about 12 yrs - gave it away at about 26 after a few knee ops too many.
head67
21st June 2006, 20:25
Just the 2 games. Was on school holidays (went to Assumption, so they assumed I could play a bit and wasn't going to be any worse than anyone in the magoos). Purely a fill in.
Ended up doing the rounds after leaving school. From memory, clubs in order were:
Devenish (BDFL), Yarrawonga (OMFL), Prahran (VFA), Yarrawonga (OMFL), Tungamah (TFL), Deer Park (Footscray DFL), North Coburg (EDFL), Ascot Vale (Footscray DFL), Warburton-Millgrove (Yarra Valley Mountain DFL).
Plus a couple of cameos with clubs such as Edenhope under a bogus name.
From the CV - a 'journey man' at best. Ruckman/CHF for hire;) But haven't had a run for about 12 yrs - gave it away at about 26 after a few knee ops too many.Geeze Lidge 8 clubs and finished at 26. Would you have played with John Brunner at Yarra.