View Full Version : Which Players won't be in Brisbane colours in 2007

baywatch5
15 May 2006, 11:53
G'day all,
Heres my list of players who may not be around next year:

Clark Keating ( injuries have killed him.... with Charman, McDonald and Clark coach will run out of patience)

Justin Leppitsch ( As above, Absolute warrior but on the wrong side of 30 and coach will want a clean out)

Ash McGrath ( 6 yrs on list / make or break season as others closing in on his spot)

Daniel Merrett ( 4 years on list / 20 gms, in and out of side, huge body, very hot and cold definately make or break year)

Scott brothers ( see leppa's )

Jason Akermanis ( very interesting one... next 4 weeks will be interesting. Matthews will definatley listen to offers but think he will stay...)

Michael Voss ( may retire ???? )

I think there will be 6 / 7 spots freed up for up and coming draft, which from all reports will be a cracker....

Interested in your thoughts
cheers

POBT
15 May 2006, 12:30
G'day all,
Heres my list of players who may not be around next year:

Clark Keating ( injuries have killed him.... with Charman, McDonald and Clark coach will run out of patience)

Justin Leppitsch ( As above, Absolute warrior but on the wrong side of 30 and coach will want a clean out)

Ash McGrath ( 6 yrs on list / make or break season as others closing in on his spot)

Daniel Merrett ( 4 years on list / 20 gms, in and out of side, huge body, very hot and cold definately make or break year)

Scott brothers ( see leppa's )

Jason Akermanis ( very interesting one... next 4 weeks will be interesting. Matthews will definatley listen to offers but think he will stay...)

Michael Voss ( may retire ???? )

I think there will be 6 / 7 spots freed up for up and coming draft, which from all reports will be a cracker....

Interested in your thoughts
cheers
Crackers - yes.
Leppa - possibly although may reinvent himself as a "sweeper" across half back. Being one of the "veterans" will help in terms of cost of contract.
Scotts - yes.
McGrath - should stay although he wouldn't want to expect a contract upgrade as he really hasn't moved forward with his footy.
Merrett - no. Still too early IMO. Very young in football terms. Not too many 21 year old full forwards going around.
Aker - who knows? Anyone who can predict how this will pan out is kidding themselves. Aker is still capable of consistently excellent footy which means he will be great value to both the Lions as well as other sides.
Voss - will only retire if injured. He won't (and nor should he be expected to) miss out on the final year of his contract. If we are going to look after any player, it should be a great club servant like Voss.

Other than the guys you have named, Corrie, JMac and Attard (in that order) would be probably the most likely to drop off the senior list.

They won't be able to rely wholly on retirements of older players to create list space given that two of the promoted rookies, Roe and Harding should remain on the senior list for next year. That means some younger fringe players like Attard, Corrie, JMac, Stiller and Allan might be playing for 1-2 spots.

Grimreepah
15 May 2006, 13:15
What about Garner?

konstas_87
15 May 2006, 14:45
Leppa: c if he improves, possible trade
Keating: goooooooooooone now Beau is back
Aker: should keep him provided he's being disciplined and working for the team.
Notting and Mcgrath: need to improve this season have not really done anything lately... Notting is 27!?!? he should be at his peak...both tradeable
Voss: will play1 more year with browny captain you'd think: mostly in the fwd line/half back.
Scotts: both retire at seasons end
merrett: they wouldnt have invested all this time into him only to trade him on, theyll stick with him id have thought a bit longer, he hasnt palyed AFL all that long.

POBT
15 May 2006, 15:02
What about Garner?
Will be kept. Was on track, development wise, until he did his knee so provided he commits himself to rehab then I would have thought he would be given at least another 12 months.

POBT
15 May 2006, 15:04
Leppa: c if he improves, possible trade
Keating: goooooooooooone now Beau is back
Aker: should keep him provided he's being disciplined and working for the team.
Notting and Mcgrath: need to improve this season have not really done anything lately... Notting is 27!?!? he should be at his peak...both tradeable
Voss: will play1 more year with browny captain you'd think: mostly in the fwd line/half back.
Scotts: both retire at seasons end
merrett: they wouldnt have invested all this time into him only to trade him on, theyll stick with him id have thought a bit longer, he hasnt palyed AFL all that long.
Konstas, not sure I agree with your assessment of Notting. I think his footy has matured in the last few rounds. He copped a bath from Goodes but otherwise he has been OK.

Grimreepah
15 May 2006, 15:22
Is there some rule about new recruits having to stay on the list for a minimum of two years?

baywatch5
15 May 2006, 17:54
Is there some rule about new recruits having to stay on the list for a minimum of two years?

Yeah I think your right....
I believe 2 yrs minimum for players taken in national draft.

The Flying Belgian
15 May 2006, 21:21
As far as I've been able to work out, Leppa, C.Scott, Voss and Aka have contracts that run until the end of 2007. Unless they decide to retire, they can't be cut. Most if not all of those would be back-ended contracts too, the legacy of trying to keep the list together.

As for first-year players, they can be cut, but must be paid out the remainder of their two-year contract which counts under the salary cap. Another option is to cur said player and re-draft them as a rookie - this is what happened to Luke Forsyth this year. However if they've already been on a rookie list at an AFL club, they cut be delisted after only one year (e.g. Leigh Ryswyk)

Pat Garner may be a candidate to be delisted and then rookie-listed. He's working his way back from a knee-reco and needs to add a bit more bulk to his frame.

Vidman
16 May 2006, 08:30
As far as I've been able to work out, Leppa, C.Scott, Voss and Aka have contracts that run until the end of 2007. Unless they decide to retire, they can't be cut. Most if not all of those would be back-ended contracts too, the legacy of trying to keep the list together.

I think trades are most likely, with aka , leppa and scotts in that order. Although realistically I think only aka has trade value. With this years draft being very deep, apparently, I see them getting a lot for aka, maybe two first rounders like Ottens? OK he may only have three or so years left but he's a superstar and much better than Ottens, Rawlings, Croad etc who've been the big trades recently. Don't get me wrong I don't want him gone, but taking the emotion out of it it probably would be great for the club to get value out of him. Draft an entire future midfield with three first round picks.

The Flying Belgian
16 May 2006, 08:46
I think trades are most likely, with aka , leppa and scotts in that order.

Their bodies are too broken for anyone to seriously consider them now, apart from Aka and even he has that ongoing hamstring problem that won't get any better with age.

Captain Charisma
16 May 2006, 13:31
Your Kidding yourself if you think leppa will be traded. The Scott Brothers will be told to retire or will be traded unless they can prove there is a reason for them to be still there. Notting played really well on the weekend but i think could be playing for his career as a Lion, Aker well know one will know that till the end of the year, JMac will be Kept, Corrie Will go and maybe Moody

POBT
16 May 2006, 14:10
Good article by Garry Lyon regarding showing patience with young players....

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,19146788%255E20121,00.html

konstas_87
16 May 2006, 15:51
Konstas, not sure I agree with your assessment of Notting. I think his footy has matured in the last few rounds. He copped a bath from Goodes but otherwise he has been OK.
i actually agree, he hasn't been bad over the last 2-3 weeks.
But he has to convert that into a whole season now, and become one of the players that performs 20/22 rounds, kicks the goals we need himt o if up forward, and basically performs consistently.
His move down back has been interesting...

Jubair
16 May 2006, 16:46
I reckon The Scotts, Keating, Corrie are on the line here. C.Scott has to shake off the injuries and same with Keating. But I think they themselves would think that there may not be a place on the list seeing we have several ruckmen and spots in backline..

Grimreepah
16 May 2006, 18:25
I think Notting's footy has matured in the last few rounds. He copped a bath from Goodes but otherwise he has been OK.

Interesting to see that he is 14th (http://www.pro-stats.com.au/psw/web/player_rankings?yr=2006&rt=LT&fc=E9) in the league for 1%ers this season.

beatnik
16 May 2006, 19:01
Interesting to see that he is 14th (http://www.pro-stats.com.au/psw/web/player_rankings?yr=2006&rt=LT&fc=E9) in the league for 1%ers this season.

good site reepah...

had a play around and noticed that Bradshaw is 12th in the league for marking (JB is of course #1 to you trolls trying to cut the big fella down in recent weeks)

braddie's ahead of riewoldt, pavlich, croad and richardson - not bad for a small full-forward who has been chopped and changed from forward line to defence a bit this year

Grimreepah
16 May 2006, 19:06
(JB is of course #1 to you trolls trying to cut the big fella down in recent weeks)

JB trolls = Port Adelaide and Collingwood supporters

Care factor = 0

POBT
17 May 2006, 11:18
Great stat. Well done to Poss for really turning his game around. As Konstas said though, this sort of commitment and desire needs to be demonstrated over the remainder of the season.

Rawhead
17 May 2006, 11:52
good site reepah...

had a play around and noticed that Bradshaw is 12th in the league for marking (JB is of course #1 to you trolls trying to cut the big fella down in recent weeks)

braddie's ahead of riewoldt, pavlich, croad and richardson - not bad for a small full-forward who has been chopped and changed from forward line to defence a bit this year

He's a team player too, Watched him many a time sheparding for his team mates to allow them better position.

intheknow
17 May 2006, 15:17
could the lions use Sherman as trade bait?? or in conjunction with another trade.

One of the better second year players.... could possibley get a 25- 26 year old who is a proven AFL player. and or draft picks.

for example they could trade Aker and Sherman for a "good" player and two first round draft picks...

Grimreepah
17 May 2006, 15:25
could the lions use Sherman as trade bait?? or in conjunction with another trade.

No. You don't just trade anybody. The fact that Sherman has played every game since his debut suggests the Lions are happy with his progress, ergo why on earth would you trade him?:rolleyes:

Vipertooth
17 May 2006, 16:06

One of the better second year players.... could possibley get a 25- 26 year old who is a proven AFL player. and or draft picks.

for example they could trade Aker and Sherman for a "good" player and two first round draft picks...

They wont get rid of sherman he is a gun! he has played like every game and gets like 20 poss each one on average. He is a keeper for the future Brisbane Lions team!

Anyway these people might get kicked at the end of this year:

Justin Leppitsch (a champion and the club ows him a lot but he is too old and injuries have ruinned his game)

Ash McGrath (useless)

Daniel Merrett (usless, thought he was gonna be the new lynch but hey :( )

Scott brothers (TOO DAMN OLD, but they are champs as well)

And that is my 10 cents :p