View Full Version : Warren Tredrea

pafc4life
15 May 2006, 18:39
As much as i love Tredders, i'm very concerned atm. Yes he is underdone, and yes this limits his movement and the impact that he can have on games. However, it doesnt in any way effect demeanour and leadership, and since his return he has been emotionless and passionless. I thought this was pretty well reflected on Sunday when Chad was doing all the things Warren should have been doing. Lift ya game, Tredders.

wharfie_1870
15 May 2006, 18:43
As much as i love Tredders, i'm very concerned atm. Yes he is underdone, and yes this limits his movement and the impact that he can have on games. However, it doesnt in any way effect demeanour and leadership, and since his return he has been emotionless and passionless. I thought this was pretty well reflected on Sunday when Chad was doing all the things Warren should have been doing. Lift ya game, Tredders.Go easy on him. He was up until 3:00am watching the FA Cup final ;)

Troy Wingate
15 May 2006, 19:41
I asked him yesterday at the club how his knee is, and he told me it's still not right, but it's getting better each week.

shaz63
15 May 2006, 20:41
Choco mentioned during his media speech on the news that Tredders will probably be out of the team for a few weeks.

Tredders isnt fully fit and should of been allowed to fully regain his strength in the knee before being shoved back into the 22

Capital Power
15 May 2006, 20:42
Troy, I don't think the problem is with the knee. As pafc4life alludes, I think its between the ears. I wonder if perhaps Tredders feels because his own game is (by his standards) not up to scratch, that he cannot exhort his teammates to improve.

Hard to see on the TV to know for sure but I saw Brendon doing a lot of yelling and directing. Perhaps that's deliberate and agreed between the leadership group.

Also, too, to be fair, the service to the forward 50 has been poor in recent weeks. He may be the greatest player in the AFL but he's not omnipresent (well, not yet, anyway...).

hoochie mama
15 May 2006, 20:48
I think his knee is being used as a excuse for a lack of form. Hes had the same injury other times after all and theres been no such issues. This time the team is struggling and hes just simply out of form. I think we'll find that many players have weaknesses that they carry for the season like knees and shoulders and this should be recognised. Kingsley for instance will have a reco when the season is over its no different.

Macca19
15 May 2006, 21:07
He doesnt look right. I dont think its the knee either.

ExpectToWin
16 May 2006, 10:17
Heard on the radio this morning that Warren wont be playing for the next two weeks until he can regain some fitness.

This is a wise move by the club if true because the great man sad to say is a liability at the moment.

SpringChoke
16 May 2006, 10:49
Regardless of who you support, it's always a shame when a great player has his career cut short by a pesistant injury.

portentous
16 May 2006, 10:58
Jeepers Springy he hasn't retired yet!

BTW where's the "bring back Matty as captain" petition?

JK. :)

Adrian Shelton
16 May 2006, 13:39
3-4 games at the Maggies would have helped one feels(now wouldnt the rest of the leauge love that, wangas and tradrea in the SANFL finals, assuming of course that the Power dont climb into the 8!!)

Troy Wingate
16 May 2006, 13:51
Troy, I don't think the problem is with the knee. As pafc4life alludes, I think its between the ears. I wonder if perhaps Tredders feels because his own game is (by his standards) not up to scratch, that he cannot exhort his teammates to improve.

Hard to see on the TV to know for sure but I saw Brendon doing a lot of yelling and directing. Perhaps that's deliberate and agreed between the leadership group.

Also, too, to be fair, the service to the forward 50 has been poor in recent weeks. He may be the greatest player in the AFL but he's not omnipresent (well, not yet, anyway...).

How can you tell me it's not his knee, Warren told me himself. He told me his knee is still not right, but getting better each week.

Wanna try and prove me wrong? Go ask Warren. He'll tell you.

Troy Wingate
16 May 2006, 13:54
3-4 games at the Maggies would have helped one feels(now wouldnt the rest of the leauge love that, wangas and tradrea in the SANFL finals, assuming of course that the Power dont climb into the 8!!)

Wouldn't that be great. Also, give Kingers another game with the Magpies.

Can anyone say, PREMIERSHIP!

JuddyisGod
16 May 2006, 14:30

word of the day calender?

Adrian Shelton
16 May 2006, 14:32
Of course being a Roosters fan Port can feel free to ignore this advice!!! But if they do Jars will find a way to win anyhow!!

deeps
16 May 2006, 15:26
Put him in the midfield for about 10-15 minutes per quarter. will get him match fit faster (if his knee will hold up, if not, definately not)

It will also provide us the big powerful body we need in the midfield, and someone that will win the aerial contest 9 times out of 10.

Tredrea also provides a very good contest at ground level for his size, and him being around the middle will lift the entire midfield.

Strange idea i know, but i believe it has some merit.

GoSarge
16 May 2006, 16:38
Wouldn't that be great. Also, give Kingers another game with the Magpies.

Can anyone say, PREMIERSHIP!

That would be an extraordinary achievement for an SANFL club that is so young. :cool: ;)

Seriously, can you imagine the bloke at SANFL level when he is fit ? He'd have 30+ touches and kick 15 goals. :eek:

RoosterLad
16 May 2006, 16:41
That would be an extraordinary achievement for an SANFL club that is so young. :cool: ;)

Seriously, can you imagine the bloke at SANFL level when he is fit ? He'd have 30+ touches and kick 15 goals. :eek:

Young McIntyre would have given him a bath on Saturday ;)

wharfie_1870
16 May 2006, 17:00
......He may be the greatest player in the AFL but he's not omnipresent (well, not yet, anyway...).
Do you mean "omnipresent" or "omnipotent" CP? :confused:

Stiffy_18
16 May 2006, 17:09
He doesnt look right. I dont think its the knee either.
What do you mean? :confused:

If he is injured, then why play him. Give him time to recover. If he is not injured just not match fit, then he needs game time to regain his form and touch.

Mind you I don't think you could blame him for his form in the last couple of weeks. IMHO, Rutten and Harris always get the better of him in the duels. Along with Scarlett, those 2 are the ones that give Tredders a lot of trouble.

He will come good, he is a champion.

Capital Power
16 May 2006, 20:03

Juddy, the word omnipresent could also be used to describe Santa Claus. It means literally "simultaneously everywhere", as opposed to omnipotent which means "all powerful". Wharfie I am quite prepared to accept that either is a perfectly good description of our captain :)

Troy, I apologise for appearing to question your conversation with Tredders. I merely meant that although the knee is the physical manifestation of the injury IMHO the deeper issue is confidence (hence "between the ears"). Clearly if Warren is not 100% confident in testing his knee that is going to affect the rest of his game.

RussellEbertHandball
16 May 2006, 20:29
Some people have to remember this is his 4th dislocation. 2 on both knees.
The first one took 6 weeks to get over the next 2 dislocations took 2 or 3 weeks to get back onto the ground. This one took 6 weeks. Maybe the accumulated effect is greater than revealed. Plus Tredrea is 3 years older and probably 5kgs heavier than after his last dislocation.

I suspect that this injury is greater than has been let on and it wouldn't surprise me if it takes a year or two off Tredrea's career. It would be similar to bad hamstring injuries. The accumulated impact of each one makes it harder to get back to your normal levels of fitness.

And to hoocie mama aka Jack, to paraphrase the words of Bob Hawke to Richard Carelton in 1983 are appropriate, " you haven't changed have you, you still got that silly smirk on your face."

Powerstufff
16 May 2006, 20:55
That would be an extraordinary achievement for an SANFL club that is so young. :cool: ;)....Que? Have you forgotten '98 and '99? Sturt and Norwood haven't.

*PAF
16 May 2006, 21:17
What do you mean? :confused:

If he is injured, then why play him. Give him time to recover. If he is not injured just not match fit, then he needs game time to regain his form and touch.

He will come good, he is a champion.
Agree 100% :thumbsu:

wharfie_1870
17 May 2006, 12:12
Juddy, the word omnipresent could also be used to describe Santa Claus. It means literally "simultaneously everywhere", as opposed to omnipotent which means "all powerful". Wharfie I am quite prepared to accept that either is a perfectly good description of our captain :) .....Well, if he were "omnipresent" then there would be no excuses for not racking up record possessions every game. After all he would always kick or handpass to himself while providing a shepherd for himself and mark his own kicks or pick up any crumbs from the ones he dropped. Not to mention he would smother every kick and block every handpass without even trying :)

Mr Magoo
17 May 2006, 15:58
Put him in the midfield for about 10-15 minutes per quarter. will get him match fit faster (if his knee will hold up, if not, definately not)

It will also provide us the big powerful body we need in the midfield, and someone that will win the aerial contest 9 times out of 10.

Tredrea also provides a very good contest at ground level for his size, and him being around the middle will lift the entire midfield.

Strange idea i know, but i believe it has some merit.

I tend to agree as Warren in the middle could lay some big tackles or blocks but then again he could always play in defence just to get a few touches of the ball & regain some much needed confidence. Or even better give him at least 3 games with his local SANFL club :)

Handyandy
17 May 2006, 17:12
Treadrea should be moved out of CHF just to extend his career. He is getting on a bit now and if he plays as CHF he may only have a couple of years left in him (considering his knees).
He could be moved to FF to play as a lynch style gorilla FF (although he doesnt have lynch's goal sense he would be tough to beat one on one if we got the ball in quickly). He could be used as a midfielder to get some touch back (although he wouldnt get much rest). A few of my mates reckon he would be the all time greatest CHB if chocco played him there (Im not convinced but it sounded like an interesting idea).
Im not sure whats wrong with him at the moment. His knee is obviously still troubling him as his movement seems very limited. My biggest worry is his lack of talk or enthusiasm as the official captain.

Pred
17 May 2006, 17:36
His knee is obviously still troubling him as his movement seems very limited. My biggest worry is his lack of talk or enthusiasm as the official captain.Tredders is a funny one. He has his mental challenges from time to time, as when he had the goalkicking yips for a long time, and overcame that problem with lots of hard work and practice.

I'm sure not starting off the season as captain, after looking forward to it for so long, would have affected him. Plus, when he came back, it was under an injury cloud. Tredders lives and breathes the PAFC - it's been in his family's blood for generations. It was his childhood dream to captain the club - I can't imagine the guilt and shame such a guy would be feeling at the moment, when the dream finally comes true, and he's not able to perform in a very inspiring way. Poor bugger. I'm confident he'll get on top of it when the knee comes good, though. If it ever fully does :(

Ford Fairlane
17 May 2006, 18:09
I don't think he's playing that badly coming back from a knee injury which went within a whisker of being a full reco. His movement doesn't look that bad to me anyway. He suffers from being in just about the least popular forward 50 in the AFL - the ball never goes there ... and when it does it seems magically drawn to the boundary. The one aspect he's seemed to struggle with is his accountability. Full backs have been running off him relentlessly since he came back. That's where his lack of match conditioning has really shown up. So imagine him trying to chase fleet footed midfielders around. If his knee's not good, rest him but if it's just match conditioning keep playing him out of full forward (which is where he really plays anyway). On 9 news last night he was adamant he wanted to continue playing, and that his knee was improving and according to club medicos would improve even more quickly now.

russellthemuscle
17 May 2006, 18:16
I don't think he's playing that badly coming back from a knee injury which went within a whisker of being a full reco. His movement doesn't look that bad to me anyway. He suffers from being in just about the least popular forward 50 in the AFL - the ball never goes there ... and when it does it seems magically drawn to the boundary. The one aspect he's seemed to struggle with is his accountability. Full backs have been running off him relentlessly since he came back. That's where his lack of match conditioning has really shown up. So imagine him trying to chase fleet footed midfielders around. If his knee's not good, rest him but if it's just match conditioning keep playing him out of full forward (which is where he really plays anyway). On 9 news last night he was adamant he wanted to continue playing, and that his knee was improving and according to club medicos would improve even more quickly now.
Within awhisker of being a full reco????? What the......

Ford Fairlane
17 May 2006, 18:39
Within awhisker of being a full reco????? What the......

There was talk that had the kneecap not dislocated, that could've been the outcome. If you had seen the way White fell against Warren's leg, it's how you would have seen plenty of ACL's go.

portentous
17 May 2006, 19:44
Bring back Matty.

Pinepower
17 May 2006, 19:51
Bring back Matty.

I agree. I do not think people realised how much he contributed to the team even when he was injured.

dyertribe
17 May 2006, 19:57
Bring back Matty.

Russell Johnston Board.

portentous
17 May 2006, 20:04
Adelaide Crows board

dyertribe
17 May 2006, 20:32
Adelaide Crows board

?

Way to jump at shadows - it was a serious call. If you're going to bring back a retired leader/ruckman to take the reins you may as well make it one of the grittiest, gutsiest bastards to ever pull on the guernsey.

He's not in the Team of the Century for nothing.

PS - I could just as easily say the same to you couldn't I?

PJ Power
17 May 2006, 21:28
Unfortunatley where Matty got frustrated and angry last year coming back from injury and struggling to lift, Tredders is getting a little too withdrawn and introspective. As much as anything Warren needs to show leadership through his body language. I haven't seen him get too passionate about much in recent weeks. No doubt he is struggling mentally to cope with his form and injury, but he needs to focus a little less on his own woes and really try to rev the boys up. Chad tried bigtime to do that in the most dyer of circumstances in the second term last week. Even then it was Warren's opponent who stood up to him. Tredders just has to get his body closer to the action - lay a few bumps/shepherds, crash a few packs. Once he starts doing those unselfish, team-lifting things, his individual form will follow.

Ford Fairlane
17 May 2006, 23:25
According to this article from The Age (http://www.theage.com.au/news/Sport/Tredrea-convinces-Power-hes-right/2006/05/17/1147545384270.html) Tredders will play AFL and Motlop and Lonie SANFL this weekend.

Tredrea convinces Power he's right

Port Adelaide captain Warren Tredrea seems certain to play for the Power in its meeting of fallen AFL empires against Brisbane on Sunday after convincing team management he is fit.

Port coach Mark Williams this week raised the possibility that Tredrea might be rested for a week or two after looking ungainly and out of touch in the month since his rushed return from a dislocated kneecap.

However Tredrea on Tuesday night insisted his knee was improving in his regular television spot on Channel Nine's 6pm news and trained soundly on Wednesday.

Coaching staff have been convinced he can run into form over the next month, with Port to face fellow strugglers Brisbane, Essendon and Carlton in consecutive weeks.

Venerable defender Darryl Wakelin said he had little doubt Tredrea would take his place against the Lions, though he agreed there would be pressure for changes after such an abject loss to the Western Bulldogs.

"I don't think Tredders (will be rested), Tredders will play this week," he said.

"As far as wholesale changes are concerned, that always gets talked about, we need to have players performing in the SANFL, which has happened, so there's definitely pressure for places."

Off-season recruits Daniel Motlop and Nathan Lonie appear most likely to face the selection cut this week after ordinary form of late, particularly in regards to intensity, an area Wakelin said was letting the team down.

"I think (soft) gets bandied around a bit much, that word, you don't go out there, there's no soft players in our side, we're committed to the footy, but the intensity at the footy can vary and obviously we were a fair bit off that at the weekend," he said.

"We'd like to say to our supporters we're going to come out, we've got a classy team and we've got to play for quarters with everyone contributing."

When queried about whether the Power had to look beyond its own list to rediscover the toughness that characterised its success in previous seasons, Wakelin said "tough" should read "confident".

"That toughness is perceived through confidence at times, a lot of the clubs that are very confident in the way they're playing, you can see they look like a strong tough team, and Adelaide look that way at the moment," he said.

"We've no doubt lost some tough players in Hardwick and Carr but I don't think we need to overplay that."

© 2006 AAP

deeps
18 May 2006, 01:37
Did White fall on Tredders leg? Is that how it happened?

portentous
18 May 2006, 09:34
?

Way to jump at shadows - it was a serious call. If you're going to bring back a retired leader/ruckman to take the reins you may as well make it one of the grittiest, gutsiest bastards to ever pull on the guernsey.

He's not in the Team of the Century for nothing.

PS - I could just as easily say the same to you couldn't I?

Way to overreact-neither of my "calls" were serious ie about Matty or the Crows board.

BTW if I was going to bring back anyone right now, at their playing "weight", it would be Dave Granger. Would be worth it just to finally have some "mongrel" out there again.

wharfie_1870
18 May 2006, 10:52
.....BTW if I was going to bring back anyone right now, at their playing "weight", it would be Dave Granger.......Unfortunately that is just a pipe dream :)

dyertribe
18 May 2006, 16:29
Way to overreact-neither of my "calls" were serious ie about Matty or the Crows board.

I can only hope that when I'm in my forties and have a family I can be as mature and measured as you. :thumbsu:

portentous
18 May 2006, 17:22
I can only hope that when I'm in my forties and have a family I can be as mature and measured as you. :thumbsu:
You can only aspire to be half as good a parent as I am. Even then, it's probably unachievable for you.

relapse
18 May 2006, 17:22

Surely that is a typo, yes Tredders is a superstar player and would be in the top 15 players in the AFL, but the best player in the AFL ??? :eek:

portentous
18 May 2006, 17:23
Unfortunately that is just a pipe dream :)
Nice choice of words wharfie. :D

dyertribe
18 May 2006, 17:49
You can only aspire to be half as good a parent as I am. Even then, it's probably unachievable for you.

If I'm wearing my heart on my sleeve while still posting on a football bulletin board at age 40+ I'd say you'll be spot on.

portentous
18 May 2006, 17:51
What is wrong with people 40+ posting on footy boards? Now we're getting ageist, and that will cause a riot amongst the old farts club. St Johns will be working overtime resuscitating.

Powerstufff
18 May 2006, 18:00
If I'm wearing my heart on my sleeve while still posting on a football bulletin board at age 40+ I'd say you'll be spot on.You rang?

Tredders66
18 May 2006, 18:04
I swear # 1 is cursed or somthing.

Pinepower
18 May 2006, 18:12

It is with Port anyhow.

dyertribe
18 May 2006, 18:19

- Wanganeen suspended in first game in the guernsey (Trial vs. Richmond).
- Wasn't worn in the Power's debut vs. Collingwood.
- Wanganeen went off injured in the inaugural Showdown wearing it.
- Wasn't worn in the Power's Grand Final win vs. Brisbane.
- Primus' three knee reconstructions in it.
- Tredrea went off injured in his first game in the guernsey. (Trial vs. Lions).

You may be onto something...

Porthos
18 May 2006, 18:23
Bring back the Roach and make him captain!

raikkonen
18 May 2006, 21:31
Give the number 1 to bishop, then he will more than likely fall to the power of the number 1, like many are calling for.

*PAF
18 May 2006, 21:36
You rang?
Did someone ring? Whaat? :)

Total_Failure
18 May 2006, 22:30

Is this really necessary? Grow up dude

Total Power
18 May 2006, 22:39
Rooch you are back ..AGAIN! :eek:

Total_Failure
18 May 2006, 22:46
Rooch you are back ..AGAIN! :eek:

????

Total Power
18 May 2006, 22:48
????
LOL! nice try.Your forum is a bit boring these days i reckon with only 20 odd active posters :D , enjoy.....till you are shown the door....AGAIN :o

Total_Failure
18 May 2006, 22:50
LOL! nice try.Your forum is a bit boring these days i reckon with only 20 odd active posters :D , enjoy.....till you are shown the door....AGAIN :o

who are you?

Total Power
18 May 2006, 22:52
who are you?
My name is jack..i am from the outback!

Total_Failure
18 May 2006, 22:56
My name is jack..i am from the outback!

I know who jack is. And its clear you have an obsession with him. my advice to you is unless you know what you are talking about its best not to talk at all. You look foolish otherwise.

Total Power
18 May 2006, 22:58
I know who jack is. And its clear you have an obsession with him. my advice to you is unless you know what you are talking about its best not to talk at all. You look foolish otherwise.
:D how would you know who jack is? You just registered yesterday :D .Geez, work on your creativity skills, orelse you will get banned for the 33rd time :D .RuttensBitch66 was a good ID, this one is not that good LOL!

Total_Failure
18 May 2006, 23:04
:D how would you know who jack is? You just registered yesterday :D .Geez, work on your creativity skills, orelse you will get banned for the 33rd time :D .RuttensBitch66 was a good ID, this one is not that good LOL!

Idiot.:rolleyes: He posts on asthecrowsfly.com. Now just let the obsession go. The boards are here for posting about football. Not obsessions and not whether a 40 yr old has the right to post on one.

dyertribe
18 May 2006, 23:05

Jack, here's a challenge. Rather than trolling Port fans and moderators who've wronged you, go and get a girlfriend.

If your social skills are as plentiful as your aliases you should be rolling in women.

So put away the IP spoofer, put on a nice shirt and start behaving like you should be for a male in your early-20s. :thumbsu:

Total Power
18 May 2006, 23:06
Idiot.:rolleyes: He posts on asthecrowsfly.com. Now just let the obsession go. The boards are here for posting about football. Not obsessions and not whether a 40 yr old has the right to post on one.
How would you know i am obsessed? you dont even know me do you? :D But anyway..lol enjoy as long as it lasts! try to be creative with your ID's and writing style next time :D .:thumbsu:

Total Power
18 May 2006, 23:08
Jack, here's a challenge. Rather than trolling Port fans and moderators who've wronged you, go and get a girlfriend.

If your social skills are as plentiful as your aliases you should be rolling in women.

So put away the IP spoofer, put on a nice shirt and start behaving like you should be for a male in your early-20s. :thumbsu:
:D Gold! he is a try hard though! cant help it, his forum is a SUPER FLOP! so ofcourse he has no where else to go but come back on bigfooty :D

Total_Failure
18 May 2006, 23:12
How would you know i am obsessed? you dont even know me do you? :D But anyway..lol enjoy as long as it lasts! try to be creative with your ID's and writing style next time :D .:thumbsu:

Gold! he is a try hard though! cant help it, his forum is a SUPER FLOP! so ofcourse he has no where else to go but come back on bigfooty

what didnt you understand by he posts on asthecrowsfly.com? How old are you mate anyway?

Total_Failure
18 May 2006, 23:15

More abuse? Didnt know moderators were encouraged to do that? Was actually reading jack's posts on another forum and he said you PM'd him to stop criticising your opinion when you first became moderator. Thats sad mate. Lighten up a bit.

Total Power
18 May 2006, 23:15
what didnt you understand by he posts on asthecrowsfly.com? How old are you mate anyway?
So why the ID total failure, adelaide hasnt been a total failure eh? :D ,Come on rooch/jack.... u can do better!

Total Power
18 May 2006, 23:16
More abuse? Didnt know moderators were encouraged to do that? Was actually reading jack's posts on another forum and he said you PM'd him to stop criticising your opinion when you first became moderator. Thats sad mate. Lighten up a bit.
LMAO you know a bit too much about jack! This is getting too funny.

Total_Failure
18 May 2006, 23:18
I think i'll just leave this thread before you totally destroy it total_power. Get that obsession seen to in the meantime.

dyertribe
18 May 2006, 23:25

Nah you're right.

I should've 'lightened up' by creating at least a dozen aliases and trolled Jack, my fellow moderators and fans of rival clubs at every opportunity across all hours - and then made a site devoted to IP-spoofing in order to continue trolling BigFooty when each of my psuedonyms were picked off.

You know, happy well-adjusted behaviour like that. Just didn't have my priorities right.

Anyway Jack, how are you? Still living with mum?

Total Power
19 May 2006, 00:08
I think i'll just leave this thread before you totally destroy it total_power. Get that obsession seen to in the meantime.
Cya :D :thumbsu: ! you lasted 10 minutes this time !:eek: