View Full Version : Justin Sherman
Captain Charisma
17 May 2006, 00:54
I've heard a few lions supporters bagging him and stuff. but is this kid the most underrated kid in the league? he averages 21 possies 2 tackles 6 marks, he often gives us drive off half back and to think he is only 19 and wont turn 20 till next year and was takin at pick 45. this is only his second year of football to me should be havin his name thrown in with griffin and deledio but because he is in brisbane doesnt get the credit he deserves
Vipertooth
17 May 2006, 01:19
I concur, Sherman is an awsome newbie and i belive might end up being a player like say Johnson in a few years! But he can also play down front and through the middle, he has kicked a few goals so far in his career hasnt he? so mabye a bradshaw type player....hmm will be interesting to see how he evolves.
Thoughts anybody?
Grimreepah
17 May 2006, 01:36
With Adcock missing Sherman has probably been our best performed of all the youngsters. He's getting plenty of the ball, has good pace, and is now getting the confidence to run with the ball. He is still improving each game so it will be interesting to see where his potential lies. The most pleasing thing is that he is a consistent performer.
Justin Sherman is only 183cm so I wouldn't compare him to Bradshaw. I believe he is being groomed to take over Voss' position in the centre of the ground, because apart from his pace, he also has a strong body.
Has played every game since his debut in round 4 last year.
Shermo has been awesome definetly a shining light... a reasonable disposer of the ball, tough in and under if need be, quick as lightning does need to work on those runs weve seen him do recently has turned it over more times than not....but by no means would you want to discourage him from that. He will be one of the players the lions will want to keep long term and i think his happy here so win-win.
beatnik
17 May 2006, 09:35
yeah he had that stamp of class from his first game - amazing player to pick up at pick 45
he's a keeper...
Tim the Toolman
17 May 2006, 09:59
Is he any relation to the Kropeks from the Tom Hanks film "The Burbs"? :rolleyes:
Those line breaking runs are great. Obviously the disposal at the end has been poor but with Johnno, Lappin and Aker out it is great to see a young guy breaking the lines and taking a risk. Once he learns to steady and deliver, it will be yet another string to his bow.
Homer Jnr
17 May 2006, 10:11
If he can tone down his off-field ego-related antics, he'll be a very handy ambassador for the club over the next 10 years.
intheknow
17 May 2006, 15:04
Shermo in my opinion (which is very biased being one of his best mates in tassie) is currently the best second year player. Deledio and Giffin's stats do not compare to the SHERM'S.
knowing him for years he has always had arrogance about him, his loud and obnoxious. But a darn good bloke who can certainly play footy. Looks scared to make mistakes, which is probably why he isnt finishing off his runs as we would like... the sherm i know would try and run around that extra player and bomb a goal from 50.....
Homer Jnr whats are some of his Off field antics? and do they distract from the footy he is playing.
he is very very happy at the lions but if teh lions dont come up with a good deal i could see him happily going to a melbourne based club and being closer to home
intheknow
17 May 2006, 15:07
forgot to add the sherm is stil only 18.... not 19 until January. if he contiunes this rate and stays injury free he will have 50 games up before he turns 20..... which would not have happened for a while... would it?
The Flying Belgian
17 May 2006, 15:32
My major qualm with him early this year was his tendency to kick-chase and forget his opponent. Also, he was showing a tendency to not put his body on the line and drop back into the space of a leading forward if required. Displayed these traits a couple of times in the Richmond game. He was then dragged and brought back later on to play back pocket on Tambling.
Hence his playing in defence for the past few weeks. I think he's got the message as he put his body in fron of Hall in the Swans game and wore the hit. Good sign.
He might want to turn down the iPod when crossing the road though! Not all bus-drivers are as vigilant as some..
Vipertooth
17 May 2006, 15:54
Shermo in my opinion (which is very biased being one of his best mates in tassie) is currently the best second year player. Deledio and Giffin's stats do not compare to the SHERM'S.
knowing him for years he has always had arrogance about him, his loud and obnoxious. But a darn good bloke who can certainly play footy. Looks scared to make mistakes, which is probably why he isnt finishing off his runs as we would like... the sherm i know would try and run around that extra player and bomb a goal from 50.....
Homer Jnr whats are some of his Off field antics? and do they distract from the footy he is playing.
he is very very happy at the lions but if teh lions dont come up with a good deal i could see him happily going to a melbourne based club and being closer to home
I live in tassie too, my aunt knows him mum, next time he comes down here i hope to meet him :) :thumbsu:
intheknow
17 May 2006, 16:17
his coming down in the split round weekend.. cant wait!!!
Vipertooth
17 May 2006, 16:23
Really! Awsome i will have to meet up with u guys lol :D
kanabar
17 May 2006, 16:41
I've heard a few lions supporters bagging him and stuff. but is this kid the most underrated kid in the league? he averages 21 possies 2 tackles 6 marks, he often gives us drive off half back and to think he is only 19 and wont turn 20 till next year and was takin at pick 45. this is only his second year of football to me should be havin his name thrown in with griffin and deledio but because he is in brisbane doesnt get the credit he deserves
what do you want for him i wouldnt mind him at freo, hes got speed and accuracy.
Vipertooth
17 May 2006, 16:55
what do you want for him i wouldnt mind him at freo, hes got speed and accuracy.
:D:D:D:D OFF, hes not for sale!
konstas_87
17 May 2006, 18:13
i agree, at 19 he already breaks the lines through the centre, has great leg speed and seems to be pretty good defensively.
He just has to settle himself after those big runs and use the footy better rather than turning it over on some occasions. But he is only young and has shown alot already. Very happy with his development in just 1 year.
Captain Charisma
17 May 2006, 18:13
what do you want for him i wouldnt mind him at freo, hes got speed and accuracy. yeah there is only about 3 players i'd take from your list and for some reason i cant see freo giving up Byron Shammer, Mathew Pavlich and Paul Haselby for him
Homer Jnr
17 May 2006, 19:15
I don't believe it distracts him from his footy.
But having seen him while out drinking with mates, he doesn't mind letting everyone know exactly who he is, particularly the ladies. Doesn't mind making a scene while doing it either.
scott522
17 May 2006, 22:26
Belgian that was so not funny - that poor council driver :eek: not to mention the heart start i got :D
The Flying Belgian
18 May 2006, 08:55
Belgian that was so not funny - that poor council driver :eek: not to mention the heart start i got :D
:D ;)
Wonder what he was listening to...? Himself maybe :D
Tim the Toolman
18 May 2006, 18:32
I live in tassie too, my aunt knows him mum, next time he comes down here i hope to meet him :) :thumbsu:
Surely then, he's related to your mum? :p
intheknow
29 May 2006, 13:09
GET ON THE SHERMINATOR!!!!
what contract do you think the Lions will have to offer to keep him next year??????
jmerino
29 May 2006, 13:13
He needs to mature as a team player, not a selfish I am player.Also develop a left foot, and not be found wanting in certain circumstances, beofre he should get a healthy increase in his contract IMO.
intheknow
29 May 2006, 13:18
He needs to mature as a team player, not a selfish I am player.Also develop a left foot, and not be found wanting in certain circumstances, beofre he should get a healthy increase in his contract IMO.
not many "selfish" players have more handballs than kicks in a 27 disposal game....
jmerino
29 May 2006, 13:21
Sometimes the team things are what is called for, until he learns that he has not matured or developed as a player.
Plus I have no idea why any AFL player can't kick with both feet.We have a few on our list.In junior footy kids are taught this as an integral part of footy.Why the heck do some elite players still not want to kick with both feet.This makes them found out under pressure.
intheknow
29 May 2006, 13:24
agreed about left foot...... sherms has disappeared since joining the lions....
kicked a goal from 40+ on the run on his left in the under 18 championships before he was drafted......
stil do no belive he isn't a team player........
Calling him selfish is ridiculous i have seen many senior players ignore options and go themselves in both Brisbane and other teams. If he was selfish he wouldve had a shot at goal late in the last quarter instead of passing it off to Ash McGrath.
jmerino
29 May 2006, 13:58
Calling him selfish is ridiculous i have seen many senior players ignore options and go themselves in both Brisbane and other teams. If he was selfish he wouldve had a shot at goal late in the last quarter instead of passing it off to Ash McGrath.
Team discipline seems ok for some players, yet others get caned for it.
Grimreepah
29 May 2006, 14:43
Is there anything good about the Lions?
They call him Jon Brown.
Our team is more than just Jonathan Brown...
I agree Sherman is developing into a great player and yeah he has stuff to work with but every 18 year old footy player has areas that need attention. Seeing as he is managing this many possessions and showing some real great potential at such a young age with so much more he can do to improve, then just goes to show how valuable he will be in the future when he gains further experience and becomes overall a better footy player. Especially when he knows what to do after he runs and bounces the ball up the field. Overall, Good on ya Sherman. He might soon start appearing in my Favourite Players list.
Our team is more than just Jonathan Brown...
I agree Sherman is developing into a great player and yeah he has stuff to work with but every 18 year old footy player has areas that need attention. Seeing as he is managing this many possessions and showing some real great potential at such a young age with so much more he can do to improve, then just goes to show how valuable he will be in the future when he gains further experience and becomes overall a better footy player. Especially when he knows what to do after he runs and bounces the ball up the field. Overall, Good on ya Sherman. He might soon start appearing in my Favourite Players list.
Well articulated Ashli. This thread started with a comment about Brisbane Lions fans bagging Sherman. Beyond my comprehension. Are some people watching the game from an angle I do not get? We have a draft pick at 45 who makes his debut in round 4 of that season, has played every game since, has good speed, good hands and except for the occasional lapse is a good kick. Yeah he needs some polish in some areas but it took nearly Riski's 3rd season to establish himself for example. Sherman is a first choice pick given his present form. What more do some of us want from a 19 year old. not everyone can be a Judd. His form may well waver. In fact it will. that happens to all players but I consider him at this point in time a brilliant late draft recruit. Riski is as well by the way. 61 pick I think. Not a bad grab at all.
Well said.
Go through the stats and find me the other second year players that are averaging more than 20 touches for 2006. Dane Swan and Heath Shaw are just about it and their season to date has been well trumpeted (and deservedly so).
Sherm has been getting his 20 every week with no real fanfare, and has actually had some of his better weeks against Geelong and West Coast when we were being pants in most positions -- he's no downhill skier.
Yes, he's a touch cocky, but he backs it up with hard work, hard running and support for his teammates -- I reckon he's been super this year.
beatnik
29 May 2006, 21:02
are you aker's mum?
beatnik
29 May 2006, 21:03
They call him Jon Brown.
ha ha - so you're a Saffa fan by summer and a Pie fan in winter...you must really have a persecution complex :p
campbell
29 May 2006, 21:05
are you aker's mum?
I can tell you haven't been a Lions supporter for too long.
Aka's Mum died of a Brain Tumour.
I can tell you haven't been a Lions supporter for too long.
Aka's Mum died of a Brain Tumour.
Perhaps that post could be removed....
beatnik
30 May 2006, 16:06
hmm...not my best work...apologies to those offended :o
btw campbell; I have followed Bears/Lions since 1992 so am surprised I had not heard it before now...in any case, an honest mistake...let's not get too high and mighty champ