View Full Version : Gibbs vs Thomas

portentous
17 May 2006, 10:50
The way we're going,we will have VERY early draft picks at the conclusion of this season. I'm just wondering if Bryce Gibbs would still be our preference or young Lindsey Thomas at the Magpies. Lindsey has big wraps on him and has been likened to a young Gavin Wanganeen. I have yet to see either play "in the flesh" but hope to see them up against each other this weekend.

Can anyone offer me some informed opinion on both of them?

BTW Thomas is yet another Mallee Park boy. What do they drink over there? :eek:

Powerstufff
17 May 2006, 10:55
.....I'm just wondering if Bryce Gibbs would still be our preference....Stirrer. :D

Macca19
17 May 2006, 10:57
Gibbs would be the safer bet. Hes been playing Seniors at a high level for over a year now.

Lindsey has a lot of talent but is very raw and physically under developed. Hes not lightning quick like some of the other Aboriginal players weve had come thru the maggies (Gav, Mcleod, Davey) but he just finds the footy. Has been in the best players just about every week in the ressies and was rewarded with his debut match against North. He didnt have a great one, ran around like a headless chook and only got 3 or 4 touches. He will improve on that though.

Hes a ball winning midfielder. He has pretty good skills and is quite good at getting out of traffic. Is 182cm and 77kg.

If he has a reasonable Championships then hes sure to be picked up. At the moment I think he might drop to the 30s.

Macca19
17 May 2006, 10:58
Im also leaning towards Sellar at the moment, if we had a choice between him and Bryce.

portentous
17 May 2006, 10:59
Lindsey started the year in the under 19's so has made major improvements. If he keeps going, I'd expect him to be picked up higher than 30's Macca.

BTW wasn't a great game to make your debut in anyway. Hope Timmy gives him another shot this week.

And it's much easier to get a gig in the Bay's 1's than the Magpies, although they're doing OK this season thus far. Must be Willits!

Crowked
17 May 2006, 10:59
Lets see, Mark Williams reckoned Gibbs is the best kid he's seen at his age, and has never spoken a single word about Thomas in public that I'm aware of. Its a hard one but I think he might go for the superstar. Just my opinion though.

portentous
17 May 2006, 11:00
Stirrer. :D
Moi?? :confused:

:D

portentous
17 May 2006, 11:02
Lets see, Mark Williams reckoned Gibbs is the best kid he's seen at his age, and has never spoken a single word about Thomas in public that I'm aware of. Its a hard one but I think he might go for the superstar. Just my opinion though.
Given that Gibbs has been headline news here and Choco's penchant for stirring up cows supporters, that's no great surprise. ;)

Macca19
17 May 2006, 11:11
At the moment I reckon Thomas could fall to the 30s. Simply because hes a bit small and isnt lightning quick like a Davey. Theres heaps of talent out there this year so its quite possible if he has an average Championships he could fall to the 30s and in line for our second pick.

Id probably rate him as the 5th best SA guy at the moment behind Gibbs, Sellar, Hurley and Pfieffer. WA have a lot of guns this year too.

I dunno...I rate him highly but I see him as a player that could easily drop down in recruiters opinions and end up in the 30s or even lower.

If we end up with a pick in the top 5 and Bryce is available...id go Bryce. I think at this stage it would be too early to pick Lindsey. We'll see how he continues to develop though.

portentous
17 May 2006, 11:13
So the championships should be close this year? Who's coaching SA this year and where/when is it being held?

Ford Fairlane
17 May 2006, 11:34
I'm with Macca - just going on reputation I'd go for Sellar over either of them. We really could do with another top flight KPP prospect and early draft picks are the way to get them.

Of course if Choco bit the bullet and played Willits up forward if that's what he wants instead of whinging about where Glenelg are playing him, we might know a bit more about that area by the end of the season.

Of the actual choice offered, surely you'd pick Gibbs.

doiler
17 May 2006, 12:21
Macca, do you think there is any chance that Matt Campbell from North will get picked up in the draft. The only concern is his size but he is very dangerous around goals and lightning quick. He is also a good tackler for his size and he chases down a lot of unsuspecting players. He's moved into a midfield role this year as well and is getting better with every game he plays.

Macca19
17 May 2006, 12:43
Unsure. He played for NT in the champs last year and did alright. Lit up Prospect numerous times as well, but didnt get picked up. So I have my doubts now. If Pearce continues his form for us this year then maybe clubs will think that those small very quick players are worth getting and he will be a chance.

You'd think if he was going to get drafted it would have been last year with all the exposure he had.

Rory
17 May 2006, 13:41
If we can get Gibbs why would we think twice about passing that opportunity up. Surely Thomas isn’t regarded as a top 10 pick yet?

Taking nothing away from him as he has exceptional skills and outstanding speed. Just a bit worried he might be a keep the ball and do it myself player (ala Peter B). Would like to see him play a few more league games and see him in the U/18 championship carnival.

Inside word is that North and Hawthorn are very interested in Thomas’s services.

Rory
17 May 2006, 13:52
Don't know this is the first time I've read anything on here about him being and AFL prospect.

Porthos
17 May 2006, 14:12
Inside word is that North and Hawthorn are very interested in Thomas’s services.If North are interested, its almost certain that we'll do whatever we can to draft him before them.

Eddie Woloschek
17 May 2006, 15:06
Inside word is that North and Hawthorn are very interested in Thomas’s services.

I think Doug Thomas will probably stay at Westies.

crazy_big_al
17 May 2006, 15:13

my god ur an idiot, but it is very funny

PJ Power
17 May 2006, 15:18
Gibbs - no questions asked. We need to consolidate real midfield talent. None of this peripheral b******t. Genuine, 30 quality touches per game players with leadership being breathed out of their nostrils.
We basically have been crying out for a complete Rolls-Royce midfielder over our entire 10 year period in the AFL.
I weep when I compare our current stock to the likes of Cooney and Griffen that other teams have.
Nothing against young Thomas, but we will have enough opportunity at that type of talent - maybe a lower first round pick by the time the draft comes round, wouldn't be wasted on him, but not top 5.

The bigger question is Sellar v Gibbs.
Alot depends on where we stand with Carlile, Willits, Chaplin and White by season's end. I think we need another top 20 draft pick to be used on a KPP (preferably forward), but midfield is my preference especially if we want to see improvement within the next 3 years.

The aim at the end of this season should be to acquire 3 top 20 draft picks. It honestly could be the tonic to set us up for the next decade.
Trade off anyone with perceived value who is not going to make it in the current environment - if that means giving up Pettigrew and Ebert together for a top 20 pick, I reckon right now I would do it.

Bresh
17 May 2006, 15:20
What PJ said. We could use help everywhere over the ground, so we basically have to pick the best talent. Which is Gibbs, is it not. All things considered, midfield depth and class is our biggest weakness.

philhawk
17 May 2006, 15:22
Gibbs - no questions asked. We need to consolidate real midfield talent. None of this peripheral b******t. Genuine, 30 quality touches per game players with leadership being breathed out of their nostrils.
We basically have been crying out for a complete Rolls-Royce midfielder over our entire 10 year period in the AFL.
I weep when I compare our current stock to the likes of Cooney and Griffen that other teams have.
Nothing against young Thomas, but we will have enough opportunity at that type of talent - maybe a lower first round pick by the time the draft comes round, wouldn't be wasted on him, but not top 5.

The bigger question is Sellar v Gibbs.
Alot depends on where we stand with Carlile, Willits, Chaplin and White by season's end. I think we need another top 20 draft pick to be used on a KPP (preferably forward), but midfield is my preference especially if we want to see improvement within the next 3 years.

To be honest, I see The Power coming around 11-12, by which time Gibbs, Sellar, Gumbleton and Hansen would have gone I reckon. Who would you guys pick from the rest? A KPP in Thorp/Reiwolt or go for the safer option in Selwood? Leroy Jetta is lightning quick and he too will be a possibility ...

PJ Power
17 May 2006, 15:25
To be honest, I see The Power coming around 11-12, by which time Gibbs, Sellar, Gumbleton and Hansen would have gone I reckon. Who would you guys pick from the rest? A KPP in Thorp/Reiwolt or go for the safer option in Selwood? Leroy Jetta is lightning quick and he too will be a possibility ...

Honestly don't know.

But I would love for us to start playing our kids from this week, as many of them as possible. Other Port supporters will hate me for saying this, but I want to know about the kids we have much more than seeing the likes of Bishop, Lonie and Dew possibly scrape us to 10th or 9th.
If we play Thomson, Pearce, salopek and Surjan in our midfield and Lower, Thomas, Symes and Chaplin in defence and Willits up forward for the rest of the year and only win 2-3 more games, that would definitely not be the end of the world.

Andre
17 May 2006, 16:05
But I would love for us to start playing our kids from this week, as many of them as possible. Other Port supporters will hate me for saying this, but I want to know about the kids we have much more than seeing the likes of Bishop, Lonie and Dew possibly scrape us to 10th or 9th.

Who's going to hate you ? The numbers agreeing on here would be 2 or 3 to 1 against those who'd rather the highest possible finish and don't worry about the rest.

Powerstufff
17 May 2006, 16:41
To be honest, I see the Power coming around 11-12 ...Have you seen us lately? There simply aren't 4-5 worse teams around. We'll be pushing hard enough to avoid the spoon let alone making 11th spot. :(

sog35
17 May 2006, 17:38
Saw both play on the weekend. Sellar has the body to develop into a serious ruckman / KPP. I just think we could do with Gibbs more that Sellar. Just a gut feel. I know the rule is big over small generally, but the gaping hole is in the midfield.

sog35
17 May 2006, 17:39
If things keep going the way they are going for Westies, I don't think Doug will have a choice of employment.

Ford Fairlane
21 May 2006, 01:45
Saw both Sellar and Gibbs v Port on Saturday, and if they were both in the mix for us I'd still go Sellar over Gibbs. Really liked the look of Sellar, big body, moves well, strong leap and some attitude.

portentous
22 May 2006, 09:35
I didn't even notice Gibbs out there Ford. Maybe he doesn't like the "tough" stuff.

RogerRabbit69
22 May 2006, 09:46
I didn't see the Maggies v Glenelg match. Sounds like Gibbs had an off day.

I've seen a fair bit of both him and James Sellar. I'd rate Gibbs as perhaps the most naturally gifted young players I've ever seen. He has sensational skills, poise and reads the play incredibly well. He will be a gun AFL player - right up there with the Big Three draftees from a few seasons ago - Judd, Ball and Hodge (not saying he'll be better - but in a similar class at the same stage of their careers).

Sellar also has a big upside. He's dominated at junior level because of his size and strength, which is even holding him in good stead at SANFL level.

If you had the choice of either, it'd very much come down to the type of player your club needs at the time. KPP - Sellar, everything else - Gibbs.

For pure footballing talent, I'd rate Gibbs over Sellar, but that doesn't mean Sellar's not a wonderful kid, too.

Ford Fairlane
22 May 2006, 10:08
I didn't even notice Gibbs out there Ford. Maybe he doesn't like the "tough" stuff.

I was very surprised to see he had 20 touches. Certainly didn't do much with them.

I have to disagree with RR this time too. I remember seeing the young Abernethy, Anderson, Bradley, Buckley etc and they all impressed me more at a similar stage of development than Gibbs (Buckley was a bit older as he missed near a season with injury). Admittedly I watched them more closely as Port players, but they played some exceptional footy very early on in SANFL league ranks.

FWIW for me Judd simply stands apart from the pack of football elite running around at the moment. He's the type of player you'd go to footy to watch.

RogerRabbit69
22 May 2006, 10:14
No worries, FF, always happy to agree to disagree.

I reckon I've seen Gibbs play at least 20 matches - and he's shown spurts of out-and-out brilliance in almost all of them. Admittedly, a lot were against kids of his own age. I'd be surprised if he doesn't develop into an absolutely top-flight AFL player. Wouldn't be the first time I've been wrong though .....

Macca19
22 May 2006, 10:40
Gibbs looks set to be a champion. He was playing great footy last year at 16 years old against men. I still see him being a Hird type midfielder.

At the moment both the midfield and forward line need some work. Depends what we want more...a player to get the ball forward or someone to mark it when its coming down.

Thunderstruck
23 May 2006, 12:56
I was at the Port Glenelg game on the weekend and certainly noticed Gibbs, mainly because I went especially to watch him and Sellar for general talent scouting.

Gibbs was solid without really doing anything to hurt with the footy, so for a casual observer he wouldn't have been noticed very much at all. He just has such good vision and skills, if he had more pace he would be the ultimate package. Imagine if he had Judd's pace, because his disposal is better than Judd, moreso for the same age.

Sellar was toweled up in ruck by Maric and Mieklejohn but was better than them around the ground. Never a big hitout winner, but is so good with his brain and combined with his strength he is going to be a machine AFL bigman, no doubt. If he grows to 200cm+ lookout!! Great hands, above head and below knees.

SpringChoke
23 May 2006, 13:20
The way we're going,we will have VERY early draft picks at the conclusion of this season. I'm just wondering if Bryce Gibbs would still be our preference or young Lindsey Thomas at the Magpies. Lindsey has big wraps on him and has been likened to a young Gavin Wanganeen. I have yet to see either play "in the flesh" but hope to see them up against each other this weekend.

Can anyone offer me some informed opinion on both of them?

BTW Thomas is yet another Mallee Park boy. What do they drink over there? :eek:

At the end of 2004 it was "we exist to win premierships" and crowds of 35+ now its "tanking to get high draft picks" and crowds of 21+. How quickly things have changed.

Toots Hibbert
23 May 2006, 13:33
At the end of 2004 it was "we exist to win premierships" and crowds of 35+ now its "tanking to get high draft picks" and crowds of 21+. How quickly things have changed.
On behalf of the Port board I'd like to welcome the visitor from Planet Stupid.

http://tinypic.com/bj8iu9.gif

Malibu#27
23 May 2006, 13:55
If we can get Gibbs why would we think twice about passing that opportunity up. Surely Thomas isn’t regarded as a top 10 pick yet?

Taking nothing away from him as he has exceptional skills and outstanding speed. Just a bit worried he might be a keep the ball and do it myself player (ala Peter B). Would like to see him play a few more league games and see him in the U/18 championship carnival.

I heard Thomas had a crack cocain addiction, and was intending to move to the states to pursue an acting career at years end ??

<hopefully that will throw thewm off the scent> :)

portentous
23 May 2006, 23:51
And all that relates to me how? I've never said either. :confused:

You are confusing me with those less informed of my species. ;)

*PAF
24 May 2006, 07:51
Fair post too.

Our crowds have always been 25-30 odd K, more for important/interesting games and less occasionally. They will remain at those figures irrespective of ladder position for a number of years to come. It's just the way it is and has been since 1997.

wrt playing for priority picks, that sucks. Playing youngsters instead of undeserving older players is one thing, suggesting we go for picks is quite another. On the plus side, not too many have said we should do that.