View Full Version : Hardness - Todays Tiser.

*PAFC*13
17 May 2006, 13:01
Facts don't lie, Power is soft
By MICHELANGELO RUCCI
17may06

PORT Adelaide's players are dealing with the biggest insult in AFL football - that they play soft.

They do not deny it.
And they cannot when statistics from the Power's first seven games this season give credence to this damning conclusion.

The Port players have won less contests and hard-ball gets than their rivals.

Against this backdrop, Port's training session at AAMI Stadium at 3pm today is again to be brutal, this time at the players' calling.

This can be taken as an admission that the Power players - who have won just 13 of 31 premiership matches since claiming the 2004 AFL flag - have self-analysed that their football has become soft.

"We have to bring aggression to the training track," emerging Power forward Damon White said yesterday. "We have to come to training willing to train like we want to play.

"Obviously, that may mean people will cop cut eyes (again)."

White yesterday drew the short straw of being the first Port player to carry the team's message to a frustrated supporter base in the aftermath of coach Mark Williams' state-of-the-club address on Monday.

In less public forums - that is said to have included an inevitable meeting of the team's leadership group on Monday - Port's players have concluded:

THEY MUST PLAY HARDER.

They dismiss they have no hard men since 2004 premiership players Josh Carr, Byron Pickett and Damian Hardwick have left the club and Michael Wilson has been limited by injury.

Rather, they admit they have stopped playing hard - perhaps a remnant of a premiership hangover.

THEY MUST NOT GIVE UP ON FINALS.

"The top eight is definitely still in our sights," said White. At 2-5, Port must win at least 10 of its next 15 matches to reach the AFL finals for the sixth consecutive year.

"The next match (with 2004 grand final opponent, Brisbane) is pretty important," added White. "The next three weeks are important for us."

Port plays bottom-eight clubs Brisbane (home), Essendon (Telstra Dome) and Carlton (Dome) in the next three weeks.

THE AGENDA.

"First," said White, "we must stick together. And we are a tight bunch. That will go a long way to getting some wins on the training track.

"(Second), we need to bring some aggression to the training track. And then, the 22 (picked to play Brisbane), have to bring that intensity on the weekend.

"We saw in the second quarter (against the Western Bulldogs) when we fought back, that if we play tough, if we have that intensity, if we tackle . . . we will get results.

"(Third), we need to get some wins on the board."

ON WILLIAMS.

Asked if Williams' call-it-as-it-is assessment of the Power on Monday had irritated the players, White said: "No, not at all."

Fellow forward Josh Mahoney said: "There are times that we all have to be told some home truths and we all have to be brave enough to face those times.

"Let it be known that nobody at the club is happy at the moment, nobody wants the club to be where it is, and we all are doing everything we can to turn our season around."

While Williams' frankness will not have appeal throughout a player group, one senior member of the Port team has privately applauded Williams for taking the debate out of the team room and into the public to test the players' pride.

White described Williams as a coach who instilled confidence throughout the player base.

ON THE PLAYER LIST.

It is, according to the players, under-performing rather than under-standard.

"We are more determined to get things right," said White. "This list is capable of doing so.

"As a player group, we are aware we need to turn things around. We're going to put things in place to do that."

First, the Power players must determine why they are failing - particularly with their lack of hardness at the football.

"If we could put a finger on what it is," said White, "we would not be in this situation. On the training track we will start putting things in place to turn it around."

Williams agrees - the hardness has gone
17may06

PORT Adelaide coach Mark Williams agrees - the Power has lost its hard edge.

Responding to Port supporters in his web forum, Williams accepts a fan's view that his players do not seem "to be committed to the hard things as in previous years" and have lost confidence.
Williams says: "Every time you lose and have a string of losses, it looks bad. Certainly the confidence isn't as high as when you win, there's no doubt about that. I'd agree that without question a lot of our hardness has gone out of our side. Starting with Matthew Primus, Roger James, Josh Francou, Byron Pickett, Damien Hardwick and Josh Carr.

"They're outstanding, hard players and are very hard to replace and we're looking at how we can do that as quickly as possible because we know that that's how we want to play at Port Adelaide."

Williams also responds to a supporter asking if he and his coaching staff are to blame for Port's slide, or the players. He says: "It's always been very much that we win together and lose together. No-one is dodging responsibility.

"We obviously don't have the same team as we have had in the past and we're trying to build a side that is very, very talented and able to stick at their tasks for a long time. At the moment we're not showing that."

The answer for all this... BRING IN MATTY THOMAS!!! :D

JohnK
17 May 2006, 13:15
Michelangelo is barracking, again.

Pred
17 May 2006, 15:03
We all know that most of them are playing like wusses, that ain't news.

There are some positives we can take out of that article, though.

Asked if Williams' call-it-as-it-is assessment of the Power on Monday had irritated the players, White said: "No, not at all."

"Let it be known that nobody at the club is happy at the moment, nobody wants the club to be where it is, and we all are doing everything we can to turn our season around."

While Williams' frankness will not have appeal throughout a player group, one senior member of the Port team has privately applauded Williams for taking the debate out of the team room and into the public to test the players' pride.

White described Williams as a coach who instilled confidence throughout the player base.

That last quote in particular, is interesting. One of the players who some people on here have said is being robbed of confidence by Williams, in White. "White described Williams as a coach who instilled confidence" - straight from the horse's mouth.

I await the usual naysayers.

RogerRabbit69
17 May 2006, 15:11
We all know that most of them are playing like wusses, that ain't news.

There are some positives we can take out of that article, though.

That last quote in particular, is interesting. One of the players who some people on here have said is being robbed of confidence by Williams, in White. "White described Williams as a coach who instilled confidence" - straight from the horse's mouth.

I await the usual naysayers.
Pred, without sounding too cynical (which I'm sure I will), it would be almost impossible for White to say anything too different. All players are too well-trained nowadays and know how to toe the company line. Hitaf Rasheed wouldn't even put a player up for the media if she thought there was any chance they'd say something they shouldn't

Players invariably praise their coach (unless they're Jason Akermanis - and look where it got him).

Bresh
17 May 2006, 15:19
Not to mention the whole thing with uh... not playing with confidence.

Pred
17 May 2006, 17:46
Pred, without sounding too cynical (which I'm sure I will), it would be almost impossible for White to say anything too different.I don't buy that. If White thought the exact opposite, he would just comment on things that he was allowed to by Hitaf, I don't see him lying through his teeth.

Pred
17 May 2006, 17:50
Not to mention the whole thing with uh... not playing with confidence.Yes, there is that, but I offer you a couple of platitudes: "You can't make a silk purse from a sow's ear", and "Rome hasn't built in a day."

He never said Choco had built them into Rocks of Gibraltar.

Macca19
17 May 2006, 18:15
Went to training.

Was pretty hard. Did lots of total field play working through the corridor mainly. Skills were poor. Lots of missed targets. Morale looked good though. Tredrea didnt do the first half but joined in the second half with the game-like action.

Symes and Thomas trained pretty well. As did Willits. Josh and Brogan ran laps mainly. Dom didnt train.

PJ Power
17 May 2006, 18:29
Skills were poor. Lots of missed targets. Morale looked good though.

This has been as much of a problem as our softness.

The fact that we can't hit targets has created alot more contested situations for our players. Factor in our softness at the contest and we have a double whammy!

How have the skills dropped so low? Surely it comes down to application and practice. If that has been lacking it means that too many people at the club have been content for too long.

ctpower
17 May 2006, 18:38
I've read so many articles like this over the last 18 months that i no longer take any notice of them. Until something is done about the gold pass club (which will never happen) then things will not change.
The same old bludgers will sit back and wait for a few blokes to do it all for them. Other players will be content picking up cheap and easy kicks to boost their stats but mean nothing during a game ( p burgoyne).
the coach and most players are all talk.

Porthos
17 May 2006, 18:44
Not to mention the whole thing with uh... not playing with confidence.
Bresh speaks truth.

Damon's still got that bit where he backpedals for ages after he marks on the lead, because he can't decide on a target...tick tick, their defenders run back...then he runs out of time and bombs it to a now crowded goalsquare. Even if he'd just done that originally, it would be a better result.

RogerRabbit69
17 May 2006, 21:04
I don't buy that. If White thought the exact opposite, he would just comment on things that he was allowed to by Hitaf, I don't see him lying through his teeth.
Without having actually been there, I reckon it's tough to get a feel for things. Having heard and watched a few of these interviews over the years, there are often some loaded questions from the journos. If Rucci, for example, asked Damon if Choco still instilled confidence in the players, it's bloody tough for him to say anything other than yes.
I guess my judgement's clouded somewhat in this situation because of Rucci's love of Choco. There's no doubt whatsoever that Rooch will always be on Choco's side.

Ford Fairlane
17 May 2006, 21:13
Ch 7 news didn't think Brogan would play.

*PAFC*13
17 May 2006, 21:41
Ch 7 news didn't think Brogan would play.

Fabian Deluca.. COME ON DOWN!!! :D

Ford Fairlane
17 May 2006, 21:58
Bruce, Bruce, Bruce

http://images.amazon.com/images/P/B00005K3LU.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

deeps
18 May 2006, 01:54
Until something is done about the gold pass club (which will never happen) then things will not change.

who's got a gold pass besides bishop? and don't say motlop, he is new to the side, and is beign given the time that pickett was given too.

Mr Magoo
18 May 2006, 07:17
Went to training.

Was pretty hard. Did lots of total field play working through the corridor mainly. Skills were poor. Lots of missed targets. Morale looked good though. Tredrea didnt do the first half but joined in the second half with the game-like action.

Symes and Thomas trained pretty well. As did Willits. Josh and Brogan ran laps mainly. Dom didnt train.

At training then, do the players sheperd/block for one another & do the other 1%er's & if so then why doesn't it translate to when they play on a Saturday or Sunday?

A wise man once said that you often play football the same way you do when you train & therefore it's important to do things continuously & repetitively at training so when it comes to gametime you don't have to think about it, it'll just come naturally.

portentous
18 May 2006, 09:42
Mr Magoo, I've been to some fantastic training sessions, followed by an absolute belting on the weekend and vice versa. Sometimes it's an indication, as it was at the end of Jack's reign, where no-one was interested and there's was too much stuffing around, but other times training gives you very little indication of how the side will perform on the weekend.

Just my 2c worth from attending sessions since year 1.

Powerstufff
18 May 2006, 10:09
Mr Magoo, I've been to some fantastic training sessions, followed by an absolute belting on the weekend and vice versa......Stole my thunder there Nat. I'm sure I actually posted here after watching the Wednesday session before the Freo game. Then the boys looked as switched on as I've seen them since the sessions in the 2004 finals series. There was no correlation at all with the soft, error-ridden, dispirited bunch that played the Dockers that weekend.

Porthos
18 May 2006, 11:42
who's got a gold pass besides bishop? and don't say motlop, he is new to the side, and is beign given the time that pickett was given too.Dew.

deeps
18 May 2006, 13:41
Dew.

Fair enough, he has been poor, but he has also been improving every game. He had a slow start to the season, but so did many. He is improving though

*PAFC*13
18 May 2006, 13:56
Fair enough, he has been poor, but he has also been improving every game. He had a slow start to the season, but so did many. He is improving though

Don't know about improving, inconsistent maybe.

Dew - round by round

Round 1 - He was crap
Round 2 - Was ok
Round 3 - Crap
Round 4 - Great - Four goals
Round 5 - Crap
Round 6 - Good, 20 disposals, 5 clearences
Round 7 - Crap

RogerRabbit69
18 May 2006, 14:28
I wouldn't have said good Dew was good against the Crows. The stats are quite misleading. A lot of his kicks were ineffective and without any pressure. I don't think it'd be unfair to suggest he's had three pretty poor performances in a row.

Handyandy
18 May 2006, 15:11
Mr Magoo, I've been to some fantastic training sessions, followed by an absolute belting on the weekend and vice versa. Sometimes it's an indication, as it was at the end of Jack's reign, where no-one was interested and there's was too much stuffing around, but other times training gives you very little indication of how the side will perform on the weekend.

Just my 2c worth from attending sessions since year 1.

Ive heard 3 or 4 commentators talking about how poor ports training sessions are nowadays(in terms of intensity and skills) as compared to the sessions from 2004 or compared to the crows now.

portentous
18 May 2006, 17:32
Ive heard 3 or 4 commentators talking about how poor ports training sessions are nowadays(in terms of intensity and skills) as compared to the sessions from 2004 or compared to the crows now.
We had some shockers in 2004 too HA, including the leadup to the Geelong final at AAMI (we belted them). I thought we trained poorly that week but much better the following week, where we just got over St Kilda and had a shocking first half (thank Russ for Jamesy)

I like to watch the setups etc and who's injured etc, but don't read too much into how "good" a session it is nowadays. It can be downright misleading.

portentous
18 May 2006, 17:33
Stole my thunder there Nat.

I am a Port supporter, stealing is my area of expertise. :D

deeps
18 May 2006, 18:53
Don't know about improving, inconsistent maybe.

Dew - round by round

Round 1 - He was crap
Round 2 - Was ok
Round 3 - Crap
Round 4 - Great - Four goals
Round 5 - Crap
Round 7 - Crap

The whole team, bar damon white, brendon lade were crap in round 7.
Alot of players play crap when we get thumped, Round 5 we got belted by collingwood.. dew is a link up type player more than anything.He is willing to put his body on the line, but he will be useless when the team is playing crap. The problem atm, is we have too many of those

Lonie
Motlop
Dew
are just a few, who will be awesome when we're playing good footy, and they have tough players around them, but they will be made to look horrible when we're losing.

Every team needs these players though, what port is missing, is someone, or even a few players, to extract balls from the pack. Roger James, Josh Francou, were both people who have done a great job for us in the past. Williams is trying to get along without an 'extractor' atm, and it's hurting us bad.

The other HUGE problem is our skil level. Its SHOCKING. We can't hit targets, our forwards are never getting good delivery etc. I just watched the port vs bulldogs game for the first time in its entirity, and the amount of times they hit targets was great. We couldn't do that half as good atm.

The other thing, and the most important thing of all, was (particularly in the last quarter), the amount of space their midfielders had running into the forward 50. It was almost as if the port players didn't want to be next to a bulldog player. Disgusting. SO many times there was 2 or 3 bulldogs with no port player within 5 metres of him, when the bulldogs had the ball

Simply atrocious

And it's not any one players fault, they are all guilty.

I've been saying Bishop is crap for the whole season, but i noticed something in the last quarter. He was one on one with some bulldogs player, he managed to fist the ball down, and there was an open free bulldogs player waiting for the crumb. He took the ball and ran into an open goal. It seemed like it was bishop vs 2 bulldogs players in their attacking 50.

PJ Power
18 May 2006, 20:29
I've been saying Bishop is crap for the whole season, but i noticed something in the last quarter. He was one on one with some bulldogs player, he managed to fist the ball down, and there was an open free bulldogs player waiting for the crumb. He took the ball and ran into an open goal. It seemed like it was bishop vs 2 bulldogs players in their attacking 50.

I swear that scenario happens more with our team than any other. We spoil in defence and there is always a nest of opponents on the ground to snare the footy.
In our forward line however, the ball falls from the pack and we don't have a crumber within 50m of the pill.

Comes back to what Porthos and Macca observed from the last game - our players are so hesitant about getting involved at the moment (call it lack of hunger, lack of confidence or plain laziness) that they jog very slowly and after a considerable delay, to position. Therefore we have this swarm of loitering players caught forever in all the spots where the ball isn't.

Bresh
18 May 2006, 21:43
I swear that scenario happens more with our team than any other. We spoil in defence and there is always a nest of opponents on the ground to snare the footy.
In our forward line however, the ball falls from the pack and we don't have a crumber within 50m of the pill.

Deadset (in the fair dinkum department). Seriously, how many sharked goals have we had in the last 3 years? 1 for each year? (2 of which by Pearcy, probably in the same game?).

Wangas for FP.

deeps
18 May 2006, 22:43
I don't mind if we don't get too many sharked goals, we never did in our premiership year... our problem, is our midfield. It's getting beaten everywhere. Tackles, hard ball gets, one on one everything.

Other teams are just getting the ball in defence, and running it straight through our midfield, and into their attacking 50.

We have some sort of a contest when it gets into their attacking 50, but we're just letting them bring it in... and the contest, is only on their key forwards.

I think we've had the most 'midfielder' goals kicked on us this year, than any other team... simply midfielders running into 50 with the ball and kicking a goal