View Full Version : Blues BigFooty Awards 2001
The Old Dark Navy's
5 Jan 2002, 20:24
Just to let you folks know you are appreciated around here, let's take a walk down memory lane and recognise the best/worst/weirdest posters in the Carlton forum.
These are the official BigFooty awards not a trumped up exercise/excuse for a thread! ;) As moderator, the honour has been bestowed upon me to select the winners and as humble as I am, I now have an excuse for not being nominated! :D
Worst Post - Carlton Browns - Homework Boy
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=7391
Best Post - Thrawn
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=19538
Best Threads -
Can we remain the hardest side in the competition?
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=7399
& Who will be our next captain?
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=7422
Best impression of a Blues fan by an opposition supporter - - Ant
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=15706
Blues Biggest Protoganist - - Jars458
Honourable mention to JubJub, Red Rover and Dan 24/5/6
Most outspoken Blues fan - - Loz
Honourable mention to Starchild
The Blues "Show them what real arrogance is all about" Award - - Bee
Most likely to go into coaching - - Amazonstud
Best newcomer award - - Thrawn
Encouragement award - - Blues Rock
Let's Not Encourage Award - - CIC and his/her travelling band of merry aliases
Let's try to avoid this title next year perhaps?
Personality award - - Meg
Best Poster of the year runner up - - Blues2001
Almost pulled it off as the name suggests but for a late season leave of absence
Which leaves us with the coveted award for the Best Blues Poster of 2001. With no further adieu, I give you the ....
Best Blues Poster of 2001 - - Fat Red
Congratulations Fat Red. I know that you will do your utmost to defend your crown. It's been a difficult year for a fledgling forum. I trust you will all return to help this board go on to bigger and better things. Remember, we are BLUES fans and we must stand up to our enemies ... and err ... we don't want the Essendon or Collingwood boards to do better than us. ;):D
Until next year, thus concludes the Bluegies Awards
ps Anyone I forgot, please put it down to Christmas over indulgence and make sure you let me know. I will gladly admit my mistakes (if I had ever made one ;))
The Old Dark Navy's
6 Jan 2002, 13:02
Back to the top
Stegelator
6 Jan 2002, 13:47
Originally posted by The Old Dark Navy's
[B]Worst Post - Carlton Browns - Homework Boy
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=7391
[ HAHAHAHAHAH LOL This was the funniest post!! :D:D:D
Well done Blues bigfooty fans.
Some of the best bigfooty people IMHO. ;) Pity about your choice of club. :o
The Old Dark Navy's
6 Jan 2002, 14:12
Originally posted by Stegelator
HAHAHAHAHAH LOL This was the funniest post!! :D:D:D All depends what side of the fence you are sitting on I suppose.
Stegelator
6 Jan 2002, 16:16
All depends what side of the fence you are sitting on I suppose. lol I spose it wouldn't be funny for u guys.... sorry :(
Blues2001
7 Jan 2002, 07:46
Great stuff ODN. With typical modesty you forgot to give yourself an award. Fat Red isn't on bigfooty at the moment (but he will be back) so I will let him know the good news!:)
Blues2001
7 Jan 2002, 08:33
Originally posted by Blues2001
yourself an award. Fat Red isn't on bigfooty at the moment
Actually, I am wrong about that.
Only just got here, but am blown away with the honour, thanks ODNs.
Don't want to start a pissing-in-pocket session, but this award belongs to ODNs himself, who is a great contributor to this board as well as running his own EXCELLENT site.
Despite CIC, the quality of Carlton posters here is excellent. We don't have the numbers of some other clubs, but we have some of the very best posters around, who are:
intelligent
loyal but balanced
extremely knowledgeable (well except me, I reckon I know a bit about the game and the club but not in this company)
passionate
friendly.
Well done Bigfooty Blues, and onwards and upwards in 2002.
Kane McGoodwin
7 Jan 2002, 10:11
Congrats to 2 fellow Crows supporters - Ant & Jars458 for making the Blues BigFooty Awards in 2001.
Thanks ODN for the gong.
next year i think i'll try and tone down my views. The club is more important than the individual and i'll do anything not to bring disrepute to the club or it's great band of supporters. and i must say ODN your site is probably the best fan supporter independant site of any club in the league.
blues^rock
7 Jan 2002, 19:36
wow... i actually got an award ...i dont thin ki've ever got one before... well u certainly have encouraged me...this year one of my many resolutions that i probably won't keep is now to bring that damned post count up... 275 or whatever is...geez that's bad
The Old Dark Navy's
8 Jan 2002, 16:18
Good to see you enjoy getting recognition for your efforts. The big test now is to get in here and post, post, post! Have any questions about any players, positions, classic matches etc. Share it and get the old cogs turning in the brains of the rest of us. A happy little Navy Blue family! :D
blues^rock
8 Jan 2002, 16:49
hmmm well i wish i had a question or query or somethign btu at the moment i think i'm just wasting time and bringing up posts...lol...if i thinkof one i'll be sure to ask!
The Old Dark Navy's
8 Jan 2002, 17:26
yes, we can't have anyone posting just for the sake of it now can we? ;)
blues^rock
9 Jan 2002, 09:19
no...that wouldn't be any good at all!
The Old Dark Navy's
10 Jan 2002, 12:13
See that is why you got the encouragement award .... for agreeing with me! :D
blues^rock
10 Jan 2002, 17:21
See that is why you got the encouragement award .... for agreeing with me! :D
well if thats the case i guess i'll juts have to continue agreeing;) :D
Jars458
15 Jan 2002, 10:33
ODN - thanks for the award but I am not sure that I did enough to deserve it
some gentle teasing of Kouta surely can't account for it!!;)
Given that I used to "follow" Carlton before the Crows came in, its an ironic award.
In thanks for the award, I endorse the move of Gallagher to Carlton as he could be the worst player ever to play AFL football.
Ben Nelson is Nathan Buckley in comparison.
Cheers.
Arrogant? I keep telling you. We are not arrogant. We are just better than them.:D
The Old Dark Navy's
15 Jan 2002, 17:01
Sorry Bee, just after I first came to BigFooty, I remember a thread containing an argument between you and Dan24/5/6 about real arrogance. Actually, he was arguing and you were cooly getting under his skin. That has never left me. It is definitely not a bad title, more reflective of your ability to take all that is dished out to you and still counter with claims of superiority! ;) If ever the Blues need a spokesperson .......:D
That's okay ODN. I was actually being arrogant with my previous post! ;) Gotta love the Carlton "Superiority complex". :)
StrengthThroughLoyalty
16 Jan 2002, 07:36
congrats to all the blues posters who received awards, there are some quality posters amongst you arrogant lot.;)
odn these awards do tend to have the look of an under 12's presentation night though.
best player, fairest player, most improved, coaches award, best tackler, best kicker, best mark, tries the hardest, squirrel pizza's sponsors award etc ............ until everyone has won something. :D
look out for the saints in round 1, it was only due to kouta dominating the last 1/4 , that you won last year and he wont be there to save you this year.
:cool:
The Old Dark Navy's
16 Jan 2002, 13:47
Well when you only have about five regular posters on here, what do you expect? Besides, I wanted it to be like the Grammys or Oscars or something ... stay tuned for next years "Best R & B songwriter" and "Best Foreign Screenplay" .... should be a ripper.;)
As it was our first awards, I think we need a taste for it and now they can compete in earnest!!! Go get 'em guys and gals!:)
Well ODNs, I can say that I am honoured by this award... thanks :) And well done to all the other winners (aside from the negative ones), and FatRed, congrats on your award(s). I probably would of voted you in that respect, or maybe even ODNs, but well done mate! :)
As for the best post... well maybe not the best, but is this close? :
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=19538
It took me ages, and is probably the best post I have ever made here. Does this deserve an honourable mention? :) But if ya decide not to list it, than that's fine with me :)
The Old Dark Navy's
25 Jan 2002, 16:46
You are right Thrawn, it is a beauty. The other awards were for best or worst 'threads', not posts. Unfortunately nobody picked up that thread and ran with it, with just one reply being made.
Consider yourself to have won the best individual 'post' of 2001! :)
The Old Dark Navy's
25 Jan 2002, 16:52
It's official now Thrawn. :)
Wow! Thanks a bunch ODNs :) Remember, that is only a pre-season post. I'll be doing more during the season, so watch out ;)
The Old Dark Navy's
25 Jan 2002, 19:35
Uh oh looks like we've created a monster!