View Full Version : Great Win - Discussion+Votes....Disposal...

kanabar
20 May 2006, 19:47
Hi all,

great win, but shocking disposals (kicking) etc too many clangers...this sort of kicking wont get us much far in finals...

good work schoey....

Pav - 3
Wiz - 2 (Goal of the round)
Schoe - 1

TP3_Freo
20 May 2006, 20:25
It took us 2 and a bit quarters to find some rhythm, I was actually very happy with how we played after that, great work by the lads to back each other up in contests, ball use got a bit better, and delivery into the 50 improved also. Schoey was terrific, and again Mundy didn't make an error, so clean with his disposal and always chooses a good option.
What can we say about Byron, he had an off day, but he'll bounce back next week like all quality players do. MJ again was brilliant running from the backline, strong performance from him.

3 votes to Pav
2 votes to Mundy
1 vote for Matty Carr

Rob
20 May 2006, 20:56
Just thank our lucky stars that we were playing a woeful side. If we had of put that up 2 weeks ago we would have been flogged by 15 goals.

dominguez
20 May 2006, 20:57
I don't think Mundy has been as good this year as he was last year. Pulled out of a few contests today and often hangs out the back waiting for others to put their body on the line.

3- Pav
2- Johnson
1- Grover (must be top 3 in the B&F at this stage).

Docker_Brat
20 May 2006, 21:04
It wasn't a great win. We need to clean up a team like that at home by 100 points to be a real contender.

1 Pav
2 Johnson
3 Hase

TP3_Freo
20 May 2006, 21:06
It wasn't a great win. We need to clean up a team like that at home by 100 points to be a real contender.

1 Pav
2 Johnson
3 Hase

Hase got a vote? he only racked up 7 possesions? even if all 7 were quality he wouldnt get a vote

Brickie
20 May 2006, 21:09
First half was woeful, skill errors would have made Macca and Cookies skills look pristine. Second half just passable, beat a very ordinary team who's gameplan is worse than ours.
Happy with Peake, Murphy etc should get a extended run in the team, Grover keeps going from strength to strength, Pav his usual self, Carr brothers good.

Just a Win , nothing special.

refresh
20 May 2006, 21:27
was always going to be an ugly game. North clog and scratch. It was effective in the past 2 years. Although not pretty, in fact woeful entertainment, it was encouraging we worked through it where we couldn't in the past

Ripper
20 May 2006, 21:44
Don't want to rain on the parade but we need to give the five best votes.

5: My man Groves - kept Thompson goal less.
4: Peaker - broke the game open with his tireless running
3: Pav - 6 goals although one was Hase's
2: One melee Dodd - kept the clamps on Shannon grant
1: M. Carr - some way back to the M. Carr we know & love.

All in all just "another day at the office" winning a game we were expected to win.

Special kudo's to the defence (apart from the obvious bloopers) as of their 6 goals we gave them at least three and the Umps gave them another 2.

Shame about the bloopers as is masks an otherwise top defensive effort.

dockersfan
20 May 2006, 21:52
....partial quote removed...

I agree with Ripper.. need to give 5 votes also :thumbsu:

My votes from what I saw from the game....2nd half MUCH better play

Five:: PAV smartest player
Four:: JLO 1st game back after dicky knee injury
Three:: GROVER did well again, held 150th Kanga-gamer Thompson to nil goals, gotta love that :D
Two:: MATTY CARR returning form after last minute recall
One:: SCHOEY finding his passion, after doing well in waffle

raffrox
20 May 2006, 21:53
Good win by the guys.

Johnson was great in parts, J Carr is slowly joining Bell as the heart of the team, Pav is a dead set superstar, good to see Murph get some touches and Peakes pace and creativity is just what we need. Schammers confidence is rock bottom but his creativity and play making is worth perservering with. Him and Black being out of form really hurts us.

But gotta be joking about Schofield. Same as M Carr. Little creativity and run and that's what almost undid us. Static indecisive footy.

5 - Pav (the difference)
4 - J Carr
3 - Grover
2 - Peake
1 - Johnson

ImperialPurple
20 May 2006, 22:08
5. My Buddy the Pavinator!! :thumbsu:
4. JCarr
3. Peaker
2. Grovesy
1. Murphy for his 3 goals. :)

Thumbs ups also for Mundy, JLo, Duffman, Scotty-too-Hotty & MCarr for getting back into it!! :thumbsu:

Can everyone who only voted 3 edit their posts and make it up to 5. The Freo BF POTY is serious stuff and we must follow correct rules and etiquette... ;)

hoss
20 May 2006, 22:19
5. Pav
4. J Carr
3. Grover
2. Johnson
1. J Lo

Could have just as easy got the 1 vote (unlucky) - Peake, Mundy, Bell, M Carr.

Kapow!!!
20 May 2006, 22:32
5. Pav
4. J.Carr
3. My Bud Petrol Peake
2. Johnson
1. Mundy

Freo Shark
20 May 2006, 22:36
5. Pav
4. Grover
3. MJ - kept us in the game in the first half.
2. Peake
1. J. Carr

dugrene
20 May 2006, 23:21
5 Peake.....He (imo) has guaranteed himself the next two games.
4 Bell .... Captains game. He was nearly suicidal with some of his hard ball gets.
3 Pav
2 Johhno
1 JCarr

Special mention to spud. He will be in the bog's real soon.

Reveler
20 May 2006, 23:21
5. Pav
4. MJ
3. Murphy
2. Peake
1. J Carr

pinkus maximus
20 May 2006, 23:29
5 Pav
4 Magic
3 Josh
2 Peake
1 Grover

dockers_bengals
20 May 2006, 23:42
Interesting voting so far,I wonder how much diffference it makes to how you see the game t.v or live.i watch it at the ground then t.v before i vote and change the odd vote sometimes.funny game but its good to see a win even thou we played average.a better side would of made us pay more with some of those turnovers.I think its the first time ive seen johnson well beaten.

Freo Big Fella
21 May 2006, 01:04
5. Pav
4. Bellie
3. JCarr
2. Spud
1. Groves

Honorable mentions to Scotty, Johnno and at the risk of a public stoning, even Schofield (4 tackles is an improvement compared to him running scared whenever anyone came near him last year).

kanabar
21 May 2006, 01:07
ya good iwn but need to be cleaner next few weeks no way can we be this shocking in disposals not settign the play up just handballing to a player who has no chance of releasing ball to our advantage....pure panicing some times...think smart thats what i want them to do.....dotn just handball to closest player and hopoe for best...

docker_johnno
21 May 2006, 03:20
5. Pav
4. Bell (was anyone watching the game I was, Bell was near his best)
3. Mundy
2. Grover
1. J. Carr

ThePope
21 May 2006, 03:53
5. Pav
4. Peake
3. M Carr
2. Grover
1. Dodd
Close but not quite to Wiz (that tackle turned the match), Bell and J Carr(typical of what we've come to expect), Spud (good to see him confident in front of goal), Polly & JLo (we need to at least break even in the ruck and be dangerous around the ground, and we did today), Walker (did pretty well on Wells), Mundy Duff and Parks are doing well under a lot of pressure (why can't we win the clearances??) and Johno (but Petrie killed him early).

Dissapointing games by Hase, Black and McPharlin (why didn't he have a shot from 55?
Next week... McPharlin out, Medhurst in. Maybe Cook for Hase too if Hase is injured.

Interesting that CC was unable to do the post match because of a throat problem... maybe some other guys were also sick. I know about 4-5 people who've got a bug at the moment.

Goal Square
21 May 2006, 04:17
5. J. Carr
4. Pavlich
3. Peake
2. Murphy
1. Duffield

pinkus maximus
21 May 2006, 04:28
Is HAse still injured? seriously he could become one of the greats of freo football but he never seems fit

glad they dropped Medhurst too. While i think he is in our best when he is playing well i am fed up with his kicking and how hlast week he got all his stats in the last ten minutes of the game

Alfonz
21 May 2006, 08:27
We need to seriously improve on that showing. Clearances woeful again, tackles down, disposal very ordinary. But as for votes:

5 - Pav
4 - Peake (broke the game open by running the lines)
3 - Bell
2 - Grover
1 - J-Lo (battle very hard considering his fitness)

Undertaker
21 May 2006, 12:17
5. Pav
4. Grover
3. Peake
2. J. Carr
1. MJ Played well after being beaten early

Apologies to Doddy who did a fantastic job on Grant.

Cassius_Clay
21 May 2006, 12:38
CC how about you give Schammer a go on the wing on in the centre?

surfsup
21 May 2006, 13:15
Hi all,

great win, but shocking disposals (kicking) etc too many clangers...this sort of kicking wont get us much far in finals...

good work schoey....

Pav - 3
Wiz - 2 (Goal of the round)
Schoe - 1

SCHOFIELD!!! You have got to be firking kidding me don't you!!!! Him and Schammer were the worst on the field!!!!
So he was better than Johnson was he??:eek: (....and Mundy and Grover and Bell and Polak and ....etc, etc, etc)

Let me guess, you're related.

hoss
21 May 2006, 13:54
Hase got a vote? he only racked up 7 possesions? even if all 7 were quality he wouldnt get a vote

I didn't fit Hase into the votes but that's the thing. They're subjective. To be fair Hase should have another kick and goal, when he went off on the blood rule.

Someone gave Wiz votes (9 poss), Murph votes (9 poss), Grover got heaps of votes (11 poss) and most reckon Pav was best on ground and even he only had 13 possessions.

Possessions are overrated. How many times do we see certain Freo players get 25-30 possession that mean stuff all.

BTW, having now watched a replay, I would have moved Bellie up my list a bit and Johnno/Mundy down - Bell was the stand-out in the first half with quality of possessions/disposal. I'm happy for J Lo still to have 1 vote, only played 72 minutes but got plenty of the ball, marks and kicked a goal. Good effort considering 75% fitness. Also I don't think Schofield was as bad (or as good) as some of you are suggesting. Serviceable game by him.

ImperialPurple
21 May 2006, 13:57
McPharlin (why didn't he have a shot from 55?

Murphy was 40 out, not much more of an angle, and is a great kick. Correct decision by McPharlin IMO.

ThePope
21 May 2006, 14:57
I was thinking of the one kicking to the 3-tier end, he was about passed to Schofield who was 5-10 m further out but more central (Elvis was prob 20 m from centre). Would have been a tough shot, but one that Fev, Hall, Neitz, Gehrig would take every day. Sign of a lack of confidence.

ImperialPurple
21 May 2006, 15:02
I was thinking of the one kicking to the 3-tier end, he was about passed to Schofield who was 5-10 m further out but more central (Elvis was prob 20 m from centre). Would have been a tough shot, but one that Fev, Hall, Neitz, Gehrig would take every day. Sign of a lack of confidence.

Aah fair enough. Can't even think of that one. What happened?

Scham
21 May 2006, 15:55
5. Pav
4. Mundy
3. Grover
2. Polak
1. Peake

JuddyisGod
21 May 2006, 18:59
SCHOFIELD!!! You have got to be firking kidding me don't you!!!! Him and Schammer were the worst on the field!!!!
So he was better than Johnson was he??:eek: (....and Mundy and Grover and Bell and Polak and ....etc, etc, etc)

Let me guess, you're related.
Fair enough if he didn't come into votes consideration but i thought Schoey was far from your worst today, he gave you important drive forward in the first half and i thought played a pretty solid game. Definately did enough to keep his spot IMO.

Freeeoo
21 May 2006, 20:08
5. Pav - Say no more
4. Bell - Inspirational!
3. Peakey - Took the game on when nobody else wanted to
3. JCarr - Good hard running back to basics game
1. Grover - Beat another top line big forward convincingly.

deejay
22 May 2006, 01:58

Yeah... had a nice breeze behind him too, should have had a shot for sure.

masai
22 May 2006, 10:49
5. Pav
4. Peake - provided the spark when everything was dead.
3. Grover - made Thompson look depressing.
2. Bell
1. Joshua Carr

As for the comment about stats, you can read into them what you like but I have seen players with 15 possessions playing a far better game than one with 30 possessions.

One Wiz tackle = one goal, 3 midfield tackles may just equal 3 ball ups.

Plugga
22 May 2006, 12:11
5 Pav
4 Peake
3 Josh Carr
2 Matt Carr
1 Grover

WOG (Worse of Ground)
3 Schammer
2 McPharlin
1 Hasleby

Polly
22 May 2006, 14:36

5: My man Groves - kept Thompson goal less.
4: Peaker - broke the game open with his tireless running
3: Pav - 6 goals although one was Hase's
2: One melee Dodd - kept the clamps on Shannon grant
1: M. Carr - some way back to the M. Carr we know & love.

I think Bellies hit on Thompsons legs in the first quarter took alot of wind out of his sails, which was followed up about five minutes later with another hit, I'm not sure who that champion was. I think he lost a bit of heart after that.:thumbsu:

dockers_bengals
22 May 2006, 20:52
5.pavlich
4.j carr
3.mundy
2.bell
1.m carr
imo bell miskicked heaps but his sheer work effort gave him votes.

purplepavlich_29
22 May 2006, 21:12
5 Pav
4 Peake
3 Josh Carr
2 Matt Carr
1 Grover

WOG (Worse of Ground)
3 Schammer
2 McPharlin
1 Hasleby

Bit harsh on McPharlin. He spent the majority of the clash on the pine with an ankle injury. Schammer needs to be reinstated into the midfield and Haze had a quiet match, but kick started the flurry of goals with his floater in the third term. Also, it would be 'worst on ground' not 'worse on ground.';)

My votes, although I was only able to see the second half. But by all reports that was probably a good thing.

5 - Matty Pavlich - an absolute champion.
4 - Joshua Carr - after a lacklustre debut season with the Dockers' he continues to shine.
3 - Antoni Grover - for keeping the inform Thompson goaless.
2 - Ryan Murphy - hopefully he can string a few matches together.
1 - Matty Carr - regaining form.

Off to the GABBA next week to tackle to red hot Lions, and whilst we should nab the four points it will be a tough gig.

Johnson or Grover to curtail the damaging Jono Brown?

Plugga
23 May 2006, 00:31
Bit harsh on McPharlin. He spent the majority of the clash on the pine with an ankle injury. Schammer needs to be reinstated into the midfield and Haze had a quiet match, but kick started the flurry of goals with his floater in the third term. Also, it would be 'worst on ground' not 'worse on ground.';)

McPharlin has forgotten how to play as a forward...espicially against a flood, he never goes the dummy lead & then turns around for the mark at the back of pack....his leads are mistimed, & if he does get the ball on a lead he's usually up on a wing near the boundary....yeah he got injured but was playing a shocker prior to that...MUST go back to defence for awhile.

Agreed...Schammer MUST go into midfield, wants to take on the world down back & his handball skills are woeful...bring back Hayden to fill his shoes in defence.

& Haselby...played a shocker, had just 7 touches, & yes kicked a nice goal from a good mark...but thats about it...looked slow, not interested, provided no shepherds, no hard stuff in & under...was very UN-Hase like.

worse/worst...u get the picture:rolleyes:

ImperialPurple
24 May 2006, 01:13
Results Rd 8 Votes:

Pav 117
Peake 49
JCarr 48
Grover 44
Johnson 14
Mundy 13
MCarr 11
Murphy 10