View Full Version : Nathan Buckley
29 disposals and no one bats an eyelid, such is the regularity of his elite performances. He is without a doubt one of the most professional, reliable and durable athletes in the nation.
I hope I'm not inadvertantly slipping the lid of by saying this, but I have a genuine inkling that Bucks will finish his playing days as the captain of a Collingwood premiership team.
Long live the Bucks. :thumbsu:
tomthetiger
21 May 2006, 00:30
J.Bowden gets 20 odd uncontested possesions and gets abused. Nathan 'who gives a' F. uckley gets 25 uncontested possesions and gets praised. Whats the world coming to ?
tomthetiger
21 May 2006, 00:31
Oh, and Dale Thomas's hair aint gonna win him a rising star. There are currently quite a few more developed players who have much more impact on the game. Heath Shaw, Andrew Raines are a few to mention.
Grimreepah
21 May 2006, 00:33
We are now living in an age where possessions don't mean anything. Not that Collingwood play possession footy, but the stats in general have lost credibility.
Statisticians will have to pull their fingers out and start coming up with some new stats that are meaningful.
J.Bowden gets 20 odd uncontested possesions and gets abused. Nathan 'who gives a' F. uckley gets 25 uncontested possesions and gets praised. Whats the world coming to ?
Bowden is a good, honest half back flanker.
Bucks is a champion hall of famer.
Please don't disrespect the great man by mentioning any more Richmond plebs in this thread.
Cassius_Clay
21 May 2006, 00:34
Buckley and Bowden are totally different. One plays on no-one the other has an opponent :rolleyes:
I always said if I ever had to :D:D:D: a guy... I mean had too 'cause my life depended on it... I'd :D:D:D: Elvis.
I thought Buckley was only OK tonight, but that is judging him by the lofty standards we expect of him. A lot of the possies were handpasses and weren't particularly damaging, and they can't be compared to prior 30 possie efforts from the great man when most of his possessions would've been pinpoint kicks straight down the throat of a teammate.
He played particularly well in the 2nd half though and his foot passing was back to its vintage best, which is good to see. :thumbsu:
swanniez1983
21 May 2006, 00:35
29 disposals and no one bats an eyelid, such is the regularity of his elite performances. He is without a doubt one of the most professional, reliable and durable athletes in the nation.
I hope I'm not inadvertantly slipping the lid of by saying this, but I have a genuine inkling that Bucks will finish his playing days as the captain of a Collingwood premiership team.
That's a bit tough considering he would be pushing 60...don't think his hamstrings would stand up to it
Marklar_33
21 May 2006, 00:35
Oh, and Dale Thomas's hair aint gonna win him a rising star. There are currently quite a few more developed players who have much more impact on the game. Heath Shaw, Andrew Raines are a few to mention.
Wrong thread :D:D:D:D:head! I think your lost, Bay 13 for you
And Bowdens possession, uncontested yes, were 40-50 metres behind the play, at least Buckley made his space to be uncontested in.
Do we need a new stat, uncontested, and riduculously uncontested (or the Joel Bowden stat maybe)
All credit to Bowden though, he was the ringleader in winning that game
bucksisbest
21 May 2006, 00:38
I think Bowden's a good player who did his job in a win this afternoon.
Buckley got alot of his uncontested possesions tonight by providing a target off half-forward , they weren't sidewards passes.
He was good but not great tonight , but I mark him harshly because I think of him so highly as a player.
johnson_26
21 May 2006, 00:41
How can you compare bowden to bucks???
Bowden plays behind the ball, as a loose sweeper in defence. If neon leon did that, he'd be racking up the stats too. Bowden is ok, but hes a terry turnover as well- its only been the last few years he has really stood up. He never wins a hard ball or does something special for them to win a game. Sure, he gets his 30+ possies and 10+ marks a game, but he doesnt have the ability to hurt opposition. Its repitive, just sweep back mark, handball off to runner, or kick short out wide. All bowden is good for is dream team points.
Bucks is a champion, and has proved it by playing all over the field. He is 3 years older than voss, yet still colelcting more possies per game than voss ever did when he was 25!
i think we know the answer to the big three:
Hird then a VERY close bucks,,,,,---------------------> then way back in the distance with the cattle, voss the toss.
I thought Buckley was only OK tonight, but that is judging him by the lofty standards we expect of him. A lot of the possies were handpasses and weren't particularly damaging, and they can't be compared to prior 30 possie efforts from the great man when most of his possessions would've been pinpoint kicks straight down the throat of a teammate.
He played particularly well in the 2nd half though and his foot passing was back to its vintage best, which is good to see. :thumbsu:
Buckley doesn't need to have the 35 possession game where he dominates as in previous seasons. Players like Swan, Lonie, Shaw, Holland and Johno have taken the next step and are becoming the big possession getters. I'd love to see Buckley and Burns rotating from on ball to forward pocket and not too the bench. Would be able to kick 30 - 40 between them I reckon.
Buckley leads by example, unlike his counterpart tonight in Steven King. Could possibly be the worst captain in the competition. Vandenberg might not be a player blessed with natural talent, but he has a fair dinkum crack. King was pathetic tonight and when he is fit and injured, continues to frustrat cats and football followers.
tomthetiger
21 May 2006, 02:37
Sigh, fools, I knew this would happen. You love to make your points about why one player is better than the other. Im just saying, One guy can get slammed because he gets the so called 'soft kicks' (bowden) then the other guy who goes the same way about getting the kicks - a receiver - gets praised. Im not comparing the two and yes, Buckley is more decorated etc etc. Im just saying why cant the players who find the footy and use it well all be treated with on the same level of understanding, instead of two extremes.
Bowden took 20 marks tonight with the absolute majority being uncontested. That would be a fair indicator as to how the game was played, considering also he only got a further 14 possesions in general play. Approx 6-7 players for Richmond got well over 10 uncontested marks for the game also.
Put Bucks (and a multitude of other great players of the game) in that postion, with that game plan and you could have seen the all time possesion record absolutely smashed.
When it comes to "finding the ball", Bowden 'aint anywhere near the ballpark, let alone in it. (compared to Bucks)
Coin_Toss
21 May 2006, 10:19
Bucks didn't make a noticable clanger last night. Such the brilliance of the man.
And, how good was that mark! Bloody brilliant! :thumbsu:
Lions43
21 May 2006, 10:29
Buckley is playing a different role these days but his leadership is vital for the younger players. Keeping him fit is definitely a key part of the equation for Collingwood....
Of course Voss also had 29 touches last week playing a similar role to that played by Buckley last night. He's washed up though... :rolleyes:
Jimbeam
21 May 2006, 12:07
I wouldnt expect anything less from the champ.. bowden lol, you could see the look on the tigers players faces, they where ashamed of the game.. pathetic netballers.
konstas_87
21 May 2006, 12:12
We are now living in an age where possessions don't mean anything. Not that Collingwood play possession footy, but the stats in general have lost credibility.
Statisticians will have to pull their fingers out and start coming up with some new stats that are meaningful.
i still think CONTESTED Marks, CONTESTED ball are good stats. Just that the afl dont release them.
Lockyer24
21 May 2006, 12:25
Which clown compared Buckley to Bowden?
The day Bowden can get 29 possesions playing with a man on him the whole time off the forward flank I will buy a Richmond membership
That is a problem we will face at the end of this season. He can no longer give leadership on the field if we play in Perth, what about next year when we will play in both Perth and Brisbane? Do we keep Nathan forever installed as captain until we snag that next Premeirship!
The Collingwood Football Club is not the Rocky Horror show. Eddie is not Dr Fank'n'Flurter and Bucks is not his creation Rocky.
Why was this thread moved?
Just Fred using the "how to destroy a BB" Manuel again.
morgoth
21 May 2006, 16:20
Hardly noticed Bux last night, then was pleasently surprised to see he got the most possies for the Pies. He is now the icing on the cake rather than the cake.
Nice to have him and Scotty Burns idling along until he need to push the ignition button.
We are now living in an age where possessions don't mean anything. Statisticians will have to pull their fingers out and start coming up with some new stats that are meaningful.
Correct . I have stopped looking at who got the most disposals
I just work out who didnt turn it over
Funniest thing of all is Nathan could have played last week helped Collingwood win and rest after half time of this game
Micky dropped a game for nothing ....sweeeet:thumbsu: