View Full Version : Who do you rate and do not rate on the AFC list
crows98
21 May 2006, 11:59
Ok, after yesterday loss and the numerous threads about who should be and who should not get dropped or traded as they are a complete hack. I have finally had enough of supporter chopping and changing there minds on whom they rate.
It is time for the Adelaide Crows Big Footy board to put there money where there mouth is and become accountable with who you rate and who you don’t rate.
This is not about trading a player or delisting but who you envisage being a good player for this football club and who will never become a player of any worth,
This is who Crows98 rates on the list
Nathan Bassett
Rhett Biglands
Nathan Bock
Mathew bode
Brett Burton (yes he is Mr Frustration at time)
Richard Douglas
Tyson Edwards
Simon Goodwin
Ben Hart
Trent Hentschel
Ben Hudson
Luke Jericho (he is a keeper)
Graham Johncock
Chris Knights
Ivan Maric
Kris Massie (how could I not rate the Mass :thumbsu:)
Martin Mattner
Ken McGregor
Andrew Mcleod
John Meesen
Ian Perrie
Darren Pfeiffer
Jason Porplyzia
Brent Reilly
Mark Ricciuto
Ben Rutten
Robert Shirley (borderline)
Scott Thompson
Jason Torney
Nathan Van Berlo
Bernie Vince
Scott Welsh
To early to pass judgement on how they will go
Chad Gibson
Alan Obst
Sam Elliott
Brad Sugars
Player Crows98 does not rate
Mathew Clarke (past his used by date)
Michael Doughty (may have played a few good game but has played many, many more bad ones)
Hayden Skipworth
Scott Stevens (the jury has come back and he should be gone)
Tom Redden (bad attitude)
Adrian Bonaddio# (not going to make it)
Hopefully everyone will do this honestly and list who they rate and do not rate and stick by there own assessment, then it can be referred back to. If this can be made into a sticky until after this season draft it would be appreciated.
Markthirtytwo
21 May 2006, 12:06
Bit hard on young Dogga there C98. Had him in my best players yesterday.
We are not going to get anything better from him, but what we have at the minutes is good reliable team member who offeres depth.
He is still on my list.
The others mainly agree with but hopefully Bonaddio can make it, because he is the type of player we need. Whether it's him or not is completely up to him.
Capitalist
21 May 2006, 12:08
Crows98 - I see what your trying to do
but you really didn't give us much there - all of those were fairly stock standard (apart from Dogga)
if you expect people could reply you could atleast put your neck out on someone :D
crows98
21 May 2006, 12:32
Crows98 - I see what your trying to do
but you really didn't give us much there - all of those were fairly stock standard (apart from Dogga)
if you expect people could reply you could atleast put your neck out on someone :D
What I am trying to do is get BF member who supporter the Adelaide Crows to become accountable with who they bag and who they do not.
I do not rate Michael Doughty as a player and I have put reputation on the line and must stick with that judgement, I am also magnanimous enough to admit that he has hit a good patch of form but I doubt he will be a long term option.
Trent Hentschel is not in the best form in some supporter’s eyes and he come under all kinds of fire last night regrading his kicking for goal action. Some supporters have said they have never rated him and he is a hack, or send him back to the Eagles and lose the potential part as he never had it, stuff like that but I bet you if he come out and kicks 6 next week all will be forgive, until he plays badly again.
All I am trying to do is hold supporter on this forum accountable for there comments and stop all this unnecessary crappolla from fair-weather supporters who love to bag at any opportunity.
If you do not rate a player on out list put that player under your name and be accountable for your actions.
crows98
21 May 2006, 12:35
Bit hard on young Dogga there C98. Had him in my best players yesterday.
We are not going to get anything better from him, but what we have at the minutes is good reliable team member who offeres depth.
He is still on my list.
The others mainly agree with but hopefully Bonaddio can make it, because he is the type of player we need. Whether it's him or not is completely up to him.
No, it’s not as I have never rated him as a player. I appreciate that is is in some reasonable form but cannot honestly see how he will be a long term option.
But that what this is all about; individual assessment of players on our list.
It’s who you rate, not who’s in good form.
And that is fine as it’s your option
Nathan Bassett
Rhett Biglands
Nathan Bock
Mathew bode
Brett Burton
Richard Douglas
Tyson Edwards
Simon Goodwin
Ben Hart
Trent Hentschel
Ben Hudson
Graham Johncock
Chris Knights
Ivan Maric
Martin Mattner
Ken McGregor
Andrew Mcleod
Ian Perrie
Jason Porplyzia
Brent Reilly
Mark Ricciuto
Ben Rutten
Robert Shirley
Scott Thompson
Jason Torney
Nathan Van Berlo
Bernie Vince
Scott Welsh
Hayden Skipworth
Michael Doughty
Chad Gibson
Alan Obst
Sam Elliott
Brad Sugars
Tom Redden
Adrian Bonaddio#
John Meesen
Darren Pfeiffer
Place on his own ie I would not care if he stayed or went
Kris Massie
Player gone at the end of 2006
Mathew Clarke
Scott Stevens
Too hard basket
Luke Jericho
The bottom 4 basically could be delisted and I would not shed a tear
crowsarethebest
21 May 2006, 13:07
My List:
This is who Crowsarethebest rates on the list
Nathan Bassett
Rhett Biglands
Nathan Bock
Mathew bode
Brett Burton
Tyson Edwards
Simon Goodwin
Ben Hart
Ben Hudson
Graham Johncock
Chris Knights
Ivan Maric
Kris Massie (how could I not rate the Mass )
Martin Mattner
Andrew Mcleod
Ian Perrie
Jason Porplyzia
Brent Reilly
Mark Ricciuto
Ben Rutten
Robert Shirley
Scott Thompson
Jason Torney
Nathan Van Berlo
Scott Welsh
Michael Doughty
Undecided/Don't know
Trent Hentschell- He has potential but he is struggling. Will he be as good as everyone has said he is? I am not quite sure.
Luke Jericho- Sometimes he is great, sometimes he's :D :D :D :D. I'm willing to give him one more chance though.
Adrian Bonaddio- Haven't seen him much
Darren Pfeiffer- See Bonnadio
John Meesen - See Bonnadio
Richard Douglas - See Bonnadio
Thomas Redden- See Bonnadio
Chad Gibson -See Bonnadio
Alan Obst -See Bonnadio
Sam Elliott- See Bonnadio
Brad Sugars - See Bonnadio
Bernie Vince - He's got excellent clean No fumbling pick ups which is great. I have no doubt he can make it but can he be as effective as he is in SANFL level at AFL level? Time will tell.
Ken McGregor- I have put him here because he seems very slow and he isn't playing anywhere near when he was at his best. Something is wrong with him, either he is injured or something I don't know. If there were more KPP at our club, he would've been dropped. I know he was great last year but so was Akermanis.
Should Retire or be delisted at years end-
Matthew Clarke- He has been great to the Adelaide football Club but he is getting old. Great tap ruckman but is nothing around the ground. With ruckman these days, you have to do more around the ground. He is already getting outclassed by the younger and more modern ruckman these days.
Haydn Skipworth- He has been overtaken by our youngsters. I really rate him, but there are better options than him at AFC.
Scott Stevens- He hasn't bulked up and probably has trouble bulking up. Gets away with it at SANFl level but AFL level- NO way.
There might be a few more delisted, or traded away but I don't know who at this stage.
I'm not going to do many of the youngsters, simply haven't seen them play.
Players who I really rate.
Tyson Edwards
Scott Thompson
Goodwin
Roo
Mcleod
Welsh
Bassett
Torney
Burton
Hart
Stiffy Johncock
Rutten
Hudson
Rate: Just like em a bit, not necessarily a huge fan but won't be calling for their dropping any time soon. Feel they do their job well but have a bit to go before becoming top tier.
Reilly (OK, big fan of his but needs to get his numbers up a bit)
Hentschell
Mattner
Bock (kinda, almost in Meh class but he's tall and does the job OK, what more could I really ask for?)
Perrie
Kenny Mac
Biglands
Bode (still think he needs to get better at goal kicking though, love the toughness though)
Skippy
Players in the "meh" class. I feel they are on the edge of the 22 and should be pushed out within a year or so. Are good enough to play AFL but only as 100-150 gamers.
Doughty
Shirley (feel he's gone backwards a bit this year although the stats don't back me up.)
Players I think should go at end of year.
Massie
S. Stevens
Clarke (love the big fella, just feel he's past it. Around the ground work has improved this year but I feel tapwork has suffered)
Jericho
Youngsters. Haven't really put them up top due to youth but will place where I think they will go eventually
Douglas- Top group, will be a champ based on the NAB time he had.
VB and Knights- next level down, the "rate" group although I hope Knights moves on up to top.
Vince and Porps- Don't really know where these 2 could go, leave em out at the moment. Probably too new for me to judge.
Mad Dog
21 May 2006, 13:17
For me it's not a mater of rating the squad...it's more to do with who is
a current first 22 player
on a positive development curve
depth player
have nothing to offer
my list is as follows...
a current first 22 player
Nathan Bassett
Rhett Biglands
Nathan Bock
Mathew bode
Brett Burton
Tyson Edwards
Simon Goodwin
Ben Hart
Trent Hentschel
Ben Hudson
Graham Johncock
Martin Mattner
Ken McGregor
Andrew Mcleod
Ian Perrie
Brent Reilly
Mark Ricciuto
Ben Rutten
Robert Shirley
Scott Thompson
Jason Torney
Scott Welsh
on a positive development curve
Richard Douglas
Chris Knights
Ivan Maric
John Meesen
Darren Pfeiffer
Jason Porplyzia
Nathan Van Berlo
Bernie Vince
Chad Gibson
Alan Obst
Sam Elliott
Brad Sugars
Tom Redden
Adrian Bonaddio
depth player
Kris Massie
Mathew Clarke
Michael Doughty
Hayden Skipworth
Scott Stevens
have nothing to offer
Luke Jericho
when faced with injuries you take from the development and depth group.....and look forward to the next draft....:)
PS....in fairness to Doubty and Mass - they have performed very well in the absence of others this year...:thumbsu:
macca23
21 May 2006, 20:00
This is who Crows98 rates on the list
Luke Jericho (he is a keeper)
Robert Shirley (borderline)
Player Crows98 does not rate
Mathew Clarke (past his used by date)
Michael Doughty (may have played a few good game but has played many, many more bad ones)
Hayden Skipworth
These are the only ones that I would like to comment on.
Jericho - because he makes a marshmallow look tough. He's a delist for me at the end of the year.
Shirley - very important member of the side at present. May get overtaken in time by the young bucks but currently a definite keeper.
Clarke - best tap ruckman in the comp although limited in field play. Will retire at year end IMO.
Doughty - has been good for the last 2 years. A definite keeper.
Skipworth - will struggle to get games next year. Trade to the dark side or another team looking for instant mid-fielders.
Apart from that - :thumbsu:
maccas_no1
21 May 2006, 21:06
Who maccas_no1 rates:
Clarke
Doughty
Nathan Bassett
Rhett Biglands
Nathan Bock
Mathew bode
Brett Burton (despite WDS)
Richard Douglas
Tyson Edwards
Simon Goodwin
Ben Hart
Ben Hudson
Graham Johncock
Chris Knights
Ivan Maric
Kris Massie
Martin Mattner
Ken McGregor
Andrew Mcleod
John Meesen
Ian Perrie
Darren Pfeiffer
Jason Porplyzia
Brent Reilly
Mark Ricciuto
Ben Rutten
Robert Shirley
Scott Thompson
Jason Torney
Nathan Van Berlo
Bernie Vince
Scott Welsh
Chad Gibson
Alan Obst
Sam Elliott
Brad Sugars
Player maccas_no1 does not rate:
Jericho
Hentschel
Hayden Skipworth
Scott Stevens
Players maccas_no1 doesnt know:
Tom Redden
Adrain Bonaddio
I dont understand this angst over Hentschell...has he been unfairly tagged with the ''potential'' tag and suffers under that weight?
I recall a mate who was playing under 19s got called Mr Potential by KG :eek: , well there went his career as people expected him to do the extraordinary
Stiffy_18
21 May 2006, 21:22
I dont understand this angst over Hentschell...has he been unfairly tagged with the ''potential'' tag and suffers under that weight?
I recall a mate who was playing under 19s got called Mr Potential by KG :eek: , well there went his career as people expected him to do the extraordinary
Fair call :thumbsu:
People are expecting him to be great white hope in the forward line for us which he is clearly not. Hentschel is a VERY fine player.
maccas_no1
21 May 2006, 21:50
Fair call :thumbsu:
People are expecting him to be great white hope in the forward line for us which he is clearly not. Hentschel is a VERY fine player.
Sorry stiffy but thats contridicting yourself, you say we shouldnt expect him to be a 'the great white hope' yet then you say his a damn fine player:confused:
He presents yes, but his 2nd efforts are deadset pathetic, kicking style/ approach isnt good at all, he kicks up and under the ball instead of kicking through it.
Stiffy_18
21 May 2006, 21:53
Sorry stiffy but thats contridicting yourself, you say we shouldnt expect him to be a 'the great white hope' yet then you say his a damn fine player:confused:
He presents yes, but his 2nd efforts are deadset pathetic, kicking style/ approach isnt good at all, he kicks up and under the ball instead of kicking through it.
A fine player doesn't mean a superstar. Mark Stevens was a VERY fine player but not a great white hope.
How is that a contradiction? :confused:
Hentschel WILL play a lot of AFL footy and once he hangs up the boots he would have had a pretty bloody good career behind him. He might lack the toughness that some other players have, but he does have a lot of skill for a tall player.
EDIT: If we had the luxury of having a Pavlich/Tredrea/Brown/Hall/St. Nick type player in our forward line, Hentschel would be a lot better player for us. And if we had a luxury of one of those boys, Hentschel might well end up playing at CHB where he would be in line for AA selection just about every year.
maccas_no1
21 May 2006, 21:59
A fine player doesn't mean a superstar. Mark Stevens was a VERY fine player but not a great white hope.
Hentschel WILL play a lot of AFL footy and once he hangs up the boots he would have had a pretty bloody good career behind him. He might lack the toughness that some other players have, but he does have a lot of skill for a tall player.
EDIT: If we had the luxury of having a Pavlich/Tredrea/Brown/Hall/St. Nick type player in our forward line, Hentschel would be a lot better player for us. And if we had a luxury of one of those boys, Hentschel might well end up playing at CHB where he would be in line for AA selection just about every year.
Mark Stevens I rate higher than Hentschel, Im going by what I have seen stiffy, I understand on the w/end he was double teamed, but no 2nd effort at all and if you can tell me different, then you were watching a different game, I rate players by there hunger to get the pill and all costs, if you are calling for the footy you obviously want it and the bloke who is delivering that footy expects you to if not mark it fight for it. Thats why I hated Modra no 2nd effort at all, unless he marked it he was useless.
Wayne's-World
21 May 2006, 22:00
:eek: But we have Stiffy.....McGregor ;)
Stiffy_18
21 May 2006, 22:09
Mark Stevens I rate higher than Hentschel, Im going by what I have seen stiffy, I understand on the w/end he was double teamed, but no 2nd effort at all and if you can tell me different, then you were watching a different game, I rate players by there hunger to get the pill and all costs, if you are calling for the footy you obviously want it and the bloke who is delivering that footy expects you to if not mark it fight for it. Thats why I hated Modra no 2nd effort at all, unless he marked it he was useless.
That explains it then.
Modra was BY FAR the best key forward this footy club ever had. Its an absolute universe between Modra and the 2nd best key forward we had.
Hentschel is a finesse player. He is not a pack busting type but he is a fine player regardless. If we were to put him up for a trade, there wouldn't be a club in the AFL that wouldn't be interested. Hell we had to beat teams off with a stick at the end of 2003 season because they were all over him like a cheap suit.
Hentschel is our 2nd best key position player.
Stiffy_18
21 May 2006, 22:11
:eek: But we have Stiffy.....McGregor ;)
Small things amuse small minds :rolleyes:
Crow_68
21 May 2006, 23:06
4 players to go at end of season - Clarke (retired), S.Stevens & Jericho (de-listed), Meesen (traded so as he can head home)
I reckon we will be pretty active in this years trde period (for picks) and draft a lot of kids that will fit in better (position wise) compared with a lot of our current crop.
my guess is 8+ players and 3 rookies out.
Meeson + reilly to Carlton / essendon for pick 2 and a late pick, Gibbs /Seller
Dogga + Bode + shirley to essendon / Carlton for pick 1 and 2 late picks, Gibbs /Seller
Jerico, trade
Clarke and Stevens, delisted
All of these blokes can be replaced immediately within our current squad, so the picks in the super draft can be developed properly over 2 years.
In 2-3 years we loose a lot of our best players and none of the guys I have mentioned are of the quality to take over. (meesen = go home factor)
Crow_68
22 May 2006, 00:09
I reckon we will be pretty active in this years trde period (for picks) and draft a lot of kids that will fit in better (position wise) compared with a lot of our current crop.
my guess is 8+ players and 3 rookies out.
Meeson + reilly to Carlton / essendon for pick 2 and a late pick, Gibbs /Seller
Dogga + Bode + shirley to essendon / Carlton for pick 1 and 2 late picks, Gibbs /Seller
Jerico, trade
Clarke and Stevens, delisted
All of these blokes can be replaced immediately within our current squad, so the picks in the super draft can be developed properly over 2 years.
In 2-3 years we loose a lot of our best players and none of the guys I have mentioned are of the quality to take over. (meesen = go home factor)
Don't forget we will also have pick 16 to throw in the mix;)
Unfortunately I feel our friends across town will end up with a bit more bargaining power.....
Drummond
22 May 2006, 00:20
Key Cogs:
Nathan Bassett
Rhett Biglands
Nathan Bock
Mathew Bode
Brett Burton
Tyson Edwards
Simon Goodwin
Ben Hart
Trent Hentschel
Ben Hudson
Graham Johncock
Kris Massie
Martin Mattner
Ken McGregor- Only if he gets his act together.
Andrew McLeod
Brent Reilly
Mark Ricciuto
Ben Rutten
Scott Thompson
Jason Torney
Nathan Van Berlo
Scott Welsh
Future Stars:
Richard Douglas
Chad Gibson
Sam Elliott
Chris Knights
Ivan Maric
John Meesen
Darren Pfeiffer
Bernie Vince
Jason Porplyzia
John Hinge
Don’t Rate/Non Essential:
Hayden Skipworth
Ian Perrie
Michael Doughty
Robert Shirley
Delist/Trade:
Scott Stevens
Mathew Clarke
Tom Redden
Adrian Bonaddi
Luke Jericho
Alan Obst
Brad Sugars
Jonathon Griffin
Dont disagree with most of your comments Stiff, but I watched part of the replay today ans he was the player on Bowden for most of the time. He needed to get closer to him and put more pressure on him as Bowden does make errors when he is under pressure.
He could have been playing to instructions however.
AJ_No.4
22 May 2006, 10:18
How do you rate John Hinge?? As he hasn't been mentioned yet in anyone's ratings :confused:
I'm going to group them slightly differently..
Senior Players - these are the players who have been around the block. They're dependable and generally high quality.
Young Up and Comers - these are the kids who have us salivating over our future. Many have yet to play a senior game, none have played more than 20.
Tweenies - these guys are no longer kids, haven't quite done enough to qualify for the senior group, but have shown too much class to be described as blue collar.
Blue Collar Workers - These players lack the class of the senior group, but are generally hard working, reliable types. These guys are generally "depth" players - you'd replace them if someone better came along, but they can be relied upon to slot right in and do their job week in week out.
The Duds - To be shot on sight.
Senior Players
Ben Rutten
Graham Johncock
Martin Mattner
Ben Hudson
Scott Welsh
Brett Burton
Rhett Biglands
Jason Torney
Simon Goodwin
Nathan Bassett
Tyson Edwards
Andrew McLeod
Mark Ricciuto
Ben Hart
Young Up and Comers
Darren Pfeiffer
Alan Obst
Richard Douglas
Chad Gibson
Chris Knights
John Meesen
John Hinge
Nathan Van Berlo
Jonathon Griffin
Ivan Maric
Bernie Vince
Jason Porplyzia
Tweenies
Brent Reilly
Nathan Bock
Scott Thompson
Trent Hentschell (the jury is still out - definitely not senior, too inconsistent for blue collar, not quite a dud)
Blue Collar Workers
Hayden Skipworth
Ken McGregor
Robert Shirley
Kris Massie
Michael Doughty
Matthew Bode
Ian Perrie
Matthew Clarke (used to be a member of the senior group, has slid in the rankings)
Duds
Luke Jericho
Scott Stevens
maccas_no1
22 May 2006, 14:28
Hentschel is a finesse player. He is not a pack busting type but he is a fine player regardless. If we were to put him up for a trade, there wouldn't be a club in the AFL that wouldn't be interested. Hell we had to beat teams off with a stick at the end of 2003 season because they were all over him like a cheap suit.
Hentschel is our 2nd best key position player.
Hentschel was one of only three player's on Saturday that didnt lay a tackle the other two were Hart and Ricciuto.
He needs to bulk up he needs to present better, there were numerous times on the w/end that when the ball was delivered he realised he was in the wrong position to mark it, he continually leads away from goal not towards it, there for is taking set shots on tight angles instead of leading into the corridor, and his kicking style is deadset rubbish as I said in another post, if that is a fine player then I'll be damned:thumbsd:
Allefgib
22 May 2006, 14:59
I want to play devil's advocate for a bit.. Crows98 you seem intent on holding people accountable for having a spray on an internet forum...
WHY?????
Sure it shiesens me to tears sometimes with the negative stuff that comes out. Esp after this weekends loss. So many start making over the top wailings of woe (just as many make over the top wailings of success btw...)
BUT being able to give a player a spray or lament something or over-rejoice something is SURELY what an internet forum is all about in some respects?? Why are you trying to hold people 'accountable'? It would personally shiesen me to tears to see people not allowed to change their mind on players they rate or don't rate. It would shiesen me to tears if people couldnt come in and make outlandish claims all over the place even if they do lack some tongue in cheek. I also personally think if you say right now you don't rate dogga then by the end of the year if he keeps playing as he is right now (easily in our top 6 to 10 every week IMO) you will look silly to not be able to come on here and say you DO rate him just because a list you make now says you can't.
Lighten up a little :) Its an internet forum, its fun :)
crows98
22 May 2006, 16:03
I want to play devil's advocate for a bit.. Crows98 you seem intent on holding people accountable for having a spray on an internet forum...
WHY?????
Sure it shiesens me to tears sometimes with the negative stuff that comes out. Esp after this weekends loss. So many start making over the top wailings of woe (just as many make over the top wailings of success btw...)
BUT being able to give a player a spray or lament something or over-rejoice something is SURELY what an internet forum is all about in some respects?? Why are you trying to hold people 'accountable'? It would personally shiesen me to tears to see people not allowed to change their mind on players they rate or don't rate. It would shiesen me to tears if people couldnt come in and make outlandish claims all over the place even if they do lack some tongue in cheek. I also personally think if you say right now you don't rate dogga then by the end of the year if he keeps playing as he is right now (easily in our top 6 to 10 every week IMO) you will look silly to not be able to come on here and say you DO rate him just because a list you make now says you can't.Lighten up a little :) Its an internet forum, its fun :)
Holding supporters accountable may have been inappropriate wording and not quite what I meant, all I simply wanted to achieve was to stop the average supporter from being hypocritical and simply agreeing with the popular option on a player.
This week Trent Hentschel did not play to the best of his ability (and that the point of this thread to allow supporter to identify player they do not rate). I wanted to see who could be honest and admit that they do not rate certain players and who they are willing to give a little bit more leeway with on form. This just doesn’t happen to Trent Hentschel as it has happened to most of the player on the list over time. It’s happened to lots of player and the average supporter has simply taken the opportunity to get stuck into him because no one really know if you have held this option of player for a long time or simply 5 seconds.
You can also be magnanimous and then come on hear to suggest you have changed your mind on a player, and he has surprised you and is now a good player.
I don’t rate Michael Doughty (that’s no secret) but if he keep doing what he is currently doing by the end of the season I will be more than happy to admit I was wrong, however I still believe the we (the AFC) will be a more reliable side when he isn’t playing.
Allefgib
22 May 2006, 16:16
Please don't take this the wrong way, I usually enjoy all your posts alot, but you're trying to stop FOOTBALL SUPPORTERS from being HYPOCRITICAL? On an INTERNET FORUM?
Cool :) Good luck with that.
FWIW, the players who tend to have mixed opinions being thrown around about them are those that have not fully arrived yet. Not reached their full.. dare I say it.. potential. Dogga has (most agree on that I think) and some rate him, some date.. but few waver on rating or not rating. Guys like Hentschell haven't fully arrived yet, they still seem to havemore to offer.. so one week they'll be praised for a great game (showdown and doggies he was good too) the next week he'll be bagged because people are frustrated he didnt deliver again (on top of the rest of the team not delivering.) lets not forget one thign we LOVE about football is how emotional a game it is. When people are so fuelled by emotions clear heads do not always prevail :)
crows98
22 May 2006, 16:23
Please don't take this the wrong way, I usually enjoy all your posts alot, but you're trying to stop FOOTBALL SUPPORTERS from being HYPOCRITICAL? On an INTERNET FORUM?
Cool :) Good luck with that.
FWIW, the players who tend to have mixed opinions being thrown around about them are those that have not fully arrived yet. Not reached their full.. dare I say it.. potential. Dogga has (most agree on that I think) and some rate him, some date.. but few waver on rating or not rating. Guys like Hentschell haven't fully arrived yet, they still seem to havemore to offer.. so one week they'll be praised for a great game (showdown and doggies he was good too) the next week he'll be bagged because people are frustrated he didnt deliver again (on top of the rest of the team not delivering.) lets not forget one thign we LOVE about football is how emotional a game it is. When people are so fuelled by emotions clear heads do not always prevail :)
Yeah, I guess fair enough
Stiffy_18
22 May 2006, 18:20
Dont disagree with most of your comments Stiff, but I watched part of the replay today ans he was the player on Bowden for most of the time. He needed to get closer to him and put more pressure on him as Bowden does make errors when he is under pressure.
He could have been playing to instructions however.
And thats something we don't know. What were his instruction? Going by the way we played, I very much doubt he was told to man up on him. We played zone for 3 quarters on the weekend.
Stiffy_18
22 May 2006, 18:25
Hentschel was one of only three player's on Saturday that didnt lay a tackle the other two were Hart and Ricciuto.
He needs to bulk up he needs to present better, there were numerous times on the w/end that when the ball was delivered he realised he was in the wrong position to mark it, he continually leads away from goal not towards it, there for is taking set shots on tight angles instead of leading into the corridor, and his kicking style is deadset rubbish as I said in another post, if that is a fine player then I'll be damned:thumbsd:
Marty, for starters, with our structure, most of the leads ARE to the flanks. He can't lead into the corridor if the structure doesn't allow him to lead there. Have a look at the way, we structure up forward. Its a straight line fom CHF to FF and the ONLY place to lead is to the flanks. Surely you can see how that structure limits a player as to where he leads :confused:
And all that you have written above, Hentschel still ended up being our best tall forward for the day. The only player in the forward line that gave a yelp and probably our most consistent forward in the last 3 weeks. If Hentschel wasn't a fine player he wouldn't be a regular in the side that has lost 5 games in the last 25 games. No average player will be a regular in that side.
You can bag him all you like but all of your arguments are countered by the simple fact that he does some good stuff on the field AND he gets selected every week.
Crow-mo
22 May 2006, 19:44
Why I hate threads like this is because they don't show anything other than people's prejudices or afflictions to the changing winds of fashion.
Russian
23 May 2006, 18:59
I'm going to group them slightly differently..
Senior Players - these are the players who have been around the block. They're dependable and generally high quality.
Young Up and Comers - these are the kids who have us salivating over our future. Many have yet to play a senior game, none have played more than 20.
Tweenies - these guys are no longer kids, haven't quite done enough to qualify for the senior group, but have shown too much class to be described as blue collar.
Blue Collar Workers - These players lack the class of the senior group, but are generally hard working, reliable types. These guys are generally "depth" players - you'd replace them if someone better came along, but they can be relied upon to slot right in and do their job week in week out.
The Duds - To be shot on sight.
Senior Players
Ben Rutten
Graham Johncock
Martin Mattner
Ben Hudson
Scott Welsh
Brett Burton
Rhett Biglands
Jason Torney
Simon Goodwin
Nathan Bassett
Tyson Edwards
Andrew McLeod
Mark Ricciuto
Ben Hart
Young Up and Comers
Darren Pfeiffer
Alan Obst
Richard Douglas
Chad Gibson
Chris Knights
John Meesen
John Hinge
Nathan Van Berlo
Jonathon Griffin
Ivan Maric
Bernie Vince
Jason Porplyzia
Tweenies
Brent Reilly
Nathan Bock
Scott Thompson
Trent Hentschell (the jury is still out - definitely not senior, too inconsistent for blue collar, not quite a dud)
Blue Collar Workers
Hayden Skipworth
Ken McGregor
Robert Shirley
Kris Massie
Michael Doughty
Matthew Bode
Ian Perrie
Matthew Clarke (used to be a member of the senior group, has slid in the rankings)
Duds
Luke Jericho
Scott StevensPretty close - I'd swap Torney and Bode, and Van Berlo's shown enough to be in the Tweenies group
SpringChoke
23 May 2006, 21:46
Excluding 2004 and 2005 draftees as they are largely untried:
1st Tier:
Roo,
Edwards,
Goody,
Rutts,
Johncock,
McLeod.
Currently 2nd tier potential to be 1st tier:
Trent H,
Mattner,
Thompson
3rd tier, not up to the standard, should be delisted:
Skippy,
S Stevens,
Jericho.
Quality 2nd tier:
Bassett,
Burton,
Hart,
Hudson,
McGregor,
Perrie,
Shirley,
Thorney,
Welsh.
Jury is still out, but signs are promising:
Bock,
Reilly.
Average 2nd tier. Will be the first to go as youngsters come on:
Clarke,
Biglands,
Bode
Massie,
Doughty.
Wayne's-World
23 May 2006, 22:58
Why I hate threads like this is because they don't show anything other than people's prejudices or afflictions to the changing winds of fashion.
:thumbsu:
crows98
19 Jun 2006, 18:57
How many posters want to go back and change there view on a few player now?
Interesting how thing can change from the 23rd of May to 19th of June (4 weeks)
I wonder how the current environment will look in 4 week from now.
The Crows Truth
19 Jun 2006, 19:11
What I am trying to do is get BF member who supporter the Adelaide Crows to become accountable with who they bag and who they do not.
I do not rate Michael Doughty as a player and I have put reputation on the line and must stick with that judgement, I am also magnanimous enough to admit that he has hit a good patch of form but I doubt he will be a long term option.
[/B]
:eek: there goes the reputation :D
crows98
19 Jun 2006, 19:18
:eek: there goes the reputation :D
Won’t be the first time :eek:
The Crows Truth
19 Jun 2006, 19:21
Won’t be the first time :eek:
:thumbsu: good man
now what about stevens ? :D
crows98