View Full Version : Send 'em back to the WAFL!!!!
surfsup
21 May 2006, 13:03
Schammer and Schofield!
To the selectors - Don't let Schofield trick you into believing he is up to the pace of AFL football again!!!!!! He's not quick, he doesn't chase, he can't hit a target, he can't pick up or mark the ball, he avoids body contact and he makes some of the poorest decisions I've ever seen!
Schammer has had 1 or 2 decent games this year, the rest have been rubbish, culminating in the poorest game I've ever seen him produce for the club. The club should present him with a 10minute 'low-light' reel full of his efforts from yesterdays game with a message in the credits saying, "back to WAFL son!"
I don't know why Matthew Carr got a run again after he'd been dropped. He probably did just enough in the game to warrant keeping his spot next week so he can serve us up another substandard performance just like every other game he's given us this season.
Can't wait till we get Crowley, Headland, Medhurst, Haddrill and dare I say it McManus back the sooner these guys can join their WAFL clubs.
And don't get me started on the standard of umpiring that we have to put up with week after week this year....sheesh!!
Schowie is just keeping D.J.'s spot warm till his thumb mends although I reckon Peaker did the same job better.
You are being a tad hard on Matt Carr , He was very good in the derby.
It is looking good for a strong finish to the season with Haddrill , Hayden , Dunn , Browne , 211 , D.J. , Macca , Killer Crowls and a hungry Medders being available for selection in a few weeks.
Scham had a shocker , but if anything I reckon he is trying "too hard" like Des did early on.
He coundn't possibly play that badly again.
Trying too hard and coughing it up is better IMO than not trying.
dominguez
21 May 2006, 13:20
The club should present him with a 10minute 'low-light' reel full of his efforts from yesterdays game with a message in the credits saying, "back to WAFL son!"
I don't know why Matthew Carr got a run again after he'd been dropped. He probably did just enough in the game to warrant keeping his spot next week so he can serve us up another substandard performance just like every other game he's given us this season.
Yeah that would be good for a young players confidence. Maybe they could poke him with sticks and throw rotten fruit at him too? Schammer had a shocker yesterday, but it wasn't through lack of effort. He worked hard and got plenty of the footy, he just couldn't hit a target. Hopefully he works hard at training during the week and plays well against Brisbane. He should be suited to the conditions at the GABBA.
Matthew Carr played yesterday because the sharks had the bye. It would have been pointless to drop him back to the wafl to find form when he couldn't play. I thought he was ok yesterday, and took a big step forward compared to his first 7 games of the season.
Schofield was his usual soft self, hopefully his spot in the side is temporary.
Does anyone know if Medhurst played for Claremont yesterday? It was a silly decision to drop him if he didn't.
surfsup
21 May 2006, 13:32
Yeah that would be good for a young players confidence. Maybe they could poke him with sticks and throw rotten fruit at him too? Schammer had a shocker yesterday, but it wasn't through lack of effort. He worked hard and got plenty of the footy, he just couldn't hit a target. Hopefully he works hard at training during the week and plays well against Brisbane. He should be suited to the conditions at the GABBA.
Matthew Carr played yesterday because the sharks had the bye. It would have been pointless to drop him back to the wafl to find form when he couldn't play. I thought he was ok yesterday, and took a big step forward compared to his first 7 games of the season.
Schofield was his usual soft self, hopefully his spot in the side is temporary.
Does anyone know if Medhurst played for Claremont yesterday? It was a silly decision to drop him if he didn't.
Sticks and rotten fruit, hmmm, stop putting ideas in my head!
I thought that to get a players confidence and touch back they usually send them to play WAFL for a while. In my opinion that's where someone who is playing like Schammer needs to do it, not in a game where errors can cost us four premiership points.
Medhurst apparently didn't play for Claremont. I thought he was more deserving of a spot than MCarr.
I hope I'm wrong but I bet Schofield plays next week.
raffrox
21 May 2006, 13:59
Schammer is essential to the long term plan of Freo IMO.
We have almost zero players that break the lines and take people on. Schammer wins the ball, has pace and takes a chance.
His disposal has been terrible!!!!
But worth perservering with. Otherwise we become even more predictable and slow.
M Carr should have a rest and Schofield should be getting a game.
dominguez
21 May 2006, 14:03
If anyone deserves criticism it is Shan Parker. I know he is the club games record holder, and he's been a great servant of the club, but he is really struggling. Supporters were able to turn the other cheek to his bloopers in the past when he was consistently beating his opponent, but he is no longer doing that and his clangers are becoming more frequent.
I'd be perservering with a youngster like Schammer. He had a shocker, but Medders, M Carr, Parker have had plenty of those this year. Vital for confidence to give the youngsters a fair go. I didn't think Schofield was too bad, but it's obvious he's a borderline player and won't be there when Headland or even McManus is back in the team. M Carr, well I've been very critical of him this year, but he deserves to keep his spot on yesterdays performance.
On form, Jimmy must be the one closest to losing his spot and then Luke (but injury will give him a rest anyway) I don't think Medders has been good enough this year to claim an automatic spot in the team. We didn't miss him yesterday. He needs to work harder.
Sticks and rotten fruit, hmmm, stop putting ideas in my head!
I thought that to get a players confidence and touch back they usually send them to play WAFL for a while. In my opinion that's where someone who is playing like Schammer needs to do it, not in a game where errors can cost us four premiership points.
I'm glad you're not in our coaching staff, Schammer had a shocker yesterday, but the two weeks prior to that he was easily in our best players. Don't you have the occasional bad day?
kanabar
21 May 2006, 16:17
cmon guys schoeys goals and delivery to forwards was centemeter perfect....why bag him he did ok
TP3_Freo
21 May 2006, 18:05
Agree with you kanabar, he definately wasn't the worst on the ground, if he does get dropped, it will be to make way for someone to get back into the side, not for playing badly.
Schammer needs to go into midfield - he would be a star there for us....
Hayden to take his place in back pocket....
McManus back in for Slowfield....
Campbell to make debut for injured McPharlin.....& when Luke comes back he has to play CHB....
JuddyisGod
21 May 2006, 19:34
cmon guys schoeys goals and delivery to forwards was centemeter perfect....why bag him he did ok
I agree, I think Schoey has had a target on his back since last year, when by his own admission he 'couldn't run' after surgery for the whole season. He was far from one of your worst yesterday and rightfully deserves a spot in the 22. Besides, you had a win, you should be happy.
ImperialPurple
21 May 2006, 22:20
I agree, I think Schoey has had a target on his back since last year, when by his own admission he 'couldn't run' after surgery for the whole season. He was far from one of your worst yesterday and rightfully deserves a spot in the 22. Besides, you had a win, you should be happy.
nah - because he's a 30+ has-been footy mercenary with his best years way behind him...
ironically, I liked him when he was an weevil and when he was at poort, but now he's one of ours he shytes me.
He wasn't the worst, no - BUT, more than once he crapped himself when an opposiiton player came near him and fired off a handball to sell a team-mate into trouble resulting in a turnover.... :mad:
However, I imagine he'll get a game next week and if he can improve on this week, then he'll probably go okay. Get well DJ!
docker_johnno
21 May 2006, 22:33
Schammer and Schofield!
And don't get me started on the standard of umpiring that we have to put up with week after week this year....sheesh!!
You Idiot, come on here post crap. The standard of umpiring has been the best it has been for several years. Freo are giving away a lot of free kicks but this is beacuse of the new 'hard' aprroach, they are more agressive at the man.
If I were Pavlich i would prefer Schofield delivering the ball to me than Troy Cook.
With our injuries it is understandable that Schofield is getting a game, when he has the ball in a bit of space his disposal can really hurt the opposition. Obviously when Headland,Crowley, McManus and even a match ready dunn or Brown are ready they would be better options but for the moment Schofield can do the job.
Schammer would be one of the last to be dropped his form has been solid in the backline. He can also play in the midfield so he is a flexible player.
Steven Dodd is getting better and better. Not only is he shutting his opponents down, he is finding the ball is space because his opponents pay him little respect.
You Idiot, come on here post crap. The standard of umpiring has been the best it has been for several years. Freo are giving away a lot of free kicks but this is beacuse of the new 'hard' aprroach, they are more agressive at the man.
If I were Pavlich i would prefer Schofield delivering the ball to me than Troy Cook.
With our injuries it is understandable that Schofield is getting a game, when he has the ball in a bit of space his disposal can really hurt the opposition. Obviously when Headland,Crowley, McManus and even a match ready dunn or Brown are ready they would be better options but for the moment Schofield can do the job.
Schammer would be one of the last to be dropped his form has been solid in the backline. He can also play in the midfield so he is a flexible player.
Steven Dodd is getting better and better. Not only is he shutting his opponents down, he is finding the ball is space because his opponents pay him little respect.
Good on ya docker johnno!
Why can't we have just one week without a couple of our players getting absolutely crapped on by their own (us).Even when we win. If someone has three or four rotten weeks then fair enough, the knives can come out, but half our clubs problem over the last decade is the lack of confidence/faith and white-anting amongst ourselves. I agree that Schofield should be able to capably hold down a role in our team with our current injury list.
Have faith. The boys are 5 and 3, and that's better than I tipped at this stage of the season.
Crap. The last 2 weeks have been a display of weak soft footy and we've been crucified both times by the maggots. Against St Kilda and the toast you could use the 'hard approach' excuse, but even in saying that we still are just not getting the 50-50 decisions that our opponents get.
Schofield is a completely different player to Cook. Schofield is the biggest seagull going around, he goes out of his way to look for the easy posessions by skirting round packs avoiding any contact. Cook is the man that does the dirty work, gets in and under and feeds the ball out to players like Schofield. We got obliterated in the clearances on Saturday because of blokes like Schofield.
I'd rather Medhurst. Or Cook.
Agree with that. Schammer had a sh*t game, but he was just about our best player 2 weeks ago IMO and he is tough and hard at the ball. Not something we can afford to be losing.
JuddyisGod
21 May 2006, 23:51
Outside midfielders like Schofield are just as important as in and under players. Teams need a good mix of both.
docker_johnno
22 May 2006, 01:39
Rob,
I think your sig is a pointer to who you are. Everything is not against us, the umpires make the rules of each game and I can guarentee it is your undying passion for the football club and the bias that you see the game that influences you to think Freo are not winning their fair share of 50/50 decisons. However having said that what is a 50 50 decision? an umpire views contest after contest and either makes a decision or calls play on. (no decison)
Schofield was picked by the coaching staff to play like schofield, not like Cook. He is a seagull but his strengths are his kicking and pinpoint kicks. I watched Jarrad and he was often the man that Polak, Peake ect looked for when they had the ball to utilise his kicking. If the coaching staff were concerned about clearances Pavlich and Haselby would have spent more time in the centre.
surfsup
22 May 2006, 01:41
Huh??? Who's the idiot?!? You've got to be joking! Are you related to an umpire? THE UMPIRING HAS BEEN RUBBISH! R-U-B-B-I-S-H ! ! C-R-A-P ! ! Even the commentators mentioned the biased free kick count!!
I agree with the first bit but no, no he can't.
Solid as a babys' first bowel movement!
Mmmm, yeah.?
surfsup
22 May 2006, 01:49
Schofield is someone I would have in the 22 only if we were decimated by injuries and if it was too soon to get the young fellas out there.
Crowley, Haines, Headland, McManus, Sandilands are all injured.
Browne, Dunne and Haddrill are still a little away from selection due to returning from injury.
Copping, Drum, Ibbottson and Warnock are still pups.
So looking at it from a selectors point of view we only had 8 players we could realistically select from. Hayden, Warren, Schofield, Gilmore, Cook, Medhurst, Webster and Campbell.
Schofield was selected and he played poorly, second only to Schammer. Fair enough he got the ball a couple times, but his pin point kicking ability was ruined by poor judgement. For someone who is supposed to be so highly skilled he hit targets as well as Cook! Right in front of us in block 101 he simply gave up chasing when he could have pressed on and caught the guy. He's slow, lazy and putting his body on the line is something he doesn't consider. I would rather have seen Medhurst, Cook or Hayden selected instead.
Cassius_Clay
22 May 2006, 01:52
Send CC to the WAFL for continuing to play Schammer down back.
docker_johnno
22 May 2006, 02:09
Surfsup,
I don't know what game you were watching but there were far worse players on the field than Schofield. This article mentions http://fremantlefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=267209
"Jarrad Schofield was impressive in his first game of the season, while Peter Bell, David Mundy and Brett Peake were also solid"
I am sorry if you dont agree with me but with Headland out we need outside runners and good kicks, nobody else available provides this. It would have been nice to have Schofield kicking the ball to McPharlin and Pav on the lead last week rather then Cook etc bombing it in. You will notice when Scho has the ball players lead because they know he will hit his target.
I have umpired at a high level (state footy and WAFL). If you care to provide me some evidence or incidents where umpires have made incorrect decisions and it has damaged our chances to win please post them here. I would guess you wouldn't know the rules?
What is holding the ball mate? It is not your fault you don't know the AFL need to provide some education to the fans.
surfsup
22 May 2006, 02:40
I knew I was right! You're more than related! You are one!!!:D
I never said the umpires decisions have damaged our chances to win, I said the umpiring was poor.
I never said anything about incorrect decisions either.
All I want with our umpiring is consistancy.
If we get pinged for a misdemeanour then I expect the same to happen when we are infringed upon. Unfortunately this isn't always the case. Time and time again I see the other team get away with something that we pay for. I see umpires in one game let the play go on and in another game in the same round they blow the whistle as if they have been officiating soccer or netball for the last 10 years.
Opinions are like ringholes, everyones got one and mine is that this year the umpiring has been inconsistant.
kanabar
22 May 2006, 09:55
Schammer needs to go into midfield - he would be a star there for us....
Hayden to take his place in back pocket....
McManus back in for Slowfield....
Campbell to make debut for injured McPharlin.....& when Luke comes back he has to play CHB....
no please keep schoei we need his delivery into forward line...which was pion point accurate....k might drop peake for mcmanus but thats a tough call also his speed would be handy at the lions den...
kanabar
22 May 2006, 09:57
here here....just what i wanted to hear....
If anyone deserves criticism it is Shan Parker. I know he is the club games record holder, and he's been a great servant of the club, but he is really struggling. Supporters were able to turn the other cheek to his bloopers in the past when he was consistently beating his opponent, but he is no longer doing that and his clangers are becoming more frequent.
I agree he has had a shakey start to the season, but I felt he played a far better game on Saturday and was providing good guidance to the youngsters plus providing a link when required. He is part of a unit, an integral part that has had a good service and I reckon will return to his very quiet solid form that we all expect of him.
On a side note, I was very impressed with Peake doing a good amount of in and under work. For a player who is thought of as a receiver, that is a bonus.
scooter600x
22 May 2006, 11:52
What happened to McPharlin?
Did his ankle, didn't play 2nd half...1st thoughts from club medico's was believed to be a serious one, now they are thinking otherwise (fingers x'ed)...having scans today...but very unlikely to play against Lions.
& Kanabar....I never mentioned dropping Peake, he was probably 2nd best player on weekend. If McManus is back this week he must surely come in for Schofield, agreed he wasn't the worst on the weekend, but his tackling is woeful, he is very slow & plays stupid footy, rarely kicking to the chest of a forward....his 1st thought is to go sideways.
docker_johnno
22 May 2006, 15:03
Opinions are like ringholes, everyones got one and mine is that this year the umpiring has been inconsistant.
Yeah opinions are great, but when you don't know what you are talking about and you have no evidence then an opinion is as good as a Jarrad Schofield tackle.
Are you going to complain about Johnson getting consistently beaten in contested marking situations? Schammer and Parker making poor decsions? No you chose the umpires who make far less mistakes than the players.
I have umpired at a high level (state footy and WAFL). .
That explains everything!
You couldn't possibly think the umpiring has been OK this season, if you weren't one of them yourself.
docker_johnno
22 May 2006, 17:03
That explains everything!
You couldn't possibly think the umpiring has been OK this season, if you weren't one of them yourself.
Knowledge of the rules works a treat. Most football supporters are ignorant and don't understand the rules properly.
kanabar
22 May 2006, 17:25
Knowledge of the rules works a treat. Most football supporters are ignorant and don't understand the rules properly.
i agree with this 110% being a goal umpire in AFL NSW/ACT and working through my Level 1 accreditation you learn the laws of the game and get to know heaps....that the general public is ignorant about.
To docker_johnno, why do umpires think that people don't know the rules? I'm not an umpire and I know the rules, and everyone I know who follows footy knows them as well. Its an insult to be told otherwise and part of the umpiring fraternity's culture that they are holier-than-thou. Umpiring this year has been a disgrace across all games and you are kidding yourself if you think otherwise. Get a tape of Goldspink's performance on Friday night.
Back on Schofield. He has to go. It matters nought that he can supposedly kick, because the rest of his game is inadequate and the bad more than outweighs the good. So he might hit a few targets, what about all the goals a good opposition score from him not working hard enough when he doesn't have it? I'd say his poor work rate infects the rest of the team as well.
I don't think his disposal is that good anyway, he often kicks under pressure because he takes so long to get rid of it. Bring Hayden back, send Duffield further up the ground to take over Schofield's role. Duffield is a better kick than Schofield.
surfsup
22 May 2006, 18:31
Yeah opinions are great, but when you don't know what you are talking about and you have no evidence then an opinion is as good as a Jarrad Schofield tackle.
I'd be interested to hear your point regarding the article in the Herald Sun where Grant Thomas had a whinge about the poor umpiring in the round 4 game against Port Adelaide. Jeff Gieschen confirmed there were officially 14 incorrect decisions in that game alone, all of which went against the Saints.
Are you going to complain about Johnson getting consistently beaten in contested marking situations? Schammer and Parker making poor decsions? No you chose the umpires who make far less mistakes than the players.
The players poor decisions and being just plain beaten has nothing to do with poor umpiring.
Your having been an umpire in the past I can forgive you for missing the blatant criticism that I have already heaped on Schammer.
(BTW, Schammer will come good but at the moment he is the King of Clangers!)
dominguez
22 May 2006, 19:46
The umpiring has been terrible in most of our games this season. There was a load of soft free kicks paid both ways on Saturday, but the roos received more than we did. A few times you could tell by the players expression that they were surprised to receive a free. If the umpires paid 25% fewer free kicks it would be a much better game.
Just because Slowfield is a better kick than Cook doesn't mean he is a better player. McPharlin, M Carr and Parker are also poor kicks, but that doesn't mean they shouldn't be in the side. Murphy is the best kick for goal on our list, but that shouldn't guarantee him a game. Slowfield is soft and lazy, and I don't care how many kicks he gets or how many targets he hits, I don't rate him.
I agree with you on Schammer and Dodd.
dockers_bengals
22 May 2006, 21:46
I dont know why schammer is getting so much flack?if you watch the game again bell hardley kicks a good one of the boot.schammers had three bad kicks,two kick ins and one into the forwards the rest where more getting picked off by free players coming across.isnt that desicion making or a lack of awareness only he knows and im not saying he had a great game but his work rate is as good as bells.slowfield did enough to play next week.the umpiring has been poor so inconsistant.why was walkers tackle on the wing not holding the ball?wasnt that prior opportunity.whats the difference between the push in the back desicion(not holding the ball)in the eagles game 4th qtr in front of goals and the one in the adelaide game 4th qtr 23min(burton)paid holding the ball johnno?
That's exactly the egotistical comment I would expect from an umpire. Thats the whole problem with them, they think their sh1t doesn't stink and that they are always right.
docker_johnno
22 May 2006, 22:41
.why was walkers tackle on the wing not holding the ball?wasnt that prior opportunity.whats the difference between the push in the back desicion(not holding the ball)in the eagles game 4th qtr in front of goals and the one in the adelaide game 4th qtr 23min(burton)paid holding the ball johnno?
The eagles game with the PIB was the correct decision in the eagles game. the tackle must be legal for HTB to be paid. I have not seen the Adelaide game so the umpire made an error or he was of the opinion that the tackle was legal, Burton may have dived.
With the Walker tackle i was up in block 333 and am not sure if the player tackled got a handball out. It was a clear advantage anyway so it may have been paid with the advantage.
I'd be interested to hear your point regarding the article in the Herald Sun where Grant Thomas had a whinge about the poor umpiring in the round 4 game against Port Adelaide. Jeff Gieschen confirmed there were officially 14 incorrect decisions in that game alone, all of which went against the Saints.
Grant Thomas could be King of England and he would still bitch that his house is not big enough.
14 incorrect decisions in one game, that is the most for the year by a long margin, that is 3.5 bad decsions per quarter, one every 10 minutes.
Of the 3 games on Saturday here were the Clanger counts,
Freo 56
Roos 35
total 91
Swans 40
Dogs 44
total 84
Cats 48
Pies 46
total 94
Player errors in a game are far higher than umpire errors, yet the umpires have just as much pressure on them from the players and spectators.
Players make an error every 80 seconds on average, umpires average one error every 15 minutes in an average game. They are adjudicating as many contests as they players are involved in. There were 94 tackles in the game at subi on the weekend that is 94 contests alone, add to that the rucks knocks and contested marks etc.
Surfs up I suspect that you are the "perfect person" who walks around and never makes a mistake, poo doesnt smell etc. You seem to have perfect judgement and really love to get stuck into those who make a mistake.
To docker_johnno, why do umpires think that people don't know the rules? I'm not an umpire and I know the rules, and everyone I know who follows footy knows them as well. Its an insult to be told otherwise and part of the umpiring fraternity's culture that they are holier-than-thou. Umpiring this year has been a disgrace across all games and you are kidding yourself if you think otherwise. Get a tape of Goldspink's performance on Friday night.
Goldspinks decisions were all correct and warrented. Hawthorn were a disgraceful undisciplined rabble and they got what they deserved.. Goldspinks actions, body language and demeanour was disgusting and showed little respect to the players. His decisions however were all within the rules.
I would have been disgusted if one of our players acted like Campbell Brown and friends on Friday Night or Gehrig in Tassie.
Alfonz have you read a rule book? Or do you just know the rules?
Granted, our ideas of knowing the rules are different. But I have spent a little time reading the rule book and, quite frankly, I couldn't give a sh*t about Rule 14.6.5.3 (g). When I say I know the rules, I know what should and should not be paid. Its not that hard. When you play the game, at whatever level, apart from those with terrible white line fever like Mick Martyn, you just know what is and isn't a free kick while you are playing. This seems a hard concept for umpires to understand as they try to nit-pick their way through some precise definition of each umpiring decision.
Holding the ball is about the only hard decision to make, but that should still be OK. Prior opportunity, correct disposal, legal tackle blah blah. As for the rest of it, the umpiring is terrible and the rule book is just something to hide behind as you extract some paragraph which justifies a bullsh*t free kick.
I'll pick one example. Cox v Polak in the 4th qtr. Cox is stronger in a pushing contest, but then gets pinged. Absolute bollocks, but I bet you'll find some rule which says it was a correct decision. Please share.
You can't compare umps mistakes with players mistakes. Calling a head high tackle is much easier than hitting a moving target 40m away with someone tackling you at the same time.
I reckon if I picked up a whistle and umpired an AFL game this weekend the players and crowd would think I did a better job than anybody out there. And yes, I am fit enough to run around as much as they need to. I might have to ball it up rather than bounce it though.
Rob,
I think your sig is a pointer to who you are. Everything is not against us, the umpires make the rules of each game and I can guarentee it is your undying passion for the football club and the bias that you see the game that influences you to think Freo are not winning their fair share of 50/50 decisons. However having said that what is a 50 50 decision? an umpire views contest after contest and either makes a decision or calls play on. (no decison)
A 50-50 decision is one of many throughout all games which could go either way. Those little pushes in the back which are borderline. Did he dive on the ball or not? Was that a throw or just a quick handball? Week after week, more often than not those decisions go against us. I'm not stupid enough to think that there is an intentional bias in umpires. But I do think that we are a soft target with not a lot of standing amongst the men in white. Take that decision to call Hasleby for a throw when on replay it was a clear handpass. Big name players from big name clubs simply do not get those decisions called against them. We do. Most weeks.
After 8 rounds, we are yet to finish on the right side of the free kick ledger, and IMO it doesn't have much to do with our style of play.
Schofield was picked by the coaching staff to play like schofield, not like Cook. He is a seagull but his strengths are his kicking and pinpoint kicks. I watched Jarrad and he was often the man that Polak, Peake ect looked for when they had the ball to utilise his kicking. If the coaching staff were concerned about clearances Pavlich and Haselby would have spent more time in the centre.
I've got no doubt Schofield was picked for a reason. Doesn't mean I have to agree with it.
FFS, if all of us agreed with with everyone at the club, this board would have 1/10th of the posts it does.
I'll pick one example. Cox v Polak in the 4th qtr. Cox is stronger in a pushing contest, but then gets pinged. Absolute bollocks, but I bet you'll find some rule which says it was a correct decision. Please share.
That was the unwritten rule of payback. The toast got a weak as :D:D:D:D:D free kick about a minute earlier for something almost identical in a marking contest. The umpire had to pay the kick against Cox to simply appear consistent.
docker_johnno
22 May 2006, 23:50
You will find that the position that the umpire was in he would see cox holding Polak and couldn't Polak holding Cox. If he is side on at the contest and it was a boundary throw in.
You can't compare umps mistakes with players mistakes. Calling a head high tackle is much easier than hitting a moving target 40m away with someone tackling you at the same time.
A clanger is classified as a "Blatent unforced error including out on the full. SO your defnition is not a clanger or a mistake.
I reckon if I picked up a whistle and umpired an AFL game this weekend the players and crowd would think I did a better job than anybody out there. And yes, I am fit enough to run around as much as they need to. I might have to ball it up rather than bounce it though.
It isn't going to happen, and you would not know which positions to get into to actually see the free kicks. I have attended some WC games and sat behind the goals and it amazing that the different angles from which you view the game the free kicks you can see and the free kicks you cannot.
Some umpires, Matthew James have made an art of getting into the right positions to see the free kicks.
An afl umpire would run 10 - 15 km in a game.
docker_johnno
22 May 2006, 23:53
I've got no doubt Schofield was picked for a reason. Doesn't mean I have to agree with it.
FFS, if all of us agreed with with everyone at the club, this board would have 1/10th of the posts it does.
Good point.
Rob our standing in the competition has nothing to do with the free kicks awarded. I don't like to say it but you would have been outraged when Judd got the medal, I read you as someone who thinks everything is against us.
Actually, I thought it was just another opportunity to boo an Eagle. I couldn't really give 2 sh*ts who wins a meaningless medal like that.
You might put me into whatever category you like, but i'm just sick of taking it up the ass. After 11 years of bollocks, i'm not going to cop things like lopsided free kick counts quietly, especially when it happens every week. You can take it like a bitch and enjoy it, and that's good for you. I just don't share your meek bend over attitude.
Actually, I thought it was just another opportunity to boo an Eagle. I couldn't really give 2 sh*ts who wins a meaningless medal like that.
You might put me into whatever category you like, but i'm just sick of taking it up the ass. After 11 years of bollocks, i'm not going to cop things like lopsided free kick counts quietly, especially when it happens every week. You can take it like a bitch and enjoy it, and that's good for you. I just don't share your meek bend over attitude.
Just once I would like to us paid a "lingering tackle" when the opposition are streaming forward.
Still it happened to Sydney last year and look what happened.
surfsup
23 May 2006, 02:40
Just once I would like to us paid a "lingering tackle" when the opposition are streaming forward.
I hear you!:D
docker_johnno
23 May 2006, 21:31
I accept and agree with most decisions, not every decision. The vast majority are correct. Everything happens for a reason, that is life. I am happy we are on the wrong side of the free kick count it shows we have more aggression. If it happens every week it is a trend. Essendon were the most aggressive side in the AFL and have been 16th in Free Kicks awarded for years.
It is not divine intervention that we are giving away free kicks, it is not a conspiracy when things keep happening.
You don't like the media when negativity is published about Fremantle, we have underachieved for the last two years. Do you want them to pat us on the back? You would prefer them to ignore as? I think you are just jealous of the Eagles success demanding the attention, they had a succesful year last year and deserved the praise. If we managed to do that well we would have recieved the same attention.
I accept and agree with most decisions, not every decision. The vast majority are correct. Everything happens for a reason, that is life. I am happy we are on the wrong side of the free kick count it shows we have more aggression. If it happens every week it is a trend. Essendon were the most aggressive side in the AFL and have been 16th in Free Kicks awarded for years.
Happened last year as well. Well behind on the free kick ledger. And we were arguably the softest team in the league then. There is no way we've suddenly jumped to being the hardest team at the ball going around.
It is not divine intervention that we are giving away free kicks, it is not a conspiracy when things keep happening.
Not suggesting a conspiracy, i'm saying the likely cause of getting a worse deal than just about every other club is our lack of profile in Melbourne. They don't fear giving us a raw deal. Give Collingwood a raw deal and it ends up on the back page of the Herald Sun, or give Essendon a raw deal and it ends up on the Footy Show. Even when the toast get a couple of decisions go against them it's a major story in the West (despite finishing with far more free kicks than the opposition including their fair share of dubious calls). No-one bats an eyelid when it happens to us. Every f**king week.
You don't like the media when negativity is published about Fremantle, we have underachieved for the last two years. Do you want them to pat us on the back? You would prefer them to ignore as? I think you are just jealous of the Eagles success demanding the attention, they had a succesful year last year and deserved the praise. If we managed to do that well we would have recieved the same attention.
It's not the negativity, it's the bias. What tipped me over the edge about the media was the Sunday Times the day after our derby win. The front and back page were dedictated to what a great player Judd is and how those nasty awful Dockers fans shouldn't boo him. The 2nd to back page was a story about how Judd says Dockers fans shouldn't get their hopes up. 12 pages in, there was a paragraph about some footy match that was played the previous day, apparently we won.
Then a week later some f**kwit toast fan threatens Didak on camera, and the media portrays him as some sort of hero. Yet someone fabricates a story about our coach getting spat on (with no evidence whatsoever) and the media are talking about it for weeks. Like it or not, there is a clear bias from most sections of the Perth media.
Happened last year as well. Well behind on the free kick ledger. And we were arguably the softest team in the league then. There is no way we've suddenly jumped to being the hardest team at the ball going around.
Not suggesting a conspiracy, i'm saying the likely cause of getting a worse deal than just about every other club is our lack of profile in Melbourne. They don't fear giving us a raw deal. Give Collingwood a raw deal and it ends up on the back page of the Herald Sun, or give Essendon a raw deal and it ends up on the Footy Show. Even when the toast get a couple of decisions go against them it's a major story in the West (despite finishing with far more free kicks than the opposition including their fair share of dubious calls). No-one bats an eyelid when it happens to us. Every f**king week.
It's not the negativity, it's the bias. What tipped me over the edge about the media was the Sunday Times the day after our derby win. The front and back page were dedictated to what a great player Judd is and how those nasty awful Dockers fans shouldn't boo him. The 2nd to back page was a story about how Judd says Dockers fans shouldn't get their hopes up. 12 pages in, there was a paragraph about some footy match that was played the previous day, apparently we won.
Then a week later some f**kwit toast fan threatens Didak on camera, and the media portrays him as some sort of hero. Yet someone fabricates a story about our coach getting spat on (with no evidence whatsoever) and the media are talking about it for weeks. Like it or not, there is a clear bias from most sections of the Perth media.
Spot on.
dugrene
24 May 2006, 00:35
I accept and agree with most decisions, not every decision. The vast majority are correct. Everything happens for a reason, that is life.I am happy we are on the wrong side of the free kick count it shows we have more aggression. If it happens every week it is a trend. Essendon were the most aggressive side in the AFL and have been 16th in Free Kicks awarded for years.
Cough cough. er johhno this is football we are talking about here.
I think you are just jealous of the Eagles success demanding the attention, they had a succesful year last year and deserved the praise.
While we are on football. Please dont blaspheme else sabre_ac wiil have to ban you ;)
docker_johnno
24 May 2006, 16:23
Cough cough. er johhno this is football we are talking about here.
While we are on football. Please dont blaspheme else sabre_ac wiil have to ban you ;)
hehe,
Not one of my posts would have got a run on Dockerland. That is beauty of BF i suppose.
docker_johnno
24 May 2006, 16:39
Rob,
Free kicks for average for year,
2004 - 13.7
2005 - 16.9
2006 - 15.2 (14.6)
Frees Against average for year
2004 - 14.7
2005 - 17.7
2006 - 20.5
increase the intensity and hardness and bingo.
dockertor
24 May 2006, 16:47
Rob,
2004 - 13.7
2005 - 16.9
2006 - 15.2 (14.6)
2004 - 14.7
2005 - 17.7
2006 - 20.5
So your saying we have always been harder and more intense than the opposition on average? Umm no. We get a raw deal from the umps.
Rob,
2004 - 13.7
2005 - 16.9
2006 - 15.2 (14.6)
2004 - 14.7
2005 - 17.7
2006 - 20.5
How the hell does that prove anything about hardness and intensity? All that shows is that we get screwed every year, and this year is worse than ever. We were a deadset bunch of marshmallows last year, yet we still gave away more frees. That tells me it's got precisely jack sh*t to do with hardness.
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2006/05/24/1148150326806.html
HAVE trouble fathoming AFL field umpires' decision-making sometimes? Well, you're not alone — so are some of the clubs, most notably Fremantle, which admitted this week it is contemplating the extraordinary move of calling in a former umpire to assess why it has been on the wrong end of free kicks in all but one of its eight games this season.
I hope it is not Docker Johnno or an umpire that thinks like him that they are calling in. ;)
RogerMellie
25 May 2006, 11:04
Too true, fella. Well said.
kanabar
25 May 2006, 13:48
thats the WA media for you always getting *u*ked by them
jack juniper, just give him one game, he will turn that into 10 which will turn itself into a rising star nomination which will lead to the actual award and then next years brownlow more than likely. agree? :thumbsu: