View Full Version : Collingwood, Joffa & The Gold Jacket
Personally, I don't like the gold jacket and the hysteria surrounding it - but I am the exception in Collingwood circles.
I believe the action and excitement is on the field, not in the stands. I think it's sad that so many supporters wait expectantly for the jacket to emerge before they really get into the barracking spirit.
Many Collingwood supporters think that the emergence of the jacket in some way angers or taunts opposition players and supporters. I disagree. I think the majority of people see it for what it actually is - a cheap gimmick that is well past it's used by date. It's stale, boring and slightly embarassing.
For the love of god, ditch the jacket and de-glorify the buffoon who dons it.
Discuss.
de_LICA_ish18
21 May 2006, 13:34
agree
andypie
21 May 2006, 13:35
Personally, I don't like the gold jacket and the hysteria surrounding it - but I am the exception in Collingwood circles.
I believe the action and excitement is on the field, not in the stands. I think it's sad that so many supporters wait expectantly for the jacket to emerge before they really get into the barracking spirit.
Many Collingwood supporters think that the emergence of the jacket in some way angers or taunts opposition players and supporters. I disagree. I think the majority of people see it for what it actually is - a cheap gimmick that is well past it's used by date. It's stale, boring and slightly embarassing.
Discuss.
i agree. ditch the nuffy
Nah, It's Ok, good enough for Kennett to copy.
Agreed - I actually thought he had retired it a few seasons back.
I think Joffa was quite restrained last night. I think he waited til the 16 minute mark of the third quarter. Could have easily brought it out at Half Time.
He also brought out a handbag! Champagne Comedy Joffa
EDFL MAN
21 May 2006, 13:44
i agree. ditch the nuffy
Agree, just another mentally challenge human being in society! :eek:
I'm glad Collingwood have him, he fits right in down there. :p
Champagne Comedy Joffa
I rest my case, your honor.
If that's your definition of champagne comedy, you clearly need to get out more. :o
Palmer Stoat
21 May 2006, 13:47
Discuss.
I think you should lighten up. I don't see much harm in it.
EDFL MAN
21 May 2006, 13:50
I think you should lighten up. I don't see much harm in it.
Acting like a bunch of nuffy's behind the goals when tossa brings out his gold jacket..........clearly they dont get out much, a little like day release really!
doesn't do anything for me actually but I do quite enjoy the rage that it inspires in opposition fans at times
Geez, Zeke making sense. What next, cats and dogs living together?
bresker
21 May 2006, 13:56
I couldn't care less. Never notice him. Cheer squad members are mostly numpties anyway, he's just the Lord High King of the Numpties. I keep away from such loonies and prefer to sit near people who watch the game rather than try get themselves on telly.
Lonie_from_50
21 May 2006, 13:57
Always agreed. It was said to go into retirement I thought. As Collingwood supporters, it is good to see the jacket on I guess, because it does have that meaning, but Joffa is a tool.
I don't think it makes a lot of difference. It does, however, set your supporters up for a fall when you lose, ala 2003 Grand Final and Martin Pike carrying around the banner after the game.
In the end, if it brings along a few more supporters to watch it, then great.
LeftFooter
21 May 2006, 14:14
Discuss.
Nah mate, leave it how it is, doncha just love the shots when they lose :-)
chapmanmagic35
21 May 2006, 14:16
Discuss.
Agreed wholeheartedly...
It does, however, set your supporters up for a fall when you lose, ala 2003 Grand Final and Martin Pike carrying around the banner after the game.
I am sure he retired it b/c of the embarrassment it would have caused him, but like any dumb nunt he decided to bring it back this year.
I don't care about him as I love paying out the lowies at the footy, but heck what :D:D:D:Des me off is that the media give this clown so much air time while he is carrying on like a pork chop. The naff piece on him yesterday before the game was wrong
mediumsizered
21 May 2006, 14:33
I don't care about him as I love paying out the lowies at the footy, but heck what :D:D:D:Des me off is that the media give this clown so much air time while he is carrying on like a pork chop. The naff piece on him yesterday before the game was wrong
That is the real point. Why does this guy get any more publicity than the hundreds of cheer squad members from all 16 clubs, who put in endless hours preparing banners and who provide that real colour behind the goals. Certainly he has no more personality than cheer squad members from other clubs. It was Eddie that brought this guy to prominence thanks to the Channel 9 coverage of footy. Hopefully Channel 7 will put an end to this ridiculous Collingwood PR exercise and focus on the real stars of the game, the players and coaches.
I love paying out the lowies
i've noticed something about you, you know. You frequently raise issues about social status and the concept of superiority - not suprisingly you always include yourself in what you see as the more elite group. The term "lowies" is particularly distasteful particularly when in all likelihood there is plenty of variable quality in your make up and there is in all of us. My experience is that most people who like to "class" others are usally very insecure about there own status (and possibly wet the bed):)
Vic Crow
21 May 2006, 14:37
First of all, I long for the day when he puts it on prematurely and they lose. It's tough because he always waits until the game is a sure thing but it would be the ultimate backfire if they end up losing after the jacket comes out.
Second of all, it was hard to tell if the jacket was retired last year or not. :p
That is the real point. Why does this guy get any more publicity than the hundreds of cheer squad members from all 16 clubs, who put in endless hours preparing banners and who provide that real colour behind the goals. Certainly he has no more personality than cheer squad members from other clubs. It was Eddie that brought this guy to prominence thanks to the Channel 9 coverage of footy. Hopefully Channel 7 will put an end to this ridiculous Collingwood PR exercise and focus on the real stars of the game, the players and coaches.
Well yeah another fine piece of trash Eddie has exposed us to. Somewhere along the line he decided that us, the vast majority of the football public care about him.
I really hope Ch 7 stick it right up Ed by only showing limited games and giving collingwood little exposure and wouldn't it be nice for North to get back their friday night games and Collingwood play sunday afternoon games that can only be watched on foxtel.
But we know that won't happen as Eddie in his grubby nature will do his best to whine like the bitch he is and force the AFL once again to buckle under his whining.
I just find AFL to be too predicable these days.
It was Eddie
LOL! that's right Ch 10 never showed him did they?
Vic Crow
21 May 2006, 14:39
My experience is that most people who like to "class" others are usally very insecure about there own status (and possibly wet the bed):)
:D :thumbsu:
i've noticed something about you, you know. You frequently raise issues about social status and the concept of superiority - not suprisingly you always include yourself in what you see as the more elite group. The term "lowies" is particularly distasteful particularly when in all likelihood there is plenty of variable quality in your make up and there is in all of us. My experience is that most people who like to "class" others are usally very insecure about there own status (and possibly wet the bed):)
Pfft naff naff. Go play with Uncle Joffa and his gold jacket - lowie. I love looking down on trash like yourself and joffa. Makes me realise and thank my parents i never turned out so simple. ;)
hahahahah heres laughing at you!
I really hope Ch 7 stick it right up Ed by only showing limited games and giving collingwood little exposure .
yeah - good idea - they should commit ratings suicide just to get Eddie back for all the pain he's inflicted on them and people like you whose heads he seems to own a fair percentage of.
Ch7 are already building their 07 season around Collingwood. you may hate it but you know its true!
andypie
21 May 2006, 14:43
Agree, just another mentally challenge human being in society! :eek:
I'm glad Collingwood have him, he fits right in down there. :p
i reckon they should mate him with barb and see what sort of offspring comes out.
then again it might work the opposite and produce good lookin, brilliant kids.
mediumsizered
21 May 2006, 14:43
LOL! that's right Ch 10 never showed him did they?
Channel 9 gave him the profile in the first place. Channel 10 are just cashing in on the fact that any story about Collingwood at the moment will draw in the Collingwood supporters. A profile piece on one of the Collingwood young players would be more appropriate.
thank my parents i never turned out so simple. ;)
!
oh dear ! how very embarrassing you must be to your parents
yeah - good idea - they should commit ratings suicide just to get Eddie back for all the pain he's inflicted on them and people like you whose heads he seems to own a fair percentage of.
Ch7 are already building their 07 season around Collingwood. you may hate it but you know its true!
Oh the swans are the most watched team in Australia. We have the most watched Grand Finals in both 96 and 2005. When Collingwood played the 02 and 03 most people were watching to see Collignwood loose not win.
Enough with your constant dribble about being the greatest side. Collingwood maybe in Victoria but buddy thats the problem with your fellow vic bretheren, you are all so insular you think the world and australia revolves around Melbourne. Newsflash it doesn't.
Great sides win flags, not ratings...well in Sydneys case both ;)
Cassius_Clay
21 May 2006, 14:56
Well yeah another fine piece of trash Eddie has exposed us to. Somewhere along the line he decided that us, the vast majority of the football public care about him.
I really hope Ch 7 stick it right up Ed by only showing limited games and giving collingwood little exposure and wouldn't it be nice for North to get back their friday night games and Collingwood play sunday afternoon games that can only be watched on foxtel.
But we know that won't happen as Eddie in his grubby nature will do his best to whine like the bitch he is and force the AFL once again to buckle under his whining.
Oh poor Deigo, Aint gonna see that happening while Collingwood posess the most supporters in Victoria.
Sorry :)
Cassius_Clay
21 May 2006, 14:57
the world and australia revolves around Melbourne. Newsflash it doesn't.
It does :)
You mean like this year we only have 4 FNF ,1 SAT DAY and a few sat night games the rest are sunday, monday, tues. Maybe you should do some more research as to why the Roos don't get more FNF games because it aint Collingwood stopping them.
Oh poor Deigo, Aint gonna see that happening while Collingwood posess the most supporters in Victoria.
Sorry :)
Yawn, win something for once losers.
Agree 100% with Zeke.
Was at the game last nite as a neutral observer. I rkn Heath Shaw is in AA form.
Him and Andrew Raines have been the two finds of the season
Cassius_Clay
21 May 2006, 15:22
Yawn, win something for once losers.
Losers = I Premiership in 70 years :)
Yawn, win something losers. If you are going to act like a grand club at least dominate in flags not bums on seats.
Cassius_Clay
21 May 2006, 15:31
Yawn, win something losers. If you are going to act like a grand club at least dominate in flags not bums on seats.
Well we sure dominate your club in flags and bums on seats :)
oh you mean you won all of your flags over 75 years ago. wow awesome..your great great grand father might remember...ask him how great those days were.
Cassius_Clay
21 May 2006, 15:36
oh you mean you won all of your flags over 75 years ago. wow awesome..your great great grand father might remember...ask him how great those days were.
At least we own some flags :)
Albeit some old and dusty ones. The thing is out of all those flags how many have you been able to watch in living colour? The 1990 grand final..shucks it sucks to be you.
At least i have a nice victory pack that my kids and their kids can watch in 100 years time, unlike the 4peat and dominace of the pies between 1900-40. I think there is some sepia film somewhere which just shows random highlights like player taking a mark and crowd shot.
wooohooo!
Cassius_Clay
21 May 2006, 15:40
Albeit some old and dusty ones. The thing is out of all those flags how many have you been able to watch in living colour? The 1990 grand final..shucks it sucks to be you.
At least i have a nice victory pack that my kids and their kids can watch in 100 years time, unlike the 4peat and dominace of the pies between 1900-40. I think there is some sepia film somewhere which just shows random highlights like player taking a mark and crowd shot.
wooohooo!
Ummm we have won 1 flag since 1990. The same as you.
I fail to see your point?
Lockyer24
21 May 2006, 16:02
Harmless fun, is always a laugh when you see him put it on and the crowd go up - even opposition supporters generally have a chuckle at it. Just another great way of how our fans show our pride and enjoyment in victories with the winning circle after the games etc
After seeing how mental Carlton fans went when he put it on around 2003 during a game I hope he keeps doing it for many years to come
Zeke some fights you just cannot win.
I could tell you some stories.... Just as a few of the players could. Lets just say those that need to know the truth, already know it.
morgoth
21 May 2006, 16:09
I think most Pie fans are over it, and the person who wears it. When he puts it on a large section of Pie fans chant, 'Joffa is a :D:D:D:Der'.
Time to move on IMO.
itsintheblood
21 May 2006, 16:48
Discuss.
Zeke is that really you? Making sense for the first time in your life??? He actually held up a handbag too. What a moron is joffa.
bucksisbest
21 May 2006, 22:30
I am sure he retired it b/c of the embarrassment it would have caused him, but like any dumb nunt he decided to bring it back this year.
Why would you even play that card , when you have been mocked on a national television show for being a "lowie" at the football , as well as generally being regarded as mentally unstable?
chapmanmagic35
21 May 2006, 23:51
How did he get on a TV commercial?
:confused:
crackers57
22 May 2006, 09:24
Acting like a bunch of nuffy's behind the goals when tossa brings out his gold jacket..........clearly they dont get out much, a little like day release really!
Bit like the "middle aged" Melbourne supporter with the coloured mohawk and beard.......:rolleyes:
Markthirtytwo
22 May 2006, 09:31
I believe that the Colliwobbles love it so much they are prepared now to use it as their away jumper. :thumbsu:
Discuss.
I agree with everything except for "before they really get into the barracking spirit".
We're going nuts long before the damn jacket.
Perhaps you would realise this, if you weren't restricted to attending Glenorchy games!
but I am the exception in Collingwood circles.
Discuss.
You're not the exception Zeke. The only Collingwood people who think it is a good thing are the cheer squad and obviously Eddie who I assume has encouraged its return. You should hear the moans and groans from the Collingwood members areas and standing room areas. Have a listen next time at the ground and the only cheers are from the cheer squad themselves and all other magpie supporters bagging it. Everyone is embarrassed by it and I totally agree it is well passed it's use by date ( 1 game) and should be nicked off. But unfortunatelt the TV and radio stations seem to give it publicity also which just encourages the practise. Sorry Joffa but get rid of it and stick to waving a flag.
I think most Pie fans are over it, and the person who wears it. When he puts it on a large section of Pie fans chant, 'Joffa is a :D:D:D:Der'.
Time to move on IMO.
Exactly as per my original post above. They do. As the cheer squad is in the Old Ponsford all the Collingwood membership are behind him so when he dons the jacket a large chant of 'Joffa is a w***ker' goes up. It's quite funny and sad really.
Thegreatman17
22 May 2006, 10:19
Discuss.
How about just shoot the fu**wit! He is a complete :D:D:D:Der and gives all of us Collingwood supporters a bad name. The sooner he fu**s off and dies the better!
LightTower4
22 May 2006, 11:08
How about just shoot the fu**wit! He is a complete :D:D:D:Der and gives all of us Collingwood supporters a bad name. The sooner he fu**s off and dies the better!
It's the media who keep flashing the camera's on him during games that are to blame.
Mind you, Joffa isn't backwards when given the oppourtunity to appear on TV but perhaps us taxpayers should be thankfull as the ad he did probably saved us all 2 fortnight's worth of dole cheques.
MACDAICOS
22 May 2006, 11:11
Discuss.
I agree..........He and he's hangers on are a disgrace!
The gold jacket's last hoorah (http://www.magpies.net/nick/bb/viewtopic.php?t=13383)
aflover
24 May 2006, 16:26
Joffa has become a somebody
Most people on here are a nobody
No body's attack a somebody..what else is new ?
My family have seen joffa struggle to leave the ground after a win such his popularity with collingwood people and oppsoition supporters wanting pics and autographs.
TV commercials
Radio commercials how many of us nobody's wish we could do all that stuff
I went with dad last week cos dad follows the pies and i like going with him when he put on the jacket the noise was deafening, on all accounts he's a pretty nice bloke
seems pretty easy to attack people just for the sake of it.
Johnson#26
24 May 2006, 17:47
but Joffa is a tool.
Based on what?
It's nothing but a bit of harmless fun. Why not treat it that way? :)
aflover
24 May 2006, 19:54
is tess a frustrated drag queen cos a mate just emailed me and said so.how scary.
MagpieScouser
24 May 2006, 20:34
its amazing how so many people who dont know joffa can make a judgement on the bloke,hes made going to the football fun again with things like the winners circle and the gold jacket,and for those collingwood fans who used to go to the cricketers arms pre-game in 2002-03 his speeches before the game were terrific and really got you fired up
i hope the jacket stays and i hope he puts it on when the pies are marching on during september
i will defend joffas name to the hilt because hes not as bad as people on here make him out to be
davey_magik
24 May 2006, 21:56
Joffa isn't that bad a bloke actually, but most of you wouldn't have met him.
It was all in good fun and I have nothing against him.
The Majestic
24 May 2006, 22:31
I agree with everything except for "before they really get into the barracking spirit".
We're going nuts long before the damn jacket.
Perhaps you would realise this, if you weren't restricted to attending Glenorchy games!
Nothing wrong with Glenorchy, though I haven't heard Zeke showing any interest in the Magpies in the Premier League.
We've had our best start to a season for ages year of the Pies maybe ;)
I am not a lover of the jacket, it might go overboard, but I don't pay much attention to the crowd, as long as he isn't spitting on players, throwing stuff at fans or players, then it's fine.
eastaugh36
12 Jun 2006, 18:42
As Robert Walls said several seasons ago, subtlety isn't one of Joffa's strong points and once again his antics of past weeks has come back to bite him on his a$$.
Discuss.
For the love of god, collingwood should disown your crap threads
Which player X > player Y thread will u come up with this week