View Full Version : If the Waughs were to lose all ability
If Steve and Mark Waugh were to wake up one morning with no cricket ability (was going to say drop dead but wouldnt want to start a jinx) who would replace them in both the test and one day team.
Test Team:
Simon Katich
Brad Hodge
One day team:
Lehmann
Langer
eagleskickass
6 Jan 2002, 15:26
Test Team
Agreed
One Day Team
Lehmann yes
Langer, he aint exactly a One Day player, consistently, he has patches, but generally scores clowly(i know, the past series he actually did them rather quickly)
I think someone else could get a go before him.
Right now i can't think of anyone though, maybe i should just agree with ya again
Kane McGoodwin
6 Jan 2002, 17:20
I would bring Lehmann into both teams, as I reckon he has another 5 years in him. He would also make a better captain than Punter. The test I would also pick Katich & change the batting order around: Hayden, Langer, Katich, Martyn, Lehmann, Ponting, Gilchrist + 4 bowlers. Imagine Boof & Gilly batting together in full-flight.
For the one-dayers, I would look at an adaptable type of batsman who bat anywhere in the order. Say a Hussey or Maher, as they are likely to be a reserve in the squad rotation. The batting order could be: Gilchrist, Hayden, Ponting, Bevan, Martyn, Lehmann, Symonds, Harvey + 3 bowlers.
Test Side - Katich and
Lehmann or Hodge
One Day - Lehmann
Hodge, Hayden can replace M.Waugh as the opener.
TEST
-Katich
Symonds [for his allrounder ability]
OD
Lehmann
Langer
NICK THE PIE MAN
6 Jan 2002, 19:31
Stuff if the Waugh's were gone,
Langer should be in the one day team now, full-stop period.
How can you leave him out with the form that he is in?
Tests : Lehmann, Katich
One Dayers : Lehmann, Katich
dogboy23
7 Jan 2002, 10:19
Tests-Blewett and Katich
Onedayers-Lehman and Hodge
Pies rock
7 Jan 2002, 11:11
I don't know what everyone else thinks, but all the hype surrounding Katich is unwarranted. He is technically flawed and is far too edgy to make it at the top level. Also, playing on the WACA means he is vulnerable against spin. I really can't understand the talk that he is our next test star. His shocking innings in England (unfair to just look at him once, I know) didn't surprise me one bit...
Test: Bevan, Lehman
Two proven performers for years. This isn't footy, 'new blood' and 'youth' in cricket simply doesn't work. The youngsters just aren't up to it, unfortunately. Bevan is in career best form and Lehman is a runs machine. Future test players IMO are Clarke from NSW, quality young batsman, Hussey from WA, Katich will probably get a go but I don't expect much. Hopefully Hodge will be given a go also...
One Dayers: Lehman, Elliott
Lehman is explained above, but if Mark Waugh goes we may need another opener (Hayden would prolly walk into the spot though) and Elliott is an absoulte gun. He has been unlucky in his career so far. Brad Haddin and Ryan Campbell are top players but won't get a look in until Gilly goes. I like Kremerskothen (sp?) from Tassie, he can bat and is a great fieldsman. Shane Watson and Shane Lee are two quality all rounders...
One Day: Lehman,
dogboy23
7 Jan 2002, 12:02
Originally posted by Pies rock
I don't know what everyone else thinks, but all the hype surrounding Katich is unwarranted. He is technically flawed and is far too edgy to make it at the top level. Also, playing on the WACA means he is vulnerable against spin. I really can't understand the talk that he is our next test star. His shocking innings in England (unfair to just look at him once, I know) didn't surprise me one bit...
Test: Bevan, Lehman
Two proven performers for years. This isn't footy, 'new blood' and 'youth' in cricket simply doesn't work. The youngsters just aren't up to it, unfortunately. Bevan is in career best form and Lehman is a runs machine. Future test players IMO are Clarke from NSW, quality young batsman, Hussey from WA, Katich will probably get a go but I don't expect much. Hopefully Hodge will be given a go also...
One Dayers: Lehman, Elliott
Lehman is explained above, but if Mark Waugh goes we may need another opener (Hayden would prolly walk into the spot though) and Elliott is an absoulte gun. He has been unlucky in his career so far. Brad Haddin and Ryan Campbell are top players but won't get a look in until Gilly goes. I like Kremerskothen (sp?) from Tassie, he can bat and is a great fieldsman. Shane Watson and Shane Lee are two quality all rounders...
One Day: Lehman, Katich is in actual fact unlucky to not be in the side at the moment anyway.He pushed his way into the side on tour in Srilanka a couple of years ago I think it was and he dominated the tour games and was going to play but was sent home with chicken pox which later developed into chronic fatigue syndrome.I think he does have the ability people talk of but mainly for the tests.I cant see any technical faults in his game other than he walks across his stumps a bit but this doesnt seem to cause to many problems rather it allows him to work the ball through the on side.
Pies rock
7 Jan 2002, 12:07
Originally posted by dogboy23
Katich is in actual fact unlucky to not be in the side at the moment anyway.He pushed his way into the side on tour in Srilanka a couple of years ago I think it was and he dominated the tour games and was going to play but was sent home with chicken pox which later developed into chronic fatigue syndrome.I think he does have the ability people talk of but mainly for the tests.I cant see any technical faults in his game other than he walks across his stumps a bit but this doesnt seem to cause to many problems rather it allows him to work the ball through the on side.
You don't see walking across ur stumps as a problem?? It is called giving the slips catching practise...
dogboy23
7 Jan 2002, 12:33
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Pies rock
You don't see walking across ur stumps as a problem?? It is called giving the slips catching practise... [If you have seen him you will realise its not as bad a problem as it sounds.He is not so much anchored to the crease he is still able to get forward and play straight down the ground if he needs to.I would have thought his technique was one of his strengths.Its not a constant big step either its more a small shuffle just as the bowler bowls the ball to get into position.
Pies rock
7 Jan 2002, 12:40
I don't agree at all about Katich's technique. He has clearly been harmed by growing up on the bouncy WACA pitch. He gets caught behind the wicket far too often and can't play spinners at all. He has shown nothing in my mind that warrants a walk up start to the test side...
CarterS
10 Jan 2002, 07:32
Jimmy Maher in the 1 dayers.
SeinDude
11 Jan 2002, 10:28
I am a big fan for Michael Bevan being in the test side for his all-round ability and with Gilchrist batting at #7, our batting is deep enough to not lose much. Bevan also can bowl left arm wrist spin which adds variety to the bowling and enables the Aussies to be more flexible to the conditions, like a pitch that will spin.
So, to answer the question:
Test: Bevan and Katich
One-Day: Lehmann & Hodge (added to the rotation with Hayden as the opener with Gilchrist)
SeinDude
Originally posted by CarterS
Jimmy Maher in the 1 dayers.
Gotta agree with u there after his 94 last night, and he;s likely too suceed after his first chance at the highest level failed.