View Full Version : Commetti labels Tredrea a "hack" today

Helix
21 May 2006, 16:32
"It is tragic to see Tredrea reduced to a hack this afternoon." - D Cometti, Port v Brisbane, 21/5/06

He was hopeless. I think he needs a few in the magoos.

*Danni*
21 May 2006, 16:33
I gotta say, I was shocked to hear that said. We all just looked at each other here in the loungeroom and the other half who is relatively new to actively supporting AFL was in shock they would say that about a player - let alone a player he thought with his brief experience deserved a little more respect.

The Majestic
21 May 2006, 16:42
I don't think I have heart Commettii ever refer to a player as a 'hack' not to say he hasn't, I just haven't heard it, suprised that he would say it.

Might be time for Tredders to take a trip to Port Maggies, and help them out, after last weeks effort.

RoosterLad
21 May 2006, 17:00
Haha i just heard that on the delayed telecast,,, great form!

Blue Red and Gold
21 May 2006, 17:05
Haha yeah just heard it myself. I got a good giggle out of it.

It will interesting what they do with Tredrea, surely he has got to be dropped. It cant be good for team morale to see their captain so down on form.

jmorg1
21 May 2006, 17:06
Surely Port Power supporters won't be putting up with that comment.

Blue Red and Gold
21 May 2006, 17:08
Looking at the crowd on TV I dont think they give a :D:D:D:D anymore.

Vic Crow
21 May 2006, 17:08
He didn't really say he was a hack. He just said he was playing like a hack. And it was true.

Rory
21 May 2006, 17:10
He didnt get over that knee IMO but he insists on playing.

I guess you cant expect him to be in the greatest form (or any other player in the team) when your consistently losing games by 10+ goals.

Helix
21 May 2006, 17:12
He didn't really say he was a hack. He just said he was playing like a hack. And it was true.
He said that Tredrea has been reduced to a hack today. My quote is up the top.

Helix
21 May 2006, 17:26
He didnt get over that knee IMO but he insists on playing.

I guess you cant expect him to be in the greatest form (or any other player in the team) when your consistently losing games by 10+ goals.
:confused:

Stick with injured. Champions will come out after a hiding and win the game the next week.

*Danni*
21 May 2006, 17:29

And again - see above. He didn't say he was 'playing' like anything. He said he was 'reduced to a hack'.

maccas_no1
21 May 2006, 17:30
Agree I said it last year I would NOT want Tredrea at the AFC

skipper kelly
21 May 2006, 17:30
Hope Commetti doesnt get a gig with Ch7.

Vic Crow
21 May 2006, 17:31
He said that Tredrea has been reduced to a hack today. My quote is up the top.
Yeah, I saw the quote and I was watching too. I'm just trying to put it into context. He didn't flat out say Warren Tredrea is a hack.
For the record, I found it hilarious and loved it. It's just not as severe as one might think.

Dingster
21 May 2006, 17:42
Hard to argue with the great man's comments. Tredrea injured or not was ordinary. He had plenty of mates though.

eddie_vrv6
21 May 2006, 17:53
Would be interested if Commetti would say the same thing to an out-of-form/injured Judd or Pavlich?

Helix
21 May 2006, 18:01
Would be interested if Commetti would say the same thing to an out-of-form/injured Judd or Pavlich?
For Judd, it hasn't come up..

jmorg1
21 May 2006, 18:11
Agree I said it last year I would NOT want Tredrea at the AFC

Good point. Maybe now we can stop having to listen to Port Power supporters insisting that we would 'love to have Tredrea in our side'.

FuManchu
21 May 2006, 18:40
what are they going to do, stamp their feet and make it go away, this isnt the land of OZ you know. Mind you, Tredrea may be likened to the one without any heart

Kitty
21 May 2006, 19:09

Are you kidding? you don't want the best caller in the game to be doing the job next year? :confused:

MickZu
21 May 2006, 19:18
Are you kidding? you don't want the best caller in the game to be doing the job next year? :confused:

He is dead set the worst caller that has graced our airways, makes me sick just listening to his trash. :thumbsd:

Kitty
21 May 2006, 19:20
He is dead set the worst caller that has graced our airways, makes me sick just listening to his trash. :thumbsd:

Get off the crack! He is a brilliant caller, been voted best caller by the public for several years straight and is sought after by all the commercial networks.

Melbourne Lion
21 May 2006, 19:21

100% disagree with you Mick.
I think he's great caller.

raikkonen
21 May 2006, 19:51
Tredrea has been a joke since he returned. Fair enough to take 2-3 weeks to get back to full match fitness, but this has now been 5 or 6 games back and he has done f*ck all. The knee cannot be an excuse anymore. He is playing crap, and so is his team. He couldnt have kicked more than 7-8 goals for the year, so Commetti is right (but shouldnt really put a personal opinion like that on tv).

Ricciuto in first game back from hamstring kicked 6, and the week after 5. True champs can do that. :D

Petergm
21 May 2006, 19:58

He wont .....Channel 7 wont take any of the disloyal defectors!

Kitty
21 May 2006, 20:02

That must be why they have gone after Gary Lyon and Dermie.:rolleyes:

Jimbeam
21 May 2006, 20:09
they where also having a dig at the powers lack of real tradition, saying they have none now and that they are gone. pretty funny stuff, "tredrea has been reduced to a hack" i lold.. they will get no pitty from any real collingwood supporters, trying to jack our black and white, bloody whining moaning parasites, they are worse than richmond once they start loosing.

Helix
21 May 2006, 20:11
they where also having a dig at the powers lack of real tradition, saying they have none now and that they are gone. pretty funny stuff, "tredrea has been reduced to a hack" i lold.. they will get no pitty from any real collingwood supporters, trying to jack our black and white, bloody whining moaning parasites, they are worse than richmond once they start loosing.
This is not a thread about Collingwood.

Milkman
21 May 2006, 20:12
And again - see above. He didn't say he was 'playing' like anything. He said he was 'reduced to a hack'.

Same thing, I would've thought.

Rod Stroker
21 May 2006, 20:16
If that is the case then I'm sure Channel 10 will find a seat for him.

Kitty
21 May 2006, 20:16

Hardly! Anyone can be said to be playing like a hack if they are having a shocker of a game but to say someone has been reduced to a hack is way harsher in my book.

Milkman
21 May 2006, 20:32
Hardly! Anyone can be said to be playing like a hack if they are having a shocker of a game but to say someone has been reduced to a hack is way harsher in my book.

I fail to see the difference.

*Danni*
21 May 2006, 20:32

Far from it. Playing like a hack is PLAYING LIKE a hack.
Reduced to a hack is BEING a hack.

That's why it was quite a surprise - it was very very direct and delivered matter of fact.

Milkman
21 May 2006, 20:37
Far from it. Playing like a hack is PLAYING LIKE a hack.
Reduced to a hack is BEING a hack.

And playing like a hack, isn't BEING a hack?

The word "reduced" insinuates that he's playing below his level. It might sound harsher, but it's really no different in my book.

Blue Red and Gold
21 May 2006, 20:42
Does it matter?

Milkman
21 May 2006, 20:44
Nope.

FuManchu
21 May 2006, 20:44
maybe he meant a Hick, 'cos he is from Adelaide

Blue Red and Gold
21 May 2006, 20:46
boom tish

Thats rich coming from a Collingwood supporter ;)

FuManchu
21 May 2006, 20:49
boom tish

Thats rich coming from a Collingwood supporter ;)
well, I did marry a Norwood supporter, I should know

eddie eagle
21 May 2006, 23:22
I gotta say, I was shocked to hear that said. We all just looked at each other here in the loungeroom and the other half who is relatively new to actively supporting AFL was in shock they would say that about a player - let alone a player he thought with his brief experience deserved a little more respect.

Dennis is on the money as usual.

Nope tredders does not deserve any respect - he is a joke, continuing the great tradition of terrible captains at the chokers.

He does not even have the respect of his teamates.

The knee excuse is getting a bit old & tired now surely

Vic Crow
22 May 2006, 01:25
"It is tragic to see Tredrea reduced to a hack this afternoon." - D Cometti, Port v Brisbane, 21/5/06

I think the fact that he specified that Tredrea had been reduced to a hack for the afternoon.
"Reduced to a hack this afternoon" is essentially the same as "playing like a hack today."
And yes, IT DOES MATTER!!! ;)

dids4
22 May 2006, 01:28

ooohhhhh what are they gonna do - press the mute button next week?

AntiX
22 May 2006, 15:07
Looking at the crowd on TV I dont think they give a :D:D:D:D anymore.

Haha :thumbsu:

nut
22 May 2006, 16:26
Haha yeah just heard it myself. I got a good giggle out of it.

It will interesting what they do with Tredrea, surely he has got to be dropped. It cant be good for team morale to see their captain so down on form.

And what a tremendousleader Tredrea is. His leadership is sooooooooo inspiring.

kahuna71
22 May 2006, 16:31
we never stop stop stop till we're top top top

full credit to them for abiding by their theme song.

Pav for AA
22 May 2006, 16:37

Considering the man in charge of the football department at seven moved to channel nine when they had the rights and has now returned to seven :thumbsu:

afc9798
22 May 2006, 18:33
And what a tremendousleader Tredrea is. His leadership is sooooooooo inspiring.

I think it was his stint at the Wayne Campbell Leadership Institute that did it.

As for Dennis Commetti, he used to be a great caller until he got to C9, where they have tried to make him into a personality. He is now nothing more than a caricature of himself and has been reduced to a sideshow with his little sayings and jokes. He seems to get bored very easily and distracts viewers from what is actually happening in the game.

I think the commentating in general is at an all time low and hopefully C7 will be a breath of fresh air. C10 are still the worst offenders with Quarterbrain, Walls, Christian and Silvagni, the worst of their lot. Surely there must be some new calling talent out there somewhere and if not, 7 should be busy trying them out now offline and then haviong them ready for next year.

pafc4life
22 May 2006, 18:53
Tredders HAS been ordinary since his return, but great players respond, and he will. I'm just not too sure when this will be.

Blue Red and Gold
22 May 2006, 19:07
I dont doubt he will bounce back but how long can Port wait for this? Why not send him back to the Magpies so he can regain some confidence?

Infamy
23 May 2006, 17:12
Richo > Tredrea

pafc4life
23 May 2006, 17:16
I dont doubt he will bounce back but how long can Port wait for this? Why not send him back to the Magpies so he can regain some confidence?

its a tough decision to make. i still think keep playing him with the Power, he said yesterday his knee now feels just about back to normal so i reckon he needs to get his confidence back playing where he belongs and thats AFL footy.

understudy
23 May 2006, 17:22
Probably wasnt and never will be in the champion class.

Champions seem to step straight back in after returning from injury.

In support of Tredrea's limitations interesting to see he hasn't.

Very important player but somewhat over rated.

out of order
20 Sep 2007, 18:12

still waiting almost a yr on. :D

mb2326
20 Sep 2007, 18:41
still waiting almost a yr on. :D

....and he is still a hack hated by his team mates.

pafc4life
20 Sep 2007, 19:16
....and he is still a hack hated by his team mates.

make that a hack hated by his team mates whos season is still alive...thankyou

how's Roo going btw?

Lightning_Rod
20 Sep 2007, 19:36
hit the road jack, and dont u come back no more, no more, no more, no more.

wats roo doing this september, here the traffic to waikerie isnt bad.

out of order
20 Sep 2007, 21:58

how's Roo going btw?
At least you acknowledge he is disliked by his teammates. Some port power supporters try and live in denial. :eek:

Toots Hibbert
20 Sep 2007, 22:25
http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/4277/treddersandteammates2pl5.jpg

http://img171.imageshack.us/img171/8593/treddersandteammates3no7.jpg

http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/1733/treddersandteammates4ir7.jpg

http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/1033/treddersandteammates6fg6.jpg

Ted Ed Fred
20 Sep 2007, 22:36

He was hopeless. I think he needs a few in the magoos.

Port belted you in 04... time to move on :)

out of order
21 Sep 2007, 13:35
Tredders HAS been ordinary since his return, but great players respond, and he will. I'm just not too sure when this will be.
it obviously takes more than 2 yrs mate

mb2326
21 Sep 2007, 13:38
http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/4277/treddersandteammates2pl5.jpg

http://img171.imageshack.us/img171/8593/treddersandteammates3no7.jpg

http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/1733/treddersandteammates4ir7.jpg

http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/1033/treddersandteammates6fg6.jpg

It all seems a bit forced and Tredders looks a little surprised in a couple of them. But doi you seriously think the dislike of Tredders by his team mates would be obvious while 30 cameras are on. I don't think so.

mb2326
21 Sep 2007, 13:40

how's Roo going btw?

Roo is retired idiot. In that case what is Wangas doing? Roo is 3 years and 100+ games older than Tredders.

Lets see what Tredders is doing at 32 and 300+ games. Do you seriously think his deteriorating body will hold up that long.

out of order
21 Sep 2007, 13:42
It all seems a bit forced and Tredders looks a little surprised in a couple of them. But doi you seriously think the dislike of Tredders by his team mates would be obvious while 30 cameras are on. I don't think so.
exactly when the camera's are off they're all stabbing him in the back.

stuart dew
monty
nick stevens

just a few of the tredrea haters who have been moved on.

mb2326
21 Sep 2007, 13:48

stuart dew
monty
nick stevens

Not to mention the 41 players that voted for a broken down Primus to be captain ahead of Mr No friends.

Total Power
21 Sep 2007, 13:49

stuart dew
monty
nick stevens

Mcgregor
Meesen
Mattner
Hudson
Jericho

No one wants to play for crowies these days, you dont even need to delist ANYONE this year jackie :D

God_King
21 Sep 2007, 13:59
Mcgregor
Meesen
Mattner
Hudson
Jericho

No one wants to play for crowies these days, you dont even need to delist ANYONE this year jackie :D
And than when you threaten to leave your 'team mates' start sending you abusive text messages. How sad:thumbsd:

God_King
21 Sep 2007, 14:00
If they disliked him it would be EXTREMELY obvious while 30 cameras are on.
Of course i guess your theory is more likely true than what the camera shows:o

Rafa Benitez
21 Sep 2007, 14:25

stuart dew
monty
nick stevens

You lost it with those names mate.

Stewy and Warren are good mates.

Spadge
21 Sep 2007, 14:33

Stewy and Warren are good mates.not just that but Dewy and Warren are in business together. They both part own the Hyde Park tavern

are you saying Dewy would go into business with someone he hates? get a grip jack

out of order
21 Sep 2007, 15:12

Stewy and Warren are good mates.
nah hear what he has to say after a few beers ;)

oh and monty?? He doesnt even hide his dislike of the gimp.

mb2326
21 Sep 2007, 17:45
And than when you threaten to leave your 'team mates' start sending you abusive text messages. How sad:thumbsd:

Ask Nick Stevens what abuse he copped after he left the Power...hypocrit

Salopek31
21 Sep 2007, 17:53
nah hear what he has to say after a few beers ;)

oh and monty?? He doesnt even hide his dislike of the gimp.

Like in the moments after the final siren sounded at the 2004 GF....

http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m118/Tas_015/TreddersandMonty.jpg

God_King
21 Sep 2007, 17:54

Indeed
Just let them go, they need something to hang on to:o

claf-43
21 Sep 2007, 17:58
Ask Nick Stevens what abuse he copped after he left the Power...hypocrit

after he left, your guy copped it when he was still listed :thumbsu:

mb2326
21 Sep 2007, 17:59

http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m118/Tas_015/TreddersandMonty.jpg

The fall out happened in 2005, everyone knows that

Rory
21 Sep 2007, 18:01
The fall out happened in 2005, everyone knows that

You're great at making stuff up as you go along :thumbsu:

dyertribe
21 Sep 2007, 18:02
What was it about then?

Helix
25 Sep 2007, 02:02
Port belted you in 04... time to move on :)

Yawn. And your season is over. Time to move on.