View Full Version : Crowd v Hawthorn?
Ford Fairlane
21 May 2006, 18:22
Next home game in 2 weeks. What will it draw?
21,970 showed up today and it wasn't even Mother's Day.
Macca19
21 May 2006, 18:29
If we play like the same rabble weve been the last two weeks in the next two weeks, we will be lucky to get 15,000.
And can you blame people for not turning up?
To be expected to pay good money and watch this rubbish.
Russian
21 May 2006, 19:07
Another early game :mad: - if we win the next 2 we might get 23, if we lose them 16 would be good
crows98
21 May 2006, 19:51
And can you blame people for not turning up?
To be expected to pay good money and watch this rubbish.
Yes, I do expect supporter to turn up all the time. They were very happy to gloat about winning a premiership a year and half ago? (it applies to every club not just Port)
Then they should show up when the going get tough, FFS supporter you club in good time and bad, for richer or poorer, in sickness and health, yes football is like a marriage and you have to be committed to the one club, no football adultery. Only the weak will stray and the weak people who whinge about a few bad time should not be welcome when a good team is playing. They are bandwagon fans.
Yes, I do expect supporter to turn up all the time. They were very happy to gloat about winning a premiership a year and half ago? (it applies to every club not just Port)
Then they should show up when the going get tough, FFS supporter you club in good time and bad, for richer or poorer, in sickness and health, yes football is like a marriage and you have to be committed to the one club, no football adultery. Only the weak will stray and the weak people who whinge about a few bad time should not be welcome when a good team is playing. They are bandwagon fans.
I'll be there every game regardless.
But we have that core group who will always go, it is those bandwagoner and casual supporter types that we need to attend to get that crowd number up. These are the kind of people I cannot see having the motivation to turn up given the current state of affairs.
crows98
21 May 2006, 20:13
But we have that core group who will always go, it is those bandwagoner and casual supporter types that we need to attend to get that crowd number up. These are the kind of people I cannot see having the motivation to turn up given the current state of affairs.
I wasn’t pointing the finger mate.
I get bloody annoyed when so called supporters start jumping on the victory bandwagon around finals time and it happens in every sport not just football.
I wasn’t pointing the finger mate.
I get bloody annoyed when so called supporters start jumping on the victory bandwagon around finals time and it happens in every sport not just football.
Yeah I agree with you 100%.
Unfortunately dare I say this will always be the case.
raikkonen
21 May 2006, 20:24
Thats good. It would do your team no good, if fans arent showing. It would be quite disheartening. I think that if you have a season ticket, you should go, and not waste your hard earned on seeing the game on tv. people that do that really sh1t me. The same thing goes for people that leave at half and 3/4 qtr time like they have been these last 2 games. I would never leave a game early because you pay for the whole game, not just part of it.
Capital Power
21 May 2006, 20:34
If I lived in Adelaide I'd have season tickets and be there regardless.
However, as it costs aruond $1,000 to get my son and I to a game, I won't be going over again this season which is sad - we really enjoyed the St Kilda win (remember that??? :(). At least we picked the right one to come to.
JuniorBurger
22 May 2006, 00:49
I will be there as per usual. Unfortunately it is the nature of the AFL that to get the good times you have too endure the bad. Whatever doesn't kill you makes you stronger and all that. :)
Our crowd v Hawthorn. Start with 20k. Beat the Bombers add 2k, lose take off 1k. Then beat the Blues add another 2k, lose take off another 1k. So best case 24k, worst case 18k.
As it's probably another early start and with the way that we have been performing of late................................... my guess would be around the
17k mark.
People are not only peeved with the results of the game, but are getting sick of the early games on the Sunday.
Nightwolf
22 May 2006, 12:35
Itll be a packed house because everybody knows its going to be a Port Win. We seem to stay at home when up against your mob..
raikkonen
22 May 2006, 13:08
As it's probably another early start and with the way that we have been performing of late................................... my guess would be around the
17k mark.
People are not only peeved with the results of the game, but are getting sick of the early games on the Sunday.
Have to take what gets dealt. Last year you guys werent complaining with 9 home night matches? In saying this, Everyone should get an even spread of all timeslots though.
Ray Nolan
22 May 2006, 15:10
I'll be back for yet more punishment.
Toots Hibbert
22 May 2006, 17:37
I'll be back for yet more punishment.
Ditto but if we were given grounds for optimism that steps were being taken to set things back on track we'd have more company.
Have to take what gets dealt. Last year you guys werent complaining with 9 home night matches? In saying this, Everyone should get an even spread of all timeslots though.
I have no complaint what-so-ever with night games. Even late Sunday games but these 12.40 starts are a bit ridiculous.
Yes they should be spread around so that everyone has an even spread of all time slots. But tell me, how many early starts does your team have on a Sunday this season?? By looking at the fixture, maybe 2?? Is that correct?
crows98
22 May 2006, 17:55
I have no complaint what-so-ever with night games. Even late Sunday games but these 12.40 starts are a bit ridiculous.
Yes they should be spread around so that everyone has an even spread of all time slots. But tell me, how many early starts does your team have on a Sunday this season?? By looking at the fixture, maybe 2?? Is that correct?
I don’t understand either why they have a 12:40 start, it’s not like channel 9 have that start time to fit in 2 game on the Sunday. The Fox Footy game will start sometime during the second quarter or just after half time so that would not influence anything either.
If they want to have a 12:40pm game have the second game start at 3:40pm and make channel 9 telecasts both game live or start all 3 Sunday game at 1:40pm (2:10pm EST)
Arsene Wenger
22 May 2006, 18:10
il be there regardless
raikkonen
22 May 2006, 19:31
We have 3 inc. the showdown later this year, and you have 4. Big difference. We have 4 Saturday afternoon games at home and you have....none! Quit complaining. If you really supported your team, you'd go and see them at any hour. I dont give a sh1t what time we play.
12.40 start, if you already have a ticket there is no need to get there earlier than 12.30, so leave (for most) at 11-11.30, is when I leave (for PA games) and I have time to grab lunch and see people, and im coming from TTG.
I know some people have kids that have sport, which is fair enough, but what is everyone else's excuse?
Having 12.40 as a start time doesnt have any affect on your crowd anyway. You guys have managed to do that quite well by yourselves this year.
Sandola
22 May 2006, 19:51
I don’t understand either why they have a 12:40 start, it’s not like channel 9 have that start time to fit in 2 game on the Sunday. The Fox Footy game will start sometime during the second quarter or just after half time so that would not influence anything either.
If they want to have a 12:40pm game have the second game start at 3:40pm and make channel 9 telecasts both game live or start all 3 Sunday game at 1:40pm (2:10pm EST)
12:40 in Adelaide = 1.10 in the eastern states, where those games are broadcast to. In other words, the club got all these 12.40 starts to broaden our appeal in the east. I don't think it's working out well this year (although I personally love it -- in theory; so far the games themselves have been, well, you know -- since I don't have Fox and rely on the fta games).
Troy Wingate
22 May 2006, 20:05
We have 3 inc. the showdown later this year, and you have 4. Big difference. We have 4 Saturday afternoon games at home and you have....none! Quit complaining. If you really supported your team, you'd go and see them at any hour. I dont give a sh1t what time we play.
12.40 start, if you already have a ticket there is no need to get there earlier than 12.30, so leave (for most) at 11-11.30, is when I leave (for PA games) and I have time to grab lunch and see people, and im coming from TTG.
I know some people have kids that have sport, which is fair enough, but what is everyone else's excuse?
Having 12.40 as a start time doesnt have any affect on your crowd anyway. You guys have managed to do that quite well by yourselves this year.
I go to every home game that we have. My complaint is that yes, some people have other committments prior to getting to a 12.40 game.
So you have 3 Sunday arvo games this season?? Dont forget the showdown at the end of the season is our home game not the crows so you can mark that one off.
I would love some Saturday arvo games at home. So you dont like the Saturday arvo games then?? Tough, stop whinging :D
raikkonen
22 May 2006, 21:38
I go to every home game that we have. My complaint is that yes, some people have other committments prior to getting to a 12.40 game.
So you have 3 Sunday arvo games this season?? Dont forget the showdown at the end of the season is our home game not the crows so you can mark that one off.
I would love some Saturday arvo games at home. So you dont like the Saturday arvo games then?? Tough, stop whinging :D
^I said that (and besides, that will be sold out anyway). And I never said i didn't like Saturday arvo's either. There is just a perception that Saturday arvo is the least preferred time to play amongst all SA footy fans, which is why i mentioned it. Personally, I'd love to see my team play more Monday Night games, I went to the saints game and thoroughly enjoyed it even though port won. Gives me a reason to look foward to a monday. :thumbsu:
maccas_no1
23 May 2006, 09:08
Like all supporters have to go through the lows, because when the club is successful again it is ohhh so much sweeter:thumbsu: