View Full Version : Angus Monfries - yap yap yap
morgoth
22 May 2006, 11:18
Monfries gets rave reviews from bummer fans but I fail to see it. Does not get much of the ball, serviceable by foot but not great and has the build of a wet rag. Is not ready for AFL footy, lacks size.
He has either come from the Jason Wunderlich school of weight lifting or Dean Rioli and Richie Cole are stealing the food from his plate. Either way he needs what Dean has, bulk.
Longy413
22 May 2006, 11:49
Same height and weight as Dale Thomas. He's pretty strong for his size, rarely pushed out of position.
He's going alright, we're quite happy with him, given he slipped to pick 12.
morgoth
22 May 2006, 11:55
No one slips to pick 12, it means 11 other club throught there were better players on offer. I guess he is another gun like Bolton and Henneman.
He is just too light for AFL footy, simple as that. Have a look at one of the scuffles yesterday, Angus runs in, West Coast players puts his arm out and he flew 3 feet backwards. Was hilarious.
Longy413
22 May 2006, 12:04
Having the ability to fight isn't a requirement to becoming an AFL footballer.
He's a developing youngster, with a youngsters body. He came to us at 69kg's. He's now 76kg's (the same as Dale Thomas). His lack of size hasn't held him back yet. If you want to judge him as a finished product, then go ahead.
Players do slip in a draft, for a number of reasons. Clubs requirements, injuries. Judd slipped to 3. It's a strange thing the draft, blokes go earlier than expected, some go later.
And I'm not sure anyone pretends Bolton or Henneman are guns. Thought you could manage better than pulling out a line like that.
GeneralDisarray
22 May 2006, 13:23
Will be a gun
Lance Uppercut
22 May 2006, 13:53
I'll have a nibble cos I'm bored.
Once this 19 year old kid turns into a man, he'll be a beast. In his mid 20's he'll be a little powerhouse, in the Ben Cousins mould. Troll him all you like, you'd love him in your team.
Jimbeam
22 May 2006, 14:32
Having the ability to fight isn't a requirement to becoming an AFL footballer.
He's a developing youngster, with a youngsters body. He came to us at 69kg's. He's now 76kg's (the same as Dale Thomas). His lack of size hasn't held him back yet. If you want to judge him as a finished product, then go ahead.
Players do slip in a draft, for a number of reasons. Clubs requirements, injuries. Judd slipped to 3. It's a strange thing the draft, blokes go earlier than expected, some go later.
And I'm not sure anyone pretends Bolton or Henneman are guns. Thought you could manage better than pulling out a line like that.
Monfires is your best kid by a mile, in all serious i think the rest from the last 3 years are all very average c graders at best... I remember saying this before the season started that essendon are all hype and are way over rated..
Stanton looks ok, bradly slow tall hack with no real position, laycock same as bradly just another tall thats going to slow you down and the game will just run them over into insignificance. Ryder another tall why would you draft another tall ffs? Slattery mean tough prick but really not much other than a close checking defender. Johns OMG talk about over rated..
the list goes on and on, this list is talent less, fair dinkum wheres the middle aged talent? mcphee and mcveigh the rest are too :D:D:Ding slow with no real dynamic, your older aged players are the only hope for this club, lucas, lloyd,ramma,rioli,hird,fletch. where is the young players ready to take over?? not one player looks half decent other than angus and maybe stanton and even then they are not in the same league as h.shaw,thomas,pendles,rusling,tcloke,egan,harry ect ect..
You guys need to trade some dead wood quick, campo, heff, rioli, solo ect ect and start to rebuild correctly this year, if not sheeds should fsuck off, we only kept 50% of our players after 03? the good ones :thumbsu:
MACDAICOS
22 May 2006, 14:40
Here we go again..............:rolleyes:
MONFRIES>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>.DIDAK & THOMAS.
Monfries is a better player than Thomas.
Like Blight said, Thomas wouldnt have even come close to any brownlow votes so far.
Sure he can take a speccy and kick a good goal. 50 metres really tests Thomas and he is built like a twig.
MACDAICOS
22 May 2006, 14:46
Monfries is a better player than Thomas.
Like Blight said, Thomas wouldnt have even come close to any brownlow votes so far.
Sure he can take a speccy and kick a good goal. 50 metres really tests Thomas and he is built like a twig.
LOL...................Yeah I know 55 meters tested Thomas on Anzac Day!
morgoth
22 May 2006, 14:59
Hmmm so Angus weighs the same as Dale hey?
Pity that Dale is in his first year of AFL whilst little Angus is in his second. Dale will muscle up in the off season and has helped to change the way the Pies play. What's little Angus done apart from run around like a headless chook.
You seem to be struggling of late morgy, you used to throw out some decent bait back in the day. Quiet day at work mate?
I hope you feel better about yourself one day, Morgoth.
Monfries 5 goals against the Lions was awesome.
Monfries >>>> Thomas.
MACDAICOS
22 May 2006, 15:11
Monfries 5 goals against the Lions was awesome.
Monfries >>>> Thomas.
Yeah that's what I said mate...................
RoosterLad
22 May 2006, 15:12
I'd take Monfries, hes a good young lad.
And nobody slips to pick 12??? There have been plenty of blokes picked up later than pick 12 who have turned out far better than those selected before them. morgoth you are a :D:D:D:Ding knobhead
Dal Santo went at pick 13.
Enough said.
eastaugh36
22 May 2006, 15:16
I'd take Monfries, hes a good young lad.
And nobody slips to pick 12??? There have been plenty of blokes picked up later than pick 12 who have turned out far better than those selected before them. morgoth you are a :D:D:D:Ding knobhead
Well said. He must be struggling if he correlates a draft position to how good a player is or will be. Going on that, Hird is a dud and Bolton is a top player in the league!
Monfries is going to be great for us, maybe he is just bitter because they overlooked him for soft**** Egan. :D
Longy413
22 May 2006, 15:18
Almost one of the most uneducated posts on BigFooty.
Smokin_Joe
22 May 2006, 15:41
Shoulder surgery at the end of last season made it hard to do upper body weights...
Averages 1 less disposal than didak and has kicked 5 less goals...and considering the pies are flyin and we arent i think he's doing very well. He's got more courage than didak and daisy put together also...
MACDAICOS
22 May 2006, 15:43
Shoulder surgery at the end of last season made it hard to do upper body weights...
Averages 1 less disposal than didak and has kicked 5 less goals...and considering the pies are flyin and we arent i think he's doing very well. He's got more courage than didak and daisy put together also...
MONFRIES>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>DIDAK!
Yes has the potential to become the next Courtney Johns
morgoth
22 May 2006, 16:22
Struggling yeah, almost as much as the Bummers. So I guess that is pretty bad.
Monfries will not be the star bummers think he will be, these are the same clowns who raved about Johns, Rioli and Bradley.
MACDAICOS
22 May 2006, 16:26
Yes has the potential to become the next Courtney Johns
Courtney Johns = Pre Season leagend!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
He should win the 2006 "Gonna Award"...........
MACDAICOS
22 May 2006, 16:28
Monfries will not be the star bummers think he will be, these are the same clowns who raved about Johns, Rioli and Bradley.
Did you know after rond 2 Monfries had 1 more possesion and had kicked 1 more goal than Didak!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Then came the last quarter Anzac Day!!!!!!!!! Oh dear.............
MONFRIES>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>DIDAK!
eastaugh36
22 May 2006, 18:10
You wouldn't know. :rolleyes:
Bombers 2003
22 May 2006, 18:44
And what about the clowns who rave on about those brilliant "footballers"
The Cloke brothers and the Shaw Brothers.
I mean even Fevola oe Angwin would have better football brains compared to those duds.
morgoth
28 May 2006, 17:00
I take it all back, he is a gun. Huge impact last night, he was so good that Sheeds was worried about him blowing the game out so he kept him on the bench.
Got thrown around like a rag doll again.
I take it all back, he is a gun. Huge impact last night, he was so good that Sheeds was worried about him blowing the game out so he kept him on the bench.
Have you got a thing about picking on kids?
Far better player than Rhyce Shaw was earlier in his career. Do you rate him now?
This coming from the man who said Tambling was a wasted draft pick and ordinary :eek:
Monfries was on Richmond's radar, however they opted for Danny Meyer on the basis that whilst Monfries was more of a ball magnet, Meyer had better disposal
I think both will be good players for their clubs. Its far to early to go writing of mofnries just yet.
morgoth
28 May 2006, 18:22
Why not? I have had to put up with Dids, Shaw, Josh and many others being caned for years. But of don' tpick on the poor bumblers or a squib like Mitchell, sorry Tambling.
Go :D:D:D:D yourselfs.
Why not? I have had to put up with Dids, Shaw, Josh and many others being caned for years. But of don' tpick on the poor bumblers or a squib like Mitchell, sorry Tambling.
Go yourselfs.
True
but the intelligent supporters would know that didak is not a dud.
Heath Shaw is a gun
and Josh Fraser is a skillfull big man
If you think tambling is :D:D:D:D or a squib, your obviously a typical collingwood feral.
eastaugh36
28 May 2006, 19:07
This coming from the man who said Tambling was a wasted draft pick and ordinary :eek:
Monfries was on Richmond's radar, however they opted for Danny Meyer on the basis that whilst Monfries was more of a ball magnet, Meyer had better disposal
I think both will be good players for their clubs. Its far to early to go writing of mofnries just yet.
Does it really surprise you about that tosser? His limited football knowledge has been exposed more than his side's failure to win premierships.
wazzabp
28 May 2006, 21:17
Monfries is going OK. Hes got time on his hands and shows a willlingness to put his body on the line and has a red hot go. Like many d#$kheads on here, they choose to slag players off, no matter what club, no matter how inexperienced after a below average game.
E.G. Didn't hear too much when he kicked 5 a few weeks ago.:rolleyes:
jerry springer
28 May 2006, 21:30
Courtney Johns = Pre Season leagend!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
He should win the 2006 "Gonna Award"...........
you cant win it 2 years in a row
wazzabp
28 May 2006, 21:32
Thats right, Jason Cloke wins that every year.
morgoth
29 May 2006, 09:32
Ha ha Jason Cloke would be the Dons CHB! Can't get a game for us but then again we have some backmen other than Keplar Hackley.
Yeah I am sure little Angus will be a gun once he puts on about 50 kgs and manages to get his hands on the ball.
MACDAICOS
29 May 2006, 11:28
I agree sorry mate..................By the way...........
MONFRIES>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>DIDAK
(cough, cough)
morgoth
19 May 2008, 09:29
Yep, spot on, if the Bumblers had anything decent they would delist this hack.
eastaugh36
20 May 2008, 23:29
Took you 2 years to reply? I know who you support but surely you're not that slow.
Anyway, Egan is still on your list so using that logic Monfries has every right to still be on ours.
Freddy Bassett
20 May 2008, 23:37
Needs to get to Adelaide if he wants to have an AFL career. Not sure being a Bomber is a good place for a kid to develop.... Too many sour people
KingsCrow
21 May 2008, 00:01
Yep. Monfries to Adelaide STAT. Gibbs to Adelaide STAT.
We will turn them into guns. Victorian clubs have no clue how to develope talent :o
Good point
and we probably still will:thumbsu:
eastaugh36
21 May 2008, 22:13
Good point
and we probably still will:thumbsu:
How about you support your players instead of sucking up to a Collingwood cretin?
Listen
1 I wasn't sucking up as you call it
2 He is very tradeable and form below par for a 5th year player
3 You want to check your attitude before screaming that shit at me
4 I dont find defending the indefensible that meritorious
eastaugh36
21 May 2008, 23:25
Listen
1 I wasn't sucking up as you call it
2 He is very tradeable and form below par for a 5th year player
3 You want to check your attitude before screaming that shit at me
4 I dont find defending the indefensible that meritorious
Sorry. Just uptight like all of us lately. Sure he has had a bad season so far but he was in the best on the weekend so I'm trying to be positive. I can't explain it but there is just something that tells me he can make it with us but yeah he needs to get going now and become consistent and back up his decent performance on Sunday.
No worries
I am disaapointed in Angus too. He had such a good start to his career and one player i looked to really develop but he has ground to a halt.
I don't see him making the side going forward [half useful now] unless his ball handling and decisions settle. He is one of the few we can trade, good for him and the club going forward. :thumbsu:
bomba4eva
21 May 2008, 23:49
If we can get a second rounder for him then trade him. Ill happily take a 3rd rounder also. He has stalled dramatically in his development which is unfortunate. Played ok on the weekend without being great. Too many clangers. Positive is that he found the pill enough times. Needs to use it better. Hope to see him playing like he did on the weekend, but hitting targets for a change. Good luck to you Monfries. God knows Essendon need a lift.
If we can get a second rounder for him then trade him. Ill happily take a 3rd rounder also.
Second rounder would be a dream, bomba, but it might be packaged. I hope he can turn it around, he has the talent and I hope it is a confidence thing. No doubt it is harder when the team is performing poorly to shine, and yourself and easty were right about his game against sydney. It is just not enough
bomba4eva
22 May 2008, 00:10
Second rounder would be a dream, bomba, but it might be packaged. I hope he can turn it around, he has the talent and I hope it is a confidence thing. No doubt it is harder when the team is performing poorly to shine, and yourself and easty were right about his game against sydney. It is just not enough
2nd rounder is probably extremely optimistic. I am an optimist though. He has fallen away over the past couple of seasons and doesnt look like fulfilling the potential we all saw in him. Perhaps a new club could untap the bountiful gold he has to offer. Fingers crossed he takes his chance over the course of this season or else he will be out the door.
Collins-Langford-Ayres
22 May 2008, 02:03
I like Monfries. I think he is played out of position a little with Essendon's personnel issues. Admit he needs to continue to develop, but he is only young and some blokes take a little while longer to develop. Wouldn't mind having him at Hawthorn.
CLA, he has got pluck and demeanor, and you are right might need another crack somewhere. Hawthorn would be a treat for him but dont see him in your best 22
eastaugh36
26 Jul 2008, 18:18
Monfries gets rave reviews from bummer fans but I fail to see it. Does not get much of the ball, serviceable by foot but not great and has the build of a wet rag. Is not ready for AFL footy, lacks size.
He has either come from the Jason Wunderlich school of weight lifting or Dean Rioli and Richie Cole are stealing the food from his plate. Either way he needs what Dean has, bulk.
Monfries has another good game to help sink Moron Morgoth's ferals!
:D
boncer34
26 Jul 2008, 18:38
Jeez Morgoth. That was one hell of a bump and its back to bite you.
Tomorrows_Nobody
26 Jul 2008, 19:00
http://i33.tinypic.com/34gvtpz.jpg
Collins-Langford-Ayres
26 Jul 2008, 21:25
I'll have a nibble cos I'm bored.
Once this 19 year old kid turns into a man, he'll be a beast. In his mid 20's he'll be a little powerhouse, in the Ben Cousins mould. Troll him all you like, you'd love him in your team.
Let's be clear, the only thing that Cousins and Monfries have in common is that neither has played a decent game of AFL footy this year.
Raskolnikov
26 Jul 2008, 21:35
It must suck being you.:o
morgoth
26 Jul 2008, 22:30
It must suck being you.:o
Nah, all good fun, kind of.
great bump Eastaugh:thumbsu:
eastaugh36
27 Jul 2008, 13:29
Let's be clear, the only thing that Cousins and Monfries have in common is that neither has played a decent game of AFL footy this year.
Incorrect. Try again.