View Full Version : Central Highlands

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

Gadget
18 Jan 2007, 10:23
Sounds to me you maybe Gadget, Pelican & Scoots.

Or have you got one of your mates to logon to defend you because your getting creamed on Luke Cumm??
Hey!! Don't put me in that category Jonny Utah. Interesting 1st post from you though? How'd you hear about this site???

Johny Utah
18 Jan 2007, 10:38
Hey!! Don't put me in that category Jonny Utah. Interesting 1st post from you though? How'd you hear about this site???

Turn it up.

I found out from Bodie at the fifty year storm at Bells Beach just before he paddled out.

Johny Utah
18 Jan 2007, 11:08
Anyway back to football.

Can anyone tell me how the recruiting is going down Hepburn way?

How many haved either moved on or retired from last year.

Waubra don't seem to have picked up to many from what I can gather.
I would seriously doubt Waubra could go back to back, I have seen some of there players of late & the only hunger the seem to have is for THE PISS & food.

Ballan, Learmonth & Bungaree seem to be doing ok as well.

How are Daylesford looking... from the games i saw last year they wern't to far off it last year - just lacked a good CHF.

I get the feeling the Comp might go up another cog this year.

Brett Lee
18 Jan 2007, 11:42
Turn it up.

I found out from Bodie at the fifty year storm at Bells Beach just before he paddled out.

i might have just pissed myself, its very rare I laugh uncontrollably after reading something. Funniest comment of the thread so far.

learmonth
18 Jan 2007, 12:58
Anyway back to football.

Can anyone tell me how the recruiting is going down Hepburn way?

How many haved either moved on or retired from last year.

Waubra don't seem to have picked up to many from what I can gather.
I would seriously doubt Waubra could go back to back, I have seen some of there players of late & the only hunger the seem to have is for THE PISS & food.

Ballan, Learmonth & Bungaree seem to be doing ok as well.

How are Daylesford looking... from the games i saw last year they wern't to far off it last year - just lacked a good CHF.

I get the feeling the Comp might go up another cog this year.

Daylesford are in talks with Maxwell, though I believe he will play in the wimmera league. They have also signed up Travis Grigg from Dunstown who previously played there. Jake Saivage from C/Linton is close to signing along with a couple of other C/Linton Boys- Raynor.???
Luther Dean from Sebas is also back there with good mate Adam Hall.

Hepburn are still trying to sign thoses 6 players from Nthn Bullants..Not sure what luck they are having, but they are throwing some decent coin around which Learmonth cant match, as we have spoken to one of them.
Also have signed one of the best players in country Vic in Brendan Shephers.. Is a machine... Played at Castlemaine and last year was playing at Kyabram for a $1000 a game. Played under Robbo at Castlemaine when they won the premiership.

Learmonth signings to date are- Charlie Edmonston (Dukie B&F winner in 2006), Brenton Walker- Lake Wendouree- Kicked 100 goals for Nth Ballarat juniors. Matthew Lockett- Nth City/Daylesford, Dom Morrison (Rover)- Lake Wendouree, Matt Elder (Ruckman)- Lake Wendouree.... There will be more in the next few weeks from Wimmera and BFL clubs.....

Gruss Monkey
18 Jan 2007, 13:10
Learmonth signings to date are- Charlie Edmonston (Dukie B&F winner in 2006), Brenton Walker- Lake Wendouree- Kicked 100 goals for Nth Ballarat juniors. Matthew Lockett- Nth City/Daylesford, Dom Morrison (Rover)- Lake Wendouree, Matt Elder (Ruckman)- Lake Wendouree.... There will be more in the next few weeks from Wimmera and BFL clubs.....

Have you guys also got that kid back from East? Has anyone left/retired that played for Learmonth last year?

Don't Argue
18 Jan 2007, 13:15
Daylesford are in talks with Maxwell, though I believe he will play in the wimmera league. They have also signed up Travis Grigg from Dunstown who previously played there. Jake Saivage from C/Linton is close to signing along with a couple of other C/Linton Boys- Raynor.???

I had heard Pring and Saivage were heading to Daylesford. Raynor and Porter to Bunningyong.

Hepburn are still trying to sign thoses 6 players from Nthn Bullants..Not sure what luck they are having, but they are throwing some decent coin around which Learmonth cant match, as we have spoken to one of them.
Also have signed one of the best players in country Vic in Brendan Shephers.. Is a machine... Played at Castlemaine and last year was playing at Kyabram for a $1000 a game. Played under Robbo at Castlemaine when they won the premiership.

Shepherd will be a huge inclusion. He was an animal in the Bendigo League a few years back and I'd imagine he'd still play the same sort of game. Great sign by Hepburn.

Johny Utah
18 Jan 2007, 13:19

Thanks for the update Learmonth.

Where does Shepers play?

Don't Argue
18 Jan 2007, 13:28
Where does Shepers play?

Anywhere he fu<kin' wants...

Was good for Castlemaine off the half back line. Intimidating sort of player with Gorilla sized shoulders.

Johny Utah
18 Jan 2007, 13:31
Anywhere he fu<kin' wants...

Was good for Castlemaine off the half back line. Intimidating sort of player with Gorilla sized shoulders.

I'm picturing Blanker off Street Fight 2.

I'm looking forward to watching him play.

Don't Argue
18 Jan 2007, 13:36
I'm picturing Blanker off Street Fight 2.

I'm looking forward to watching him play.

Haha. Well he was a gun player in the Bendigo league and did a fair bit of damage. I don't know whether he is getting a bit old, but he should be a solid contributor for Hepburn.

Jarman03
18 Jan 2007, 13:45
Is Brendan Shepherd the blonde bloke in the interleague a couple of years ago that knocked a bloke from the Hampton League out and broke his Jaw. If so he is a wrecking machine, good get.
Some really good pick ups there learmonth especially the lakers young players, elder whilst I believe prone to injury can play, and walker kicked quite a few goals this year in the lakers seniors by all reports. Did mcguigan end up going out to learmonth to, any reports on faull and nicholls.
So far Daylesford and LEarmonth appear to be the big movers although whilst Gordon are a long way back and certainly not at the same level as these two, a mate told me over the weekend that there will be some pretty handy recruits heading out there.

Don't Argue
18 Jan 2007, 13:51
Is Brendan Shepherd the blonde bloke in the interleague a couple of years ago that knocked a bloke from the Hampton League out and broke his Jaw. If so he is a wrecking machine, good get.

I don't think he was blonde. It's 4 years since I saw him and from memory he had dark hair.

learmonth
18 Jan 2007, 13:57
I don't think he was blonde. It's 4 years since I saw him and from memory he had dark hair.

Na he doesnt have blonde hair, but he is the guy that smashed the Hampdens guys jar... Averages one every 4 games. Picks guys off from the h/back and can be very dangerous..Is as strong as an ox, and quick and has a big leap.. Plays h/back, but does go through the middle and forward.. About 6ft tall, 100kg..but all muscle.
Have played against him a few times and I rate him very high...

Mcguigan has signed at Learmonth and is having a very good pre-season...expect big things from him through the middle this season.

Faull & Giggs staying at East/Point as Faulls old man is coaching the 2's. Think it was a ploy to keep him there. Probably be back at Newlyn next season.

learmonth
18 Jan 2007, 14:00
Have you guys also got that kid back from East? Has anyone left/retired that played for Learmonth last year?

Only player that may be leaving Learmonth is Chris Robertson, who may be moving to WA for work, but that is not definant yet. All other players are staying put, and that is great news for the club..No use recruiting 6 if u lose 6...

Gruss Monkey
18 Jan 2007, 14:10
Does anyone know know if Peake and Sam Newton are going again at Hepburn? I someone said that Sam might be going overseas or something???

Gadget
18 Jan 2007, 14:24
Only player that may be leaving Learmonth is Chris Robertson, who may be moving to WA for work, but that is not definant yet. All other players are staying put, and that is great news for the club..No use recruiting 6 if u lose 6...
Robertson won't go. He's got 6 months left of aprrenticeship and will stick at it and then possibly head to WA. Good news for you Learmonth as he can turn it on when he wants to.

thekid178
18 Jan 2007, 14:33
whats the latest in regards to the grounds in the central highlands league? r they looking at pushing back a start date like other leagues? how many grounds will/wont get up???

Don't Argue
18 Jan 2007, 14:43
Na he doesnt have blonde hair, but he is the guy that smashed the Hampdens guys jar... Averages one every 4 games. Picks guys off from the h/back and can be very dangerous..Is as strong as an ox, and quick and has a big leap.. Plays h/back, but does go through the middle and forward.. About 6ft tall, 100kg..but all muscle.
Have played against him a few times and I rate him very high...

Yeah, he makes guys think twice on the half forward line.

How old is he now?

learmonth
18 Jan 2007, 14:55
Yeah, he makes guys think twice on the half forward line.

How old is he now?

he's around 25-26..looks older then what he is..

Peake has signed at castlemaine...Not sure about Sam Newton...

Don't Argue
18 Jan 2007, 15:04
he's around 25-26..looks older then what he is..

Peake has signed at castlemaine...Not sure about Sam Newton...

He looked 30 about 4 years ago.

What sort of cash would they have offered him?

Fence Sitter
18 Jan 2007, 15:35

Learmonth are you kidding the only decent signing here is plugger. the other 3 are only juniors, Walker kicked 100 goals as an under 16, he did play seniors with lakers last year but hardly set the world on fire and I think he finished in the 2's ... to offer him supossedly $130 - 160/game, you must pay your local and loyal kids well.
At least hepburn "throwing some decent coin around which Learmonth cant match" put money into people who can win a game for them.

Travis Grigg from Dunstown will be handy pick up, if you are right.
How do you reckon the C/linton blokes will go in this league, They may add some depth but cant see them making a difference in this league. Daylesford is building nicely and have the hunger to take next step, after being stopped at prelim, they were 10 goals worse than Waubra but reckon they're closing the gap. Have they lost any?

learmonth
18 Jan 2007, 15:53
Learmonth are you kidding the only decent signing here is plugger. the other 3 are only juniors, Walker kicked 100 goals as an under 16, he did play seniors with lakers last year but hardly set the world on fire and I think he finished in the 2's ... to offer him supossedly $130 - 160/game, you must pay your local and loyal kids well.
At least hepburn "throwing some decent coin around which Learmonth cant match" put money into people who can win a game for them.

How do you reckon the C/linton blokes will go in this league, They may add some depth but cant see them making a difference in this league. Daylesford is building nicely and have the hunger to take next step, after being stopped at prelim, they were 10 goals worse than Waubra but reckon they're closing the gap. Have they lost any?

Pretty Harsh Fence Sitter! Give me a reason why they are no good. Can still play juniors and played senior footy last year in the BFL, also if u look at the stats, Walket kicked his goals against quality opposition sides, but in the right environment will be a quality forward..He will make u eat humble pie..., All are going to be very handy senior players for the Learmonth football club.....These young players have ability and will be developed. They are juniors coming back to the club.Ild prefer these players any day then what Ballan has picked up in a few battlers, that everyone is raving on about.....

Also agree, the C/Linton boys wont be standouts, but will fit in well at a strong club....

Don't Argue
18 Jan 2007, 15:54
How do you reckon the C/linton blokes will go in this league, They may add some depth but cant see them making a difference in this league.

Raynor, Savage, and Pring will add depth as you said.

I don't think people understand how good Porter is though. The guy would carve up any league he plays in. He is athletic, strong, brilliant kick for goal, and tough to stop in the air. He likes to hurt people too which makes him an all round great FF.

If he has recovered after his knee op, he will give most teams a big headache. I know the LPFL is not as good as the CHFL, but this guy should be playing BFL.

learmonth
18 Jan 2007, 15:55

Have heard around 1200 a game.....

Don't Argue
18 Jan 2007, 16:00
Have heard around 1200 a game.....

What would you estimate them to spend each season on the entire team?

And what would a CHFL club spend on average?

learmonth
18 Jan 2007, 16:05

Hepburn would be b/t 90-100,000

Most of the top CHFL teams would be between 50-60k per year, with that to rise in the oming years.

Snail
18 Jan 2007, 16:10
Raynor, Savage, and Pring will add depth as you said.

I don't think people understand how good Porter is though. The guy would carve up any league he plays in. He is athletic, strong, brilliant kick for goal, and tough to stop in the air. He likes to hurt people too which makes him an all round great FF.

If he has recovered after his knee op, he will give most teams a big headache. I know the LPFL is not as good as the CHFL, but this guy should be playing BFL.
Saw Ports about 2 weeks ago & was looking far from athletic, agree he can play but has some work to do 2 dominate this league. On Grigg, did nothing at dunnstown at all, will be good in the 2s for the dogs

the gloved 1
18 Jan 2007, 18:52

his name is brendan shepherd and playedx CHB for Vic Country a few years ago. was playing at kerang in CMFL last year but had a serious shoulder injury about 1/4 of way into season. about 6 foot 4 easy 120kg and can run like the wind and will play anywhere he says he wants to play. he eats pieces of s hit like CHFL players for breakfast

Fence Sitter
18 Jan 2007, 19:02
Pretty Harsh Fence Sitter! Give me a reason why they are no good. Can still play juniors and played senior footy last year in the BFL, also if u look at the stats, Walket kicked his goals against quality opposition sides, but in the right environment will be a quality forward..He will make u eat humble pie..., All are going to be very handy senior players for the Learmonth football club.....These young players have ability and will be developed. They are juniors coming back to the club.Ild prefer these players any day then what Ballan has picked up in a few battlers, that everyone is raving on about.....

Also agree, the C/Linton boys wont be standouts, but will fit in well at a strong club....

I went to VCFL website (http://www.lakers.vcfl.com.au/toptenplayers.asp?team=16490&comp=3814&orgid=3&dimension=1&field=9)
As I didnt have the stats on walker, and you seem to know what you're talking about. You realise he only kicked 23 goals, you said kicked some bags against better sides, so he must have done nothing in the others. I just reckon if the rumour is right that he is telling his mates he is getting around $130 -160's, that would put Mcguigan on $450-500 /game being that he kicked 3 times walker...and that is good coin.
I'm not having a go at the young blokes you have signed and think it is noble that you will try and have sucess with kids coming back home and I havent seen the other 2. good luck...I still like waubra and daylesford and getting keener on Hepburn especially with the tough nut - shepherd.

Anyway I agree with you on the Ballan recruits, however if Ballan improve they will shine, as they have been playing in an ordinary side and it is easier to be an ordinary player in a good side.

Fence Sitter
18 Jan 2007, 19:16

I would have said Hepburn were over $100,000, so it is pretty hard to compete.

Although reckon that the better sides in the comp would $40K -$50K plus coach who could be upto $20K for a playing coach these days and less about a 1/3rd for non playing.
Thats a lot of chook raffles, not sure how it can be maintained at these levels although most clubs have a dip for a few years and then pull back and go again..(except Hepburn)

ROOSTER1
18 Jan 2007, 21:24
Does anyone know know if Peake and Sam Newton are going again at Hepburn? I someone said that Sam might be going overseas or something???

Newton is going or has gone overseas. Peake definitely at Castlemaine

Story is they may have signed Wayne Harmes son from the Bullants.

Also have heard that they have signed a mate of Hollywoods from Darley- a chb to replace Newton- not sure of the name thou.

Shephard trained with Hepburn at times last year. Was on big dollars at Kerang but remember is a CHB VCFL player so warrants the coin. Pretty sure that he isn't on what people are talking at Hepburn. Has played under Robertson before at Castlemaine. He is about 25 and use to play for the Pioneers

Most other players have committed to next year from all reports.

Bdiddy18
19 Jan 2007, 07:34
I think the CHFL has caught the AFL syndrome!! Every pre season local CHFL clubs go around saying how fit their players are, how many recruits they have signed and how well they are going to be!! Obviously you have to 'pump' up your club at this stage of the year to try and entice more players and get local support behind you but I say lets just wait and see on all these players! In regards to Porter im not denying that he is a top quality player however to come back from a knee at around the age of 30 will be tough. From all reports hes not the fittest guy running around either!

learmonth
19 Jan 2007, 08:02
Newton is going or has gone overseas. Peake definitely at Castlemaine

Story is they may have signed Wayne Harmes son from the Bullants.

Also have heard that they have signed a mate of Hollywoods from Darley- a chb to replace Newton- not sure of the name thou.

Shephard trained with Hepburn at times last year. Was on big dollars at Kerang but remember is a CHB VCFL player so warrants the coin. Pretty sure that he isn't on what people are talking at Hepburn. Has played under Robertson before at Castlemaine. He is about 25 and use to play for the Pioneers

Most other players have committed to next year from all reports.

Have heard that there are a few more leaving rooster, can u confirm that Seiz & Carey both wernt offered anywhere what they were paid last year and have decided to leave. Also heard that there may be a few more going back to Castlemaine with Peake.

Gruss Monkey
19 Jan 2007, 08:28
I think the CHFL has caught the AFL syndrome!! Every pre season local CHFL clubs go around saying how fit their players are, how many recruits they have signed and how well they are going to be!!

Couldn't agree more. Some teams/players who get carried away before Christmass, and get super fit early, run the risk of getting injured or burnt out before the season even starts. Its a long year and there is still plenty of time for players to get fit and loose the KGs that they may have put on during the break. Having said that, the season will no doubt sneak up on a few and now is a good time to start getting stuck into some decent training.

Johny Utah
19 Jan 2007, 08:42
Couldn't agree more. Some teams/players who get carried away before Christmass, and get super fit early, run the risk of getting injured or burnt out before the season even starts. Its a long year and there is still plenty of time for players to get fit and loose the KGs that they may have put on during the break. Having said that, the season will no doubt sneak up on a few and now is a good time to start getting stuck into some decent training.

Agree Also Gruss. I 've been keeping fit chasing the perfect wave & i take the skin off chicken so i haven't put on to much weight either.Whilst you don't need to be super fit at this stage, it doesn't hurt to keep a reasonable level of fitness.You don't want ot look like my late partner Angelo Papis when you start training. You are more prone to injury especially on the hard grounds.

Montyposty
19 Jan 2007, 10:10

Are you sure you have all these blokes signed, as 1 of these players has trained with another club and rumoured to be very happy with training and facilities, this week. :)

Gadget
19 Jan 2007, 10:49
Hey Uncle CC or Astro Boy... Who have waubra signed to date, did they get Browny's brother from Donald? Has Mully gone for good?

Astro Boy
19 Jan 2007, 11:14
Hey Uncle CC or Astro Boy... Who have waubra signed to date, did they get Browny's brother from Donald? Has Mully gone for good?

I think Rohan Brown will be heading back to Donald st this stage... but he's still a chance.

We r chasing Riggs & Paul & Tommy Bourke.

Paul Bourke is a very handy tap ruckman... just ask him after a couple of cans.

We feel Tommy will be able to hold the likes of Mullane -Grant etc.

Harry HP
19 Jan 2007, 11:22

Gadget, i can shed some light on these signings. A bloke called Justin O'Hehir has signed with the club. Has blistering pace and a deadly right foot kick. He also has a great work ethic on the track. Really tries he's hardest. Pretty good bloke too.

Mully gone for good. Browny's brother may be hanging around yet though, from what i hear he went alright with the ladies on satdy night and wants some more of where that came from. He may well be in love.

Think they have also signed Sam Clark for another year. Skontra heard about the lad shotgunning 24 UDL cans in 5 hours at Torquay over the pre-season break, so he could well build team morale at the Waubra functions throughout the year...

learmonth
19 Jan 2007, 11:29
Are you sure you have all these blokes signed, as 1 of these players has trained with another club and rumoured to be very happy with training and facilities, this week. :)

From what I have been told, all these guys will play at Learmonth next season.... Which one are u referring too..Couldnt see many sides having better facilities and ground then Learmonth at this stage....

doppelganger
19 Jan 2007, 11:41
How do you reckon the C/linton blokes will go in this league, They may add some depth but cant see them making a difference in this league. Daylesford is building nicely and have the hunger to take next step, after being stopped at prelim, they were 10 goals worse than Waubra but reckon they're closing the gap. Have they lost any?[/quote]

Only loss so far is Tom Reeves until late May (travelling)... Paul Rahill back in June... those three with Nick Cronin make a formiddable back line... the new non-playing coach should invigour the boys and let Luke Adams to get back what he loves doing...

Montyposty
19 Jan 2007, 12:15
From what I have been told, all these guys will play at Learmonth next season.... Which one are u referring too..Couldnt see many sides having better facilities and ground then Learmonth at this stage....
Keep Posted, can't divulge unlike yourself, as players are not over the line yet, when they are on the park you can say;) you have them.

Gruss Monkey
19 Jan 2007, 13:00
Browny's brother may be hanging around yet though, from what i hear he went alright with the ladies on satdy night and wants some more of where that came from. He may well be in love.

Brown Jnr actually rolled one of his cankles this week at training and may have broken it. The physio had difficulties determining if the damage was done to the calf or the ankle as it is very difficult to tell where the calf finishes and the ankle starts on the big man!

the_don88
19 Jan 2007, 13:28

Isn't that what you did last season??
Trained your arse off all preseason, only to get injured and miss out on the first few games. Is that why you aren't training this year??

Gadget
19 Jan 2007, 13:31
It's all fair to say you have the best facilities but what you lack is when it comes finals time.... (ticker) You can't complain with that call AJ.

50+ Years....

Gruss Monkey
19 Jan 2007, 14:06
Isn't that what you did last season??
Trained your arse off all preseason, only to get injured and miss out on the first few games. Is that why you aren't training this year??

Yeah, spot on Don. I'm planning on having cankles by the time the season starts and I've always wanted to weigh in at over a dollar. You won't see me at trainining until early August.

Brett Lee
19 Jan 2007, 14:18
Just incase anyone on here follows Ballarat Cricket there is a BCA thread on www.bigcricket.com (http://www.bigcricket.com) just search for Ballarat if your interested.

Gadget
19 Jan 2007, 14:22
Just incase anyone on here follows Ballarat Cricket there is a BCA thread on www.bigcricket.com (http://www.bigcricket.com) just search for Ballarat if your interested.
Stick ya cricket site up your arrrrse in a nice way Brett Lee... cheers

learmonth
19 Jan 2007, 14:30
It's all fair to say you have the best facilities but what you lack is when it comes finals time.... (ticker) You can't complain with that call AJ.

50+ Years....

Can only judge from last season, and thought the boys equipped themselves very well.... Will be better for the finals run from last season, and if Sobey had been fit, and veldhuis and davies played, im sure they would have made up the 4 points to beat Hepburn....

As for the past 50 years, u may be right, but the culture is changing, and its starting with the locals, who are doing all the hard work and right stuff on the track, that should entail Learmonth to play finals footy again this season....

Gadget
19 Jan 2007, 14:37
Can only judge from last season, and thought the boys equipped themselves very well.... Will be better for the finals run from last season, and if Sobey had been fit, and veldhuis and davies played, im sure they would have made up the 4 points to beat Hepburn....

As for the past 50 years, u may be right, but the culture is changing, and its starting with the locals, who are doing all the hard work and right stuff on the track, that should entail Learmonth to play finals footy again this season....
Good to hear. Also good to hear Shane Powell has been training.

Off Season
19 Jan 2007, 15:05
I would have said Hepburn were over $100,000, so it is pretty hard to compete.

Although reckon that the better sides in the comp would $40K -$50K plus coach who could be upto $20K for a playing coach these days and less about a 1/3rd for non playing.
Thats a lot of chook raffles, not sure how it can be maintained at these levels although most clubs have a dip for a few years and then pull back and go again..(except Hepburn)

Is there a salary cap in the CHFL? Clubs throwing coin around willy nilly is ruining country football. If spending continues to escalate as it has in recent years then a number of CH clubs will fold within 4-6 years.

There are that many hacks running around getting paid half-decent coin simply because club administrators/coaches are willing to believe players' self-inflated egos of themselves, rather than do genuine scouting.

Velvetsledgehammer
19 Jan 2007, 15:27
Stick ya cricket site up your arrrrse in a nice way Brett Lee... cheers

Bit of banter on there about East Point Dan Jordan's cricketing ability....pisser.

Gadget
19 Jan 2007, 15:36
Bit of banter on there about East Point Dan Jordan's cricketing ability....pisser.
F U C K off and die velvet. Nobody cares.

Freak Dodgeball Accident
19 Jan 2007, 16:55

http://www.forumspile.com/STFU-Newbie.jpg

helmut
21 Jan 2007, 13:27
So learmonth, if Ballan's recruits are battlers what does that make your gun recruit Lockett? You've been pumping his tyres up on here for months but seem to forget he was playing seconds at Nth City. Great pick up! At least the blokes we've picked up are hard at the footy, something that Learmonth would know nothing about.

Fridge
21 Jan 2007, 19:14
G'day guys. Just wondering how my mate Leigh Shorter goes down there. Did my trade with him and know he went from Lake Wendouree to Learmonth.
Cheers

Snail
21 Jan 2007, 20:16
********NEWS FLASH********

Word around the traps is that Mr Football, Rodney Watts, isn't happy at that toilet of a club Ballan. With a kid on the way, money talks and bull******** walks fellas, so pull out your cheque books because this guy will take you to September and beyond.
just like he has at ballan?
I hope ur a gun footballer cos i've looked at your posts on this & other threads & all you seem to do is slag off clubs & individuals at will.
Say something constructive.

natterock
21 Jan 2007, 22:06
Can Anyone Tell Me How Anthony Beacham Is Travelling Heard That He Had A Huge Dissagreement With The Commitee At Learmonth And Things Are On Tight Rope At The Moment???

Snoopsta
22 Jan 2007, 08:23
Can Anyone Tell Me How Anthony Beacham Is Travelling Heard That He Had A Huge Dissagreement With The Commitee At Learmonth And Things Are On Tight Rope At The Moment???

This is completey opposite to what a committe member told me last week, they are absolutley rapt with Aj as senior coach. He has completley changed the mindset of the playing list and is very well liked throughout the club. Has been great with the juniors also. So l would gather that your information is way off the mark.

Don't Argue
22 Jan 2007, 08:26
This is completey opposite to what a committe member told me last week, they are absolutley rapt with Aj as senior coach. He has completley changed the mindset of the playing list and is very well liked throughout the club. Has been great with the juniors also. So l would gather that your information is way off the mark.

This guy's done nothing but start rumours and make defamatory comments. I get the feeling he's not from Natte aswell.

learmonth
22 Jan 2007, 09:47
So learmonth, if Ballan's recruits are battlers what does that make your gun recruit Lockett? You've been pumping his tyres up on here for months but seem to forget he was playing seconds at Nth City. Great pick up! At least the blokes we've picked up are hard at the footy, something that Learmonth would know nothing about.

LOckett didnt get along with the coach and didnt put his heart and seol into it. Did have a poor season, am not questioning this, but remeber, was playing major league at Daylesford for 2 seasons out of juniors and was a real success... He will get back to that standard, and will be a major assett.. As for not liking the hard ball at Learmonth, if u look back at last year, I can remember Learmonth beating Ballan easily in both games they met last year. Whats that make Ballan..???? Just because u recruit a few battlers, doesnt mean its gonna make any difference this season..BAllan were a long way of the top 5 last year..?? Only beat sides below them...

learmonth
22 Jan 2007, 09:49
G'day guys. Just wondering how my mate Leigh Shorter goes down there. Did my trade with him and know he went from Lake Wendouree to Learmonth.
Cheers

Nipper had his first year at senior level and improved remarkable from the start of the season.. Is a good size and expect a lot more from him this season, as he gets more confidence and understands the game..Is an athlete and had a few great games towards the end of the year..... Is wanting to learn, and teh club and coaching committee has a lot of time for him...

Really good bloke...

tud34
22 Jan 2007, 09:50
Is there a salary cap in the CHFL? Clubs throwing coin around willy nilly is ruining country football. If spending continues to escalate as it has in recent years then a number of CH clubs will fold within 4-6 years.

There are that many hacks running around getting paid half-decent coin simply because club administrators/coaches are willing to believe players' self-inflated egos of themselves, rather than do genuine scouting.

The Salary got scrapped a few years ago. I believe it was 30k. Was removed after a push from Hepburn to try an attract bigger name players to this league by being able to offer more money. They have always had the money so they wanted to be able to spend it. Once they raffle a truck or Motorbike each year they have the $$$ to be able to splash around.

The Salary cap wasnt controlled that well when it was in anyway. Springbank spent wll over the 30k to buy themselves a couple of premierships. Paid Tranquilly in live stock from what i hear, and cleared some gambling depts of other big name players.

Montyposty
22 Jan 2007, 10:45
Ben Kick you are enquiring about?
Bendigo Thread.
26 year old plays around half the games available each year as allways injured. But does throw his body about at all angles, impossible marks etc he goes for. But Learmonth you are obviously talking to him at your club, just a tip he talks every year to alot of clubs and this year again he is talking to clubs (lots), but a hell of a nice bloke.:rolleyes:

crusader
22 Jan 2007, 11:10

26 Year old i think, and he would be done there for a fair packet, but he will be worth it if he remains injury free.

crusader
22 Jan 2007, 11:12
LOckett didnt get along with the coach and didnt put his heart and seol into it. Did have a poor season, am not questioning this, but remeber, was playing major league at Daylesford for 2 seasons out of juniors and was a real success... He will get back to that standard, and will be a major assett.. As for not liking the hard ball at Learmonth, if u look back at last year, I can remember Learmonth beating Ballan easily in both games they met last year. Whats that make Ballan..???? Just because u recruit a few battlers, doesnt mean its gonna make any difference this season..BAllan were a long way of the top 5 last year..?? Only beat sides below them...

Lockett is ok, but if he is one of your better recruits, you boys havent picked up much, cause you know his attitude can go to s*#t if he is not getting it his way

learmonth
23 Jan 2007, 13:54
Lockett is ok, but if he is one of your better recruits, you boys havent picked up much, cause you know his attitude can go to s*#t if he is not getting it his way

Learmonth had around 40 on the track last night...Amazing what a beautiful ground can do... No chance of injuries out there.....Might have to buy a pair of screws now as the ground is a bit soft!!!!!

Gadget
23 Jan 2007, 14:00
Learmonth had around 40 on the track last night...Amazing what a beautiful ground can do... No chance of injuries out there.....Might have to buy a pair of screws now as the ground is a bit soft!!!!!
Just keep the grass long Learmonth so it gives you somewhere to hide come finals time!!!!! Actually drove past it on the week end and it's looking ridicoulously good. Does the club look after it or council?

ROOSTER1
23 Jan 2007, 14:48
Have heard that there are a few more leaving rooster, can u confirm that Seiz & Carey both wernt offered anywhere what they were paid last year and have decided to leave. Also heard that there may be a few more going back to Castlemaine with Peake.

Heard a rumour that Seiz has a job in Melb and will travel back with a few that are coming form there. Would say Carey may head to Gordon because thats the only place he mite get a game.

There was a bit of talk that the James boys may go back to Castlemaine,however I think that they have committed again. Shephard is travelling from Castlemaine which will make it easier for those players to go back with someone.

learmonth
23 Jan 2007, 15:28
Just keep the grass long Learmonth so it gives you somewhere to hide come finals time!!!!! Actually drove past it on the week end and it's looking ridicoulously good. Does the club look after it or council?

The club looks after it and has two bores to operate from. A guy by the name of Paul Ryan does a magnificent job in keeping the ground up to scratch!!!

learmonth
23 Jan 2007, 15:30
Heard a rumour that Seiz has a job in Melb and will travel back with a few that are coming form there. Would say Carey may head to Gordon because thats the only place he mite get a game.

There was a bit of talk that the James boys may go back to Castlemaine,however I think that they have committed again. Shephard is travelling from Castlemaine which will make it easier for those players to go back with someone.

Have heard that as well, but couldnt see why they would want to pay for seiz to come back!!! Not even worth petrol money with the price of fuel these days!!!

Grimmett
23 Jan 2007, 15:42
Club with an ex-Collingwood player as coach 10 minutes from Ballarat?

Tranquilli and Springbank?

natterock
23 Jan 2007, 15:48
U Talk Learmonth Up Alot. As Long As They Have That Beacham In Charge They Wont Do Any Good!!!
Hepburn Will Win It This Year They Are Spending ******** Loads By All Reports!! Can Anyone Tell Me How That Justin Porter Goes As A Footballer They Are Talking Him Up As The Biggest Recruit Bunny Has Ever Had????

KingRich
23 Jan 2007, 16:02
Club with an ex-Collingwood player as coach 10 minutes from Ballarat?

Tranquilli and Springbank?

Would imagine that is it.... Can think of any others.

Snail
23 Jan 2007, 20:51
U Talk Learmonth Up Alot. As Long As They Have That Beacham In Charge They Wont Do Any Good!!!
Hepburn Will Win It This Year They Are Spending ******** Loads By All Reports!! Can Anyone Tell Me How That Justin Porter Goes As A Footballer They Are Talking Him Up As The Biggest Recruit Bunny Has Ever Had????
Mate ur a joke, AJ like him or not took learmonth to a position where they were a respected outfit and will challenge further in 07, secondly on another thread you spoke about getting on the natte train this yr & get revenge over c/l and now ask if anyone knows porter & whats he like. If you were from natte you would kow him. You dont add up fool

natterock
24 Jan 2007, 06:57
Didn't see Porter play done his knee early in the season u fool!!! Thats why i asked if anyone had seen him play!!!

learmonth
24 Jan 2007, 07:52
Would imagine that is it.... Can think of any others.

Shane Robertson from Hepburn, Played in Carltons 87 flag....

Don't Argue
24 Jan 2007, 08:14
Didn't see Porter play done his knee early in the season u fool!!! Thats why i asked if anyone had seen him play!!!

He played against us in that game at Natte in June or July so you should know how he goes. Also, having to ask how he goes seems a little strange as everyone in the Lexton League knows how he goes regardless of whether they have seen him play. Generally, someone will give you a rundown on the guy when you join the league.

Astro Boy
24 Jan 2007, 09:34
He played against us in that game at Natte in June or July so you should know how he goes. Also, having to ask how he goes seems a little strange as everyone in the Lexton League knows how he goes regardless of whether they have seen him play. Generally, someone will give you a rundown on the guy when you join the league.

Hepburn Spent **** Loads Last Year, whats new?
A team that plays for each other & the jumper will beat a team that plays for coin anyday.

How old is Porter?
What sought of coin would he be on at the Yong?

Don't Argue
24 Jan 2007, 09:49
How old is Porter?
What sought of coin would he be on at the Yong?

Not sure. After poorly guessing Brendon Shepherd's age the other day, I don't know whether I'm qualified for a response.

He's probably around 30. Tall, athletic, tough to beat 1 on 1 and in the air and a perfect kick of the ball. He likes to hurt people too which is always good in a FF.

Velvetsledgehammer
24 Jan 2007, 09:59
Not sure. After poorly guessing Brendon Shepherd's age the other day, I don't know whether I'm qualified for a response.

He's probably around 30. Tall, athletic, tough to beat 1 on 1 and in the air and a perfect kick of the ball. He likes to hurt people too which is always good in a FF.

You are pretty acurate here except the 'tall/athletic' part. He is medium size and stocky(read fat) and rarely gets more than 30 out from goal.

Harry HP
24 Jan 2007, 10:07
[quote=natterock;6589989] Hepburn Will Win It This Year They Are Spending ******** Loads By All Reports!!quote]

Attention Attention everyone, Hepburn are spending heaps of money on there players!!!

Hats off to Captain Obvious natterock!!!

Take a walk mate.

Fence Sitter
24 Jan 2007, 10:10
Mate ur a joke, AJ like him or not took learmonth to a position where they were a respected outfit and will challenge further in 07, secondly on another thread you spoke about getting on the natte train this yr & get revenge over c/l and now ask if anyone knows porter & whats he like. If you were from natte you would kow him. You dont add up fool

Besides Mcgigan who else have you blokes picked up, to say how you're going to be a force in 2007.
I know there were 3 that werent right when you lost to Hepburn by 4 points, but I assume you still played with 18 and not 15.

As Daylesford have improved big time, Waubra have not changed a lot and Hepburn are going crazy again!!

Velvetsledgehammer
24 Jan 2007, 10:16
[quote=natterock;6589989] Hepburn Will Win It This Year They Are Spending ******** Loads By All Reports!!quote]

Attention Attention everyone, Hepburn are spending heaps of money on there players!!!

Hats off to Captain Obvious natterock!!!

Take a walk mate.

Yes Hazza i'm with you there, Natterock has been a shocker so far on this site.

Pull ya socks up and give us something......anything!

Gadget
24 Jan 2007, 10:25
[quote=Harry HP;6594038]

Don't know whats worse Natterocks comment on Hepburn or Velvet calling Harry HP "Hazza"????? Have you moved in with "Hazza" velvet!!!!

Don't Argue
24 Jan 2007, 10:45
You are pretty acurate here except the 'tall/athletic' part. He is medium size and stocky(read fat) and rarely gets more than 30 out from goal.

He'd be 6-2 -6-3 and I have seen him jump over a 6 foot guy to take a grab. Looks are deceiving with him.

Don't Argue
24 Jan 2007, 10:49
[quote=Harry HP;6594038]

Yeah, Natte. Give us something. Tell me where and what time we meet this Friday for training. Where did we train last night?

I think you would be better suited telling us where Carngham trained as 4 out of your 9 posts have had something to do with Carngham and you have yet to provide any info about Natte other than there is some Train Boarding and not taking any passengers.

Harry HP
24 Jan 2007, 14:38
Can you not incorrectly quote me.

Don't Argue
24 Jan 2007, 14:50
Can you not incorrectly quote me.

You talking to me or Gadget?

learmonth
24 Jan 2007, 14:53
Besides Mcgigan who else have you blokes picked up, to say how you're going to be a force in 2007.
I know there were 3 that werent right when you lost to Hepburn by 4 points, but I assume you still played with 18 and not 15.

As Daylesford have improved big time, Waubra have not changed a lot and Hepburn are going crazy again!!

Daylesford have not improved heaps... Have gained 1 midfielder at this stage..Wouldnt say thats massive and a lot of there players are getting older..There biggest weakness is leg speed and that was shown everytime they played on a massive ground..LOST to Learmonth rnd 1, then smashed by Hepburn & Waubra at Learmonth..They need to resurrect that problem 1st.. There biggest strength is their midfield of Winduss/2 X Adams and Obrien but on big grounds, leg speed shows them all up and become a weakness... They also lack depth and always have with only around 25 players that train..Have a look at their 2's
As for Waubra..who have they signed..??? Havent heard anyone definant yet!! And Hepburn..?? Who gives a Sh it.. As stated they are old and play for the $$ no passion there...

doppelganger
24 Jan 2007, 15:10
Was very surprised to hear one of Hepburn's junior mentors admit that the younger players of the club are very p'd off at the moment and Daylesford will be picking up a few under 18s... Got to look after the juniors... they are the future...

Fence Sitter
24 Jan 2007, 15:55
Daylesford have not improved heaps... Have gained 1 midfielder at this stage..Wouldnt say thats massive and a lot of there players are getting older..There biggest weakness is leg speed and that was shown everytime they played on a massive ground..LOST to Learmonth rnd 1, then smashed by Hepburn & Waubra at Learmonth..They need to resurrect that problem 1st.. There biggest strength is their midfield of Winduss/2 X Adams and Obrien but on big grounds, leg speed shows them all up and become a weakness... They also lack depth and always have with only around 25 players that train..Have a look at their 2's
As for Waubra..who have they signed..??? Havent heard anyone definant yet!! And Hepburn..?? Who gives a Sh it.. As stated they are old and play for the $$ no passion there...

I thought I asked who have Learmonth picked AJ? Not give me a run down on your old club.

Waubra will have 2 ex BFL players this year with potential for another 3. Dont bothre asking me to name them as they will be announced over next month.

Hepburn may play for the $$ but at least we spend money and have something to show for it.

Learmonth would spend the 2nd most inthe league given the great facilities and soft ground, when are you going to see them do something, as Mick says on the clock you blokes are heading to 10 past, which means you better hope it happens now or you'll miss it and i reckon you wont coach there next year.

Left Footed Cat
24 Jan 2007, 19:36
when are you going back to the Demons Beach?

learmonth
25 Jan 2007, 08:08
when are you going back to the Demons Beach?

Officially known as the Bulldogs now...the demons are Bungaree,,

learmonth
25 Jan 2007, 08:11
I thought I asked who have Learmonth picked AJ? Not give me a run down on your old club.

Waubra will have 2 ex BFL players this year with potential for another 3. Dont bothre asking me to name them as they will be announced over next month.

Hepburn may play for the $$ but at least we spend money and have something to show for it.

Learmonth would spend the 2nd most inthe league given the great facilities and soft ground, when are you going to see them do something, as Mick says on the clock you blokes are heading to 10 past, which means you better hope it happens now or you'll miss it and i reckon you wont coach there next year.

Now where near 2nd most.... Would be around 5-7... The club spends money on its assets to attract players..Smart idea in my opinion..Would u rather play on a dump of a road or a beautiful green paddock... Certainly attract players for 2's and 1's. Prevents injuries and encourages people to train at this time of year!!!
And whats you reason why Aj wont coach next season....???

Astro Boy
25 Jan 2007, 08:40
Now where near 2nd most.... Would be around 5-7... The club spends money on its assets to attract players..Smart idea in my opinion..Would u rather play on a dump of a road or a beautiful green paddock... Certainly attract players for 2's and 1's. Prevents injuries and encourages people to train at this time of year!!!

I would think Aj would be pretty safe if they go alright again this season.

I know Learmonth think they are a chance of getting Mark Kennedy along with Matt Walsh, Nathan Ryan & Jermey Watts for next year.( All playing for the Cairns Saints).

They have offered him(Kenno) the gig before, but I would be very confident he will not end up at Learmonth.

Fence Sitter
25 Jan 2007, 08:43

So who have you picked up?

learmonth
25 Jan 2007, 08:48
So who have you picked up?

Money well spent on Seiz and CArey fence sitter.... Who have learmonth picked up, maybe come to training and have a look... Might be hard to see with over 40 players running around on the track....

Todays paper confirms Buninyongs signings + Porter Plant as a sponsor..Doing very well for themselves..They will be around the mark this year with an easier draw then last season, if all their players can stay fit!!

Harry HP
25 Jan 2007, 08:56
Heres my Top 5:

1. Learmonth (6 games clear)
2. Ballan
3. Hepburn
4. Bungaree
5. Daylesford

I have based these placings on pre-season talk: Pumping up the PSI of there "quality" recruits. Don't you just love those clubs that win there premierships in December and January...