View Full Version : Central Highlands

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35

Fence Sitter
25 Jan 2007, 09:07
Money well spent on Seiz and CArey fence sitter.... Who have learmonth picked up, maybe come to training and have a look... Might be hard to see with over 40 players running around on the track....

Todays paper confirms Buninyongs signings + Porter Plant as a sponsor..Doing very well for themselves..They will be around the mark this year with an easier draw then last season, if all their players can stay fit!!

You obviously have no-one significant thats why you cant tell me who's on board and people wil see through you.

Mcgigan is not going to bethe difference, as he is a lazy player - he has no defensive skills.
Seiz and Carey are definitely capable of better, they had to adjust like most players do I didnt see you set the world on fire and you dont man up either trying to play a s a loose man.

Fence Sitter
25 Jan 2007, 09:14
Heres my Top 5:

1. Learmonth (6 games clear)
2. Ballan
3. Hepburn
4. Bungaree
5. Daylesford

I have based these placings on pre-season talk: Pumping up the PSI of there "quality" recruits. Don't you just love those clubs that win there premierships in December and January...

Has Learmonth got another soft draw cause they havent actually picked up any players apart from mcgigan?

I reckon

1.Waubra
2.Daylesford
3.Hepburn
4.Bungaree
5.Ballan

formguid121
25 Jan 2007, 09:34
Is Charlie Edmonson training with Learmonth at the moment. Herd off a few people he is training with another team……:o

Gadget
25 Jan 2007, 10:24
Has Learmonth got another soft draw cause they havent actually picked up any players apart from mcgigan?

I reckon

1.Waubra
2.Daylesford
3.Hepburn
4.Bungaree
5.Ballan
1.Hepburn
2.Daylesford
3.Bungaree
4.Learmonth
5.Buninyong

Harry HP
25 Jan 2007, 10:36
1.Hepburn
2.Daylesford
3.Bungaree
4.Learmonth
5.Buninyong

Is this your September 5 or your January 5?

learmonth
25 Jan 2007, 12:56
1.Hepburn
2.Daylesford
3.Bungaree
4.Learmonth
5.Buninyong

U cant be serious Gadget,,,Where are Waubra..???
1- Waubra
2- Daylesford
3- Hepburn
4-Learmonth
5-Buninyong.

Still have my delts over Bungaree, until they sign all there Redan players if they get them....
Ballan...Still miles behind....Will win on there own sh it hole, but cant win on Big Grounds... Sacco, Wills & who ever else they recruited from Sebas, wont m,ake up 10 goals against last years top 5....

Fence Sitter
25 Jan 2007, 13:07
1- Waubra
2- Daylesford
3- Hepburn
4-Learmonth
5-Buninyong.

Still have my delts over Bungaree, until they sign all there Redan players if they get them....
Ballan...Still miles behind....Will win on there own sh it hole, but cant win on Big Grounds... Sacco, Wills & who ever else they recruited from Sebas, wont m,ake up 10 goals against last years top 5....

Aj, i would have Learmonth in but you cant tell me who you have picked up? So I put Ballan in, however it looks like we finally agree on something.

So come on, fess up....what have you signed not train with you but signed.;)

Fence Sitter
25 Jan 2007, 13:10
1- Waubra
2- Daylesford
3- Hepburn
4-Learmonth
5-Buninyong.

Also forgot add, Knowles from Redan has definitely signed. Barnett has signed. Quinlan is expected to do so and there is talk of simon ward a young player previously rebels (that is crazy he should be playing with redan he is a kid) and finally King is seriously looking at it. so that will add a fair bit of depth to a reasonable side.

tud34
25 Jan 2007, 13:36
Also forgot add, Knowles from Redan has definitely signed. Barnett has signed. Quinlan is expected to do so and there is talk of simon ward a young player previously rebels (that is crazy he should be playing with redan he is a kid) and finally King is seriously looking at it. so that will add a fair bit of depth to a reasonable side.

I say lets stop thinking about who is going to be finishing top 5 and concentrate on getting the year under way.

There is 17 games of footy between now and finals time and you never know which teams are gunna play well and who is gunna get injuries. Whats to say that some of the big name guns that come to this league (especially the older ones) wont cop some big injuries and miss big parts of the season.

In my oppion BFL is a lot more free running / open football where as CHFL is a lot more tougher, in and under contests. The older bodies of the former BFL guys might just be found out underneith a few packs and miss some substantial time on the sidelines.

Scoots
25 Jan 2007, 13:44

I had the privilege of being a function the other week in which Ryan Knowles was in attendence. And after watching him smash his way through 26 pots, 31 chicken wings, 18 party pies and half a pack of darts I was questioning whether or not he is even interested in footy anymore.
Yes it is still January and theres plenty of time to get fit, but the way he looked he should be talking to channel 10 about a gig on the biggest looser before he tries to squeeze into a Bunga jumper.
missus has got lovely lungs though....

Velvetsledgehammer
25 Jan 2007, 13:53
I had the privilege of being a function the other week in which Ryan Knowles was in attendence. And after watching him smash his way through 26 pots, 31 chicken wings, 18 party pies and half a pack of darts I was questioning whether or not he is even interested in footy anymore.
Yes it is still January and theres plenty of time to get fit, but the way he looked he should be talking to channel 10 about a gig on the biggest looser before he tries to squeeze into a Bunga jumper.
missus has got lovely lungs though....

Yes bumped into Knowla recently also and looks like he has been bulking up this pre-season. Has been doing some reasonable carbo-hydrate training for the Last man standing and pre-season Ball at bunga this year. Knowles, Barnett, and Quinlin will all play at Bung this year, its as good as done. And yes his missus does have a weighty breast....

Gadget
25 Jan 2007, 14:11
Yes bumped into Knowla recently also and looks like he has been bulking up this pre-season. Has been doing some reasonable carbo-hydrate training for the Last man standing and pre-season Ball at bunga this year. Knowles, Barnett, and Quinlin will all play at Bung this year, its as good as done. And yes his missus does have a weighty breast....
Was he wearing a visor??? He's not trying to take over from AJ is he with his dress sense!!!!

Scoots
25 Jan 2007, 14:28
Was he wearing a visor??? He's not trying to take over from AJ is he with his dress sense!!!!

Yeah had the visor except wasn't wearing it AJ style, Knowles actually had it upside down, down around his neck below his chin, to catch any pieces of food that fell out of his mouth. And then, as quick as a flash, he'd tipped the fallen crumbs in a funnel like action straight down his throat not wasteing a skerrick.

Washed them down with a couple of sips of his beer, then was off again looking for the fattiest and ugliest girl in the room to flirt with in front of his missus.

Funny man R Knowles...

Harry HP
25 Jan 2007, 14:41
Yeah had the visor except wasn't wearing it AJ style, Knowles actually had it upside down, down around his neck below his chin, to catch any pieces of food that fell out of his mouth. And then, as quick as a flash, he'd tipped the fallen crumbs in a funnel like action straight down his throat not wasteing a skerrick.

Washed them down with a couple of sips of his beer, then was off again looking for the fattiest and ugliest girl in the room to flirt with in front of his missus.

Funny man R Knowles...

I can vouch for this, Knowlsey is a fatty. Ive seen the sloth eat.

learmonth
25 Jan 2007, 14:51

A strategy for all sides, instead of tagging or trying to take knowles out of the game, just buy a bucket of KFC chicken and place it on the far wing. Im sure that will distract him, and save your $200 on a good player!!!

19th Man
25 Jan 2007, 15:57

And the only way he gets sight of his peni s, is with two mirrors!

Bdiddy18
25 Jan 2007, 16:29

Fatty but very funny and a great bloke.

formguid121
28 Jan 2007, 11:37
Has learmonth signed ballarat footballer brenton walker yet? They are looking strong this year.:thumbsu:

Fence Sitter
29 Jan 2007, 15:53
Drove to Learmonth (no, not AJ's house) on the weekend and ground looks a million dollars, however word over there is that apart from Mcgigan, they havent signed anyone of note, however they have a few possibles that will help with depth. can anyone provide any other news maybe snail might know.

Snail
29 Jan 2007, 20:14
Drove to Learmonth (no, not AJ's house) on the weekend and ground looks a million dollars, however word over there is that apart from Mcgigan, they havent signed anyone of note, however they have a few possibles that will help with depth. can anyone provide any other news maybe snail might know.
Mate of mine said had great numbers and quite a few new faces but no stars, keep in mind if you play finals, then retain your list all you need is top up players not stars. Thought Id throw this in too, it doesn't matter how many Ballan recruit they need a culture change to give the top 3 a go. Far too undisciplined. Have a look at the teams who consistantly play finals they are hard but disciplined, yes even Hepburn, Ballan need to learn the difference.

learmonth
30 Jan 2007, 07:54

Spot on at this stage, no major signings....U are in the know fence sitter. With clearances starting in a few days it will be interesting to see what goes in. Have heard on the grapevine that major league players who leagues dont start on time will be able to apply for permits for minor league teams..??? Should add some interest to the start of the year...Wonder if Hepburn might try to get DJ for a few games.....Only cost them $1500 p/game!!!

Hank Evans
30 Jan 2007, 08:23
Wonder if Hepburn might try to get DJ for a few games.....Only cost them $1500 p/game!!!

$50 per goal ;)

Fence Sitter
30 Jan 2007, 09:45
Spot on at this stage, no major signings....U are in the know fence sitter. With clearances starting in a few days it will be interesting to see what goes in. Have heard on the grapevine that major league players who leagues dont start on time will be able to apply for permits for minor league teams..??? Should add some interest to the start of the year...Wonder if Hepburn might try to get DJ for a few games.....Only cost them $1500 p/game!!!

Learmonth have heard the same about permits, however more from Geelong area from players who are looking for extra cash as GFL will apparently only be a 10 round comp. Not sure about the Ballarat or Bendigo leagues sending players into CHFL.

On Dan Jordan, $1500 is probably his value when you consider Sunbury were offering him approx $60K (with minimal part time work at there sports bar) last year, before east signed him
He did deliver the goods last season. Any club would have him but $1500 is pretty rich. Apparently East have given him a great job and they expect him to travel Overseas in 2008, so East would want to have a dip this year or they might struggle the following year, without 140 goals.

tud34
31 Jan 2007, 09:23
I may have missed this earlier in the post, but what clubs kept their coaches from last year, and who has a new coach?
If new, who are they?

crusader
31 Jan 2007, 09:43
[quote=Fence Sitter;6627464]Learmonth have heard the same about permits, however more from Geelong area from players who are looking for extra cash as GFL will apparently only be a 10 round comp. Not sure about the Ballarat or Bendigo leagues sending players into CHFL.

Heard that the leagues down there are on shaky ground to even kick off this year, so there could be a few good players coming down this way maybe if that happens. should make the league really strong. Fair chance that blokes down there might want to play a full season up here and make some coin instead of playing only 10 games down there

learmonth
31 Jan 2007, 10:37
[quote=Fence Sitter;6627464]Learmonth have heard the same about permits, however more from Geelong area from players who are looking for extra cash as GFL will apparently only be a 10 round comp. Not sure about the Ballarat or Bendigo leagues sending players into CHFL.

Heard that the leagues down there are on shaky ground to even kick off this year, so there could be a few good players coming down this way maybe if that happens. should make the league really strong. Fair chance that blokes down there might want to play a full season up here and make some coin instead of playing only 10 games down there

All clubs, keep the money tight, because 2-3 key recruits from the Geelong footy league, could be all it takes!!!!! No need to rush!!!

CranktheAnchors
31 Jan 2007, 22:27
Hay learmonth,

Is Shane Rogan staying on for a tilt at 07? How did he handle it this year he was one of the players underdone in the final wasn't he?

Bdiddy18
1 Feb 2007, 07:21
I see in todays paper Phelpsy has signed with East Point. That is a big loss to Buninyong!

learmonth
1 Feb 2007, 07:56
Hay learmonth,

Is Shane Rogan staying on for a tilt at 07? How did he handle it this year he was one of the players underdone in the final wasn't he?

Shane Rogan had a sensational year at learmonth, very coregeous footballer who played a lot of his footy in the backline and can take a hanger. Is exceptionally fit like his brother and will play through the middle this season as well. Did his ankle about an hour before the Hepburn final, and probably shouldnt have played but team sheet had been handed in.. Was lined up to play on Mckay, and a fit Shane Rogan that day would have been invaluable. Very well respected at learmonth, only problem is the kid cant drink, though he think he can....

Snoopsta
1 Feb 2007, 09:10

I reckon

1.Waubra
2.Daylesford
3.Hepburn
4.Bungaree
5.Ballan

1. Waubra
2. Buninyong
3. Hepburn
4. Bungaree
5. Learmonth.

Also heard that another Lake Wendouree player in Gilbert in departing to Waubra and that Daryl "Dag's" Jarrod in training with them. He must be 40.

Gordon apparently have signed well traveled Sam Godfrey-Roberts from Redan, Learmonth, Illabrook. on $240.00 per week which is great cash for a guy that is injury prone and not a regular senior player at BFL or CHFL level.

Premiership
1 Feb 2007, 09:10
Expect some big announcements coming from the GOrdon Eagles in the coming days that will assist them becoming alot more competitive this year.

Velvetsledgehammer
1 Feb 2007, 09:37
Gordon apparently have signed well traveled Sam Godfrey-Roberts from Redan, Learmonth, Illabrook. on $240.00 per week which is great cash for a guy that is injury prone and not a regular senior player at BFL or CHFL level.

Tud34 can you elaborate on this or any other signings/ players training with Gordon??

Surely you are not wasting $240 a game on this bloke.....what has he ever done except play 2's at Redan?

learmonth
1 Feb 2007, 09:43
Tud34 can you elaborate on this or any other signings/ players training with Gordon??

Surely you are not wasting $240 a game on this bloke.....what has he ever done except play 2's at Redan?

Gordon have to be smarter with the $$$ that they pay players!! From what I saw last season Jeremy Jenkins (Overweight, slow, no ability) was getting paid $$$ and he has to be the worst player in the competition!!! The problem with todays generation they expect BIG $$$ but dont want to do the work...
At learmonth, players are paid on training attendances, because all players turn up game day..Good way to get them to training!!! If there on $150, $75 for Tuesday and Thursday

rexxy
1 Feb 2007, 12:16
1. Waubra
2. Buninyong
3. Hepburn
4. Bungaree
5. Learmonth.

Also heard that another Lake Wendouree player in Gilbert in departing to Waubra and that Daryl "Dag's" Jarrod in training with them. He must be 40.

Not sure if this has been mentioned before, but have heard that Gavin Miller from Waubra has signed with a club in Cairns, can anyone confirm?

learmonth
1 Feb 2007, 13:35
Not sure if this has been mentioned before, but have heard that Gavin Miller from Waubra has signed with a club in Cairns, can anyone confirm?

Is playing in Cairns this season.

tud34
1 Feb 2007, 13:49
Gordon have to be smarter with the $$$ that they pay players!! From what I saw last season Jeremy Jenkins (Overweight, slow, no ability) was getting paid $$$ and he has to be the worst player in the competition!!! The problem with todays generation they expect BIG $$$ but dont want to do the work...
At learmonth, players are paid on training attendances, because all players turn up game day..Good way to get them to training!!! If there on $150, $75 for Tuesday and Thursday

Cant comment on that one Velvet, that is the first I have heard of it. Learmonth, I agree with what you are saying. Gordon certainly spent money last year on players that didnt warrent it. There were a number of BFL 2nds players or lower league players playing for $$$ last year. The problem is that a club like Gordon who has not had on field success looks a lot less attractive and needs to spend more money on players than they are often worth to get them to the club.

Venom
1 Feb 2007, 13:58
Can anyone tell me how Hepburn are shaping up this year? In regards to players/losses?

Venom
1 Feb 2007, 14:00

Seriously have to agree. Sam G-R is not that good a player. he trains the house down but goes missing on game days.

Velvetsledgehammer
1 Feb 2007, 14:09
Cant comment on that one Velvet, that is the first I have heard of it. Learmonth, I agree with what you are saying. Gordon certainly spent money last year on players that didnt warrent it. There were a number of BFL 2nds players or lower league players playing for $$$ last year. The problem is that a club like Gordon who has not had on field success looks a lot less attractive and needs to spend more money on players than they are often worth to get them to the club.

Yeah its a difficult situation trying to retain the few good players but also attrcat some quality players to the club. Good way to start is to change the party culture into one that knows that there is a time to have fun and a time to switch onto and committ to football and its not just between 1pm-5pm on Saturday. I think Gordon will need 12-15 quality players to be more than just competitive?

Shamui
1 Feb 2007, 14:19

Can you name any names tud?

Sticks23
6 Feb 2007, 10:57
Any news on Dunnstown it appears they have picked up quite a few by the transfers list. One that i know of Matt Rea is a handy player when he was at Sebas should go pretty well in CHFL.

Snail
6 Feb 2007, 18:52
Spoke to a reserves player from Clunes on the weekend, he said they don't seem to have recruited any but have lost a couple including probably their best player Harris. With Gordon & Creswick picking up a couple it could be a long season for the magpies. Learmonths oval is looking awesome, but so it should stuff all else to do out there but look after it

footyplayers
7 Feb 2007, 06:14
Any players interested in changing or moving to new club/league for season 2007 or 2008, register your details at www.footyplayers.com.au (http://www.footyplayers.com.au/)
We will match your remuneration, and requirements with potential clubs.

KingRich
7 Feb 2007, 08:51
As I cant find the Lexton Plains thread anymore I will post in here as its relevant to Clunes.

It was reported a while ago but appears to be confirmed now. Boys at training last night told me that Jason Hill (ex Clunes) has definately signed with Carnham Linton for an alleged sum of 22k.

Astro Boy
7 Feb 2007, 09:17
As I cant find the Lexton Plains thread anymore I will post in here as its relevant to Clunes.

It was reported a while ago but appears to be confirmed now. Boys at training last night told me that Jason Hill (ex Clunes) has definately signed with Carnham Linton for an alleged sum of 22k.

22k that must be a joke. Talk about a mercenary. He must have played in every leauge in victoria at some stage.
I do recall reading in the paper a few years ago "He was Clunes for Life".
Obviously $$$ changed his mind.

Sherman41
7 Feb 2007, 09:27

thats a fairly handy sum of money right there!!!!!!

KingRich
7 Feb 2007, 09:33
22k that must be a joke. Talk about a mercenary. He must have played in every leauge in victoria at some stage.
I do recall reading in the paper a few years ago "He was Clunes for Life".
Obviously $$$ changed his mind.

That was the sum they said but obviously these things can be exaggerated and no one bar the man himself could confirm that. Interesting that he is heading to C/L over Clunes though. You would think it would have to be for the $$$!

Thoroughbred
7 Feb 2007, 11:12

I find that hard to believe for a number of reasons.

1. Head was getting nowhere near that some and he is twice the player Hill is and he is a key position player. A good midfielder can be tagged out of the game, where it is near on impossible to stop a tall/key position player.

2. I heard there was money trouble at Carnam half way through last year.

3. He's not worth that sort of cash. Heburn are getting Brendon Shepherd for less than that.

I suppose Head, Porter, Raynor, Pring, and etc leaving did clear up a little bit of cash for C/L.

Astro Boy
7 Feb 2007, 11:34
I find that hard to believe for a number of reasons.

1. Head was getting nowhere near that some and he is twice the player Hill is and he is a key position player. A good midfielder can be tagged out of the game, where it is near on impossible to stop a tall/key position player.

2. I heard there was money trouble at Carnam half way through last year.

3. He's not worth that sort of cash. Heburn are getting Brendon Shepherd for less than that.

I suppose Head, Porter, Raynor, Pring, and etc leaving did clear up a little bit of cash for C/L.

He's a handy player but i wouldn't pay him over $200 a game.
He doesn't win much contested footy & his skills can let him down when he's put under pressure...
Not the sought of bloke u want at ur club coz u know he will leave for more coin if the a better offer comes along.
But good luck to him if he can get it, y not take it.

learmonth
7 Feb 2007, 12:33
He's a handy player but i wouldn't pay him over $200 a game.
He doesn't win much contested footy & his skills can let him down when he's put under pressure...
Not the sought of bloke u want at ur club coz u know he will leave for more coin if the a better offer comes along.
But good luck to him if he can get it, y not take it.

Spot on Astro Boy, Has proven over his career that he chases the $$$ and has done very very well in that area. Why not do it, if it can pay your morgage of quicker then good luck to him. I dont believe 22k is anywhere near that..1/2 that and you will be closer to the mark. Hill finds the ball a lot, but does turn it over a bit.

I would prefer a key forward any day over a gun midfielder

Thoroughbred
7 Feb 2007, 14:26
Spot on Astro Boy, Has proven over his career that he chases the $$$ and has done very very well in that area. Why not do it, if it can pay your morgage of quicker then good luck to him. I dont believe 22k is anywhere near that..1/2 that and you will be closer to the mark. Hill finds the ball a lot, but does turn it over a bit.

I would prefer a key forward any day over a gun midfielder

That's fair enough for the cash.

But it sets a dangerous path for C/L. If they are paying a player like Hill even 11k a season, how much would a true proven Major League player get?

Hill was only just a player at Lakers according to most. Although a CHFL B&F is a huge feather in his cap.

ROOSTER1
7 Feb 2007, 19:29
That was the sum they said but obviously these things can be exaggerated and no one bar the man himself could confirm that. Interesting that he is heading to C/L over Clunes though. You would think it would have to be for the $$$!

He will fit right in out at CL. Worst club in the world and from all reports this guy isn't the most intelligent character going around. Good luck to all clubs that have to play against this mob

Thoroughbred
8 Feb 2007, 08:53
He will fit right in out at CL. Worst club in the world and from all reports this guy isn't the most intelligent character going around. Good luck to all clubs that have to play against this mob

Someone told me that they have been trying to get into the CHFL for the last 8 years. Their reputation surely does them no favours.

learmonth
8 Feb 2007, 09:39
Someone told me that they have been trying to get into the CHFL for the last 8 years. Their reputation surely does them no favours.

They wouldnt be good enough...They would finish bottom 4..MAssive difference in the two leagues, and there reputation beholds themselves, due to having a weak committee which allows that type of behaviour to go on.

crusader
8 Feb 2007, 09:43
They wouldnt be good enough...They would finish bottom 4..MAssive difference in the two leagues, and there reputation beholds themselves, due to having a weak committee which allows that type of behaviour to go on.
Maybe not bottom four, but would be way down there. Any truth about you boys chasing one of the daylesford boys whose brother plays for you. heard you are a fair chance to get him. Bit tubby though

Thoroughbred
8 Feb 2007, 09:56

I don't think they would be bottom 4. I have played them in the past and played CHFL.

Their players in 2006 were fairly decent.

Head, Porter, Greenbank, Ross Waters, and co are very good players.

They are well coached by Rob Waters too. They are aggressive, they sledge, and they'll do anything to win. I think a lot of CHFL teams would be surprised they way C/L go about their footy.

As a bunch of guys I have zero respect for them, but as far as winning games of footy, they know how to do it.

They probably wouldn't make the finals, but they would not be battlers.

Astro Boy
8 Feb 2007, 10:59
I don't think they would be bottom 4. I have played them in the past and played CHFL.

Their players in 2006 were fairly decent.

Head, Porter, Greenbank, Ross Waters, and co are very good players.

They are well coached by Rob Waters too. They are aggressive, they sledge, and they'll do anything to win. I think a lot of CHFL teams would be surprised they way C/L go about their footy.

As a bunch of guys I have zero respect for them, but as far as winning games of footy, they know how to do it.

They probably wouldn't make the finals, but they would not be battlers.

They would be closer to the bottom then the top. Ryan Head would be a very good player, Greeenbank is soft as butter, Ross Waters should be on "the Biggest Looser" & Porter is getting on a bit.
They simply would not have the depth to have an impact in the CHFL.
& would just go the knuckle if they were getting smashed.

Thoroughbred
8 Feb 2007, 11:11
They would be closer to the bottom then the top. Ryan Head would be a very good player, Greeenbank is soft as butter, Ross Waters should be on "the Biggest Looser" & Porter is getting on a bit.
They simply would not have the depth to have an impact in the CHFL.
& would just go the knuckle if they were getting smashed.

The talk is that Porter is getting super fit this year. I've heard that he is looking trimmer than previous years. He will turn a few heads in the CHFL.

Greenbank is skilled non the less. Being soft as butter doesn't seem to matter when you've got 20 other blokes behind you that are happy to do the hard stuff.

I did see Dean Goldsmith playing 2's in the LPFL grand final for C/L and I remember him as a handy player for Clunes. From memory I think he was in their 2000 (or 99 whichever it was) runners up team.

I'm not debating that the CHFL is a fantastic district league. I know the top teams would beat some lower end Major League teams. So the top end of the CHFL is very good. C/L would not be a top 5 team. But they would be 3 or 4 spots from it at most.

I suppose a lot will be answered this year with the LPFL players swapping over.

learmonth
8 Feb 2007, 11:23
Maybe not bottom four, but would be way down there. Any truth about you boys chasing one of the daylesford boys whose brother plays for you. heard you are a fair chance to get him. Bit tubby though

Dont think we will get him, Dont have enough pies in our small town to offer him! In your town u have 5 bakeries, and we just cant compete!!!
Have heard a rumor that one of your committee members may be pregnant with excellent breeding to go with it crusader.. That would make a pretty handy mother son/daughter for your club in the future...

Any truth to that rumor, since your in the KNOW in daylesford!!!

doppelganger
8 Feb 2007, 12:00
Learmonth, You should know what the rumour mill is like in Daylesford... believe only half of what you hear and then divide it by 10... U would do well to heed the advice of the 3 wise monkeys See no Evil, Hear no Evil, Speak no Evil!!!

T.Gun
8 Feb 2007, 13:51
is it true Luke Adams, Xavier Keighran and one more player from Daylesford all trained last week at Castlemaine???????? something going on with the new coach at Daylesford????????

learmonth
8 Feb 2007, 15:07
is it true Luke Adams, Xavier Keighran and one more player from Daylesford all trained last week at Castlemaine???????? something going on with the new coach at Daylesford????????

Did hear that rumor as well....... did hear that Scoble and Rodgers trained there as well.....
New coach from what i hear put the hard word on Luke Adams at the pub in the toilets, and his wife gave him an ultenatum..??? Looks like the wife won!!!

N Bartos
8 Feb 2007, 17:30
With the proposed merger of Lake Wendouree and North City, how many ex lakers players can we expect to join CHFL clubs? I'd expect quite a few will be on the move rather than becoming part of the new North Ballarat.

roaring tiger
8 Feb 2007, 19:51
Learmonth i hear you guys are signing an on baller who played for the North Ballarat Roosters reserves tomorrow night. Have you got any other recruits for this coming season on board yet?

I also hear that Justin Porter ins't that fit and all he has been doing since xmas is drinking cans!

Jarman03
9 Feb 2007, 07:50
Did hear that rumor as well....... did hear that Scoble and Rodgers trained there as well.....
New coach from what i hear put the hard word on Luke Adams at the pub in the toilets, and his wife gave him an ultenatum..??? Looks like the wife won!!!

I think I posted on this site once before, do not be surprised if Scoble end up back in the BallaratFL with his cousin coaching at Melton South. They have tried to play together for ten years. The chance may have just finally come. I understand Adams and scoble (south coach) are good mates to .......interesting. Stay Tuned.

learmonth
9 Feb 2007, 07:55
Learmonth i hear you guys are signing an on baller who played for the North Ballarat Roosters reserves tomorrow night. Have you got any other recruits for this coming season on board yet?

I also hear that Justin Porter ins't that fit and all he has been doing since xmas is drinking cans!

Porter is not fit, we all know that, hasnt even been on the track and is still in rehab with his knee Reco from last season. Will struggle this season against the good sides and kick a few bags against the weaker sides. Players like Sordello, Reeves, Madigan,Trigg, Newton etc can easily cover for him.

That is true, played rebels and is from the Wimmera area, great work ethic and will be a major asset to the Learmonth football club. Hoping to get a few of his mates as well!!! They are all great kids, and good footballers

Don't Argue
9 Feb 2007, 08:18
Porter is not fit, we all know that, hasnt even been on the track and is still in rehab with his knee Reco from last season. Will struggle this season against the good sides and kick a few bags against the weaker sides. Players like Sordello, Reeves, Madigan,Trigg, Newton etc can easily cover for him.

Don't knee recos take nearly 12 months to recover from? He did it in July or August last year. I wouldn't be surprised if he doesn't play until the 2nd half of the season anyway and that could be rushing it.

I have heard he has been out on the bike a fair bit. I heard of a sighting out on Main Road and the person told me that he was moving.

KingRich
9 Feb 2007, 09:04
Don't knee recos take nearly 12 months to recover from? He did it in July or August last year. I wouldn't be surprised if he doesn't play until the 2nd half of the season anyway and that could be rushing it.

I have heard he has been out on the bike a fair bit. I heard of a sighting out on Main Road and the person told me that he was moving.

Define "Moving"?

Don't Argue
9 Feb 2007, 09:59
Define "Moving"?

Not stationary.

I heard he was looking like a decent cyclist. Not that it transfers to the football field. If the guy is fit, he will be a good FF in the CHFL. Maybe not Weatherly, Raak, or Brown good. He will be someone that coaches have to look out for though.

Leather Magnet
9 Feb 2007, 11:41

That is true, played rebels and is from the Wimmera area, great work ethic and will be a major asset to the Learmonth football club. Hoping to get a few of his mates as well!!! They are all great kids, and good footballers

Sounds like you've done a good job recruiting a few Rebels boys. Gonna offer up some names seeing as how they seem signed, sealed and delivered?

Fence Sitter
9 Feb 2007, 20:26
Sounds like you've done a good job recruiting a few Rebels boys. Gonna offer up some names seeing as how they seem signed, sealed and delivered?

I'll save leamrmonth some time - Nick Bone will be playing over their.:) how's that for mail learmonth

learmonth
12 Feb 2007, 07:40
I'll save leamrmonth some time - Nick Bone will be playing over their.:) how's that for mail learmonth

Ballan are chasing after Andrew Venner pretty hard from Hoppers crossing and a former Lake Wendouree player. Can certainly play the game but I know for a fact that he wont come for anything for under $600.

This is from a reliable source, former ballan president and the reason why he quit...Believes Scotty is killing the club
M.Scott $15K non playing coach
Mullane Grant 800 p/game
Uhi 700 p/game
Heir 600 p/game
Cartledge 500 p/game
Watts 500 p/game
Wills (New) 500 p/game
Sacco (New) 400 p/game
Collier (New) 300 p/game

That equals $88100 already + Venner on top of that and another mate of Mullan-Grants from Geelong. Will be roughly 100k for the year. Lets hope they win it, because there will be some lean years to come afterwards... A few committee people are very worried...... Still looking at their list, cant see them being top 3..... Still dont have a backline, and struggle on bigger grounds.
Nothing better then playing against a BANK!!!Because when you ask for some interest (players) from them, you sure wont get it.

thekid178
12 Feb 2007, 09:27
Ballan are chasing after Andrew Venner pretty hard from Hoppers crossing and a former Lake Wendouree player. Can certainly play the game but I know for a fact that he wont come for anything for under $600.

This is from a reliable source, former ballan president and the reason why he quit...Believes Scotty is killing the club
Mullane Grant 800 p/game
Uhi 700 p/game
Heir 600 p/game
Cartledge 500 p/game
Watts 500 p/game
Wills (New) 500 p/game
Sacco (New) 400 p/game
Collier (New) 300 p/game

That equals $88100 already + Venner on top of that and another mate of Mullan-Grants from Geelong. Will be roughly 100k for the year. Lets hope they win it, because there will be some lean years to come afterwards... A few committee people are very worried...... Still looking at their list, cant see them being top 3..... Still dont have a backline, and struggle on bigger grounds.
Nothing better then playing against a BANK!!!Because when you ask for some interest (players) from them, you sure wont get it.

Not sure about the other figures ur throwing around but for starters, I know for a fact that Mullane-Grant is assistant coach out there this year, and is staying on the same amount he was on last year, and that is nowhere near $800/game.

the_don88
12 Feb 2007, 09:45

Mullane Grant 800 p/game
Uhi 700 p/game
Heir 600 p/game
Cartledge 500 p/game
Watts 500 p/game
Wills (New) 500 p/game
Sacco (New) 400 p/game
Collier (New) 300 p/game

I agree. Money doesn't buy loyalty. Venner is just a money chaser, if he went, it would only be for a year until a better offer came along.
If you look at last years flag winners (Redan and Waubra) they don't seem to have to throw the check book to attract players.

learmonth
12 Feb 2007, 09:49
I agree. Money doesn't buy loyalty. Venner is just a money chaser, if he went, it would only be for a year until a better offer came along.
If you look at last years flag winners (Redan and Waubra) they don't seem to have to throw the check book to attract players.

None of these players are loyal, they seem to swap clubs every 2 years once the money runs out...And they will never put it back in the town!!!! Uneducated people who allow this to happen, should be charged with negligence!!! Spot on with Redan & Waubra.. As the old saying goes, a passionate player will always beat a paid player!!!!

helmut
12 Feb 2007, 10:05

Mullane Grant 800 p/game
Uhi 700 p/game
Heir 600 p/game
Cartledge 500 p/game
Watts 500 p/game
Wills (New) 500 p/game
Sacco (New) 400 p/game
Collier (New) 300 p/game

You are an absolute f uckwit beacham. You got 2 of those figures correct, the rest is so far from the truth it is laughable. If a former president told you that, which I seriously doubt, he is a liar.

Venner has not been approached or spoken to at any time, another lie. Just like you're big scoop about Scott and Uhi going to North City. Always from a reliable source, straight out of your rear end. 95% of the stuff you peddle on here about other clubs as fact is bulls hit.
Oh and just in case you are interested, the former president you speak of told me after the Ballan Learmonth game at Ballan last year that he would never have a person like you play at his footy club, no character and no morals. His words.

learmonth
12 Feb 2007, 10:44
You are an absolute f uckwit beacham. You got 2 of those figures correct, the rest is so far from the truth it is laughable. If a former president told you that, which I seriously doubt, he is a liar.

Venner has not been approached or spoken to at any time, another lie. Just like you're big scoop about Scott and Uhi going to North City. Always from a reliable source, straight out of your rear end. 95% of the stuff you peddle on here about other clubs as fact is bulls hit.
Oh and just in case you are interested, the former president you speak of told me after the Ballan Learmonth game at Ballan last year that he would never have a person like you play at his footy club, no character and no morals. His words.

Looks like a hit a raw nerve helmut head, must be some truth to it, and from what i gather you would be the type of person that only follows Ballan when there winning, and probably lives of centrelink benefits and is not a paid up member. The former president stuff, what you talk about, is completely untrue, and he probably wouldnt even know who you are, your one of those scum bags, that yell uneducated abuse from over the fence, and would have won your last fight by about 5 paddocks. You think you know so much, but we all know thats the reason why Ballan keep winning the grade 6 school football is because most of your 25 year old locals are still there trying to pass, living of ya mamma makeing your lunch.

Also where do you get no character and morals,,,, Good words to use, but please use examples when stating this.

Gadget
12 Feb 2007, 10:46
Cam Landry to waubra.

the_don88
12 Feb 2007, 11:10
Cam Landry to waubra.

Heard that but no way near concrete. Gilbert and an old Laker by the name of Jared are apparently on the verge of signing their as well. Could this be because of the supposed merge talk between the Lakers and North???

Velvetsledgehammer
12 Feb 2007, 11:45
Heard that but no way near concrete. Gilbert and an old Laker by the name of Jared are apparently on the verge of signing their as well. Could this be because of the supposed merge talk between the Lakers and North???

If you are refferring to Darryl Jarred then I would say he would struggle to have any effect with Waubra this year. Too old, not big enough body to play Full Forward in the CHFL, and he struggled to dominate when he played at Learmonth 5 years ago before going back to the Lakers.

trigirl
12 Feb 2007, 13:09
If I recall Venner palyed at Newlyn and won them a Premiership off his own boot

dogtalk
12 Feb 2007, 13:36

Mullane Grant 800 p/game
Uhi 700 p/game
Heir 600 p/game
Cartledge 500 p/game
Watts 500 p/game
Wills (New) 500 p/game
Sacco (New) 400 p/game
Collier (New) 300 p/game

Well we know why Learmonth's grounds looking so good
It's well fertilized "with Bullsh*t"

Astro Boy
12 Feb 2007, 13:41

He would be getting alot more then $600 per game at Hoppers Xing.
Not sure if they still want him after an incident that took place last year.

learmonth
12 Feb 2007, 13:55
He would be getting alot more then $600 per game at Hoppers Xing.
Not sure if they still want him after an incident that took place last year.

What incident is that...he seems to have had a few hic ups with clubs. Was speaking to him at work last year, and had a run in with the Lakers over a pegola...Dodgy deals that arnt put in contract can come back to bite you. Agree alot more then 600, which means he wouldnt travel for any less. U guys from Ballan are kidding yourself, if you dont think ya spending massive $$$ on short term success. I guess all these guys will only train once a week as well../??

learmonth
12 Feb 2007, 13:58
Well we know why Learmonth's grounds looking so good
It's well fertilized "with Bullsh*t"

Well if u dont think its true........Just wait a few years or even next when all these players disappear because their is no more BIG $$$ to pay their house loans.....

First comment Dogtalk, would have expected something a little more intellectual from you... Im guessing your one of those 25 yo's at Ballan primary,..???

helmut
12 Feb 2007, 14:22
Well if u dont think its true........Just wait a few years or even next when all these players disappear because their is no more BIG $$$ to pay their house loans.....

First comment Dogtalk, would have expected something a little more intellectual from you... Im guessing your one of those 25 yo's at Ballan primary,..???

At least they teach spelling and grammar at Ballan Primary Tony, something that you obviously never learnt.
Sorry I didn't mean to upset you with the character and morals comment, but I was only relaying what the former Ballan president told me. Seems he has time for your brother but not for you. Can't imagine why. Back to the mirror shi t dribbler.

learmonth
12 Feb 2007, 15:00
At least they teach spelling and grammar at Ballan Primary Tony, something that you obviously never learnt.
Sorry I didn't mean to upset you with the character and morals comment, but I was only relaying what the former Ballan president told me. Seems he has time for your brother but not for you. Can't imagine why. Back to the mirror shi t dribbler.

I think your wrong their helmut, if you said who you were, then maybe you might be able to get some credibilty with your comments. But i guess your not man enough to state who you are.. Barry Sims is the ex president and I think your comments are complete fabrication with evertyhing you have written.

Send me through a private message of your name, and ill put it to barry if thats exactly what he said, which i dont belive, or are you going to hide behind your key board and not be man enough.

The Train
12 Feb 2007, 20:31

Mullane Grant 800 p/game
Uhi 700 p/game
Heir 600 p/game
Cartledge 500 p/game
Watts 500 p/game
Wills (New) 500 p/game
Sacco (New) 400 p/game
Collier (New) 300 p/game

Learmonth u seem to be very quick to jump all over Ballan about who they have picked up and how much they r being paid. Why don't u let on how much Learmonth r paying for their "GUN" recruits like Lockett who was playing 2nd's at North City and McGuigan who went missing in the finals against Redan when it got tough! And while your at it tell us how much the great AJ is Draining out of the club for his own average performances.

dogtalk
12 Feb 2007, 21:25
No 1 player wins a premiership, No matter how good that player is... It take's a number of individuals working together as a team to get a team to a Grand final and to win a premiership, not individual's out for themselves. The 2003 Newlyn Team worked well as a Team all season that's what got them the Premiership... Venner only played half that season so how you can say he won them the Premiership off his own boot is beyond me

Fence Sitter
12 Feb 2007, 22:24
Learmonth u seem to be very quick to jump all over Ballan about who they have picked up and how much they r being paid. Why don't u let on how much Learmonth r paying for their "GUN" recruits like Lockett who was playing 2nd's at North City and McGuigan who went missing in the finals against Redan when it got tough! And while your at it tell us how much the great AJ is Draining out of the club for his own average performances.

For AJ the story is --- If they win flag upto $20,000, if not $15,000 thats if he trains as they only play if you train. only he could say that this is there abouts.:rolleyes:
Where did he finish in club B & F last year?

Fence Sitter
12 Feb 2007, 22:26
No 1 player wins a premiership, No matter how good that player is... It take's a number of individuals working together as a team to get a team to a Grand final and to win a premiership, not individual's out for themselves. The 2003 Newlyn Team worked well as a Team all season that's what got them the Premiership... Venner only played half that season so how you can say he won them the Premiership off his own boot is beyond me

Agree venner had a huge impact that day. He can play half a season as the other 8 sides are ordinary.;)

Astro Boy
13 Feb 2007, 07:08
What incident is that...he seems to have had a few hic ups with clubs. Was speaking to him at work last year, and had a run in with the Lakers over a pegola...Dodgy deals that arnt put in contract can come back to bite you. Agree alot more then 600, which means he wouldnt travel for any less. U guys from Ballan are kidding yourself, if you dont think ya spending massive $$$ on short term success. I guess all these guys will only train once a week as well../??

It makes refference to an incident on the Western Region Footabll team Thread.( In DECEMBER)
A Hoppers Player told me on the piss it was Venner.

Sticks23
13 Feb 2007, 07:20

Mullane Grant 800 p/game
Uhi 700 p/game
Heir 600 p/game
Cartledge 500 p/game
Watts 500 p/game
Wills (New) 500 p/game
Sacco (New) 400 p/game
Collier (New) 300 p/game

You will find that Hehir is playing at Myrtleford in the O&M league this year so they have saved $600 a game already.

learmonth
13 Feb 2007, 08:24
For AJ the story is --- If they win flag upto $20,000, if not $15,000 thats if he trains as they only play if you train. only he could say that this is there abouts.:rolleyes:
Where did he finish in club B & F last year?

Not 100% sure, but he did finish in top 10 (5-10), polled 2nd most votes in league medal to sobey for Learmonth, and did miss 5 games for the year with his ankle.

Iron Beast
13 Feb 2007, 08:30
Not 100% sure, but he did finish in top 10 (5-10), polled 2nd most votes in league medal to sobey for Learmonth, and did miss 5 games for the year with his ankle.

Not 100% sure! Simply, how much is in the envelope you get each week?

helmut
13 Feb 2007, 08:57
[quote=Sticks23;6718278]You will find that Hehir is playing at Myrtleford in the O&M league this year so they have saved $600 a game already.[/quote

That's right, but why would Beacham let a minor matter like the truth stand in the way of his bullshi t stories. According to him everyone in Ballan is dumb, at least they're not dishonest like him. All he does on here is tell everyone how good he thinks he is and bag other clubs and players. He makes Tom Mullane-Grant out to be a mercenary by claiming he is on 800 a game when the truth is he is on nothing like it and he is playing for less this season than last. Family ties are the reason he came to the club in the first place. Watts has knocked back plenty of offers from other clubs over the last few years to remain at Ballan on a lot less than the 500 that dic khead says he is on. He talks about players changing clubs every couple of years, Wills and Collier have played at Sebas for about 15 years but their names get dragged through the mud as well. Beacham would probably need to take his shoes and socks off to count the number of clubs he's been at, given that he would only be able to use one hand as the other one is wrapped around his c ock most of the time. Learmonth will eventually wake up that the 25k they are paying him is nowhere near the trouble. He doesn't have the respect he claims to have, don't anybody take his or my word for it, ask some of the locals and judge for yourself.

Duck Hunter
13 Feb 2007, 09:06
There has been a massive rise in payments to players/coaches over the last couple of years. I personally don't agree with the rise in expenditure but if that is the case all payments need to be made relevant to the current situation. If the rumours of coaching payments (Robertson 30K, Scott 10-15K, Reid 20K, New Gordon Coach 12K) are true then AJ would sit very comfortably at 15K given that he brings professionalism, presence and leadership on the field and he can play the game.
Ive have heard the Simon Eason is the lowest paid coach in the comp (10-12K) and he has a lot of qualities and he would be a bargain at that price in this current CHFL pay scale
Remember that these figures are all specualtion and only a couple of people at each club would know the real answers!!!!!!!!!!

Don't Argue
13 Feb 2007, 09:15
Hey can anyone give me a rundown on these players going to Skipton,
- Warren Finlayson (Beaufort)
- Matthew George (Dunnstown)
- Brett Conroy (Dunnstown)
- Jarrad Williamson (Bunningyong)

Also there is Cameron Brown guy for North City. Just wondering wheter you guys know anything about him. The talk is that he is on massive money and he is supposed to be a good replacement for Fletcher.

learmonth
13 Feb 2007, 09:40
Hey can anyone give me a rundown on these players going to Skipton,
- Warren Finlayson (Beaufort)
- Matthew George (Dunnstown)
- Brett Conroy (Dunnstown)
- Jarrad Williamson (Bunningyong)

Also there is Cameron Brown guy for North City. Just wondering wheter you guys know anything about him. The talk is that he is on massive money and he is supposed to be a good replacement for Fletcher.

Cameron Brown is the older brother of Nathan & Mitch Brown who were drafted to Collingwood and WCE this season. Is tall, but not sure how he plays. Wouldnt say he is on massive $$ but will be an asset, but not in the calibre of Fletcher at this stage of his career.

Don't Argue
13 Feb 2007, 09:46
Cameron Brown is the older brother of Nathan & Mitch Brown who were drafted to Collingwood and WCE this season. Is tall, but not sure how he plays. Wouldnt say he is on massive $$ but will be an asset, but not in the calibre of Fletcher at this stage of his career.

Any idea on the others?