View Full Version : Central Highlands
the_don88
13 Feb 2007, 10:21
Any idea on the others?
Finlayson is definately keen to leave with a few of his mates. Beaufort trained with Skipton a couple of times last year so thats where he gets his ties i guess. Pretty sure his first clearence was knocked back from Beaufort though. They would be keen to retain as many players as they can im guessing.
Don't Argue
13 Feb 2007, 10:24
Finlayson is definately keen to leave with a few of his mates. Beaufort trained with Skipton a couple of times last year so thats where he gets his ties i guess. Pretty sure his first clearence was knocked back from Beaufort though. They would be keen to retain as many players as they can im guessing.
Any good though?
KingRich
13 Feb 2007, 11:01
Cameron Brown is the older brother of Nathan & Mitch Brown who were drafted to Collingwood and WCE this season. Is tall, but not sure how he plays. Wouldnt say he is on massive $$ but will be an asset, but not in the calibre of Fletcher at this stage of his career.
Brown is big and goes ok but nothing special. Not sure if he is worth massive coin but doesn't surprise that he will leave for it. Will have a hard time getting cleared from City!
Any idea on the others?
Brett Conroy is a tough 21 year old player. Doesnt have the silkiest skills in the world, but works hard. He captained an CHFL Under 18 combine side that played against and aboriginal side a few years ago.
the_don88
13 Feb 2007, 12:35
Any good though?
OK, nothing special, but did play in a side that got flogged most weeks.
will be more helpful in a better side though. good size, bout 6, 1 or 2, played CHB for the majority of the year.
Velvetsledgehammer
13 Feb 2007, 12:36
Brett Conroy is a tough 21 year old player. Doesnt have the silkiest skills in the world, but works hard. He captained an CHFL Under 18 combine side that played against and aboriginal side a few years and won.
Tud you have been very quiet lately on what is going on at Gordon! Can you give any hints on what players the eagles have landed for this season?
As i have mentioned earlier, dont want to name names just yet.
Rat_attack
13 Feb 2007, 13:25
Hepburn would have to be dissappointed to lose flashy wingman Troy Ferrier
rumour has it he is making his way to Boort! Great player with silky smooth skills, will be a big loss to Hepburn
Velvetsledgehammer
13 Feb 2007, 13:38
Hepburn would have to be dissappointed to lose flashy wingman Troy Ferrier
rumour has it he is making his way to Boort! Great player with silky smooth skills, will be a big loss to Hepburn
Can confirm that rumour. Was having a beer with him on Saturday night after he made a 100 in cricket. Was offered a fair package but settled for a couple of hundred less than Boort offered. Good bloke Ferret.
Rat_attack
13 Feb 2007, 13:50
Can confirm that rumour. Was having a beer with him on Saturday night after he made a 100 in cricket. Was offered a fair package but settled for a couple of hundred less than Boort offered. Good bloke Ferret.
Yes he is a great bloke, heard 90% of the 100 was edges through slips! lucky he can play footy! ha
smasher100
13 Feb 2007, 15:31
Yes he is a great bloke, heard 90% of the 100 was edges through slips! lucky he can play footy! ha
He would want to have improved since I seen him play a few times at Berri-Culgoa a couple of years ago. Too flashy for his own good in my opinion. He'll get caught out in NCFL, as these type of players go missing on the smaller grounds in the North Central League.
KingRich
13 Feb 2007, 16:18
He would want to have improved since I seen him play a few times at Berri-Culgoa a couple of years ago. Too flashy for his own good in my opinion. He'll get caught out in NCFL, as these type of players go missing on the smaller grounds in the North Central League.
Can those that had an opportunity to see him regularly over the last 3 years at Heburn give us an insight into how he went? Will he play well in a middle of the road team in another comp?
N Bartos
13 Feb 2007, 16:26
He could definitely handle NCFL. The standard of the NCFL has dropped considerably over the last 5 years, while the standard of the CHFL is on the way up. NCFL is still classed as a major league because they join with the Mallee League.
ROOSTER1
13 Feb 2007, 16:29
Not sure what you were watching smasher. Think its been a while since he was back there. From what I know hes been playing in Ballarat area for a while now.
Would imagine that North Central grounds are bigger than Central Highlands grounds so shouldn't be a problem for him. Anyway well see come round 1.
ROOSTER1
13 Feb 2007, 16:31
He could definitely handle NCFL. The standard of the NCFL has dropped considerably over the last 5 years, while the standard of the CHFL is on the way up. NCFL is still classed as a major league because they join with the Mallee League.
I think he may of played in the Wimmera league also which would say that he could handle NCFL. Ill try find out but i reckon he may have even played Interleague when he played there. Wimmera a class above NCFL
whodatbabydaddy
13 Feb 2007, 17:23
For AJ the story is --- If they win flag upto $20,000, if not $15,000 thats if he trains as they only play if you train. only he could say that this is there abouts.:rolleyes:
Where did he finish in club B & F last year?
Always enjoy reading the mix of bull********, rumour and fact circling around the CHFL here on BF. Wont waste your time with any more of the first two.
FACT - Should AJ ever choose to disclose his $$$ agreement at LFNC with you guys then good luck to him. You blokes would fall off your bar stools at what he asked for (UNDERS - not overs)
FACT - AJ is on a set 2 year contract, no ifs, buts, maybe's or bonuses for this and that. He is on less than any figure mentioned on Big Footy in recent days/weeks/months about himself, Scott, Eason, Nicholson etc and less than he was offered to go to a couple of other clubs at that time. (Can somebody make sure noddy Gladman gets a copy of this)
Why?? Because more than $$$, this bloke said he wanted to win a senior premiership and realistically knew his body was getting close to the end. After way too many years as bridesmaids and middle of the road performers - our comittee were ready to build for ongoing success. Not just buy up for one year and hope. AJ looked at the big picture and liked what he saw coming through at Learmonth.
FACT - The first time I met him in person was at his interview and I was a cynic. All I knew was what I had seen the Beachams do on field (still good enough to have a presence in CHFL) and heard about them doing off field (not always good - but like the Big Footy rumour mill - most yarns from footy clubs tend to have a lot of sugar added to em)
FACT - Ever noticed how people (myself included) nearly always talked about 'the Beachams', not about Tim or AJ individually. Being twins they have had to wear accolades and at the same time, cop plenty of criticism for each others actions over the years. Since the boys went their own paths from Daylesford the old rumour mill has crawled to a halt.
FACT - Everyone would have to agree that he did an awesome job in 06 and got the most out of the young list we presented to him
FACT - AJ had to replace a bloke who was well respected and liked by all at LFNC. Not knowing anyone there he had to win over everybody from the playing list to the old cockies. He has done this with his fwd planning, professionalism and personal approach. At this stage only one player off the reserves - seniors list from 06 has indicated he may not be about for '07 - there's no better sign of acceptance and respect for a coach than that.
FACT - Playing or non playing, this bloke is an absolute footy nut, very professional, and would be an asset to the football dept at any club. All going well he will be part of the success at LFNC for many seasons to come.
FACT - AJ hits the solarium way too much and missed 2 crucial matches last year after having skin cancers removed from his nuts.:eek:
FACT - AJ loves winding you boys up...keep taking the bait. He thrives on it.
Fence Sitter
13 Feb 2007, 19:58
Always enjoy reading the mix of bull********, rumour and fact circling around the CHFL here on BF. Wont waste your time with any more of the first two.
FACT - Should AJ ever choose to disclose his $$$ agreement at LFNC with you guys then good luck to him. You blokes would fall off your bar stools at what he asked for (UNDERS - not overs)
FACT - AJ is on a set 2 year contract, no ifs, buts, maybe's or bonuses for this and that. He is on less than any figure mentioned on Big Footy in recent days/weeks/months about himself, Scott, Eason, Nicholson etc and less than he was offered to go to a couple of other clubs at that time. (Can somebody make sure noddy Gladman gets a copy of this)
Why?? Because more than $$$, this bloke said he wanted to win a senior premiership and realistically knew his body was getting close to the end. After way too many years as bridesmaids and middle of the road performers - our comittee were ready to build for ongoing success. Not just buy up for one year and hope. AJ looked at the big picture and liked what he saw coming through at Learmonth.
FACT - The first time I met him in person was at his interview and I was a cynic. All I knew was what I had seen the Beachams do on field (still good enough to have a presence in CHFL) and heard about them doing off field (not always good - but like the Big Footy rumour mill - most yarns from footy clubs tend to have a lot of sugar added to em)
FACT - Ever noticed how people (myself included) nearly always talked about 'the Beachams', not about Tim or AJ individually. Being twins they have had to wear accolades and at the same time, cop plenty of criticism for each others actions over the years. Since the boys went their own paths from Daylesford the old rumour mill has crawled to a halt.
FACT - Everyone would have to agree that he did an awesome job in 06 and got the most out of the young list we presented to him
FACT - AJ had to replace a bloke who was well respected and liked by all at LFNC. Not knowing anyone there he had to win over everybody from the playing list to the old cockies. He has done this with his fwd planning, professionalism and personal approach. At this stage only one player off the reserves - seniors list from 06 has indicated he may not be about for '07 - there's no better sign of acceptance and respect for a coach than that.
FACT - Playing or non playing, this bloke is an absolute footy nut, very professional, and would be an asset to the football dept at any club. All going well he will be part of the success at LFNC for many seasons to come.
FACT - AJ hits the solarium way too much and missed 2 crucial matches last year after having skin cancers removed from his nuts.:eek:
FACT - AJ loves winding you boys up...keep taking the bait. He thrives on it.
Hard to take you seriously with a name like : (whodatbabydaddy)
But couldn't have put it any better myself......Thanks Tim B.:).
But can you tell me who you have actually signed besides McGigan who is getting (OVERS not unders).
AJ does enjoy his footy for all the Shi t he is given on here and I think you have taken the bait o have clear any concerns about AJ.
Give him a tip though he should wear jocks at solarium, it wont grow longer if it turns black.:cool:
NoRumoursAllFact
13 Feb 2007, 22:21
whodatbabydaddy, Big Bad AJ Beacham made a big impression on you did he.. U know way too much about his nuts man.
Im not a big rap 4 blokes getting canned on here, but AJ's personality demands it.
He is the most over-rated, over confident (dont know why), big mouth going around with very little to back it up... on the football field that is. He's probobaly beat down a few dudes at pubs over the yrs.. but im told he chooses his targets wisely.
He must of had a good season early in his career and lived off it 4 the past 10. Learmonth wont win a flag in the next 5 years.. guaranteed
scoop22
14 Feb 2007, 08:09
Astro Boy or HarryHP
Just reading the transfers list this morning and caught a glimpse of an R. Brown putting in a clearance to go to Waubra from Donald in the NCFL, would that be Lee Brown's brother by any chance????? What type of player is he and where do you think he will he slot into the 2006 premiership side?? :)
I see that Hepburn have the first of their clearances come in.
Can anyone provide any information into Danny ABBOTT, or Nicholas GUYS both going to Hepburn from Darley. Were they Senior Footballers at Darley?
Riff Raff
14 Feb 2007, 08:45
Astro Boy or HarryHP
Just reading the transfers list this morning and caught a glimpse of an R. Brown putting in a clearance to go to Waubra from Donald in the NCFL, would that be Lee Brown's brother by any chance????? What type of player is he and where do you think he will he slot into the 2006 premiership side?? :)
Scoop that would be correct, i believe he is trying to play cricket down there already. Exactly the same ploy used to get Lee, the cricket club has the big job of getting them down the road and the footy club comes in and picks up the prize!!! Should be called the Waubra Cricket Football Netball Club. Have seen Big R play one game, was in the ruck and won a flag. My main concern would be his commitment , word is he's been seen shopping for doona covers , curtains , flowers today no doubt sounds like love!!!
Bend it
14 Feb 2007, 08:59
Astro Boy or HarryHP
Big Ro, played almost every senior game last year, would not have missed any more than five. Played mostly in the ruck and rested at full forward, not as classy or as good a finisher as lee, but wears his heart on his sleeve and give his all. His best game for the year was probably the grand final kicked a couple of goals and took some telling marks. I keep hearing that he is in love? Can any one name names i havent heard from the big show in a while?
Astro Boy
14 Feb 2007, 09:27
Big Ro, played almost every senior game last year, would not have missed any more than five. Played mostly in the ruck and rested at full forward, not as classy or as good a finisher as lee, but wears his heart on his sleeve and give his all. His best game for the year was probably the grand final kicked a couple of goals and took some telling marks. I keep hearing that he is in love? Can any one name names i havent heard from the big show in a while?
BOF ( BROTHER OF FRIDGE) is in LOVE. He has dropped plenty of weight & the boys he lives with believe this be due to the extra sessions his missus has been putting him through in the bed room.
He has planned a very special evening tonight for his Lady Friend & is believed to have packed a romantic picnic ( KFC Bucket & King Browns).
He was also spotted at THomas Jewlers on the Week end so who knows whats else maybe in the pinic....
BOF ( BROTHER OF FRIDGE) is in LOVE. He has dropped plenty of weight & the boys he lives with believe this be due to the extra sessions his missus has been putting him through in the bed room.
He has planned a very special evening tonight for his Lady Friend & is believed to have packed a romantic picnic ( KFC Bucket & King Browns).
He was also spotted at THomas Jewlers on the Week end so who knows whats else maybe in the pinic....
Astro Boy how did the Waubra meet the new players/piss up go sat night? Any new players make any early impressions with their performance on the jars?
What about the bloke that got his mug in the paper more times than he did play games last year from St Arnaud, I think he's names Archibald? I saw him play a few years ago and he impressed me with his dashing pace, is he a chance to find a spot in the senior line up this year?
Harry HP
14 Feb 2007, 10:22
I too heard this. Although he's dropped a fair bit of weight, he's still got a couple of kg's to go on each ankle. Hence big Ro's nickname....KANKLES!!!
Bend it
14 Feb 2007, 10:38
This year maybe the BOF's finest to date. So who is winning in the weight stakes Fridge or Ro?
I am still to find out who his lady friend is? can any one fill me in? sounds like she is keeping him pretty busy anyway!
Bend it
14 Feb 2007, 10:39
Does anyone know about this Hepburn player that is headed to Boort in the NCFL?
smasher100
14 Feb 2007, 10:45
Does anyone know about this Hepburn player that is headed to Boort in the NCFL?
Troy Ferrier - Ex Berriwillock boy
Uncle CC
14 Feb 2007, 10:59
Astro Boy or HarryHP
His sister is going to be playing netball for Waubra this year and big Bomber Brown is a big chance to coach the the two's footy.
doppelganger
14 Feb 2007, 11:12
Not 100% sure, but he did finish in top 10 (5-10), polled 2nd most votes in league medal to sobey for Learmonth, and did miss 5 games for the year with his ankle.
Not to mention awarded Best in Finals... thought you would remember that Learmonth or are you just being modest???
scoop22
14 Feb 2007, 12:22
His sister is going to be playing netball for Waubra this year and big Bomber Brown is a big chance to coach the the two's footy.
Listen Uncle CC, not sure where you get your information from but i know Brown's sister quite well, and although she loved the social scene that Waubra set last year, she won't be playing netball for Waubra (that is a guarantee), she will certainly be a strong supporter for the club this year but will also spend a fair amount of time supporting Donald still...., And BEND IT apparently Brown's sister doesn't even know who her brothers new flame is, apparently it is being kept quite close to that chest of his and his house mates (but they are lucky to even know what day it is let alone who he is chasing at the moment)...:)
Uncle CC
14 Feb 2007, 15:30
Listen Uncle CC, not sure where you get your information from but i know Brown's sister quite well
I know you do...very well indeed. I also heard Rowan and Lee are like brothers to you.
19th Man
15 Feb 2007, 09:30
I see that Hepburn have the first of their clearances come in.
Can anyone provide any information into Danny ABBOTT, or Nicholas GUYS both going to Hepburn from Darley. Were they Senior Footballers at Darley?
Abbot, I think played the year before last, haven't heard of Guys.
learmonth
15 Feb 2007, 09:44
Abbot, I think played the year before last, haven't heard of Guys.
Definantly not senior players, Ild say there mates of McKay..???
If anyone wants to se ethe clearances and transfers just check the cHFL websites...Dunstown are the big movers at this stage for numbers....
Velvetsledgehammer
15 Feb 2007, 10:59
Definantly not senior players, Ild say there mates of McKay..???
If anyone wants to se ethe clearances and transfers just check the cHFL websites...Dunstown are the big movers at this stage for numbers....
Dunnstown look to have a few good pick-ups McKenzie-McHarg & Sidebottom Uni boys from Sebas both good small quick blokes. Dridan from Lexton if he gets fit will make an impact in the CHFL as an on-baller. Has dominated Lexton league for last few years.
Rumour has it David Box is in an assistant coach role on good coin. Money wasted by Dunnstown!
KingRich
15 Feb 2007, 11:30
Dunnstown look to have a few good pick-ups McKenzie-McHarg & Sidebottom Uni boys from Sebas both good small quick blokes. Dridan from Lexton if he gets fit will make an impact in the CHFL as an on-baller. Has dominated Lexton league for last few years.
Rumour has it David Box is in an assistant coach role on good coin. Money wasted by Dunnstown!
Dridan will go alright. Haven't seen Box play so cant comment but heard he was more than handy.
Dridan will go O.K at best but mark my words Boxy will struggle, overweight, slow and hasn't the temperement to asst coach at this level. Will be there best coach since Griggy or Aiks!!
learmonth
16 Feb 2007, 08:52
[quote=Sticks23;6718278]You will find that Hehir is playing at Myrtleford in the O&M league this year so they have saved $600 a game already.[/quote
That's right, but why would Beacham let a minor matter like the truth stand in the way of his bullshi t stories. According to him everyone in Ballan is dumb, at least they're not dishonest like him. All he does on here is tell everyone how good he thinks he is and bag other clubs and players. He makes Tom Mullane-Grant out to be a mercenary by claiming he is on 800 a game when the truth is he is on nothing like it and he is playing for less this season than last. Family ties are the reason he came to the club in the first place. Watts has knocked back plenty of offers from other clubs over the last few years to remain at Ballan on a lot less than the 500 that dic khead says he is on. He talks about players changing clubs every couple of years, Wills and Collier have played at Sebas for about 15 years but their names get dragged through the mud as well. Beacham would probably need to take his shoes and socks off to count the number of clubs he's been at, given that he would only be able to use one hand as the other one is wrapped around his c ock most of the time. Learmonth will eventually wake up that the 25k they are paying him is nowhere near the trouble. He doesn't have the respect he claims to have, don't anybody take his or my word for it, ask some of the locals and judge for yourself.
Good to see you made the front page of the Ballarat Courier today Helmut, Is that why you have been stuck for words of late.... Not all so rosey in the Ballan township
[quote=helmut;6718603]
Good to see you made the front page of the Ballarat Courier today Helmut, Is that why you have been stuck for words of late.... Not all so rosey in the Ballan township
Haha. I'll pay that one smart ar se.
Thoroughbred
16 Feb 2007, 11:40
Dridan will go O.K at best but mark my words Boxy will struggle, overweight, slow and hasn't the temperement to asst coach at this level. Will be there best coach since Griggy or Aiks!!
I wouldn't think that Box will be a champion but he finds the ball a lot. I saw him as the runner for the 2's out at Lexton in the 1st week of finals last year and he looked a lot trimmer than in previous years.
Dridan is a very good player. I think he will be a good player if fit.
Does Coach Baker read this? It's Dane Grenfell here just wanted to apologise to Gordon and the rest of the league who will now miss out on the pleasure of seeing me in action every week. i signed with Albion.
out of your league chumps.
ROOSTER1
18 Feb 2007, 14:02
Troy Ferrier - Ex Berriwillock boy
Your not bad are you smasher. You get on this site trying to see if other people are going to say that this player isn't worth it like you have on the NCFL thread where no one has agreed with you. Look back in previous posts on this site and stop wasting people's time.
Velvetsledgehammer
19 Feb 2007, 11:15
Does Coach Baker read this? It's Dane Grenfell here just wanted to apologise to Gordon and the rest of the league who will now miss out on the pleasure of seeing me in action every week. i signed with Albion.
Mate you are a tool. Should fit in well down at Albion. Only good thing to come out of Darley is the on-ramp leading to the freeway out of the dump of a place.
What's grenfell & darley got to do with each other Velvet?
Velvetsledgehammer
19 Feb 2007, 12:56
What's grenfell & darley got to do with each other Velvet?
My mistake. Misinterpreted some information that was passed on. Apologies.
F00TY2007
20 Feb 2007, 07:11
I take it by that comment that you were talking to Baker about playing for Gordon this year. That is a pretty pathetic way of telling the club that you arn't playing for them.
You are obviously full of yourself and from what i hear your not half the footballer you think you are.
To not even have enough common decency to call the coach to tell him your not playing is a p1ss poor effort.
19th Man
20 Feb 2007, 08:06
I take it by that comment that you were talking to Baker about playing for Gordon this year. That is a pretty pathetic way of telling the club that you arn't playing for them.
You are obviously full of yourself and from what i hear your not half the footballer you think you are.
To not even have enough common decency to call the coach to tell him your not playing is a p1ss poor effort.
The thing is footy, that when you are that talented, hard at it and good looking to say the least, he shouldn't have to call the coach. That resposibility lies with his agent.
football head
20 Feb 2007, 12:38
hey there learmonth, you mite be able to answer this question, and what mite be the beginning of a classic big footy scoop..has shane rogan resigned again this year or will he be departing the lakers? the grapevine suggests he may be heading in the vacinity of north or north-western victoria to chase the kangaroo around??
learmonth
20 Feb 2007, 14:09
hey there learmonth, you mite be able to answer this question, and what mite be the beginning of a classic big footy scoop..has shane rogan resigned again this year or will he be departing the lakers? the grapevine suggests he may be heading in the vacinity of north or north-western victoria to chase the kangaroo around??
He has a cat locally, so I cant see him leaving. He spends all night with it tucked away in his little doorm at uni, and doesnt surface until lunch time. Chaz as he is better known as, showed up at training the other night with no top on strutting his stuff after a hard off season on the farm. Back in the Big smoke now, he is looking at enjoying some well earned KFC and Mcdonalds...
Dont for 1 sec let him tell you how big of a drinker he is, was beaten in a skulling contest by Lizzy Donovan last season, one of our start netballers...
As for the Kangaroo... He is scared of them... So know thats not true
Bdiddy18
21 Feb 2007, 07:28
Learmonth, I heard some ridiculous news last night. A source tells me that your trying to sign a Redan Premiership player. My source tells me that you have offered him in the vicinity of $500 a game. If true that is crazy because if its who I think it is he is worth only half of that! Can you confirm?
learmonth
21 Feb 2007, 07:35
[quote=Bdiddy18;6775662]Learmonth, I heard some ridiculous news last night. A source tells me that your trying to sign a Redan Premiership player. My source tells me that you have offered him in the vicinity of $500 a game. If true that is crazy because if its who I think it is he is worth only half of that! Can you confirm?[/quote
Completely untrue, have not spoken to any Redan premiership players.... Your talking from last season, or a few years ago..????
crusader
21 Feb 2007, 09:22
Poor old learmonth. Your coach is coping an absolute hiding. Is the pressure getting to him. Senior coach with great expectations on him, important job, and finally maybe a child on the way. Should make for an interesting year fro him.
Hepburns Darley recruits are mates of McKays, dont think they are anything special. They have also signed up two Daylesford boys. One who will no doubt cop the wrath of robbo all year, but can play and one who missed all of last year but has potential as well. So far nothing exciting down there though
As for scoble, adams, rodgers and keirghan, i would love to see who makes that sh it up. All have signed so there goes that rubbish.
KingRich
21 Feb 2007, 11:25
Michael Bourke heading back to CLunes will be a handy pickup for them. Will give them back some of their goal scoring power. Matt Brown from Lexton still very much a chance to go to Clunes also.
Astro Boy
21 Feb 2007, 11:36
Completely untrue, have not spoken to any Redan premiership players.... Your talking from last season, or a few years ago..????[/quote]
R u chasing Sam Giblett ?
Completely untrue, have not spoken to any Redan premiership players.... Your talking from last season, or a few years ago..????
R u chasing Sam Giblett ?[/QUOTE]
Ash Barker I think Astro Boy. I'd think he'd be worth around that mark if true, maybe not 500!!! Have heard his training at redan though so be interesting if true, maybe Bdiddy can inform us of a name after he did start the rumour!
learmonth
21 Feb 2007, 12:49
R u chasing Sam Giblett ?
Ash Barker I think Astro Boy. I'd think he'd be worth around that mark if true, maybe not 500!!! Have heard his training at redan though so be interesting if true, maybe Bdiddy can inform us of a name after he did start the rumour![/quote]
Very hard to get any of those Redan boys, as they stick together. Both untrue, but Barker would be a very hand aquasition if it was the case.
Astro Boy
21 Feb 2007, 12:56
Ash Barker I think Astro Boy. I'd think he'd be worth around that mark if true, maybe not 500!!! Have heard his training at redan though so be interesting if true, maybe Bdiddy can inform us of a name after he did start the rumour!
Very hard to get any of those Redan boys, as they stick together. Both untrue, but Barker would be a very hand aquasition if it was the case.[/quote]
Very true, Chippy would be a very handy player. Not sure about $500 though,
that would be $100 a foot.
that would be $100 a foot.[/quote]
Apparantly Chippy hasn't been training much anyway, him, Field and Giblett cannot find time to get to footy training due to their heavy poker commitments at several venues around Ballarat. They specialize in the Midlands Poker comp, due to the majority of the players being 70+
No need to waste time training for footy this time of year when you can bleed people on seniors cards and walking frames dry at poker 5 times a week.
that would be $100 a foot.
Apparantly Chippy hasn't been training much anyway, him, Field and Giblett cannot find time to get to footy training due to their heavy poker commitments at several venues around Ballarat. They specialize in the Midlands Poker comp, due to the majority of the players being 70+
No need to waste time training for footy this time of year when you can bleed people on seniors cards and walking frames dry at poker 5 times a week.[/QUOTE]
Don't pick on poker scoots! Good on them I say. I'd advise you to get up to Alfredton oval on the occasional friday night and you'd be suprised of the turn out of footy players!
learmonth
21 Feb 2007, 14:42
No need to waste time training for footy this time of year when you can bleed people on seniors cards and walking frames dry at poker 5 times a week.
Don't pick on poker scoots! Good on them I say. I'd advise you to get up to Alfredton oval on the occasional friday night and you'd be suprised of the turn out of footy players![/quote]
Doesnt Miracle Mark Nunn run the show up there..Thats what he tells me, with Brenton Powell from Learmonth taking the $$$ a few weeks ago..
ROOSTER1
21 Feb 2007, 20:11
Learmonth, I heard some ridiculous news last night. A source tells me that your trying to sign a Redan Premiership player. My source tells me that you have offered him in the vicinity of $500 a game. If true that is crazy because if its who I think it is he is worth only half of that! Can you confirm?
Remember this guys- you are worth as much as you can negotiate!
19th Man
21 Feb 2007, 21:11
Remember this guys- you are worth as much as you can negotiate!
if he has negotiated for $500/game, then he is the Donald Trump of Ballarat. No way known is he worth that much. $250 at best.
Fence Sitter
21 Feb 2007, 22:59
Very hard to get any of those Redan boys, as they stick together. Both untrue, but Barker would be a very hand aquasition if it was the case.[/quote]
Does that mean that Sam Giblett is going with Ash Barker?
I was told Barker was offerd $520 actually, after initial offer of $480 then stepped up next day.
At least you're starting make reasonable offers.
With 2 blokes totalling $1000/game bewteen them and standing 6ft 6inch (when McGigan is on Barker's Shoulders you might get the ruckman you're chasing) I assume you have had no luck with Big Shaw from East Point.
And yes Abbot is a mate of mckay.
any more signings? still 4 points short...
By the way How much do you pay that professional trainer for your running, isnt that part of the your job AJ?:confused:
learmonth
22 Feb 2007, 07:35
Very hard to get any of those Redan boys, as they stick together. Both untrue, but Barker would be a very hand aquasition if it was the case.
Does that mean that Sam Giblett is going with Ash Barker?
I was told Barker was offerd $520 actually, after initial offer of $480 then stepped up next day.
At least you're starting make reasonable offers.
With 2 blokes totalling $1000/game bewteen them and standing 6ft 6inch (when McGigan is on Barker's Shoulders you might get the ruckman you're chasing) I assume you have had no luck with Big Shaw from East Point.
And yes Abbot is a mate of mckay.
any more signings? still 4 points short...
By the way How much do you pay that professional trainer for your running, isnt that part of the your job AJ?:confused:[/quote]
All off the above is untrue, but have heard it floating around myself...
John Borbitch is our fitness coach, and he runs our pre-season and fitness department as he is fully qualified and a lot more knowlegable in that area than myself. He came with me from Dford, and has made a huge difference to the Learmonth football club in our fitness and strength.
Coaching these days is a massive job and I concentrate on the footy side, whilst I leave that area to someone that knows what there talking about. Exactly the same with our physio, why should I treat injuries, leave it to the experts. Just another way learmonth are stepping up their professionalism, and all successful clubs would be doing the same...
Thats why there is a big gap b/t the top sides, Middle Sides and a gigantic gap with the bottom 4.
As for a ruckman, we have 2 in Faz and Fez + Davey can play there....
shibby44
22 Feb 2007, 13:13
Went out in the town last night i sore a new Brett Nevile, what has learmonth turned him into, man he is big. CHB this year or what?
N Bartos
22 Feb 2007, 14:17
Went out in the town last night i sore a new Brett Nevile, what has learmonth turned him into, man he is big. CHB this year or what?
CHB??? Every CHF would be rubbing there hands together. Loves the weights, and a good bloke but struggles.
Harry HP
22 Feb 2007, 14:49
I also went out on the town last night, ended up at the armery and saw Waubras boom recruit fridge browns brother. He was tearing a hole in the dancefloor being such a ladies man and all, apparently this is he's pre season technique to trimming down...Seems to be working for big Kankles.
Also saw a few more of Waubras recruits out, and judging by how messy they were, they should fit right in out there at Waubra...
formguid121
22 Feb 2007, 15:55
CHB??? Every CHF would be rubbing there hands together. Loves the weights, and a good bloke but struggles.
Yeah he does but he might be a very handy 2nds player
Astro Boy
26 Feb 2007, 11:47
I also went out on the town last night, ended up at the armery and saw Waubras boom recruit fridge browns brother. He was tearing a hole in the dancefloor being such a ladies man and all, apparently this is he's pre season technique to trimming down...Seems to be working for big Kankles.
Also saw a few more of Waubras recruits out, and judging by how messy they were, they should fit right in out there at Waubra...
Has big Kankles been doing some damage with the ladies?
Also heard a whisper Frazer Allen has bulked up after a massive pre season in the Gym & will be pushing for CHF this year.
learmonth
26 Feb 2007, 15:52
Has big Kankles been doing some damage with the ladies?
Also heard a whisper Frazer Allen has bulked up after a massive pre season in the Gym & will be pushing for CHF this year.
Waubra are certainly looking the Goods at this stage of the season. Have picked up quality players along with Cam Landry who will sign in the next few days and have not lost many. Plus they were 10 goals better then all sides as well, so all sides need to close that gap as well.
Bungaree have potential, but are yet to show all their cards. If they get a CHF that they are talking to from Lakers, will be very very hard to beat. Dynamic forward line of Reid, Nicholson, Mcdonald, Quinlan and Ben Kick new recruit from Maryborough. If you put McMahon into that forward line then its dangerous, but hard too see them all playing in the forward line. Dru Quinlan is also another possibility for that forward line.??? Good spot for selectors to be in..
Fence Sitter
26 Feb 2007, 22:53
Waubra are certainly looking the Goods at this stage of the season. Have picked up quality players along with Cam Landry who will sign in the next few days and have not lost many. Plus they were 10 goals better then all sides as well, so all sides need to close that gap as well.
Bungaree have potential, but are yet to show all their cards. If they get a CHF that they are talking to from Lakers, will be very very hard to beat. Dynamic forward line of Reid, Nicholson, Mcdonald, Quinlan and Ben Kick new recruit from Maryborough. If you put McMahon into that forward line then its dangerous, but hard too see them all playing in the forward line. Dru Quinlan is also another possibility for that forward line.??? Good spot for selectors to be in..
AJ, I have been telling you all summer Waubra are the team and now you are quoting what I have been also saying that they were 10 goals better than every side last year and will be another 10 goals better against the poorer sides and only 2 other sides will close gap (daylesford and hepburn).
Why will landry leave, has he been there for 6-7 years and his mates are there?
I think you will find that Daylesford and Hepburn are the only serious threat. Bungaree wont get McMahon, he has been chased by every central highlands club, including yours from what I know.
With Bunga improving, along with Ballan and Dunnstown...you must be worried about not playing finals on your own dunghill.
Top 5
Waubra:cool:
Hepburn:p
Daylesford:(
Bunga:eek:
Ballan:D
With Gordon as the big improver.:thumbsu:
Learmonth:o
Fence Sitter
26 Feb 2007, 22:54
hmmmm.... hit enter twice
learmonth
27 Feb 2007, 07:58
AJ, I have been telling you all summer Waubra are the team and now you are quoting what I have been also saying that they were 10 goals better than every side last year and will be another 10 goals better against the poorer sides and only 2 other sides will close gap (daylesford and hepburn).
Why will landry leave, has he been there for 6-7 years and his mates are there?
I think you will find that Daylesford and Hepburn are the only serious threat. Bungaree wont get McMahon, he has been chased by every central highlands club, including yours from what I know.
With Bunga improving, along with Ballan and Dunnstown...you must be worried about not playing finals on your own dunghill.
Top 5
Waubra:cool:
Hepburn:p
Daylesford:(
Bunga:eek:
Ballan:D
With Gordon as the big improver.:thumbsu:
Learmonth:o
Waubra did lose one game last year, remember that, and all sides that you have noted could possibly play finals, so it will be competitive. But if you have confidence in your own teams ability which I do, and they work hard and a bit of luck goes our way, we can make it again! As stated last year, we wouldnt make it, then when we played finals we were only making up teh numbers. Its always good to prove pundits wrong, and as in footy, all sides match up each other differently with different strategies. As for Gordon being the BIG improvers, my answer is NO! Beaufort will improve more then them.
McMahon is still a high possibility of playing in the CHFL.
F00TY2007
27 Feb 2007, 08:30
Waubra did lose one game last year, remember that, and all sides that you have noted could possibly play finals, so it will be competitive. But if you have confidence in your own teams ability which I do, and they work hard and a bit of luck goes our way, we can make it again! As stated last year, we wouldnt make it, then when we played finals we were only making up teh numbers. Its always good to prove pundits wrong, and as in footy, all sides match up each other differently with different strategies. As for Gordon being the BIG improvers, my answer is NO! Beaufort will improve more then them.
One thing we can all be sure of is that Learmonth will be looking good for putting up a good case at a premiership in March / April. It is what we have come to know and love about them. Looks good early in the season, but come september they go missing.
The first chance we will see how they are going will be when they come up is when they come up against Redan and East in the BFL lightning premiership the week before round 1. It will test out where the side is sitting early.
I doubt McGuigan will get a kick as well coming up aginst his old side and I think there will be some players that might like to give him a bit of a welcome back to BFL football touch up.
Astro Boy
27 Feb 2007, 08:39
I think Mac DAddy will stay with the Lakers.
It was a good win by Learmonth last year against Waubra & u can only beat the side that is on the paddock.
Waubra did have 9 players of the premiership side out that day though.
crusader
27 Feb 2007, 09:35
McMahon got offered an absolute packet i have been told by you guys learmonth. And that is from a pretty reliable source. Is there any truth in that. And from what i heard last night, there is a very big chance lakers are going to struggle to get to round 1. Very good financially but can not get a team together. Landry to Waubra would be a big pick up, but heard you boys are going at him too. Who else do you want from Lakers?
learmonth
27 Feb 2007, 09:51
McMahon got offered an absolute packet i have been told by you guys learmonth. And that is from a pretty reliable source. Is there any truth in that. And from what i heard last night, there is a very big chance lakers are going to struggle to get to round 1. Very good financially but can not get a team together. Landry to Waubra would be a big pick up, but heard you boys are going at him too. Who else do you want from Lakers?
We would like to use their footy ground as well. Certainly have spoken to him, like every CHFL club, U would be silly not too. Would be the best player in tyhe comp by the length of Fleminton straight. Lakers have 3 of learmonths juniors, so just trying to organise a swap. Landry will play at Waubra, no questions asked with his brother in-law.
How was the Dford camp this week crusader, any interesting stories, and from what I have been told, your ground will be rock hard for this weeks practice match against your coaches former side. Ill be up there to enjoy a few cold ones with u guys, as long as u keep that dford gay stuff away from me.
crusader
27 Feb 2007, 10:07
We would like to use their footy ground as well. Certainly have spoken to him, like every CHFL club, U would be silly not too. Would be the best player in tyhe comp by the length of Fleminton straight. Lakers have 3 of learmonths juniors, so just trying to organise a swap. Landry will play at Waubra, no questions asked with his brother in-law.
How was the Dford camp this week crusader, any interesting stories, and from what I have been told, your ground will be rock hard for this weeks practice match against your coaches former side. Ill be up there to enjoy a few cold ones with u guys, as long as u keep that dford gay stuff away from me.
Was good, had close to 40 there so that was good. By far the hardest one we have had over the years. Grounds not that hard just real dry on top, but dont think its looking good for this week. Get to start watering it again this week so in a couple of weeks will be up to scratch. Mate you bought the gay stuff to daylesford.
Hepburn have also supposedly signed a couple of good players aswell. one being an ex calder cannons player, not sure of his name and supposedly a couple of western jets players. So they are starting to make their move
19th Man
27 Feb 2007, 10:24
Don't forget Gilbert. Tough, gets plenty of it without the accolades.
crusader
27 Feb 2007, 10:34
Don't forget Gilbert. Tough, gets plenty of it without the accolades.
Didnt see him last year, but last time i played against him was starting to come good. Would be solid as he is good in and under. Doesnt back down either. Could be a suprise packet in the CHFL this year
Fence Sitter
27 Feb 2007, 16:36
Jarvis has gone overseas 2 weeks ago...you pick your friends not your rellie's
Fence Sitter
27 Feb 2007, 16:37
Was good, had close to 40 there so that was good. By far the hardest one we have had over the years. Grounds not that hard just real dry on top, but dont think its looking good for this week. Get to start watering it again this week so in a couple of weeks will be up to scratch. Mate you bought the gay stuff to daylesford.
Hepburn have also supposedly signed a couple of good players aswell. one being an ex calder cannons player, not sure of his name and supposedly a couple of western jets players. So they are starting to make their move
Should be more on these guys signing over next few weeks.
Fence Sitter
27 Feb 2007, 22:08
I think Mac DAddy will stay with the Lakers.
It was a good win by Learmonth last year against Waubra & u can only beat the side that is on the paddock.
Waubra did have 9 players of the premiership side out that day though.
Astro boy, you are on the money he stayed at lake wendouree, signing today so i'm told tonight.:thumbsd:
There are going to be a lot of CHFL clubs spewing, as he apparently spoke to a few clubs.
Astro Boy
1 Mar 2007, 07:16
HAd a look At Waubra training last night, got to see Kankles in action for the first time. He moved pretty well for a big fella & had plenty to say.
He did not complete the full session tho. ???? must be asked about his ticker.
The trainer was forced to duck over to the Park to grab a couple of bags of ice for each kankle.
ablett19
1 Mar 2007, 11:16
Any news on how Brad Beseler (Budgie) skills are after having a couple of years off overseas. Was very skillful and fleet of foot before he left and I'm presuming he would not have lost a bit!!!!
footyfanz22
1 Mar 2007, 11:26
Landry is going to Waubra as he has cricket connections out there also. Bust up with some of the Lakers players due to a few things that happened at his wedding.
19th Man
1 Mar 2007, 11:59
Landry is going to Waubra as he has cricket connections out there also. Bust up with some of the Lakers players due to a few things that happened at his wedding.
I hope the bride wasn't involved!
Leather Magnet
1 Mar 2007, 12:05
Toby Gilmour, Waubra recruit from Donald?
Seen on the track with the Roosters last night.
Can someone who is affialiated with each club name their 3 pre season flyers/blokes expected to have big years?
Looking for blokes who aren't big names, but might be by about round 10.
learmonth
2 Mar 2007, 07:54
Can someone who is affialiated with each club name their 3 pre season flyers/blokes expected to have big years?
Looking for blokes who aren't big names, but might be by about round 10.
At Learmonth- Shane Powell, Joel Pearce & Mark Farrell
Don't Argue
2 Mar 2007, 11:10
Who is Shane Powell and what is his background? There was a Shane Powell that played a bit of footy at Dunolly a while back. I'm just wondering if it is the same guy.
Sherman41
2 Mar 2007, 11:14
learmonth was just wondering if u could tell me a little bout a scott atkin? who has put in a clearance to avoca this year....cheers
learmonth
2 Mar 2007, 12:52
learmonth was just wondering if u could tell me a little bout a scott atkin? who has put in a clearance to avoca this year....cheers
Previously is from Avoca. Only played 1 year with us and is a good mate of mine. Very committed footballer who always gives 100%. Will only be a 2's player, but a great person to have around your club. From what I know he has to work every 2nd weekend this year, which probably prompted his decision to go back to Avoca. Played forward pocket for most of the year, but played his best games in the backline.
learmonth
2 Mar 2007, 12:53
Who is Shane Powell and what is his background? There was a Shane Powell that played a bit of footy at Dunolly a while back. I'm just wondering if it is the same guy.
Is the twin brother of Brenton Powell who won our B&F last season. HAd a knee injury last year and is really committed and has burnt on the track with excellent skills and leg speed. Is 3-5 inches bigger then Brenton and will be a major assett for the LFC this season. Only 20 years of age
Sherman41
2 Mar 2007, 14:01
Previously is from Avoca. Only played 1 year with us and is a good mate of mine. Very committed footballer who always gives 100%. Will only be a 2's player, but a great person to have around your club. From what I know he has to work every 2nd weekend this year, which probably prompted his decision to go back to Avoca. Played forward pocket for most of the year, but played his best games in the backline.
cheers thanks fot that, if he was a solid 2's player in your league then a chance he might be borderline 1's in our league i suppose.
learmonth
2 Mar 2007, 14:07
cheers thanks fot that, if he was a solid 2's player in your league then a chance he might be borderline 1's in our league i suppose.
In my opinion Sherman, will only play 2's unless you dont have much depth out there. Might be worth while giving Julian Field a call, spoke to him a while back and he said he will finish his career as a coach at his home town. Would be a massive windfall to have him back
doppelganger
2 Mar 2007, 14:34
I heard this week that Hepburn have lost both Newtons.
Don't Argue
2 Mar 2007, 14:49
Might be worth while giving Julian Field a call, spoke to him a while back and he said he will finish his career as a coach at his home town. Would be a massive windfall to have him back
I know they are praying for that. It could be a long shot though. Like Jamie Bond back to Talbot.
Julian Field will definately line up at Redan this season and rightly so. The strange thing is that Julian was equal club B & F, won one of the medals that was presented for best on the ground in a winning grand final - probably had the most possessions of any player in Redan's premiership win but told me the other day that he wasn't 100% happy with the way he played throughout the year. He feels he owes Redan another season and the Avoca club wish him all the best. As for him lining up for Avoca again one day. There is probably a 99.9% chance that he will be wearing his old number 16 on the barber's pole stripes sooner rather than later. Jules is a quality person who plays quality football and he will know when the time is right to return.
N Bartos
5 Mar 2007, 11:41
So who's playing who in practice matches this year. I see Learmonth and Gordon are again going up against the Ballarat League teams in the lightning premiership.