View Full Version : Central Highlands

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

StanTsaikos
5 Mar 2007, 13:18
So who's playing who in practice matches this year. I see Learmonth and Gordon are again going up against the Ballarat League teams in the lightning premiership.

Is that so Neville-it would be good to see Gordon wallop the lakies considering how much blowing "Learmonth" has been doin on here about how good there travelling!

FootyFan235
5 Mar 2007, 13:36
G'day,

Just wondering if anyone can tell me how a couple of young blokes by the name of Aaron Wilson and Mark Suckling are going out at learmonth?
Saw them play a few years ago in juniors and they look promising

learmonth
5 Mar 2007, 14:58
Is that so Neville-it would be good to see Gordon wallop the lakies considering how much blowing "Learmonth" has been doin on here about how good there travelling!

Whats wrong with talking a side up Stan, If you dont believe you can beat anyside as a coach, why even do the job. The coaches position is to develop game plans and instill self belief for all his players against all sides so that they believe they can win. Im sure when gordon plays us, Bakes will have a strategy in place that he believes can beat Learmonth, vice versa as myself. We will just have to wait and see.

Now stop being so negative and give ya own side a pump up, people like you bore me who are so negative. We should sit you down with Anthony Mundine, and let some of his confidence and ego rub of on you. Now is the glass half full or empty..???

learmonth
5 Mar 2007, 15:01
G'day,

Just wondering if anyone can tell me how a couple of young blokes by the name of Aaron Wilson and Mark Suckling are going out at learmonth?
Saw them play a few years ago in juniors and they look promising

Aaron Wilson will make it as a player, just needs time to develop. I have seen vast improvement in 12 months but is still a raw 18yo. Has good speed and skills, and once he muscles up he will become a good player for the Learmonth F.C. Plays mostly on a wing, and played around 4 senior games last season. Expect him to double that this year.
Mark Suckling wasnt at the club last season, so im not sure about him/

F00TY2007
6 Mar 2007, 09:43
Whats wrong with talking a side up Stan, If you dont believe you can beat anyside as a coach, why even do the job. The coaches position is to develop game plans and instill self belief for all his players against all sides so that they believe they can win. Im sure when gordon plays us, Bakes will have a strategy in place that he believes can beat Learmonth, vice versa as myself. We will just have to wait and see.

Now stop being so negative and give ya own side a pump up, people like you bore me who are so negative. We should sit you down with Anthony Mundine, and let some of his confidence and ego rub of on you. Now is the glass half full or empty..???

Its good to see Learmonth and Gordon play in the BFL. We all know that Gordon have been underdone with talented footballers in the past few seasons and with no clearances in yet and a few out they dont seem to improved much as yet, but they look like they are trying to move forward with a new coach. Learmonth have still got a young side and arnt as big boddied as BFL clubs are also have a crack at it. By playing against better teams they will make better footballers out of themselves.

Why is it that a stuggling club like them will push into the big league but the heavy weights of the league like Waubra, Hepburn, Ballan etc are happy in their comfort zone playing practice matches against no-name teams from weak leagues. I say it is about time they have a crack against the BFL teams and find out where they really stand in the scheme of things and how the CHFL stacks up against the BFL.

KingRich
6 Mar 2007, 09:51
Its good to see Learmonth and Gordon play in the BFL. We all know that Gordon have been underdone with talented footballers in the past few seasons and with no clearances in yet and a few out they dont seem to improved much as yet, but they look like they are trying to move forward with a new coach. Learmonth have still got a young side and arnt as big boddied as BFL clubs are also have a crack at it. By playing against better teams they will make better footballers out of themselves.

Why is it that a stuggling club like them will push into the big league but the heavy weights of the league like Waubra, Hepburn, Ballan etc are happy in their comfort zone playing practice matches against no-name teams from weak leagues. I say it is about time they have a crack against the BFL teams and find out where they really stand in the scheme of things and how the CHFL stacks up against the BFL.

Do you honestly think these clubs care where they stack up against the BFL?? Its really a non-issue. Each club will prepare their side as they see fit and the primary focus is to have them right by round 1. Most coaches that I know prefer to play a competitive game against similar opposition. Some of these clubs stepping up to BFL may get found out badly and I dont think that does anyones confidence any good. Up to the coach though really.

N Bartos
6 Mar 2007, 10:33

I'm pretty sure Hepburn played there practice matches against Bacchus Marsh and a Bendigo League club last year, and a mate from Grovedale said they're playing Waubra in a practice match this year.
I'd rather have my club play a full practice match rather than 2 X 20 minute halves. I think that's the major issue here. Partly why the Learmonth night series folded, clubs want to give all there players a decent run.

learmonth
6 Mar 2007, 10:54
I'm pretty sure Hepburn played there practice matches against Bacchus Marsh and a Bendigo League club last year, and a mate from Grovedale said they're playing Waubra in a practice match this year.
I'd rather have my club play a full practice match rather than 2 X 20 minute halves. I think that's the major issue here. Partly why the Learmonth night series folded, clubs want to give all there players a decent run.

Its better to lose a practice match against quality opposition with higher intensity by 5-10 goals rather then winning them by 20 goals against mediocre opposition and developing bad habits. Its all about getting ready for the season opener, and only the club, knows whats best for them. Learmonth will play an intra club, followed by 2 Full on Practice matches at Learmonth and then the Lightning premiership 6 days before the season opener, which will hopefully increase the players reaction times and speed.

tud34
6 Mar 2007, 12:56
Its better to lose a practice match against quality opposition with higher intensity by 5-10 goals rather then winning them by 20 goals against mediocre opposition and developing bad habits. Its all about getting ready for the season opener, and only the club, knows whats best for them. Learmonth will play an intra club, followed by 2 Full on Practice matches at Learmonth and then the Lightning premiership 6 days before the season opener, which will hopefully increase the players reaction times and speed.

I agree with you and F00ty Learmonth. We are playing it cause it is a chance to have a high intensity hitout. Round 1 the following week and exactly what you said we need to work on reaction time and speed. By that stage of the preseason we should be ready to go and can use the BFL games as a tune up.

We are also playing an intraclub and full practice matches. I agree with F00ty in that the best way to improve is to play against the best. We played a few weeker sides in the last few years and beat them by 10-15 goals and everyone knows how that turned out for us.

FootyFan235
7 Mar 2007, 13:26

Gotta say there are positives with both angles, i agree that the better oposition you play the better you become, but playing a struggling team and beating the pants off them can be great for the morale and confidence.... you just don't want to develop bad habits.

Can anyone tell me what a kid from gordon Nolan is doing thesedays, remember seeing him dominate in juniors in a finals series few years back.

Also wondering if everyone can throw up a few names of the young players (say under 20) that are looking good.... possible key players that will be well known in a year or two

Archie Threadbo
7 Mar 2007, 19:40
Can anyone tell me anything about Gordon, Beaufort, Newlyn or Springbank recruits?

The Train
7 Mar 2007, 20:28
Heard rumour that Ballan may have lured a triple premiership player from Sandringham (chb) and that few others may have fallen through, any word on that?

DarthAnnihl8or
8 Mar 2007, 05:54
NEwlyn have had a large number of Ballarat Football Club players at training recently. Possibly up to 8.

tud34
8 Mar 2007, 06:46
Gotta say there are positives with both angles, i agree that the better oposition you play the better you become, but playing a struggling team and beating the pants off them can be great for the morale and confidence.... you just don't want to develop bad habits.

Can anyone tell me what a kid from gordon Nolan is doing thesedays, remember seeing him dominate in juniors in a finals series few years back.

Also wondering if everyone can throw up a few names of the young players (say under 20) that are looking good.... possible key players that will be well known in a year or two

Steve Nolan went up to Darwin (Chasing a girl so im told) a couple of years back. Your right, with his raw speed he was able to dominate a game of footy.

learmonth
8 Mar 2007, 07:54
NEwlyn have had a large number of Ballarat Football Club players at training recently. Possibly up to 8.

Went past last night and must have had all them bar 1 as they had a massive 7 on the track. Why hasnt there been any applications for clearances if they were serious..???

Astro Boy
8 Mar 2007, 12:07
Heard rumour that Ballan may have lured a triple premiership player from Sandringham (chb) and that few others may have fallen through, any word on that?

Who r the recruits that have fallen through?

learmonth
9 Mar 2007, 07:55
Who r the recruits that have fallen through?

Chris Wills seems to be the main one.

L'Month held its 1st Intra Club practise match last night, with 52 players participating (all seniors) and 8 of last years final side not playing for certain reasons (Madigan, S-Basham,Sobey, Aj, Sache, Shorter, Lee, Neville, McMurry and C. McGuigan). Star performers were recruit Charlie Edmonston from Dukie, Matthew Lockett, Shane Powell was hard and quick at it all night, whilst Gudgeon and Veldhuis were sensational down back all night.
Nick Bone (Nth Ballarat) worked his way into the game after half time and has some real leg speed, which will be another bonus for L'Month this season, and the Rogan boys looked as fit as ever with excellent work rate playing in the midfield.
Aaron Davies the captain played of half back and got through his 1st game which was pleasing and was hard at it like usual, which shows he has confidence in the leg.
Tim Wright (Dford) was also good in patches with his hard body around the contests showing that he will be an asset this season for the L'Month footy club after playing in a losing Prelim last season.

All signs are looking good at this stage- Anyone else willing to have a say regarding how their clubs are travelling

Gadget
9 Mar 2007, 11:15

L'Month held its 1st Intra Club practise match last night, with 52 players participating (all seniors) and 8 of last years final side not playing for certain reasons (Madigan, S-Basham,Sobey, Aj, Sache, Shorter, Lee, Neville, McMurry and C. McGuigan). Star performers were recruit Charlie Edmonston from Dukie, Matthew Lockett, Shane Powell was hard and quick at it all night, whilst Gudgeon and Veldhuis were sensational down back all night.
Nick Bone (Nth Ballarat) worked his way into the game after half time and has some real leg speed, which will be another bonus for L'Month this season, and the Rogan boys looked as fit as ever with excellent work rate playing in the midfield.
Aaron Davies the captain played of half back and got through his 1st game which was pleasing and was hard at it like usual, which shows he has confidence in the leg.
Tim Wright (Dford) was also good in patches with his hard body around the contests showing that he will be an asset this season for the L'Month footy club after playing in a losing Prelim last season.

All signs are looking good at this stage- Anyone else willing to have a say regarding how their clubs are travelling
Can I suggest you post this on your own website learmonth... As it is irrelavant info.. Of Course your going to talk up the pre-season flyers! Fill us in the players that struggled last night and were not upto scratch?????

learmonth
9 Mar 2007, 12:15
Can I suggest you post this on your own website learmonth... As it is irrelavant info.. Of Course your going to talk up the pre-season flyers! Fill us in the players that struggled last night and were not upto scratch?????

Your such a negative person Gadget, no wonder your so unmotivated and have not succeeded at anything in life. i thought this site was to give footy info, maybe you should jump onto www.gayda.com.au you sour pod. Its a long weekend, so turn that thrown upside down and let ya hair down Mr. Serious.
Why not talk them up when they have done the hard work, that's a coaches job, is to instill confidence and self belief in his players and set game plans against all oppositions so that they believe that they can win. If you go out there thinking u cant win, then whats the use. Maybe if more coaches took that approach they would be better of. Nothing wrong with self-belief, Mr No belief!!!

KingRich
9 Mar 2007, 12:52

Bit harsh Gadget! I'd rather read about something related to footy that blokes just hanging s*** on each other! Thought Learmonths post was alright, informative and obviously biased but why not!

Gadget
9 Mar 2007, 13:52
Your such a negative person Gadget, no wonder your so unmotivated and have not succeeded at anything in life. i thought this site was to give footy info, maybe you should jump onto www.gayda.com.au you sour pod. Its a long weekend, so turn that thrown upside down and let ya hair down Mr. Serious.
Why not talk them up when they have done the hard work, that's a coaches job, is to instill confidence and self belief in his players and set game plans against all oppositions so that they believe that they can win. If you go out there thinking u cant win, then whats the use. Maybe if more coaches took that approach they would be better of. Nothing wrong with self-belief, Mr No belief!!!
Don't get me wrorng Learmonth... I enjoy your posts, but there are 2 sides to a footy club.. The ups and the downs... You go into alot depth with pumping up players tyres on here and personally I think your putting alot of pressure on these kids to perform by putting it out there to read.. Other clubs do take notice and it wouldn't be that bad of an idea to keep a few secrets under your belt for round 1.. Again, it's only my opinion as I do thouroughly enjoy your posts especially against KA!!!

DrWho
10 Mar 2007, 21:00
Your such a negative person Gadget, no wonder your so unmotivated and have not succeeded at anything in life. i thought this site was to give footy info, maybe you should jump onto www.gayda.com.au (http://www.gayda.com.au) you sour pod. Its a long weekend, so turn that thrown upside down and let ya hair down Mr. Serious.

I find ur posts to be alot of fun to read Learmonth talking up ur club is good for team spirit, and the bitching gives us all a laugh.......but gee i do hope that gayda thing is not a direct link to ur profile!!!!!!!!! :eek:
Dissapointing!

ROOSTER1
11 Mar 2007, 11:16
[like them will push into the big league but the heavy weights of the league like Waubra, Hepburn, Ballan etc are happy in their comfort zone playing practice matches against no-name teams from weak leagues. I say it is about time they have a crack against the BFL teams and find out where they really stand in the scheme of things and how the CHFL stacks up against the BFL.[/quote]

Think you should check your facts first mate. Hepburn have played against Bacchus Marsh (BFL), Kangaroo Flat and Maryborough (Bendigo) in the past two years and given all teams a football lesson. They didn't only beat them they absolutely flogged them. They're choice of pracice matches speak for itself.

As for Waubra I don't think it would matter who they played in whatever league, they'd probably do similar with their line up at present.

F00TY2007
12 Mar 2007, 22:28
[
As for Waubra I don't think it would matter who they played in whatever league, they'd probably do similar with their line up at present.

You are probably right mate but the sides that they have played in pre-season hitouts havent been that great.

They will still be strong as long as they dont suffer a premiership hangover. From what I hear their "gun" recuit nicholson has been a noticable absentee from a large majority of their training sessions.

Waubra seconds will be a strong side come round one I feel with Pelissia and Dodds in the same boat having not made too many appearances on the track. Saw Dodds out on the weekend and he looks like he hasnt done much on the track to work off the christmas pudding.

If my memory serves me correctly, Doddsy and Leith started round one in the 2nds last year didnt they? Can you confirm or deny that CC???

crusader
13 Mar 2007, 10:33

Tim Wright and his hard body. Last time i spoke to someone from learmonth, which was a week ago he was 10 kg over weight. Only thing hard on his body is his left arm from lifting his fork to his mouth. Can play, but unfit.

crusader
13 Mar 2007, 11:03
Learmonth, the Daylesford boys played sebas on friday night. Both had under strength teams in but dford won by about 10 goals in 60 minutes of footy. Sebas did have a lot of kids running around, so it can not be read into mate. We did have a 15 year old play and from my opinion was probably close to best on ground. When do you fellas play next

learmonth
13 Mar 2007, 12:03
Learmonth, the Daylesford boys played sebas on friday night. Both had under strength teams in but dford won by about 10 goals in 60 minutes of footy. Sebas did have a lot of kids running around, so it can not be read into mate. We did have a 15 year old play and from my opinion was probably close to best on ground. When do you fellas play next

Massive effort Crusader, I heard the win was soured with the report of Thommo. Did he receive a suspension at all..??? Thats still an excellent win, even if both sides were missing plenty. Top 3 for sure for u guys this season. We play our 1st match on Sunday 25th of March- have 2-3 sides in line to play, but just waiting on call backs, as we want all sides and netballers to be involved, followed by the footy camp the week after.

15 yo, was that Alexander..???
Also heard that your rooms were graffited the other week, any truth to that rumor, and that your weights room is the biggest in the league, leaving all visiting sides 1 toilet cubile to change in. I guess, its still twice the size of some clubs....BANG!

the_don88
14 Mar 2007, 13:03
You are probably right mate but the sides that they have played in pre-season hitouts havent been that great.

They will still be strong as long as they dont suffer a premiership hangover. From what I hear their "gun" recuit nicholson has been a noticable absentee from a large majority of their training sessions.

Waubra seconds will be a strong side come round one I feel with Pelissia and Dodds in the same boat having not made too many appearances on the track. Saw Dodds out on the weekend and he looks like he hasnt done much on the track to work off the christmas pudding.

If my memory serves me correctly, Doddsy and Leith started round one in the 2nds last year didnt they? Can you confirm or deny that CC???

it didn't seem to effect them come the end of the year when they won the flag last year. Why change what works for them?
Their will be a few of the boys missing out on practice games in the next few weeks, because of cricket finals.
Laundry, Knowles, Aikman from Ballarat Redan
Nicholson, Sidebottom, Fletcher and Pellisier (13th man duties) from Mt clear will miss practice matches coming up.

Thoroughbred
14 Mar 2007, 13:08
has anyone heard of this ben coon that used to play at clunes. Read on the lexton plains thread he's going to carngham to assistant coach this year.. whats he go like?

KingRich
14 Mar 2007, 14:11
has anyone heard of this ben coon that used to play at clunes. Read on the lexton plains thread he's going to carngham to assistant coach this year.. whats he go like?

Could have sworn that he trained with Natte and Talbot one night in Ballarat this year. Thought he was a chance at Natte.

Spoons
14 Mar 2007, 20:29
Anyone heard of Ben Matthews from learmonth? Is he any good

learmonth
15 Mar 2007, 11:28
Anyone heard of Ben Matthews from learmonth? Is he any good

Good footballer, who has moved to Swan Hill for work, but will still play at learmonth this season. Played 1/2 in the seniors, and dominated the 2's competion as a tall, fit midfielder. Was unlucky not to play in the finals side last season.

Archie Threadbo
16 Mar 2007, 10:17
it didn't seem to effect them come the end of the year when they won the flag last year. Why change what works for them?
Their will be a few of the boys missing out on practice games in the next few weeks, because of cricket finals.
Laundry, Knowles, Aikman from Ballarat Redan
Nicholson, Sidebottom, Fletcher and Pellisier (13th man duties) from Mt clear will miss practice matches coming up.
Don't forget Steve Biggin lining up for Mt Clear in the 4th XI grand final this week. Word is he'll be playing two's this year and coaching off the bench in the one's.

Premiership
16 Mar 2007, 10:48
Just wondering if there are any practice matches on this weekend with CHFL clubs?

learmonth
16 Mar 2007, 11:32
Just wondering if there are any practice matches on this weekend with CHFL clubs?

Learmonth are playing Kerang next Saturday 24th MArch @ Kerang who are in the Central Murray Football league.

N Bartos
16 Mar 2007, 12:53
Don't forget Steve Biggin lining up for Mt Clear in the 4th XI grand final this week. Word is he'll be playing two's this year and coaching off the bench in the one's.

Is that with Super Captain George, declared he'd win the premiership before the season started. Is Hayden Cartledge a chance to play in the grand final?

Gemini17
16 Mar 2007, 12:58
Can anyone pass on some info on Buninyong. West Footscray play them in a practice match March 25.

Snoopsta
16 Mar 2007, 14:30
Can anyone pass on some info on Buninyong. West Footscray play them in a practice match March 25.

They are a team that on there day can match any team in CHFL, have picked up a couple of handy players if they get the ones that have clearances in.
But is it true there coach has stood down and will be just playing "not coaching"?????

Archie Threadbo
16 Mar 2007, 14:43
Is that with Super Captain George, declared he'd win the premiership before the season started. Is Hayden Cartledge a chance to play in the grand final?

I wouldn't think so. I haven't seen todays paper, was he named? You'd be a brave man to argue with George's predictions. His record as captain is second to none.

StanTsaikos
16 Mar 2007, 15:51
I wouldn't think so. I haven't seen todays paper, was he named? You'd be a brave man to argue with George's predictions. His record as captain is second to none.

Hey Threadbo, isnt this a footy site. Im sure no one wants to hear about the **** ass Mt Clear 4th's!!

Archie Threadbo
16 Mar 2007, 15:58
Hey Threadbo, isnt this a footy site. Im sure no one wants to hear about the **** ass Mt Clear 4th's!!

So sorry Stan. I haven't noticed you bringing up too many interesting subjects you pelican. I think you'll find if you have a look that The Don brought up the subject.

the_don88
16 Mar 2007, 16:54
So sorry Stan. I haven't noticed you bringing up too many interesting subjects you pelican. I think you'll find if you have a look that The Don brought up the subject.

If you read the previous threads STAN, you will see that all the players playing cricket are unable to play in football practice matches. So it does have to do with footy.

Peter Cransberg
16 Mar 2007, 17:06
Archie obviously messed up your train of thought STAN, can't you talk about two subjects at the one time. It's alright mate, grab yourself a pillow and huddle in the corner

happy_feet
17 Mar 2007, 08:19
does anyone no how dunstown are going along? have they picked up any big name players?

Teeth
19 Mar 2007, 09:00

Thought you'd like to know Stan, that the great Mt.Clear 4th 11 Captain played footy for Waubra a couple of seasons ago. Although he didn't get a possession, his leadership was very important. Hopefully George will come out of retirement again, and entertain the crowd with his amazing ball skills.

Archie Threadbo
19 Mar 2007, 09:29
Thought you'd like to know Stan, that the great Mt.Clear 4th 11 Captain played footy for Waubra a couple of seasons ago. Although he didn't get a possession, his leadership was very important. Hopefully George will come out of retirement again, and entertain the crowd with his amazing ball skills.

He may not have registered a possession but i hear there was at least one inspirational tap on.

LOVEit
19 Mar 2007, 10:48
what are the movements of leigh brown this year?

patty O'furnicha
19 Mar 2007, 11:23
what are the movements of leigh brown this year?

As per normal.... SLOW! :D

patty O'furnicha
19 Mar 2007, 11:32
Can i get the low down on Gordon? have a practice match scheduled for this weekend and want to know how they're travelling. also, how's their ground holding up? Cheers

N Bartos
19 Mar 2007, 13:32
Can i get the low down on Gordon? have a practice match scheduled for this weekend and want to know how they're travelling. also, how's their ground holding up? Cheers
The worst ground in the CHFL. You'd rather play on the wedderburn trotting track.

Off Season
19 Mar 2007, 14:12

I'd be very surprised if this is the case. coony has been a clunes boy almost all his life and his family is quite involved with the club. i'm aware hilly has been chasing a few of his ex-teamates but my understanding is that he'll be lucky to get any across.

Joey Scarbury
19 Mar 2007, 14:53
I see Jon Barnett has finally lodge his clearance to head out to Bungaree....
I reckon he could be the key to Bunga for 07, he'll find the transition from BFL to CHFL easier then there other pick ups Reid, Cummins and Knowles.

jester
19 Mar 2007, 15:02
Has anyone heard if Dru Quinlan has signed for Bunga yet?

the_don88
19 Mar 2007, 15:38
The worst ground in the CHFL. You'd rather play on the wedderburn trotting track.

Rumour has it that commitee members of the Gordon FC were up to all hours of the night changing positions of the hose to get some much needed water on the track. Apparantly they have a practice match their this weekend.

Still don't think it will be ready for a while.

tud34
19 Mar 2007, 15:59
Rumour has it that commitee members of the Gordon FC were up to all hours of the night changing positions of the hose to get some much needed water on the track. Apparantly they have a practice match their this weekend.

Hey look, the great waubra recruit has finally started taking some interest in the CHFL and can even use a computer. wonder when you will start getting to training. Let me guess, too sore after your huge stint with the bat on saturdays cricket GF to make it to training tonight mate?

the_don88
19 Mar 2007, 16:36
Hey look, the great waubra recruit has finally started taking some interest in the CHFL and can even use a computer. wonder when you will start getting to training. Let me guess, too sore after your huge stint with the bat on saturdays cricket GF to make it to training tonight mate?

Yeah that makes sense. I think you should just stick to your golf Tud34 cause your footy, well in the nicest way i can think of is no good.
Besides you are pretty good at golf and getting yourself out of bad situations. The last game i saw you play ended up you taking a "mulligen" at the regent, to keep from a 10 stroke penalty. Tell me tud, what does spu taste like?

F00TY2007
19 Mar 2007, 21:45
Yeah that makes sense. I think you should just stick to your golf Tud34 cause your footy, well in the nicest way i can think of is no good.
Besides you are pretty good at golf and getting yourself out of bad situations. The last game i saw you play ended up you taking a "mulligen" at the regent, to keep from a 10 stroke penalty. Tell me tud, what does spu taste like?

Grow up children. This is big footy, not big golf or big drinking.
Now I know why you dont go to training nicholson, you spend your day talking crap on this thing.
Gee I hope Waubra arnt hoping you're the star pickup for 2007 cause I can see you are going to be a big let down. Especially if you havent been training and arnt fit.

There is only so long you can live off putting redan into the granny. How many other kicks did you get that day?

Remember, you were dropped out of the premiership side for a reason.

19th Man
19 Mar 2007, 23:53

Their ground is holding up great. At one end. There seems to be a slight slope of the football field. No wonder no water will stay on the ground.

Bruce_Almighty
20 Mar 2007, 07:54

I dont know why they would waste the water on that ground. They will fold at the end of the year anyway. The water would be best utilised on their cows :)

swans12
20 Mar 2007, 08:00
Have a guy signing in our league (BDAFL Newcastle)from Clunes. Matthew Watson any info ?

Iron Beast
20 Mar 2007, 11:38
I'd be very surprised if this is the case. coony has been a clunes boy almost all his life and his family is quite involved with the club. i'm aware hilly has been chasing a few of his ex-teamates but my understanding is that he'll be lucky to get any across.

It is definetly the case. I was talking to a few Clunes boys the other night and they are very dissapointed that Coony has gone. Word is that he has signed as the assistant coach out there and I couldn't see Clunes matching the cash that he is getting out there.

No word from those guys on who else would be leaving but the smart money is on Mick Allen as he and Coony are good mates.

Both are players that didn't play last year but I'm sure Clunes would want them out on the park for them this year. I'm sure people are not too fond of Hilly at this point in time.

Harry HP
20 Mar 2007, 13:46
I see Newlyn and Creswick have picked up a fair few players. But at the same time they have both lost a fair few. Must be a fair bit of cash being thrown around...

Newlyn have picked up a few Ballarat players. Be interesting to see if they get cleared as Ballarat are moron's when it comes to this. The professionalism of that club is no better than a poo sandwhich.

Creswick picked up a fair few from out of town. I'm sure there are mega dollars being thrown at these players...

Gadget
20 Mar 2007, 14:03
I see Newlyn and Creswick have picked up a fair few players. But at the same time they have both lost a fair few. Must be a fair bit of cash being thrown around...

Newlyn have picked up a few Ballarat players. Be interesting to see if they get cleared as Ballarat are moron's when it comes to this. The professionalism of that club is no better than a poo sandwhich.

Creswick picked up a fair few from out of town. I'm sure there are mega dollars being thrown at these players...
Has your club never rejected a clearance Harry HP? These days it is pretty stock standard to knock the first few back.

tud34
20 Mar 2007, 14:14
Grow up children. This is big footy, not big golf or big drinking.
Now I know why you dont go to training nicholson, you spend your day talking crap on this thing.
Gee I hope Waubra arnt hoping you're the star pickup for 2007 cause I can see you are going to be a big let down. Especially if you havent been training and arnt fit.

There is only so long you can live off putting redan into the granny. How many other kicks did you get that day?

Remember, you were dropped out of the premiership side for a reason.

Nice comment battler. you come into this post new no-one knows who you are or where your from. have you got any association to this league or you just in here to stir the pot??
Do you even play footy or are you someone that just has nothing better to do with his day than talk crap on an internet forum.

Harry HP
20 Mar 2007, 14:57
Has your club never rejected a clearance Harry HP? These days it is pretty stock standard to knock the first few back.

Thats not what im talking about Gadget my little friend. Ballarat treat there younger players badly. And when they decide to leave or have a couple of years off the BFL, the clearance process that Ballarat undertake is unprofessional and sometimes childish. This is why most who leave Ballarat never go back...

Off Season
20 Mar 2007, 15:05
It is definetly the case. I was talking to a few Clunes boys the other night and they are very dissapointed that Coony has gone. Word is that he has signed as the assistant coach out there and I couldn't see Clunes matching the cash that he is getting out there.

No word from those guys on who else would be leaving but the smart money is on Mick Allen as he and Coony are good mates.

Both are players that didn't play last year but I'm sure Clunes would want them out on the park for them this year. I'm sure people are not too fond of Hilly at this point in time.

If this turns out to be correct it is very disappointing. It continues to amaze me that players such as Coony will walk away from a club they've been brought up around for the sake of a cpl extra dollars that usually only lasts a year or two.

The fact that Hilly took Clunes to two grand finals a cpl years back, as well as being a premiership player at the club, and that his old man won about 7 B&F's for Clunes, adds to the disappointment.

This would have been a perfect time for Jase to return to the club to help teach the kids and bring in a new era at Clunes.

It's easy for players to hang around and look good when the club is travelling well, but what seperates strong clubs from the remainder is how they stick together when things aren't going so well.

swans12
20 Mar 2007, 15:22
You seem to have good mail on Clunes:

Mathew Watson has moved to our league (BDAFL Newcastle region) how's he go?

Off Season
20 Mar 2007, 15:46
You seem to have good mail on Clunes:

Mathew Watson has moved to our league (BDAFL Newcastle region) how's he go?

Docca goes alright - he is a handy forward line player who was in and out of the 1's in the last cpl years before heading north for work.

I'm unsure about the strength of your league, but Doc is the sort of player that will slot nicely onto the flank or pocket in a good team. He's not the sort of player that will win you a game off his own boot.

Iron Beast
20 Mar 2007, 16:25
It's easy for players to hang around and look good when the club is travelling well, but what seperates strong clubs from the remainder is how they stick together when things aren't going so well.

Spot on there but I think the LPFL is the one league in this state that Hilly hasn't played in. I think he wants to say that he has played in every league once he's done playing. :D

Iron Beast
20 Mar 2007, 16:27
If this turns out to be correct it is very disappointing. It continues to amaze me that players such as Coony will walk away from a club they've been brought up around for the sake of a cpl extra dollars that usually only lasts a year or two.

The fact that Hilly took Clunes to two grand finals a cpl years back, as well as being a premiership player at the club, and that his old man won about 7 B&F's for Clunes, adds to the disappointment.

This would have been a perfect time for Jase to return to the club to help teach the kids and bring in a new era at Clunes.

How have Clunes been looking on the track? It can't be looking too good being a bottom 4 team and have a number of players talking about leaving.

Snail
20 Mar 2007, 16:28

I don't agree with what you say at all. Firstly coony has been at the club all his life so in my opinion has given Clunes very good service and leaves owing the club nothing. Secondly as far as i know and from reading this site over the months the club are happy to not have hilly there for some reason so i doubt they would care that he isn't there. You will see many players over the next few seasons go from the bottom teams in the chfl to the LPFL as the gap widens from the Waubras to the Creswicks. The top teams are getting better and the bottom worse and i believe three teams could close up in the near future

Iron Beast
20 Mar 2007, 16:34
I don't agree with what you say at all. Firstly coony has been at the club all his life so in my opinion has given Clunes very good service and leaves owing the club nothing.

He was on a very small match payment from reports. Probably only the minimum payment at Clunes. So for a 26 year old I can see why he might look at a rumoured $300 a week very seriously. It makes payments on the house, car, credit card or whatever a little more comfortable. Chasing a bit of cash is hardly selling your soul.

Off Season
20 Mar 2007, 16:37
You will see many players over the next few seasons go from the bottom teams in the chfl to the LPFL as the gap widens from the Waubras to the Creswicks. The top teams are getting better and the bottom worse and i believe three teams could close up in the near future

Agreed. If spending continues to escalate as it has in recent years then a number of CH clubs will fold within 4-6 years.

Hampton Hammer
20 Mar 2007, 16:44
Nice comment battler. you come into this post new no-one knows who you are or where your from. have you got any association to this league or you just in here to stir the pot??
Do you even play footy or are you someone that just has nothing better to do with his day than talk crap on an internet forum.

Tud34, do Gordon have a practice match this Saturday at home? Who against?

Off Season
20 Mar 2007, 16:46
How have Clunes been looking on the track? It can't be looking too good being a bottom 4 team and have a number of players talking about leaving.

By all reports Clunes are looking good with almost all the senior squad ready to line up again this year (minus Harry, who is giving it a fair dinkum crack in the SANFL). Bourkey will return to FF/CHF after a season up north.

Also picked up 3-4 of the most talenetd 19/20 year olds from Maryborough way, with the club extremely happy as they've been chasing them for a cpl years now. Another 2-3 signings on the cards, but yet to be confirmed.

Still 1-2 key position players away from contending, but shouldn't be far away from sneaking into the finals this year.

learmonth
20 Mar 2007, 16:48
Agreed. If spending continues to escalate as it has in recent years then a number of CH clubs will fold within 4-6 years.

Nothing wrong with Hilly & Coony leaving to another League. Atleast their not playing in direct competition with Clunes. As for loyality it works both ways, Clunes must come up with an offer in $$ or show them that they are going to be competitive. Everyone blames the player for leaving, but both as stated didnt play their last season, and in my opinion have given clunes great service. Both have leadership rolls, and people must except that players now move on reguarly.
As for clubs folding, Creswick should pull their finger out, as they are one of the biggest towns with the most juniors, but can never keep their players, due to their slack and unprofessional culture they have within the club. If they got rid of their dead wood and started fresh, then just maybe, they will start heading up the ladder. The way they treated Johnno last year is a disgrace, which has seen many players put clearances in.

Iron Beast
20 Mar 2007, 16:54
By all reports Clunes are looking good with almost all the senior squad ready to line up again this year (minus Harry, who is giving it a fair dinkum crack in the SANFL). Bourkey will return to FF/CHF after a season up north.

Also picked up 3-4 of the most talenetd 19/20 year olds from Maryborough way, with the club extremely happy as they've been chasing them for a cpl years now. Another 2-3 signings on the cards, but yet to be confirmed.

Still 1-2 key position players away from contending, but shouldn't be far away from sneaking into the finals this year.

Good to hear. The talk was that Matt Brown from Lexton was one of the recruits from Maryborough way. He came second in the LPFL goal kicking, but he would probably be better suited to a flank than FF in the CHFL.

Bourke will make a difference as you lacked a goal kicking forward after Chisel left.

Iron Beast
20 Mar 2007, 16:57
Nothing wrong with Hilly & Coony leaving to another League. Atleast their not playing in direct competition with Clunes. As for loyality it works both ways, Clunes must come up with an offer in $$ or show them that they are going to be competitive. Everyone blames the player for leaving, but both as stated didnt play their last season, and in my opinion have given clunes great service. Both have leadership rolls, and people must except that players now move on reguarly.

Good post but I would think that there is too much money getting aroudn in footy. If Clunes won't pay it, Carngham will. The teams with the money will be causing all sorts of head aches for the low budget clubs. Although, if you've got it, spend it as your players will move on.

Off Season
20 Mar 2007, 17:20
Good post but I would think that there is too much money getting aroudn in footy. If Clunes won't pay it, Carngham will. The teams with the money will be causing all sorts of head aches for the low budget clubs. Although, if you've got it, spend it as your players will move on.

I agree totally. This is why player payments have to be regulated more strictly because if it becomes a free for all, which is increasingly becoming the case, then country footy as we know it will fall over.

KingRich
20 Mar 2007, 22:49

Clubs at times could have a bit more respect for players though Gadget! A lot of clubs will reject just for the sake of it and that is pretty poor!

tud34
21 Mar 2007, 07:21
Tud34, do Gordon have a practice match this Saturday at home? Who against?

I believe that Gordon are playing Old Westbourne. I dont know much about them except that they are in Div 3 of the amatures.

Astro Boy
21 Mar 2007, 08:06
Thats not what im talking about Gadget my little friend. Ballarat treat there younger players badly. And when they decide to leave or have a couple of years off the BFL, the clearance process that Ballarat undertake is unprofessional and sometimes childish. This is why most who leave Ballarat never go back...

Agree with u Harreth. I can not understand y clubs do it to themselves.
If the player has decided to go let'm go or when they do want another crack at the BFL they may go else where..

Astro Boy
21 Mar 2007, 08:09
He was on a very small match payment from reports. Probably only the minimum payment at Clunes. So for a 26 year old I can see why he might look at a rumoured $300 a week very seriously. It makes payments on the house, car, credit card or whatever a little more comfortable. Chasing a bit of cash is hardly selling your soul.

Coon isn't worth $300, what a joke.
Didn't he have a run with the Lakers & only played 2s.

scoop22
21 Mar 2007, 08:56
I believe that Gordon are playing Old Westbourne. I dont know much about them except that they are in Div 3 of the amatures.
Westbourne have recruited some very handy players for the 2007 season, with a couple of likely looking types coming out of the North Central Football League. A couple of ex-Wedderburn players, one is the assistant coach there this year and has been training the house down. I would say that Gordon will not even get a look in!!!:)

Astro Boy
21 Mar 2007, 09:16
Westbourne have recruited some very handy players for the 2007 season, with a couple of likely looking types coming out of the North Central Football League. A couple of ex-Wedderburn players, one is the assistant coach there this year and has been training the house down. I would say that Gordon will not even get a look in!!!:)

Maybe... but D4 is the worst footy if Vic. I'm tipping D3 isn't much better & it is very soft footy.

Velvetsledgehammer
21 Mar 2007, 09:50
Maybe... but D4 is the worst footy if Vic. I'm tipping D3 isn't much better & it is very soft footy.

Agree with you totally there Astro, D3 & D4 Ammos is the softest footy around. They have clean skills but thats about it. Couple of mates of mine from Ballarat way have played with Old Geelong. When one of them ran off a back flank to sheppard a teamate and dropped a bloke fairly with hip and shoulder he was cautioned by the umpire and dragged by the coach and told to cool down.....what a joke....laughed very hard at this!

F00TY2007
21 Mar 2007, 09:53

Who I am is for me to know and you to find out. Tud if I was you I would spend less time posting crap yourself and more time trying to lift your side off the bottom of the ladder.

I do play footy by the way and know this league well.

McCleanMagic
21 Mar 2007, 11:24
Can anyone tell me how Lachlan Bryant from Dunnstown goes?

F00TY2007
21 Mar 2007, 11:44
Can anyone tell me how Lachlan Bryant from Dunnstown goes?

McClean, are you the great Clint???

If so, i notice you have put in for a clearance to creswick again this year. Are you actually gunna play this year or just signup and take off again.

Are they paying you a sign up fee or something - take their money and run???

McCleanMagic
21 Mar 2007, 11:49
McClean, are you the great Clint???

If so, i notice you have put in for a clearance to creswick again this year. Are you actually gunna play this year or just signup and take off again.

Are they paying you a sign up fee or something - take their money and run???

Nah mate. He has just applyed for a clearance to our league and wanted to know how he went?

Snail
21 Mar 2007, 18:00
Coony is not on $300 & to believe Hill would be offered the ridiculas amount posted on here $22,000 is proof that most of you have no idea what it takes to run a footy club. Closer to the truth would be about $150 & $350 i've been told & my source is fairly reliable. I know coony & have met hilly a couple of times & neither one would play against clunes in my opinion. After watching a mate play a few games at natte last year i spoke to a former clunes player who won some senior b&f's earlier in his career, he returned a couple of years ago to finish his career at clunes as asst coach but had different ideas than the coach. Instead of sorting the problems out the commitee asked him to leave the club. I know this is only one side of the story but if you want to bring up loyalty it works both ways. Lay off coony he'll be back at clunes soon or later

tud34
23 Mar 2007, 08:22
Why is everything so quiet in here at the moment. We are exactly a month out from the start of the season, everyone should have scoops and key signings to announce.

Who is playing practice matches this weekend??
I know Waubra are going down to the beach to play and I hear they are having trouble trying to make up the numbers for their reserves team.

learmonth
23 Mar 2007, 08:36
Why is everything so quiet in here at the moment. We are exactly a month out from the start of the season, everyone should have scoops and key signings to announce.

I know Waubra are going down to the beach to play and I hear they are having trouble trying to make up the numbers for their reserves team.

As stated Learmonth play Kerang this weekend at Kerang followed by a footy camp next week from Fri-Sunday. Have massive numbers at the club at the moment with 56 on the track last night and 74 Registered for season 2007. At this current stage no massive signings, but ar still in negotiations with a few players.

Gadget
23 Mar 2007, 08:54

Maybe a different subject apart from grounds, mt.clear cricket 4ths, gordon being shiit, nicholson talking himself up, and then you might have people interested. Here are some ideas for consideration..

Joey Gilbert Quitting as coach
Quinlen at Bungaree
Should central highlands have an interleague game/series
should the GF be played at north or at a CHFL venue.

Cheers boys

Astro Boy
23 Mar 2007, 10:22
Maybe a different subject apart from grounds, mt.clear cricket 4ths, gordon being shiit, nicholson talking himself up, and then you might have people interested. Here are some ideas for consideration..

Quinlen at Bungaree

Cheers boys

Any word on Y Joey Quit ?

Would be surprised if Joffa does go to Bunga or play this season.

The GF is played at the Northern Oval to attract a bigger crowd & also coz it's to hard to police all the tight arses jumping the fence at Learmonth.
I pesronally would like to see it played at Gordon.

FootyFan235
23 Mar 2007, 10:45
N
As for clubs folding, Creswick should pull their finger out, as they are one of the biggest towns with the most juniors, but can never keep their players, due to their slack and unprofessional culture they have within the club. If they got rid of their dead wood and started fresh, then just maybe, they will start heading up the ladder. The way they treated Johnno last year is a disgrace, which has seen many players put clearances in.

Good point there, they have always had strong junior teams but struggle in the seniors..... why???? is it the culture, the committee, there has to be some major problem there.

I noticed the number of clearances in too.......... not a lot of them are getting cleared tho, even johno has been knocked back a couple of times... what are they playing at? I was lead to believe that as long as you don't owe the club any money they are unable to hold you? is this the case or not???

learmonth
23 Mar 2007, 11:02
Any word on Y Joey Quit ?

Would be surprised if Joffa does go to Bunga or play this season.

The GF is played at the Northern Oval to attract a bigger crowd & also coz it's to hard to police all the tight arses jumping the fence at Learmonth.
I pesronally would like to see it played at Gordon.

Learmonth have just received a $70k grant to put a fence around its ground to try and enhance the CHFL grand final back. Would be a better option then the Northern oval, as I dont think I have seen a decent game at that ground and never any atmosphere.
Bigger crowds, yes, but im sure if the CHFL put on buses for people to travel out, and without people being able to get in for free, the gate would be pretty similar.
Laearmonth is the home of Central Highlands and thats where the GF should be played.
There should also be a 1/2 time sprint, or super Kick contest, the league needs to get with the times and start marketing different activities to attract people.

As with Joey Gilbert, he has stated personell reasons, and I have heard my fair bit of rumors, but will not elaborate, as it has nothing to do with footy, and should be left alone.

tud34
23 Mar 2007, 11:31

Quinlen at Bungaree

Cheers boys

You raise a good point Gadget. Bunninyong are one club that have slipped under the radar in this thing. Are they they big sliders for the year?
No Gilbert and having lost Phelps to east amongst others, and they really havent picked up a lot of talent.

What is everyones thoughts on them? Whats the latest on their new ground? The last I heard was that they were no chance to be playing on it this year.

Gadget
23 Mar 2007, 11:47
You raise a good point Gadget. Bunninyong are one club that have slipped under the radar in this thing. Are they they big sliders for the year?
No Gilbert and having lost Phelps to east amongst others, and they really havent picked up a lot of talent.

What is everyones thoughts on them? Whats the latest on their new ground? The last I heard was that they were no chance to be playing on it this year.
Tud, I gave you some talking points but you still go on about the grounds!!! Unless your a really concerned council worker, leave it alone.. The league will sought out grounds i'm sure. Relax!!! Buninyong are under the radar at the moment aswell as Beaufort. I'd xpect Beaufort to push a few sides this year, like learmonth stated about creswick, they have a whole town with plenty of juniors and seem to have alot of locals in there senior team.. With a few bigger recruits in the next couple of years they might be there abouts.

Scoots
23 Mar 2007, 12:08
Learmonth have just received a $70k grant to put a fence around its ground to try and enhance the CHFL grand final back. Would be a better option then the Northern oval, as I dont think I have seen a decent game at that ground and never any atmosphere.
Bigger crowds, yes, but im sure if the CHFL put on buses for people to travel out, and without people being able to get in for free, the gate would be pretty similar.
Laearmonth is the home of Central Highlands and thats where the GF should be played.
There should also be a 1/2 time sprint, or super Kick contest, the league needs to get with the times and start marketing different activities to attract people.

As with Joey Gilbert, he has stated personell reasons, and I have heard my fair bit of rumors, but will not elaborate, as it has nothing to do with footy, and should be left alone.

If true about Gilbert, who are the likelyoptions to coach them then?

This is massive blow because Bunninyong were looking reasonable this year weren't they?