View Full Version : Central Highlands

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

happy_feet
12 Apr 2007, 16:00
Has anyone herd what Dunnstown has been up to, herd a rumour that they have picked up a heap of uni students and one of them is Aaron Sawers... played amo's last year, and goes very well i have been told.

mudflapper
12 Apr 2007, 17:21
Has anyone herd what Dunnstown has been up to, herd a rumour that they have picked up a heap of uni students and one of them is Aaron Sawers... played amo's last year, and goes very well i have been told.

saw them play againest C/linton they looked very average, I know you cant look at practice matches as a true indication, but buckle up towners you have a rough trip ahead.....they should have a bit more cash now Trav Grigg has left

Mobbenfuhrer
12 Apr 2007, 17:25
Any of you folks interested in taking the cyber-field in a pretend team? :p

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=314342

Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League?

Seeking interest in players for a Regional Leagues fantasy footy comp.

This is a) not real footy and b) not pick-a-team-of-AFL-players footy. Its even lazier!

All you do is express interest, I'll do the rest via QOOTY, a crappy random aussie rules simulator I created years ago and have been trying to bring up to speed. FAQs here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=75728

I'll try to collate a league of teams that are representative of the more popular local leagues here, so I need raised hands from the posters. I won't make up any names, I won't allow any sudden new arrivals.

So either post here or PM me if you want your Bigfooty alter-ego registered for a team.

Hopefully we can turn some rivalries into some even more potent partnerships!

I'll probably aim for starting the season, say, end of next week. I MAY have to be an inflexible prick with okaying a team and treating latecomers.

For this season, hopefully the inaugural season of an ongoing league, all we need are 20 players per team. There is already a Fantasy league, more closely based on the AFL clubs, at Bigfooty, here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=30 - its into its 7th season and has developed a bit of history! There is also another league at another footy forum site, this year with only 3 teams but had been as strong as 5 clubs in its 3 year tenure.

So get in touch if you're interested. Remember you don't have to do anything apart from dob your Bigfooty nickname in for a spot. Please tell me which club/league of regional footy you would prefer to be aligned with (please state both).

We'll see how we go. If it doesn't happen, ah well, if it happens later than I hope ... I'll still give it a burl.

Onward lads! ...

thekid178
13 Apr 2007, 10:55
Considering we're now a week out, how are the grounds looking?

Any not playable?

Uncle CC
13 Apr 2007, 11:16
Considering we're now a week out, how are the grounds looking?

Any not playable?

Waubra's ground hasn't seen any water yet and is pretty bloody hard at the moment. I heard they are going to dump about 5 inches on it over the weekend. The grass coverage isn't too bad and it should come up pretty well after a good watering.

Learmonth's ground had deteriorated after having too many practice matches played on it. There’s hardly any grass on it now and it will struggle to be right for the start of the season.

Madroota69
13 Apr 2007, 21:57
Dunnstown played a practice game against Carnham/Linton 2 weeks back. Dunnstown won easily as did the U15's and U18's. C/L didn't look too fit and Simon Eason made mention of that, so it wasn't a real good hit out for them. The Dunnstown ground is in beautiful condition with the travelling irrigator pumping plenty of water on to it. This coming week they are playing a practice match against Anakie at Dunnstown.

Dear "DENSETOWN" pope,
I watched the game on that particular day Densetown “reserves” won easily due to the fact that they show up to training and C/linton reserves don't.
As for the seniors Densetown was beaten by 7 goals by a lot more determined C/linton. Now you either made a mistake or you haven’t been reading scoreboards for long!
I agree that you blokes are probably fitter than C/Linton but what’s the use of being fit if you can’t play footy????:eek:

trigirl
16 Apr 2007, 09:14
Does anyone have the scores of the Waubra practice match over the weekend

Uncle CC
16 Apr 2007, 10:37
Does anyone have the scores of the Waubra practice match over the weekend

I don't know the exact scores but it was fairly close in the first half and Waubra were probably up by about a goal at half time. The other mob kicked about 5 unanswered goals in the 3rd Quater and the 4th quater was a bit of a poo fight.

I'd say Waubra lost by 4 or 5 goals.

the dunnstown pope
16 Apr 2007, 12:25
Dunnstown played Anakie in a practice match on Saturday. U15's, reserves and seniors. Dunnstown won all three games but took awhile to get on top in the seniors. Had a few new players in the side with not too many missing from the side that will play Bunninyong on Saturday. Will be interesting to see how they go. They still look a bit short on for height but seem to have plenty of pace.

patty O'furnicha
16 Apr 2007, 13:18
I don't know the exact scores but it was fairly close in the first half and Waubra were probably up by about a goal at half time. The other mob kicked about 5 unanswered goals in the 3rd Quater and the 4th quater was a bit of a poo fight.

I'd say Waubra lost by 4 or 5 goals.

Learmonth were you at the game being at your home dung?

What were your thoughts as a nutural spectator?

Waubra had a lot of the ball but seemed to over use it and put each other under a lot of pressure.
Not sure how many they had out but i was told they only had 3 out. 1 of which is out for 5 more weeks anyway. Even though the game was pretty even through out the match, they would be a bit dissapointed with Saturday nights efforts after being confident of a good win. However Old Westbourne were very much an unknown to them.
The Ammo's side just wore them down with their pressure and opened the game up in the 3rd quarter to win by about 4 goals.

Gadget
16 Apr 2007, 13:43

Waubra had a lot of the ball but seemed to over use it and put each other under a lot of pressure.
Not sure how many they had out but i was told they only had 3 out. 1 of which is out for 5 more weeks anyway. Even though the game was pretty even through out the match, they would be a bit dissapointed with Saturday nights efforts after being confident of a good win. However Old Westbourne were very much an unknown to them.
The Ammo's side just wore them down with their pressure and opened the game up in the 3rd quarter to win by about 4 goals.
New recurits form Patty? How'd they go?

Old School Biff
16 Apr 2007, 14:56

Waubra lost to a D3 ammos team?!?!? That says something about either the strength of the ammos or the standard of district footy.

I am very surprised at that result.

patty O'furnicha
16 Apr 2007, 15:07
New recurits form Patty? How'd they go?

Landry and Brown for Waubra are the only 2 recruits i know of for them. Both were fairly quiet. Brown did a couple of good things and Landry played across the half back and was far from damaging.

As for us, Bretty Connors was good in the guts. Hutton Kicked a few up forward. Charlie hunter was good off the half backline. Grant Connors was handy early on at CHF then went into the middle in 2nd half and was quiet. Sam Collins was good at CHF in the 2nd half. and a handfull of the new young guys went really well.

No star efforts but good signs with them all having plenty of it!

trigirl
16 Apr 2007, 15:35
There was a few people on this forum a few weeks stating how poor D3 ammos football is, undoubtedly they have no concept of football and also reinforces Learmonth s' comment that every team can be beaten on any given day

Old School Biff
16 Apr 2007, 16:26
There was a few people on this forum a few weeks stating how poor D3 ammos football is, undoubtedly they have no concept of football and also reinforces Learmonth s' comment that every team can be beaten on any given day

I used to train with a B grade Ammos team in Melbourne and I have to admit that they play a totally different brand of footy and do it well. But I always assumed after C grade it was pretty ordinary footy. It's hard to compare leagues but with Waubra's team, I would have expected a comfortable win against Old Westbourne.

learmonth
16 Apr 2007, 16:32

Was at the game, and found the ammo side to be quite fit, and applied pressure on the Waubra midfield which limited their ability to deliver the ball to Brown up forward. The other Brown will probably play more 2's footy then 1's. The pace of the game looked to be past him. From what I know Mully missed and will be out for 6 weeks with a finger injury, Naylon has a dodgy hamstring and will miss this week, and I dont think Sordello played, otherwise they were at full strength in my opinion. Maybe Kinna could fit into their top 22..???
Dags struggled and will play 2's and I think Landry is a better forward then backman. They will have to get their mix right if they are to beat hepburn this week up there as from my sources they have improved their leg speed, and with the big unit fit, they will want revenge for last season Grand Final. Robbo always uses stuff like that as a motivational tool. Anyway my tips for rnd 1
Bunny to beat D'Town
Dford to beat Gordon
Hepburn to beat Waubra
L'Month to beat Beaufort

Not sure who else is playing..??

Morning Glory
16 Apr 2007, 16:51
I have played senior BFL footy and D3 Amateurs and I would see D3 and Central Highlands on a par. D3 like Central Highlands has a lot of players who have played higher level and just want to have fun with their mates, as well as a lot of very handy kids who have played juniors at the club. The difference would be that Central Highlands would be bit tougher but I think the ammos would be quicker and fitter. Doesn't surprise me seeing Westbourne beat Waubra on a day like saturday. A wet boggy day might of been a bit difference though.

ROOSTER1
16 Apr 2007, 20:20
I see Hepburn have picked up another James. All reports are that he was one of their best in the praccy and is better than the other two. Does anyone know if he is on the Bendigo Bombers list? i think he is but probably won't play a lot of games.

AxelFoley#5
17 Apr 2007, 10:13
I see Hepburn have picked up another James. All reports are that he was one of their best in the praccy and is better than the other two. Does anyone know if he is on the Bendigo Bombers list? i think he is but probably won't play a lot of games.

http://www.bendigobombers.com/images/players2007/jarrod_james.jpg

Yep thats him (Jarrod) ...not sure if he's been playin or not for Bendigo but handy pick up by the Burra all the same

N Bartos
17 Apr 2007, 14:36

Hepburn were without many of there grand final side from last year. No Brown, Raak, Grant, Mann, Atkin, Newton's x2, Peake, Ferrier, Carey & Siez. Interesting to see how many play this weekend.

Johny Utah
17 Apr 2007, 15:27
Was at the game, and found the ammo side to be quite fit, and applied pressure on the Waubra midfield which limited their ability to deliver the ball to Brown up forward. The other Brown will probably play more 2's footy then 1's. The pace of the game looked to be past him. From what I know Mully missed and will be out for 6 weeks with a finger injury, Naylon has a dodgy hamstring and will miss this week, and I dont think Sordello played, otherwise they were at full strength in my opinion. Maybe Kinna could fit into their top 22..???
Dags struggled and will play 2's and I think Landry is a better forward then backman. They will have to get their mix right if they are to beat hepburn this week up there as from my sources they have improved their leg speed, and with the big unit fit, they will want revenge for last season Grand Final. Robbo always uses stuff like that as a motivational tool. Anyway my tips for rnd 1
Bunny to beat D'Town
Dford to beat Gordon
Hepburn to beat Waubra
L'Month to beat Beaufort

Not sure who else is playing..??

Also had a look at the game on Sat nite.The Waubra team were very Ordinary & did not pay the oppostion much respect. Sordello did play. However they were missing more then 3 from the best 22 IMO.
They still have alot of work to do but u can't take much out of practice matches.

Any word on Bungaree? I heard they got rolled by Diggers Rest.

this week.

Buninyong
Hepburn
Bungaree
Learmonth
Springbank
Daylesford
Ballan

Archie Threadbo
17 Apr 2007, 17:23
I used to train with a B grade Ammos team in Melbourne and I have to admit that they play a totally different brand of footy and do it well. But I always assumed after C grade it was pretty ordinary footy. It's hard to compare leagues but with Waubra's team, I would have expected a comfortable win against Old Westbourne.

You blokes are obviously running out of things to talk about. Does anyone on this forum understand the meaning of the word "PRACTICE"? Don't forget that Carlton won the pre-season practice match comp. I was also at the game and are not convinced that Waubra actually got beaten considering Old Westbourne only kicked 2 goals for the entire first half.

N Bartos
17 Apr 2007, 17:37
You blokes are obviously running out of things to talk about. Does anyone on this forum understand the meaning of the word "PRACTICE"? Don't forget that Carlton won the pre-season practice match comp. I was also at the game and are not convinced that Waubra actually got beaten considering Old Westbourne only kicked 2 goals for the entire first half.
Hey Archie, was it true that Old Westbourne started flooding their defence in the second term, and had 2 loose players inside waubra's 50. Must have made if pretty hard to kick a score with a 4 man forward line. Waubra will need to be switched on this week. Hepburn's new recruit Sheppard looked the goods friday night with a few big grabs.

Harry HP
18 Apr 2007, 09:42

Yeah, Carlton won there pre-season comp, and now there sitting pretty at 2 wins and 1 loss. Whats your point?

Archie Threadbo
18 Apr 2007, 10:35
Yeah, Carlton won there pre-season comp, and now there sitting pretty at 2 wins and 1 loss. Whats your point?

Point being let's see where they are at the end of the year. They've won it before and then duely saluted by taking out the wooden spoon. No one takes practice matches seriously they're just a chance to see where some of your players are at.

crusader
18 Apr 2007, 11:20

Yeah they have, but dont think he is anywhere near as good as his older brother, daniel. Heard a few rumors the hepburn boys have something up their sleave so stay tuned. Big shep was good in the first quarter when up at full forward and had the whole 50 to work with against some kid from maryborough. Died out over the next two quarters though. If he does play up forward he will be easily shown up by a hard running backman over the first 6 weeks till he is fit, or a team that takes his space away. Other recruits were pretty quick, but hopefully they get alot of the footy cause their kicking was horrendous. Someone that looked good was a bloke wearing 22. Played alot like ferrier but up the field a bit more and looked a bit taller so could be someone to watch out for. Other than that no one really stood out, but they did have a lot resting.

learmonth
18 Apr 2007, 11:44
Yeah they have, but dont think he is anywhere near as good as his older brother, daniel. Heard a few rumors the hepburn boys have something up their sleave so stay tuned. Big shep was good in the first quarter when up at full forward and had the whole 50 to work with against some kid from maryborough. Died out over the next two quarters though. If he does play up forward he will be easily shown up by a hard running backman over the first 6 weeks till he is fit, or a team that takes his space away. Other recruits were pretty quick, but hopefully they get alot of the footy cause their kicking was horrendous. Someone that looked good was a bloke wearing 22. Played alot like ferrier but up the field a bit more and looked a bit taller so could be someone to watch out for. Other than that no one really stood out, but they did have a lot resting.

U seem to be pretty close to Hepburn Crusader..??? With a lot resting, who are the ones that wont be at the club this season. Is it true that both Newtons have left, one overseas and the other relocated to Cairns. Did Lee Cox play, and how was his form, will be a dangerous player in the CHFL. In my opinion, it will only be a few weeks before Raak & Grant play one's. Cant see them both playing 2's for too long.
With Dford I have heard that Trav Grigg is a little bit overalled and red faced after jumper presentation night are receiving a prestigeous number..???

doppelganger
18 Apr 2007, 11:55
I am sure he will cope Learmonth & will do #17's jumper proud.
Daylesford play Gordon at Springbank on Saturday.

crusader
18 Apr 2007, 11:58
U seem to be pretty close to Hepburn Crusader..??? With a lot resting, who are the ones that wont be at the club this season. Is it true that both Newtons have left, one overseas and the other relocated to Cairns. Did Lee Cox play, and how was his form, will be a dangerous player in the CHFL. In my opinion, it will only be a few weeks before Raak & Grant play one's. Cant see them both playing 2's for too long.
With Dford I have heard that Trav Grigg is a little bit overalled and red faced after jumper presentation night are receiving a prestigeous number..???
Yep you know how close i am with hepburn mate. With the newtowns im not sure what is going on. No clearances in but i know one is overseas and the other was supposed to be heading interstate, but was supposedly seen after training the other week. That was james. cox didnt play but he will be lethal if he gets going, just lazy though as you would remember. Granty was running water, but i reckon he will have another crack at it.
Griggy was disgusted in how we could give him a number that was so over rated back in the old demons days. talking about wearing number 87 so he doesnt have to wear the 17 and get a bad name for himself.

patty O'furnicha
18 Apr 2007, 13:02

Old Westbourne had 3 goals to 1 at quarter time Archie. then Waubra kicked 3 goals to 0 in second 1/4. Waubra only managed 1 goal in the whole second half. And OW came out and kicked 5 goals to nothing in 3rd 1/4. Straight from the score sheet.

Word from the Waubra boys was they only had 3 out of the side they expect to line up in round 1! Whether that means quality players are playing 2nd's due to not training i'm not sure.

But as you all know it was only a practice match.

Old School Biff
18 Apr 2007, 13:52
Big shep was good in the first quarter when up at full forward and had the whole 50 to work with against some kid from maryborough. Died out over the next two quarters though. If he does play up forward he will be easily shown up by a hard running backman over the first 6 weeks till he is fit, or a team that takes his space away.

If CHFL teams don't do their homework on Sheppherd, he will make you pay big time. From what I know and have seen of the guy, he has the potential to be the MVP in the CHFL. He is a genuine hard man and I guarantee someone will learn that the hard way every single week against Hepburn.

He's played most of his footy, that I know of, off the half back line and I couldn't see Hepburn taking him away from his preferred position.

Mumstheword
18 Apr 2007, 15:06
Yep you know how close i am with hepburn mate. With the newtowns im not sure what is going on. No clearances in but i know one is overseas and the other was supposed to be heading interstate, but was supposedly seen after training the other week. That was james. cox didnt play but he will be lethal if he gets going, just lazy though as you would remember. Granty was running water, but i reckon he will have another crack at it.
Griggy was disgusted in how we could give him a number that was so over rated back in the old demons days. talking about wearing number 87 so he doesnt have to wear the 17 and get a bad name for himself.
Did Big Matty Brown play on the weekend? Do you know if he is lining up this year for Hepburn, I heard Rokewood in the Lexton Plains were chasing him?

learmonth
18 Apr 2007, 15:13
If CHFL teams don't do their homework on Sheppherd, he will make you pay big time. From what I know and have seen of the guy, he has the potential to be the MVP in the CHFL. He is a genuine hard man and I guarantee someone will learn that the hard way every single week against Hepburn.

He's played most of his footy, that I know of, off the half back line and I couldn't see Hepburn taking him away from his preferred position.

He does it extremely well, and Im sure he will get some victims, but umpires are aware of him and even if it is fair, the size of the guy and the speed that he will hit them at, he may find himself in trouble. Heard he had plenty of problems with umpires playing for Castlemaine with the good old fashioned shirt front. I respect the way he plays, and I feel sorry for the person that he gets, but thats footy and you must have good vision, awareness and courage to play our game and he will keep players on their toes.
Is carrying a pretty serious shoulder injury and most likely will play only against the better sides.
Easiest way if he plays of the H/Back Line take him away from there (deep forward) otherwise one of your gun midfielders may get collected when there not ready. Umpires will be aware of him, and I bet he ends up coming under report at some stage.

Old School Biff
18 Apr 2007, 15:30
He does it extremely well, and Im sure he will get some victims, but umpires are aware of him and even if it is fair, the size of the guy and the speed that he will hit them at, he may find himself in trouble. Heard he had plenty of problems with umpires playing for Castlemaine with the good old fashioned shirt front. I respect the way he plays, and I feel sorry for the person that he gets, but thats footy and you must have good vision, awareness and courage to play our game and he will keep players on their toes.
Is carrying a pretty serious shoulder injury and most likely will play only against the better sides.
Easiest way if he plays of the H/Back Line take him away from there (deep forward) otherwise one of your gun midfielders may get collected when there not ready. Umpires will be aware of him, and I bet he ends up coming under report at some stage.

You're right there Learmonth. I can't see him adopting a new stategy, and even if he hits guys as clean as a whistle, the umps tend to give frees away or take a name in the book. I had a look at him a couple of years ago in the interleague and he was destroying players. And playing good footy.

Drago
18 Apr 2007, 17:37
Anyone tell me where Bungaree is at. Used to play there and haven't heard much about them except that they have picked up a few ex-Redan boys.

Uncle CC
18 Apr 2007, 19:07
Anyone tell me where Bungaree is at.

A small town just east of Ballarat

slasher
18 Apr 2007, 21:15
I did hear that porter was back at bunninyong, if they can manage to win a few games before he is back, i think they will be in for a good year he will still kick 50 plus goals when he is back.:thumbsu:

Harry HP
19 Apr 2007, 09:39
A small town just east of Ballarat

Think its just after Dunnstown and before Springbank....

Gadget
19 Apr 2007, 10:02
Think its just after Dunnstown and before Springbank....
Maybe getting Bungaree confused with Wallace!

Archie Threadbo
19 Apr 2007, 10:40
Old Westbourne had 3 goals to 1 at quarter time Archie. then Waubra kicked 3 goals to 0 in second 1/4. Waubra only managed 1 goal in the whole second half. And OW came out and kicked 5 goals to nothing in 3rd 1/4. Straight from the score sheet.

Word from the Waubra boys was they only had 3 out of the side they expect to line up in round 1! Whether that means quality players are playing 2nd's due to not training i'm not sure.

But as you all know it was only a practice match.

Don't know which game that score sheet came from considering L. Brown kicked 2, R. Brown kicked 1 & J. Coleman kicked 1 as well all in the first.

Archie Threadbo
19 Apr 2007, 13:04
Hey Learmonth is there any truth that Madigan has retired along with P. McGuigan? Also no C. mcGuigan, Veldhuis or Gudgeon this week?

patty O'furnicha
19 Apr 2007, 14:23
Don't know which game that score sheet came from considering L. Brown kicked 2, R. Brown kicked 1 & J. Coleman kicked 1 as well all in the first.

Maybe you've mistaken the 2nd quarter for the 1st. Definitely didnt't kick 4 goals in the 1st.
But who cares about the score really. The moral is that Waubra have a fair bit of work to do before they reach their potential!

Gadget
19 Apr 2007, 14:25
Maybe you've mistaken the 2nd quarter for the 1st. Definitely didnt't kick 4 goals in the 1st.
But who cares about the score really. The moral is that Waubra have a fair bit of work to do before they reach their potential!
Will you 2 get over the practise match. Call it a draw and move on.

learmonth
19 Apr 2007, 14:46
Hey Learmonth is there any truth that Madigan has retired along with P. McGuigan? Also no C. mcGuigan, Veldhuis or Gudgeon this week?

Archie Thredbo, U are in the know, To know so much about Waubra & Learmonth you could have used the alias name as Archie from St Arnaud or Archie 31.

From what you have said your fairly close to the truth, but not completely

concerned citizen
19 Apr 2007, 15:08
so whats the latest from the courier chfl write up this year looks as though ballan have really opened up the cheque book trying to match hepburn

Archie Threadbo
19 Apr 2007, 15:10
Archie Thredbo, U are in the know, To know so much about Waubra & Learmonth you could have used the alias name as Archie from St Arnaud or Archie 31.

From what you have said your fairly close to the truth, but not completely

You're off the mark a bit there Learmonth. I never played for either.

learmonth
19 Apr 2007, 15:18
You're off the mark a bit there Learmonth. I never played for either.

No need to hide the identity Archie....... Have been through your posts and I can guarantee anything that you are the person im stating (Dont worry, I wont give you away to everyone else). Only way you can know that info is from someone from the club who was involved in our meeting on Tuesday and you are very close to a few boys, especially one who is an electrician and was at the meeting. But once again, we have nothing to hide......

U looked good in an apron the other night aswell

Gadget
19 Apr 2007, 15:46
No need to hide the identity Archie....... Have been through your posts and I can guarantee anything that you are the person im stating (Dont worry, I wont give you away to everyone else). Only way you can know that info is from someone from the club who was involved in our meeting on Tuesday and you are very close to a few boys, especially one who is an electrician and was at the meeting. But once again, we have nothing to hide......

U looked good in an apron the other night aswell
Mads has known for a while he's body isn't up to it. Also, is that Archie the one that is always blind every week end? Does he play footy?

Archie Threadbo
19 Apr 2007, 16:16
Mads has known for a while he's body isn't up to it. Also, is that Archie the one that is always blind every week end? Does he play footy?

You blokes are way off the mark. But yes Archie is blind every weekend. :cool:

N Bartos
19 Apr 2007, 16:34
Pat McGuigan retiring. You must be joking, the kid wouldn't even be 22 would he.

learmonth
19 Apr 2007, 16:39

Spot on Gadget. Played at Learmonth previously and joined Steve Biggin @ Waubra last year. Has reguarly spoken about North Central League in past post, where he is originally from (St Arnaud) and has spoken about Steve Biggin and his cricket, followed by comments regarding being at Waubra games and what he has seen.

Been caught out Archie, with those comments regarding Learmonth and one of your best mates in Hinesy being there.

Cheers Aj

Archie Threadbo
19 Apr 2007, 16:49
Spot on Gadget. Played at Learmonth previously and joined Steve Biggin @ Waubra last year. Has reguarly spoken about North Central League in past post, where he is originally from (St Arnaud) and has spoken about Steve Biggin and his cricket, followed by comments regarding being at Waubra games and what he has seen.

Been caught out Archie, with those comments regarding Learmonth and one of your best mates in Hinesy being there.

Cheers Aj

No worries Learmonth but i'm telling you that this isn't Archie. Did a bit deeper and get back to me.

Gadget
19 Apr 2007, 17:18
Hey Learmonth, Maybe you can answer this? Are Redan training at Learmonth this year on wednesday nights, find it hard to believe if true?

learmonth
19 Apr 2007, 17:41
Hey Learmonth, Maybe you can answer this? Are Redan training at Learmonth this year on wednesday nights, find it hard to believe if true?

Yes it is true, muz asked us a while back....As they dont have an adequate ground to train on....

Uncle CC
20 Apr 2007, 00:31
You blokes are way off the mark. But yes Archie is blind every weekend. :cool:

Last I heard he had just escaped from the Fox River State Prison. It will be great to have him back on board but I reckon he might struggle this year with his prosthetic hand.

http://news2.videoboys.tv/photo/4751.jpg

Archie Threadbo - I know you're not Archie but you are a close friend of his. Do you walk around holding his pocket???

Harry HP
20 Apr 2007, 09:38
Last I heard he had just escaped from the Fox River State Prison. It will be great to have him back on board but I reckon he might struggle this year with his prosthetic hand.

http://news2.videoboys.tv/photo/4751.jpg

Archie Threadbo - I know you're not Archie but you are a close friend of his. Do you walk around holding his pocket???

Yo snowflake

learmonth
20 Apr 2007, 10:08
No worries Learmonth but i'm telling you that this isn't Archie. Did a bit deeper and get back to me.

Your a Tiger of a man archie thredbo

Archie Threadbo
20 Apr 2007, 10:21
Your a Tiger of a man archie thredbo

That's better Learmonth.:thumbsu:

Mobbenfuhrer
20 Apr 2007, 12:40
Starting to wind up the recruiting period for the Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League ... applications are drying up ... but would still love to get at least to four teams!

(69 players, 11 more to enable a fourth team!)

METRO VIC (25 players)
Diamond Valley FL (10)
1. Kickass (Div 1 / Eltham)
2. mattyr (Div 1 Bundoora)
3. Iceman27 (Div 2 / Wallan)
4. Force (Div 2 / Watsonia)
5. Bubble Wrap (Div 2 / Watsonia)
6. Giveyathemail (Div ? / Lalor)
7. Jewelsandbullet (Div ? / Montmorency)
8. Dv_Worm (Div ? / Coburg Amateurs)
9. rompermfc (Div 2 / Macleod)
10. ifyoucandodgeawrench

VFL & VAFA (Vic) (7)
1. can't mark can't kick (VAFA / D1)
2. harper (VAFA / D2 / South Melbourne Districts)
3. youngblood (VAFA / D2 / Aquinas)
4. The Tigers Nuts (VAFA / D3 / Old Westbourne)
5. the lemon wedge (Port Melbourne / VFL)
6. Joe Dirt (VAFA / A Grade)
7. FitzroyRamone (VAFA / C Grade / Fitzroy Reds)

Essendon DFL (5)
1. Subway (Essendon DFL)
2. colgate (Essendon DFL / Strathmore)
3. coreybrown (Essendon DFL)
4. litening (Essendon DFL / Airport West)
5. oldfashiondefender (Essendon DFL)

Western Region FL (3)
1. Gemini17 (WRFL Div 2)
2. Blueboy16 (WRFL Div 2)
3. thesilkmeister (Western Region FL)
x. the lemon wedge (WRFL Div 1 / Port Colts) - VFL / Port Melbourne (Bigfooty RL FFL)

WEST MELB & WEST VIC (20 players)
Riddell DFL (4)
1. billylid (Riddell DFL)
2. Itsmyshow (Riddell DFL)
3. Trublueroo (Riddell DFL)
4. Bluecrew #2 (Riddell DFL)

Western, Mallee, Wimmera (9)
1. Bakers_Patrons (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
2. Centre Sqaure (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
3. clifton's lookalike (Central Murray FL / Tyntynder)
4. Whispers (Geelong FL)
5. The Prawn (Millewa FL)
6. MasterOfROC (North Central FL / St Arnaud)
7. ALWHTE (Mininera & DFL)
8. theopacman (Western Border FL / Hamilton Imperials)
9. sheep dogger (Geelong FL)

Bendigo FL / Loddon Valley FL (7)
1. gerta (Loddon Valley FL)
2. A_JET8 (Bendigo FL)
3. Norfolk & Clew (Bendigo FL / Golden Square)
4. max powers. (Bendigo FL)
5. The fatman (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
6. davis 24 (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
7. Courageunderfire (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
x. caveman (Bendigo FL / Kangaroo Flat) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)
x. maroon and blue (Bendigo FL / Eaglehawk) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)

EASTERN MELB, EASTERN VIC & OUTSIDE VIC (24 players)
Northern, North-Eastern, Eastern & Gippsland regions (15)
1. FOOTYBOSS (Goulburn Valley FL)
2. Johnny Tapp (Goulburn Valley FL)
3. Zippa (Goulburn Valley FL)
4. Joeyboy (Kyabram DFL)
5. VT#23 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
6. sparra (Kyabram DFL)
7. The Iceman #49 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
8. iwantanotherflag (Picola & DFL / Katandra)
9. Slush Puppy (Kyabram DFL)
10. Darc21 (Ovens & Murray FL / Wangaratta Rovers)
11. goodies (Ellinbank DFL)
12. Marto121 (Picola & DFL)
13. slugga (YVMDFL)
14. MadMan V1.2 (Southern FL / Div 3 / Skye)
15. More Than A Game (Tallangatta DFL)
x. Pie4Life (MPNFL) - Dragons (Sweet FA)
x. OldMav (MPNFL) - Bigfooty Bombers (Sweet FA)
x. Frankston Rover (MPNFL) - Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)
x. diablo14 - (MPNFL) Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)

Outside Victoria (9)
1. Bella Buffalo (South Africa)
2. cckid (Ontario AFL / Canada)
3. roorat (Northern Tasmanian FA / Deloraine)
4. bakerman (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Kingborough)
5. head67 (Riverina FL)
6. morphous (Queensland)
7. SJM41 (Queensland / ? FL / Redland)
8. Injury prone (WAFL / Perth)
9. billybrownless16 (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Lauderdale)
x.Ljp86 (WAFL / Subiaco) - Dragons FC (Sweet FA)

Note : Players numbered x. are players who are only available under permit. They do not count amongst the 20 players required for a team, as if they are unavailable just one week, then that team will be unable to field a full contingent. The team's for which these players are primarily registered, are listed alongside the players' names.[/QUOTE]

thekid178
20 Apr 2007, 14:54
who are the big ins this week, and who are the big names who havent got up for round 1?

Old School Biff
20 Apr 2007, 19:00
I am going to go out on a limb here... have you ever had sex? Do you live at home with your parents? Wear a nappy? Are you over 40 years of age? Just a feeling I have.....[/quote]

That's it mate. Bag out the guys that keep the site running.

You idiot.

KingRich
21 Apr 2007, 11:08
I am going to go out on a limb here... have you ever had sex? Do you live at home with your parents? Wear a nappy? Are you over 40 years of age? Just a feeling I have.....[/quote]

HaHaHaHaHa.... Never seen someone bag out the Moderators like that before....... Is that an instant ban Mod???? HaHaHa... Gold!

Mobbenfuhrer
21 Apr 2007, 11:45
HaHaHaHaHa.... Never seen someone bag out the Moderators like that before....... Is that an instant ban Mod???? HaHaHa... Gold!

Hehe nah, its not too bad, just a basic sledge ... but I can also add that the reason you've never seen someone bag out the mods before, is because I delete the really nasty ones :)

I have been nothing short of spamming the Regional Leagues with ads for the new league ( don't remember you signing up yet, Kingrich? :D ), and he's just stirring me up for doing something so geeky ... this is some of my nicer feedback :D

MightyRoar
22 Apr 2007, 19:10
Just wandering can anyone tell me if David Dridan played for Dunnstown on the weekend and if so howd he go!!

Uncle CC
23 Apr 2007, 09:43
Can anyone from Ballan confirm that Tommy Mullane-Grant has signed a clearance to Bannockburn yesterday after a falling out with Malcolm scott on the weekend?

ROOSTER1
23 Apr 2007, 10:24
Can anyone from Ballan confirm that Tommy Mullane-Grant has signed a clearance to Banockburn yesterday after a falling out with Malcolm scott on the weekend?

Unsure about this, however Bannockburn is his original home club, so would make sense if this was the case

Gadget
23 Apr 2007, 11:21
How'd all recruits go for clubs on the week end? Did Shepherd play, how about Nicholson, Landry, Knowles, Porter and that big guy for Learmonth?

Uncle CC
23 Apr 2007, 11:32
How'd all recruits go for clubs on the week end? Did Shepherd play, how about Nicholson, Landry, Knowles, Porter and that big guy for Learmonth?

Shepherd was ok and at times showed that he has the potential to dominate a game. Was reported for making front-on, high contact to Clint Molloy while he was over the ball and was sent off. No doubt Bungaree will be hoping that the big unit gets rubbed out for this weekend's match.

Landry and Nicholson were solid performers in a scrappy game where most player struggled to be effective

AxelFoley#5
23 Apr 2007, 11:42

Michael Davis starred for Daylesford kicking 8 while Savige and Pring were solid contributors. Cant take much out that game against Gordon though, witches hats woulda been better opposition

dogtalk
23 Apr 2007, 12:04
Can anyone from Ballan confirm that Tommy Mullane-Grant has signed a clearance to Bannockburn yesterday after a falling out with Malcolm scott on the weekend?
Apparently Tommy threw a hissy fit after being taken off and threatened to put in a clearence...
Best on ground for Ballan - 6 Mark Benedetti, 7 Michael Sacco, 8 Troy Leon, 1 Mathew Green, and in the backline 19 Ben Collier
The play between Benedetti, Sacco & Leon was Great to watch, made for good footy...
It's ashame Benedetti going to Redan
JMO

learmonth
23 Apr 2007, 12:10
Shepherd was ok and at times showed that he has the potential to dominate a game. Was reported for making front-on, high contact to Clint Molloy while he was over the ball and was sent off. No doubt Bungaree will be hoping that the big unit gets rubbed out for this weekend's match.

Landry and Nicholson were solid performers in a scrappy game where most player struggled to be effective

Just a question to all out there. The Learmonth game was played over 4 X 20 min quarters plus time on, whilst I heard some games were played over 4 X 25min plus time on (Last Season). Does anyone know if things have been officially changed from last season, as I have not been notified

StanTsaikos
23 Apr 2007, 12:28
That's better Learmonth.:thumbsu:

Hey there Arch, i take it you follow Springbank.Heard over the wkd that a bloke Kane kicked 6 and was the difference between the two sides. Is he a new recruit for you blokes?

Archie Threadbo
23 Apr 2007, 12:39
Hey there Arch, i take it you follow Springbank.Heard over the wkd that a bloke Kane kicked 6 and was the difference between the two sides. Is he a new recruit for you blokes?

No Stan he's a product of our juniors.

Uncle CC
23 Apr 2007, 12:42

The real Teddy Bagwell has finally made an appearance. It was good to see you at the pool on Sunday morning.

Harry HP
23 Apr 2007, 12:53
Just a question to all out there. The Learmonth game was played over 4 X 20 min quarters plus time on, whilst I heard some games were played over 4 X 25min plus time on (Last Season). Does anyone know if things have been officially changed from last season, as I have not been notified

They have been officially changed to 4 x 20 min quarters. Pretty sure Bungarees v Creswick, and Waubra v Hepburn games were 4 x 20. Not sure about the others...

Old School Biff
23 Apr 2007, 12:59

Learmonth made the call last week that he would have trouble with getting reported.

learmonth
23 Apr 2007, 13:02
They have been officially changed to 4 x 20 min quarters. Pretty sure Bungarees v Creswick, and Waubra v Hepburn games were 4 x 20. Not sure about the others...

U would think, by reducing the quarters then they would reduce the number of interchange from 4 to 3. Whats the use of giving your 22nd best player 1/2 a game when he can play a full game in the two's.
Certainly will stop a lot of blow outs, Heard the dford V Gordon game was 25mins, which suggestd the scores as well as the D'Town V Buningyong game. Also the kick in rule has changed as well. U can kick in as soon as you get the ball... Will keep coaches awake with having to change zones etc.

ROOSTER1
23 Apr 2007, 17:01
Learmonth made the call last week that he would have trouble with getting reported.

Learmonth was spot on the money with this one! Got reported for head high contact and got into an argument with Robbo on the boundary. Ripped off his jumper and told the club to stick the footy up their arse. Returned only to try and knock people out. Struggled a lot, but can apparently play the game so we won't judge a man on one performance. Only thing is- will we see him again or has he spat the dummy??

learmonth
23 Apr 2007, 17:54
Learmonth was spot on the money with this one! Got reported for head high contact and got into an argument with Robbo on the boundary. Ripped off his jumper and told the club to stick the footy up their arse. Returned only to try and knock people out. Struggled a lot, but can apparently play the game so we won't judge a man on one performance. Only thing is- will we see him again or has he spat the dummy??

Also facing the tribunral is Nathan Sachse from learmonth, central umpire paid a free kick from 10meters away, whilst the goal umpire reported him from about 50 meters away and plenty of players between him and the incident. Will be intersting to see how it goes. Wonder if your able to call the central umpire as a witness to stae in his eyes from that distance it was only a free kick.
On Shepherd, not a good start, but the way the game is played now days, any forceful, unwarrented contact will result in a report. he needs to change his style. Couldnt see him leaving as he is a contracted player, and would find it hard to leave. Only place he would go would be Castlemaine...

Did Seiz play, didnt see him amongst the goals..???

Uncle CC
23 Apr 2007, 17:59

Someone said their was a bloke filming the game not too far from where the incident occurred. I'm not sure what club the guy was from though...maybe it was the local news. It would be interesting to get a look at the footage if it is decent.

Off Season
23 Apr 2007, 18:20

I was at the game and although Kane was good, he was not the difference. A poor second quarter by Clunes (9 Springbank goals to 1 from memory) was the only thing that stopped a young Magpies squad getting on the winners' list.

That and a cpl absolute shocking decisions from the umpires. Can't use that as an excuse tho, it was that bad it probably evened up throughout the match.

ROOSTER1
23 Apr 2007, 18:23
Also facing the tribunral is Nathan Sachse from learmonth, central umpire paid a free kick from 10meters away, whilst the goal umpire reported him from about 50 meters away and plenty of players between him and the incident. Will be intersting to see how it goes. Wonder if your able to call the central umpire as a witness to stae in his eyes from that distance it was only a free kick.
On Shepherd, not a good start, but the way the game is played now days, any forceful, unwarrented contact will result in a report. he needs to change his style. Couldnt see him leaving as he is a contracted player, and would find it hard to leave. Only place he would go would be Castlemaine...

Is that Nathan Sachse- ex Donald and Rupanyup player. I thought that he was assistant coach of Rupanyup?? If so a bloody great pick up. Has played VCFL and will carve up in Central Highlands.
Seiz apparently playing in Melbourne this year. Has work there. What makes you think Shepherd is contracted?? Hardly any clubs contract players now days. If he was to leave, yes he would go to Castlemaine i would presume. Peake and Lachy Brown there who are ex Hepburn players

slasher
23 Apr 2007, 19:05
i got to the game between daylesford and gordan on saturday and all though they may have had an extra 5 mins each quarter, daylesford looked real good, i think they will take some beating this year, with the players they already had and the new ones has just toped them up from last year, and i heared there b/f of last year had a run in the twos so they will only get better.:thumbsu:

Madroota69
23 Apr 2007, 20:18

Porter's still recovering from a knee op, i thought that was common knowledge? Wont be playing till mid season most likely

Madroota69
23 Apr 2007, 20:32

Goal umpires shouldn't be able to report a player at all in my opinion. I just don't think their intelligent enough. Considering most of their training consists of perfecting the technique of pointing a finger and practicing their 6 times tables

Freak Dodgeball Accident
23 Apr 2007, 22:06
The real Teddy Bagwell has finally made an appearance. It was good to see you at the pool on Sunday morning.

http://i12.tinypic.com/4iep7hw.jpg

The toddlers pool was quickly abandoned soon after his arrival...

Fence Sitter
23 Apr 2007, 22:42
Someone said their was a bloke filming the game not too far from where the incident occurred. I'm not sure what club the guy was from though...maybe it was the local news. It would be interesting to get a look at the footage if it is decent.

Uncle CC who are you kidding, the coaches dad films the game.
Just cause you played well, you might want to get a copy.
Shepherd was disappointing, he needs to change his way as this not good. He redeemed himself later with his tackle on mcdonld.

Will be interesting next time around. no one else will get within 10 goals Waubra, who wre missing about 4 good players.:eek:

Hampton Hammer
23 Apr 2007, 22:59
Tud34.... will Gordon win a game this season? That is a shocking scoreline for a round 1 game when everyone is fit and keen for the new season?

happy_feet
23 Apr 2007, 23:35
good to hear some newplayers to the league went well.. where did steve nicko play? and did he get much of it...
and has anyone herd anything about A. Sawers for Dunnstown, he got best on the weekend have been told he is a very good player.. maybe someone to look out for this year....

Astro Boy
24 Apr 2007, 08:58
Apparently Tommy threw a hissy fit after being taken off and threatened to put in a clearence...
Best on ground for Ballan - 6 Mark Benedetti, 7 Michael Sacco, 8 Troy Leon, 1 Mathew Green, and in the backline 19 Ben Collier
The play between Benedetti, Sacco & Leon was Great to watch, made for good footy...
It's ashame Benedetti going to Redan
JMO

I heard he had a meeting with Bannockburn on Sat night & has signed the clearance, Apparently he hasn't been getting along with Scotty for a while now.

Bobby Giovanni
24 Apr 2007, 09:11
No need to hide the identity Archie.......

Coming from you AJ... you hid for almost a year. ;)

trigirl
24 Apr 2007, 09:25
Clearance was lodged with the CHFL yesterday

learmonth
24 Apr 2007, 09:48
Goal umpires shouldn't be able to report a player at all in my opinion. I just don't think their intelligent enough. Considering most of their training consists of perfecting the technique of pointing a finger and practicing their 6 times tables

At the tribunral last night Brendan Shephedr was given 2 weeks, whilst Nathan Sachse was delayed due to the goal umpire not being there and will be heard next week. Is right to play this week, in a weird decision.....

learmonth
24 Apr 2007, 09:57
Clearance was lodged with the CHFL yesterday

That is massive news..??? U would think the committee would try and rectify this problem, too good of a player to lose, especially since Uhi & Cartledge didnt play on the weekend. Any news on those two guys....

Uncle CC
24 Apr 2007, 10:14
At the tribunral last night Brendan Shepherd was given 2 weeks

Looking at the draw, you boys would have to be pretty happy with that Learmonth?

Hepburn have really been shafted with their draw this year...Waubra, Bungaree & Learmonth to start the season.

Velvetsledgehammer
24 Apr 2007, 10:52
Tud34.... will Gordon win a game this season? That is a shocking scoreline for a round 1 game when everyone is fit and keen for the new season?

Yes certainly a bit of a hiding in round one. Don't see much light at the end of the tunnel for the eagles. Tud34 have you(the club) managed to make in-roads in changing the culture out there and trying to get that disciplined culture that brings success?

AxelFoley#5
24 Apr 2007, 11:06
i got to the game between daylesford and gordan on saturday and all though they may have had an extra 5 mins each quarter, daylesford looked real good, i think they will take some beating this year, with the players they already had and the new ones has just toped them up from last year, and i heared there b/f of last year had a run in the twos so they will only get better.:thumbsu:

Yeah Scobes had a run in the 2's along with about 5 other regular senior players from last year. That was probably D'ford's undoing last year (lack of depth) but this year they look to have plenty of 2's players who can step up and play seniors

Uncle CC
24 Apr 2007, 11:17
Yes certainly a bit of a hiding in round one. Don't see much light at the end of the tunnel for the eagles. Tud34 have you(the club) managed to make in-roads in changing the culture out there and trying to get that disciplined culture that brings success?

Is it true that the Gordan team got a massive spray at half time and the coach told the paid players that they weren't worth $3.00 between them?

learmonth
24 Apr 2007, 11:27
Yeah Scobes had a run in the 2's along with about 5 other regular senior players from last year. That was probably D'ford's undoing last year (lack of depth) but this year they look to have plenty of 2's players who can step up and play seniors

Who were the 5 regualar senior players, from what I know, Scobes and Reeves were the only 2...???? Also has caused a bit of disharmony up there with the great Clayton "Teeth" Scoble being dropped, with a lot of sponsors threatening to pull the pin if he isnt included this week. Will put some pressure on the new coach, especially since he didnt get in the best, and would be hard to drop anyone after a win like that. Good old Politics....

AxelFoley#5
24 Apr 2007, 11:44
Who were the 5 regualar senior players, from what I know, Scobes and Reeves were the only 2...???? Also has caused a bit of disharmony up there with the great Clayton "Teeth" Scoble being dropped, with a lot of sponsors threatening to pull the pin if he isnt included this week. Will put some pressure on the new coach, especially since he didnt get in the best, and would be hard to drop anyone after a win like that. Good old Politics....

Hall, Schultz, Frith, Slater all played majority of senior games last year...they all played 2's.

Scobes still dominated from what I saw