View Full Version : Central Highlands

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

Bernie Q
2 May 2007, 09:59
One for the Hepburn people, I saw in one of last years footy records that Ian "Cash" Callahan was still listed, is he still playing for the club?? I know he moved to Melb a few years ago, but was wondering if he was still travelling back for a kick.

thekid178
2 May 2007, 10:08
Seems to be getting more common these days madroota especially in higher leagues than ours. Have a look on the bfl transfers list, lot of traffic between clubs. I know he played with you before but Griggy has left the dunnys to play against them this year, not frowned upon as much as it used to be I reckon.
On Mick Sacco, bit harsh some of the mud being thrown at him. Dont know the fella personally only to play against, but from what ive seen he gives his team absolutely everything hes got and then some. I,d say there would be a fair bit of respect around the league for him... i know there is at my club. Premiership player, placed in league medal behind joey gilb I think couple of years bavck??? you know youve been in a c ontest when you play against him and 1 oof the first to shake your hand after a game. Time to lay off a bit i say.

Here here, i think thats enough of that, lets move onto some positive stuff...

Sawers sounds like he's setting them aligh at dunnstown, hows his mate that brought him there in sidey going?

learmonth
2 May 2007, 10:36

Sawers sounds like he's setting them aligh at dunnstown, hows his mate that brought him there in sidey going?

Some interesting games this week. Buninyong V Bungaree will be a massive game, both sides need to win to ensure that they stay in touch with a top 3 position. Either of these two sides will have a 1/2 win/loss ratio. Reid to stand up and kick 5 to get them across the line. Gilbert will be Bunga's worry in the middle along with Paddles. My Tip is Bunga by 3-4 goals

Waubra V D'Town, will be intersting to see if D'Town are the real deal this season, and if new superstar Sayers can dominate against the most disciplined and well drilled unit in the CHFL. Waubra to be to strong in the depth department.Tip Waubra EASY!

And finally the Lakies have their 1st real hit out for the season against hepburn who have played 2 of last years finals sides and look in good form. A win to either side here will set their season up, and give them an edge of being in the top 5. Have to tip learmonth as Im biased, but hopefully should be a really good game going on last years final. Disappointing that both sides have injuries and wont be at full strength, so it will test both sides depth. hep without Mann??, Atkin?? & Shepherd and L'Month without McGuigan X 2, Madigan & Bone

Old School Biff
2 May 2007, 11:12

Agree. The bagging out of players is only going to bring this site down.

Mobbenfuhrer
2 May 2007, 11:28
Agree. The bagging out of players is only going to bring this site down.

I do my best to keep an eye on it and filter stuff out but if you can help by reporting posts that you feel are of negative value to the thread, that'd be great! I don't know the inside stories so may not realise when something is a slur or threat.

Off Season
3 May 2007, 12:37
Speak for yourself mate. Last time I checked, Mobbenfuhrer was the forum the moderator. I'd rather read those blokes' sledges than you having a sook.

I'd rather not read either...

Anyone know how the Ballan boys are shaping up this week? They'd be pretty keen to atone for last week's performance i'm guessing.

candy man
3 May 2007, 16:21
I'd rather not read either...

Anyone know how the Ballan boys are shaping up this week? They'd be pretty keen to atone for last week's performance i'm guessing.

the ballan boys will come out firing! one would think it will be a tight affair in ordinary conditions..they are missing saleshi uhi, what is the story with him is he injured? is he actually at ballan does anyone know...

dforddoggies
3 May 2007, 20:54
from wot I reackon
J Gilbert- tough as nails hard to stop
A sewers- great skills pace like no other
A Mckay- goal sneak there hard to find
S mullane- runs forward and back
L. brown- any 1 who can kick 100 has to be good
J Reid- big target and makes a good contest have to be good to stop him
C Mcguigan- fast and dangerous up forward
R Cahir- always kick 2 or 3 and always when they need him
L Adams- never plays bad has 25+ posis. every game
S Uhi- just a freak
coach Robertson

1. L. Adams
2. D. Liston
3. C. Scoble
4. S. Uhi
5. L. Brown
6. S. Mullane
7. A. McKay
8. J. Adams
9. S. Winduss
10. C. O'Brien

JUNIOR 22
3 May 2007, 22:29
Learmonth over hepburn, waubra just over dtown, another interesting game at the bottom end of the ladder bfort v gordon can the gordon boys come away with the points or are they focused on the 07 footy trip?

jj66
3 May 2007, 22:36
Great to see Shane Skontra and the brain's trust have included two super star's back into the senior line up for this week.

Clint Mc Intyre - Tenacious tear away rover, love's it when the going get's tough. Very big game player (for those that didn't see last years Grand Final) who need's limited opportunities to hurt you on the score board.

Luke Archibald - This guy's the complete package. One of the hardest running half back flackers in country victoria. For a guy with height and strength that he has and to be able to run all day is a rare talent.

Well worth the money for admission to see these guys going around.

Waubra for mine by 10 goals

AxelFoley#5
4 May 2007, 12:31
1. L. Adams
2. D. Liston
3. C. Scoble
4. S. Uhi
5. L. Brown
6. S. Mullane
7. A. McKay
8. J. Adams
9. S. Winduss
10. C. O'Brien

Looks a bit biased there dford dog, lotta D'ford boys in that list. Dont disagree though, they're all great players and servents of the club.

Not sure if we can even include Uhi in these lists considering he's been a no show.

FWIW My Top 10:

1. Luke Adams (D'ford)
2. Shaun Mullane (Waubra)
3. Scott Winduss (D'ford)
4. Andy McKay (Hepburn)
5. Glenn Handley (Clunes)
6. Lee Brown (Waubra)
7. Aaron Sawers (D'town)
8. Joel Adams (D'ford)
9. Brenton Powell (Learmonth)
10.Brendan Sheppard (Hepburn)

Iron Beast
4 May 2007, 13:16
Looks a bit biased there dford dog, lotta D'ford boys in that list. Dont disagree though, they're all great players and servents of the club.

Not sure if we can even include Uhi in these lists considering he's been a no show.

FWIW My Top 10:

1. Luke Adams (D'ford)
4. Andy McKay (Hepburn)
6. Lee Brown (Waubra)
7. Aaron Sawers (D'town)
8. Joel Adams (D'ford)

My top 10 in no particular order!

Mullane
Sayers
L. Adams
Brown
Shepard
McKay
Winduss
McGuinan
Tranqulli
O'brien

dforddoggies
4 May 2007, 13:53

FWIW My Top 10:

1. Luke Adams (D'ford)
4. Andy McKay (Hepburn)
6. Lee Brown (Waubra)
7. Aaron Sawers (D'town)
8. Joel Adams (D'ford)

Fair point there axel, havnt seen shep yet but heard he is top ten worthy, as for Uhi u make another fair point, was a real game breaker last year but as u say yet to turn up this year. Very suprised to see no one except myself has included Clayton Scoble, B&F for Dford last year, doesnt get the recognition he deserves in my books, again that could just be my bias, but a highly respected bloke around dford. Had they played on this year Matt Peake and Sam Newton would have featured, and thats comin from a dford person!

Old School Biff
4 May 2007, 14:19
Have any of you guys actually seen Shepherd play or is he just in the top 10 on reputation? I've seen him in Interleague when he was in the Bendigo League and I'd have him in the top 5. It's just strange that he's played 1 game and apparently struggled and everyone has him in the top ten. Surely not everyone has played against or seen him play.

AxelFoley#5
4 May 2007, 14:27
Have any of you guys actually seen Shepherd play or is he just in the top 10 on reputation? I've seen him in Interleague when he was in the Bendigo League and I'd have him in the top 5. It's just strange that he's played 1 game and apparently struggled and everyone has him in the top ten. Surely not everyone has played against or seen him play.

I saw him play for Castlemaine during their glory days of '99/'00 and was easily the best backmen in the league. If he is anywhere near as good as he was back then he's definetly in the top 10.

Obviously didnt play well round 1 getting suspended but he'll be the barometer of Hepburn's success this year

Old School Biff
4 May 2007, 17:33
I saw him play for Castlemaine during their glory days of '99/'00 and was easily the best backmen in the league. If he is anywhere near as good as he was back then he's definetly in the top 10.

Obviously didnt play well round 1 getting suspended but he'll be the barometer of Hepburn's success this year

Yeah, I've seen him a number of times and know he will be a premier player in the CHFL. It was just interesting that everyone was rating him so highly seeing he'd only been in the league for 1 game.

Vineyard
4 May 2007, 17:52
Yeah, I've seen him a number of times and know he will be a premier player in the CHFL. It was just interesting that everyone was rating him so highly seeing he'd only been in the league for 1 game.

how is cox going at Hepburn??? Dominating like earlier posts suggested?

Freak Dodgeball Accident
4 May 2007, 20:59
He's had his ups and downs

Uncle CC
4 May 2007, 21:38
He's had his ups and downs

Yeah...he was pretty stiff in round 1

Barnestoneworth
4 May 2007, 22:22
Yeah...he was pretty stiff in round 1
Heard he can be hard at times but is mostly pretty soft, also has a reputation for spitting and wears a helmet.

Barnestoneworth
4 May 2007, 22:48
Good call. Have a think about it mate. Pring and savage had been at their clubs for at least the past four or so years. So the way country footy is these days thats not to bad. As for davis. has been back in victoria for a year and with his old man living in daylesford and coaching he made the move up here and im pretty sure he wont be jumping ship anythime soon. I have no doubt about your intelectual levels Attilla_the_gun, very, very low. And have a look why we are in the chfl, maybe because we are smack bang in the middle of the district. Once again another well educated answer. Yeah we could have been the most dominant team in the chfl last year, but when you lose up to 13 regular senior players from the year before, to do what we did was a pretty good effort. So this is probably a rebuilding stage for the club, so to be in such a strong position whilst rebuilding does show that the club is on the right track. From what i have seen from your post so far, your knowledge of footy resembles that of a decrepit fool. So neck up and get your facts straight meat axe and go hang around with your window licking mates

Surprised no1 has taken you to task on this post crusader, surely you are not serious when you say daylesford are in a rebuilding stage. Hows this for a list of names - J. Adams, L. Adams, Winduss, Cronin, Cummings, Rogers, Thompson, Jurcan, O'brian, Scoble, Sheppard, Hall, Evans, Trimble, Wright, Muscat and Slater. All of these were regular senior players in 2005 in the bfl for daylesford who were still on the list in 06. Rahill was another but i,m not sure if he played or not last year. Chuck in Nesbitt and Schultz who were regulars at other bfl clubs and youve got 19 regular bfl players. I'm not saying you didn't lose some good players - Tim Beacham Mark Nunn the 2 biggest names, their brothers also handy players but didn't play much footy in 05, but who out of that list of names would make way for the 13 regulars you say you lost? Most clubs would love to have a list as strong as the one i mentioned. If daylesford are in a rebuilding stage god help the rest of the chfl clubs when it is complete, you might have to look at re-entering the bfl.

dforddoggies
5 May 2007, 20:45
Surprised no1 has taken you to task on this post crusader, surely you are not serious when you say daylesford are in a rebuilding stage. Hows this for a list of names - J. Adams, L. Adams, Winduss, Cronin, Cummings, Rogers, Thompson, Jurcan, O'brian, Scoble, Sheppard, Hall, Evans, Trimble, Wright, Muscat and Slater. All of these were regular senior players in 2005 in the bfl for daylesford who were still on the list in 06. Rahill was another but i,m not sure if he played or not last year. Chuck in Nesbitt and Schultz who were regulars at other bfl clubs and youve got 19 regular bfl players. I'm not saying you didn't lose some good players - Tim Beacham Mark Nunn the 2 biggest names, their brothers also handy players but didn't play much footy in 05, but who out of that list of names would make way for the 13 regulars you say you lost? Most clubs would love to have a list as strong as the one i mentioned. If daylesford are in a rebuilding stage god help the rest of the chfl clubs when it is complete, you might have to look at re-entering the bfl.

mate u clearly dont have a clue about dford footy club, muscat, cummings, thompson, slater, wright and jurcan were far from regular senior players in 2005, all in either juniors or ressies, schultzy was in and out of sebas's seniors, ur making some rash assumptions mate and by admitting that u wernt even sure of last years status of one of the leagues leading backmen in paul rahill your ignorance about the dford footy club is somewhat evident

hepburns happy
6 May 2007, 00:41
any respect Learmonth?????? considering Shep coming back Mann Atkin Sam Newton etc.etc.ect. Concentrate on coaching not the internet.

Barnestoneworth
6 May 2007, 01:04
mate u clearly dont have a clue about dford footy club, muscat, cummings, thompson, slater, wright and jurcan were far from regular senior players in 2005, all in either juniors or ressies, schultzy was in and out of sebas's seniors, ur making some rash assumptions mate and by admitting that u wernt even sure of last years status of one of the leagues leading backmen in paul rahill your ignorance about the dford footy club is somewhat evident

Fair enough. Tell us who the 13 regular senior players that crusader says you lost are. Obviously you don't have much of a clue about your own club eitgher, Jurcan played 10 senior games and Cummings 7 in 05, seems pretty regular to me. All the others played seniors but i concede played more 2s than 1s. Which of them played juniors? Thompson is a regular senior player over a lot of years. And thanks for pointing out my ignorance about Rahill. that makes 20 PLAYERS WITH PLENTY OF SENIOR BALLARAT LEAGUE EXPERIENCE NUMB NUTS. Rebuilding? BULLSHIT.

MightyRoar
6 May 2007, 13:20
Can anyone tell me how Ben Kick is going at Bungaree!!

DfordDog
6 May 2007, 14:07
Fair enough. Tell us who the 13 regular senior players that crusader says you lost are. Obviously you don't have much of a clue about your own club eitgher, Jurcan played 10 senior games and Cummings 7 in 05, seems pretty regular to me. All the others played seniors but i concede played more 2s than 1s. Which of them played juniors? Thompson is a regular senior player over a lot of years. And thanks for pointing out my ignorance about Rahill. that makes 20 PLAYERS WITH PLENTY OF SENIOR BALLARAT LEAGUE EXPERIENCE NUMB NUTS. Rebuilding? BULLSHIT.

Barnestoneworth. Just straightening things out for you.

2005 Senior players lost
- Tim Beacham
- Anthony Beacham
- Mark Nunn
- Aaron Nunn
- Nathan Gudgeon
- Dave Wright
- Ben Beaston
- Adam Richardson
- Luther Dean
- Nick Turnball

Pretty much lost
- Paul Rahill (did play 1st 6 games of 2006, went overseas)

Not senior players in 2005
- Cummings didnt play any senior games in 2005. First Senior game was in 2006. You may hav him mixed up with Trimble who was still a junior in the rebels but played mainly senior games for us.
- Thompson played mostly reserves games in 2005. Maybe 1 senior game, not sure.

Now that is not quite 13 but i could hav missed 1 or 2. Still, losing 10 players of the ilk of some of them (Beachams, Nunns, Richo, Beaston, Gudgeon, Wright) really hurts a club. So when we talk about rebuilding we talk about replacing those players (we didnt recruit 10 players for 2006, probably only 4). In 2006, it was the old BFL second teir players that stood up and played to a new level hence the performance of the doggies last year.

Ok, so i hav supplied the facts, you can still form the same opinion but atleast now your more informed.

Cheers :thumbsu:

Fence Sitter
6 May 2007, 14:46
any respect Learmonth?????? considering Shep coming back Mann Atkin Sam Newton etc.etc.ect. Concentrate on coaching not the internet.

Fair call, Hepburns Happy.
Definitely missed a few at learmonth. But the ones coming back will add more to Hepburn, than Learmonth.
About time Learmonth actually started playing a side that can play, instead of believing his own bullsshiiittt.

Bungaree are not happy at the moment and the wiltshire's knives are getting sharper. Reid will need to get something happening or they will be laughing stock of comp...They sucked me in.

Waubra and Hepburn are the ones to beat, the next 15 weeks is a waste of time i will give dalyesford a bit of a sniff. to see who is going to finish 4th or below.

jj66
6 May 2007, 17:05

Seems to me that Learmonth got the "Hepburn Flu" in both grades!!!!

wonker
6 May 2007, 22:25
Can anyone tell me how Ben Kick is going at Bungaree!!

B.O.G. on SATURDAY

Barnestoneworth
6 May 2007, 22:57
Barnestoneworth. Just straightening things out for you.

2005 Senior players lost
- Tim Beacham
- Anthony Beacham
- Mark Nunn
- Aaron Nunn
- Nathan Gudgeon
- Dave Wright
- Ben Beaston
- Adam Richardson
- Luther Dean
- Nick Turnball

Pretty much lost
- Paul Rahill (did play 1st 6 games of 2006, went overseas)

Not senior players in 2005
- Cummings didnt play any senior games in 2005. First Senior game was in 2006. You may hav him mixed up with Trimble who was still a junior in the rebels but played mainly senior games for us.
- Thompson played mostly reserves games in 2005. Maybe 1 senior game, not sure.

Now that is not quite 13 but i could hav missed 1 or 2. Still, losing 10 players of the ilk of some of them (Beachams, Nunns, Richo, Beaston, Gudgeon, Wright) really hurts a club. So when we talk about rebuilding we talk about replacing those players (we didnt recruit 10 players for 2006, probably only 4). In 2006, it was the old BFL second teir players that stood up and played to a new level hence the performance of the doggies last year.

Ok, so i hav supplied the facts, you can still form the same opinion but atleast now your more informed.

Cheers :thumbsu:

Thanks DfordDog for providing some facts and in a civil way. Only going by the selected sides page on the vcfl websites for those numbers on Cummings but they could be wrong. Still a fantastic list, looks like the club has fixed the depth problem that may have hindered it in 2006

dogtalk
7 May 2007, 10:46
Can anyone tell us how the young bloke from Clunes is doing, that broke his leg during Saturdays game against Ballan

Off Season
7 May 2007, 11:51
Can anyone tell us how the young bloke from Clunes is doing, that broke his leg during Saturdays game against Ballan

Had surgery at 10am yesterday. It was actually a broken ankle. Marty is going to be out of the game for a long while by all reports. It was very worrying at one stage because they couldn't the blood flowing back into his leg. Very disappointing as he is only 17yo and had been playing good senior footy for 18 months now. Was just starting to realise how good he could be.

Was anyone else at the game on Clunes/Ballan game? Where do you think Ballan is at? I was somewhat surprised by how undisciplined they were considering many have talked them up as finals contenders. By Saturday's performance, long, long way off.

Scoots
7 May 2007, 14:01
Great to see Shane Skontra and the brain's trust have included two super star's back into the senior line up for this week.

Clint Mc Intyre - Tenacious tear away rover, love's it when the going get's tough. Very big game player (for those that didn't see last years Grand Final) who need's limited opportunities to hurt you on the score board.

Luke Archibald - This guy's the complete package. One of the hardest running half back flackers in country victoria. For a guy with height and strength that he has and to be able to run all day is a rare talent.

Well worth the money for admission to see these guys going around.

Waubra for mine by 10 goals

Great assessment JJ, from all reports Archibald dominated half back on Saturday and should do his league medal chances no harm. The Complete Package has all the goods, and for him to put that big frame of his on the line time after time just shows the courage of the bloke.

JUNIOR 22
7 May 2007, 14:47
Great assessment JJ, from all reports Archibald dominated half back on Saturday and should do his league medal chances no harm. The Complete Package has all the goods, and for him to put that big frame of his on the line time after time just shows the courage of the bloke.
The lad also dominated proceedings at JD's sat night! must of been celebrating his good performance earlier in the day.

Astro Boy
7 May 2007, 14:56
Did Bryce Nicholson play on the Week End?

Gadget
7 May 2007, 14:59
The lad also dominated proceedings at JD's sat night! must of been celebrating his good performance earlier in the day.
He'd want to make the most of it before Skonna employs the No Alcohol policy on the team. Let's see his form then!

Iron Beast
7 May 2007, 15:00
whats everyones thought on the Eason, dunnstown coach as a player?

thekid178
7 May 2007, 15:12
Had surgery at 10am yesterday. It was actually a broken ankle. Marty is going to be out of the game for a long while by all reports. It was very worrying at one stage because they couldn't the blood flowing back into his leg. Very disappointing as he is only 17yo and had been playing good senior footy for 18 months now. Was just starting to realise how good he could be.

Was anyone else at the game on Clunes/Ballan game? Where do you think Ballan is at? I was somewhat surprised by how undisciplined they were considering many have talked them up as finals contenders. By Saturday's performance, long, long way off.

Shame to lose a young fella to such a terrible injury... but at least he's young, his body will be better equipped to recover than if he was 24-25...

Certainly some issues at Ballan in regards to making sure there is better cohesion and discipline, particularly in regards to giving away 50's, silly free kicks etc. I think everyone down there needs to take responsibility for that tho, we all know that umps don't change their minds so u just gotta wear bad decisions and not fly off the handle.

As for Uhi getting reported, was unfortunate that his ripper shirtfront was on a younger player also, however it was a shepherd within 5m of the ball, was pure shoulder, no elbow, and the fact that a) Uhi was about 40kgs heavier than the clunes player, and b) it was right in front of the crowd at clunes, who all proceeded to cry murder, meant that the book was thrown at him.
Like i said, tough lesson for a kid to learn, but if u wanna play senior footy u gotta be ready for it physically, and hopefully his peripheral vision might improve from this lesson.

Off Season
7 May 2007, 16:09
Shame to lose a young fella to such a terrible injury... but at least he's young, his body will be better equipped to recover than if he was 24-25...

Certainly some issues at Ballan in regards to making sure there is better cohesion and discipline, particularly in regards to giving away 50's, silly free kicks etc. I think everyone down there needs to take responsibility for that tho, we all know that umps don't change their minds so u just gotta wear bad decisions and not fly off the handle.

As for Uhi getting reported, was unfortunate that his ripper shirtfront was on a younger player also, however it was a shepherd within 5m of the ball, was pure shoulder, no elbow, and the fact that a) Uhi was about 40kgs heavier than the clunes player, and b) it was right in front of the crowd at clunes, who all proceeded to cry murder, meant that the book was thrown at him.
Like i said, tough lesson for a kid to learn, but if u wanna play senior footy u gotta be ready for it physically, and hopefully his peripheral vision might improve from this lesson.

I didn't see Uhi's shirt-front but the kid was certainly sore afterwards. Whether it was fair or not I agree it is a good lesson to be learnt. If he got up from that, he can get up from anything.

I don't wanna dwell on it but there were at least 2-3 occasions where a Ballan palyer did something i would classify as outside the spirit of the game. Clunes are big and strong enough to forgeth about it, but if Ballan want to challenge the top sides this year they have to be more concerned about winning the hard ball than being "hard" after the ball is gone IMO.

Anyway, it was quite an exciting game - i thought the shot that hit the post at the end was going thru for sure.

Dee5
7 May 2007, 17:50
whats everyones thought on the Eason, dunnstown coach as a player?

very smart footballer, knows where to run and how to get it..tough as well

Yesterdays Hero
7 May 2007, 21:45
He'd want to make the most of it before Skonna employs the No Alcohol policy on the team. Let's see his form then!

Luke Archibald plays on p!ss fumes. Skonna is happy for the big fella to get right on it, he is a true stayer Archibald, goes for 4 days, Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday week in week out. He comes from a club that prides themselves on drinking abilities.

blowfish
7 May 2007, 22:40
Luke Archibald plays on p!ss fumes. Skonna is happy for the big fella to get right on it, he is a true stayer Archibald, goes for 4 days, Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday week in week out. He comes from a club that prides themselves on drinking abilities.

if he applies the no alcohol rule he will quit cant go without a drink for a 3 days let alone a month for finals.

thekid178
7 May 2007, 23:13
I don't wanna dwell on it but there were at least 2-3 occasions where a Ballan palyer did something i would classify as outside the spirit of the game. Clunes are big and strong enough to forgeth about it, but if Ballan want to challenge the top sides this year they have to be more concerned about winning the hard ball than being "hard" after the ball is gone IMO.

Certainly agree, as i said, definitely need to work on discipline, once they get it right better cohesion will follow IMO

Bayonet
8 May 2007, 13:03
I heard he was playing two's and looking lost. Never has been one to play well under pressure.

Uncle CC
8 May 2007, 14:02
I heard he was playing two's and looking lost. Never has been one to play well under pressure.

Started in the two's but he played seniors on the weekend and was in their best players.

If anyone sees Tea Bag at Waubra training tonight, let him know that his prosthetic hand is in the lost and found at JD's....

http://antiquescientifica.com/prosthesis_carved_hand_2wb.jpg

Harry HP
8 May 2007, 15:31
how is cox going at Hepburn??? Dominating like earlier posts suggested?

He hasnt been going that well, but he is on the rise. He doesnt like the dry conditions. He'd much prefer the wet and slippery condtions.

Gadget
8 May 2007, 15:59
He hasnt been going that well, but he is on the rise. He doesnt like the dry conditions. He'd much prefer the wet and slippery condtions.
Lee Cox wet & slippery conditions???? Totally opposite conditions would suit him you'd think?

Astro Boy
8 May 2007, 16:16
Lee Cox wet & slippery conditions???? Totally opposite conditions would suit him you'd think?

Cox.... wet conditions. Have a think about it Gadget.

Harry HP
8 May 2007, 16:36

You idiot

Uncle CC
8 May 2007, 16:43

I suppose you're going to say he's not one eyed either?

Gadget
8 May 2007, 16:53
Sorry Harry HP, Uncle CC & Astro Boy???????? Right over the head!

Off Season
8 May 2007, 17:22
What are the theories behind Learmonth's absence this week? A word from the Prez maybe??

Crafty 4 PM
8 May 2007, 21:27

I've heard he's prone to give team mates a spray if they rub him the wrong way

Deledio2Tambling
8 May 2007, 22:07

So much so that after that he turns a bit soft............

Barnestoneworth
8 May 2007, 22:52

True, but normally flaccid.. oops I mean placid. Heard he blew his top the other day though. Im with gadget too, don't think he likes the wet conditions, always wears a raincoat.

Uncle CC
9 May 2007, 10:28
True, but normally flaccid.. oops I mean placid. Heard he blew his top the other day though. Im with gadget too, don't think he likes the wet conditions, always wears a raincoat.

He has been in and out of the hepburn side this year!

Astro Boy
9 May 2007, 10:36

Hepburn to smash Springbank this week.

If Cox fires early it will all be over very quickly.

Harry HP
9 May 2007, 11:02

Im not so sure about that Astro Boy. Cox will last all day if its dry, but if its wet he could run out of steam very quickly...

Joey Scarbury
9 May 2007, 12:55

Don't under Estimate the Tigers Astro Boy........

They've got 3 possibly 4 handy inclusions in the senior side this week.

JUNIOR 22
9 May 2007, 13:30
Don't under Estimate the Tigers Astro Boy........

They've got 3 possibly 4 handy inclusions in the senior side this week.

Who are the inclusions? would think they would have to be superstars for springbank to come close.

Gadget
9 May 2007, 13:47
Can confirm Hepburn have picked up a handfull VFL players and also a few Ballarat players too.
How are the Bullants recruits going for Hepburn Train?????

Archie Threadbo
9 May 2007, 13:50
Who are the inclusions? would think they would have to be superstars for springbank to come close.

I'm not saying we'll win but i'm confidant it will be a closer game than most people think.

Iron Beast
9 May 2007, 14:15
i saw the clunes game on the weekend i was very impressed with a few of the things glen handley did, how would he go in terms of the better players in the league? Big shame about the kids injury too, any news about how he is going?

Gadget
9 May 2007, 14:32
Does Mick Allan still play at clunes or did he go elsewhere?

redrocket
9 May 2007, 14:45
I'm not saying we'll win but i'm confidant it will be a closer game than most people think.
I agree with you there archie. Springbank may not win but if hepburn come out half cocked they may get a shock. As for Cox, Dave florence will run with him all day. Last year when they met Florance dominated all day in the ruck in a side that went down by 20 goals. Sheppard will have his hands full with Nicholls who given the chance will kick fare share of goals. But we will just have to wait and see. This week will be about getting some respect back by being more competitive against the good sides like hepburn.

Bayonet
9 May 2007, 14:54
i saw the clunes game on the weekend i was very impressed with a few of the things glen handley did, how would he go in terms of the better players in the league? Big shame about the kids injury too, any news about how he is going?
Can you give me the low down on the Mayor and Magic performance for Clunes in that game?

Joey Scarbury
9 May 2007, 15:11
I agree with you there archie. Springbank may not win but if hepburn come out half cocked they may get a shock. As for Cox, Dave florence will run with him all day. Last year when they met Florance dominated all day in the ruck in a side that went down by 20 goals. Sheppard will have his hands full with Nicholls who given the chance will kick fare share of goals. But we will just have to wait and see. This week will be about getting some respect back by being more competitive against the good sides like hepburn.
Couldn't agree with you more redrocket.......

Joey Scarbury
9 May 2007, 15:12
Teams are in Fridays paper mate.

19th Man
9 May 2007, 15:20
I noticed a while back that M Lesko was on the receiving end of some abuse regarding his playing ability and monetry demands in the Ballarat forum. How has he gone to date? Was the abuse warranted?

Astro Boy
9 May 2007, 15:55

Saw Florence play last year & agree he is a very handy player but doubt he would be quick enough to go with Cox.

JUNIOR 22
9 May 2007, 15:58
Teams are in Fridays paper mate.

No shit!! They must be good if u can't give the names up 2 days early.

Off Season
9 May 2007, 16:00

Handles is an absolute gun. Ealier in this thread I saw a few people didn't include him in their top 10 chfl players, which IMO automatically reduces their credibility. Maybe I'm biased because i've been watching him for years now, but he is top 5 for sure. Top 3 IMO.

By all reports he was a good chance to get drafted when he played at the Rebels - obviously this didn't occur, but it is a reflection of his talent. A great leader/coach also, especially considering he's only 22/23. Players & supporters have the utmost respect for how he goes about things.

Latest news about Marty's injury is that he not only broke his ankle, he also snapped his fibula in half (as did Nathan Brown & Chris Newman). Had screws & steel plate inserted and will possibly miss 12-18 months. A real shame, but that's footy i spose.

As for Gadget's question, Mick Allan & Benny Coon got clearances out to C/L with Hilly. Mick's brother still plays in the 2's at clunes.

As for Bayonet's question, Mayor has been at his creative best in the forward line early in the season. As for Magic, as far as i'm aware he has embraced retirement with gusto...from a spectator's perspective, i don't think he'll pull the boots on again.

Anyone know how Uhi went at the tribunal?

Mountain Goat
9 May 2007, 17:10
Heard Shepard looks like Tarzan and plays a lot like Jane. Bit like another Hepburn magoos player from last year, overseas atm!!

Mountain Goat
9 May 2007, 17:15
Uhi got 2 weeks. watched the game on the w.e and saw the incident. Umpire needs glasses for sure, as he did for most of day. As fair a hit as any I have seen!! Would have hurt though

Mountain Goat
9 May 2007, 21:24
heard on the grape vine that learmonths footy trip already started with A.J and a few other big name players hooking up with ben cousins and co. (if you know what i mean)

Barnestoneworth
9 May 2007, 23:27
heard on the grape vine that learmonths footy trip already started with A.J and a few other big name players hooking up with ben cousins and co. (if you know what i mean)

Been hearing the same thing mountain goat, also hear that the gun recruit is far from impressed! Can you enlighten us learmonth??????

Mountain Goat, your information on Sheppard is way off.

Barnestoneworth
9 May 2007, 23:31

Uncle CC if cox were to pull out the night before a game, would that be a nocturnal ommission?

FootyFan235
10 May 2007, 09:25
[quote=Barnestoneworth;7485525]Been hearing the same thing mountain goat, also hear that the gun recruit is far from impressed! Can you enlighten us learmonth??????quote]

Which gun recruit are you talking about, i thought learmonth only had 1 gun pickup and he'd broken his leg? As for the other part of it haven't heard anything in that regard, have seen a few learmonth boys out and they always seem to be in a different state of mind, but i think thats got to do with the truckloads of booze they're drinking :D

Are springbank kidding themselves?? they've beaten no one so far and the pick up in tempo will see them drop behind early and stay there....as for big inclusions is one of them a former springbank premiership player who also played afl for the cats?

Archie Threadbo
10 May 2007, 09:33
HAHAHAHA hey does anyone know what happened to kenny Hill? or did the courier just get tired of his previews saying both teams had a big chance to win, listing reasons why and then tipping one team to win by about 15 goals???:p

He got the lemon and sars from the courier and he's now working for the ballarat news. He's really landed on his knees.

Joey Scarbury
10 May 2007, 10:04
No shit!! They must be good if u can't give the names up 2 days early.

I'm not on the selection committee, don't want to be giving out this sort of information, there no big names but the 3 certain inclusions fit straight into the 1st 18 and the possible 4th inclusion could quite possibly be a past Springbank Premiership player

Poor Kenny Hill........He's just out of form

Scoots
10 May 2007, 10:07
I'm not on the selection committee, don't want to be giving out this sort of information, there no big names but the 3 certain inclusions fit straight into the 1st 18 and the possible 4th inclusion could quite possibly be a past Springbank Premiership player...

Poor Kenny Hill........He's just out of form.

Be good to see big Pete Kane come out of retirement..

Joey Scarbury
10 May 2007, 10:10
Sorry captain jack.......I don't think you'll see the 37 jumper getting around this year.

FootyFan235
10 May 2007, 10:16
He got the lemon and sars from the courier and he's now working for the ballarat news. He's really landed on his knees.

Thats not all bad, i mean the ballarat news probably has more pages than the courier....... has anyone else noticed that you can see thru the courier if you hold it up to the light :D

Back to the footy...... whats everyones thoughts on this weekends matches??

StanTsaikos
10 May 2007, 11:11

Sounds good in theory Scoots but im pretty sure you need 2 hands to play footy and from what ive seen lately he has dedicated one of them to a 7 ounce glass and the other to the formguide!

Gadget
10 May 2007, 11:59
have seen a few learmonth boys out and they always seem to be in a different state of mind, but i think thats got to do with the truckloads of booze they're drinking :D

No Doz!

Mike Rotch
10 May 2007, 13:15
can someone please confirm if Luke Archiebald is still playing? or tries to anyway!

Archie Threadbo
10 May 2007, 13:37
can someone please confirm if Luke Archiebald is still playing? or tries to anyway!

He certainly is Rotchy. He's been destroying opposition forward lines with his brute strength and footy smarts for Waubra.:D

Mountain Goat
10 May 2007, 13:58
just stirring on shepard, can play!! But learmonth can you come out of hibernation to fill us in??

Mike Rotch
10 May 2007, 14:19
He certainly is Rotchy. He's been destroying opposition forward lines with his brute strength and footy smarts for Waubra.:D

thats good then. cos i heard that he was gonna go back to his old home town of st.arnaud and help them out this season..

Uncle CC
10 May 2007, 15:01
thats good then. cos i heard that he was gonna go back to his old home town of st.arnaud and help them out this season..

He's not from St Arnaud...he's from Fox River.

Gadget
10 May 2007, 15:29
He's not from St Arnaud...he's from Fox River.
Great episode last night i might add... Do they put in on at JD's for Tea Bag to watch?

Duck Hunter
10 May 2007, 15:44
I've just had a look at the local threads Gadget. Either you have no life or your a bludger of the highest calibre. I think Chief Quimby needs to give you more assignments to keep you busy during your day!

Gadget
10 May 2007, 16:20
I've just had a look at the local threads Gadget. Either you have no life or your a bludger of the highest calibre. I think Chief Quimby needs to give you more assignments to keep you busy during your day!
Fair point. Not working at moment, can I come around for a game of duck hunter?

RedHeadedStar
10 May 2007, 22:34
How have the NCFL 'alumni' gone down at waubra so far? 2x Browns, Gilmour, Biggin, Archibald and McInyre?

jj66
10 May 2007, 22:37
Look out Bungaree, the word coming from Waubra is the Luke Archibald show is due to start at 2.15 this Saturday. Coming off a BOG last week, this boy's been on the slow simmer all week and is due to boil over on Saturday afternoon.:)

Waubra for mine 6 goals

MasterOfRoc
11 May 2007, 01:07
3 Rounds down, Who's looking the goods? both Team wise, and Individual Player wise?

Daylesford seem to go alright, and judging by the Goalkickers, have quite a few paths to goal

Thoughts?

Iron Beast
11 May 2007, 11:59
Learmonth have you started up your own new thread where you simply talk about how good your; coaching, players and facilities are at learmonth? I'm dearly missing your banter and would like to know what is happening...

oodles
11 May 2007, 12:55
Look out Bungaree, the word coming from Waubra is the Luke Archibald show is due to start at 2.15 this Saturday. Coming off a BOG last week, this boy's been on the slow simmer all week and is due to boil over on Saturday afternoon.:)

Waubra for mine 6 goals

Can anyone tell me the reason to Bungaree's slow start to the season, the start of the year were expected to be a top 3 by many people including myself

any thoughts???

Gadget
11 May 2007, 13:55
Can anyone tell me the reason to Bungaree's slow start to the season, the start of the year were expected to be a top 3 by many people including myself

any thoughts???
Recruits are too fat, including coach.

Dee5
11 May 2007, 15:20
3 Rounds down, Who's looking the goods? both Team wise, and Individual Player wise?

Daylesford seem to go alright, and judging by the Goalkickers, have quite a few paths to goal

Thoughts?

Playing Dunnstown this week, will be a pressure packed game and expect Daylesford to be pushed. They have been playing solid footy though and should come home with the 4 points.
Seen that Dale Sidebottom from Sebas played well last week..heard a bit about him, how does he go?