View Full Version : Central Highlands
Look out Bungaree, the word coming from Waubra is the Luke Archibald show is due to start at 2.15 this Saturday. Coming off a BOG last week, this boy's been on the slow simmer all week and is due to boil over on Saturday afternoon.:)
Waubra for mine 6 goals
Has Luke got a twin bother named Brett?? They look alot like twins, but normally their show starts at 9.15pm at J.D.s
Learmonth have you started up your own new thread where you simply talk about how good your; coaching, players and facilities are at learmonth? I'm dearly missing your banter and would like to know what is happening...
I hope the Learmonth Football Club has banned him from posting rubish and pumping his tyres up on B/Footy. Letting games like that slip this time of the year isn't good news, are their a few cracks opening up in the club????
ROOSTER1
11 May 2007, 17:54
Teams are in Fridays paper mate.
who would beleive the paper. its a bloody shambles. Robbo hasn't put in the correct side for 3 years. If they are named in they are out and if they are out they are definite starters. Mann and Atkin haven't played a game and been picked each week as for Cox- was always playing last week
dr evil
12 May 2007, 01:25
Playing Dunnstown this week, will be a pressure packed game and expect Daylesford to be pushed. They have been playing solid footy though and should come home with the 4 points.
Seen that Dale Sidebottom from Sebas played well last week..heard a bit about him, how does he go?
sidey goes ok but his mates the gun
dr evil
12 May 2007, 01:47
Recruits are too fat, including coach.
If the dont show something soon .There in real trouble ,PERHAPS THERE RECRUITS THOUGHT THE CHFL WAS GOIN TO BE A BIT EASIER THAN IT ACTUALLY IS. if they dont pull there finger out soon there will be more than 1 phyco supporter
How did Matt Lockett go for Learmonth this week? Or aren't we allowed to ask questions about Learmonth Mobbenfuhrer?
Mobbenfuhrer
13 May 2007, 07:35
How did Matt Lockett go for Learmonth this week? Or aren't we allowed to ask questions about Learmonth Mobbenfuhrer?
Why wouldn't you be able to ask questions about Learmonth?
I'm not saying we'll win but i'm confidant it will be a closer game than most people think.
Seems you weren't far off the mark there Archie.
Unlucky to not come away with the win from all reports. Who was the best on ground for the Bankers
Bayonet
13 May 2007, 20:20
Handles is an absolute gun. Ealier in this thread I saw a few people didn't include him in their top 10 chfl players, which IMO automatically reduces their credibility. Maybe I'm biased because i've been watching him for years now, but he is top 5 for sure. Top 3 IMO.
By all reports he was a good chance to get drafted when he played at the Rebels - obviously this didn't occur, but it is a reflection of his talent. A great leader/coach also, especially considering he's only 22/23. Players & supporters have the utmost respect for how he goes about things.
Latest news about Marty's injury is that he not only broke his ankle, he also snapped his fibula in half (as did Nathan Brown & Chris Newman). Had screws & steel plate inserted and will possibly miss 12-18 months. A real shame, but that's footy i spose.
As for Gadget's question, Mick Allan & Benny Coon got clearances out to C/L with Hilly. Mick's brother still plays in the 2's at clunes.
As for Bayonet's question, Mayor has been at his creative best in the forward line early in the season. As for Magic, as far as i'm aware he has embraced retirement with gusto...from a spectator's perspective, i don't think he'll pull the boots on again.
Anyone know how Uhi went at the tribunal?
Thanks for the update on Mayor and magic. Can you tell me if Phil Morrish or Will Casey are still playing for Clunes. That Casey turned the 97 grand final aroung for Clunes i think?
Fence Sitter
13 May 2007, 22:32
Brace yourself everyone..... the mail is Learmonth has lifted his self imposed media ban.
They are back on track after beating the disappointing Bunnies.
Springbank are the real deal they will finish in Top 5....fifth spot looks like might go to team with softest draw....hmmmmm maybe Learmonth.
Bunga improved, but the pot is boiling over there.
The other clubs outside the top 5, are wasting money. Sack what you have got and save it for next year, might sound tough, but to compete you need to double your budget and start shopping now. good luck.
Looking Like
Waubra
Hepburn
Daylesford
Springbank
??????
footyfanz22
14 May 2007, 11:08
Brace yourself everyone..... the mail is Learmonth has lifted his self imposed media ban.
Springbank are the real deal they will finish in Top 5....fifth spot looks like might go to team with softest draw....hmmmmm maybe Learmonth.
The other clubs outside the top 5, are wasting money. Sack what you have got and save it for next year, might sound tough, but to compete you need to double your budget and start shopping now. good luck.
Looking Like
Waubra
Hepburn
Daylesford
Springbank
??????
No player would go to a club who sacks players half way through season if they cannot make the finals.
Off Season
14 May 2007, 11:38
Thanks for the update on Mayor and magic. Can you tell me if Phil Morrish or Will Casey are still playing for Clunes. That Casey turned the 97 grand final aroung for Clunes i think?
Na netiher of those boys are still at Clunes. I haven't seen Morrish around the club for years, unsure about Casey. If i remember correctly, Clunes were about 8 goals down at half-time of the 97 granny and somehow came back to record an unbelievable victory - casey played a major part.
Off Season
14 May 2007, 11:44
Looking Like
Waubra
Hepburn
Daylesford
Springbank
??????
Looking at the results, Springbank obviously put up a good fight against Hepburn, but "the real deal" maybe a bit premature. I watched them in round 1 and they did have a few good players running around, but do they have the depth to consistently challenge the better sides?
Off Season
14 May 2007, 11:57
Sacking players mid-season isn't going to help the reputation of the club, which in turn won't help in attracting players in the future. IMO mid-season sackings could only be justified if the player is totally uncommitted to the cause.
I agree that it is highly likely that 7-8 teams have little (or no) chance of making finals this year, which is unfortunate. IMO this is a direct result of the discrepancy between the amount clubs are spending on total player payments.
Can someone please inform me what the official salary cap is in the CHFL? Is there somewhere on CHFL website that has the official policy in writing? How strictly is it monitored?
Archie Threadbo
14 May 2007, 12:04
Seems you weren't far off the mark there Archie.
Unlucky to not come away with the win from all reports. Who was the best on ground for the Bankers
Yeah the game easily have gone our way. Jarrod James was probably the difference. Nichol, Tranquilli & Florance were good all day for Springbank.
Sacking players mid-season isn't going to help the reputation of the club, which in turn won't help in attracting players in the future. IMO mid-season sackings could only be justified if the player is totally uncommitted to the cause.
I agree that it is highly likely that 7-8 teams have little (or no) chance of making finals this year, which is unfortunate. IMO this is a direct result of the discrepancy between the amount clubs are spending on total player payments.
Can someone please inform me what the official salary cap is in the CHFL? Is there somewhere on CHFL website that has the official policy in writing? How strictly is it monitored?
Salary cap was scrapped years ago mate, it is open slather now.
Off Season
14 May 2007, 13:21
[/b]
Salary cap was scrapped years ago mate, it is open slather now.
Fair dinkum, i reckon that's a joke.
What's other people's opinion on this? I think there certainly should be a cap - something around 50k excluding coach??
As i've said previously in this thread, if it continues to be open slather, it's only a matter of time (3-5 years i reckon) before 2-3 CHFL clubs fold IMO.
Astro Boy
14 May 2007, 13:41
Fair dinkum, i reckon that's a joke.
What's other people's opinion on this? I think there certainly should be a cap - something around 50k excluding coach??
As i've said previously in this thread, if it continues to be open slather, it's only a matter of time (3-5 years i reckon) before 2-3 CHFL clubs fold IMO.
I would have thought most CHFL clubs were spending 50K +.
If u have the cash why not spend it??
U hear plenty of rumors of the coin getting thrown around but IMO alot of it is exaggerated.
redrocket
14 May 2007, 13:54
Looking at the results, Springbank obviously put up a good fight against Hepburn, but "the real deal" maybe a bit premature. I watched them in round 1 and they did have a few good players running around, but do they have the depth to consistently challenge the better sides?
They put up more than a good fight. was a great contest all day. No one likes to make up excuses but their were a few umpiring decisions at cruicial times in the game that cost springbank a couple of goals.Hepburn kicked two quick goals late to grab the win. Didn't help that their was only one umpire either due to the other ump getting carried from the feild with what looked to be a rolled ankle. But over all it is great for the club and the players to give themselves the confidence to know that they can match it with the better sides in the comp. As for Sheppard deffinetly not in the best top 10 players as most people have said he is. He is big, huge in fact but nothing like a Adams or Tranquili. Likes to pick off people smaller than him but from what I saw on saturday not intersested if the person is bigger.
What are people's views on the push in the back rule during a marking contest? P.T the ump thinks he is central umpire at the MCG I wreckon.
Off Season
14 May 2007, 14:26
I would have thought most CHFL clubs were spending 50K +.
If u have the cash why not spend it??
U hear plenty of rumors of the coin getting thrown around but IMO alot of it is exaggerated.
That's my point. Some clubs might have the resources to throw around say $100k whereas others might only have the resources to outlay $30k.
Surely there has to be a median somewhere so that those who lack resources are not completely hindered in their attempts to compete, whereas those clubs who have the resources are given enough room to throw some cash around, but not ridiculous amounts.
Although I'm not privvy to the player payments at Clunes, I would be 99.99% certain that we would be not even close to 50k. The foundation of this year's senior team is 4-5 club stalwarts, 10-15 juniors & a few from uni, mates of players, etc...
That's my point. Some clubs might have the resources to throw around say $100k whereas others might only have the resources to outlay $30k.
Surely there has to be a median somewhere so that those who lack resources are not completely hindered in their attempts to compete, whereas those clubs who have the resources are given enough room to throw some cash around, but not ridiculous amounts.
Although I'm not privvy to the player payments at Clunes, I would be 99.99% certain that we would be not even close to 50k. The foundation of this year's senior team is 4-5 club stalwarts, 10-15 juniors & a few from uni, mates of players, etc...
Cap used to be $35k. Was scrapped because it is impossible to police. Most player payments are payed in cash to avoid the prying eye of the tax man and a lot of clubs have wealthy backers who pitch in plenty. This money doesn't even go through the club books so how could a league enforce a salary cap. I agree that weaker clubs in all leagues will find it tougher to compete with the rich clubs, not just the CHFL.
Barnestoneworth
14 May 2007, 15:04
Looking Like
Waubra
Hepburn
Daylesford
Springbank
??????
Big call! Springbank have beat clunes beaufort and creswick and you have them pencilled in for a finals spot? Might be better to wait and see how they go over the next month.
Cant Kick Cant Play
14 May 2007, 15:34
Thats why they Clunes are will not make the finals you need to spend money on players. Its great they have a good junior structre in place and are getting senior players out of the junior sides.
No cap is great if clubs have the money then spend it. Smart recruiting is good recruiting
Astro Boy
14 May 2007, 17:00
They put up more than a good fight. was a great contest all day. No one likes to make up excuses but their were a few umpiring decisions at cruicial times in the game that cost springbank a couple of goals.Hepburn kicked two quick goals late to grab the win. Didn't help that their was only one umpire either due to the other ump getting carried from the feild with what looked to be a rolled ankle. But over all it is great for the club and the players to give themselves the confidence to know that they can match it with the better sides in the comp. As for Sheppard deffinetly not in the best top 10 players as most people have said he is. He is big, huge in fact but nothing like a Adams or Tranquili. Likes to pick off people smaller than him but from what I saw on saturday not intersested if the person is bigger.
What are people's views on the push in the back rule during a marking contest? P.T the ump thinks he is central umpire at the MCG I wreckon.
Sounds like I may have underestimated the Bankers..
I heard ur FF is a gun, what VFL club is he from??
Uncle CC
14 May 2007, 22:29
A reliable source told me that Clunes spent around 40K last year. There are plenty of teams in the CHFL that are wasting money on playing that aren't worth it. Some of the teams with small budgets have dug themselves bigger holes by wasting the little money that they do have.
Clubs need to invest both time and money when recruiting. The more time you spend researching, speaking to players and shopping around, the less money you have to spend.
Fence Sitter
14 May 2007, 23:55
A reliable source told me that Clunes spent around 40K last year. There are plenty of teams in the CHFL that are wasting money on playing that aren't worth it. Some of the teams with small budgets have dug themselves bigger holes by wasting the little money that they do have.
Clubs need to invest both time and money when recruiting. The more time you spend researching, speaking to players and shopping around, the less money you have to spend.
That would be true , however hepburn, Waubra, Daylesford are clearly spending more than the rest.
Its the bottom end players picked up. Why do think people all of sudden go to a club that hasnt had success. they draw players with money and then get a taste for success and believe it is just aorund the corner, so they keep the inital players that costs a fair bit then top up the bottom, however still having to spend more again so what starts out at $40K, ends up like $60K to $80K. Yes Hepburn in the higher end.
Learmonth is trying the same now...increase the spending because he thinks he is close. but realy he is a long way off, when compared the 3 clubs above. dont worry he wont reead this as he is not allowed back on here.
He decided on continuin the self impose media ban (under tag of learmonth)..although did notice he made best players, most coaches dont put there own names in. so this his way of getting in the media.
dr evil
15 May 2007, 00:57
Dunnstown v Bungaree
Its do or die for these to its only early in the year i no but its only a final 5 so if either of these to hope to snatch fifth spot they nead to win this one.It will take a lot of charracter for Dunnstown to turn around from what was a big defeat .they wont be the last side to go to Daylesford and get thrashed.
As for bungaree there confidence must be at an all time low,after expecting big thing pre season there season will be all but over if they loose this one .Im exspecting a close game as it usually is between these to
Archie Threadbo
15 May 2007, 10:05
Sounds like I may have underestimated the Bankers..
I heard ur FF is a gun, what VFL club is he from??
Played a handfull of games for the Bulldogs then played with Tranquilli at Box Hill. Coached Ringwood in the Eastern Football League last year.
Astro Boy
15 May 2007, 10:45
Played a handfull of games for the Bulldogs then played with Tranquilli at Box Hill. Coached Ringwood in the Eastern Football League last year.
Sounds like he will be a real handful for backmen, Is he an assistant coach with another VFL Club in the reserves??
Archie Threadbo
15 May 2007, 10:52
Sounds like he will be a real handful for backmen, Is he an assistant coach with another VFL Club in the reserves??
Assistant at Northern Knights TAC Cup. Will play about 10 games.
happy_feet
15 May 2007, 11:41
Dunnstown v Bungaree
Its do or die for these to its only early in the year i no but its only a final 5 so if either of these to hope to snatch fifth spot they nead to win this one.It will take a lot of charracter for Dunnstown to turn around from what was a big defeat .they wont be the last side to go to Daylesford and get thrashed.
As for bungaree there confidence must be at an all time low,after expecting big thing pre season there season will be all but over if they loose this one .Im exspecting a close game as it usually is between these to
your on the money there Dr evil. Who do you feel the playeras to watch are?
i am interested to see if sawers gets back this week for dunnstown. herd some very positive things about him.. and what about knowles for bunga? they could be the players to watch....
MightyRoar
15 May 2007, 12:17
Just wandering if anyone can tell me how David Dridan went in his first game for Dunnstown?
Off Season
15 May 2007, 14:00
Learmonth is trying the same now...increase the spending because he thinks he is close. but realy he is a long way off, when compared the 3 clubs above. dont worry he wont reead this as he is not allowed back on here.
He decided on continuin the self impose media ban (under tag of learmonth)..although did notice he made best players, most coaches dont put there own names in. so this his way of getting in the media.
It's probably a bit late i would have thought. Personally I enjoyed reading his opinions/thoughts, but considering he is actually a coach in the league i would've thought his players/committee would be disappointed that he's given oppostion teams/players enough extra incentive to want to smash Learmonth (the team) every time they play for the next 5 years.
Mountain Goat
15 May 2007, 17:43
Gadget you try telling me that ben kick is fat. BOG first few weeks and in bests everyweek. absolute gun!!
Thoroughbred
15 May 2007, 18:00
It's probably a bit late i would have thought. Personally I enjoyed reading his opinions/thoughts, but considering he is actually a coach in the league i would've thought his players/committee would be disappointed that he's given oppostion teams/players enough extra incentive to want to smash Learmonth (the team) every time they play for the next 5 years.
I could see it being true if his club banned him as there was that problem with Creswick and he has taken a few shots at various players and clubs.
But... I liked the fact that he was actually a person that is in the know hat his club.
dforddoggies
15 May 2007, 21:43
That would be true , however hepburn, Waubra, Daylesford are clearly spending more than the rest.
Its the bottom end players picked up. Why do think people all of sudden go to a club that hasnt had success. they draw players with money and then get a taste for success and believe it is just aorund the corner, so they keep the inital players that costs a fair bit then top up the bottom, however still having to spend more again so what starts out at $40K, ends up like $60K to $80K. Yes Hepburn in the higher end.
dont be so sure mate, i can tell ya for certain we (daylesford) are spending much less than hepburn and waubra, credit of out strong local and loyal talent
Astro Boy
16 May 2007, 07:30
dont be so sure mate, i can tell ya for certain we (daylesford) are spending much less than hepburn and waubra, credit of out strong local and loyal talent
Waubra are not spending that much. All paid players r on about 1/2 what they could get at another club.. & plenty on nothing.I would be very surprised if they were spending as much as Daylesford. However I am not the treasurer of either of the clubs so we will never know.
Local talent.. A place with the population of Daylesford should have more local talent.
Off Season
16 May 2007, 10:13
I could see it being true if his club banned him as there was that problem with Creswick and he has taken a few shots at various players and clubs.
But... I liked the fact that he was actually a person that is in the know hat his club.
What was the problem with Creswick? I was aware of a few pot shots, but what was the specific problem with Creswick?
Off Season
16 May 2007, 10:23
Waubra are not spending that much. All paid players r on about 1/2 what they could get at another club.. & plenty on nothing.I would be very surprised if they were spending as much as Daylesford. However I am not the treasurer of either of the clubs so we will never know.
Local talent.. A place with the population of Daylesford should have more local talent.
We could argue all day about who is spending the most, but unless ur in the absolute inner sanctum it's all a guessing game.
The point I was trying to get across is that the discrepancy between say the bottom 4-5 teams and the top 4-5 teams is massive. It appears that in future it'll only get bigger unless the league finds a way implement a salary cap and monitor it effectively.
I acknowledge monitoring it will be a hard thing but if country footy (not just the CHFL) continues to be a free-for-all it will force the hand of many clubs to either merge, fold or try to get into lower leagues. Call me an alarmist, but that's my opinion...
I see your all playing the guessing game.... let's have some guesses on how much 2 CHFL coach's earn/Get...
1. Skontra - Premiership coach, has his side up and running again.
&
2. Reid - BFL Premiership player, but by results, it doesn't look good.
&
3.Simon Avery (Buninyong) - Thrown in the deep end but have won some games.
Here's my guess...
1. 5 Grand
2. 20 Grand
3. Free
crusader
16 May 2007, 12:07
Have a look at daylesfords local talent and compare it to the other lists in the chfl. Our top 15-20 local players are miles above other clubs. Local players that is!!!! Both Daylesford and hepburn have a combined population of 3500 and to get that many quality footy players into two sides is a good effort i would have thought
dr evil
16 May 2007, 13:59
I see your all playing the guessing game.... let's have some guesses on how much 2 CHFL coach's earn/Get...
1. Skontra - Premiership coach, has his side up and running again.
&
2. Reid - BFL Premiership player, but by results, it doesn't look good.
&
3.Simon Avery (Buninyong) - Thrown in the deep end but have won some games.
Here's my guess...
1. 5 Grand
2. 20 Grand
3. Free
i wouldn't no but i think that you might be pretty close to the money .Its not how much u pay its what u get, as u can see
dr evil
16 May 2007, 14:10
Just wandering if anyone can tell me how David Dridan went in his first game for Dunnstown?
i herd he went ok kicked 2 goals in his first game for the year.Might find the chfl a little harder than the lfl as he's not very tall and not real Quick
Old School Biff
16 May 2007, 14:15
i herd he went ok kicked 2 goals in his first game for the year.Might find the chfl a little harder than the lfl as he's not very tall and not real Quick
I know for a fact North Ballarat Roosters were knocking on his door every single preseason when he was a bit younger.
The guy has serious talent and I don't think he'd have trouble playing in almost any league. There would definetly be a spot for him in BFL teams.
Old School Biff
16 May 2007, 14:16
What was the problem with Creswick? I was aware of a few pot shots, but what was the specific problem with Creswick?
Didn't it have something to do with their president signing on here and setting a few facts straight?
I also heard the pres rang him after he read a couple of his comments about that club in particular on this site.
dr evil
16 May 2007, 14:20
your on the money there Dr evil. Who do you feel the playeras to watch are?
i am interested to see if sawers gets back this week for dunnstown. herd some very positive things about him.. and what about knowles for bunga? they could be the players to watch....
knowles i here is over weight but he can get away with it ,be cause he did last year.reid may be the key if he a nicolson can kick a few wood make it hard for Dunnstown as they dont have a big forward.
dr evil
16 May 2007, 14:27
I know for a fact North Ballarat Roosters were knocking on his door every single preseason when he was a bit younger.
The guy has serious talent and I don't think he'd have trouble playing in almost any league. There would definetly be a spot for him in BFL teams.
i herd sawers is Dunnstowns best player by a long way.Dridan i think won 2 league medals so is no doubt a very good player i will keep my eye out for him
Astro Boy
16 May 2007, 14:52
Have a look at daylesfords local talent and compare it to the other lists in the chfl. Our top 15-20 local players are miles above other clubs. Local players that is!!!! Both Daylesford and hepburn have a combined population of 3500 and to get that many quality footy players into two sides is a good effort i would have thought
Fair enough I thought Dford was larger, but 3500 is still 3490 more then Waubra.
Off Season
16 May 2007, 15:57
Didn't it have something to do with their president signing on here and setting a few facts straight?
I also heard the pres rang him after he read a couple of his comments about that club in particular on this site.
Yeah I remember reading that a while ago, wasn't aware it involved phone calls as well.
The point I was trying to get across is that the discrepancy between say the bottom 4-5 teams and the top 4-5 teams is massive. It appears that in future it'll only get bigger unless the league finds a way implement a salary cap and monitor it effectively.
I acknowledge monitoring it will be a hard thing but if country footy (not just the CHFL) continues to be a free-for-all it will force the hand of many clubs to either merge, fold or try to get into lower leagues. Call me an alarmist, but that's my opinion...
I agree with what u say 100% off season. The BFL, CHFL & LPFL look like they will be dominated for some time by the same two or three teams and by no coincidence these are the teams with the bigger budgets. The gap Between Waubra, Hepburn,Daylesford and Gordon, Creswick,Clunes is so far im afraid it would take years or about 75,000 to close in. In the LPFL only about three teams can win it this year and there the same 3 as every other year. Im only backing up what ur saying & not giving a solution cos i cant come up with one. Call me negative but i think unless the vcfl steps in it will spell the end for 3 chfl & 2 lpfl teams. This is the never ending discussion but let me know what u think. Make local footy LOCAL again.
BALLARAT FOOTBALL ASSOCIATION.
Premier League.
Ballarat
Redan
Sebas
East Point
Lakers
Hepburn
Daylesford
Learmonth
Bungaree
Dunnstown
Nth City
Division One
C/Linton
Springbank/Gordon
Waubra/Lexton
Beaufort
Creswick
Clunes
Buninyong
Ballan
Newlyn
Rokewood
Illabarook
Skipton,Navarre,Natte,Ararat,Darley,Marsh,Melton,M South,Sunbury all geographically unsuited.
Gordon,Lexton to merge or fold soon.
And Waubra in division 1 even tho they'll probably go back 2 back on the basis that i think they'll come back to the pack real quick after this season.
Fence Sitter
17 May 2007, 00:00
[quote=Snail;7548305]
Make local footy LOCAL again.
SNAIL, this is quite a good view.
Unfortunately Daylesford and Hepburn maybe a merger (in the next 3-5 Years) as the local talent will dry up due to work opportunities in the smaller towns, money helps but isnt the issue its having locals in helping club. which is easy when winning. Ask creswick and gordon how tough it is to keep people coming.
Reality is not all clubs will survive,money is not the only issue players are simply not enough to go around. My view is below.
This is happening all over victoria with different divisions etc.
Premier League. (10 Teams all within 40mins of ballarat)
Ballarat
Redan
Sebas
East Point
Lakers
Hepburn / Daylesford
Learmonth /Waubra
Bungaree / Dunnstown
Nth City ??? 1 goal 3 on the weekend, not sure but they will improve.
C/Linton / Skipton
Division One (all within 30 mins of ballarat)
Springbank/Gordon
Beaufort
Creswick/Newlyn
Clunes
Buninyong
Ballan
Rokewood
Illabarook
The other clubs you mentioned could tack onto the neighbouring leagues Maryborough, Riddle and Arrarat shold have one team stay in horsham.
The money mentioned early is way off, Hepburn Spend, Daylesford Spend, Waubra Spend and Learmonth Spend, we all speak to similar players and have a rough idea what your own club offers a player etc, then they go elsewhere...rarely for less. most dont realise how much everyone gets after you skim the gate taking, bar, canteen and raffles there is a lot of cash that is never seen...that is the system and it wont stop.
Thoroughbred
17 May 2007, 10:54
I agree with what u say 100% off season. The BFL, CHFL & LPFL look like they will be dominated for some time by the same two or three teams and by no coincidence these are the teams with the bigger budgets. The gap Between Waubra, Hepburn,Daylesford and Gordon, Creswick,Clunes is so far im afraid it would take years or about 75,000 to close in. In the LPFL only about three teams can win it this year and there the same 3 as every other year. Im only backing up what ur saying & not giving a solution cos i cant come up with one. Call me negative but i think unless the vcfl steps in it will spell the end for 3 chfl & 2 lpfl teams. This is the never ending discussion but let me know what u think. Make local footy LOCAL again.
Premier League.
Ballarat
Redan
Sebas
East Point
Lakers
Hepburn
Daylesford
Learmonth
Bungaree
Dunnstown
Nth City
Division One
C/Linton
Springbank/Gordon
Waubra/Lexton
Beaufort
Creswick
Clunes
Buninyong
Ballan
Newlyn
Rokewood
Illabarook
Skipton,Navarre,Natte,Ararat,Darley,Marsh,Melton,M South,Sunbury all geographically unsuited.
And Waubra in division 1 even tho they'll probably go back 2 back on the basis that i think they'll come back to the pack real quick after this season.
Send Lexton and Natte to the MCDFL. They would be better suited there. Money wise, they would be in the top end in that comp and Natte would be close to top team and Lexton would play finals.
Pretty good there Snail. The Sunbury's and Meltons are killing the BFL as Gisborne is the Bendigo League.
Have you thought about putting Maryborough in the Division 1. They are struggling in the Bendigo League at the moment. Most Maryborough people go to Ballarat before Bendigo for most things, Uni, shopping and etc. I personally think Maryborough would be better off going in the Ballarat League.
FootyFan235
17 May 2007, 11:32
Can anyone tell me what the situation with the umpires and sunday games is??? Had heard that there may be a few sunday fixtures due to lack of umpires, when will it all be announced?????
Cant Kick Cant Play
17 May 2007, 11:50
Premier League.
Ballarat
Redan
Sebas
East Point
Lakers
Hepburn
Daylesford
Learmonth
Bungaree
Dunnstown
Nth City
Division One
C/Linton
Springbank/Gordon
Waubra/Lexton
Beaufort
Creswick
Clunes
Buninyong
Ballan
Newlyn
Rokewood
Illabarook
Snail this was brought up at regional VCFL meeting 4 years ago was was put into the to hard basket by the leagues and clubs. You are spot on until this happens clubs will continue to fold.
A junior structure similar to geelong's junior football is the way to go as well have 1 league "football ballarat" with division 1 - 2 - 3 in age groups that cater for numbers. Dont force clubs to have teams they in age groups that dont suit let the club decide what age groups they wish to enter this will ensure the country clubs will be around in years to come.
Snail this was brought up at regional VCFL meeting 4 years ago was was put into the to hard basket by the leagues and clubs. You are spot on until this happens clubs will continue to fold.
A junior structure similar to geelong's junior football is the way to go as well have 1 league "football ballarat" with division 1 - 2 - 3 in age groups that cater for numbers. Dont force clubs to have teams they in age groups that dont suit let the club decide what age groups they wish to enter this will ensure the country clubs will be around in years to come.
After experiencing the CHFL and GFL set-up for juniors I would prefer the CHFL arrangement.
Kids at the CHFL get to see and be associated with the Senior guys which means you get a bit of loyalty whereas in Geelong the juniors and seniors are nearly seperate clubs.
Dont stuff with the CHFL until it is really broken and dont forget the past. In the 80's Hepburn was strong but during the 90's the dropped back and have again surged now. During the 90's it was Beafourt and Dunstown now it is Waubra who were crap during the 90's.
woof woof
17 May 2007, 17:01
The Tyntynder F.C in the Central Murray Football League (previously Mid Murray Football League) is having a reunion this weekend 18th, 19th & 20th of May at their clubrooms in Swan Hill. We will be acknowleging the premiership sides of the mid 80's but any player, supporter etc is welcome to attend this great weekend. If you would like more info you can contact keg18wilson@hotmail.com or ring the clubrooms on 03 50322974
dforddoggies
17 May 2007, 17:32
haha dunno mate have a geezer at this list; L. Adams, J. Adams, S. Winduss, C.Scoble, D. Thompson, J. Evans, K. Trimble, M. Cummings, C. O'Brien, N. Cronin, J. Cowan, R. Rodgers, P. Jenkin and to a lesser extent T. Reeves who did play juniors at dford before moving to qld, returned last yr
lualdeng
17 May 2007, 20:58
just wondering how tim cromb for newlyn is goin i have heard he is a very tough nuggety player who is very discipline, sounds like a good pick up for newlyn
Barnestoneworth
17 May 2007, 21:52
just wondering how tim cromb for newlyn is goin i have heard he is a very tough nuggety player who is very discipline, sounds like a good pick up for newlyn
Yes well he does sound like a good pick up for Newlyn doesn't he if he is a very tough nuggety player who is very discipline. And my guess is that you are TIM CROMB. Wait for somebody else to give a critique on how good you are mate
Barnestoneworth
17 May 2007, 21:58
haha dunno mate have a geezer at this list; L. Adams, J. Adams, S. Winduss, C.Scoble, D. Thompson, J. Evans, K. Trimble, M. Cummings, C. O'Brien, N. Cronin, J. Cowan, R. Rodgers, P. Jenkin and to a lesser extent T. Reeves who did play juniors at dford before moving to qld, returned last yr
Think you might have misunderstood what astro boy was saying, I think he meant that daylesford should have more local talent than Waubra as Daylesford is a much bigger town, not that there is not much local talent in the daylesford team.
If you listen closely you will be able to hear it!!!!!!
Toot Toot Toot
The Luke Archibald Express is hitting the Waubra station on 2.15 this Saturday.
The Learmonth players better keep off the tracks when the trains coming!!!!
Waubra by 7 plus goals
Astro Boy
18 May 2007, 08:00
Wasn't knocking thge local talent, Dford has plenty. I was stating that they should have more local talent then the rest of the comp coz the population is far greater then any other CHFL town.
blowfish
18 May 2007, 08:32
If you listen closely you will be able to hear it!!!!!!
Toot Toot Toot
The Luke Archibald Express is hitting the Waubra station on 2.15 this Saturday.
The Learmonth players better keep off the tracks when the trains coming!!!!
Waubra by 7 plus goals
JJ66 he would have to weigh 55kg ringing wet as if he is going to knock any body around. i say the learmonth boys will be waiting with a big grin on there face. i no there are a few who have a score to settle with the little runt.:eek:
Easy Blowfish, he weighs in at more the 55kg lets be serious...
Spoke to Archy the other day and he said he'd spent a bit of time in the gym working on the pipes, and that he'd increased his max bench press from an empty bottle of powerade to a strip sub with cheese.
I say he'd be closer to 65kg, but that's 65kg of wrecking ball cut from stone.
I'm sure the name "Archibald" has gone through the mind of coach Beacham more than once this week, and I wouldn't be suprised if Beacham takes on the task himself of trying to curve his influence on the game.
Easy Blowfish, he weighs in at more the 55kg lets be serious...
Spoke to Archy the other day and he said he'd spent a bit of time in the gym working on the pipes, and that he'd increased his max bench press from an empty bottle of powerade to a strip sub with cheese.
I say he'd be closer to 65kg, but that's 65kg of wrecking ball cut from stone.
I'm sure the name "Archibald" has gone through the mind of coach Beacham more than once this week, and I wouldn't be suprised if Beacham takes on the task himself of trying to curve his influence on the game.
clearly Teddy B will be too much for Beacham to handle, but looking at the Learmonth line up I was hard pressed to find someone who could run with him. The thing that makes him so hard to handle is the fact he plays a lot taller than his huge frame would suggest
Madroota69
18 May 2007, 15:54
The Tyntynder F.C in the Central Murray Football League (previously Mid Murray Football League) is having a reunion this weekend 18th, 19th & 20th of May at their clubrooms in Swan Hill. We will be acknowleging the premiership sides of the mid 80's but any player, supporter etc is welcome to attend this great weekend. If you would like more info you can contact keg18wilson@hotmail.com or ring the clubrooms on 03 50322974
I'll see you there!:thumbsd:
Hey Off Season what the hell happened sat?, D'ford winning was no surprise but i have never heard of Clunes only scoring a behind for the day. Your team has always been known to put up a big fight(especially at home) even when down the bottom.
Off Season
21 May 2007, 13:26
Hey Off Season what the hell happened sat?, D'ford winning was no surprise but i have never heard of Clunes only scoring a behind for the day. Your team has always been known to put up a big fight(especially at home) even when down the bottom.
Clunes were simply mauled by a very professional and well drilled outfit.
If I had to find a reason for the lack of competiveness, I think it can be traced back to the first four games. We have been competitive in all games despite only winning one (could have easily been 3-1 with a tiny bit of luck), albeit against teams that IMO won't be contending this year (Springbank could well prove me wrong).
So I think the young kids were starting to think that they were a bit further advanced that what they actually are, only to be met with a harsh dose of reality on Saturday playing against a side that I would rate as good as any I've seen in at least a couple years.
Clunes probably made Dford look even better by some atrocious skill errros, but we're not the first team to get hammered by them and certainly won't be the last.
As was said after the game (in front of all Dford and Clunes players/supporters), it was a harsh lesson but one that needed to be learnt in regards to being a professional, well drilled, team orientated senior football team.
dforddoggies
21 May 2007, 16:04
Think you might have misunderstood what astro boy was saying, I think he meant that daylesford should have more local talent than Waubra as Daylesford is a much bigger town, not that there is not much local talent in the daylesford team.
point taken,but im not sure how his argument works as that list does incidently prove that dford has more local talent than waubra
dforddoggies
21 May 2007, 16:08
Wasn't knocking thge local talent, Dford has plenty. I was stating that they should have more local talent then the rest of the comp coz the population is far greater then any other CHFL town.
gotcha,i think that list proves we have produced a decent amount relevant to population,it does make a bit harder when hepburn poach alot of it after they use Dford's under 10 and 12s system in the castlemaine league, cough cough winnards cough cough
Off Season i see on the MCDFL thread Justin Harris is returning from S.A. Is there any truth to this & if so why on earth would he go from borderline SANFL to MCDFL. I would of thought he'd be looking at Roosters, BFL or at worst returning to Clunes for the remainder of 07 before trying something else maybe in 08. I know you wont give too much away on here but surely he wont end up at that level at his age
Off Season
21 May 2007, 17:41
Off Season i see on the MCDFL thread Justin Harris is returning from S.A. Is there any truth to this & if so why on earth would he go from borderline SANFL to MCDFL. I would of thought he'd be looking at Roosters, BFL or at worst returning to Clunes for the remainder of 07 before trying something else maybe in 08. I know you wont give too much away on here but surely he wont end up at that level at his age
Your mail on this is better than mine cos it's the first I've heard. I heard that Owen has recently got injured over there and that Harry was playing magoo's, but certainly wasn't aware he was returning.
I assume he'd probably have mates in Maryborough having been brought up in the area.
I think you're being very harsh saying "at worse returning to Clunes". That's simply a front-running attitude :mad:
slasher
21 May 2007, 18:34
yes harris will be at carrisbrook thats the mail i got, but do know that carngham r after him aswell, so we will c what happens:thumbsu:
Freak Dodgeball Accident
21 May 2007, 20:11
It was great to see that Leigh Browns little brother had a good game this week.
Yeah I heard that whats his first name again
Johny Utah
22 May 2007, 10:16
Yeah I heard that whats his first name again
I think its Ryan.
mudflapper
22 May 2007, 12:32
Hey Slasher, from some of your previous messages sounds like your in the know over at d/ford is there any truth they have got a new major sponsor and are prepared to tip in alot of $$$$$ if they name themselfs the "CLUB Q BULLDOGS".........
Old School Biff
22 May 2007, 13:30
yes harris will be at carrisbrook thats the mail i got, but do know that carngham r after him aswell, so we will c what happens:thumbsu:
The clearance is logged to Brook. It would be massive money for him too.
tommahawk_07
22 May 2007, 16:57
can someone give me an update on how 'dazzlin' dale sidebottom is going at dunnstown this year?
staring to run into some form is the yapper from dunnstown..started the season off a bit slow but his last couple of weeks have been impressive. Kid has skills like no other. Needs to keep playing well, along with others, if Dunnstown are a chance!
tommahawk_07
22 May 2007, 18:41
staring to run into some form is the yapper from dunnstown..started the season off a bit slow but his last couple of weeks have been impressive. Kid has skills like no other. Needs to keep playing well, along with others, if Dunnstown are a chance!
thanks mate:thumbsu:
he talks himself up to me at uni all the time, sounds as though his bite is as big as his bark!
Steve_Addlem
22 May 2007, 22:40
Managed to catch the Bungaree v Dunnstown game on the w/e. Was very impressed with sidebottom. Has a knack to find the footy and do something with it. Also Ben Kick from Bungaree played good footy.
Your mail on this is better than mine cos it's the first I've heard. I heard that Owen has recently got injured over there and that Harry was playing magoo's, but certainly wasn't aware he was returning.
I assume he'd probably have mates in Maryborough having been brought up in the area.
I think you're being very harsh saying "at worse returning to Clunes". That's simply a front-running attitude :mad:
Was not being harsh toward Clunes simply stating that the CHFL standard would be surely as low as he'd go, not MCDFL which is a long way behind. Yes harris will be at the Brook as the other couple of teams chasing him can't get close to the coin
Any one tell me how ryan knowles is going for bungaree this year??
Off Shore
23 May 2007, 15:19
As a long time reader of CHFL thread i cant help but notice it's lacking the input of Learmonth. Talks his club up yes but also gives points on opposition sides. All thats been mentioned this week is clunes being belted and Harris going to the Brook. Nothing about any other games or anything with much intrest. There must be some big games being played or coming up ???
Daylesford flying seem to be the team to beat waubra unbeaten must be in the mix again. Hepburn always there about. Learmonth seem ok but have two bad losses beside them, lack consistency. Springbank have another test to show what they are made of this week 2 goals down to hepburn seems to me they must be in the running. Ballan Dunnstown Bungaree Buninyong all perform at times but not enough at this stage to sugest they will be threats.Newyln will be top of the bottom Creswick Clunes Beaufort and Gordon.
Top 5 2007
1 Daylesford
2 Waubra
3 Hepburn
4 Springbank
5 Learmonth
4 and 5 could be 2 of 6 teams . Think the top 3 are there to stay.
Mobbenfuhrer
23 May 2007, 15:26
I wanted to ask about Korweinguboora FC but didn't want to distract this thread, so have made a separate post here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=7614754#post7614754
dforddoggies
23 May 2007, 16:43
Hey Slasher, from some of your previous messages sounds like your in the know over at d/ford is there any truth they have got a new major sponsor and are prepared to tip in alot of $$$$$ if they name themselfs the "CLUB Q BULLDOGS".........
haha news to me mate
happy_feet
23 May 2007, 17:41
Any one tell me how ryan knowles is going for bungaree this year??
havent seen him play yet tige, but i have herd some good things about him, and he has featured in the best players for bunga.
so i would say he is going alright mate.
Madroota69
23 May 2007, 20:45
I reckon the "Pet Stock Bulldogs" has a better ring to it
McGyver69
23 May 2007, 20:45
From all accounts Newlyn are very pleased with the pick up. Winner of several b & f's in his junior days and was noticed by Fitzroy but family commitments and moving interstate had an affect on this. One of the hardest footballers going around and easily the number one hard ball getter on any saturday.
Off Shore
23 May 2007, 21:12
From all accounts Newlyn are very pleased with the pick up. Winner of several b & f's in his junior days and was noticed by Fitzroy but family commitments and moving interstate had an affect on this. One of the hardest footballers going around and easily the number one hard ball getter on any saturday.
Big call , has some wraps on him now sure to be tested every week. Don't know the man but will stay tuned. Every side has hard ball winners and receivers all part of the thing called TEAM.
If you helped create him McGyver i have not doubt he will be fantastic. You could build a bomb out of shoe laces once upon a time!
FootyFan235
24 May 2007, 09:47
As a long time reader of CHFL thread i cant help but notice it's lacking the input of Learmonth. Talks his club up yes but also gives points on opposition sides. All thats been mentioned this week is clunes being belted and Harris going to the Brook. Nothing about any other games or anything with much intrest. There must be some big games being played or coming up ???
Agree with you 100% was thinking about sayin that exact thing. What has happened to this forum, shouldn't this be the time when ppl are starting to see how the leagues taking shape? who the suprise packets are the dissapointments, for me the suprise is Springbank, their early season scores against lowly team weren't impressive but they sure do seem to be going well ATM against quality teams, another big one for them this week tho. Dissapointment bungaree - just not doing the job like most ppl thought - and learmonth to a certain extent, their 2 loses have been large and to quality teams who i'm sure they thought they would have been competitive with.
On the lack of posts from learmonth (AJ) i can honeslty say this forum is lacking his input, he goes on the front foot and then you get a page or two of people having a go at him, makes for good reading!!!:D
But he also provokes discussion and gets people intersted........ just my thoughts
learmonth
24 May 2007, 10:09
Agree with you 100% was thinking about sayin that exact thing. What has happened to this forum, shouldn't this be the time when ppl are starting to see how the leagues taking shape? who the suprise packets are the dissapointments, for me the suprise is Springbank, their early season scores against lowly team weren't impressive but they sure do seem to be going well ATM against quality teams, another big one for them this week tho. Dissapointment bungaree - just not doing the job like most ppl thought - and learmonth to a certain extent, their 2 loses have been large and to quality teams who i'm sure they thought they would have been competitive with.
On the lack of posts from learmonth (AJ) i can honeslty say this forum is lacking his input, he goes on the front foot and then you get a page or two of people having a go at him, makes for good reading!!!:D
But he also provokes discussion and gets people intersted........ just my thoughts
IM BACK! There exactly the same comments that Michael Jordan made when he came out of retirement!, No there wasnt a media ban, or though it may have seemed like it. Was good to sit back and see what everyone saw. As for Learmonths two big defeats, we as a club would rather lose by 10 goals and try and win, then shut the game down and have an honorable defeat. Yes both sides in Hepburn and Waubra have been way to good for us over the whole game, but on a different surface at a different time, im sure we could cause an upset. U must remember we did lead Waubra at 1/2 time before they blew us away. Landry is a real find, and probably the best in the competition from what i have seen, though Nicholls from Springbank must be able to play the game. He can only play when the Northern Knights play on Sunday as he is asst Coach.
Dford flying along and from talking to a few of there players, are very happy in their recruits which they believe will be the difference this season. The bulldogs are a demolition side, but as stated, have not played anyone.
Also reporting that the L'Month ground is starting to chop up with the amount of use, so we will be looking at transferring our games to Creswick in the near future, unless this alnimo disappears.
Also just on team selections- What a joke, all clubs have a duty to supporters and the general public to name their exact side rather then false sides or whats the use of putting them in the paper. 22 players + 3 emergencies MUST be named and if anyone plays outside those 25 they should be fined $100 per player, but I guess the CHFL board are too spineless to enforce this as they are dictated by a a certain side who continues to make a mockery of this system. If any coach wouldnt plan for the oppositions best side.
And for the salary cap, this has already been spoken about. Go to the points system..5 for an AFL, 4 for VFL, 3 For major League, 2 for same league and 1 for local. Every year the player is at the club they lose a point to reward loyality. Every club is only allowed 40 points per game.... But as stated, that impotent board doesnt want to make hard decisions which will benefit the competion in becomming more even..And what about a final 6... Some sides will miss out due to the draw, and thats over all grades of footy and netball.....
Off Shore
24 May 2007, 10:38
Learmonth your back , about time fresh after a few weeks off you should be able to spark this thread up .
How do you rate Hepburn and Waubra as compared to last year having been well beaten by both?
Old School Biff
24 May 2007, 10:42
And for the salary cap, this has already been spoken about. Go to the points system..5 for an AFL, 4 for VFL, 3 For major League, 2 for same league and 1 for local. Every year the player is at the club they lose a point to reward loyality. Every club is only allowed 40 points per game
I'm dead against this one Learmonth. I look at a team like North City and all these guys are worth 3 points on the proposed scheme. Yet I would take Justin Porter from CL over all of these guys and he is either worth a 1 or 2.
We both know there are some pretty poor VFL reserves players out there too. It makes it very hard for them if they want to come back to country footy when a team has to use 10% of their points to put them on the field.
This is a system to help look after the major league teams as they can be hunting grounds for district leagues and it will screw the smaller leagues.
learmonth
24 May 2007, 11:49
Learmonth your back , about time fresh after a few weeks off you should be able to spark this thread up .
How do you rate Hepburn and Waubra as compared to last year having been well beaten by both?
Going on paper, Hepburn look weaker then last season, but there not!! They have gained leg speed through the middle with the inclusion of Jarrod James who is a gun and Abbot. They are very well drilled, and play to their game plan. McKay alway starts in the middle and just drifts forward after each ball up, meaning he loses his opponent and a HFF moves onto the ball. They are undersized down back, which may cause a hassle against Big Gun forwards in Thompson, Brown, Nichols. Brown and Nichols have already kicked big tallys against them.
Waubra, are better then last year, due to all having a year under each other. No matter how far your in front they will always believe they are a chance. They have excellent self belief. Their midfield is electrfying, though they do miss a genuine ruckman but George is good around the ground. Backline runs hard, but they are very reliant on Browny up forward, they do isolate him well, and why not, he is the best FF in the comp by a mile, and doesnt miss.
In my opinion, Waubra are about a 5 goal better side, and if they meet on a bigger oval, there about 7-10 goals better.
Old School Biff
24 May 2007, 15:16
Waubra, are better then last year, due to all having a year under each other. No matter how far your in front they will always believe they are a chance. They have excellent self belief. Their midfield is electrfying, though they do miss a genuine ruckman but George is good around the ground. Backline runs hard, but they are very reliant on Browny up forward, they do isolate him well, and why not, he is the best FF in the comp by a mile, and doesnt miss.
In my opinion, Waubra are about a 5 goal better side, and if they meet on a bigger oval, there about 7-10 goals better.
Good post there Learmonth. Very accurate as I went out and had a look at the game and I reckon you've done a good wrap there.
Brown is an excellent player and IMO is head and shoulders above the leagues other FF's. The delivery helps, but I think he'd still be excellent in a poor team.
ohwhenthesaints
24 May 2007, 17:48
Good post there Learmonth. Very accurate as I went out and had a look at the game and I reckon you've done a good wrap there.
Brown is an excellent player and IMO is head and shoulders above the leagues other FF's. The delivery helps, but I think he'd still be excellent in a poor team.
Your thoughts on McIntyre & Archibald? Both boys were offered $500 per game to go back home to St A, and both declined.
Uncle CC
24 May 2007, 21:54
Your thoughts on McIntyre & Archibald? Both boys were offered $500 per game to go back home to St A, and both declined.
They are both getting that and then some at Waubra.
learmonth
25 May 2007, 10:30
$500 I cant believe that... We spoke to Browny last year before he decided on Waubra and he wasnt even asking for that, so I would believe they are no where near that. McIntyre played 2's on the weekend, but I believe that is due to him not training and Archibald, didnt see too much of him, but is a good footballer. I think if St A have that type of $$$ they could make a real play at a premiership if they recruit wisely.