View Full Version : Central Highlands
learmonth
21 Aug 2006, 13:33
Probably right with the venues, Learmonth or Bungaree the only other 2 that could get the gig as they can't be used on Saturday. Nicholson was ok, kicked 3 but the game was over at 1/2 time. Waubra looking ominous & will take some beating.
From what i hear Hepburn will Play daylesford on the Saturday at Learmonth and Bungaree will play Learmonth at Springbank on Sunday. My tip is for Daylesford to beat Hepburn and thompson is the key along with there brilliant midfield, and due to being biased the Lakies to beat Bungaree though they will need to improve as from memory Bungaree flogged them last time.
G/F tip early is for Waubra to play Daylesford.
learmonth
21 Aug 2006, 13:41
The days when country clubs could win a flag with a team full of locals are long gone. Hepburn have the money and prowess to be able to recruit gun players and good luck to them. Credit to the blokes running the show out there for trying to change the reputation they have earned over the years as being thugs. They are nothing like they used to be and I agree that sometimes their reputation works against them. Old wounds are slow to heal.
Thought ild follow up with my last comment with how many players are locals from Learmonth-
Sobey/Basham X 2/Aaron Davies/Powell/ Duffy/Davey/Robertson/Lee/Neville/McMurray/Karslake/McKinnon- 13 regualar senior players not to bad- + Mcguigan etc lives locally but was a product of Gordon.
Hepburn havnt changed their reputation..... I still hear bad things regarding them... Will have to watch them this weekend, as you would be silly to miss that game. And how their supporters behave..???
crusader
23 Aug 2006, 11:05
Daylesford V Hepburn match should be great, and although i am a daylesford supporter, will be tough for them with so many key players under injury clouds. On the local issue, the bulldogs had on the weekend 17 / 22 local boys playing, so that just shows the difference between Hepburn and Daylesford with our juniors, and it is only going to get stronger in the next five years.
17/22 is a good ratio crusader but the town of Daylesford is much bigger than all other towns supporting CHFL teams so it follows that they would have a bigger local talent pool than others. Saturdays game will be a ripper, can't wait to see how many turn up. With fine weather forecast the Bungaree oval should be bursting at the seams. Crusader did a Daylesford player suffer a season ending injury on Saturday, heard that was the case but don't know who.
learmonth
24 Aug 2006, 12:02
17/22 is a good ratio crusader but the town of Daylesford is much bigger than all other towns supporting CHFL teams so it follows that they would have a bigger local talent pool than others. Saturdays game will be a ripper, can't wait to see how many turn up. With fine weather forecast the Bungaree oval should be bursting at the seams. Crusader did a Daylesford player suffer a season ending injury on Saturday, heard that was the case but don't know who.
Player in question is Adam Hall, but not sure how serious. Heard it was a broken leg, but thats just a rumor at this stage. Cant believe the game is not at Learmonth, why wouldnt you use the best ground in the district rather then a spud farm. Would expect no less then 7-8000 as they drew a crowd of 4000 during the season. Will be a bumper, and i believe the Doggies will just have too much in the tank. They dont fear Hepburn, which has caused othersides in the league plenty of problems in the past. Hepburn actually fear Daylesford, and see them as a real threat throughout the whole district.
Just wondering if anyone has heard anything about Lee "Fridge" Browns ankle??? Waubra would be wrapping the big unit up in cotton wool at the moment wouldnt they???
crusader
24 Aug 2006, 14:19
Player in question is Adam Hall, but not sure how serious. Heard it was a broken leg, but thats just a rumor at this stage. Cant believe the game is not at Learmonth, why wouldnt you use the best ground in the district rather then a spud farm. Would expect no less then 7-8000 as they drew a crowd of 4000 during the season. Will be a bumper, and i believe the Doggies will just have too much in the tank. They dont fear Hepburn, which has caused othersides in the league plenty of problems in the past. Hepburn actually fear Daylesford, and see them as a real threat throughout the whole district.
Is true, Adam Hall suffered a broken leg, but they have given him a chance to get back if they make the final. All the boys at Daylesford were hoping the match would be at learmonth aswell, but if they are going to win, they can do it anywhere if they are good enough. Wont be suprised if Bungaree make an early exit this week either. haven't been setting the world on fire, and learmonth have turned the corner after coping a hiding from the dogs. Daylesford still have a few that will be under the microscope at training tonight. All three gun forwards Thompson, Rodgers and Bourke missed training on Tuesday so they may be one or two short down there. From all reports Grant is set to miss with a hamstring which they have been calling a corky. Was quiet last time and probably wont have an impact. Siez will cop a hiding off cronin again, probably in the top three back men in the league. Only issue i can see is containing Andy McKay. Probably one of the most talented players in the league.
learmonth
24 Aug 2006, 16:19
Just wondering if anyone has heard anything about Lee "Fridge" Browns ankle??? Waubra would be wrapping the big unit up in cotton wool at the moment wouldnt they???
Saw him at the Trots on Sunday with a Bourbon in his hand with a few of the Waubra boys. Was walking around with no problems. He will be a definant starter, and they would have just taken him off for precaution.
Got the good mail on Lee Brown. When he did his ankle and hit the deck he was squealing like a pig. Aparently he has done more than ligaments on close inspection of the ankle in question. The Waubra trainer found a gun-shot wound to the ankle. Witnesses say a man fitting the description of Robbo was seen loitering near the grassy knoll carrying a sawn off shoty.
learmonth
25 Aug 2006, 16:28
Got the good mail on Lee Brown. When he did his ankle and hit the deck he was squeeling like a pig. Aparently he has done more than ligaments on close inspection of the ankle in question. The Waubra trainer found a gun-shot wound to the ankle. Witnesses say a man fitting the description of Robbo was seen loitering near the grassy knoll carrying a sawn off shoty.
Good Call, but I think Robbo should be looking at doing the same to Thompson from daylesford. They dont have a match up for him. No side in the competition does. He was the premier Full Forward in the BFL 5 years ago until he did his knee. Can possibly win Daylesford a flag on his own in the CHFL, especially with the supply he gets from the midfield.
Sounds like you dont rate Brown AJ, sorry I mean Learmonth.
So how does a team stop Thompson?? Someone more athletic??
learmonth
28 Aug 2006, 11:49
So how does a team stop Thompson?? Someone more athletic??
Thompson was clearly beaton by Newton on the weekend. Cant believe Robbo's comments in the paper. He is a guy that cant give any otherside credit, and he is the blame for the loss as he doesnt discipline his players for there thuggary and undiscipline play. That is why they wont make the G/F. Luke Adams clearly out coached him, which was great too see. Ross MAnn gets in the best, U have to be kidding. Rob Rodgers gave him an awful flogging. I bet he still hasnt been able to sit down due to his butt eing so sore.
Great win by the Lakies as well....Bungaree are a good unit, and im sure that the Lakies pace and fitness can get them further if the weather stays dry on the BIG Bungaree oval....
It was amazing to hear that supporters left the ground at the 20min mark when the Lakies were down by 4 goals. They would have had a shock reading the paper, and missed one of the greatest finishes in CHFL history...
CountryScout
28 Aug 2006, 12:00
Went to both matches on the weekend. Both were nail biters. Alot of talent running around.
I must say though, i was sitting near the goals in the Hepburn V Daylesford match and to touch on comments about supportes made in this thread earlier, i was sickened by some of the foul abuse by a group of Hepburn supporters. Amongst them a former coach who i thought was well respected in football circles. He sure lost my respect. I did move away from them after the first quarter and was kinda glad Daylesford got over the line simply because of the hepburn supporters (mind you, it may only of been a select group of supporters but it was enough to turn me off them, and im a neutral spectator)
Ok, back to the more important aspects.
Hepburn V Daylesford
Hepburn came out alot harder and faster than Daylesford and looked like they would win comfortably. After half time Daylesford were a completely different team. No. 6 for Daylesford, Robert Rodgers was the integral part of the Daylesford turn around in the 3rd quarter. Hepburns backline stood up well, holding down the main forwards. I believe Thompson went goalless. Hepburns forwards didnt fire, were well held by Daylesfords backmen which shuts down alot of Hepburns fire power. Both midfields were very good, Daylesfords getting on top in the end and winning the game. I have one question for anyone who can answer. No. 19 for Daylesford, Michael Cummins. Is it true he is 17 years old? Very talented player, fast, great skills.
Learmonth V Bungaree
What a strange game. I was standing on the opposite side to the clubrooms so i didnt get to feel the suspense amongst the crowd but im sure it was intense. Bungaree had the game won. And then Learmonth lost a key backman to injury, and the Learmonth coach for 15min. Bungaree should have steam rolled them. But maybe the Learmonth coach being yellow carded was what Learmonth needed. James Sobey was moved into the midfield and No. 10 Madigan pushed forward off half back. These 2 turned the game. The most bazar game ive watched in a few years. Bungaree stopped and were completely shocked at Learmonths late burst of attack.
Next weeks games will be interesting.
Waubra V Daylesford.
Touch one to call so i will leave it at that.
Hepburn V Learmonth
Hepburn look like they should win it relatively easy but if Learmonth play like they did in the final 15 minutes of Sundays game against Bungaree, Learmonth will win.
Wont make it to next weeks games however. For those that do, please post your views and observations of the games.
Thank you
Paul
Was Thompson beaten or did he sacrifice himself for the team taking Newton out of the way?? How is Wade Veldhuis. The injury didn't look real flash. Any reports lads? Saw a bloke at the game on Saturday, he looked like a tennis pro straight from the ATP tour event in Miami. At closer inspection relised it was AJ wearing a white visor. White is a great color because it makes ones tan look even more golden. Saw a story on sixty minutes last night on the worlds oil shortage, no wonder with the amount he had applied to him on Sunday.
learmonth
29 Aug 2006, 12:38
Was Thompson beaten or did he sacrifice himself for the team taking Newton out of the way?? How is Wade Veldhuis. The injury didn't look real flash. Any reports lads? Saw a bloke at the game on Saturday, he looked like a tennis pro straight from the ATP tour event in Miami. At closer inspection relised it was AJ wearing a white visor. White is a great color because it makes ones tan look even more golden. Saw a story on sixty minutes last night on the worlds oil shortage, no wonder with the amount he had applied to him on Sunday.
In my opinion Thompson was beaten in the 1st quarter then sacrafised his game for the team. Did it well. Smart coaching by Luke Adams. Not sure on the injury scene, but ill be at training on Thursday night to see how he goes. In my opinion wouldnt be worth Veldhuis training at all.
Rumor has it that Learmonth added X amount of oil into Aj's contract at the start of the season..??? George bush may be looking at attcking him and his arms, as Iraq is falling short!!
In my opinion Thompson was beaten in the 1st quarter then sacrafised his game for the team. Did it well. Smart coaching by Luke Adams. Not sure on the injury scene, but ill be at training on Thursday night to see how he goes. In my opinion wouldnt be worth Veldhuis training at all.
Rumor has it that Learmonth added X amount of oil into Aj's contract at the start of the season..??? George bush may be looking at attcking him and his arms, as Iraq is falling short!!
Yes that would make sense that the man touted as possibly being able to win a flag on his own for Daylesford, former premier forward of the bfl and the man that NO club in the league can match up on, would sacrifice his game to take GUN match winner Sammy Newton out of the equation. Rumour has it that should hepburn and daylesford meet again this finals series Luke Adams is going to get all of his players to sacrifice their games ensuring a nil all draw. Then in extra time they will unleash hell!
Not sure on the injury scene but not worth velduis training at all??? Mmm. What, he has a broken leg but you arent sure which 1? Or youre not sure why he is in a wheel chair but the grass is too lush at learmonth to try and push the chair through training. Dr Peter Larkins has a rival.
Should be an interesting match on Sunday. One side has a coach who won't discipline his players and the other a coach who sets the example on discipline by getting yellow carded in their most important (at the time) game of the year. Learmonth as you appear VERY close to AJ, perhaps you should have a quiet word in his ear regarding the need for cool heads .
clifton's lookalike
29 Aug 2006, 22:50
Yes that would make sense that the man touted as possibly being able to win a flag on his own for Daylesford, former premier forward of the bfl and the man that NO club in the league can match up on, would sacrifice his game to take GUN match winner Sammy Newton out of the equation. Rumour has it that should hepburn and daylesford meet again this finals series Luke Adams is going to get all of his players to sacrifice their games ensuring a nil all draw. Then in extra time they will unleash hell!
Not sure on the injury scene but not worth velduis training at all??? Mmm. What, he has a broken leg but you arent sure which 1? Or youre not sure why he is in a wheel chair but the grass is too lush at learmonth to try and push the chair through training. Dr Peter Larkins has a rival.
Should be an interesting match on Sunday. One side has a coach who won't discipline his players and the other a coach who sets the example on discipline by getting yellow carded in their most important (at the time) game of the year. Learmonth as you appear VERY close to AJ, perhaps you should have a quiet word in his ear regarding the need for cool heads .
last time i checked the scores from sundays game learmonth had a win when most on here thought they wouldn't. i'm sure AJ being the experienced footballer he is will be thinking hindsight is a wonderful thing and be smarter this week but really in a pressure situation in an elimination final things can just go wrong. all you ppl that get on here and pot him behind a name are cowards, you are probably the w ankers that Tim & AJ have looked after getting you good money etc playing football and now because you have had a falling out you think its your privelage to get out and pot them
crusader
30 Aug 2006, 13:20
Bit harsh i reckon. Aj may have been sent off but he was flying the flag for his team mates so i reckon well done to him. As for that bloke from hepburn, what a wan ka. Afetr the game he sat there for 15 minutes just staring at his team in disgust. Bit harsh on them as well. footy was pretty hot and he got into them for playing bad footy. If they played bad well the daylesford boys were woeful. If they were on song they would have belted the absolute christ out of hepburn, but everyone has there bad days. Will need to lift against a much more disciplined Waubra outfit. Winner of this will win the flag. Learmonth will roll hepburn if they paly a running game because hepburn are too old and slow and cant match running teams- ie losses daylesford * 2 and waubra, both good running teams. Number 19 in question is michael cummings. 17 year old kid who is probably one of the most skilled players getting around at that age in country footy. Has got a very good footy brain as well. Hard to match up becuase of his skills, speed and stregth in the air.
Not much has been said lads about the league medal i have noticed. Really excited about getting to watch Adams this weekend as havent seen him yet.... Huge effort by Danny Liston to come third although missing many games through injury. Noticed as well that Uhi didnt poll that well either... Any thoughts?????
DfordDog
30 Aug 2006, 15:39
Not much has been said lads about the league medal i have noticed. Really excited about getting to watch Adams this weekend as havent seen him yet.... Huge effort by Danny Liston to come third although missing many games through injury. Noticed as well that Uhi didnt poll that well either... Any thoughts?????
Adams deserved to win the medal. Has had a great season. Liston unlucky with injury but these things happen. Uhi polled very well early on but hardly any votes come the final 6 or 7 rounds.
Once again it was players through the midfield that polled all the votes. Brown from Waubra kicked 104 goals for the year but only polled well in the last 5 or 6 games.
learmonth
30 Aug 2006, 16:08
Adams deserved to win the medal. Has had a great season. Liston unlucky with injury but these things happen. Uhi polled very well early on but hardly any votes come the final 6 or 7 rounds.
Once again it was players through the midfield that polled all the votes. Brown from Waubra kicked 104 goals for the year but only polled well in the last 5 or 6 games.
Its a midfielders award, and its very weird looking at who the umpires give there votes too (It is very confusing sometimes). Plenty of good forwards and backs who should have got more votes. Luke Adams a very very worthy winner. Uhi is a good player, but not a great player. He is an athlete who tries to take players on with his rugby background and brings others down around him by not giving the 1st option. Would prefer Luke Adams in the Midfield any day over Uhi. U cant buy football smarts.
Mullane from Waubra had a sensational year from what i hear and didnt poll too well- Very surprising.
Quick question for all football followers out there, how can players from sides that lose by more the 20 goals get 2 votes, surely the winning side must have had at least the 2 best players in the side..???
So in my opinion its more prestigeous/worthy to win a club B & F.
Its a midfielders award, and its very weird looking at who the umpires give there votes too (It is very confusing sometimes). Plenty of good forwards and backs who should have got more votes. Luke Adams a very very worthy winner. Uhi is a good player, but not a great player. He is an athlete who tries to take players on with his rugby background and brings others down around him by not giving the 1st option. Would prefer Luke Adams in the Midfield any day over Uhi. U cant buy football smarts.
Mullane from Waubra had a sensational year from what i hear and didnt poll too well- Very surprising.
Quick question for all football followers out there, how can players from sides that lose by more the 20 goals get 2 votes, surely the winning side must have had at least the 2 best players in the side..???
So in my opinion its more prestigeous/worthy to win a club B & F.
Course it is. If a team wins by 20 goals they have probably had the 5 best on the ground in 99% of times. How they come up with the votes is anyones guess. Know of two 3 vote winners in that count who played just over 1/2 the game yet still got the 3. Uhi a great player, but yep you're right he is an athlete above anything else. He wasn't fit and carried injuries all year, missed 4 games in the 2nd half of season. First I've heard of the rugby background though?? Played TAC Cup for the pioneers.
last time i checked the scores from sundays game learmonth had a win when most on here thought they wouldn't. i'm sure AJ being the experienced footballer he is will be thinking hindsight is a wonderful thing and be smarter this week but really in a pressure situation in an elimination final things can just go wrong. all you ppl that get on here and pot him behind a name are cowards, you are probably the w ankers that Tim & AJ have looked after getting you good money etc playing football and now because you have had a falling out you think its your privelage to get out and pot them
What a ridiculous post. Is that an attempt at humour or are you just a d ick head. No need to answer that, I read some of your dribble on the central murray thread - you are a d ick head.
clifton's lookalike
30 Aug 2006, 17:47
What a ridiculous post. Is that an attempt at humour or are you just a d ick head. No need to answer that, I read some of your dribble on the central murray thread - you are a d ick head.
you only checked the central murray thread, silly boy i save my best stuff for this thread. enlighten me then harry the helmut why is it that you and many on this thread get on here and pot someone? is it because of insecurities?
Tend to agree about the voting on the medal boys, although Adams was a worthy winner. Mullane from Waubra kicked 7 goals from the centre in 1 game and did not recieve a vote.How are Hepburn going to respond this week?? Have they got the cattle or do the cattle need to be sent to the knackery?
you only checked the central murray thread, silly boy i save my best stuff for this thread. enlighten me then harry the helmut why is it that you and many on this thread get on here and pot someone? is it because of insecurities?
Can you read properly nut sack? I said that the learmonth coach set an example on discipline by getting yellow carded. Is highlighting an undisciplined act potting someone is it? I would have called it stating the obvious. You can't seem to decide what you think, you say he will be smarter this week - which infers he was dumb for getting sent off, in other words you potted him, - but then you make excuses because it was a 'pressure situation'!
Boy you must really have a problem with learmonth who regularly posts on this thread. He has potted a lot of people on here and other threads so that must really upset you. Or maybe NCFL is on the money when he says that learmonth is in fact AJ Beacham, and you don't mind when he does it. That would make you not only a d ick head, but also a hypocrite. If learmonth is AJ, at least he is man enough to dish a bit out and not sook when a bit comes back. Unlike you, window licker.
learmonth
31 Aug 2006, 10:13
Tend to agree about the voting on the medal boys, although Adams was a worthy winner. Mullane from Waubra kicked 7 goals from the centre in 1 game and did not recieve a vote.How are Hepburn going to respond this week?? Have they got the cattle or do the cattle need to be sent to the knackery?
Hepburn certainly have the cattle, but they are getting older and more undisciplined as the league gets stronger and quicker. ie- Waubra, Daylesford and Learmonth are all quicker sides, but it counts for nothing if they dont get the ball 1st. Hepburn use an intimidation style of game, which Daylesford dont fear, im not sure about the other 2 sides though Waubra beat them last time and Learmonth were beaten convinceling.
Have heard there are 2-3 Learmonth boys struggling to come up after last weeks game (Wont give names). If they are all fit then i believe Learmonth will overrun Hepburn on the BIG Bungaree oval. As a Learmonth supporter, it would be nothing sweeter to knock those thugs out of the finals, after the Preliminary final from a few years ago.
As for Helmut & NCFL... No Im not Aj, but i do have a lot to do with him and am in the Inner circle at Learmonth. I do keep him posted as well as to what is said on this sight, and he has no problems with what im saying, as long as certain info is kept quiet ie- This weeks injury concerns..
Great to see the Battle B/t Helmut and Clifton...Thats what footy is all about....
Just a query...NCFL--- Does that stand for North Central Football League...
No, it stands for National Collective of Football Lovers.
crusader
31 Aug 2006, 14:14
Can you read properly nut sack? I said that the learmonth coach set an example on discipline by getting yellow carded. Is highlighting an undisciplined act potting someone is it? I would have called it stating the obvious. You can't seem to decide what you think, you say he will be smarter this week - which infers he was dumb for getting sent off, in other words you potted him, - but then you make excuses because it was a 'pressure situation'!
Boy you must really have a problem with learmonth who regularly posts on this thread. He has potted a lot of people on here and other threads so that must really upset you. Or maybe NCFL is on the money when he says that learmonth is in fact AJ Beacham, and you don't mind when he does it. That would make you not only a d ick head, but also a hypocrite. If learmonth is AJ, at least he is man enough to dish a bit out and not sook when a bit comes back. Unlike you, window licker.
Hey hey hey. Ease up tiger, bit harsh mate. All in fun isn't it, shouldnt be getting to carried away with it all. Lets all just stick to bagging robbo and his mighty crew from the burra. Poor old aj cops enough of a hiding on and off the field. Doesnt need to be done on this forum. Hopefully he gets his boys up this week cause rumour has it that if the burra are down it could be on with raak and brown set to retire, and if they are they will be going out in a blaze of glory.
Its ok crusader I've had a valium and a lie down so I'm in a happy place now. Hepburn and Waubra to win this week. Oh and Tooleybuc/Manangatang.
clifton's lookalike
1 Sep 2006, 00:08
Its ok crusader I've had a valium and a lie down so I'm in a happy place now. Hepburn and Waubra to win this week. Oh and Tooleybuc/Manangatang.
almost 3 out of 3 helmut only one incorrect, learmonth will beat hepburn. you think you have done your homework on me but you don't know JACK.
doppelganger
1 Sep 2006, 09:55
Hear Hear Crusader... cannot believe the feralness & arrogance of Hepburn.... according to Robbo that's twice this year they have been beaten by themselves and not a better side, doesn't say much for their ability as a football team. In his own words they "don't deserve to win the flag" - well good luck to the Lakies - they have worked hard and smart this year under the respected Beacham. Learmonth please pass on my best wishes to Aj who deserves a flag in his twilight years.
Daylesford to meet Lakies in the GF.
KingRich
1 Sep 2006, 12:35
Waubra v Daylesford Grandfinal!!! Waubra to be too good on Austar Arena!
There is a hell of a lot of bagging of Robbo and Hepburn go on in this forum.
He is the reason why this league is currently so strong. His leadership and professionalism lifted the standard of this league and why so many want to beat them. Good luck to all teams but the continual bagging is ridiculous as the club is a great club.
learmonth
11 Sep 2006, 15:12
There is a hell of a lot of bagging of Robbo and Hepburn go on in this forum.
He is the reason why this league is currently so strong. His leadership and professionalism lifted the standard of this league and why so many want to beat them. Good luck to all teams but the continual bagging is ridiculous as the club is a great club.
Lets all hope Waubra smashes Hepburn on the weekend! Skonta and the Waubra boys deserve it. Been the best side all year. Go Roos! Hepburn very well ran club, but do they have spastic supporters. Easiest way to kill them off would be to put them all on a bus, poison the windows and watch them lick it......
Yeah go Roos , they deserve a flag this year been the bench mark by far. Fine weekend ahead should suit them , will make for a good fast game which will be exactly what Waubra want. They will be to fast and fresh Roos by 5 to 10 goals, come on people it's G/F week what are your thoughts????
Apple Eater
13 Sep 2006, 11:25
I hope the roos get up and i think they deserve to. Big forwards Brown Kinna and Naylon will be hoping for a dry day, but Hepburns Grand Final experience may just get them over the line. Hepburn by 9 points, BOG to either Peake or Ferrier.
crusader
13 Sep 2006, 11:36
Yeah go Roos , they deserve a flag this year been the bench mark by far. Fine weekend ahead should suit them , will make for a good fast game which will be exactly what Waubra want. They will be to fast and fresh Roos by 5 to 10 goals, come on people it's G/F week what are your thoughts????
Lets all hope so. Waubra should be to fast for Hepburn, but thats what i thought about daylesford. Robbo may be able to pull off a miracle, but for footballs sake lets hope not. Get on Waubra
learmonth
13 Sep 2006, 12:53
Lets all hope so. Waubra should be to fast for Hepburn, but thats what i thought about daylesford. Robbo may be able to pull off a miracle, but for footballs sake lets hope not. Get on Waubra
Good to see that the Crusader is still alive, Thought u may have been dead, since we havnt heard from you in a few days. Only excuse would be that you were with the Daylesford boys for a 3 day Mad Monday Bender. Massive stories circulating from Dford from a VERY VERY reliable source that the boys really enjoyed the Sunday session, with plenty of Male on Male activities. Good to see things dont change.
Anyway back to the footy- Cant wait to see Hepburns side in the paper, probably name the 2's and 1's back to front, just to try and confuse the genius in SKONNA...
Having seen both sides play, believe if Waubra dont get intimidated and play a fast running style of game then they will win comfortable. Only problem is that Waubra dont ahve a match up for McKAy who proved the difference last week. Need someone quick and tall and play in front of him, as he does have a great leap, but on the lead he is just about impossible to stop!
Well who gives two stuffs really, Ill be over watching the netball having a perv with a stubby in my hand. Maybe pick a few up and take a trip to my shaggin wagon for the remainder of the day!!!
Good to see that the Crusader is still alive, Thought u may have been dead, since we havnt heard from you in a few days. Only excuse would be that you were with the Daylesford boys for a 3 day Mad Monday Bender. Massive stories circulating from Dford from a VERY VERY reliable source that the boys really enjoyed the Sunday session, with plenty of Male on Male activities. Good to see things dont change.
Anyway back to the footy- Cant wait to see Hepburns side in the paper, probably name the 2's and 1's back to front, just to try and confuse the genius in SKONNA...
Having seen both sides play, believe if Waubra dont get intimidated and play a fast running style of game then they will win comfortable. Only problem is that Waubra dont ahve a match up for McKAy who proved the difference last week. Need someone quick and tall and play in front of him, as he does have a great leap, but on the lead he is just about impossible to stop!
Well who gives two stuffs really, Ill be over watching the netball having a perv with a stubby in my hand. Maybe pick a few up and take a trip to my shaggin wagon for the remainder of the day!!!
Heard that Skontra is thinking of pulling one out of his ar se and putting the Fridge on McKay. Quick, Tall and he wouldnt be able to get around the big unit. :D :D
Good luck to Waubra i think they will win by 3-4 goals with there ruckman George best on ground.. Wish i could be there but have other appointments to be at. Cant wait for a full detailed report on Monday N.C.F.L
Heard that Skontra is thinking of pulling one out of his ar se and putting the Fridge on McKay. Quick, Tall and he wouldnt be able to get around the big unit. :D :D
Good luck to Waubra i think they will win by 3-4 goals with there ruckman George best on ground.. Wish i could be there but have other appointments to be at. Cant wait for a full detailed report on Monday N.C.F.L
Not a bad idea X Man but doubt that the Fridge would have the muscle needed to hold McKay at bay if it came to a 1 on 1 contest, maybe the Fridge and Kinna in a 2 on 1 would be the better option.............
What appointments would you have that are so important you would give up the biggest day in Footy at Ballarat???
Prelim mate have a froffy for me !!!:) :thumbsu:
ROOSTER1
13 Sep 2006, 17:54
Well hi all to my first visit to this site. Im a little dissapointed thou with the bloody rediculous comment by this ****er.
Not sure if we should put learmonth on a bus and get it and i mean it to lick the bus windows. Sure hepburn do have some bloody annoying supporters, but they do have massive support, unlike some other sides in the competition. I agree to a previous comment on the site, that it could possibly be to the doing of only a couple of irate supporters
I believe that Waubra are a good side, prob deserve the flag, but g you can't right this Hepburn team off. I have watched both sides in the last two weeks and they both play a similar style of football.
I see that everybody is on the Waubra wagon, its just sad that everybody has the tall poppy syndrome. Hepburn have a professional, well ran side in the league with some quality players and everybody starts bagging them left right and centre
I wish the burra boys luck, i hope they stick it up everybodys arse on this site, go back to back to back- thats 3 in a row for you people at learmonth, who don't know how to win 1!
Lets, just hope that Waubra dont choke, like Learmonth and Daylesford team have already done this Saturday.
My prediction- Hepburn by 8 points in a thriller, experience on this day may just be enough to worry the Roos out of the contest
Cheers guys
learmonth
13 Sep 2006, 21:29
Well hi all to my first visit to this site. Im a little dissapointed thou with the bloody rediculous comment by this ****er.
Not sure if we should put learmonth on a bus and get it and i mean it to lick the bus windows. Sure hepburn do have some bloody annoying supporters, but they do have massive support, unlike some other sides in the competition. I agree to a previous comment on the site, that it could possibly be to the doing of only a couple of irate supporters
I believe that Waubra are a good side, prob deserve the flag, but g you can't right this Hepburn team off. I have watched both sides in the last two weeks and they both play a similar style of football.
I see that everybody is on the Waubra wagon, its just sad that everybody has the tall poppy syndrome. Hepburn have a professional, well ran side in the league with some quality players and everybody starts bagging them left right and centre
I wish the burra boys luck, i hope they stick it up everybodys arse on this site, go back to back to back- thats 3 in a row for you people at learmonth, who don't know how to win 1!
Lets, just hope that Waubra dont choke, like Learmonth and Daylesford team have already done this Saturday.
My prediction- Hepburn by 8 points in a thriller, experience on this day may just be enough to worry the Roos out of the contest
Cheers guys
Rooster, Sure your not Fog Horn Leg Horn, get of your podium buddy. As for Learmonth choking i dont think so. Got smashed by Bunga in the Home and Away by over 12 goals and beat them in the finals. Come from 5 goals down mid way through the 3rd quarter. Got smashed by Hepburn by 41 points and lost by 4 points against a full strength Hepburn side in the final and was unlucky not to win, especially as Learmonth had star defender Veldhuis out and Star onballer Sobey only played about 15 min. Pleas give me your definition as choking as what i heard around the grounds noone gave them a chance and expected them to be smashed in both games.
Hepburn are a good side, and so they should be with the $$ they pay players, and full credit to them for being able to raise those $$. Will be interesting to see how they go in the nmext few seasons, as those older players are starting to struggle whilst all other sides are closing the GAP! Especially Learmonth. Beware Rooster, U might just end up on someones dinner Plate!
Cheers guys
dont worry mate. waubra wont choke. hepburn is a good side but some of those boys are old and tired. waubra is a quality side with fit boys, who may be young but who definantly know how to play and an experirnced coach. hepburn have a lot of support, but a lot of people have jump on then roo banwagon and will be cheering the boys on on saturday. i no i will be, with a froffie of course. my guess is roos by about 4+ goals. nothing can worry waubra out of a contest!. :thumbsu:
doppelganger
14 Sep 2006, 12:23
Cheers guys
Rooster, yes tall poppy syndrome might have something to do with it but it's more about the bullying arrogance that exists at every level of the club - from the president to the supporters. Hepburn win no friends with their "stick it up 'em" attitude (eg singing the club song on the ground to taunt opposition clubs). They have a "holier than thou" attitude & they dish it out but can't take it. What a shame it will be to see all those $$$ paid out & still walk away without the flag...:D Go Waubra!
Lindenow Cat
14 Sep 2006, 12:28
Moved away from the area, is Conks still running around in the firsts for Waubra, likely to get a game in the GF?
Heard he was coaching the reserves at Waubra, but is rumoured to be playing in the big game Saturday.
Apple Eater
14 Sep 2006, 13:37
Tips for the week,Seniors: Hepburn 9 points
Reserves: Ballan 14 points
U 18s: Bungaree 23 points, (goodluck to the Creswick boys an inspirational win last after the siren last week)
U 15s: Hepburn 21 points.
Lets hope its a nice day, i love drinking in the sun.
Rooster, yes tall poppy syndrome might have something to do with it but it's more about the bullying arrogance that exists at every level of the club - from the president to the supporters. Hepburn win no friends with their "stick it up 'em" attitude (eg singing the club song on the ground to taunt opposition clubs). They have a "holier than thou" attitude & they dish it out but can't take it. What a shame it will be to see all those $$$ paid out & still walk away without the flag...:D Go Waubra!
Totaly agree Buddy, have seen the song sung on the ground twice in the finals and pepole from non Hepburn sides all have similar coments, what Wa***rs is the polite way to put it. Same with the whole team going to the centre for the toss what's with that, thought it was the captain's job. Just wonder if they will do a warm down on Austar while the Roo boys are being presented with premiership medals that would be a sight to see............ Go Roos
Moved away from the area, is Conks still running around in the firsts for Waubra, likely to get a game in the GF?
playing coaches of the reserves. nice bloke.:thumbsu: not sure if he will pull on the boots on saturday. skonnas very unpredictable.......
it's been 24 years since waubra's last flag and it would be sweet as to bring home the flag. go roos
ROOSTER1
14 Sep 2006, 17:25
Totaly agree Buddy, have seen the song sung on the ground twice in the finals and pepole from non Hepburn sides all have similar coments, what Wa***rs is the polite way to put it. Same with the whole team going to the centre for the toss what's with that, thought it was the captain's job. Just wonder if they will do a warm down on Austar while the Roo boys are being presented with premiership medals that would be a sight to see............ Go Roos
Hehe, they are an arrogant bunch i agree. What im saying is not to right them off thou! I think that you will find that they have sang the song outside for most of the year as there rooms at Hepburn are too small, waiting to start renovations on their rooms.
I find it small minded that people on this site continue to comment about the money being spent by the Hepburn team. Lets not forget that it has been worth it for them the past 2 years!! good luck to a team that can raise the revenue to spend on their players. Mind you, Brown, Kinna, Naylon, Biggin, McIntyre and the likes aren't playing for marbles. I'd just like to see Biggin a bloke who left Learmonth for a premiership go home empty handed.
The professionalism that Hepburn have instilled in the competion is second to none. It has been noted that other teams are catching up to them! Were waubra using ice baths, doing rehab and the likes this year? I think you will find they were, all started by the burra boys two years ago. That team have been a positive influence on the league. Get off their back.
All i can say is may the best team win, that may be waubra or that arrogant team from the burra. By the way i have did some research on the last match waubra played hepburn. The burras were without Brown, Raak and the commelli brothers. Waubra had a full unit that day. Who knows it may not make a difference, but it will help curb the midfield dominance by Waubra that day.
Waubra will have the advantage, a fine day with a number of 6 foot players keen to take home their first flag
ROOSTER1
14 Sep 2006, 17:29
Think you will find that Hepburns Captain wasn't playing and that they didn't have a stand in captain. Big brown took the toss, but 22 people couldn't do that!
You never know what they are doing down there at Hepburn, they could be using some of this jargon for motivation!!
ROOSTER1
14 Sep 2006, 17:36
Do you think that Robbo was the main influence for singing the song outside against Daylesford and Learmonth. He does have a history with Daylesford and that tennis player from Learmonth (Beacham) may have been an influence of arrogance.
I think that we would find that his respect for Waubra, Skontra and the likes is a lot more meaningful.
Do you think that Robbo was the main influence for singing the song outside against Daylesford and Learmonth. He does have a history with Daylesford and that tennis player from Learmonth (Beacham) may have been an influence of arrogance.
I think that we would find that his respect for Waubra, Skontra and the likes is a lot more meaningful.
Think you are spot on with just about everything you say in those last three posts Rooster. Lot of jealousy involved when it comes to Hepburn. A lot said about the $$$ out there but how many people would knock back the backing of a millionaire (allegedly), and the ability to recruit very very good players that comes with it, at their footy club?
Having said that, I hope Waubra give them a touch up.
Think you are spot on with just about everything you say in those last three posts Rooster. Lot of jealousy involved when it comes to Hepburn. A lot said about the $$$ out there but how many people would knock back the backing of a millionaire (allegedly), and the ability to recruit very very good players that comes with it, at their footy club?
Having said that, I hope Waubra give them a touch up.
Everyone seems to be sick of the $$$ talk and rightly so... Simple fact is no club will win a flag without spending a certain amount of coin, the days of a team full of local blokes and winning flags are long gone , kids don't live where they grew anymore simple as that !!! Football clubs are no longer a turn up and run themself show, they are a small busniess therefore the clubs with good busniess minds running them will prosper the others will fall away. The main concerne is if some clubs get so financial they become out of reach the rest.
As for the bagging of Hepburn and there ways they run a great show and have taken risks to get there (e.g. Truck Raffle etc) well done. Main worry for them is who is going to continue the hard work generating the coin they opperate under now when Eddie and co call it a day.
Bring on saturday fine perfect day for footy all the questions will be answered still can't help but say ....... GO ROOS!!!
I do think the song biso was a ploy to make a few people think no doubt about it. As for the respect for waubra, i have heard both clubs have a good respect for each other on and off the field . If word is correct Robbo spoke to Waubra after they were beaten be them during the year and had nothing but praise for them and hoped the two would meet again in finals to put on a show. He has his wish that might be bad news for the roo boys...
Finaly the best 2 teams have made the G/F that does not always happen should be a cracker!!
Typical jealousy from an unsuccessful person.
Go Hepburn. I hope they show why they have been at the top and demonstrate that all the things they do are not arrogance they are tactical ploys that intimidate others. Since Robbo walked in day one everything that has been done is for a purpose...
learmonth
15 Sep 2006, 17:52
Typical jealousy from an unsuccessful person.
Go Hepburn. I hope they show why they have been at the top and demonstrate that all the things they do are not arrogance they are tactical ploys that intimidate others. Since Robbo walked in day one everything that has been done is for a purpose...
Hepburn are a pathetic weak side, and i wouldnt be jealous of any of them. They are ferals and are treated appropriately (Like scum). If only they could learn to except abuse and criticism back, they may gain some respect. Its funny how their players complain if they have things yelled over the fence at them, but are quite happy to do the same with their unintelligent supporters who can only use swear words. Thats about the size of their vocabulary!
JGraf, u are an inferior person, who probably doesnt have the heart to even step on a football field, due to being a coward like all Hepburn supporters.
I leave u with this CLOWN- Most people have two ears and one mouth, so shut up, listen and learn, and you may gain some knowledge..
ROOSTER1
15 Sep 2006, 21:05
Hepburn are a pathetic weak side, and i wouldnt be jealous of any of them. They are ferals and are treated appropriately (Like scum). If only they could learn to except abuse and criticism back, they may gain some respect. Its funny how their players complain if they have things yelled over the fence at them, but are quite happy to do the same with their unintelligent supporters who can only use swear words. Thats about the size of their vocabulary!
JGraf, u are an inferior person, who probably doesnt have the heart to even step on a football field, due to being a coward like all Hepburn supporters.
I leave u with this CLOWN- Most people have two ears and one mouth, so shut up, listen and learn, and you may gain some knowledge..
Learmonth, you are an absolute **** smoker. If ever I have read some bull**** it is from you! I agree that some supporters and I mean some use some very inappropriate language for the family atmosphere in some games. However, I read in the Courier earlier this year about a supporter from Learmonth yelling abuse from the sidelines against Hepburn. Is that correct? I believe that this no brainer was the brother of your current coach (that other idiot that everyone in Ballarat wants put down- like a useless dog).
I do believe that Robbo does everything for a purpose, im just happy that they sang their song outside against that weak as **** team from Learmonth.
Get off this site Learmonth, you are making the general public that read this site sick
May the best side win tomorrow
learmonth
15 Sep 2006, 22:13
Learmonth, you are an absolute **** smoker. If ever I have read some bull**** it is from you! I agree that some supporters and I mean some use some very inappropriate language for the family atmosphere in some games. However, I read in the Courier earlier this year about a supporter from Learmonth yelling abuse from the sidelines against Hepburn. Is that correct? I believe that this no brainer was the brother of your current coach (that other idiot that everyone in Ballarat wants put down- like a useless dog).
I do believe that Robbo does everything for a purpose, im just happy that they sang their song outside against that weak as **** team from Learmonth.
Get off this site Learmonth, you are making the general public that read this site sick
May the best side win tomorrow
Spot on Rooster, was at that game right next to him, and he didnt swear once, very witty and comical and good too see hepburn was disciplined as they bit back. 1st rule of any good footballer is not to take any notice of the crowd. Even Robertson got distracted and tried to have his say. Then they wrote a pathetic letter into the courier..What a pack of sooks. As i said, like to abuse themselves, but once they get it back, bring on the tears.
As for the Beachams mate, especially AJ, he made Hepburn players look 2nd rate in the final the other week, and his brother Tim, geez ild hate to see what he would do in the Central Highlands...
Problem is with you clowns is that you abuse the Beachams, and they wouldnt even have a clue who you idiots are. I guess you wish that one of them would shake your pathetic hand so you could act important and be a cool cat.
If only you could play the game buddy!!!
Spot on Rooster, was at that game right next to him, and he didnt swear once, very witty and comical and good too see hepburn was disciplined as they bit back. 1st rule of any good footballer is not to take any notice of the crowd. Even Robertson got distracted and tried to have his say. Then they wrote a pathetic letter into the courier..What a pack of sooks. As i said, like to abuse themselves, but once they get it back, bring on the tears.
As for the Beachams mate, especially AJ, he made Hepburn players look 2nd rate in the final the other week, and his brother Tim, geez ild hate to see what he would do in the Central Highlands...
Problem is with you clowns is that you abuse the Beachams, and they wouldnt even have a clue who you idiots are. I guess you wish that one of them would shake your pathetic hand so you could act important and be a cool cat.
If only you could play the game buddy!!!
You said you didn't know Tim???
roosta07
17 Sep 2006, 20:52
Does anyone know if Andrew Tranquilli will be coaching the Springbank side next year?
KingRich
18 Sep 2006, 11:05
Any reports from the Granny??
X man
You wanted a report so here it is. Good win by a well coached, prepared and balanced side. John Coleman won the medal which is fantastic for the young bloke. Not so fantastic was his performance spewing on the bus on the way back to Ballarat on Saturday night. Mully was Mully, hard at it, with great leadership and a quiet 5. Gav "wild man " Miller got leather poisoning and Ben Naylon must love the warm September days with 2 brilliant finals performances. Another good performance on Saturday night by a tall, young, blonde headed bloke that plays on the wing. (not for Waubra, yet???) Budge was good on Mckay, but on Sunday was nursing a nasty bruise on the neck about the size of a 20 cent piece. Was this from Andy?? or maybe people in the crowd armed with golf balls. The big unit they call the fridge was good leading Newton outside 50 leaving the talls and smalls up forward to have a ball. But if he ever pulls that boot trick on me again he is rooted! Backline solid as ever led by the old fav in Steppa and a Learmonth reject. (thanks Learmonth). Hope to get to your granny on Sat all the best. Need to get one more leave pass for a Saturday off my lovely wife. That is your job Scoop 22 . Start your mission immediatly. More to come.
scoop22
19 Sep 2006, 15:47
X man
You wanted a report so here it is. Good win by a well coached, prepared and balanced side. John Coleman won the medal which is fantastic for the young bloke. Not so fantastic was his performance spewing on the bus on the way back to Ballarat on Saturday night. Mully was Mully, hard at it, with great leadership and a quiet 5. Gav "wild man " Miller got leather poisoning and Ben Naylon must love the warm September days with 2 brilliant finals performances. Another good performance on Saturday night by a tall, young, blonde headed bloke that plays on the wing. (not for Waubra, yet???) Budge was good on Mckay, but on Sunday was nursing a nasty bruise on the neck about the size of a 20 cent piece. Was this from Andy?? or maybe people in the crowd armed with golf balls. The big unit they call the fridge was good leading Newton outside 50 leaving the talls and smalls up forward to have a ball. But if he ever pulls that boot trick on me again he is rooted! Backline solid as ever led by the old fav in Steppa and a Learmonth reject. (thanks Learmonth). Hope to get to your granny on Sat all the best. Need to get one more leave pass for a Saturday off my lovely wife. That is your job Scoop 22 . Start your mission immediatly. More to come.
what a fantastic report NCFL i tell you what the level of professionalism shown by Waubra on saturday was certainly the best i have seen for a long time. The boys were certainly in the zone right from the first bounce and many didn't leave that zone (aka Firewalking - Miller) until i would say late on Sunday night. Very disappointed in the coverage that they gave Waubra on Monday night on the the news, more interviews from the Hepburn coach...My report on the game is almost complete and i will post my recollections of a very memorable grand final...Hopefully NCFL you are still celebrating hard at the Golfy!!!
The lovely wife and kids i am sure would love a day out in the North Central watching what is hoped to be a donald victory! Stay tuned!!!
Winged Warrior
21 Sep 2006, 14:12
G'day guys, just a quick question from Southern NSW. A player called Jason Hill was up this way playing a season with a side around the Echuca area. Wondering how he went and will he be staying around the area. I have heard that he was quite a pick up - finishing well in the b + f for his club. I know he was from the Central Highlands league so hoping someone can help me out with some info and maybe a rough estimate of $$$$ it would take to keep him up this way.
learmonth
21 Sep 2006, 15:23
G'day guys, just a quick question from Southern NSW. A player called Jason Hill was up this way playing a season with a side around the Echuca area. Wondering how he went and will he be staying around the area. I have heard that he was quite a pick up - finishing well in the b + f for his club. I know he was from the Central Highlands league so hoping someone can help me out with some info and maybe a rough estimate of $$$$ it would take to keep him up this way.
I know Hilly well and have played with him. Left the cop force (in Training) to play for big $$$ and a job. Asks for around $700, but only goes to clubs that can afford that. In reality he is worth b/t 250-$300
Quick hard at it Midfielder, but skills can hurt him....
Winged Warrior
21 Sep 2006, 16:10
I know Hilly well and have played with him. Left the cop force (in Training) to play for big $$$ and a job. Asks for around $700, but only goes to clubs that can afford that. In reality he is worth b/t 250-$300
Quick hard at it Midfielder, but skills can hurt him....
Understand he also won the league medal in the CHFL, how would he do that with poor skills. Also heard the whisper from his 2006 club that he will be returning to the CHFL to finish career. Hopefully he is not looking for the big $$ this time round if what you say is true.
Apple Eater
21 Sep 2006, 16:24
Any news on the coaching front, or is all staying the same, heard Malcolm Scott may be leaving Ballan and Gladman leaving Gordon. Any other Goings or comings?
Also is it true that Hepburn start training in 3 weeks?
Uncle CC
21 Sep 2006, 21:50
what a fantastic report NCFL i tell you what the level of professionalism shown by Waubra on saturday was certainly the best i have seen for a long time. The boys were certainly in the zone right from the first bounce and many didn't leave that zone (aka Firewalking - Miller) until i would say late on Sunday night. Very disappointed in the coverage that they gave Waubra on Monday night on the the news, more interviews from the Hepburn coach...My report on the game is almost complete and i will post my recollections of a very memorable grand final...Hopefully NCFL you are still celebrating hard at the Golfy!!!
The lovely wife and kids i am sure would love a day out in the North Central watching what is hoped to be a donald victory! Stay tuned!!!
Scoop, I'm looking forward to reading your full report on the CHFL GF. I'm also hoping that you may be able to confirm rumours that the Fridge has been seen ordering big at both the Wendouree and Sturt street KFC's this week?
I'm considering venturing up to the North Central GF to watch Fridge Jnr carve them up. Apparently the boy can play just as well as the Fridge, is bigger, and has been known to enjoy the odd Wicked Wing too!
From what i hear Gordon, Ballan, Bunga, Creswick, Beaufort are all looking 4 new coaches. Plyed against hilly fair bit and is good player, dont think ball skills are a problem 4 him and he wins plenty of ball, doesn't seem 2 b able 2 settle down at a club
have heard Ballan, Gordon, Bunga, Creswick, Beaufort will b looking 4 new coaches. as for Hilly have played against him many times , has no problems getting the ball or lack of skill hes problem is settling down
have heard Ballan, Gordon, Bunga, Creswick, Beaufort will b looking 4 new coaches. as for Hilly have played against him many times , has no problems getting the ball or lack of skill hes problem is settling down[/quote]
Hey snail, have you heard which clubs are looking for new coaches next year and do you know anything about Jason Hill?
Uncle you better lay off fridge I have heard he has some mad mofo mates but you may be right about the dirty bird though
On the coaching front have heard that Waubra are trying to hold onto Skontra but are struggling with the $$$. Apparently they have offered him a share in one of the wind turbines to power a small commercial precinct he is looking to set up just on the Waubra side of Learmonth. It is believed to have a KFC and a tanning salon which Skontra rekons he can cash in with especialy if the fridge stays at Waubra and with the Waubra netball girls and a rival coach nearby he maybe on the money. No, on a more serious note he has been made an offer, and is believed to be considering a coaching job up Echuca way. His girlfriend loves it up that way and lets face it everyone needs to be happy.
Uncle CC
25 Sep 2006, 11:53
If Skontra goes, George Russell will become a playing coach at Waubra. Russell was on the big bucks this season - for both his abilities as a player and as an assistant to the coach. Russell masterminded many of the moves this year. Some even say that Skontra was merely Russell's puppet as George prefers to keep a low profile. This move would also help retrain some of the netballers as he is real ladies man - particularly when it comes to the young fluff.
Harry HP
26 Sep 2006, 11:21
If Skontra goes, George Russell will become a playing coach at Waubra. Russell was on the big bucks this season - for both his abilities as a player and as an assistant to the coach. Russell masterminded many of the moves this year. Some even say that Skontra was merely Russell's puppet as George prefers to keep a low profile. This move would also help retrain some of the netballers as he is real ladies man - particularly when it comes to the young fluff.
I can actually back this up, George Russell will become playing coach of Waubra. I used to play with him over in Adelaide, where he's leadership qualities both on and off the field really did shine through and inspire us all. If he wasn't taking a massive screamer on the field he would be practising he's shotgun technique on any random possible. He would simply lure them in at a club and show them he's breathtaking liquid dancing moves and then load up he's pipes for offloading. He's only weakness is if she comes from the right which can be a problem at times...But grussl shouldn't have a problem taking the Waubra boys to back to back flags!!!
I can actually back this up, George Russell will become playing coach of Waubra. I used to play with him over in Adelaide, where he's leadership qualities both on and off the field really did shine through and inspire us all. If he wasn't taking a massive screamer on the field he would be practising he's shotgun technique on any random possible. He would simply lure them in at a club and show them he's breathtaking liquid dancing moves and then load up he's pipes for offloading. He's only weakness is if she comes from the right, this a result of the freak dodge ball which can be a problem at times...But grussl shouldn't have a problem taking the Waubra boys to back to back flags!!!
George Russell is a natural leader, and was the brains trust behind Waubra's success in 2006. Although the Roos are keen the sign the big man up again, I hear he has already had several coaching offers for 2007. Few players have the communication skills and leadership qualities that George does possess. Waubra's only hope now is to quickly sign David 'Wiggy' Ammaterstein, before they both go as a package deal.
learmonth
26 Sep 2006, 13:16
George Russell is a natural leader, and was the brains trust behind Waubra's success in 2006. Although the Roos are keen the sign the big man up again, I hear he has already had several coaching offers for 2007. Few players have the communication skills and leadership qualities that George does possess. Waubra's only hope now is to quickly sign David 'Wiggy' Ammaterstein, before they both go as a package deal.
Skontra has done all he can at Waubra, made them into a force... time to move on and challenge himself in a higher league... All the best to him
Skontra has done the hard yards why would he not challenge himself to keep waubra up and aim for back to back, then he has made them into a force.
As for Russell have heard he is holding talks with Ballarat as an assistant to Swooper can anyone back this up? From the talk going round don't think this would happen as he sounds set on coaching on his own .
Uncle CC
26 Sep 2006, 16:09
Skontra has done the hard yards why would he not challenge himself to keep waubra up and aim for back to back, then he has made them into a force.
As for Russell have heard he is holding talks with Ballarat as an assistant to Swooper can anyone back this up? From the talk going round don't think this would happen as he sounds set on coaching on his own .
I think Skontra wants to take up the challenge but it is believed that Russell has said to Skontra "This town is not big enough for the two of us. Its either you or its me". I don't know if Skontra could maintain it all without the help of Russell. What do you guys think?
Freak Dodgeball Accident
26 Sep 2006, 17:58
I think you mean 'retain', although from what I've heard, it probably wouldn't hurt to re-train some of them anyway.
And the 'young fluff' comment can be put to rest, as apparently George was spotted at a local club getting chummy with an in-law of one of the Waubra hierarchy. Although looks can be decieving and it may just have been a few friendly drinks. She's looked to be out of his league anyway.
Astro Boy
28 Sep 2006, 08:45
I think the feeling is at Waubra that Skontra should go around again.
I have herd George is moving on in search of some fresh crumpet anyway.
Skontra is looking at making Matt Clarke assistant coach, he will fill the massive hole on & off the field left by George's departure.
Clarke has one of the best football brains in the business & is always an inspiration when he addresses the team. I think this combination could work.
Astro Boy
28 Sep 2006, 08:50
I have herd Jayden Reid & Piggy Linton may be heading to Bungaree as joint coaches would be a good get if this is correct.
learmonth
28 Sep 2006, 11:14
I have herd Jayden Reid & Piggy Linton may be heading to Bungaree as joint coaches would be a good get if this is correct.
Have heard that as well (Wouldnt be surprised to see a mass exit of Redan players this year to Nth Ballarat and into coaching positions), and heard the the Creswick coach has walked out as well, due the lack of professionalism.
Gladman has retired from footy, so there will be a few changes. Ballan still looking but rumor has it Cartledge and Mullane-Grant will be joint coaches.
Astro Boy
28 Sep 2006, 12:21
Have heard that as well (Wouldnt be surprised to see a mass exit of Redan players this year to Nth Ballarat and into coaching positions), and heard the the Creswick coach has walked out as well, due the lack of professionalism.
Gladman has retired from footy, so there will be a few changes. Ballan still looking but rumor has it Cartledge and Mullane-Grant will be joint coaches.
This may be the case but plenty of clubs have had cracks @ Redan players in the past and many of them find it hard to walk away from the success.
Also Heard that Malcom Scott could be off to Nth City as an assistant to Betty.
R a few lakers boys considering heading back to L'month?
Harry HP
28 Sep 2006, 15:00
Ive heard on the grape vine that Waubra are only losing the tough and rugged full back in Rodney "Fanta Pants" Stepnell to retirement. If Skontra goes round again he is sure to recruit big, and make an even stronger Waubra outfit. If this happens i really can't see anyone stopping Waubra next year.
What do you guys reckon?
Ive heard on the grape vine that Waubra are only losing the tough and rugged full back in Rodney "Fanta Pants" Stepnell to retirement. If Skontra goes round again he is sure to recruit big, and make an even stronger Waubra outfit. If this happens i really can't see anyone stopping Waubra next year.
What do you guys reckon?
Think you will find that all sides will be recruiting at the moment and there are some sides that only need 3 or 4 of the right blokes to make a large impact on the league in 07. True waubra are going to be the bench mark again , but i'd say it's to early to know how many players will go around again at any club . Phones start ringing this time of year!!!!
On a different note who won all the club B&Fs?
learmonth
28 Sep 2006, 16:54
What do you guys reckon?
Harry all clubs will recruit strongly + im sure there will be plenty of Waubra players being poached from other leagues due to their success for Bigger $$$ then what Waubra can offer. Very hard to keep a premiership side together if u dont have the coin.
Top 5 from last season along with Ballan and the Bunnies will be the sides.
Rumour has it that Hill and Weatherly back to Clunes next season, so that would vcertainly put them amongst the mix!!!
Freak Dodgeball Accident
28 Sep 2006, 20:57
Rumour has it that Hill and Weatherly back to Clunes next season, so that would vcertainly put them amongst the mix!!!
I haven't heard that one (and I hear alot of things), but I have a mate at Nth Adelaide (where the Goat played this year) so I should be able to find out if that's the case or not.
roaring tiger
28 Sep 2006, 21:12
Have heard that the bunnies have signed a good FF for next year already. The source said his name might be J Porter. They are also talking 2 a couple of on ballers from the wimmera league with learmonth also trying to attract the same 2 players to there club for next year.
Grimmett
28 Sep 2006, 23:36
Have heard that the bunnies have signed a good FF for next year already. The source said his name might be J Porter. They are also talking 2 a couple of on ballers from the wimmera league with learmonth also trying to attract the same 2 players to there club for next year.
Nice whisper rt. Which WFL clubs the onballers belong to?
Freak Dodgeball Accident
29 Sep 2006, 00:32
Some even say that Skontra was merely Russell's puppet as George prefers to keep a low profile.
Sorry, Uncle CC, I missed this part of your post. What you say is absolutely correct though. This is why George spent so much time throughout the season on the bench - to assess the play from the sidelines and make those cruicual decisions. Many wondered why Shane would keep a player of Georges calibre on the pine for so long each game, but this is the reason.
Astro Boy
29 Sep 2006, 09:30
IS Leo Fitzpatrick coaching Beaufort?
My mail is Mick Foster ,Drewie @ Aaron Bones may all be heading back..
learmonth
29 Sep 2006, 09:59
From what i have heard u are spot on the money, and the club is Nhill in the Wimmera Football league. Also heard Leehane will be going with Porter from Carhnam Linton
N Bartos
29 Sep 2006, 18:50
Judging by the previous posts it seems there'll be a few coaching changes next year. Daylesford, Hepburn, Learmonth, Springbank & Clunes are the only teams that i haven't heard of any coaching changes. Are they keeping the same coaches? I'd be suprised if the rumours of Skontra stepping down from the Waubra job are true!
footystand
30 Sep 2006, 20:30
Yes, i hear that Leo Fitzpatrick is coaching the Beaufort Crows this Year.
Also hear Foster is most likely coming back, unsure about the other two... but will be very handy and are needed! With these boys back the only was is up!