View Full Version : Central Highlands
Barnestoneworth
11 Jun 2007, 21:57
nice. yeh theres some good players up there but luke morris on top is a huge call. jmahar should def be gettin some recognition imo. the general view of the 15s is that they like the new coach and he gets alot more out of them. from what ive seen on the track they are working a lot harder than last year and cd push for a top 3 spot if thy keep on thier game.
What colour jarmies are favourite amongst the 15s and what do they like in their play lunch at school. Also who is the toughest fighter in the league and has anyone asked a girl to go with them yet. Should create a lot of interest.
nice. yeh theres some good players up there but luke morris on top is a huge call. jmahar should def be gettin some recognition imo. the general view of the 15s is that they like the new coach and he gets alot more out of them. from what ive seen on the track they are working a lot harder than last year and cd push for a top 3 spot if thy keep on thier game.
I couldn't help noticing that when you made this post it was nearly 8pm. I thought Prime Possum would have wished you boys good night by this stage? or did he have the night off for the long weekend.
Is it the Waubra Ball this weekend?
Hepburn V Daylesford: Who we tipping and more importantly are we expecting a blood bath?
AxelFoley#5
12 Jun 2007, 14:34
Hepburn V Daylesford: Who we tipping and more importantly are we expecting a blood bath?
Check out the thread dedicated to this match mate.
Wont be a bloodbath, both clubs are professional enough to steer away from that. Of course it will be a fierce contest though, with a lot of local pride on the line. Daylesford should win.
Is it the Waubra Ball this weekend?
saturday nite at the mining exchange, 7pm start.
dforddoggies
13 Jun 2007, 19:49
Quick questions for anyone in the know, what would it take for the CHFL to organise interleague? Who would be in charge of picking the team? What division would we be playing in, and would we be able to cut it?
Off Shore
14 Jun 2007, 00:02
Big Footy is turning to crap. Seven threads for chfl whats next a thread for who will win the ground raffle Saturday. How about the U18's stick to the under 18 thread. Each new thread is just a topic that can be discussed on either U 18 or CHFL threads , the crap going on at the moment nobody will bother posting. Use your heads people hope it's just the week off that sent everone silly!
Off Shore
14 Jun 2007, 00:16
Quick questions for anyone in the know, what would it take for the CHFL to organise interleague? Who would be in charge of picking the team? What division would we be playing in, and would we be able to cut it?
The CHFL sent delegates back to clubs last year asking how interested they would be in interleague. From my understanding not enough clubs were keen on the idea and the cost of running it was fairly high. I don't think any players got a say, anyone I've spoken to who would be a reasonable chance of playing would love the opportunity to play along side the leagues best. I can understand the fears of clubs loosing their best players to injury but that can happen any day of the week.
The CHFL has some great players and and the rep side would be a class outfit, the popularity of the league should provide a good fan following .
Not sure who the opposition would be and how far travel would be.
Can't see in happening and it's a shame .
Astro Boy
14 Jun 2007, 10:25
The CHFL sent delegates back to clubs last year asking how interested they would be in interleague. From my understanding not enough clubs were keen on the idea and the cost of running it was fairly high. I don't think any players got a say, anyone I've spoken to who would be a reasonable chance of playing would love the opportunity to play along side the leagues best. I can understand the fears of clubs loosing their best players to injury but that can happen any day of the week.
The CHFL has some great players and and the rep side would be a class outfit, the popularity of the league should provide a good fan following .
Not sure who the opposition would be and how far travel would be.
Can't see in happening and it's a shame .
Would be good to have an interleague match. I Definately believe the CHFL should have a team of the year.
bungareepremiers06
14 Jun 2007, 17:10
Would be good to have an interleague match. I Definately believe the CHFL should have a team of the year.
i think the equivalent of an all australian team is a good idea but interleague is a waste. there's not really any need for it imo
Off Shore
14 Jun 2007, 18:32
i think the equivalent of an all australian team is a good idea but interleague is a waste. there's not really any need for it imo
Whatever........There's not really any need to play on Saturday or in finals, unless of course you want to! Maybe when you turn 18 your opinion will change!
Madroota69
15 Jun 2007, 16:18
This thread has turned to pus.
Don't think i'll bother reading it anymore
AxelFoley#5
15 Jun 2007, 16:38
This thread has turned to pus.
Don't think i'll bother reading it anymore
Couldnt have said it better myself:thumbsu:
Madroota69
17 Jun 2007, 20:57
I see Justin Porter has been rejected a clearance to buningyong 6 times. That can't be right can it? How many times can a club reject a clearance? The last time he was rejected was on the 30/05 which suggests that he's still keen on going to the club.
Bayonet
18 Jun 2007, 12:29
Can anyone give me an update on Steven Biggins?
How has his form been at Waubra and what position has he been playin?
Can anyone give me an update on Steven Biggins?How has his form been at Waubra and what position has he been playin?
Biggen has been going well again this year, one of the generals of the Waubra defence. Very cool head on his shoulders always seems to have plenty of time. Very consistent performer post match as well, sure to have been in the votes again for his efforts on the weekend
bungareepremiers06
18 Jun 2007, 13:05
Tips For Round 9?
Buninyong vs Daylesford 60 points
Hepburn vs Clunes 80 points
Creswick vs Beaufort 2 points
Waubra vs Newlyn 48 points
Bungaree vs Ballan 30 points
Learmonth vs Gordon 100 points
Dunnstown vs Springbank 20 points
Billy the Kid
18 Jun 2007, 17:04
Dayelsford Vs Waubra in a few weeks, might be worth going over for a look. Any thoughts on who would be favourites for this match, and the key match-ups to lookout for?
Tommy Hughes
18 Jun 2007, 17:49
Dayelsford Vs Waubra in a few weeks, might be worth going over for a look. Any thoughts on who would be favourites for this match, and the key match-ups to lookout for?
I know a good match up, archibald to line up on the sideline next to biggin, maybe then they could handpass it to each other so they could both get a kick
Billy the Kid
19 Jun 2007, 12:13
Cam Landry, played at Lake Wendouree last season. Not sure how bad it is, although did hear he was up and about on crutches at their ball on the weekend, with his knee in a brace.
N Bartos
25 Jun 2007, 15:17
This thread has become pretty boring lately. Lets try to get a few decent discussions going.
Daylesford v Waubra at Daylesford. The only two undefeated teams.
and Ballan v Learmonth look like the two best matches.
Off Shore
26 Jun 2007, 09:22
This thread has become pretty boring lately. Lets try to get a few decent discussions going.
Daylesford v Waubra at Daylesford. The only two undefeated teams.
and Ballan v Learmonth look like the two best matches.
Yes it would be nice to get some decant discussion going here.
Daylesford v Waubra will be the main game of the round and a telling match of the year for both sides. Neither will be at full strength but thats football. Both teams have had poorer wins than most would have expected in the past few weeks but I'll bet they both come ready to play Saturday.
Waubra hold a 2-0 win ratio against Daylesford that will be in the back of some minds. Daylesford seem the be the team to beat though and have showed more consistency in their wins than Waubra, only a average day against Creswick so far for them. Waubra on the other hand have just done enough to get the win in a few of their games.
Should be a great contest hope the weather is kind or the result may not show us a great deal , clearly the two best sides at the moment this could be the GF preview so plenty to play for here.
Off Shore
26 Jun 2007, 11:54
Ballan to upset Learmonth on their small oval and return to the winners list this week, not enough room for Learmonths running Game.
Off Shore
26 Jun 2007, 12:10
Ballan won't win against Learmonth. Learmonth are way too strong for Ballan and will give ballan a big kick up the arse.
On a big ground yes they are to strong , you have umpired on that pissy little ground how well do the running sides go there? Just don't think it's suited to Learmonths game. Hope your not in charge down there this week or we might as well pencil Learmonth in now!
learmonth
26 Jun 2007, 15:01
Ballan to upset Learmonth on their small oval and return to the winners list this week, not enough room for Learmonths running Game.
Just on last year, Learmonth did beat Ballan at Home and Away. So it goes to prove that Learmonth can win down there, though I would agree, we are a better side at home and on bigger grounds.
Off Shore
26 Jun 2007, 15:07
Mate don't give her any credibility for gods sake. If you want advice from her about anything to do with footy you'd be better off asking about her flag waving technique
Mate this thread needs some football talk, since the kids took over a couple of weeks back it's gone to pieces. Nobody is posting anything worth reading we might as well just wait for the courier to come Monday and Friday to hear some piss poor opinions. I wasn't asking her advice i was asking her opinion whats yours?
Off Shore
26 Jun 2007, 15:10
Just on last year, Learmonth did beat Ballan at Home and Away. So it goes to prove that Learmonth can win down there, though I would agree, we are a better side at home and on bigger grounds.
About time mate i threw a carrot to get you back on line how did it taste?
learmonth
26 Jun 2007, 15:47
About time mate i threw a carrot to get you back on line how did it taste?
Tasted great, but as already stated, the little kids who have minimal knowledge of senor footy in the CHFL have technically ruined the thread by writing garbage!
Was out with the Dford boys on Saturday night and they are very confident in their own ability, have a couple of BIG signings which they are hoping to get over the line in the next few days before the deadline. Will make them very hard to beat. Class players, one a former dford player who played for the Roosters and the other is from Port Melbourne Colts in the WRFL. They do respect Waubra a lot and it will be a great game. In my opinion Waubra have 4 players that Dford struggle to match up on, Sordello,, plays of his man and reads the play well, Pelliser, good tall down back, Mullane, hard at it midfielder who kicks goals and Brown up forward. He only needs 6 kicks to win a game. Dford strength is their small forwards an expect plenty of goals from them L. Adams M Davis, C Scoble R Rodgers. These are the guys that waubra need to shut down if they are to win. Also George will need to be on his A game against Ox Winduss, and if he gives 1st option to C Obrien & J Adams, then I think Dford will will by around 3-5 goals.
Barnestoneworth
26 Jun 2007, 17:29
Mate this thread needs some football talk, since the kids took over a couple of weeks back it's gone to pieces. Nobody is posting anything worth reading we might as well just wait for the courier to come Monday and Friday to hear some piss poor opinions. I wasn't asking her advice i was asking her opinion whats yours?
Daylesford, mainly because its at home. Both very good sides though so should be a great game. Agree with learmonth that brown is a difficult match up for them, might be too strong for cronin and too smart for grigg.
learmonth
26 Jun 2007, 17:51
Daylesford, mainly because its at home. Both very good sides though so should be a great game. Agree with learmonth that brown is a difficult match up for them, might be too strong for cronin and too smart for grigg.
I see Anthony McDonald has put in a clearance to play for Waubra Yesterday. Massive inclusion to a premiership side. He will be very hard to hold down!
bungareepremiers06
26 Jun 2007, 19:00
these two sides ar very evenly matched i think. last year daylesford were the team putting the massive wins on the board but didnt make the grand final which said they were getting themselves up every week and not taking a step back against the poorer teams which is a credit to them. but the teams are very evenly matched. waubra's superstar in danny liston and his dirty jumper for best on, waubra by 3 points in a thriller
[quote=learmonth;7933628]I see Anthony McDonald has put in a clearance to play for Waubra Yesterday. Massive inclusion to a premiership side. He will be very hard to hold down!
He will be very handy in the two's while he is earning his stripes
could someone in the know tell me how long it takes for a clearance to come through, also is there a cut off date and if so when is it?
mudflapper
27 Jun 2007, 17:15
http://centralhighlandsfl.vcfl.com.au/
Is it to late for clearences???? I hear some D/ford guys had a meeting with a Big bendigo player on the weekend? can anyone from d/ford share some details on this meeting :eek:
learmonth
27 Jun 2007, 18:03
Is it to late for clearences???? I hear some D/ford guys had a meeting with a Big bendigo player on the weekend? can anyone from d/ford share some details on this meeting :eek:
Clearances are available until the end of the month. That means they must be lodged, if they are knocked back then they will have to go to appeal.
If a player is under contract as you would say Coon is from C/Linton due to being an assiatant coach it would nearly be impossible for them to be cleared unless the club agreed on it. Interstate transfers are another story and can happen at anytime from my knowledge if the person relocates......
Lets get some discussion going:
-top 5..top 3 is settled(Daylesford, Waubra, Hepburn) i recon followed by dunnstown and lermonth
- Springbanks Florence..i recon he is over rated, can win a tap out but thats about it
- team of the year to halfway..
- Premeirs..Waubra for mine
Archie Threadbo
29 Jun 2007, 11:35
Lets get some discussion going:
-top 5..top 3 is settled(Daylesford, Waubra, Hepburn) i recon followed by dunnstown and lermonth
- Springbanks Florence..i recon he is over rated, can win a tap out but thats about it
- team of the year to halfway..
- Premeirs..Waubra for mine
Big call on Florence there Dee5. He's a 22 yr old kid in his third year of football. As for only winning tap outs, i'd say he's averaging at least 10 marks a game. Maybe you saw him on a bad day.
learmonth
29 Jun 2007, 12:02
Big call on Florence there Dee5. He's a 22 yr old kid in his third year of football. As for only winning tap outs, i'd say he's averaging at least 10 marks a game. Maybe you saw him on a bad day.
Florence is a GUN, and he is only 22, that is hard to believe? He looks more like 35.
Will be interesting to see him go up against Winduss?
As for todays write up in the paper, can they get any worse? Cox had 26 contested marks, there is no way Im believing that? He may have had 26 marks on the lead, as Clunes struggled to put too much pressure on, but contested, it takes an AFL player 2 years to do that now days? A slight exzageration in my opinion.
And Ballan have had the toughest draw? At this stage, and the way the draw is situated, all sides follow one another, so Ballans draw has been no different to Bunga, Learmonth, Hepburn, Waubra, Springbank and D'Town. The only difference is that the other sides have beaten one another while they have lost them all. In my opinion Hepburn & Bunga have the toughest draw as you can only really look at the last 4 games, when you play sides twice. Ballan have to play Newlyn (Home) Clunes (Home) Daylesford (Home) and Beaufort away. Only one side who made finals last year twice? I wouldnt say its too hard!
AxelFoley#5
29 Jun 2007, 12:10
Florence is a GUN, and he is only 22, that is hard to believe? He looks more like 35.
Will be interesting to see him go up against Winduss?
As for todays write up in the paper, can they get any worse? Cox had 26 contested marks, there is no way Im believing that? He may have had 26 marks on the lead, as Clunes struggled to put too much pressure on, but contested, it takes an AFL player 2 years to do that now days? A slight exzageration in my opinion.
And Ballan have had the toughest draw? At this stage, and the way the draw is situated, all sides follow one another, so Ballans draw has been no different to Bunga, Learmonth, Hepburn, Waubra, Springbank and D'Town. The only difference is that the other sides have beaten one another while they have lost them all. In my opinion Hepburn & Bunga have the toughest draw as you can only really look at the last 4 games, when you play sides twice. Ballan have to play Newlyn (Home) Clunes (Home) Daylesford (Home) and Beaufort away. Only one side who made finals last year twice? I wouldnt say its too hard!
Yeah would be quite impossible IMO, I remember Matty Richo took 9 contested marks against Essendon last year and that was quite amazing.
Maybe 26 marks all up (coz he obviously dominated kicking 12) but surely not all were contested. That would either suggest Clunes have to get to the gym and do something about their upperbody strength....or Cox is as slow as a wet week and cannot get on a lead (which is I know isnt the case)
N Bartos
29 Jun 2007, 17:03
Maybe we all should start a campaign to BRING BACK KENNY HILL. I never thought i'd say it. The standard of reports in the courier have dropped this year, whoever does the previews really had no idea about the players or the teams.
only 22?? gee he looks alot older then that..that does change my opinion of him
the_don88
2 Jul 2007, 15:40
Maybe we all should start a campaign to BRING BACK KENNY HILL. I never thought i'd say it. The standard of reports in the courier have dropped this year, whoever does the previews really had no idea about the players or the teams.
Chris Pedler, use to work at Pizza Hut. Dont think he has ever played a game in his life. always seems to talk about players who arent even plaing in the preview too.
roaring tiger
2 Jul 2007, 16:21
Hey Learmonth do you have a report from the weekends games as to why you guys lost to ballan. The pressure is right on you guys now.
Don't Argue
2 Jul 2007, 17:04
I loved the fact all you Central Highland guru's stated that Box and Dridan won't go any good at such a ''high level of football'' judging from the paper each week i would say Box would be close to leading Dunnstowns Best and Fairest and seeing they are 4th he must go ok. By the sounds Dridan is tearin it up too!
Personally i don't think the CHFL is as greater standard as everyone raves on about, the 3 top teams are really good teams then it falls away big time. i saw carngham linton beat dunnstown in a praccy convincingly and from what i was told dunnstown were close ish to full strength. Carngham lost there first four games which they have never done before so it is hard to say they would have been in that greater touch.
All in all i reckon, Skipton or Rokewood would easily be in the top 5 in CHFL.
learmonth
2 Jul 2007, 17:09
Hey Learmonth do you have a report from the weekends games as to why you guys lost to ballan. The pressure is right on you guys now.
Pessure is an understatement, and we are really struggling. A lot of players down on confidence, and are not just working hard enough. They were unknowns last year which made it easier for them and they are now getting more attention from the opposition and are not coping. It can be turned around and thats my job to do that, if not, im sure ill be without a job. Why arent we winning, 1st- We think were better then what we really are (attitude) but that can be changed. 2nd- Commitment- Guys dont want to train hard, work for one another, and push each other to higher limits. (Quite happy to sit in comfort zone) That can be changed! 3rd- Struggle to adapt to away games (Mental Approach), must prepare themselves better during the week, and on game day, dont worry about external factors which we cant change, ie- ground conditions, opposition side, weather conditions.
Johny Utah
3 Jul 2007, 09:23
I loved the fact all you Central Highland guru's stated that Box and Dridan won't go any good at such a ''high level of football'' judging from the paper each week i would say Box would be close to leading Dunnstowns Best and Fairest and seeing they are 4th he must go ok. By the sounds Dridan is tearin it up too!
Personally i don't think the CHFL is as greater standard as everyone raves on about, the 3 top teams are really good teams then it falls away big time. i saw carngham linton beat dunnstown in a praccy convincingly and from what i was told dunnstown were close ish to full strength. Carngham lost there first four games which they have never done before so it is hard to say they would have been in that greater touch.
Big deal he tore it up against Creswick. Box wasn't much chop against Waubra mate, all he did was try & start blues all day don't rate him as a footballer or bloke. U can't take anything out of practice match form.
Premiership
3 Jul 2007, 13:28
Been O'S and still currently interstate for last 3 1/2 weeks, is it the half way mark of the season as yet?
Can someone please post the current ladder and correct website address of the CHFL for results etc.
Internet connection really battling.
:thumbsu:
AxelFoley#5
3 Jul 2007, 13:37
Been O'S and still currently interstate for last 3 1/2 weeks, is it the half way mark of the season as yet?
Can someone please post the current ladder and correct website address of the CHFL for results etc.
Internet connection really battling.
:thumbsu:
Daylesford 10 0 10 0 0 1307 406 321.92% 40
Waubra 10 0 9 1 0 1040 536 194.03% 36
Hepburn 10 0 8 2 0 1140 587 194.21% 32
Dunnstown 10 0 7 3 0 865 709 122.00% 28
Learmonth 10 0 6 4 0 896 657 136.38% 24
Bungaree 10 0 6 4 0 882 690 127.83% 24
Springbank 10 0 5 5 0 812 924 87.88% 20
Ballan 10 0 5 5 0 697 884 78.85% 20
Buninyong 10 0 4 6 0 844 770 109.61% 16
Newlyn 10 0 4 6 0 586 759 77.21% 16
Creswick 10 0 2 8 0 689 988 69.74% 8
Clunes 10 0 2 8 0 614 929 66.09% 8
Beaufort 10 0 2 8 0 558 1106 50.45% 8
Gordon 10 0 0 10 0 388 1373 28.26% 0
http://centralhighlandsfl.vcfl.com.au/drawresult.asp?comp=4776&OrgID=347
Off Shore
4 Jul 2007, 11:31
Hey Learmonth the rumor going around Saturday night was you had your number taken after the game is this true and whats the outcome? Also heard the umpiring may have left a bit to be desired but were they worth 5 goals?
learmonth
4 Jul 2007, 13:15
Hey Learmonth the rumor going around Saturday night was you had your number taken after the game is this true and whats the outcome? Also heard the umpiring may have left a bit to be desired but were they worth 5 goals?
Yes it was true, but it has been withdrawn, as a coach I am able to speak to the umpires, which I didnt take up until after the game to clarify a few things. I thought some of the decisions from one of the umpires was very inconsistent with the 1st 4 goals coming from frees & 50's, but thats not what I spoke to him about. He regaurly provoked Learmonth players about their ability while the play was at the other end and iniated it at times, and seemed more intent on trying to provoke our players then umpire the game. With our players biting back, I was not to impressed with their behaviour and focus on the game. But this was a prime example of a guy who tried to be bigger then the game.
Having spoke with the other umpire who has officiated in over 400 games, who overode this umpire and withdrew the report he said he was the worst he has seen and will not umpire with him again, and has put a complaint into the board of umpires about his performance which i will be doing as well. Im not arguing the decisons he made, as you cop the good with the bad, but his attitude was disgraceful and I give full credit to the Ballan F.C who beat us fair and square. They were harder and more desperate.
Off Shore
4 Jul 2007, 13:58
Yes it was true, but it has been withdrawn, as a coach I am able to speak to the umpires, which I didnt take up until after the game to clarify a few things. I thought some of the decisions from one of the umpires was very inconsistent with the 1st 4 goals coming from frees & 50's, but thats not what I spoke to him about. He regaurly provoked Learmonth players about their ability while the play was at the other end and iniated it at times, and seemed more intent on trying to provoke our players then umpire the game. With our players biting back, I was not to impressed with their behaviour and focus on the game. But this was a prime example of a guy who tried to be bigger then the game.
Having spoke with the other umpire who has officiated in over 400 games, who overode this umpire and withdrew the report he said he was the worst he has seen and will not umpire with him again, and has put a complaint into the board of umpires about his performance which i will be doing as well. Im not arguing the decisons he made, as you cop the good with the bad, but his attitude was disgraceful and I give full credit to the Ballan F.C who beat us fair and square. They were harder and more desperate.
Unfortunatly a sign of the times with low umpire numbers hard to see things improving in a hurry. Saw Daylesford beat Waubra on Saturday and there was at least 1 decision made through crowd persuasion fairly funny at the time with both team supporters having a laugh about it. Conditions were shocking under foot and Waubra were penalized for a deliberate out of bounds which was nothing more than a kick slewing off the boot in wet going. Daylesford did a similar thing later in the game right in front of the rooms as soon as it left the blokes foot the Waubra supporters were calling deliberate and the umpire came to the party. I guess you can call that constancy but it looked more like a square up, neither of the two should have been paid deliberate.
N Bartos
4 Jul 2007, 14:50
Unfortunatly a sign of the times with low umpire numbers hard to see things improving in a hurry. Saw Daylesford beat Waubra on Saturday and there was at least 1 decision made through crowd persuasion fairly funny at the time with both team supporters having a laugh about it. Conditions were shocking under foot and Waubra were penalized for a deliberate out of bounds which was nothing more than a kick slewing off the boot in wet going. Daylesford did a similar thing later in the game right in front of the rooms as soon as it left the blokes foot the Waubra supporters were calling deliberate and the umpire came to the party. I guess you can call that constancy but it looked more like a square up, neither of the two should have been paid deliberate.
What did you make of the game on the weekend OS. Couldn't get much info out of the courier report. Would you mind sharing your thoughts on the game with us?
Off Shore
4 Jul 2007, 15:11
What did you make of the game on the weekend OS. Couldn't get much info out of the courier report. Would you mind sharing your thoughts on the game with us?
Daylesford deserved the win played a better first half missed shots on goal they should have kicked. Having said that Waubra had their chances to win also, hard to gage much due to the state of the ground but with 2 full strength sides and a dry ground it would be a great match. Daylesford would now have to be the outright favorite this year but they will also realize next time round they must be on song . Hard to say allot more than that mate, 6 goals each just a tough slog but an entertaining game at the same time. Wouldn't be surprised on a fine day so see a big margin all depends on which team turns it on.
learmonth
5 Jul 2007, 14:48
Daylesford deserved the win played a better first half missed shots on goal they should have kicked. Having said that Waubra had their chances to win also, hard to gage much due to the state of the ground but with 2 full strength sides and a dry ground it would be a great match. Daylesford would now have to be the outright favorite this year but they will also realize next time round they must be on song . Hard to say allot more than that mate, 6 goals each just a tough slog but an entertaining game at the same time. Wouldn't be surprised on a fine day so see a big margin all depends on which team turns it on.
BRING BACK THE DROUGHT!
JUNIOR 22
6 Jul 2007, 17:04
Would agree when fit that Dridan is a pretty handy player in CHFL and his record in LP speaks for itself. As for box agree with Johny Utah that he is not much of a player at all, doesnt set a very good example for others in the team with his poor on field antics during a game especially been an assistant! As far as been high in the B & F i find that hard to believe D town have some quality players that surely would be ahead of box.
agree with you ther nev. i can understand why coaches get frustrated with hill but he tells you what you want to know. It shows just how little pedler knows about the teams when he gives his prediction on the games. id say he would be a fair bit off the pace in the footy tipping
MasterOfRoc
8 Jul 2007, 15:26
Im probably looking over something quite obvious...but what is stopping CHFL from becoming A Major League?
Bazza's Army
8 Jul 2007, 16:58
Would bu unusual as now other town has two major leagues based around it. Also the standard is not of a level near major league football, really are mostly small towns with the exception of Beaufort and Daylesford
MasterOfRoc
8 Jul 2007, 17:15
I dont really keep up with the CHFL too much, but are there any clubs within the league that are struggling, as far as mid/longterm survival goes?
The first two that would come to mind would be Creswick and Gordon. I was approached to play for Gordon a few years back and I said "I hate playing on that ground once a year let alone once a fortnight". Its been quite a while since either had a competitive outfit. Noddy Gladman seemed to get Creswick going a bit when he was there, may have had trouble with blokes getting injured if memory serves. Their 2's made the finals a cuppla years running.
Billy the Kid
9 Jul 2007, 10:04
Just wondering how bad the Learmonth footy ground is at the moment? Saw the scores on saturday's game, pretty low, and the conditions weren't that bad! Has it been overused this year and turned it into a slush?
learmonth
9 Jul 2007, 13:06
Just wondering how bad the Learmonth footy ground is at the moment? Saw the scores on saturday's game, pretty low, and the conditions weren't that bad! Has it been overused this year and turned it into a slush?
The ground is in shocking condition, and has had a stack of use, and with all this rain, it just hasnt recovered. Will need a few weeks of dry weather, and windy conditions to get it back to just average conditions. It reminded me of the good old days in Dford, and if we get much more rain, im guessing we will be playing in the same conditions this week.
KBSHERRIN
9 Jul 2007, 16:59
Hey guys just wanting to know how an old mate is goin, havent seen him in a while.. Brad Beseler hes playing for Waubra i think, can anyone tell me how he is goin with his footy?? cheers..
Brendan Shepherd going any good this season???
4#Didak#4
10 Jul 2007, 13:54
100% agree. Skipton & Rokewood would give all but Daylesford & Waubra lots of problems. Box & Dridan are doing enough at Dunnstown to suggest that CHFL quality ain't what its talked up to be. Have not seen a lot of Dunnstown games but they seem to go OK.
dr evil
10 Jul 2007, 14:45
100% agree. Skipton & Rokewood would give all but Daylesford & Waubra lots of problems. Box & Dridan are doing enough at Dunnstown to suggest that CHFL quality ain't what its talked up to be. Have not seen a lot of Dunnstown games but they seem to go OK.
the practice match Dunnstown had against carnhamlinton was a 6 Quarter game with dunnstown fielding most of there better player at the start of the game the scores were wiped at three quater time then carnhams better players went on and yes carnham were up at the end of the game it was not much of a spectical but i have never seen a good game at a practice match yet Skipton have 5 ex Dunnstown players there coach played in three grand finals with Dunnstown i think if my memory is correct winning in 98 99 and m george and brett conroy both played at dunnstown last year the other 2 r dixon who has enough speed he ran at stawell but couldnt make it at dunnstown the other is lench who played jounior footy there and a few reserves games when he was younger he has oviously improved a lot since then.Box is hard at it but his kicking lets him down,proble wood be doing well in b n f along with saws and j cahir. Dridan is a good player i think he won 2 league b n f at lexton.I dont think that chokewood wood get within ten goals of d ford waubra or hepburn,but nor can the rest of the chfl.Dunnstown have injurys to a few of there bigger players and lack a Quality forward so will battle to make the finals p.s c linton wont be any good till the sack troy nunn as fitness coach and give the job to his brother. I wouldnt right c linton of if they get head back at finals time. They r the only side that can beat skipton.
slasher
10 Jul 2007, 22:00
would have to agree with u didak, Savage and Pring both seem to be going well at daylesford, as is watson at bungaree wich all of those three came from the LPFL aswell, and r holding there own:thumbsu:
dogtalk
11 Jul 2007, 09:49
:thumbsu:Hear Michael Sacco is Fighting in Ballarat on July 28th
Should be a good night
napisan
11 Jul 2007, 10:21
You can't compare league's by looking at the top players that swap leagues as these players will play well in most leagues. You need to look at the bottom 5-10 players to really test the strength of a team. An example is that 3 of gordon's bottom 5-10 players left at the end of 2004 and all played in skipton's premiership team in 2005. This cannot say much for the depth of the LPFL .Therefore i'd say skipton would probably finish around the 6-8 region in the CHFL.
Old School Biff
11 Jul 2007, 11:18
You can't compare league's by looking at the top players that swap leagues as these players will play well in most leagues. You need to look at the bottom 5-10 players to really test the strength of a team. An example is that 3 of gordon's bottom 5-10 players left at the end of 2004 and all played in skipton's premiership team in 2005. This cannot say much for the depth of the LPFL .Therefore i'd say skipton would probably finish around the 6-8 region in the CHFL.
It's a never ending debate and I've watched a fair bit of both competitions this year. Skipton and Rokewood are very good teams and very well coached. I would say McKay gets a lot more out of his players than most coaches around Ballarat so that might explain the Gordon players.
Coon and Allen are highly rated out at Clunes and in CHFL circles but they went to Carngham-Linton and couldn't get a kick.
My view is that Skipton and Rokewood would be 4th and 6th in this league respectively. I'd like those 2 teams, Carngham and Illabarook to join the CHFL and scrap the LPFL.
bungareepremiers06
11 Jul 2007, 12:15
be nice to see a 16 team comp with a final 8 system but doesnt seem all that likely.
any predictions to how the ladder(top 7 teams) will pan out before the season hits finals
Off Shore
11 Jul 2007, 12:21
Hey guys just wanting to know how an old mate is goin, havent seen him in a while.. Brad Beseler hes playing for Waubra i think, can anyone tell me how he is goin with his footy?? cheers..
He broke his arm earlier in the year mate but has made a come back played 1s last week and went ok. Has let himself go a bit i would hate to run into him.
AxelFoley#5
11 Jul 2007, 12:39
be nice to see a 16 team comp with a final 8 system but doesnt seem all that likely.
any predictions to how the ladder(top 7 teams) will pan out before the season hits finals
Top 7 will most likely be this IMO:
1 Daylesford (17-0 come finals time)
2 Waubra (16-1)
3 Hepburn (14-3)
4 Learmonth (11-6)
5 Dunnstown (11-6)
-------------------------
6 Bungaree (10-7)
7 Ballan (10-7)
hotdogs23
11 Jul 2007, 20:43
who cares! footy site mum:cool:
hotdogs23
11 Jul 2007, 20:45
:thumbsu:Hear Michael Sacco is Fighting in Ballarat on July 28th
Should be a good night
who cares footy site lady:eek:
Milky13
11 Jul 2007, 23:50
who cares footy site lady:eek:
how would dford go in the rat league with the team they have?
bungareepremiers06
12 Jul 2007, 12:01
Top 7 will most likely be this IMO:
1 Daylesford (17-0 come finals time)
2 Waubra (16-1)
3 Hepburn (14-3)
4 Learmonth (11-6)
5 Dunnstown (11-6)
-------------------------
6 Bungaree (10-7)
7 Ballan (10-7)
yeh can't argue with that one too much. dunnstown are perhaps vulnerable to a loss as are learmonth and even Hepburn. altho it may be just wishful thinking in the hope bunga can scrape in
AxelFoley#5
12 Jul 2007, 12:13
how would dford go in the rat league with the team they have?
Yeah good question...............
Compared to D'ford's list of 2005 (last year in the BFL), there has been a massive turnover of players (players to North City etc.), but the list probably isnt any weaker than then.
Looking at the current BFL ladder I'd say we're better than Bacchus Marsh, Sebastopol (beat them by 10 goals in a praccy match this year), and could probably beat Lakers and Darley. Could also take it up to the Melton sides as well.
So IMO, would probably be about 7th with about 5-6 wins out of 11
learmonth
12 Jul 2007, 12:25
Yeah good question...............
Compared to D'ford's list of 2005 (last year in the BFL), there has been a massive turnover of players (players to North City etc.), but the list probably isnt any weaker than then.
Looking at the current BFL ladder I'd say we're better than Bacchus Marsh, Sebastopol (beat them by 10 goals in a praccy match this year), and could probably beat Lakers and Darley. Could also take it up to the Melton sides as well.
So IMO, would probably be about 7th with about 4-5 wins out of 11
Being a former player, the side is nowhere near as strong as the 2005, the players that they lost included 2 X Nunns, 2 X Beachams, Rahill, 2 X Wrights, Gudgeon, Richardson, Beaston, Lockett, Turnball, Dean, Eltringham and if you go one more year back your looking at Cartledge, Veldhuis, 2 X Lynch, Nolan, Schiller, Cook. Plenty of good players and thats when Dford was a strength in the BFL as those players and the current guns in Winduss, Adams X 2, Obrien, scoble, rodgers etc where all mid 20,s and in their prime.
Now what you must relise is the BFL is a young mans game, full of leg speed and I would see the Dford side of 2007 struggling to beat anyside bar Sebas & B/Marsh.
The Ins 2007 are Keigran, Reeves, Saviage, Pring 2 X Davis and a few young guys with ability. That doesnt weigh up to what they lost over the years and shows how good they are to be a force in the CHFL. If Dford had their 2005 side playing CHFL, they would go through premiers champions by 10 + goals every game against teh top 5
AxelFoley#5
12 Jul 2007, 12:36
Being a former player, the side is nowhere near as strong as the 2005, the players that they lost included 2 X Nunns, 2 X Beachams, Rahill, 2 X Wrights, Gudgeon, Richardson, Beaston, Lockett, Turnball, Dean, Eltringham and if you go one more year back your looking at Cartledge, Veldhuis, 2 X Lynch, Nolan, Schiller, Cook. Plenty of good players and thats when Dford was a strength in the BFL as those players and the current guns in Winduss, Adams X 2, Obrien, scoble, rodgers etc where all mid 20,s and in their prime.
Now what you must relise is the BFL is a young mans game, full of leg speed and I would see the Dford side of 2007 struggling to beat anyside bar Sebas & B/Marsh.
The Ins 2007 are Keigran, Reeves, Saviage, Pring 2 X Davis and a few young guys with ability. That doesnt weigh up to what they lost over the years and shows how good they are to be a force in the CHFL. If Dford had their 2005 side playing CHFL, they would go through premiers champions by 10 + goals every game against teh top 5
Couldnt agree more, I guess when u realise the awesum talent from the past 5-6 years that D'ford have had during the twilight BFL days, imagine the carnage they would inflict on the CHFL! Sometimes we probably forget this though, especially when the current side is sitting 11-0. Just reinforces the difference between the BFL and the CHFL, whereby the 2005 list missed the finals!
dogtalk
12 Jul 2007, 17:26
who cares! footy site mum:cool:
You really have a problem with Sacco don't you !!!
Your grande total of 4 post have all been to trash Sacco
Maybe you should read through more of the posts on this Forum, alot more than Footy's been discused
And in answer to your Question... Going on the numbers that attended his last 2 Fights in Ballarat a lot care
We both know who you are and WHY your hiding behind another alias on this Forum
Keep guessing you may get it right
dogtalk
12 Jul 2007, 18:00
:thumbsu:A lot of people have a great deal of respect for Sacco as a Footballer & a Person, he has a lot of Mate's
Shame you can't say the same "fool":D
WombatWarrior
13 Jul 2007, 16:01
I hear no. 31 for Waubra only got 1 week suspension for his eblow. It was the dirtiest most deliberate act i have ever seen in country footy. Is it Luke Archibald from St Arnaud?:mad:
Harry HP
13 Jul 2007, 17:44
I hear no. 31 for Waubra only got 1 week suspension for his eblow. It was the dirtiest most deliberate act i have ever seen in country footy. Is it Luke Archibald from St Arnaud?:mad:
Nah its Teabag from Fox River.
WombatWarrior
13 Jul 2007, 18:12
Nah its Teabag from Fox River.
How did the dirty maggot only get 1 week for the elbow? All i can say is what goes around comes around.
the umpires spoke to him after the game and offered a 1 match ban which he accepted. he may have 2 or 3 weeks if it had of gone to the tribunal. may have been a bit lucky.
Off Shore
17 Jul 2007, 13:10
Beaufort are shit. They got thumped by Waubra today.
Did you honestly think they could win? Whats your problem with Beaufort they have a young side and are rebuilding.If they keep all their young guys and get some bigger body's that can play they will improve and become a good side . Stick to the goal square and stop talking crap on here, you don't have any knowledge of the game or what it takes to run a club and i don't think anyone takes your input on BF seriously !
Old School Biff
17 Jul 2007, 14:56
Beaufort should have at least been competitive. They played shithouse and were way too slow for Waubra who ran rings around Beaufort.
Gee. That would have been a shock for the punters. Waubra running rings around Beufort. Lucky I'm not a betting man:confused:
Old School Biff
17 Jul 2007, 16:18
They need to change their coaching staff and get some better players. The ones that they have are terrible.
As for you picking on me grow up. Worry about what you post instead of calling me names. :thumbsd::mad: Remember you have to treat people the way how you want to be treated.
Lay off Beaufort then! You called them shit so perhaps the judge not, lest the be judged yourself attitude should be given a rest.
Off Shore
18 Jul 2007, 15:41
I see half of yesterdays post have been deleted and i added to my infraction point list . Boss man if you don't want where is the free bagged why don't you ban her, her posts are crap and make no sense. She bagged Beaufort for not competing with Waubra , they did compete but as everyone knows they are going through a rebuilding stage.I would like to know if anyone on this thread expected anything but a 15 goal plus win to Waubra.
She also said Learmonth would smash Ballan because Ballan are crap what happened...... anyone with any knowledge of this league knows you don't get many easy games on Ballan's small oval. It frustrates people when someone who knows nothing shoots clubs down without a reasonable amount of information to back it up. Where is the free does this often thats why she cops it and thats why you deleted most of her posts . This thread is dying because of crap like that!!!
Billy the Kid
18 Jul 2007, 16:59
Totally agree with you offshore
I see half of yesterdays post have been deleted and i added to my infraction point list . Boss man if you don't want where is the free bagged why don't you ban her, her posts are crap and make no sense. She bagged Beaufort for not competing with Waubra , they did compete but as everyone knows they are going through a rebuilding stage.I would like to know if anyone on this thread expected anything but a 15 goal plus win to Waubra.
She also said Learmonth would smash Ballan because Ballan are crap what happened...... anyone with any knowledge of this league knows you don't get many easy games on Ballan's small oval. It frustrates people when someone who knows nothing shoots clubs down without a reasonable amount of information to back it up. Where is the free does this often thats why she cops it and thats why you deleted most of her posts . This thread is dying because of crap like that!!!
Agree with you Off Shore, but the thread has been on the nose for a while now. I had a bit to say about the abuse a few months back and got a smart arse response from the moderator so I guess they are making a good quid out of it so don't care a lot about the points you or I or others make.
When I first started playing footy, umpires were generally respected, you could give them a spray in the heat of the moment and the good ones would put you in your place quick smart and get on with it. Most of the time you would have a laugh with the ump about it over a beer after the game. Not anymore. The introduction of the yellow/red card system and the 50 metre penalty has seen power corrupted insignificant extras become bigger than the game. The crusade to stop umpire abuse has had the opposite effect. People like where is the free,with chips on their shoulder, who have never played the game, don't understand the culture, passion, emotion, spirit of the game, have taken centre stage and are rubbing peoples noses in it. Umpires now have very little respect and they've brought it on themselves. I feel sorry for the few good ones left. If the blokes running the show at the BFUA had any sense they would sack where is the free before she does any further damage to their plummeting reputation. If the mods on this site were consistent she would be earning infraction points for some of her posts. The 'thug' accusation against Mick Sacco was not only false but slanderous. I've seen him play twice this year, about 10 times for Newlyn in previous seasons and as a junior for Ballarat in U'18s and have only ever seen a bloke who is hard at it with eyes on the footy. Never seen him involved in a fight as where is the free accuses. Don't see any yellow cards against her name though. The girl obviously struggles mentally so maybe they feel sorry for her. Some of the insults sent her way have been a bit heavy at times, but as you point out Off Shore, it's frustrating to read her crap, and, she brings it all on herself.
Mobbenfuhrer
19 Jul 2007, 12:43
If you have a problem with not being able to freely abuse others on this site, go elsewhere.
If you have a problem with what someone else on the site is doing, report it.
If you have a problem with me, either contact me, or contact the blokes who run the show, eg user names Fred, Mad Dog, etc.
When you attempt to abuse someone with a statement calling them stupid, replete with spelling mistakes, how do you know I'm not deleting a post for your own sake!
No matter how you spin it, abuse is not tolerated. Refer to the rules of the site.
Creeker35
19 Jul 2007, 17:36
Perhaps someone could tell me how Chris McGuigan is going this year at Learmonth. Hasn't had much of a mention in the paper and big things were expected from him. Has he been injured or something. Learmonth??
doppelganger
19 Jul 2007, 18:25
Has anyone paid any attention to the Courier voting this year? Other than the fact that Florance's prgressive total went backwards this week (???) Learmonth's Anthony Beacham got a well deserved 3 votes but it was a bit bizarre when Tom Reeves picked up a vote for Daylesford when he was yellow carded in the first qtr & didn't return for the game!!! Also not sure who the Michael Reeves was leading defence as reported by David Bilborough... Yep bring back Ken Hill PLEASE!!!
AxelFoley#5
20 Jul 2007, 10:24
Has anyone paid any attention to the Courier voting this year? Other than the fact that Florance's prgressive total went backwards this week (???) Learmonth's Anthony Beacham got a well deserved 3 votes but it was a bit bizarre when Tom Reeves picked up a vote for Daylesford when he was yellow carded in the first qtr & didn't return for the game!!! Also not sure who the Michael Reeves was leading defence as reported by David Bilborough... Yep bring back Ken Hill PLEASE!!!
Dont think anyone would read much into the Courier votes. Noticed how there is only one player on the leaderboard (Danny Liston) who plays for the top two teams on the ladder, goes to show its a very individualised (if thats a word!) award
learmonth
20 Jul 2007, 10:42
With the voting on the week, it was a joke, not sure who did it (Committee member/Asst Coach?, as I dont do it, but I think it goes to show that noone really cares about that award. It should be more like the BFL rating scale of 5,4,3,2,1, meaning that only the best 5 players get votes. On the weekend, there wasnt one Learmonth player in the best 10, so for our players to get votes is a fast. In my opinion 3-S Winduss 2-L Adams 1- J Adams. I think the 3 chosen were possible Dford's worst on the weekend in my opinion.
learmonth
20 Jul 2007, 10:46
Dont think anyone would read much into the Courier votes. Noticed how there is only one player on the leaderboard (Danny Liston) who plays for the top two teams on the ladder, goes to show its a very individualised (if thats a word!) award
After playing all top sides, Waubra are still favorites in my opinion to win the BIG one at the Northern oval. The only side that could possible beat them is Dford, but are very very reliant on their BIG 4 Windus 2 X Adams and Obrien who are a class ahead of CHFL standard.
With Waubra including Miller, and Landry back this week, will see them strengthen up at the right time.
Off Shore
20 Jul 2007, 10:55
Cox , McKay and Liston are all on the leader board but i agree the voting system suits the players who are in the weak sides . Daylesford have no one on the leader board which i find strange as i would expect Luke Adams to have a good chance of back to back League medals.
Would be interested in peoples opinions on the possible winner for this year.
I'd suggest one of these four L Adams, D Liston, L Cox & A Mckay. Cox and Mckay will steal votes from each other Adams and Liston are always vote winners. Liston has played every game i think and will take some beating this year as he missed half of last year and almost won.