View Full Version : Central Highlands
bungareepremiers06
22 Jul 2007, 21:48
massive win for our boys this week. big ox nicholson with 20 to his boot. anyone think they are a chance of knocking off hepburn in a fortnight?
Off Season
23 Jul 2007, 10:45
Learmonth, I would be interested to hear your appraisal of Saturday's game against Clunes? It turned out to be a lot closer than a lot expected - up until 3/4 time anyway.
Johny Utah
23 Jul 2007, 10:49
massive win for our boys this week. big ox nicholson with 20 to his boot. anyone think they are a chance of knocking off hepburn in a fortnight?
Sounds like he had a day out.
It is a tough gig to take the 4 points at Hepburn.
They can probably only afford to drop 1 match out of the last 4 if they r to remain in the 5. They have a tough run home in Creswick (home) Hepburn, Buninyong & Waubra all away.
Kimbo Slice
23 Jul 2007, 15:04
bunga are a chance but theyd have to be on there game that day. Top effort by nicho to boot 20 big ones and they are cetainly running into a purple patch of form so whos to say whether they can or they cant win against hepburn. Hepburn have got some depth that will make them tuff to beat but bunga might just be a little bit a surprise i think.
Kimbo Slice
23 Jul 2007, 15:11
Sounds like he had a day out.
It is a tough gig to take the 4 points at Hepburn.
They can probably only afford to drop 1 match out of the last 4 if they r to remain in the 5. They have a tough run home in Creswick (home) Hepburn, Buninyong & Waubra all away.
you make some good points there Johny. Should get over creswick and bunny pretty easy for my mind but they will have there work cut out for them against hepburn and waubra I think they cant beat waubra but they are a show against hepburn but only time will tell.
Beaufort are a young and inexperienced side and i think that the Bunga, even though it was a standout performance should move forward and not read to much into it because they will have some stiff opposition coming up and goals won't come as easily
bungareepremiers06
23 Jul 2007, 23:07
yeh they are a talented side but couldnt gel early on. for mine daylesford and waubra are 5 goals better than any other side in the comp so hepburn will be the game they must win. should be a big turnout andthe fact that bunga need the points more is what im gonna hold on to
dogtalk
24 Jul 2007, 07:36
:thumbsu:For something different to do on Saturday Night, Ballarats Badmiton Stadium is Hosting a Fight Night on July 28th... Local Fighters include Michael Sacco (Ballan Footy Club) Tommy Dodgshun, Michael Smith, Billy Dow, Adam Bridges and Brandon Rocca up against fighters from SA, Colloraine, Echuca, Melbourne
With Special guests... World Champ Johnny Famechon, Frank Ropis Welterweight Champ,Paul Ferreri Former Commonwealth Champ and Tony Miller 4 x Australian Champ... 7pm Start "Support the local boys" and have a good night:)
Tickets available from any of the local Guys above or JD's Sports Bar, Rebel Sports or at the Door on the night:cool:
learmonth
24 Jul 2007, 09:58
Learmonth, I would be interested to hear your appraisal of Saturday's game against Clunes? It turned out to be a lot closer than a lot expected - up until 3/4 time anyway.
The ground is very heavy, and by saying heavy i mean sloppy mud, where it is near impossible to even hold onto the footy. Clunes were hard at it early, and had a few bigger bodies around the ball which caused us problems in Young and Slater(Both former players). It took us a while to get our minds right and did keep them to a goal after 1/2 time, though being down by 2 goals a 1/4 time was quite worrying due to the state of the oval.
At this stage, I have said that we shouldnt be playing on it and have requested to have the game this week played elsewhere.
Gonna be a great finish to the year to see who misses out on that 5th spot. In my opinion, only 3 sides can technically finish 4th & 5th due to Ballan's percentage unless they beat Daylesford, in which they will need to make up 150 points.
D-Town V B'Yong (A), Newlyn (A), Waubra (H), D'Ford (H)
Bunga V Creswick (H) Hep (A), B'Yong (A) Waubra (A)
L'Month V Beaufort (H), Creswick (A), Hepburn (H) B'Yong (A)
Only time will tell......
N Bartos
24 Jul 2007, 13:15
The ground is very heavy, and by saying heavy i mean sloppy mud, where it is near impossible to even hold onto the footy. Clunes were hard at it early, and had a few bigger bodies around the ball which caused us problems in Young and Slater(Both former players). It took us a while to get our minds right and did keep them to a goal after 1/2 time, though being down by 2 goals a 1/4 time was quite worrying due to the state of the oval.
At this stage, I have said that we shouldnt be playing on it and have requested to have the game this week played elsewhere.
Gonna be a great finish to the year to see who misses out on that 5th spot. In my opinion, only 3 sides can technically finish 4th & 5th due to Ballan's percentage unless they beat Daylesford, in which they will need to make up 150 points.
Was that Shaun Slater and Shane Young? It must be a few years since Youngy has pulled on the boots.
learmonth
24 Jul 2007, 15:19
Was that Shaun Slater and Shane Young? It must be a few years since Youngy has pulled on the boots.
Spot on. Youngy looked extremly fit, and both played well up too half time.
The ground is very heavy, and by saying heavy i mean sloppy mud, where it is near impossible to even hold onto the footy.
which is worse out of Learmonth and Daylesford. played at Dford a few weeks ago and couldn't get any traction at all. have the board members considered any other grounds to play on or will finish the year off there and potentially miss hosting a final
Youngy had been training for and recently ran a marathon and was in awesome touch early on considering he hasnt played in 3 years. Him and Slates just helped out handles making up the numbers, the clunes boys are struggling for numbers right now and need all the help they can from some senior players to help out the very young list they have currently
Off Shore
24 Jul 2007, 22:26
Will be a great finish this year, i think it will come down to the last round.
I just attempted to work through the last few games and it's to hard to call what is going to happen for a few weeks. Learmonth you would hope to find a ground in better condition than yours to close the percentage gap with Bungaree this week.
Tipping by ladder positions D-Town will make it with 2 more wins.
Learmonth will pip Bungaree with 3 wins.
Bungaree with 2 wins will miss.
Now if it was only that simple. Buninyong are not often a push over all three have to play them. Daylesford Waubra and Hepburn may be vulnerable since they are cemented in . From now to the years end there is no room for a slip up but great to see a battle for the final 2 spots.
learmonth
25 Jul 2007, 09:25
which is worse out of Learmonth and Daylesford. played at Dford a few weeks ago and couldn't get any traction at all. have the board members considered any other grounds to play on or will finish the year off there and potentially miss hosting a final
Played at dford 2 weeks ago and the dford oval is the MCG compared to L'Month at the moment. Shocking conditions and not acceptable for footy in my opinion. The club is looking at other avenues to play at...
AxelFoley#5
25 Jul 2007, 16:29
Im guessin your a Waubra boy, you've got Vic Park on a bad day twice in two years! Its much better now, wasnt too bad for Learmonth game a fortnight ago and with the last couple of days is travelling alright again
Off Shore
27 Jul 2007, 12:33
2 big games on Saturday Dunnstown V Buninyong and Waubra V Hepburn.
D-town have more to play for and should win but it's a real danger game .
Finals preview for Waubra and Hepburn i think another tight game is on the cards . Home ground advantage and getting toward full strength should get Waubra over the line in a close one.
Any thoughts.
Off Season
27 Jul 2007, 16:13
2 big games on Saturday Dunnstown V Buninyong and Waubra V Hepburn.
D-town have more to play for and should win but it's a real danger game .
Finals preview for Waubra and Hepburn i think another tight game is on the cards . Home ground advantage and getting toward full strength should get Waubra over the line in a close one.
Any thoughts.
Dunnstown to beat Buninyong.
Waubra to beat Hepburn
Bunga easy over Creswick
Learmonth easy over Beaufort
Clunes in a tight one against Springbank
Daylesford by 40 goals against Gordon (if it's dry, 25-30 goals if it's wet)
Ballan in a close one against Newlyn
Gruss Monkey
31 Jul 2007, 09:24
Anyone know any of the results from the tribunal last night?
N Bartos
31 Jul 2007, 11:16
Anyone know any of the results from the tribunal last night?
Who had to front the tribunal and what for? Hadn't heard of any reports from the weekend.
Billy the Kid
31 Jul 2007, 11:36
The big Cheif Brown from Hepburn gave number 5 from Waubra a good whack in the stomach, right in front of the umpire. Not sure what the results were from the hearing.
StanTsaikos
31 Jul 2007, 11:55
The big Cheif Brown from Hepburn gave number 5 from Waubra a good whack in the stomach, right in front of the umpire. Not sure what the results were from the hearing.
Is he still going around? He would nearly have life membership at the tribunal by now wouldn't he. Lets hope for his sake he got 8 weeks to put an end to the frustrated old mans career!!:thumbsu:
val perovic woof
31 Jul 2007, 14:33
Is he still going around? He would nearly have life membership at the tribunal by now wouldn't he. Lets hope for his sake he got 8 weeks to put an end to the frustrated old mans career!!:thumbsu:
He got off...............
onthecouch
1 Aug 2007, 00:15
bunga are a chance but theyd have to be on there game that day. Top effort by nicho to boot 20 big ones and they are cetainly running into a purple patch of form so whos to say whether they can or they cant win against hepburn. Hepburn have got some depth that will make them tuff to beat but bunga might just be a little bit a surprise i think.
How is Chris Okeefe going, been in the best heaps of late, is he a dominant player in this competition.Heard he is quick and very good have not seen him play for years.
Thoughts ???
Creature of Habit
1 Aug 2007, 17:58
Does anyone know how Luke Griffiths is going at Clunes?
Barbydoll
1 Aug 2007, 20:24
chief has been reported only twice in 18 years fool
must admit the old and frustrated is clode to the mark
Barbydoll
1 Aug 2007, 20:25
chief has been reported only twice in 18 years fool(both this year)
must admit the old and frustrated is close to the mark
Barbydoll
1 Aug 2007, 20:41
Dunnstown to beat Buninyong.
Waubra to beat Hepburn
Bunga easy over Creswick
Learmonth easy over Beaufort
Clunes in a tight one against Springbank
Daylesford by 40 goals against Gordon (if it's dry, 25-30 goals if it's wet)
Ballan in a close one against Newlyn
After last weeks results Daylesford ,(Despite what happened at the ball!),appear unbeatable for the flag. Bungaree,Dunnstown and Buninyong would now be thinking twice about voting to let them in the CHFL.
Astro Boy
2 Aug 2007, 09:07
After last weeks results Daylesford ,(Despite what happened at the ball!),appear unbeatable for the flag. Bungaree,Dunnstown and Buninyong would now be thinking twice about voting to let them in the CHFL.
What happened at the BAll ???
the_don88
2 Aug 2007, 11:02
I'd hardly call it a good whack. At best it was a love tap. Number 5 was having a good cry about it though. Sources told me that Young gun Archibald was whispering his ear that time on hadnt been called off yet so he was waisting time cause they were only up by a goal.
I'm surprised you know about that Don. Werent you out half the night Friday night and spent most of Saturday sleeping off a nasty hangover???
Astro Boy
2 Aug 2007, 12:50
I'm surprised you know about that Don. Werent you out half the night Friday night and spent most of Saturday sleeping off a nasty hangover???
SHHH SHHHHH DON.
Gruss Monkey
2 Aug 2007, 13:20
He was off hidding with his tail between his legs after the spray he copped at 1/4 time in the peckers.
Billy the Kid
2 Aug 2007, 13:41
Watched the Waubra/Hepburn game on saturday, it was the don's best game of the year!! He was unstoppable running drinks out for his teamates....
Tommy Hughes
2 Aug 2007, 16:46
Watched the Waubra/Hepburn game on saturday, it was the don's best game of the year!! He was unstoppable running drinks out for his teamates....
I think thats wat archibald should be doing, running drinks out to the players on a saturday arvo, how that bloke can keep getting a game is beyond me. But if he did happen to get dropped and had to the run the drinks the coach would want to make sure that it is actually water that his running out
Madroota69
2 Aug 2007, 17:34
Yeah barbydoll?? what did happen at the ball im quite interested in your rumours? And by the way shit name!
bungareepremiers06
2 Aug 2007, 18:00
chris okeefe had a poor start to the year but has hit form along with the rst of the team in recent weeks. the newlyn game was the turning point of the season for bunga and have been a much better side since. be very interesting to seehow they perform with thier season on the line this week
Off Season
2 Aug 2007, 18:34
Does anyone know how Luke Griffiths is going at Clunes?
griffo has been very good in some games, good in most, and quiet in a couple. he played an outstanding 2nd half against springbank on the wknd and probably should have kicked 4-5 in the last qtr.
when i've been out at training this year i haven't seen him at training once, which suggests he either doesn't like the cold nights out at clunes or he has work committments. either way, i think a good pre-season would see him playing very good football on a more consistent basis.
Who do we all think is going to miss the 5 out of bunga, learmonth and dunnstown? I still think bunga are going to be lucky to make it considering their draw.
Duck Hunter
3 Aug 2007, 13:43
Does anyone know who is the Thompson that is in the two's for Daylesford. Is it Dave Thompson? Surely not. He has been a gun player and goalkicking machine for Daylesford over the years.
AxelFoley#5
3 Aug 2007, 13:46
Does anyone know who is the Thompson that is in the two's for Daylesford. Is it Dave Thompson? Surely not. He has been a gun player and goalkicking machine for Daylesford over the years.
Yeah its Dave. Coming back from injury and getting some touch back. He'll be primed come finals time.
Off Season
3 Aug 2007, 13:47
You would have to think he wouldn't be far off a return to the 1's.
Creature of Habit
7 Aug 2007, 13:10
griffo has been very good in some games, good in most, and quiet in a couple. he played an outstanding 2nd half against springbank on the wknd and probably should have kicked 4-5 in the last qtr.
when i've been out at training this year i haven't seen him at training once, which suggests he either doesn't like the cold nights out at clunes or he has work committments. either way, i think a good pre-season would see him playing very good football on a more consistent basis.
Who do we all think is going to miss the 5 out of bunga, learmonth and dunnstown? I still think bunga are going to be lucky to make it considering their draw.
That's good to hear. Although I doubt whether he is capable of kicking 4-5 goals in a quarter... I've heard on the grapevine that he is using EPO and someone should drug test the guy. It's not fair on the rest of the competition.
Creature of Habit
7 Aug 2007, 13:12
Has Paul Dodds been getting a kick at Waubra? Saw that he was dropped the other week for hanging around Matt Lockett from Learmonth... Can anyone confirm this?
Astro Boy
7 Aug 2007, 13:36
Has Paul Dodds been getting a kick at Waubra? Saw that he was dropped the other week for hanging around Matt Lockett from Learmonth... Can anyone confirm this?
Pauline has been in good form since he cut all ties with Lockett.
Any word on where the finals maybe played this year?
What state r the ground in??
learmonth
7 Aug 2007, 16:05
And why would he be dropped for that.........Ridiculous comment. They are best mates and continue to hang around with one another. So where you heard that rumor from, it would be wrong, otherwise Ild guess he will be dropped this week again due to playing basketball together on a Wednesdat night!
ohwhenthesaints
7 Aug 2007, 16:30
That would be better than hanging around the other Matt at Learmonth, the Hines variety. Apparently he went back to his home town and fleeced his mates of Cougar cans. The poor blokes had nothing to drink once 6am in the morning rolled around. Tommy Hughes was very dissapointed.:thumbsu:
Madroota69
7 Aug 2007, 17:42
That's good to hear. Although I doubt whether he is capable of kicking 4-5 goals in a quarter... I've heard on the grapevine that he is using EPO and someone should drug test the guy. It's not fair on the rest of the competition.
is this jason akermanis??
Off Season
7 Aug 2007, 17:54
is this jason akermanis??
a poor impersonation of aker i reckon. on what basis do you make that statement about epo? what a ridiculous suggestion. maybe you should get yourself drug tested...
Madroota69
9 Aug 2007, 17:17
a poor impersonation of aker i reckon. on what basis do you make that statement about epo? what a ridiculous suggestion. maybe you should get yourself drug tested...
Are you telling me to get drug tested or are you refering to creature?? if you are mate you need improve on the way you comment on quotes.
Off Season
9 Aug 2007, 18:37
Are you telling me to get drug tested or are you refering to creature?? if you are mate you need improve on the way you comment on quotes.
Referring to COH mate
ohwhenthesaints
10 Aug 2007, 14:53
BTK- Is Rohan Brown still getting a game in the 1's down there?
Blue Ball Fever
12 Aug 2007, 11:06
Well done to Gordon on their win.
Off Season
13 Aug 2007, 10:40
Well done to Gordon on their win.
Not a bad win by Clunes over Ballan either. Fair to say the loss didn't go down too well with most of the Ballan players - from the sidelines, it didn't appear to be a good demonstration of sportsmanship.
What happened to Malcolm Scott? Is he still coaching out there?
Kimbo Slice
13 Aug 2007, 11:07
Its a big week for learmonth with them hoping bunga do not get over waubra and them needing a win against the bunnys. should make for some good footy on the weekend who are we all tipping to take 5th spot?
wellman6
13 Aug 2007, 11:12
i recon learmonth hav bunninyong measure, leaving dunstown in trouble
roaring tiger
13 Aug 2007, 11:30
i recon learmonth hav bunninyong measure, leaving dunstown in trouble
From what i hear learmonth had 8 out of there senior team on the weekend so AJ would hoping they can all play this weekend. I think dunnstown are in trouble unless they can beat d'ford.
wellman6
13 Aug 2007, 11:34
dunstown beat daylesford that a bit of a long shot dont you think, who do ppl think is best player in league
AxelFoley#5
13 Aug 2007, 11:36
dunstown beat daylesford that a bit of a long shot dont you think, who do ppl think is best player in league
See other thread dedicated to that
learmonth
13 Aug 2007, 11:43
Its a big week for learmonth with them hoping bunga do not get over waubra and them needing a win against the bunnys. should make for some good footy on the weekend who are we all tipping to take 5th spot?
Massive week of footy, I myself think Dunnstown is safe and will keep their spot as I see it very hard in Bunga beating Waubra at home. Bunga will need Buninyong to beat L'Month to make it in my opinion. Dford and Waubra are a long way in front of the other sides as they have gun forwards who are versatile, depth in the midfield, key backs and a good bunch of experienced and youth.
Learmonth will consider many players this week, and the majority should be available- Sam Basham, M Lockett, W Veldhuis, J Cantwell, N Bone, P McGuigan, A Davies with Myself Aj & Sobes doubtful but may still play!
wellman6
13 Aug 2007, 11:52
Massive week of footy, I myself think Dunnstown is safe and will keep their spot as I see it very hard in Bunga beating Waubra at home. Bunga will need Buninyong to beat L'Month to make it in my opinion. Dford and Waubra are a long way in front of the other sides as they have gun forwards who are versatile, depth in the midfield, key backs and a good bunch of experienced and youth.
Learmonth will consider many players this week, and the majority should be available- Sam Basham, M Lockett, W Veldhuis, J Cantwell, N Bone, P McGuigan, A Davies with Myself Aj & Sobes doubtful but may still play!
after evaluating the ladder a very good summary. learmonth and buninyong probably biggest game in round to shake up the finals series. any idea on who will win this game and why
Kimbo Slice
13 Aug 2007, 11:55
how did you go against bunninyong last time learmonth?
FootyFan235
13 Aug 2007, 12:20
Are the two players i bolded a genuine chance??? I haven't heard a peep about either McGuigan all year... has pat even played? and haven't seen A.davies in the teams much either? what has happened to him.
No suprises either to see the hepburn boys making a fuss about the conditions on the weekend, found it a bit rich to mention the club rooms tho, from my experience have seen the away rooms at learmonth to be not bad, far better than most!!
learmonth
13 Aug 2007, 12:49
how did you go against bunninyong last time learmonth?
We played our best game for the season against them last time and beat them by around 8-10 goals from memory. It will be a lot tougher this week, as we are playing no where near as well when we met them 1st time.
learmonth
13 Aug 2007, 12:51
Are the two players i bolded a genuine chance??? I haven't heard a peep about either McGuigan all year... has pat even played? and haven't seen A.davies in the teams much either? what has happened to him.
No suprises either to see the hepburn boys making a fuss about the conditions on the weekend, found it a bit rich to mention the club rooms tho, from my experience have seen the away rooms at learmonth to be not bad, far better than most!!
Pat McGuigan has played 3 games this season, and A Davies has been injured. He is still the joint captain of the Learmonth FC and is 50/50 to play this week. Would be a great inclusion with his hardness and experience that eh can offer, and Paddy's defensive pressure and smarts around the goals would be a great inclusion....
wellman6
13 Aug 2007, 12:52
especially far betta than hepburn change rooms!
bungareepremiers06
13 Aug 2007, 13:49
the hepburn away rooms are disgusting. especially compared to there own rooms which are as big as afl rooms. maybe they should think about improving there own rooms before they go mouthing learmonth whose away rooms are up there with the best
Off Season
13 Aug 2007, 13:58
the hepburn away rooms are disgusting. especially compared to there own rooms which are as big as afl rooms. maybe they should think about improving there own rooms before they go mouthing learmonth whose away rooms are up there with the best
Agree totally. It was a cheap shot from Hepburn. If he was guna have a crack at the Learmonth rooms he should have also mentioned the pile of sh!t that accumulates along the boundary line at Hepburn home games every time one of their supporters opens their mouth.
bungareepremiers06
13 Aug 2007, 15:51
haha yeh couldnt agree more. perhaps they should watch there language from the boundary line as well, especially during under 15 games.
Footy01
13 Aug 2007, 16:02
Hepburn is always under attack from a few people on this thread.. I was at the Ballan V Clunes game on Saturday and both of these clubs spectators were yelling all types of things out... like a few spectators from all clubs do! Besides who does sit and watch football and doesn't yell from the sidelines?? Positive or negative, Its a part of the sport and all clubs I bet have the same problem.....
Off Season
13 Aug 2007, 16:22
Hepburn is always under attack from a few people on this thread.. I was at the Ballan V Clunes game on Saturday and both of these clubs spectators were yelling all types of things out... like a few spectators from all clubs do! Besides who does sit and watch football and doesn't yell from the sidelines?? Positive or negative, Its a part of the sport and all clubs I bet have the same problem.....
What did u make of the Ballan/Clunes game? I thought it was quite a good game to watch.
From the sidelines it looked as though Ballan was home at 1/2 time, but once Clunes kicked a few early ones in the 3rd qtr it was interesting to see Ballan players frequently arguing with each other - or at least that's what it looked like.
As soon as Clunes hit the front Ballan seemed more interested in arguing with each other and the umpire, rather than getting the lead back.
bungareepremiers06
13 Aug 2007, 16:22
oh im not denying it but i think its a different case out there. i could be biased seein as how i have a deep hate for hepburn but i just find them to be arrogant and rude. all senior games attract those comments but in hepburns case, blatantly abusing 12-13 year olds is not on.
Bigburra
14 Aug 2007, 17:30
Are hepburn the biggest bunch of big girls blouse or what??
Carpet in the rooms.....what a joke, go have a cry about it :eek:
Its always a mud slinging match against hepburn, even if the ground is dry as a bone.
Way to try an get into the BFL........ squeal like pigs and cry like babies.
Maybe the chfl should be investigating whether hepburn are fielding a side of females....... thats against the rules isnt it!!
:D:D:D:D:D:D
Learmonths ground is bad, but come 2008 you will all be begging to play on it again!!!!!!
Sad league we play in mate, if a couple of teams made up of 'girls' can have such a dominance in all of the football division. Every1 of our teams is in the five, whats that say about the other clubs?
Off Season
14 Aug 2007, 18:12
Sad league we play in mate, if a couple of teams made up of 'girls' can have such a dominance in all of the football division. Every1 of our teams is in the five, whats that say about the other clubs?
Considering you're in the know out at the 'burra, can you tell me what the total player payments figure is for the senior side?
dr evil
16 Aug 2007, 01:11
Bungaree's slow start to the season may cost it a finals spot.But the balls in there court if the win there in if the loose there proble out,so there finals start now.Dunnstowns poor percentage could cost them dearly.Learmonth if they win there in.Of these sides Bungaree is proble more capable of doing damage in the finals,but its do or die saturday and waubra are building for the finals and in my oppinion on paper are stronger than last year with landry and nicolson coming into there squad and now with miller back they r the only side in Daylesfords way ,hepburn will disagree. But they seam more concerned about getting muddy or not getting muddy, for mine Learmonth will play Dunnstown in the elimination and the winner will be eliminated the following week by hepburn. And if hepburn do get a crack at Daylesford it will be good to watch
Off Season
20 Aug 2007, 11:40
What are everyone's selections for the 1st week of finals?
I reckon Waubra and Hepburn will be a cracker of a match, with Waubra to get over the line...just.
Dunnstown v Learmonth is a real tough game to call. Where is it being played? I think the result will depend largely on the conditions. If it's wet and windy I think Dunnstown will prevail in a low scoring affair, but if it's dry and the ground is in reasonable nick, Learmonth might have too much run.
bungareepremiers06
20 Aug 2007, 12:55
waubra were awsum on the weekend. theyll destroy hepburn and dunnstown will be too good for learmonth
the_don88
20 Aug 2007, 15:34
Having the one week off could prove very handy, but if you have two rests in three weeks, dont you think you might lose a bit of touch? Can be very handy though, Waubra was helped cause of the break last year, Hepburn got a few injuries through the finals series which contributed to the lose. What are your thoughts on the double break?
Gruss Monkey
20 Aug 2007, 17:34
Having the one week off could prove very handy, but if you have two rests in three weeks, dont you think you might lose a bit of touch? Can be very handy though, Waubra was helped cause of the break last year, Hepburn got a few injuries through the finals series which contributed to the lose. What are your thoughts on the double break?
It depends on a number of factors such as the weather, the closeness of the games, injuries and how many old blokes you have in your team. The old blokes certainly benefit out of resting their bodies. I reckon Daylesford were unlucky last year to have to play such a tough game against Hepburn in the first week and then they had to play a fresh Waubra on a big firm ground (Learmonth), on a bloody hot day. I reckon they would have been spent for the week after against Hepburn while Waubra were enjoying a week off. Hepburn's older lads like Brown, Grant and Raak would have been pretty spent by the time the GF came around in comparison to Waubra's older boys like PK, Liston, Steppa and Dom Clark.
A fit team will be able to backup after a tough qualifying final. Just need to hope that the injuries are kept to a minimum. It's interesting that in the last couple of years the teams that have met in the qualifying final have also met in the prelim but the there has been a 10 goal turnaround both years!
football fan
20 Aug 2007, 23:01
Heard that a couple of the hepburn players got reported on the weekend. Does anybody know the result and if found guilty how will it effect the finals campaign?
DfordDog
21 Aug 2007, 11:17
Heard that a couple of the hepburn players got reported on the weekend. Does anybody know the result and if found guilty how will it effect the finals campaign?
I heard it was Sheppard and Leehane. Not 100% tho. Can anyone confirm?
Archie Threadbo
21 Aug 2007, 11:20
I heard it was Sheppard and Leehane. Not 100% tho. Can anyone confirm?
I know Sheppard was reported for kicking a Springbank player in the head. Smart move going in to finals and also against a weaker team.:confused:
DfordDog
21 Aug 2007, 12:17
I know Sheppard was reported for kicking a Springbank player in the head. Smart move going in to finals and also against a weaker team.:confused:
Are you sure? I heard Leehane was the one that kicked someone. Once again, may be wrong. Heard he got 2 weeks for it. Surely someone knows who and what?
redrocket
22 Aug 2007, 12:59
Are you sure? I heard Leehane was the one that kicked someone. Once again, may be wrong. Heard he got 2 weeks for it. Surely someone knows who and what?
Leehane got two weeks. Probebly deserved more as the fella he was laying into had a dilocated shoulder at the time. Sheppard is up tonight as they could not get in contact with the fella that he kicked on monday.
Johny Utah
23 Aug 2007, 09:46
Leehane got two weeks. Probebly deserved more as the fella he was laying into had a dilocated shoulder at the time. Sheppard is up tonight as they could not get in contact with the fella that he kicked on monday.
Any results from last night??
Archie Threadbo
23 Aug 2007, 11:15
Any results from last night??
He got off. A Springbank player copped a week for running in and dragging a bloke off a teammate who was being belted by 3 Hepburn players while laying on the ground with a dislocated shoulder.:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:
dr evil
24 Aug 2007, 01:06
he was not the first player sheppard has dune that to his year time bomb ticking away.
dr evil
24 Aug 2007, 01:14
I here Learmonth ar resting sobey so he will be right for the hepburn game Dunnstown wont have the height and strength to go with Learmonth AJ has them peaking at the right time of year
Bdiddy18
26 Aug 2007, 18:24
I here Learmonth ar resting sobey so he will be right for the hepburn game Dunnstown wont have the height and strength to go with Learmonth AJ has them peaking at the right time of year
Looks like AJ and Sobey have got the whole pre season now to rest up
the dunnstown pope
26 Aug 2007, 18:52
Good win for Dunnstown today. They kept running all day and ended up being too good for Learmonth. AJ's stats wouldn't have looked too good, he hardly touched the pill and looked slow. Had a listen to him at 3/4 time and he spoke well but it wasn't to be their day. I think the Towners will struggle next weekend but at least they are still alive.
Johny Utah
26 Aug 2007, 21:22
Went and had a look at today's game. I was surprised when Learmonth took to the ground...looked like many of the boys had been in a good paddock this season. They definitely didn't have the running game that they are renown for. You can get away with having a few fat dogs in your team but they certainly had a few too many. A good win for Dunnstown.
Billy the Kid
27 Aug 2007, 10:26
Tonight is the league vote count, would like to read people's thought's on who will take home the medal?
For me I reckon the top 4 will go something like this...
Winner: Danny Liston (Been in terrific form all year and is reknowned for polling well, would be a well deserved winner)
Runner-Up: Luke Adams ( Once again a great season from a outstanding player, a lot of good players in the one side will take the votes he needs for back to back medals)
3. Scott Winduss (Best ruckman going around, always gives his onballers first use, sure to get a lot of votes)
4. Andy McKay (Talented little man with a huge leap, who always catches the eye of the umpires, 50+ goals from a midfielder/forward, another great year)
Other players that will poll well but won't get enough votes to win it, Lee Cox, Glenn Handley, Hayden Cartledge, Leith Pellisier, Brenton Powell, Wade Veldhuis, Dave Florence, Lee Brown, Bryce Nichollson, Aaron Sawyers & Joe Gilbert.
DfordDog
27 Aug 2007, 16:19
Tonight is the league vote count, would like to read people's thought's on who will take home the medal?
For me I reckon the top 4 will go something like this...
Winner: Danny Liston (Been in terrific form all year and is reknowned for polling well, would be a well deserved winner)
Runner-Up: Luke Adams ( Once again a great season from a outstanding player, a lot of good players in the one side will take the votes he needs for back to back medals)
3. Scott Winduss (Best ruckman going around, always gives his onballers first use, sure to get a lot of votes)
4. Andy McKay (Talented little man with a huge leap, who always catches the eye of the umpires, 50+ goals from a midfielder/forward, another great year)
Other players that will poll well but won't get enough votes to win it, Lee Cox, Glenn Handley, Hayden Cartledge, Leith Pellisier, Brenton Powell, Wade Veldhuis, Dave Florence, Lee Brown, Bryce Nichollson, Aaron Sawyers & Joe Gilbert.
As much as id like to see Luke Adams win it back to back (me being a dford man), i do think Liston will win it. He polled very well last year and only played half the season. I think he actually didnt lose by much.
There are players in the league that will get no votes that are very valuable. Their team mates know it but the umpires dont. Thats the way it goes tho.
So yeah, Liston for mine.
Off Season
27 Aug 2007, 17:36
As much as id like to see Luke Adams win it back to back (me being a dford man), i do think Liston will win it. He polled very well last year and only played half the season. I think he actually didnt lose by much.
There are players in the league that will get no votes that are very valuable. Their team mates know it but the umpires dont. Thats the way it goes tho.
So yeah, Liston for mine.
I agree totally. It's always the same names that get bandied around for these types of awards.
From my experience, it's common that players who win or poll very well in league B&F's are the flashy types, whereas those who win and poll well in club B&F's are the dour, team-orientated players who put the team ahead of any individual recognition.
Any team looking to win a flag must have a balance between these types of players.
Fence Sitter
27 Aug 2007, 20:22
I agree totally. It's always the same names that get bandied around for these types of awards.
From my experience, it's common that players who win or poll very well in league B&F's are the flashy types, whereas those who win and poll well in club B&F's are the dour, team-orientated players who put the team ahead of any individual recognition.
Any team looking to win a flag must have a balance between these types of players.
I reckon Mckay has had great year and is big chance, Luke Adams will be up there and so wil liston, however I reckon the smokey is Handley.
Fence Sitter
27 Aug 2007, 20:26
Looks like AJ and Sobey have got the whole pre season now to rest up
Bdiddy, AJ packed it in weeks ago, he knew the list that he was spuiking about backin January was crap, it was such a good side where are they now. They had the softest draw of the top 8 clubs, so they will say they played finals. At least we will live to fight another day, Towners have got the game going though, will be tough. But reckon we get through and tackle D'ford next week. Waubra are too slick.:eek:
I agree that players who poll well in the league B&F's will not always do as well in their own clubs B&F but I wouldn't say that the likes of Adams and Liston are not team players. i would think that most experienced players would rather be a contributer to a succesful team
thekid178
28 Aug 2007, 07:55
Luke Adams made it back to back last night with a runaway victory over Jamie Wilson of Newlyn.
I take it Wilson was a surprise packet considering no one mentioned him here yesterday... Pretty good effort in a side that didn't win a heap of games.
Jamie Grant in the 2's was no real surprise either
N Bartos
28 Aug 2007, 11:40
Luke Adams made it back to back last night with a runaway victory over Jamie Wilson of Newlyn.
I take it Wilson was a surprise packet considering no one mentioned him here yesterday... Pretty good effort in a side that didn't win a heap of games.
Jamie Grant in the 2's was no real surprise either
Does anyone have the top ten and how many votes they polled. No suprise with Adams or Grant winning, massive suprise with Wilson polling so many.
Tommy Hughes
28 Aug 2007, 17:34
Does anyone have the top ten and how many votes they polled. No suprise with Adams or Grant winning, massive suprise with Wilson polling so many.
Where was the likes of gun backliners biggin and archibald , they would of have had to picture high among the votes
Greg Middleton
28 Aug 2007, 23:41
These two players dont need votes they thrive on the pressure of finals footy and both did their part against Hepburn. Good to see the Waubra reserves get up. So Waubra or Daylesford on the weekend? doesnt really matter i guess because they will see each other in the Grand Final again...