View Full Version : Central Highlands

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35

ExtendTheDukes
21 Dec 2007, 14:35
Wrong surname, the name I was told as new coach was Wayne Sherridan

dr evil
22 Dec 2007, 09:54
springbank wood be bitter to loose tranquilli and cook to b'yong porter plant putting in HEAPS$$$$$$$$$ a bit surprizing that they wood play under gilbert tranquilli will be a big inclusion but i think cook is over the hill and proble over payed though might be handy in heavy conditions

dog03
23 Dec 2007, 16:37
Word getting around has it that Bunga are going to loose quite a few next year and may struggle. Anyone from the club able to comment about players leaving and possible pick ups?

Any names? Or just a rumour?

Johny Utah
30 Dec 2007, 10:32
springbank wood be bitter to loose tranquilli and cook to b'yong porter plant putting in HEAPS$$$$$$$$$ a bit surprizing that they wood play under gilbert tranquilli will be a big inclusion but i think cook is over the hill and proble over payed though might be handy in heavy conditions

I hear they have offered him $200 per game base, plus $100 per goal.
how old is AT? 37
Surely he is not worth this.....

Have heard that East point are having a crack as well.

cowboy8
1 Jan 2008, 14:33
Does any1 know when the fixture is out?

ROOSTER1
1 Jan 2008, 19:07
I hear they have offered him $200 per game base, plus $100 per goal.
how old is AT? 37
Surely he is not worth this.....

Have heard that East point are having a crack as well.

This would be all speculation. I don't know many sides or players that would go around telling people what they are getting paid. He is a very good player and worth at least 500-700 per game. He would need to kick four goals per game to get what he is worth. I dont like seeing sides offer money for goals- why would you ever pass it off??

nonamehack
6 Jan 2008, 17:06
This is the first time that I've posted on here, was just wondering if people think anyone in the bottom 5 teams can push up and challenge for the finals next year? I haven't played in this league before but have played a couple of the teams in practice matches so wonder what everyones thoughts are.

Also is there anywhere that i would be able to find netball results from last year? I know the VCFL website has the football but cant find the ladder for the netball? Any help would be appreciated.

Off Season
7 Jan 2008, 13:09
This is the first time that I've posted on here, was just wondering if people think anyone in the bottom 5 teams can push up and challenge for the finals next year? I haven't played in this league before but have played a couple of the teams in practice matches so wonder what everyones thoughts are.

Also is there anywhere that i would be able to find netball results from last year? I know the VCFL website has the football but cant find the ladder for the netball? Any help would be appreciated.

Expect Clunes to struggle again this season. As far as I'm aware the club hasn't yet appointed a senior coach for 2008 - which at this time of year must be a real concern.

Can anyone clarify where Glen Handley is playing this season? Has he re-signed as a Clunes player or is he heading elsewhere? Would be a major disapointment if he was to leave the club.

Snoopsta
11 Jan 2008, 11:28
Does anyone know how ex-Bunga strong man Glenn Kerr is going with his first senior coaching role at Crewsick, heard that they have been very busy down Geelong way and have signed a few already. Will need to recruit 10 plus players to be competative.

wonker
11 Jan 2008, 16:19
Can anyone clarify where Glen Handley is playing this season? Has he re-signed as a Clunes player or is he heading elsewhere? Would be a major disapointment if he was to leave the club.[/quote]

Could it be Maryborough Rovers in the MCDFL?

Animal
11 Jan 2008, 23:31
Hook Line and Sinker.......hehe..... but predictable.

Simply put i saw it as a window of opportunity to highlight the simalarities learmonth and eromsil posts have...given ur words back to u basically
As for the north rumour one of me mates told me, just wanted to prove him wrong....but rather touchy on the subject arnt u? :confused:

How did the jewellery shopping go yesterday...... and is one of ur senior players still hanging around blue light disco's ??

Maybe i do know a thing or two :eek:

Ok so you spend your time spying on Learmonth footballers, Good stuff :thumbsd:

RedBalls
12 Jan 2008, 11:04
Ok so you spend your time spying on Learmonth footballers, Good stuff :thumbsd:
Nah just the arrogant prick ignored a certain sumone that day!
Heard a few whispers from people in the know as well.
Guessing u would be the pretty boy seen fairy footing it avoiding the mud for coin toss last season??
The fan club comes to the rescue :D

Animal
13 Jan 2008, 00:38
Nah just the arrogant prick ignored a certain sumone that day!
Heard a few whispers from people in the know as well.
Guessing u would be the pretty boy seen fairy footing it avoiding the mud for coin toss last season??
The fan club comes to the rescue :D

Mate you've lost me, all i can go with from that is that you are having a crack at the 2007 learmonth captain who i think you will find is no longer at the club. So no that is not me. Might wanna check with your fan club again.
Beacham was probley ignoring you because your a deadbeat, i bet you get that alot.

RedBalls
13 Jan 2008, 06:59
Mate you've lost me, all i can go with from that is that you are having a crack at the 2007 learmonth captain who i think you will find is no longer at the club. So no that is not me. Might wanna check with your fan club again.
Beacham was probley ignoring you because your a deadbeat, i bet you get that alot.
I was refering to beachams fan club, which ur obviously part of!
Mate, we had a crack at the learmonth coach, which was just a bit of a dig, initially meant as smart ass fun.....but the bull shit that came out in his response was such dribble!! Adopted.... jeez deal with ur issues aj!
Being a deadbeat, i didnt get the chance to know him personally, (which was lucky really) but it was a teenage boy known very well to me that he choose to ignore that day. Discussion was over idiot, why bring it back?

Lakers to go well in the BFL in 08 posted by u in BFL thread....isnt that where the ex-learmonth captain is headed animal, must be a coincidence ??;)

Animal
13 Jan 2008, 21:22
I was refering to beachams fan club, which ur obviously part of!
Mate, we had a crack at the learmonth coach, which was just a bit of a dig, initially meant as smart ass fun.....but the bull shit that came out in his response was such dribble!! Adopted.... jeez deal with ur issues aj!
Being a deadbeat, i didnt get the chance to know him personally, (which was lucky really) but it was a teenage boy known very well to me that he choose to ignore that day. Discussion was over idiot, why bring it back?

Lakers to go well in the BFL in 08 posted by u in BFL thread....isnt that where the ex-learmonth captain is headed animal, must be a coincidence ??;)

Good one Brains. Your My Hero.
Where do i sign up for your fanclub?

Animal
13 Jan 2008, 21:26
Ok had ur fun, time to move on.

Not much talk bout the fixture for 2008, whos happy and whos not :D

Which of the top teams has the easier draw?
Who has the easiest run home?
My thoughts..
Daylesford have Clunes Beaufort Creswick & Hepburn twice, so based on this years performance (not knowing transfers) they would hav a easy run with Hepburn being only threat.
Waubra have Learmonth Springbank Gordon & Bungaree, a bit harder with all but gordon finishing in the top part of the ladder.
Hepburn hav gordon ballan newlyn & daylesford twice, also a possible easy run with the exception of the final round.

Yes moving right along.
It will definatly be interesting when it comes the time of the year where we play sides for a 2nd time, I'd say those 3 will be reasonably close in points at that stage an i'd say the last 4 rounds will pay a big part in who has the first week of the finals off.

dr evil
13 Jan 2008, 21:43
the draw is a bit ordinary when 1 club has 6 away games in arow

fire43
14 Jan 2008, 15:58
Bunningyong have a pretty easy draw, and with their big spending pre and post christmas should expect to at least make the 5. if not they will underachieve.

Also look out for dunnstown to rise and waubra to fall. daylesford top of the ladder by a few games easy.

Madroota69
15 Jan 2008, 00:03
Bunningyong have a pretty easy draw, and with their big spending pre and post christmas should expect to at least make the 5. if not they will underachieve.

Also look out for dunnstown to rise and waubra to fall. daylesford top of the ladder by a few games easy.

Please explain why dunnstown will rise and waubra to fall? I've heard nothing to suggest that waubra will be considerably weaker this year. How can you say Daylesford will finish on top easily? I think its a bit early to be suggesting those kind of things unless your a psychic.
:confused::confused:

fire43
15 Jan 2008, 08:10
Please explain why dunnstown will rise and waubra to fall? I've heard nothing to suggest that waubra will be considerably weaker this year. How can you say Daylesford will finish on top easily? I think its a bit early to be suggesting those kind of things unless your a psychic.

Waubra have and will lose more players. Dont get me wrong they will still be in the top 5 but not the dominant team they have been the last 2 years. Disipline, attitude and committment all to drop with the exit of Skontra.

Dunnstown have picked up where they needed while keeping their list together. And Daylesford with their draw and depth in playing list will get enough wins to be 3 games clear at the end of the H & W season.

Hepburn have opened up a second checkbook to try and keep what they had and to recruit some more talent to compete with Daylesford. Not sure how long the blank cheques can last??

Fat Mexican
15 Jan 2008, 11:59
Does anyone know how ex-Bunga strong man Glenn Kerr is going with his first senior coaching role at Crewsick, heard that they have been very busy down Geelong way and have signed a few already. Will need to recruit 10 plus players to be competative.
Am also interested in the fortunes of the Wickers with Kerr at the helm so look forward to any updates. Played a bit of footy with him and he is a stand up guy with a decent rig. Hopefully he can pull them out of the mire they have been in for the past 15 years but as stated they need a heap of players.

Fat Mexican
15 Jan 2008, 12:06
Can anyone tell me if the following Bungaree stalwarts are going on this year as I have heard they have all retired or moved on. It would be a huge loss of games experience for Bungaree as I understand they have all played over 200 senior games;

Tony Trigg
Paul Steenhuis
Phil Jeffrey
Mick Steenhuis
Mat McDonald
Ethan Johnstone

Off Season
15 Jan 2008, 15:25
Can confirm that Damian Kinnersley (ex East Point, ex Torquay) will be coaching Clunes in 2008 - should be a real asset around the club as he lives and breathes footy.

By all reports, the list will remain largely unchanged, so the Magpies won't be slipping into Gordon-like territory, but at the same time they won't be charging up the ladder.

Off Season
15 Jan 2008, 15:28
Could it be that Learmonth is the team to look out for in 2008? No key losses (aside from the skipper), and the addition of a few key position players may give them the firepower to match it with the premiership contenders.

Or it may all be piss and wind - as was the case for a number of teams last year (Ballan, Bungaree...)

bungareepremiers06
15 Jan 2008, 16:12
Can anyone tell me if the following Bungaree stalwarts are going on this year as I have heard they have all retired or moved on. It would be a huge loss of games experience for Bungaree as I understand they have all played over 200 senior games;

Paul Steenhuis
Phil Jeffrey
Ethan Johnstone

The first two played twos for bunga all of 2007 and unclear on there intentions in 08. EJ has changed clubs as far as im aware.
Mat McDonald definatly playing on.
Unsure of the other two

Bdiddy18
15 Jan 2008, 17:17

Waubra have and will lose more players. Dont get me wrong they will still be in the top 5 but not the dominant team they have been the last 2 years. Disipline, attitude and committment all to drop with the exit of Skontra.

Dunnstown have picked up where they needed while keeping their list together. And Daylesford with their draw and depth in playing list will get enough wins to be 3 games clear at the end of the H & W season.

Hepburn have opened up a second checkbook to try and keep what they had and to recruit some more talent to compete with Daylesford. Not sure how long the blank cheques can last??

can you name the players waubra has lost as have not heard any losses at this stage??

NCFL
15 Jan 2008, 20:31
If you actually got your ass to training B diddy you may find out the ins and outs for Waubs. Hear on the grape vine that the number 9 may be coming out of retirement. Hey bunga where is EJ heading?

dr evil
15 Jan 2008, 22:49
Will Chris O keefe be a big loss for bungaree.Herd from a good source he's playing in Melbourne

Fat Mexican
15 Jan 2008, 22:58
The first two played twos for bunga all of 2007 and unclear on there intentions in 08. EJ has changed clubs as far as im aware.
Mat McDonald definatly playing on.
Unsure of the other two
With G Kerr moving on as well it sounds like the final steps in the chnaging of the gaurd at Bungaree as all of those players have been senior players since the early 90's.

If Torch and Stubba give it away will that mean that there will be no Steenhuis named in the Bungaree ones for the first time in 20+ years?

bungareepremiers06
16 Jan 2008, 09:02
not sure but its a different league. could have been rokewood or somewhere sorry cant remember

Macca222
16 Jan 2008, 10:03

Joe Mckay to bendigo moving for work and has had talks with Sandhurst. Def replacable but still a loss.

football fan
16 Jan 2008, 10:54
Would be very surprised if Joe McKAY left dunnstown, is moving toBendigo for work but was living in melb all 2007 season and travelled back. All his family and mates at Dunnstown so next to no chance of him leaving.

Macca222
16 Jan 2008, 13:20
Would be very surprised if Joe McKAY left dunnstown, is moving toBendigo for work but was living in melb all 2007 season and travelled back. All his family and mates at Dunnstown so next to no chance of him leaving.

last i seen him he was on the phone to a work collegue in Bendigo who is on the commitee at sandhurst and was organising to train next week, apparently they think he goes alright from all reports and are will to cough a 100 bucs a game. Joe is also not keen on traveling anymore and was liking his chances of being able to match it with the guys in the bendigo league.

CHFL LUVVA
16 Jan 2008, 20:34
Just heard Dunnstown a close to a new signing from the Geelong football league....apparently a good mate of Joel Murphy and Joe Mckay

Yeah i heard this too. Blokes name is Nick Casey i believe, Tall well built CHB with a booming kick and strong hands. Also in talks with former GFL star FF Zvonimir Suto. Would be very handy pick ups

dr evil
16 Jan 2008, 22:56
Yeah i heard this too. Blokes name is Nick Casey i believe, Tall well built CHB with a booming kick and strong hands. Also in talks with former GFL star FF Zvonimir Suto. Would be very handy pick ups

whos the full forward did he play with the taliban.Dont no if joe mckay has the skills to play in a major league but he's super fit and a real goer.Im not sure but i think he won a bnf at Dunnstown

learmonth
17 Jan 2008, 07:50

Zvonimir Suto is a gun. Find it hard to believe that he would come to the CHFL and if he did it would cost the club a packet. From what I hear he was around a 1k a game in geelong, but that was about 5 years ago playing for St Marys....He would have to be in late 30's now. Ild guess that he has been playing in teh GDFL of recent years. Whats his connection to D'Town...
All of D'Towns players would be young enough to be his sons......

Fat Mexican
17 Jan 2008, 08:51
Have played with Suto would be a very handy pick up. 6 foot 6 in the old scale, extremely fit, moves very well, very good hands and the best kick for goal I have seen. He will easily kick 80+ if he gets a full year in and if the delivery is good, and you have a couple of other options up forward 100+ isn't out of the question.

There are a couple of downsides though. He can be a sook and will go off at team mates (I will guarantee this and it doesn't help the dynamic), can sometimes be a bit timid at the pill, he will try and shag everyone, and will always need his cash straight after the game, and with his bald nut he is one wierd looking unit.

Given his age now if the Town can get him for $200 or less they will have a very handy option up forward.

Off Season
17 Jan 2008, 09:36
Have played with Suto would be a very handy pick up. 6 foot 6 in the old scale, extremely fit, moves very well, very good hands and the best kick for goal I have seen. He will easily kick 80+ if he gets a full year in and if the delivery is good, and you have a couple of other options up forward 100+ isn't out of the question.

There are a couple of downsides though. He can be a sook and will go off at team mates (I will guarantee this and it doesn't help the dynamic), can sometimes be a bit timid at the pill, he will try and shag everyone, and will always need his cash straight after the game, and with his bald nut he is one wierd looking unit.

Given his age now if the Town can get him for $200 or less they will have a very handy option up forward.

I remember reading about a game in Geelong where Suto - when playing for St Mary's - grabbed his bag at half time, jumped in his car in full uniform and simply drove home.

Can't remember if it was frustration with his teammates or umpires, but either way it says a fair bit about the bloke...

CHFL LUVVA
17 Jan 2008, 15:32
The other thing about Suto is when he is running he looks like a new born giraffe trying to find its feet. Heard this afternoon that Casey will be at D town training next week and Suto possibly training in about 2 weeks once he returns from overseas. Casey is rumoured to be asking around $500 per game, well worth it tho from all reports.

Crackerz
21 Jan 2008, 12:15
I've heard of this Casey from Lara. Not too sure if he'd be worth the $500 to Dtown? If his "booming" kick can be used at the other end to put a bag of goals through then he might be worth it for Dtown.

fire43
23 Jan 2008, 12:45
How are all the ovals looking this time of year? Heard even learmonth is looking dry and pretty ordinary?

Animal
24 Jan 2008, 00:24
How are all the ovals looking this time of year? Heard even learmonth is looking dry and pretty ordinary?

Yeah Learmonth is lookin a little worse than this time last year. But i think we learnt with that ground last year you cant judge a ground till mid season.

Im sure the new president out there will sort out all facility problems.
At least the Learmonth guys wont be playing on fairy grass now.

ExtendTheDukes
28 Jan 2008, 09:56
Not much has been said about Ballan but I heard that a few of there local boys have headed down to the Marsh this year. Names mentioned were Danny Mullane, Zac Peoples and Mark Benneditti who was at Redan last year. Also heard that Dermy Brereton has moved as has Lloyd Bennet. Does anyone know if theyve picked up anyone?

orion21
30 Jan 2008, 20:51
PLAYING COACH WANTED

Due to extreme circumstances Ararat Eagles, affiliated with the Lexton Plains Football League are seeking a playing coach for the 2008 season. Excellent playing and social room facilities with a young list to work with. Have been getting on average 24 players to training at the moment. For more information contact me throuogh a personal message. Closing date 8th Feb.

dunkarob
31 Jan 2008, 21:23
HELP wondering if Sam "FIGJAM" Basham still at learmonth??

Tommy Hughes
6 Feb 2008, 10:46
Heard of a big signing down learmonth way, Clinton Ward from St.Arnaud . A key forward line player with lots of pace and no fear has signed up for around 300 a game thanks to their twos coach Matt Hines. With Clinton and Matt out on a saturday night, lock up your ladies boys!!

lemons12345
6 Feb 2008, 13:48
nick sullivan is leaving north city back to ballan. good gutsy player should go alright in the bush.

Off Season
6 Feb 2008, 14:25
Heard of a big signing down learmonth way, Clinton Ward from St.Arnaud . A key forward line player with lots of pace and no fear has signed up for around 300 a game thanks to their twos coach Matt Hines. With Clinton and Matt out on a saturday night, lock up your ladies boys!!

Also hear that Learmonth have signed the brother of last year's B&F runner-up Wade Veldhuis - Ty should prove a handy acquisition.

Played a lot of senior footy at D'ford and is very agile and can read the play very well, which makes up for a lack of height.

Yet questions remain as to whether his lungs can withstand the battering they've received over the past 12 years.

Freak Dodgeball Accident
6 Feb 2008, 14:38
nick sullivan is leaving north city back to ballan. good gutsy player should go alright in the bush.

He told me he would only leave if the money is right. With all of the departures though I'm sure they would have enough. Good little player though. Reminds me of a little terrier.

lemons12345
6 Feb 2008, 14:43
well lets just say north city are tight arses like usual. they should be looking forwed and trying to keep their young players, great pick up for ballan though and sure he will be sadly missed at north.

Animal
8 Feb 2008, 17:28
Any thoughts on Learmonth holding night matches during the Home an Away season??

ohwhenthesaints
9 Feb 2008, 09:02

Heard that last night Tommy, Clint Ward for 300 per game is cheap for Learmonth. Also heard yesty that Ben Hines is looking for petrol money to travel from Ballarat Uni to Learmonth couple of St Arnaud boys heading down to tear the league up. Ben Hines will win the league medal if he goes to Learmonth, best player to come out of St Arnaud. Yes Minow, better than you.:thumbsu:

fire43
11 Feb 2008, 13:20
heard he retired

Cash Man
11 Feb 2008, 15:34
Heard that last night Tommy, Clint Ward for 300 per game is cheap for Learmonth. Also heard yesty that Ben Hines is looking for petrol money to travel from Ballarat Uni to Learmonth couple of St Arnaud boys heading down to tear the league up. Ben Hines will win the league medal if he goes to Learmonth, best player to come out of St Arnaud. Yes Minow, better than you.:thumbsu:
Wouldn't have to worry about missing that amount of cash you will get it back over the bar can drink the boy

tk82
11 Feb 2008, 19:44
Is that Kevin Ward's son? If he's half as good as his old man he'll be handy.

drip dry
14 Feb 2008, 10:52
Is that Kevin Ward's son? If he's half as good as his old man he'll be handy.

that's Kevin 'pussy lover' Ward to you.

dr evil
14 Feb 2008, 11:46
Learmonth must be premiership favourites by the sounds of things.Or will they be april fools

ExtendTheDukes
14 Feb 2008, 23:00
Does anybody know why David Popovski from Bell Post Hill has now put in a clearance to Hepburn after initially getting knocked back applying for a clearance to Creswick. I hope its not Hepburn throwing bigger money around and taking players/potential players away from weaker opposition teams which has already happened with UHI moving from Ballan. Its one thing to improve your own side but to buy the weaker teams best players to strengthen your own is at the detriment of the competition.

fire43
15 Feb 2008, 11:13
Does anybody know why David Popovski from Bell Post Hill has now put in a clearance to Hepburn after initially getting knocked back applying for a clearance to Creswick. I hope its not Hepburn throwing bigger money around and taking players/potential players away from weaker opposition teams which has already happened with UHI moving from Ballan. Its one thing to improve your own side but to buy the weaker teams best players to strengthen your own is at the detriment of the competition.

I agree. But i dont think Hepburn would give a shit about any other teams. They are very much about themselves and keep most things inhouse........

Animal
15 Feb 2008, 14:02
Learmonth must be premiership favourites by the sounds of things.Or will they be april fools

Nah mate i'd be saying hepburn at th moment looking at the names of players they are putting clearences in for. Heard on the vine they've signed up a 19yr old from nhill.

Learmonth have a lost a few but still seem to be recruiting very strongly they'd rather go in as underdogs i think.Heard on the vine they've signed up a 19yr old from nhill.

Dunnstown looking alright if there batch of recruits get cleared.

Daylesford will drop a bit but still be up there.

Waubra will still be there abouts.

Add bunningyong to the mix now.

ExtendTheDukes
15 Feb 2008, 20:26
The clearances today answered my question as the clearance for Popovski to Hepburn was cancelled and a new one went in for him to go to Creswick. It would be good to see at least one perenial cellar dwellar to win a few games.

Madroota69
19 Feb 2008, 17:26
Nah mate i'd be saying hepburn at th moment looking at the names of players they are putting clearences in for. Heard on the vine they've signed up a 19yr old from nhill.

Learmonth have a lost a few but still seem to be recruiting very strongly they'd rather go in as underdogs i think.Heard on the vine they've signed up a 19yr old from nhill.

Dunnstown looking alright if there batch of recruits get cleared.

Daylesford will drop a bit but still be up there.

Waubra will still be there abouts.

Add bunningyong to the mix now.

Would I be wrong in saying that you making this opinion entirely on new recruits going to these clubs? New players can do well and live up to there reputation but i saw last year that a lot ended up being total duds. "champion team will always beat a team of champions"..................... these predictions seam very circumstantial.

dr evil
20 Feb 2008, 12:30
springbank and gordon loosing players ,this wont be popular but maybe time for a merger

fire43
20 Feb 2008, 13:31
Would I be wrong in saying that you making this opinion entirely on new recruits going to these clubs? New players can do well and live up to there reputation but i saw last year that a lot ended up being total duds. "champion team will always beat a team of champions"..................... these predictions seam very circumstantial.

I agree hard to call now, but add in Hepburn and I think you have your top 6. Also think about the lists of each and their age!! Those with younger lists still have developing players so the likes of Dunnstown with some talented youngsters really dont need too many new players to improve.

fire43
20 Feb 2008, 13:36
springbank and gordon loosing players ,this wont be popular but maybe time for a merger

On the money there, but i think long term the league will be changed anyway. Sooner or later the powers that be will change the BFL, CHFL and the LPFL around to try and ease this type of thing and keep a strong core in Ballarat. Dont be suprised if a few CHFL teams join the BFL in years to come especially those close and with the facilities like Bunningyong and maybe Learmonth. Although they would not match it now it has already been considered. Hepburn to Maryborough league, waubra to LPFL Carnham Linton into CHFL etc.... its only a matter of time.

SIRSAINT
20 Feb 2008, 14:51
David Popovski from Bell Post Hill played a permit game for c/l in the lexton plains league at the start of last year. Goes ok, back pocket, back flank cool head under pressure is slow though hasnt much speed. Learmonth favourite what odds are they?? AJ Beacham talking them up again same as the last 3 years...

fire43
20 Feb 2008, 15:56
David Popovski from Bell Post Hill played a permit game for c/l in the lexton plains league at the start of last year. Goes ok, back pocket, back flank cool head under pressure is slow though hasnt much speed. Learmonth favourite what odds are they?? AJ Beacham talking them up again same as the last 3 years...

Anyone who thinks Learmonth are favourites in 08 are kidding themselves. How can anyone who knows anything about footy look past Daylesford, Hepburn and Waubra again. They were that far in front of everyone else last year it wasnt funny. Somone is taking the piss here!!!

Bdiddy18
22 Feb 2008, 07:41
Anyone who thinks Learmonth are favourites in 08 are kidding themselves. How can anyone who knows anything about footy look past Daylesford, Hepburn and Waubra again. They were that far in front of everyone else last year it wasnt funny. Somone is taking the piss here!!!

Lets be honest, Daylesford and Waubra were 10 goals better off than Hepburn and Learmonth so both clubs would need to recruit heavily to have a big impact this year.

Sayitaintso
22 Feb 2008, 14:18
Cant agree 18, maybe learmonth but hepburn alot closer than 10.

Sayitaintso
22 Feb 2008, 14:21
Waubra,Daylesford and all the others not losing players Dr?

tud34
26 Feb 2008, 08:57
This forum has been pretty quiet for a couple of weeks.....

How is each club travelling? How many is everyone getting to training?
Any key injuries at this stage that will keep anyone sidelined for the start of the season?

dr evil
26 Feb 2008, 15:42
Waubra,Daylesford and all the others not losing players Dr?

yes but they can afford to loose a few but, gordon and springbank can"t

learmonth
27 Feb 2008, 08:04
yes but they can afford to loose a few but, gordon and springbank can"t

Practise MAtches for Learmonth

March 29 V North Shore (GFL) Home
April 5 V Hamilton Magpies (WBFL) Away
April 12 V Tyntynder (CMFL) Home

Off Season
27 Feb 2008, 09:46
Practise MAtches for Learmonth

March 29 V North Shore (GFL) Home
April 5 V Hamilton Magpies (WBFL) Away
April 12 V Tyntynder (CMFL) Home

Interesting that Learmonth are playing 3 practice matches in the 3 weeks leading up to round 1. Not the best preparation in my opinion.

Two practice matches should always enough, especially considering the strong pre-season that Learmonth have been conducting.

KingRich
27 Feb 2008, 09:56
Interesting that Learmonth are playing 3 practice matches in the 3 weeks leading up to round 1. Not the best preparation in my opinion.

Two practice matches should always enough, especially considering the strong pre-season that Learmonth have been conducting.

Pre-seasons and number of practice matches are not an exact science. Even the leading fitness guru's at AFL clubs have many and varied opinions on the right and wrong way to go about it.

learmonth
27 Feb 2008, 11:00
Pre-seasons and number of practice matches are not an exact science. Even the leading fitness guru's at AFL clubs have many and varied opinions on the right and wrong way to go about it.

With games being shortened as of last season, no side that has done a pre-season should run out of legs. 20min quarters. Thats 20 mins less every game from 2 years ago. 80 min games + time on compared to 100min games + time on. Probbaly works out with time on in those last 5 mins of each quarter to be 1/2 hour less every game.

Also not all players are able to play all games, so its important that all players get atleast 2 hit outs into them before the start of the season.

napisan
27 Feb 2008, 12:58
With games being shortened as of last season, no side that has done a pre-season should run out of legs. 20min quarters. Thats 20 mins less every game from 2 years ago. 80 min games + time on compared to 100min games + time on. Probbaly works out with time on in those last 5 mins of each quarter to be 1/2 hour less every game.

Also not all players are able to play all games, so its important that all players get atleast 2 hit outs into them before the start of the season.

Will Daniel Rowe get his clearance from Clunes and why did he decide to play at Learmonth? Mates or Money?

woof woof
27 Feb 2008, 14:08

better tell the AFL to stop clubs who get knocked out of the NAB Cup to pull up stumps. Not the best preperation in your opinion, but i'm sure they don't know much about the game

Off Season
27 Feb 2008, 15:02
better tell the AFL to stop clubs who get knocked out of the NAB Cup to pull up stumps. Not the best preperation in your opinion, but i'm sure they don't know much about the game

If you're suggesting the fitness regime of elite AFL players is comparable with that of counrty clubs then i reckon you're kidding yourself.

I would suggest that there's a vast difference in an AFL player, who's basically trained to the day, managing their game time in say 2-4 practice matches to ensure they're right for round 1.

Compare this to a country player who has trained intermittently for say 6 weeks who then rocks up 3 weeks in a row on a hard ground and plays the full game because of a lack of numbers.

If i was a bookie, i know who i'd have as favourite as doing an injury first, even taking into account the greater physicality in the AFL.

transferseason
28 Feb 2008, 08:20
If you're suggesting the fitness regime of elite AFL players is comparable with that of counrty clubs then i reckon you're kidding yourself.

I would suggest that there's a vast difference in an AFL player, who's basically trained to the day, managing their game time in say 2-4 practice matches to ensure they're right for round 1.

Compare this to a country player who has trained intermittently for say 6 weeks who then rocks up 3 weeks in a row on a hard ground and plays the full game because of a lack of numbers.

If i was a bookie, i know who i'd have as favourite as doing an injury first, even taking into account the greater physicality in the AFL.

You need an absolute MInimum 2 games and ideally 3 before a season regardless of what sort of pre-season you have. Maybe a week between games 2 and 3 but doesnt really matter.. you just have to do it, theres nothing like match fitness. You need those games because if you go into the season under-prepared you potentially step into round 5 staring at a 0-4 or 1-4 record and your season is all but over.

But this is a forum for opinions and when you become a coach 'off-season' if your up to it, you can prepare your team however you want to.
But trust me, the teams that figure in september have a strong pre-season that includes an early start to matches.

EarToTheGround
28 Feb 2008, 08:40
You need an absolute MInimum 2 games and ideally 3 before a season regardless of what sort of pre-season you have. Maybe a week between games 2 and 3 but doesnt really matter.. you just have to do it, theres nothing like match fitness. You need those games because if you go into the season under-prepared you potentially step into round 5 staring at a 0-4 or 1-4 record and your season is all but over.

But this is a forum for opinions and when you become a coach 'off-season' if your up to it, you can prepare your team however you want to.
But trust me, the teams that figure in september have a strong pre-season that includes an early start to matches.

I don't think he's saying that you shouldn't play games. More for the fact that 3 games running into the season without a break would make it a 19 week season rather than a 16 before finals. Which does seem like a long period without a break in country footy. I'm impartial on this and see both points of view.

The proof will be in the pudding I guess.

number5
28 Feb 2008, 14:55

Definatley has no fear, but i would say that he has everything but pace. Played 2's all year at St Arnaud last year. I think Matt Hines' younger brother Ben is in Ballarat starting uni this year. May head out that way too.

ohwhenthesaints
28 Feb 2008, 16:18
Definatley has no fear, but i would say that he has everything but pace. Played 2's all year at St Arnaud last year. I think Matt Hines' younger brother Ben is in Ballarat starting uni this year. May head out that way too.
28/2/2008053892HINES, Benjamin St. Arnaud2003 > PlayerWorkSafe VCFL > Central Highlands FL > LearmonthIn Pro

The single biggest recruit of 2008 in the CHFL.

Old number5 might not agree;)

learmonth
29 Feb 2008, 08:09
I don't think he's saying that you shouldn't play games. More for the fact that 3 games running into the season without a break would make it a 19 week season rather than a 16 before finals. Which does seem like a long period without a break in country footy. I'm impartial on this and see both points of view.

The proof will be in the pudding I guess.

There is a weeks break during the middle of the year (Queens B'day) I believe. Depending on what stage your club is at, but thats for the coach to evaluate, and its a long time training from November to now without a match. It may freshen them up.

Only 7 weeks out till round one, so its coming around quick..... Technically 14 training sessions. NOT LONG!

number5
1 Mar 2008, 11:13
28/2/2008053892HINES, Benjamin St. Arnaud2003 > PlayerWorkSafe VCFL > Central Highlands FL > LearmonthIn Pro

The single biggest recruit of 2008 in the CHFL.

Old number5 might not agree;)

I'm sure he'll ba a handy acquisition to the learmonth side ohwhenthesaints. I did see the young fella getting around during o week at uni. Both times i saw him he was incapabale of scratching himself. I think he had more beer down the front of his pants than anywhere else. Good on him.:thumbsu:

Tige
2 Mar 2008, 11:01
Good on learmonth for having 3 practise matches. The games are not for premiership points! They are about getting match fit as well as assisting the coaching staff with there best possible line up come round one.:thumbsu:

crackersisback
2 Mar 2008, 21:01
rumour has it sam miller has signed on at learmonth for a fairly large cash sum for someone who hasn't played footy for a year. Apparantly a large sign on fee of a 4 figure sum as well ass a hefty wage per game. G webb not to happy with being sacked as captain of wendouree and has apparantly got plenty of suitors that are after him with their cheque books open......

wiz33
3 Mar 2008, 07:13
rumour has it sam miller has signed on at learmonth for a fairly large cash sum for someone who hasn't played footy for a year. Apparantly a large sign on fee of a 4 figure sum as well ass a hefty wage per game. G webb not to happy with being sacked as captain of wendouree and has apparantly got plenty of suitors that are after him with their cheque books open......

What is the story with Webby? Why sacked as captain and who is the replacement? Which CHFL interested. Sammy Miller's cash will be great for the young man. More he can spend at JD's on a Friday night!

horsham mayor
3 Mar 2008, 08:52

Looks like another great investment by the Learmonth Football Club..... :rolleyes:

fire43
3 Mar 2008, 15:36
Sure looks like buying a team of champions..... didnt that back fire last year?

Good to see tyson white moving on tho! Maybe a pisshead but he can play, has alot of strength. Definately under rated at learmonth last year!! :thumbsd:

Dr who, wait untill Tyson white have a few years at senior level before saying that he can play. Good strength in the 18's may not be good strength in senior footy. Plus if he "Can Play" why is he going to an inferior league? Surely he should be able to get a game at Learmonth in the ones if he is any good??

By the way I can name 6 other teams that bought better players than learmonth did. Name the team of champions they bought??

macedonian marvl
3 Mar 2008, 21:11
Good on learmonth for having 3 practise matches. The games are not for premiership points! They are about getting match fit as well as assisting the coaching staff with there best possible line up come round one.:thumbsu:

In my experience there have usually been two practice matches leading into the season with a intra club/ cratch match type game before that. I dont think 1 extra game will make a big difference however. the sidfes playing 3 practice matches might hit the ground running come round 1 but it will be interesting to see if they can maintain that momentum come round 18 and finals. only time will tell.

learmonth
4 Mar 2008, 07:59
can ya.... good for u then!! well fact is there was no champions just names and alot of money flying out, so yea ur right!

From an outsiders veiw Tyson was expected to play seniors last year....fairly sure that was what he tho too, might be wrong?? Why he didnt i suppose only the coach would know:D, but obviously would be dissapointing for him!
Inferior league maybe, but i suspect it would be more to do with friends and team mates that he prefers to play along side of.

Dr Who, I think you struggle to really know what happens at a football club and why decisions are made. As stated Tyson was a very good footballer but his dedication to the sport, commitment to stay of alcohol on a Frioday night before games and more importantly his dedication, commitment and respect to team mates has prevented him form playing more senior games.
Tyson only has himself to blame, and all players at the Learmonth Football club would not except the behaviour he has shown or from any other footballer at the club. Its a team game and you must make sacrafices if you want to be apart of it. Talent can only get you so far and the learmonth Football club does not tolerate that culture. If you are to be successful sometimes you have to get rid of a few bad eggs with talent to go forward.

horsham mayor
4 Mar 2008, 08:11
Dr who, wait untill Tyson white have a few years at senior level before saying that he can play. Good strength in the 18's may not be good strength in senior footy. Plus if he "Can Play" why is he going to an inferior league? Surely he should be able to get a game at Learmonth in the ones if he is any good??

By the way I can name 6 other teams that bought better players than learmonth did. Name the team of champions they bought??

Mate, I think Dr Who was being sarcastic...... ;)

merrigan
4 Mar 2008, 08:51
Dr Who, I think you struggle to really know what happens at a football club and why decisions are made. As stated Tyson was a very good footballer but his dedication to the sport, commitment to stay of alcohol on a Frioday night before games and more importantly his dedication, commitment and respect to team mates has prevented him form playing more senior games.
Tyson only has himself to blame, and all players at the Learmonth Football club would not except the behaviour he has shown or from any other footballer at the club. Its a team game and you must make sacrafices if you want to be apart of it. Talent can only get you so far and the learmonth Football club does not tolerate that culture. If you are to be successful sometimes you have to get rid of a few bad eggs with talent to go forward.

Well if he's a bad egg - and from what you say he probably is - and you are getting rid of him why did you reject his clearance? Seems petty.

KingRich
4 Mar 2008, 09:37
Well if he's a bad egg - and from what you say he probably is - and you are getting rid of him why did you reject his clearance? Seems petty.

Coz some people have nothing better to do than hit the 'reject' button on the computer. It's pathetic but most clubs do it. Stop wasting peoples time and just approve clearances. If they want to go then let them go.

merrigan
4 Mar 2008, 09:43
Coz some people have nothing better to do than hit the 'reject' button on the computer. It's pathetic but most clubs do it. Stop wasting peoples time and just approve clearances. If they want to go then let them go.

Spot on there KingRich. A browse thru the transfers lists on any league sites shows who the worst offenders are. The sooner they do away with the clearance system the better.

Fat Mexican
4 Mar 2008, 15:40
Any truth in the rumour Bungaree are struggling for numbers as I have heard that they have had as few as 8 players turn up to pre-season sessions.

learmonth
4 Mar 2008, 16:01

Only reason a clearance is knocked back at the learmonth Football Club is that they owe $$ or have not returned their football jumper which is the main reason.Im a strong believer if you want to go, then go. No use keeping a player if he wants to go else where, and also agree with scrapping the clearance process unless your a contracted player.

NotDoneYet
4 Mar 2008, 16:15
Hey Guys,

Just wondering how i guy named Stewart Brown goes from Dunnstown?

Fat Mexican
4 Mar 2008, 19:36
Hey Guys,

Just wondering how i guy named Stewart Brown goes from Dunnstown?
Is this the same Stewi Brown who played with North Ballarat 10 years ago, 6 foot 6 with massive calves?