View Full Version : Central Highlands

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

dr evil
4 Mar 2008, 22:57
Is this the same Stewi Brown who played with North Ballarat 10 years ago, 6 foot 6 with massive calves?

no diffrent bloke.handey defender played at east.Has religus commitments that come before football

kakkapo
4 Mar 2008, 23:38
Coz some people have nothing better to do than hit the 'reject' button on the computer. It's pathetic but most clubs do it. Stop wasting peoples time and just approve clearances. If they want to go then let them go.
Happens regularly between some clubs who'll do everything but clear a player to each other e.g. Beaufort and Lexton

tud34
5 Mar 2008, 07:27
Happens regularly between some clubs who'll do everything but clear a player to each other e.g. Beaufort and Lexton

I agree that if a player is leaving there is very little a club can do to keep them unless money / contracts are involved, but I know there are few clubs that will reject a players clearance if they have not spoken to the club before the lodge the application.

I know for a fact that a large majority of clearances get approved the first time if the player shows a bit of decency and rings the coach and speaks to them before they put the form in.
Clubs get frustrated if at the end of a season a player says they are coming back and then in February lodge a clearance without a word to the club. How hard is it to make a phone call to the coach to say I dont want to play at that club anymore. At least gives the coach a chance to try and talk their player around to staying and at worst at least find out why they are leaving the club. Im sure every player has their coaches phone number from the previous season.

KingRich
5 Mar 2008, 08:11
I agree that if a player is leaving there is very little a club can do to keep them unless money / contracts are involved, but I know there are few clubs that will reject a players clearance if they have not spoken to the club before the lodge the application.

I know for a fact that a large majority of clearances get approved the first time if the player shows a bit of decency and rings the coach and speaks to them before they put the form in.
Clubs get frustrated if at the end of a season a player says they are coming back and then in February lodge a clearance without a word to the club. How hard is it to make a phone call to the coach to say I dont want to play at that club anymore. At least gives the coach a chance to try and talk their player around to staying and at worst at least find out why they are leaving the club. Im sure every player has their coaches phone number from the previous season.

Agree with this point. A bit of common courtesy doesn't hurt. In saying that, by Feb 1st your coach should have prob at least contacted every player on the list to confirm their intentions for the upcoming season.

wiz33
5 Mar 2008, 09:32
Agree with this point. A bit of common courtesy doesn't hurt. In saying that, by Feb 1st your coach should have prob at least contacted every player on the list to confirm their intentions for the upcoming season.

Agree that it doesn't hurt to show some decency towards coach and clubs in that regard. However it also works both ways with some clubs who even players after they have spoken to club/ coach of their intentions to leave are still made to put in two/three clearances and the clearances are the clearances are left to sit for nine days just to string out the process.

macedonian marvl
5 Mar 2008, 09:42
Any truth in the rumour Bungaree are struggling for numbers as I have heard that they have had as few as 8 players turn up to pre-season sessions.

It seems the rumnours are true. I work with a lady who's husband is involved with the club and she told me that they have had as few as 7 at training. One night they got 12 but 4 of them were U 18's. Hope they can find some numbers soon.

Snail
5 Mar 2008, 09:59
A lot of people say and i agree to a point that the CHFL is getting stronger every year as the quality of recruits gets better and better. The problem i have seen over the past 3 seasons is the gap between top 3 and bottm 3 getting wider. Every league has an easybeat team or two but clearly the top half of this comp is in a different league than the bottom half. To me this is a concern.

horsham mayor
5 Mar 2008, 12:07
A lot of people say and i agree to a point that the CHFL is getting stronger every year as the quality of recruits gets better and better. The problem i have seen over the past 3 seasons is the gap between top 3 and bottm 3 getting wider. Every league has an easybeat team or two but clearly the top half of this comp is in a different league than the bottom half. To me this is a concern.

Totally agree there Snail. Unless you can pick up recruits that have existing links to your club, the teams that have the most cash will remain the strongest. Country footy is in a pretty sad state at the moment IMO.

dr evil
6 Mar 2008, 10:06
brendan tudball more clubs than tiger woods dunnstown eastpoint followed the redan blokes to bungaree,now wanting a clearance to buningyong

dr evil
6 Mar 2008, 10:23
my final five
Hepburn
Daylesford
Waubra
Gap
Learmonth
Buningyong
----------------------
Dunnstown

Gap to the rest
If winduss plays and has a good year daylesford on top.Learmonth and Buningyong will be four goal better sides with tranquilli and t beacham.Buningyong lacked leg speed last year wether they will be quicker time will tell will learmonth be all there cracked up to be time will tell.Dunnstowns lack of a qaulity forward will hurt them again and all them away games wont help either.Peake kicking it to cox and uhi taping it to peake thats why i have hepburn on top. There will be a few massive winning margins with some clubs struggling to get a competitive team on the ground
go gordon

tassie2heads
7 Mar 2008, 12:50
just wont to ask if richard atkins is still playing for hepburn and if so is he still any good ?

dr evil
7 Mar 2008, 17:36
just wont to ask if richard atkins is still playing for hepburn and if so is he still any good ?

put in a clearance to maldon no star but a solid backflanker .hepburn wont let him go if they still rate him,they have more cash than a dubai sheik

number5
8 Mar 2008, 14:51
my final five
Hepburn
Daylesford
Waubra
Gap
Learmonth
Buningyong
----------------------
Dunnstown

Gap to the rest
If winduss plays and has a good year daylesford on top.Learmonth and Buningyong will be four goal better sides with tranquilli and t beacham.Buningyong lacked leg speed last year wether they will be quicker time will tell will learmonth be all there cracked up to be time will tell.Dunnstowns lack of a qaulity forward will hurt them again and all them away games wont help either.Peake kicking it to cox and uhi taping it to peake thats why i have hepburn on top. There will be a few massive winning margins with some clubs struggling to get a competitive team on the ground
go gordon

I think you will find, although not highly publicised, that Dunnstown have recruited a demanding power forward, by the name of Mark Dowley. Apparently he isn't overly tall but leads hard, has great hands and rarely misses when he has a chance. Tough as they come too, i hear.

merrigan
10 Mar 2008, 18:35
I think you will find, although not highly publicised, that Dunnstown have recruited a demanding power forward, by the name of Mark Dowley. Apparently he isn't overly tall but leads hard, has great hands and rarely misses when he has a chance. Tough as they come too, i hear.

And let me guess, he wears number 5.;)

Animal
10 Mar 2008, 22:33
my final five
Hepburn
Daylesford
Waubra
Gap
Learmonth
Buningyong
----------------------
Dunnstown

Gap to the rest
go gordon

Dunnstown highly underated at this stage but i think they will like it that way they love being the underdogs. Simon Brearley a heavily underated recruit to the CHFL will bust this league right open.

fire43
12 Mar 2008, 14:03
my final five
Hepburn
Daylesford
Waubra
Gap
Learmonth
Buningyong
----------------------
Dunnstown

Gap to the rest
go gordon

Dunnstown highly underated at this stage but i think they will like it that way they love being the underdogs. Simon Brearley a heavily underated recruit to the CHFL will bust this league right open.

final five in no real order.

dunnstown
bunningyong
daylesford
hepburn
learmonth / waubra for 5th spot

waubra will drop off a bit and bunning and dunns to improve a fair bit. Hepburn are trying to buy another flag and will be up there. daylesford will have the premiership blues as their training attendances have indicated and learmonth the jury is still out.....

macedonian marvl
12 Mar 2008, 21:35

Haha. I like the humour but i actually have no idea.

sharpshoota
13 Mar 2008, 11:54
final five in no real order.

dunnstown
bunningyong
daylesford
hepburn
learmonth / waubra for 5th spot

waubra will drop off a bit and bunning and dunns to improve a fair bit. Hepburn are trying to buy another flag and will be up there. daylesford will have the premiership blues as their training attendances have indicated and learmonth the jury is still out.....

Going by the transfer list Bunningyong have picked up a handy recruit in Hugh Saunders. Played KDFL in a premiership team last year for Stanhope. Tall, athletic, can leap good and can run all game. Should improve there premiership chances one would think.

fire43
13 Mar 2008, 13:45
add to that daniel gunn from lake wendouree who is very fit and hard as they come onballers and bunningyong are starting to fill some holes

MasterOfRoc
13 Mar 2008, 14:38

The Same Mark Dowley who kicked just 13 goals last year, even though he played EVERY GAME off the HFF!? ;)

Or are you talking about the one that kicks every second kick off the side of his left boot?

gtrain90
13 Mar 2008, 18:53
daylesford's coach has parted ways with the club...

stated as personal reasons.

Grimmett
13 Mar 2008, 21:19
WOW, thats big news....where did u get this from?:eek:

WIN TV News tonight.

EX SAINT
13 Mar 2008, 21:36
All reports from the boys up at St.Arnaud, couldn't sign the clearance quick enough. 13 goals off a HFF for the year is a piss poor return! Sum it up for yourself but that trusty left foot wont damage the scoreboard only the ink used for counting turnovers:thumbsu:

EX SAINT
13 Mar 2008, 21:37
Animal and number5 you boys shouldn't talk yourselves up!

ryang
13 Mar 2008, 23:37

No number5 is actually Simon Brearley, former St. Arnaud and soon to be Dunnstown team mate of Mark Dowley who he has "heard" so much about. Seems they have a bit of a mutual admiration society going - Dowley posts under the name Animal and similarly talked up Brearley's talents on here to return the favour.

Brearley wore the number 5 at St. Arnaud and him and Animal were regular posters on the North Central Thread, Brearley giving Dowley a similar glowing reference about a year ago.

Nothing wrong with bringing the spotlight on yourselves I suppose. They talk the talk, hope they can walk the walk.

MasterOfRoc
13 Mar 2008, 23:55
Brearly will impress, Wilson goes ok (goes awesome in prac matches,) its just too bad ya gotta take the baggage too

macedonian marvl
13 Mar 2008, 23:58
The Same Mark Dowley who kicked just 13 goals last year, even though he played EVERY GAME off the HFF!? ;)

Or are you talking about the one that kicks every second kick off the side of his left boot?

Surely you have something better to do than scan other leagues for news and talk more dribble than usual MOR. Every 2nd kick means that he gets at least two, which is more than you roc, but you seemed to love him last year. your attitude has changed quickly.

macedonian marvl
14 Mar 2008, 00:05
[quote=ryang;10320090]No number5 is actually Simon Brearley, former St. Arnaud and soon to be Dunnstown team mate of Mark Dowley who he has "heard" so much about. Seems they have a bit of a mutual admiration society going - Dowley posts under the name Animal and similarly talked up Brearley's talents on here to return the favour.

I think you will find that animal is an ex Nhill youngster who is now involved with the learmonth f.c, but not as a player. i can honestly assure you of that. and as for the talking up of Dowley, thats more a case of house mates having a dig at each other about their abilities (or perhaps lack there of http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon7.gif). I think the word is sarcasm guys. just a bit of tongue in cheek humour.

macedonian marvl
14 Mar 2008, 00:08
All reports from the boys up at St.Arnaud, couldn't sign the clearance quick enough. 13 goals off a HFF for the year is a piss poor return! Sum it up for yourself but that trusty left foot wont damage the scoreboard only the ink used for counting turnovers:thumbsu:

maybe only 13 goals, but anyone involved in the club would know his role in the team was to push up the ground as a link up player. and i'm sure every club would be really keen to sign a clearance for a player who finished in the top 5 in their bnf :thumbsd: (while carrying a groin injury all year)

MasterOfRoc
14 Mar 2008, 00:29
Surely you have something better to do than scan other leagues for news and talk more dribble than usual MOR. Every 2nd kick means that he gets at least two, which is more than you roc, but you seemed to love him last year. your attitude has changed quickly.

I got no problems with the guy, hes a good bloke, but as far as "demanding power forward's" go, there are much better options floating around the "free agent" list

Animal
14 Mar 2008, 02:08
[quote=ryang;10320090]No number5 is actually Simon Brearley, former St. Arnaud and soon to be Dunnstown team mate of Mark Dowley who he has "heard" so much about. Seems they have a bit of a mutual admiration society going - Dowley posts under the name Animal and similarly talked up Brearley's talents on here to return the favour.

I think you will find that animal is an ex Nhill youngster who is now involved with the learmonth f.c, but not as a player. i can honestly assure you of that. and as for the talking up of Dowley, thats more a case of house mates having a dig at each other about their abilities (or perhaps lack there of http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon7.gif). I think the word is sarcasm guys. just a bit of tongue in cheek humour.

Thank god someone has a brain and a sense of humour.......

Animal
14 Mar 2008, 02:14
Animal and number5 you boys shouldn't talk yourselves up!

Even if i was this Dowly bloke or whoever he is how can you deny that Brealey is not a good player he's won a Club Best an Fairest in the Wimmera league as well as the north central i believe and in 2007 he was runner up in the North Central League medal.

Simon is a fantastic leader and role model an come round 5 you will understand why i am 'pumping him up'(so to speak).
Dunnstown have signed a very good player an person to have around there club.

Animal
14 Mar 2008, 02:22
No number5 is actually Simon Brearley, former St. Arnaud and soon to be Dunnstown team mate of Mark Dowley who he has "heard" so much about. Seems they have a bit of a mutual admiration society going - Dowley posts under the name Animal and similarly talked up Brearley's talents on here to return the favour.

Brearley wore the number 5 at St. Arnaud and him and Animal were regular posters on the North Central Thread, Brearley giving Dowley a similar glowing reference about a year ago.

Nothing wrong with bringing the spotlight on yourselves I suppose. They talk the talk, hope they can walk the walk.
ha ha deadbeat i barely ever posted on the North Central thread when i did it was about Simon leaving the club an i was only speculating.
Good one Schfinkter!

BobbyJohn
15 Mar 2008, 13:11
If its true that brad scown has been appointed ass coach of creswick... all i can say is let our thoughts been with them in these tough times ahead...

hotnews
15 Mar 2008, 20:20
If its true that brad scown has been appointed ass coach of creswick... all i can say is let our thoughts been with them in these tough times ahead...
if true what a joke! good luck to them.....:D

ExtendTheDukes
16 Mar 2008, 14:25
if true what a joke! good luck to them.....:D

I heard that he was appointed assistant coach. I see a few boys from North Geelong have put in for clearances to Creswick also.

whelan1990
17 Mar 2008, 18:16
i hear learmonth have recruited a gun who has turned down the north ballarat roosters to play for the lakies nick willox i think his name is and he is on pretty big money so look out guys

dr evil
19 Mar 2008, 13:47
learmonth r throwing the cash around rumour has it karl begbie from rokewood is on huge money.yet another big ego at learmonth

fire43
19 Mar 2008, 15:20
How can you you claim learmonth are throwing the money around? Hepburn are paying more for one player than learmonth would be on their whole list. They are paying 6 players $800 or more a game. I can name 6 teams that would double what learmonth pay over a year. Dr who sounds like you are one of those that believe you cannot recruit players without the big$$$. Then again I guess Learmonth have a bit more to offer players in terms of facilities and than most.............

learmonth
19 Mar 2008, 16:16
How can you you claim learmonth are throwing the money around? Hepburn are paying more for one player than learmonth would be on their whole list. They are paying 6 players $800 or more a game. I can name 6 teams that would double what learmonth pay over a year. Dr who sounds like you are one of those that believe you cannot recruit players without the big$$$. Then again I guess Learmonth have a bit more to offer players in terms of facilities and than most.............

Learmonth had over 40 players on the track last night and have averaged 30 all pre-season and over 70% of those guys are not paid a cent. They are attracted to the club firstly through friends,fun environment, facilities (Lights,Ground, Clubrooms, Social Rooms) and a lot to play at a club which is heading in the right direction. Our leadership group and current players do a wonderful job in attracting players, developing relantionships which is a good reason for a player to come to the club and stay for 3-5 years rather than 1-2 just chasing some cash (Certain player leaving Ballan to Hepburn). Seconds players are the heart and sole of any club and should be respected as they are the ones who usually stick around when it gets tough and all clubs go through that stage. Not being able to confirm but I would definantly have Hepburn, Daylesford, Waubra, Bungaree (last year) Buninyong, Dunnstown above what Learmonth pay. Not that it should worry any club. If you have 22 dedicated players on the field working to a game plan then your a show. Dont worry about the cash side as most players are over paid but thats the way football has gone so good luck if you want to pay players overs. Hard work, dedication and commitment will win you a game of football not $$

learmonth
19 Mar 2008, 16:22
i hear learmonth have recruited a gun who has turned down the north ballarat roosters to play for the lakies nick willox i think his name is and he is on pretty big money so look out guys

Nick Willox is a footballer that should be one of the dominant midfielders in the league. Comes with great credentials from Tyntynder has excellent skills on both sides of the body, is quick and can play forward/Back or in the middle. Has a great attitude, and will certainly play at a higher standard once he settles in Ballarat with Uni. Good to see another club get a quality footballer at Uni rather than Redan getting them all.

A secret for clubs in the future. Get out to O week and attract students to your club as they have to play somewhere. Redan do it very well, about time they had some competition.

crazie
19 Mar 2008, 21:41
Can someone give me the heads up on a guy by the name of Sam Basham From learmonth. I hear he could be heading to a Warrnambool and District Club

learmonth
20 Mar 2008, 08:48
Can someone give me the heads up on a guy by the name of Sam Basham From learmonth. I hear he could be heading to a Warrnambool and District Club

Your source must not be to reliable or your just writing bulls.it- He is the current president of Learmonth. Just a stupid rumor you have made up. As Sam Newman would say " You silly uninformed cretin" BANG!

playsnogood
20 Mar 2008, 11:22
Your source must not be to reliable or your just writing bulls.it- He is the current president of Learmonth. Just a stupid rumor you have made up. As Sam Newman would say " You silly uninformed cretin" BANG!

I thought Sam Basham was retiring 4 years ago, or is he still doing the "retire" thing so his ego gets a boost when they ask him to come back and play?
What is the news on Bungaree and Dunstown?
Any truth in Tranquilli getting $100 per goal at Bunningyong, and $200 a game?
How are Beaufort looking with the Brothers Bones back playing there?

dr evil
21 Mar 2008, 11:01
bungaree r really struggling dunnstown have had good numbers at training but lack a power forward unless dowley is the real deal his mate has good credentualls and should be one of the better players in the league if he live up to his last couple of years, runner up in a league medal last year in a higher league. the big sheik at hepburns splashing the cash and learmonth are flying just ask him

merrigan
21 Mar 2008, 11:34
I thought Sam Basham was retiring 4 years ago, or is he still doing the "retire" thing so his ego gets a boost when they ask him to come back and play?
What is the news on Bungaree and Dunstown?
Any truth in Tranquilli getting $100 per goal at Bunningyong, and $200 a game?
How are Beaufort looking with the Brothers Bones back playing there

How come everyone on here spells Buninyong with an extra G? Anyway here's my tips for the the coming season. (Based on ins & outs as it stands at the moment)

Top 6 in no particular order,
Hepbhurn
Learmlonth
Waubara
Dunnsdtown
Daylesdford
Buningyong, The one that misses will be very unlucky.

Daylight

Beaubfort

Daylight

Bungagree
Newlywn
Banllan
Clunces
Creswisck
Springbangk
Gordgon.

Cox leading goalkicker,
The umps love child to get the hat trick in the B & F
Hepbhurn premiers
Gordgon spoon

Gnawing on a pie
21 Mar 2008, 12:54
Nick Willox is a footballer that should be one of the dominant midfielders in the league. Comes with great credentials from Tyntynder has excellent skills on both sides of the body, is quick and can play forward/Back or in the middle. Has a great attitude, and will certainly play at a higher standard once he settles in Ballarat with Uni. Good to see another club get a quality footballer at Uni rather than Redan getting them all.

A secret for clubs in the future. Get out to O week and attract students to your club as they have to play somewhere. Redan do it very well, about time they had some competition.

I hear from a third-hand source hepburn have managed to recruit a couple uni boys too, anyone know if there is truth to that??

Grimmett
21 Mar 2008, 22:23
How come everyone on here spells Buninyong with an extra G? Anyway here's my tips for the the coming season. (Based on ins & outs as it stands at the moment)

Top 6 in no particular order,
Hepbhurn
Learmlonth
Waubara
Dunnsdtown
Daylesdford
Buningyong, The one that misses will be very unlucky.

Daylight

Beaubfort

Daylight

Bungagree
Newlywn
Banllan
Clunces
Creswisck
Springbangk
Gordgon.

Cox leading goalkicker,
The umps love child to get the hat trick in the B & F
Hepbhurn premiers
Gordgon spoon

Post of the year! :thumbsu:

Even the dyslexics agree. I just asked them and they said "coodent argree moore, grate poest".

timmy 32
22 Mar 2008, 23:42
Learmonth had over 40 players on the track last night and have averaged 30 all pre-season and over 70% of those guys are not paid a cent. They are attracted to the club firstly through friends,fun environment, facilities (Lights,Ground, Clubrooms, Social Rooms) and a lot to play at a club which is heading in the right direction. Our leadership group and current players do a wonderful job in attracting players, developing relantionships which is a good reason for a player to come to the club and stay for 3-5 years rather than 1-2 just chasing some cash (Certain player leaving Ballan to Hepburn). Seconds players are the heart and sole of any club and should be respected as they are the ones who usually stick around when it gets tough and all clubs go through that stage. Not being able to confirm but I would definantly have Hepburn, Daylesford, Waubra, Bungaree (last year) Buninyong, Dunnstown above what Learmonth pay. Not that it should worry any club. If you have 22 dedicated players on the field working to a game plan then your a show. Dont worry about the cash side as most players are over paid but thats the way football has gone so good luck if you want to pay players overs. Hard work, dedication and commitment will win you a game of football not $$
If you are referring to Hepburn's cash flow learmonth, from what i can gather, i agree they have probably paid out some decent money over the past few seasons, but the results speak for themselves. Two flags a runner up and losing a Prelim by a kick. i bet other clubs would love to be in their shoes. And i hear that their most underated player Sam Newton has returned from overseas and has put in a huge pre season. He was probably the difference in Daylesford getting over the top of Hepburn in last years Prelim Final

ExtendTheDukes
23 Mar 2008, 10:10
Hey Learmonth is Begbie still going to you guys or has he decided to stay at Rokewood like a few posts have suggested in the Lexton thread?

Does anyone know anything of Springbanks new Uni recruits? Its good to see that they'll get a side out on the park.

strawpeedo
23 Mar 2008, 19:46
can anyone confirm that hard nut James Evans will be co coaching Daylesford, and he has been appointed this role in order to lead from the front in being a physical side? i have seen him in the gym frequently and god help the person on the other end of his bulging biceps... big man

Tige
24 Mar 2008, 12:20

Best statement i have seen on big footy for ages!

dr evil
24 Mar 2008, 13:33
Best statement i have seen on big footy for ages!
is karl bogbie playing for learmonth or was he just trying to get another hundred out of chokewood $$$$

learmonth
25 Mar 2008, 09:29
is karl bogbie playing for learmonth or was he just trying to get another hundred out of chokewood $$$$

Karl Begbie is no longer at Learmonth. He has decided to stay at Rokewood after officially signing. Thats football so you move on.

WeHateTheDrummer
25 Mar 2008, 10:30

I cannot see Redan bothering with that as the good kids that want to play with a club and achieve success find there way to Redan and the ones that don't find themselves at CHFL clubs where they can match the dollars of there home clubs in the bush.

Ballarat is very close and if not stronger in recruiting Uni boys at the moment and seem to be using Redans method of offering a chance to play in a successful side.

IMO

crackersisback
25 Mar 2008, 11:57
Creswick have had a couple of new blokes on the track S.Walshe has been setting the track alight. Bunningyong have a big signing in D.Gunn from lakers and he is looking fit for the up coming season. I expect that gunn may be one of the signings of the year in the chfl

silkyskills
25 Mar 2008, 12:13
What teams have some up and coming telent from the 18s and from all around?

ohwhenthesaints
25 Mar 2008, 15:01
bungaree r really struggling dunnstown have had good numbers at training but lack a power forward unless dowley is the real deal his mate has good credentualls and should be one of the better players in the league if he live up to his last couple of years, runner up in a league medal last year in a higher league. the big sheik at hepburns splashing the cash and learmonth are flying just ask him

Power Forward?? WTF:confused::confused:

merrigan
25 Mar 2008, 19:05
Creswick have had a couple of new blokes on the track S.Walshe has been setting the track alight. Bunningyong have a big signing in D.Gunn from lakers and he is looking fit for the up coming season. I expect that gunn may be one of the signings of the year in the chfl

Jesus now there's an extra N in there. At this rate it will be Bunninngunninngingyong by the end of the year.

dr evil
25 Mar 2008, 23:41
gordon have some talented under 18s go gordon

WeHateTheDrummer
26 Mar 2008, 09:43
Can anyone from Bungaree tell me the reasons why they have knocked back the boys wanting to return to Redan? Knowles & Cummins.

crackersisback
26 Mar 2008, 11:32
Jesus now there's an extra N in there. At this rate it will be Bunninngunninngingyong by the end of the year.

I dont think the spelling is the issue here mate, the big issue is if you can play or not.....whether i spell bunnnningyong that way or weather i spell buningyong that way doesnt take away the facts that i was stating...i just hope you get a kick for your sake...:thumbsu:

fire43
26 Mar 2008, 13:09
Can anyone from Bungaree tell me the reasons why they have knocked back the boys wanting to return to Redan? Knowles & Cummins.

I believe it is due to them signing 2 year contracts. However that does mean anything these days.

Animal
26 Mar 2008, 13:19

Well that does make sense:thumbsu:. Seeing as he is the 2008 Learmonth President it makes alot of sense that he would go and play for a team in the Warnambool league.

Animal
26 Mar 2008, 13:22
I dont think it will be.

redrocket
26 Mar 2008, 13:51
How are the grounds looking around the league?

learmonth
26 Mar 2008, 14:57
I believe it is due to them signing 2 year contracts. However that does mean anything these days.

Your wrong there Fire43. If they signed a 2 year contract then that means that they still have 1 season to honor in the contract unless their was a get out clause. If not Bungaree hold all the cards and dont have to clear them. An incident involving Josh Dicketts from L/Wendouree was very similar as he was wanting to return up to Kyabram but had a year on his contract remaining. From a reliable source the only way he got out of it was through Kyabram offereing L/Wendoure an undisclosed amount of $$. He had transferred due to work as well so it will be a lot tougher for these guys. If I was Bungaree I would be asking for them to return $$ earnt if they wanted a clearance as they were offered X amount over a 2 year period not 1 year. If I was Jayden Reid or Bungaree I would be disappointed in both not honoring their contract.

silkyskills
26 Mar 2008, 15:31
This is to Learmonth who is showing good form out there got any good young boys coming up this year

DfordDog
26 Mar 2008, 17:16
How are the grounds looking around the league?

Dfords ground looking better now. Watering started not long ago and the green starting to come back. Will be great come round 1.

Does anyone know if any clubs have to change their early rounds venues due to grounds? Im guessing some grounds would be unplayable.

RedBalls
26 Mar 2008, 17:53
This is to Learmonth who is showing good form out there got any good young boys coming up this year
Not fishing for ur name to be mentioned are ya silky? U could just ask ur coach how ur goin at training one night, do u think u should be considered for seniors?
How is that knee coming along?;)

merrigan
26 Mar 2008, 18:23
I dont think the spelling is the issue here mate, the big issue is if you can play or not.....whether i spell bunnnningyong that way or weather i spell buningyong that way doesnt take away the facts that i was stating...i just hope you get a kick for your sake...:thumbsu:

Happy enough with how I go crackers. Just a bit worried about how you spell whether and Buninyong.:thumbsu:;)
Agree on Gunn.

merrigan
26 Mar 2008, 18:25
I dont think it will be.

Yeah you're probably right.

timmy 32
26 Mar 2008, 21:58
The Dogs have been talking up John Dywer and Josh Cowan all pre season who have already played in a senior premiership. I agree both are very talented players but im pretty sure they wont see too much of Cowan, he has been carving them up at the Rebels and will spend the season with them.

Animal
27 Mar 2008, 02:04
Dfords ground looking better now. Watering started not long ago and the green starting to come back. Will be great come round 1.

Does anyone know if any clubs have to change their early rounds venues due to grounds? Im guessing some grounds would be unplayable.
Dayleford watering there ground?? why?? Doesnt it just always rain there 24/7

Steve_Addlem
27 Mar 2008, 11:52
How does James Kennedy from Hepburn go? Ones or Twos? BIG or small?

DfordDog
27 Mar 2008, 11:59
Dayleford watering there ground?? why?? Doesnt it just always rain there 24/7

Oh yeah, how could i forget. It does rain here every day. Thanks for reminding me Rob Gel

silkyskills
27 Mar 2008, 16:24
arrrrrrr the knee's are fine dunno whats the go there ummmmmmmmmmmmmmmm i dont play for learmonth sorry i play for other team just finding out all the low down on all the teams around hows your footy going anyway redballs hit me bak

timmy 32
27 Mar 2008, 16:45
How does James Kennedy from Hepburn go? Ones or Twos? BIG or small?
James Kennedy 5ft 7 and weighs about 94 kg. he played a couple of reserves games in the red and blue in 2005 and got sent off by the umpire which put pay to any finals aspirations that he might have had. Top bloke though, good clubman and he does a great impersonation of Robbo. Has been cleared to Harcourt.

buddy buddy
27 Mar 2008, 21:38
James Kennedy 5ft 7 and weighs about 94 kg. he played a couple of reserves games in the red and blue in 2005 and got sent off by the umpire which put pay to any finals aspirations that he might have had. Top bloke though, good clubman and he does a great impersonation of Robbo. Has been cleared to Harcourt.

is this the same james kennedy who was originally from castlemaine? i think his nickname was flathead. used to love singing adam sandler songs and quoting anything from his movies.

Off Season
28 Mar 2008, 14:03
If Learmonth think that Sammy Miller is going to help them win a premiership then they're kidding themselves. I know he's still young but fair dinkum, he would be in the top 3 softest players I have ever seen in my life.

I don't know how Learmonth expect him to take marks, let alone kick goals, when he's eyes are always ahead of him looking for anyone that may cause a bruise.

And god forbid he gets the ball, I've seen him miss by 20 metres when he's only been 30 metres out from goal.

I would suggest a good opening batsmen, not a bad medium pacer, but a 2's ruckman at best.

Off Season
28 Mar 2008, 14:15
It's official that Handles has left Clunes - already had his clearance to Rovers approved.

Mass exodus from Clunes to Rovers. Looks like tough times ahead for new coach Kinnersley.

Committee need to decide what future for club holds, ie. do they bite the bullet and actually start "buying" players like all the other clubs or do they keep the focus on junior development?

A combination of both I'd suggest...

DfordDog
28 Mar 2008, 15:19
The Dogs have been talking up John Dywer and Josh Cowan all pre season who have already played in a senior premiership. I agree both are very talented players but im pretty sure they wont see too much of Cowan, he has been carving them up at the Rebels and will spend the season with them.

The club is well aware of Cowan playing for the rebels in 08 and have not "talked him up as playing with the dogs this season". Its the media who just assume so and as we all know, they hardly ever get anything right anyway (pointing to pedler). The dogs are all for Cowan playing in the rebels and hopefully going even further with football. Extremely talented.

RedBalls
28 Mar 2008, 15:32
arrrrrrr the knee's are fine dunno whats the go there ummmmmmmmmmmmmmmm i dont play for learmonth sorry i play for other team just finding out all the low down on all the teams around hows your footy going anyway redballs hit me bak
Whack!
Must be a different silky then eh? what team do u play for then?
My footy is improving alot, Coming along with marks and goals, u could say. Cant wait for season to start.

learmonth
28 Mar 2008, 15:53
If Learmonth think that Sammy Miller is going to help them win a premiership then they're kidding themselves. I know he's still young but fair dinkum, he would be in the top 3 softest players I have ever seen in my life.

I don't know how Learmonth expect him to take marks, let alone kick goals, when he's eyes are always ahead of him looking for anyone that may cause a bruise.

And god forbid he gets the ball, I've seen him miss by 20 metres when he's only been 30 metres out from goal.

I would suggest a good opening batsmen, not a bad medium pacer, but a 2's ruckman at best.

Ild say your jealous of his ability off season in football & Cricket. The guy has talent and played really well for Clunes 2 years ago as a 17 year old. Had last year off as he played cricket in England and im sure will prove you wrong. The kid has great potential and being the 4th or 5th forward he will do quite well in my opinion. In a few years with weights beind him, he will be quite a BIG lad!
As for skills he is very gifted, so I guess you have your facts wrong just like the Glen Handley transfer. He is off to Maryborough!!

Maybe you should hop onto the football field and show some courage rather than knocking players who are out there having a go! All players who step on the field are a lot harder than you guys who knock them. Not all players have courage, but thats football.......

Off Season
28 Mar 2008, 16:10
Ild say your jealous of his ability off season in football & Cricket. The guy has talent and played really well for Clunes 2 years ago as a 17 year old. Had last year off as he played cricket in England and im sure will prove you wrong. The kid has great potential and being the 4th or 5th forward he will do quite well in my opinion. In a few years with weights beind him, he will be quite a BIG lad!
As for skills he is very gifted, so I guess you have your facts wrong just like the Glen Handley transfer. He is off to Maryborough!!

Maybe you should hop onto the football field and show some courage rather than knocking players who are out there having a go! All players who step on the field are a lot harder than you guys who knock them. Not all players have courage, but thats football.......

Where do u think i based my comments from? When he played for clunes 2years ago. And considering u would have seen him at best once or twice, and I would have seen him (or played with???) every week then I know whose judgement I'd back if i was a betting man.

Not saying he won't be a big lad, what I'm saying is he is soft as absolute butter and will be a liability in big games when you there's more pressure to put your head over the ball.

timmy 32
28 Mar 2008, 17:45
is this the same james kennedy who was originally from castlemaine? i think his nickname was flathead. used to love singing adam sandler songs and quoting anything from his movies.
Yep thats him, he is good mates with Locky Brown and Ritchie Atkin so he came across with them.

silkyskills
28 Mar 2008, 22:16
Whack!
Must be a different silky then eh? what team do u play for then?
My footy is improving alot, Coming along with marks and goals, u could say. Cant wait for season to start.

Must be i play for Lake Wendouree well goof luck for your season hopefully you'll make your mark this year good luck

wiz33
29 Mar 2008, 19:14

Sam Miller can play and will be a terrific asset to Learmonth over a number of years. Remember he is only 20 and there are not to many 20 year old key possie players i can think of in the CHFL that will win a premiership for their club.

Can Bat to for that matter not that it makes any difference to the topic!

Off Season
29 Mar 2008, 22:25
Sam Miller can play and will be a terrific asset to Learmonth over a number of years. Remember he is only 20 and there are not to many 20 year old key possie players i can think of in the CHFL that will win a premiership for their club.

Very big call. Time will be the only judge.

Surely those types of comments this time of year can only come back to bite you in the arse!

merrigan
29 Mar 2008, 22:30

Yeah he goes alright for a stick insect. Probably won't be asked to play key position at Learmonth but could be a headache for opposition back lines - especially those lacking a bit of height. Very good pick up IMO.

wiz33
30 Mar 2008, 09:46
Very big call. Time will be the only judge.

Surely those types of comments this time of year can only come back to bite you in the arse!

Why is this a big call?? Miller can play and he will be a terific asset as a second/ third string big forward at Learmonth. I never said he will win a game or premiership of his own boot. How many 20's CHF / FF in the CHFL could win a game or premirship of their own boot? Not to many i would suggest.

Madroota69
30 Mar 2008, 20:33
The club is well aware of Cowan playing for the rebels in 08 and have not "talked him up as playing with the dogs this season". Its the media who just assume so and as we all know, they hardly ever get anything right anyway (pointing to pedler). The dogs are all for Cowan playing in the rebels and hopefully going even further with football. Extremely talented.

Pedler should spend a bit of time researching clubs before writing pre season articles that contain information that has mainly been pulled out of his sphincter.

merrigan
31 Mar 2008, 00:42
Pedler should spend a bit of time researching clubs before writing pre season articles that contain information that has mainly been pulled out of his sphincter.

Maybe he should've asked Ballan what happened to Hayden Cartledge. Was supposed to be the coach but I hear he has left Matthew Green - who was supposed to be the assistant - in the shit and is not even playing this year. If true would be a massive hole out of their side along with the blokes who already have clearances in. Pretty good source tells me that Hayden isn't exactly flavour of the month out in 2 head town, nor is Saleshi Uhi. Uhi was on 800,yes $800 a game at Ballan, so that would give a fair indication that he might be into 4 figures at Hepburn, Good old Eddie! Also hear that Cartledge may have had an injury clause in his deal so he was getting good dough to sit on his arse, which makes the Ballan boys even happier. But the icing on the cake - a Ballan committee member 'allegedly' rang big Ed at Hepburn and gave him Uhi's phone number and told him that Ballan couldn't afford to pay him so they should have a go at him.
Sorry mate, I know you'll hate me but news is news

dr evil
31 Mar 2008, 10:48
Maybe he should've asked Ballan what happened to Hayden Cartledge. Was supposed to be the coach but I hear he has left Matthew Green - who was supposed to be the assistant - in the shit and is not even playing this year. If true would be a massive hole out of their side along with the blokes who already have clearances in. Pretty good source tells me that Hayden isn't exactly flavour of the month out in 2 head town, nor is Saleshi Uhi. Uhi was on 800,yes $800 a game at Ballan, so that would give a fair indication that he might be into 4 figures at Hepburn, Good old Eddie! Also hear that Cartledge may have had an injury clause in his deal so he was getting good dough to sit on his arse, which makes the Ballan boys even happier. But the icing on the cake - a Ballan committee member 'allegedly' rang big Ed at Hepburn and gave him Uhi's phone number and told him that Ballan couldn't afford to pay him so they should have a go at him.
WISH HE HAD GIVEN THE PH NO TO A STRUGGLING CLUB LIKE GORDON GO GORDON

Wanganeen93
31 Mar 2008, 13:20
Hey guys, a mate and i are on the look for a club in the CHFL to train with once a week this year, and then we head back to our local clubs back in geelong and mornington. We will most likely play for the club we train the following year. We are both 19 years old, and both have been on TAC cup team squads.

There are 5 clubs that we are looking at in particular due to their proximity to uni.
Buninyong, Bungaree, Springbank, Dunnstown + Gordan.

we just want to know who has the best facilities out of those teams and which of those teams are either short of players or possibly have too many.

thanks guys.

horsham mayor
31 Mar 2008, 13:34
Where do u think i based my comments from? When he played for clunes 2years ago. And considering u would have seen him at best once or twice, and I would have seen him (or played with???) every week then I know whose judgement I'd back if i was a betting man.

Not saying he won't be a big lad, what I'm saying is he is soft as absolute butter and will be a liability in big games when you there's more pressure to put your head over the ball.

Also watched alot of Sam Miller in 2006 and you would be correct in saying that he is not the hardest player going around. Having said that, it was his first year of senior footy and he may have matured since then....

There is no doubt he has all the skills to be a very good player as his form on the training track in 2006 showed. The wide open spaces of Learmonth may suit him more than the confines of Clunes.

Time will tell. :thumbsu:

timmy 32
31 Mar 2008, 17:41
First of all Merrigan do you really believe that anyone in this league gets paid $800 a game? that is a load of crap. Has it ever occured to you that salesi is a VCFL representative and played alongside Matthew Peake and Brendan Shepperd in those games and formed a strong friendship. He also played Bendigo Pioneers with Shep and they both harboured a desire to play together again one day. With Shep playing with Hepburn the oppertunity has arose. There is no way a Ballan committee man would hand over a players phone number, that would make him less popular in Ballan than both Salesi and Cartledge put together, so dont talk bull...t. And so what if Hepburn do pay their players, all clubs chase and talk to the same players ever year and they all know roughly what the asking price is. So is it Hepurn's fault that they have a very hard working committee which has the vision to raise the money to allow them to improve their facilities and attract some of the besy players this league has seen over the past 4 seasons. We would never had have been given the oppertunity to watch players of the calibre of McKay, Cox, Brown,Grant, Newton, Barras, Oliver, Peake etc etc if they wern't good at what they do. Love them or hate them they have made this league stronger and the fair dinkum clubs in this league have become a lot more proffesional in trying to keep up with them.

helmut
31 Mar 2008, 19:56
First of all Merrigan do you really believe that anyone in this league gets paid $800 a game? that is a load of crap. Has it ever occured to you that salesi is a VCFL representative and played alongside Matthew Peake and Brendan Shepperd in those games and formed a strong friendship. He also played Bendigo Pioneers with Shep and they both harboured a desire to play together again one day. With Shep playing with Hepburn the oppertunity has arose. There is no way a Ballan committee man would hand over a players phone number, that would make him less popular in Ballan than both Salesi and Cartledge put together, so dont talk bull...t. And so what if Hepburn do pay their players, all clubs chase and talk to the same players ever year and they all know roughly what the asking price is. So is it Hepurn's fault that they have a very hard working committee which has the vision to raise the money to allow them to improve their facilities and attract some of the besy players this league has seen over the past 4 seasons. We would never had have been given the oppertunity to watch players of the calibre of McKay, Cox, Brown,Grant, Newton, Barras, Oliver, Peake etc etc if they wern't good at what they do. Love them or hate them they have made this league stronger and the fair dinkum clubs in this league have become a lot more proffesional in trying to keep up with them.

He got 1 thing right. A now former committee member did hand over Salesi's phone number mid last season, as he did to 3 other Central Highlands clubs 1 of which was Daylesford. And your'e right he's not popular.

On Cartledge, he isn't coaching because of work committments interstate and no he didn't have an injury clause. He was assistant to Scotty and did a lot of the coaching work with Greeny last year and was paid accordingly.

As for the $800, I would suggest your "pretty good source" is not as good as you think it is. Its miles from the truth.

bungareepremiers06
31 Mar 2008, 20:30
Hey guys, a mate and i are on the look for a club in the CHFL to train with once a week this year, and then we head back to our local clubs back in geelong and mornington. We will most likely play for the club we train the following year. We are both 19 years old, and both have been on TAC cup team squads.

There are 5 clubs that we are looking at in particular due to their proximity to uni.
Buninyong, Bungaree, Springbank, Dunnstown + Gordan.

we just want to know who has the best facilities out of those teams and which of those teams are either short of players or possibly have too many.

thanks guys.

buninyong are the best facilities but high on numbers, gordon average facilities andlow on numbers, the other 3 midfield for both

horsham mayor
31 Mar 2008, 21:23

You are delusional mate. I would put my house on the fact that at least 3 players at Hepburn are on over $800 a game this season.