View Full Version : Central Highlands
timmy 32
31 Mar 2008, 21:28
He got 1 thing right. A now former committee member did hand over Salesi's phone number mid last season, as he did to 3 other Central Highlands clubs 1 of which was Daylesford. And your'e right he's not popular.
On Cartledge, he isn't coaching because of work committments interstate and no he didn't have an injury clause. He was assistant to Scotty and did a lot of the coaching work with Greeny last year and was paid accordingly.
As for the $800, I would suggest your "pretty good source" is not as good as you think it is. Its miles from the truth.
well helmut at least you have some idea on match payments and are a bit closer to the mark. But as luck would have it i was at Hepburn's training tonight and the question was asked to the bloke who does the Burras recruiting, how he got Salesi's number. He asked Brendan Shepperd if he had it, and yes Shep had it in his phone. Apparently Salesi had not been contacted by any other chfl club, maybe they wern't interested, a great pick up IMO
dr evil
31 Mar 2008, 23:37
Hey guys, a mate and i are on the look for a club in the CHFL to train with once a week this year, and then we head back to our local clubs back in geelong and mornington. We will most likely play for the club we train the following year. We are both 19 years old, and both have been on TAC cup team squads.
There are 5 clubs that we are looking at in particular due to their proximity to uni.
Buninyong, Bungaree, Springbank, Dunnstown + Gordan.
we just want to know who has the best facilities out of those teams and which of those teams are either short of players or possibly have too many.
thanks guys.
Dunnstown have a lot of uni guys and there grounds in good nick they have up graded there lights, we are light on for players at gordon but its a bit further to travel
The Beaks Gossip 07
1 Apr 2008, 00:38
You are delusional mate. I would put my house on the fact that at least 3 players at Hepburn are on over $800 a game this season.
Horsham Mayor, I would like to support your claim that Hepburn pay above the odds of many normal clubs and have set the benchmark for many others to try and get too, buts lets be honest their is not many clubs that would be around to compte with what Hepburn would spend, I would even go to say that they would spend just as much if not more than what teams like Redan, East Point do in the BFL.
I think you may find that the Bunnies are also having a real crack this year and will want to see a return to finals for the investments made in players.
I am not worried about what teams spend, and i say if you belive this is the way to get a flag then well and good do what it takes but dont come whinging when it all falls down around you like Bungaree and Springbank are feeling the pinch at the moment. If you think that you are a chance then most footy clubs will find a few extra bucks to get that elusive flag.
Horsham Mayor, I would like to support your claim that Hepburn pay above the odds of many normal clubs and have set the benchmark for many others to try and get too, buts lets be honest their is not many clubs that would be around to compte with what Hepburn would spend, I would even go to say that they would spend just as much if not more than what teams like Redan, East Point do in the BFL.
I think you may find that the Bunnies are also having a real crack this year and will want to see a return to finals for the investments made in players.
I am not worried about what teams spend, and i say if you belive this is the way to get a flag then well and good do what it takes but dont come whinging when it all falls down around you like Bungaree and Springbank are feeling the pinch at the moment. If you think that you are a chance then most footy clubs will find a few extra bucks to get that elusive flag.
Good post mate :thumbsu:.
At least someone understands how it all works.
McGyver69
1 Apr 2008, 12:17
Heard on the grapevine that Newlyn have lost last years gun recruit T Cromb, any truth to this rumor, will be a big loss to the cats if this is true.
Dont know but i know they've gained ricky austin who was a gun junior CHF-FF, whose brother is on Brisbane lions list.
Fat Mexican
1 Apr 2008, 13:45
Just for clarification I dont think Bungaree's issues are money related as I understand they have a solid reserve still in the bank.
The issue for Bungaree is that the "heart" of the senior team over the past 10-15 years were locals who have now all finished up and haven't been replaced by a new local crew. They have therefore had to import players and as we all know the loyalty to the club is not the same so when things get tough they head back to where their roots are and who can blame them.
The same thing has happened to other clubs in the past ten years (e.g Dunnstown, Clunes and Beafourt) and will happen to other clubs in the future and it takes time to remedy this without spending massive bucks.
Finally in regard to the spending, one club paying overs for players is not sustainable for the league as it forces the price up for everyone which eventually becomes unsustainable. Have a look at Golden Point and Redan in the late 80's and early 90's when both were forced to the wall by trying to keep up with North and East. Hopefully this doesn't happen in our league.
ExtendTheDukes
1 Apr 2008, 13:46
You are delusional mate. I would put my house on the fact that at least 3 players at Hepburn are on over $800 a game this season.
There is no doubt they spend that sort of money but if theyre not spending beyond their means and wish to run the club that way then good luck to them. It makes it hard to have an even competition though against teams from smaller townships who don't have the same funds but work just as hard. Hepburn have just picked up another very good player from Bell Park in the Geelong Football League in Matty Dillion and its known that he has gone up there for good money. Will top them off very nicely and would be early flag favourites IMO.
gothelakers
1 Apr 2008, 13:49
tim cromb was no gun... was just a little sook who cried if he didnt get his way.... key word there being little... people are glad he's left...
Wanganeen93
1 Apr 2008, 14:57
How much would players like Mitch Pickering and Luke Ryan be getting at Lake Wendouree?
Sayitaintso
1 Apr 2008, 15:36
Lakers never been a club to throw big dollars around.
mudflapper
1 Apr 2008, 17:03
good to hear from you Madroota69. how did you pull up from the pre-season training camp near meredith before christmas........ I presume it was a training camp as i saw you jogging on the spot and sweating a fair bit? :)
Hey guys, a mate and i are on the look for a club in the CHFL to train with once a week this year, and then we head back to our local clubs back in geelong and mornington. We will most likely play for the club we train the following year. We are both 19 years old, and both have been on TAC cup team squads.
There are 5 clubs that we are looking at in particular due to their proximity to uni.
we just want to know who has the best facilities out of those teams and which of those teams are either short of players or possibly have too many.
thanks guys.
You are very welcome to come over to Bungaree to train, the more the merrier.
We are a family club, with a decent mid sized oval that is quite lush and green at the moment and our change rooms and club rooms are very good.
We have been 5th or 6th for 6 years running now so we are always very competitive, however this season has seen a lot of players retire/travel etc which has left us a little undermanned this season, but recent recruits should see as very competitive again this year.
Every player that comes to Bungaree loves it as everyone is very friendly, so come on over, you are more then welcome
timmy 32
1 Apr 2008, 18:03
Thanks mate, ill pick up the keys at the end of the week if you can vacate by then. i never said Hepburn dont reward their players, im sure they do. But no where near the figures that keep getting mentioned, if so its been an unbelievable effort to be right up there for so long and not go broke.
How much does Andy McKay get? That bloke is a freak, so i guess he'd be up there
You are very welcome to come over to Bungaree to train, the more the merrier.
We are a family club, with a decent mid sized oval that is quite lush and green at the moment and our change rooms and club rooms are very good.
We have been 5th or 6th for 6 years running now so we are always very competitive, however this season has seen a lot of players retire/travel etc which has left us a little undermanned this season, but recent recruits should see as very competitive again this year.
Every player that comes to Bungaree loves it as everyone is very friendly, so come on over, you are more then welcome
Retire/travel....................hmm not what i heard about a few of the guys leaving.
redrocket
2 Apr 2008, 09:51
thanks guys.
New people are always welcolme at springbank. The ground is in very good condition and the club is ran very well. We have got 10 uni boys playing this year and also have 2-3 who train during the week and then head back to there home club to play on the weekend. I sent a few details about the club to your inbox, so have a read and get back to me if your intersested.
KingRich
2 Apr 2008, 10:24
tim cromb was no gun... was just a little sook who cried if he didnt get his way.... key word there being little... people are glad he's left...
LOL. That sounds like the Crombie I know!
McCleanMagic
2 Apr 2008, 14:42
Can anyone tell me how bear from dunstown goes? i think he rucked in the 2s and won there b&f?
timmy 32
2 Apr 2008, 15:50
How much does Andy McKay get? That bloke is a freak, so i guess he'd be up there
He has only just turned 21 and i agree he's a freak. Came to Hepburn because he was looking to play in a successful side, and this is his third season. im sure Hepburn would be looking after him and if he keeps improving will be able to command a lot more $$$. Players like him dont grow on trees.
Madroota69
2 Apr 2008, 19:24
good to hear from you Madroota69. how did you pull up from the pre-season training camp near meredith before christmas........ I presume it was a training camp as i saw you jogging on the spot and sweating a fair bit? :)
Quite well thanks flappsy yeah me and a few mates thought we'd do a bit of high altitude training before xmas to trim a bit of fat off our backs. I also saw a certain bloke in the fetal position next to an esky....! he looked like he was in a bit of trouble but he seem to come good after he stripped off and let his old boy get a bit of fresh air.
merrigan
2 Apr 2008, 20:05
He got 1 thing right. A now former committee member did hand over Salesi's phone number mid last season, as he did to 3 other Central Highlands clubs 1 of which was Daylesford. And your'e right he's not popular.
On Cartledge, he isn't coaching because of work committments interstate and no he didn't have an injury clause. He was assistant to Scotty and did a lot of the coaching work with Greeny last year and was paid accordingly.
As for the $800, I would suggest your "pretty good source" is not as good as you think it is. Its miles from the truth.
If I got 1 thing right why wouldn't the rest be right. I'll trust the source. As for timmy 32, you are the one talking crap.
Fat Mexican
2 Apr 2008, 20:59
If I got 1 thing right why wouldn't the rest be right. I'll trust the source. As for timmy 32, you are the one talking crap.
If $800 is right fo UHI and you load this on top of $700 for Dillon from Geelong, $600 for McKay, so on and so forth this would conservatively put the Burra at paying a $100k plus for their side. Does anyone think that is the case?
ExtendTheDukes
2 Apr 2008, 21:22
If $800 is right fo UHI and you load this on top of $700 for Dillon from Geelong, $600 for McKay, so on and so forth this would conservatively put the Burra at paying a $100k plus for their side. Does anyone think that is the case?
Don't know what Uhi or McKay are on per game but guarantee Dillon is on that money. I would not be suprised if Hepburn spend around $100k a year and If they can raise that sort of cash and with there being no salary cap who could blame them. As I've said in the past it just makes it hard to have an even playing field.
Can anyone tell me how bear from dunstown goes? i think he rucked in the 2s and won there b&f?
IM GUESSING HE"S A GOOD 2s RUCKMAN
I'll Pay That.
Goal :thumbsu:
With the amount of cash that 'appears' to be floating around clubs these days, surely the cost of a replacement jumper is a small price to pay to get rid of a so called bad egg. Why oh why would tyson white be rejected for a clearance from Learmonth 3 times?
How hard is it to give your jumper to a mate who is still at the club??
Tyson has plenty of mates still at learmonth, works both ways mate.
He's not a 'bad egg' he's just young and doesnt know what he wants to do with his footy yet.
Originally Posted by learmonth
Dr Who, I think you struggle to really know what happens at a football club and why decisions are made. As stated Tyson was a very good footballer but his dedication to the sport, commitment to stay of alcohol on a Frioday night before games and more importantly his dedication, commitment and respect to team mates has prevented him form playing more senior games.
Tyson only has himself to blame, and all players at the Learmonth Football club would not except the behaviour he has shown or from any other footballer at the club. Its a team game and you must make sacrafices if you want to be apart of it. Talent can only get you so far and the learmonth Football club does not tolerate that culture. If you are to be successful sometimes you have to get rid of a few bad eggs with talent to go forward.
I dont think the kid is a bad egg either. The club that works with him while he matures will be rewarded with a gun player. Considering the post i have included, it just seems spiteful to continue rejecting thats all. :thumbsd:
You say all this, but if it is over a footy jumper an he wants to play at lexton then...................................why not return it???
Clubs have to look after themselves nowadays, if you let tyson get away taking his jumper then 15 blokes leave next yr an take there jumper then thats about $750 worth of jumpers!! thats an exageration but if you lose 5 or 6 every year then it eventually adds up.
Thats how football works mate clubs look after themselves.
timmy 32
3 Apr 2008, 15:40
Don't know what Uhi or McKay are on per game but guarantee Dillon is on that money. I would not be suprised if Hepburn spend around $100k a year and If they can raise that sort of cash and with there being no salary cap who could blame them. As I've said in the past it just makes it hard to have an even playing field.
i havn't seen Matt dillon play but am looking forward to. Surely he isn't in the same class as Uhi and Mckay is he? If so it is another fantastic get. i am interested to know how good he is if you can elaborate.
dont forget peake shephard cox and co there on the big bucks. Timmy might not think so but there on heaps ,they have picked up a bloke saunders from the marsh as well.Daylesford winning the flag has made there recruiters cheque book work over time.ps i dont think sam newtons playing for nothing either 100k might be conservative who no's
Local Interest
4 Apr 2008, 10:30
Can anyone tell me how creswick is looking im from the geelong area and have been told they have picked up quite a few from this way!
ExtendTheDukes
4 Apr 2008, 10:44
i havn't seen Matt dillon play but am looking forward to. Surely he isn't in the same class as Uhi and Mckay is he? If so it is another fantastic get. i am interested to know how good he is if you can elaborate.
Very good footballer who could play key position back line or a flank. Doesn't take a backwards step, likes the physical stuff and puts his head over the ball. As I said will be a nice addition to your side.
KingRich
4 Apr 2008, 12:39
Can anyone tell me how creswick is looking im from the geelong area and have been told they have picked up quite a few from this way!
Creswick are confident of a much improved year and have picked up a number of handy players from the Geelong area. Will certainly improve.
They will move up a spot or 2 but they will still be a long way off the top 5-6
Local Interest
4 Apr 2008, 15:18
Thats what i thought the blokes they have picked up are from the GDFL Not the GFL no guns! If Hepburn have got Dillon thats a big get the boy can play But i heard he is overseas! Can anyone clear that up for sure?
timmy 32
4 Apr 2008, 16:10
Thats what i thought the blokes they have picked up are from the GDFL Not the GFL no guns! If Hepburn have got Dillon thats a big get the boy can play But i heard he is overseas! Can anyone clear that up for sure?
He has been training with Hepburn for the last month and was there last night. Does look impressive i must admit, as for Dr evil you may be right, thats some classy players you just mentioned. Maybe Hepburn could give Melbourne some tips on how to recruit, or on second thoughts they could all go down and play for the demons they couldnt do any worse.
Buying another flag, get your hand off it, like i have said if you work hard you get the rewards.
Hopefully the rewards come again this season.
Johny Utah
4 Apr 2008, 16:56
He has been training with Hepburn for the last month and was there last night. Does look impressive i must admit, as for Dr evil you may be right, thats some classy players you just mentioned. Maybe Hepburn could give Melbourne some tips on how to recruit, or on second thoughts they could all go down and play for the demons they couldnt do any worse.
Buying another flag, get your hand off it, like i have said if you work hard you get the rewards.
They r throwing the coin around, make no mistake about it.
Ben Naylon was offered $900 per game.. that is fact.
Freak Dodgeball Accident
4 Apr 2008, 18:08
I was offered a can of Coke and a sausage roll, but I politely declined.
ExtendTheDukes
4 Apr 2008, 20:08
His brother Ross who is overseas. Can play the game also.
gothelakers
4 Apr 2008, 21:31
rewards come again... 1 flag in the past 3 years after spending possibly as others have mentioned here a total of 300k.... theres no way waubra and daylesford have spent that much and they have got the same to show for it because remember no-one remembers second... anything other than a flag this year will be a let down...
timmy 32
4 Apr 2008, 22:05
rewards come again... 1 flag in the past 3 years after spending possibly as others have mentioned here a total of 300k.... theres no way waubra and daylesford have spent that much and they have got the same to show for it because remember no-one remembers second... anything other than a flag this year will be a let down...
Do your research... seniors 2 flags in 4 seasons, a 2nd and a 3rd, reserves 2 flags in 4 seasons, a 2nd and a 4th, u/15s 2 flags in 4 seasons a 2nd and a 3rd and u/18s played finals in last 4 seasons losing one grand final. .....Seniors missed out on another Grand Final berth by a kick last year with a bunch of kids aided by a couple of stars. Spent bugger all.
And if you check your records Hepburn is the most successful team since the introduction of the CHFL in regards to premierships, and has only lost the one grand final in 2006 and i think we all agree Waubra were by far the best team going around that year....
But the success still would have hit them in the pocket, every club has to spend $$$ if they want to be successful. Give me a club with that recent history and ill apoligise
Talent Spotter
4 Apr 2008, 22:54
Between 1995 and 2007 Old Xaverians played in 11 Grand Finals in the VAFA A Grade competition. They won the flag six seasons in a row between 1995 and 2000 and were also premiers in 2003, 2005 and 2007. They were runners-up in 2002 and 2006 and failed to play in the grand final in only 2001 and 2004. That's nine flags from 11 grand finals in 13 seasons. Pretty impressive. Old Xavs finished third in 1993 and 1994 as they warmed up for the next decade.
During that dominant era they have also won four Reserves premierships and six Under 19 flags.
Note that this was the amateurs too.
Do they spend money? Every other ammo club would say they do but even if they do it's not going to be anything like what is rumoured to be spent by many country clubs and the standard is as high as the best VCFL major leagues.
Between 1995 and 2007 Old Xaverians played in 11 Grand Finals in the VAFA A Grade competition. They won the flag six seasons in a row between 1995 and 2000 and were also premiers in 2003, 2005 and 2007. They were runners-up in 2002 and 2006 and failed to play in the grand final in only 2001 and 2004. That's nine flags from 11 grand finals in 13 seasons. Pretty impressive. Old Xavs finished third in 1993 and 1994 as they warmed up for the next decade.
During that dominant era they have also won four Reserves premierships and six Under 19 flags.
Do they spend money? Every other ammo club would say they do but even if they do it's not going to be anything like what is rumoured to be spent by many country clubs and the standard is as high as the best VCFL major leagues.
Cool Story Hansell.
timmy 32
5 Apr 2008, 08:47
you have got me wrong, this is a chfl forum and i am only talking about this league. now get back to me
Queen of Sheba
5 Apr 2008, 22:12
Heard the so called big guns at hepburn had a hit out against North City todayand did quite well. Anyone confirmation on outcome and how did there star recruits perform ??
timmy 32
6 Apr 2008, 20:29
Heard the so called big guns at hepburn had a hit out against North City todayand did quite well. Anyone confirmation on outcome and how did there star recruits perform ??
Hepburn dominated all day and looked far too quick. A bit hard to gauge though, not sure if Hepburn are that strong or North City still have a long way to go. Peake hasnt lost any of his pace and Dillon is a real hard nut. Big Shep kicked about 8 and was rested in the last quarter. Sam Newton was running water and Ross Mann was also rested.
bomber boys
6 Apr 2008, 20:34
big improvers in the league will be buninyong they played redan yesterday and only lost by 4 points very classy game by buninyong redan did have 6 players out but also did buninyong. very quick game of footy to be watching and pritty good skills
I watched them a few weeks ago against rokewood an they had a pretty much full strength team in an they played crap, rokewood were just as good as them, buningyong just got a few lucky goals
WeHateTheDrummer
7 Apr 2008, 11:20
Spoke to a few boys satdy night and they said it was a very tough hit out against buninyong, also heard some good reports about there new ground and facility's.
Fat Mexican
7 Apr 2008, 11:27
Hepburn dominated all day and looked far too quick. A bit hard to gauge though, not sure if Hepburn are that strong or North City still have a long way to go. Peake hasnt lost any of his pace and Dillon is a real hard nut. Big Shep kicked about 8 and was rested in the last quarter. Sam Newton was running water and Ross Mann was also rested.
Is the Chief still having a kick or has he finally woke up to himself and pulled the pin.
Glen Quagmire
7 Apr 2008, 17:46
I hear Dunnstown have signed a gun recruit called Andrew Blackwood. Very versatile player who can play ruck or forward. Although the kid can play he cant kick, I probably haven't seen anyone kick a footy that bad since my days in the under 12's. Can mark a ball though. Dunnstown look as though they might show further improvement this year!:thumbsu:
timmy 32
7 Apr 2008, 18:07
Is the Chief still having a kick or has he finally woke up to himself and pulled the pin.
i have known Chief now for 13 years and i wouldn't say that to him, so don't hide behind a computer and be sarcastic.
He has been a fantastic clubman for Hepburn, went there in 1996 for one season and still hasn't left yet. Lives over an hour away and travels each week to play and train. He was another one rested on Saturday, was there watching and yes he will be playing again in 2008.
Hope that you run into him in the street in the near future and you can tell him your thoughts face to face.
Off Season
7 Apr 2008, 18:26
i have known Chief now for 13 years and i wouldn't say that to him, so don't hide behind a computer and be sarcastic.
He has been a fantastic clubman for Hepburn, went there in 1996 for one season and still hasn't left yet. Lives over an hour away and travels each week to play and train. He was another one rested on Saturday, was there watching and yes he will be playing again in 2008.
Hope that you run into him in the street in the near future and you can tell him your thoughts face to face.
What's with the aggressiveness? I'm sure the mexican was simply being tongue in cheek, and if not, how would you know for sure?
No need to get so defensive on here every time soomeone says something that is not entirely positive about Hepburn. Just live with the fact that they're not a well liked club - rightly or wrongly - and move on.
timmy 32
7 Apr 2008, 22:52
What's with the aggressiveness? I'm sure the mexican was simply being tongue in cheek, and if not, how would you know for sure?
No need to get so defensive on here every time soomeone says something that is not entirely positive about Hepburn. Just live with the fact that they're not a well liked club - rightly or wrongly - and move on.
yep thats fair enough.... i know that we are the most hated club in the league, got no problems with that. But reading some of the dribble that has been written about Hepburn on this site over the past few seasons starts to wear a bit thin. outsiders have no idea how the club operates so dont get snakey if i dissagree and give a few truthful facts back along the way. [eg most succesful club etc etc] always happy to cop criticism just make sure it's accurate when you give it.
merrigan
7 Apr 2008, 23:11
yep thats fair enough.... i know that we are the most hated club in the league, got no problems with that. But reading some of the dribble that has been written about Hepburn on this site over the past few seasons starts to wear a bit thin. outsiders have no idea how the club operates so dont get snakey if i dissagree and give a few truthful facts back along the way. [eg most succesful club etc etc] always happy to cop criticism just make sure it's accurate when you give it.
What part of Fat Mexicans post was criticism you paranoid peanut? The worst dribble thats been written about Hepburn on here has come from you nut bag.:eek:
merrigan
7 Apr 2008, 23:17
Truthful facts:
Uhi - $1000 a game
Sheppard - $1000 a game
Cox - $800 a game
McKay - $800 a game
Fat Mexican
8 Apr 2008, 00:19
Champ ease off I have known the bloke for a long time and would be happy to say it to his face, and don't worry about hiding behind the key board I used to jump in the square circle with him when he could still move so I know how that goes.
AxelFoley#5
8 Apr 2008, 12:16
Dribble about Hepburn??? seems u know all about that
I don't think I am the only one that is sick of reading the back and forth posts about Hepburn. I think everyone knows that Hepburn are spending more money on players than everyone else in this league. It has been happening for some time now and will continue to happen.
They have a committee made up of businessman and are in a position to turn over more money than most other smaller country clubs. (especially with their very successful raffle each year and their client base that always buy a ticket)
It is up to the other clubs within the League to work harder to try and get better value for money with their players than Hepburn and use their strenghs to do so (location / facilities / culture / mates / etc)
Waubra did it (premiership and runners up) and Daylesford did it last year (although I dont know how much they paid players)
Lets move on.
Anyone got any word on why some of the previously loyal players within a few of the clubs in this league are moving to other clubs?
Glen Handley - Clunes
Chris O'keefe - Bungaree
Danny Mullane / Sam Sims - Ballan
Michael Page - Creswick
Jimmy Rushton - Waubra
just to name a few.
horsham mayor
8 Apr 2008, 14:48
Truthful facts:
Uhi - $1000 a game
Sheppard - $1000 a game
Cox - $800 a game
McKay - $800 a game
That equals $3,600 a week for 4 players. I know that the smaller clubs wouldn't spend that on their whole side!! :eek:
Fair playing field? Me thinks not. Bring back the salary cap.
thekid178
8 Apr 2008, 18:01
That equals $3,600 a week for 4 players. I know that the smaller clubs wouldn't spend that on their whole side!! :eek:
Fair playing field? Me thinks not. Bring back the salary cap.
that equates to around $60,000 for the season just for those players, let alone anyone else, which in the old days would've smashed the salary cap...
do the hot springs in hepburn spew out dollar coins? if these estimates are anywhere close to the mark thats a lot of cash to deal out, sponsors must be going very well, who forks out all this?
I heard around 4 years ago a GFL club spent around $100,000 for the season, including a non-playing coach, but the club owns poker machines so that would account for where most of the cash comes from...
timmy 32
8 Apr 2008, 20:00
I don't think I am the only one that is sick of reading the back and forth posts about Hepburn. I think everyone knows that Hepburn are spending more money on players than everyone else in this league. It has been happening for some time now and will continue to happen.
They have a committee made up of businessman and are in a position to turn over more money than most other smaller country clubs. (especially with their very successful raffle each year and their client base that always buy a ticket)
It is up to the other clubs within the League to work harder to try and get better value for money with their players than Hepburn and use their strenghs to do so (location / facilities / culture / mates / etc)
Waubra did it (premiership and runners up) and Daylesford did it last year (although I dont know how much they paid players)
Lets move on.
Anyone got any word on why some of the previously loyal players within a few of the clubs in this league are moving to other clubs?
Glen Handley - Clunes
Chris O'keefe - Bungaree
Danny Mullane / Sam Sims - Ballan
Michael Page - Creswick
Jimmy Rushton - Waubra
just to name a few.
well said tud 34, i dont know about the others but Sam Sims got a bit stale at Ballan and wanted to try his luck at a higher level and good luck to him. As for you Merrigan, VERY VERY few people actually know who and what players get paid at Hepburn, and your not even remotely involved with the club! Everyone by now nows that we dont agree on this topic so name the source of your "truthful facts" and i'll give it a rest defending my club about this topic.
Freak Dodgeball Accident
8 Apr 2008, 20:27
Enough about Hepburn. Let's get back to the more important topics - which team has the hottest netballers for instance?
merrigan
8 Apr 2008, 22:57
well said tud 34, i dont know about the others but Sam Sims got a bit stale at Ballan and wanted to try his luck at a higher level and good luck to him. As for you Merrigan, VERY VERY few people actually know who and what players get paid at Hepburn, and your not even remotely involved with the club! Everyone by now nows that we dont agree on this topic so name the source of your "truthful facts" and i'll give it a rest defending my club about this topic.
So it was well said but you still want to go on with it?? Didn't he say that Hepburn are paying more money on players than everyone else in the league? I thought that claim was getting up your nose.
You are right I'm not involved at Hepburn, but maybe I'm close to someone who is.;)
merrigan
8 Apr 2008, 22:59
Enough about Hepburn. Let's get back to the more important topics - which team has the hottest netballers for instance?
Hepburn.
Fat Mexican
9 Apr 2008, 11:41
Don't know what they are like since they merged but back in the day East Ballarat was a cut above. Quality as far as they eye can see drawing significantly larger crowds than the footballers.
Lee Greening from Gordon has just moved into our league. Can anyone reveal what sort of player he is? Ones/twos? key position/midfielder? Etc...
Cheers
Queen of Sheba
9 Apr 2008, 21:50
Hepburn.
I'm with you merrigan. Hepburn girls not to shabby at all.:thumbsu: While we're on the subject of ladies I've heard around the traps that the bungaree canteen ladies are not to shabby either. !!
dr evil
10 Apr 2008, 00:35
I'm with you merrigan. Hepburn girls not to shabby at all.:thumbsu: While we're on the subject of ladies I've heard around the traps that the bungaree canteen ladies are not to shabby either. !!
knowles must have thought they were alright looks like he visited the canteen abit
playsnogood
10 Apr 2008, 12:26
Lee Greening from Gordon has just moved into our league. Can anyone reveal what sort of player he is? Ones/twos? key position/midfielder? Etc...
Cheers
From what i remember, he would give you more value as a water boy or orange boy, saw him play a couple of times and he struggled to get a kick in warm ups
napisan
10 Apr 2008, 13:10
From what i remember, he would give you more value as a water boy or orange boy, saw him play a couple of times and he struggled to get a kick in warm ups
He wouldn't have played for a few years. Was just a shit 1's player in a shit team at Gordon. Was a shit bloke who rated himself highly.
ExtendTheDukes
10 Apr 2008, 13:20
I see Hepburn have picked up another handy player with Mick Stanley putting in for a clearance there.
learmonth
10 Apr 2008, 14:38
I see Hepburn have picked up another handy player with Mick Stanley putting in for a clearance there.
We can thank the Dford football club for Hepburns recruiting frenzy! There committee was so devasted they havent been able to sleep a wink since then. I would have suggessted just go and buy a new bed as its a lot cheaper than buying a new side.
Also in the Dford advocate last week Shane Robertson was talking up a recruit from the WAFL by the name of Greg Weller. Supposedly a good CHF but no registration as of yet, so I think it may be his imaginary friend just like Sally on Home and Away with MILKO!!!!
redrocket
10 Apr 2008, 16:04
Lee Greening also played a couple of years at springbank and did not really prove to be much at all. As for what type of player he is, well he is pretty small and probably getting on a fair bit. didn't like putting his head over the ball when the games got heated. I think he had some sought of coaching role when he was at gordon.
timmy 32
10 Apr 2008, 22:14
We can thank the Dford football club for Hepburns recruiting frenzy! There committee was so devasted they havent been able to sleep a wink since then. I would have suggessted just go and buy a new bed as its a lot cheaper than buying a new side.
Also in the Dford advocate last week Shane Robertson was talking up a recruit from the WAFL by the name of Greg Weller. Supposedly a good CHF but no registration as of yet, so I think it may be his imaginary friend just like Sally on Home and Away with MILKO!!!!
Well smack my ass and call me Mary. The spray tan man is having another crack at Hepburn. Whats New. The club was proud of our efforts last season and good luck to Daylesford if they were good enough to win it last year.
Talk about losing sleep....
Your coaching the only team in the history of the CHFL to not have won a Premiership yet! Spent some good cash along the way for no return, yeah yeah we bought premierships, i can hear what your thinking as you read this. Hey loyal coach, I'd be pissed off if Robbo was talking to a rival club over xmas , as you were with Daylesford ... Wonder how your club feels about your actions.... If they dont mind their coach doing that, then maybe thats a good reason why they havnt won a flag yet.
You have been talking up your club for 3 seasons now, time to put up or shut up, the pressure is on, dont lose any sleep will you. i bet Hepburn wont be.
merrigan
10 Apr 2008, 23:32
Well smack my ass and call me Mary. The spray tan man is having another crack at Hepburn. Whats New. The club was proud of our efforts last season and good luck to Daylesford if they were good enough to win it last year.
Your coaching the only team in the history of the CHFL to not have won a Premiership yet! Spent some good cash along the way for no return, yeah yeah we bought premierships, i can hear what your thinking as you read this. Hey loyal coach, I'd be pissed off if Robbo was talking to a rival club over xmas , as you were with Daylesford ... Wonder how your club feels about your actions.... If they dont mind their coach doing that, then maybe thats a good reason why they havnt won a flag yet.
You have been talking up your club for 3 seasons now, time to put up or shut up, the pressure is on, dont lose any sleep will you. i bet Hepburn wont be.
Well Mary thats a very good come back. Going by your previous posts I wouldn't have thought you had the intelligence to put that together but I have a new found respect for you now. (don't worry it won't last forever) Well done.
timmy 32
11 Apr 2008, 00:24
Well Mary thats a very good come back. Going by your previous posts I wouldn't have thought you had the intelligence to put that together but I have a new found respect for you now. (don't worry it won't last forever) Well done.
thank you merrigan. im learning
Does any one have any practice matches tomorrow????
Crackerz
11 Apr 2008, 11:50
Well its not tomorrow but Daylesford have a praccy against Clunes next week.
Off Season
11 Apr 2008, 12:25
Hear, hear :thumbsu:
Redemption...
Off Season
11 Apr 2008, 12:27
Mmmm, as much as i hate to say it, this game could produce an ugly scoreline for clunes.
Although is it fair to say that D'ford are currently nowhere near last year's premiership side?
[quote=timmy 32;10619307]Well smack my ass and call me Mary. The spray tan man is having another crack at Hepburn. Whats New. The club was proud of our efforts last season and good luck to Daylesford if they were good enough to win it last year.
Timmy you would think after all these years of coping it from every opposition team and their supporter base you would have developed a way to handle and deal with others opinions. If you read what is written and listen to what is been said not all talk about hepburn has negative connotations. In fact there are many people whom respect what they have done in raising the bar in the CHFL. But it is a way of life that over a long period of time Hepburn has developed a reputation that will be hard to dispose of. This has developed mainly from the supporter base and the way they go about supporting your team. Good on Hepburn for raising the funds and putting together a quality list, but 30 plus years of a particular behaviour type leaves a lasting impression. So when you dominate a forum like this defending hepburn against every little suggestive comment, remember why others out have these opinions...
By the way Timmy, you will be pissed to know that robbo did talk to another club after last season ............100%
timmy 32
12 Apr 2008, 12:33
[quote=timmy 32;10619307]Well smack my ass and call me Mary. The spray tan man is having another crack at Hepburn. Whats New. The club was proud of our efforts last season and good luck to Daylesford if they were good enough to win it last year.
Timmy you would think after all these years of coping it from every opposition team and their supporter base you would have developed a way to handle and deal with others opinions. If you read what is written and listen to what is been said not all talk about hepburn has negative connotations. In fact there are many people whom respect what they have done in raising the bar in the CHFL. But it is a way of life that over a long period of time Hepburn has developed a reputation that will be hard to dispose of. This has developed mainly from the supporter base and the way they go about supporting your team. Good on Hepburn for raising the funds and putting together a quality list, but 30 plus years of a particular behaviour type leaves a lasting impression. So when you dominate a forum like this defending hepburn against every little suggestive comment, remember why others out have these opinions...
By the way Timmy, you will be pissed to know that robbo did talk to another club after last season ............100%
I have no problem with what you just said and totaly agree with your thoughts.... My only gripe is if people want to bag us, get the info at least somewhere near the truth.... you on the other hand at least made a lot of sense.... As for Robbo, yes he did would have spoke to more than one club over the break, he gets harrased by clubs every year, a lot of coaches do. He said no to them on the phone. WHAT he didn't do was sit down in a meeting with them and go over the finer points of what the club is all about. Whoever told you differently is trying to big note themselves.
timmy 32
13 Apr 2008, 15:51
Big news going around the town at the moment is that Daylesfords newly appointed coach Darren McColl has been sacked and Luke Adams has taken over the reigns, does anyone know anymore ?
Trooper4
14 Apr 2008, 00:17
So here we go guys. Last week before the season starts. all praccy's have been played pre-seasons are over and done with.
How will the ladder finish up at the end of the year?
and what are everyones tips for round 1?
Young Tyro
14 Apr 2008, 09:55
wat is the go with clinton ward signing up with learmonth, tell me this is not true. That bloke is an absolute gun, how starnaud would let him go has got me stuffed. If that little p!ssant mino hines has got anything to do with this there is going to be trouble just cause he could not get a game with the starnaud two's he has to go and poach players from his original club. Very low! :thumbsd: He still can not take in that his brother ben runs rings around him.
DfordDog
14 Apr 2008, 14:00
Big news going around the town at the moment is that Daylesfords newly appointed coach Darren McColl has been sacked and Luke Adams has taken over the reigns, does anyone know anymore ?
As a Dford player, i have been away for the last 3 days and when i read this i was concerned (as id heard nothing). So i went straight to the source and just rang luke 5 minutes ago. He said it is the first he has heard of this and that it is not true. I believe him as i have no reason not to. So now we can put this rumor to bed.
But it also leaves me with a concern about you Timmy. Granted some of the posts you have put on here have some validity, but for you to say in your defence of your posts that "My only gripe is if people want to bag us, get the info at least somewhere near the truth" leaves you now as hypocritical. Even if the information was 2nd hand to you, you contributed to it by putting it on this forum fror ALL to see, and in doing so, proved your character as hypocritical because of the very words you used in your defence.
That is my only concern with you. I probably know you, and have no other issue with you. Thats all i have to say.
wat is the go with clinton ward signing up with learmonth, tell me this is not true. That bloke is an absolute gun, how starnaud would let him go has got me stuffed. If that little p!ssant mino hines has got anything to do with this there is going to be trouble just cause he could not get a game with the starnaud two's he has to go and poach players from his original club. Very low! :thumbsd: He still can not take in that his brother ben runs rings around him.
You say Mino is poaching st arnaud players because he cant get a game in st arnauds 2's, he lives in ballarat now and has for a few yrs so i doubt he is going to travel 2 hours to play for the saints, as for poaching all your players he's only taken 2 his brother who has moved down here for uni and ward who is a good mate of his.
cowboy8
14 Apr 2008, 17:11
You say Mino is poaching st arnaud players because he cant get a game in st arnauds 2's, he lives in ballarat now and has for a few yrs so i doubt he is going to travel 2 hours to play for the saints, as for poaching all your players he's only taken 2 his brother who has moved down here for uni and ward who is a good mate of his.
can any1 from learmonth give me sum info on a video msg 1 of mates has on his phone. he said sumthng bout it being learmonths gentlemens day. i need the number of the stripper and pub were this awsome act took place. also any info on how the barmaid went would be good to:)
trigirl
16 Apr 2008, 09:19
Has anyone on this thread , read the article regarding the salary cap, printed in the Morabool news this week, interesting reading.
Crackerz
16 Apr 2008, 10:15
Na not read it but do feel free to elaborate on your readings.......
Trooper4
16 Apr 2008, 11:18
Tips for round 1 guys...
Springbank vs Buninyong
Hepburn vs Gordan
Ballan vs Creswick
Newlyn vs Beaufort
Daylesford vs Clunes
Learmouth vs Waubra
Dunnstown vs Bungaree
With Dunnstown vs Bungaree being Match of the Round.
DfordDog
16 Apr 2008, 11:20
Has anyone on this thread , read the article regarding the salary cap, printed in the Morabool news this week, interesting reading.
Hi Trigirl. Just read the article, and it does make some very valid points i must say. I looked to see if the Moorabool News had a website with this article but couldn't find anything. If anyone does find it, post it on here as it is a very interesting read.
KingRich
16 Apr 2008, 12:06
Tips for round 1 guys...
Springbank vs Buninyong
Hepburn vs Gordan
Ballan vs Creswick
Newlyn vs Beaufort
Daylesford vs Clunes
Learmouth vs Waubra
Dunnstown vs Bungaree
With Dunnstown vs Bungaree being Match of the Round.
My Tips:
Springbank vs Buninyong
Hepburn vs Gordan
Ballan vs Creswick
Newlyn vs Beaufort
Daylesford vs Clunes
Learmouth vs Waubra
Dunnstown vs Bungaree
DfordDog
16 Apr 2008, 13:54
My Tips:
Springbank vs Buninyong
Hepburn vs Gordan
Ballan vs Creswick
Newlyn vs Beaufort
Daylesford vs Clunes
Learmouth vs Waubra
Dunnstown vs Bungaree
My Tips
Springbank vs Buninyong
Hepburn vs Gordan
Ballan vs Creswick
Newlyn vs Beaufort
Daylesford vs Clunes
Learmonth vs Waubra
Dunnstown vs Bungaree
Hi Trigirl. Just read the article, and it does make some very valid points i must say. I looked to see if the Moorabool News had a website with this article but couldn't find anything. If anyone does find it, post it on here as it is a very interesting read.
I have obtained a copy of the article in reference:
Many thanks to the Moorabool news for allowing this article to be published online (c) Moorabool News - 5368 1966
With the CHFL football season due to kick off, local clubs are putting the finishing touches on their senior team line-ups for the 2008 seasons; the ‘meat market’ for senior footballers is about to close, and the cost per kilo for these ‘guns for hire’ will once again confirm the over capitalization of district football.
The worst kept secret in district football is the extraordinary costs of hiring over rated second and third grade footballers to fill positions in what is essentially local football.
You won’t need a team of football analysts to work out where the chips will fall in the September action, a first year accountant and a quick look at the Club’s balance sheets will give an accurate indication of where Cub’s will finish in the 2008 season.
The question is sustainability; can fourteen clubs in the district continue to absorb these costs and remain solvent?
I have no issue with footballers being paid to play football; the reality is that playing football can have a detrimental effect on a player’s ability to earn extra income on a Saturday; there are also extra medical and traveling costs that can’t be ignored.
Players seeking payment for services has been around since John the Baptist played full back for Jerusalem; so this is not a new thing to football, and whilst playing for the jumper is honorable it’s a rare commodity in the CHFL meat market
There is also the argument that people pay good money to see a show on a Saturday afternoon, and that the show is only as good as the performers.
There is no denying that District Football is in the entertainment business, and there is no denying that it charges for the entertainment it puts on.
I am not going to enter into an argument that paying eight bucks to get in the gate on a Saturday for a full days entertainment, is expensive; take the family to the MCG and throw a couple of pies at them and see what it costs! But everything is relative, even local football.
The sustainability question is at both ends of the spectrum; Club’s that are continually at the top end of the ladder work in budgets twice the cellar dwellers, and must be commended on their ability to sustain the economic pressure; but have they created their own monster?
Annihilating lower sides week after week may be good for the Clubs ‘esprit de corps’ but commercially in District football it means smaller crowds with smaller gate takings.
Even the most passionate about their local football lose interest in predictable games of football with minimal local content.
The party line for all country leagues that have abolished the salary cap, is that the club’s manipulated the system and the leagues couldn’t control the “under the counter” payments to players; could you imagine any other law being abolished because people break them, please, if you don’t mind umpire!!!!!!
You have to feel for the club’s that nurture and protect their young local talent through their junior years only to have the player drafted into an opposition team with a bigger cheque book.
Salary caps were put in place to protect the financial position of football clubs, and to promote club structures that encourage home grown talent and recruitment of players that recognize a club for its merits not its bank balance.
Whilst the out dated football club facilities fall down around the volunteers that keep these football clubs going; it’s plain to see that hard earned money is being invested into rolling stock, and not the tracks they run on.
If a clubs success is to be measured in economic terms both on the field and off the field, the ever widening gap between the fourteen rungs on the CHFL ladder may be shortened by the demise of the smaller clubs with fewer resources.
If economics need to be considered; consider the economic cost of losing an essential resource in rural communities, and the real costs involved in keeping our kids involved in sport without a local club.
AxelFoley#5
16 Apr 2008, 14:36
My Tips
Springbank vs Buninyong
Hepburn vs Gordan
Ballan vs Creswick
Newlyn vs Beaufort
Daylesford vs Clunes
Learmonth vs Waubra
Dunnstown vs Bungaree
DfordDog
16 Apr 2008, 16:29
I have obtained a copy of the article in reference:
Many thanks to the Moorabool news ............................
Nice work tud34 :thumbsu:
switch the play
16 Apr 2008, 16:32
Can anyone from Beaufort inform me how or why Peter Doherty has applied for a clearance to you guys?Is he shifting with work or just going to travel from Albury and play the odd game?
Dodgeyknee
16 Apr 2008, 16:48
Great article and would apply to every country football league